Skip to main content

Full text of "Gazetteer and Business Directory of Chittenden County, Vermont, for 1882-83."

See other formats


Google 



This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 

to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 

to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 

are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other maiginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 

publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing tliis resource, we liave taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 
We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain fivm automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attributionTht GoogXt "watermark" you see on each file is essential for in forming people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liabili^ can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 

at |http: //books .google .com/I 



u-s ;ii')3.5 



CHITTKNDEN COUNTY DIRECTORY. 



cTHJi.ttfS^'ftck's ' 



-•■ J 




L 



^atborb CoUege IHitarp 




BRIGHT LEGACY 

Oh biir tki iHvmi tinm aiM L*ncT, >bicfe vu n- 
nlnd la iNo andcc the vll] of 

JONATHAN BROWN BKICHT 

ftiribcCsU^IcUbiuT. Tht Mktr'bi^'arat iDHBC 
ll drroted U lehDljnhlpi la HMrrmrd UatnnLiT for tht 

vhBlMUWUtlUva, MunebnelD.ID itK. la Ihi 
tetb«Kho[uikLpa. The will rc^Blralbmtthifimaaiim- 
u4cr lu pmtrOeu. 



GENERAL INSURANCE AG 

BURLINGTONjVT. 



CRITTBNDBK COUHTf BIKBCIOKV.' 




or BTmuarcToxr, vxaicoarr. 

-!* .- St. 

For many yean the prominent business men 
of Burlington, believers in life insurance, had 
been considering the drainage made on the 
finances of the State by payments of lai^e sums 
of money abroad, to be retained until such 
times as it should come back in payment of 
death claims. Consequently, the follotring 
named gentlemen obtained a chaiter for the 

Vermont Life Insurance Company, 

October aSth, 1868: 

Torrey £. Wales, Lemuel B. Piatt, Samud 
Huntington, James A. Shedd, Russell S. Taft, 
Rodney S. Wires, Nathaniel Parker, Jo D. ; 
(latch, George F. Edmunds, Omri A. Dodge, 
F. C. Kennedy and Lawrence Barnes. 

The Company vas organized Jan. 1st, 1869, 
with a cash capital of $50,000, and with Rus- 
sell S. Taft as President, and Warren Gibbs, ■■ 
Secretary. The capital was soon af^er in- 
creased to $100,000. During the depression 

in business which soon followed^ the company ceased to /vjil for new tr 
but more than held its own, gaining steadily each year, until flu ■iiifliia ibb 
company are now nearly $250,000. 

The directors of the company now ore; Tcney £. Wales, &mucl 
Huntingtoo, James A. Shedd, RusseU S. Taft, Nathaniel Parker, fo D. 
Hatch, F. C. Kennedy, Lawrence Barnes, Daniel Roberts, Williun G. Shaw, 
William W. Henry, L. L. Lawrence, Wm. A. Crombie, Edward Bartow, Jo«l 
H. Gates, J. C. Dunn, B. B. Smalley, Theo. A. Hopkins. C. M. Spauldins, 
Warren Gibbs, Elihu B. Taft, and Edwin Wheelock. 

The company issues every desirable form of Life and Endowment 
policies, all non-forfeiting in one way or another, mostly, and substantially, 
in accordance with the Massachusetts n on -forfeiting Jaw of 1861. The 
company also issues " term policies," for seven years or less, at lower rates of 
premiums. The popular " Installment Bond" is also issued by this company, 
guaranteeing the most ready money, and the full amount in case of deUh. 

Good agents wanted in prominent locahties at all times. Please cor^ 
respond with Home Office for Agencies, for Bonds and Pc^des^ and for 
further information if there is no agent near you. 

~V^.i^^S3E>T O-XSSS, :Presid.erLt. 
O. R. TXJRHII-iI-i, Seoretary. 




CUITTRNDEN COUNTY DIRKC OKY. 



J.W.GOODELI &C0., 



1 .^• 



r-i^MANUPACTURF.RA OF 



^fiP ffiff) \f fj \f ■/ ji (Ut ■ 




.r^^AND ALI- KINDS OF .^ r 



^^UEMEa^EKY MD BailiDINCJ WHRK^ 











MARBLE MANTELS. SHELVES, 



>• • • 



4«^FURNITURE TOPS, WAINSCOTING.**^ 



^ WORE SET IN ANY PART OF THE COnNTRY. %^ 



♦*251 I^IITE STI^EET.HM- 



BURLINGTON, 



VEHMONT, 



ELIAS LYMAN, 

Wh -esale and Retail Dealer in 
■fACKAWANNA. §EHIGH, tfuMBERLAND, 




COALS, 



Caf -Load Lots a Speoicdty. 



COai.so,cyO 



Fp G[[OUND NOVA SCOTIA POSTER, 

FOR FERTILIZING PURPOSES, 



AT IVHOLKSALE AXIt HKTAIE.. 



ALSO MOLDING SAND. 



wiGEORGE I. HAGAR.a^ 



-€C=iJ 



HARDWARE, 



Paints, Oils, Var21ish.es, Srush.es, 




I> A. MTD 



LI2VE OF^^r^ 



SADDLERY HARDWARE, 

174 College Street, Burlington, Vt, 



Are Yon Going ¥est ? 



2 




ii^ 11, E. 



Making close connections at 



NORWOOD, will) ROM[,WilTERIOWII &OGDEIISBUBG R, R,, 

Ogdensbnrg, witb Grand Trnnk R'y, 

(By Ferry to Prescott.) 

For all Points in the Western States and Territories. 

Special atlenUon giyen to parties seeking Ifomes in ttte Vest. 
Special Sates and Accommodations giyen on application, 
A. A. CADDIS, F. L. POMEROY, 



Ciii>ii*l JVIaiiiuEer. 



(^eiri Pu***i. \K4'nt. 



0(*DI%:^KBI'K(i;, ?\. V. 



GAZETTEKR 



-AND- 



Business Directory 



-OF- 



CHimnDii coum, uum, 



FOR- 



i.ee2-e3. 



Compiled and Published by 

HAMILTON CHILD, 

AUTHOR OF WAYNE. ONTARIO, SENECA, CAYUttA, TOMPKINS, ONONDAGA, MADISON 

CORTLAND, CHEMUNG, SCHUYLER, STEUBEN, ORLEANS, HERKIMER, CHENANGO, 

NIAGARA, ONEIDA, MONROE, GENESEE, SARATOGA, MONTGOMERY AND FULTON, 

ALBANY AND SCHENECTADY, RENSSELAER, WASHINGTON, WYOMING, LEWIS, 

COLUMBIA, SULUVAN, SCHOHARIE, OTSEGO, ULSTER, CHAUTAUQUA, ST. 

LAWRENCE, BROOME AND TIOGA, CATTARAUGUS, ALLEGANY, AND 

OTHER COUNT Jf DIRECTORIES IN NEW YORK STATE, AND ERIE 

AND CRAWFORD COUNTIES, THE BRADFORD OIL DISTRICT IN 

PENNSYLVANIA, BENNINGTON, RUTLAND AND ADDISON 

COUNTIES IN VERMONT. 



PERMANENT OFFICE, 



SYRACUSE, N. Y* 



** He that hath much to do, wUl do something wrong, and of that wrong must suffer the conse- 
quences ; and if it were possible that he should always act rightly, yet when such numbers are 
to judge of his conduct, the bad will censure and obstruct him by malevolence, and the good 
sometimes by mistake.'^— SamuxlJohnsom. 



SYRACUSE, N. Y.: 

PaiMTXD AT THB JOURNAL OFFIGB, 

August, 1882. 



i/ 



' NOV 7 1S3J ) 



CALENDAR FOR TWENTY YEAR?. 



Almanac or Calendar for 20 Years. 



D 



B A 



DC 



1874 i 1875 = 1876 ; 1877 1878 : 1879 ! 1880 ; 1881 . 1882 . 1883 



B 



FE 



1884 



D 



B 1 AG ' F 



1885 ! 1886 1887 



D ! CB A 



1888 1889 i 1890 ; 1891 ' 1892 j 1893 



I 8152229 Sun. Sat. Frid'y. Thurs. Wed. Tues. Mon. 



; 2 9162330 Mon. Sun. Sat. Frid'y. Thurs. Wed. Tues. 



; 310172431 Tues. Mon. Sun. Sat. Frid'y. Thurs. Wed. 



411 1825.. Wed. Tues. Mon. Sun. Sat. Frid'y. Thurs. 



5 12 1926 .. Thurs. Wed. Tues. Mon. Sun. Sat. Frid'y. 



6132027.. Frid*y. Thurs. Wed. Tues. Mon. 



1 7 14 2 1 28.. Sat. Frid'y. Thurs. Wed. Tues. 



Sun. Sat. 



Mon. Sun. 



Jan. and Oct. A 



B 



May. 



B 



August. 



D 



D 



Feb., March, y^ 
Nov. I 



June. 



Sept. and 
Dec. 



i April and 
I July. 



D 


E , 


F 


E 


F ; 


G 


F 


G 


A 


G 


A 


B 


A 


B 


C 


B 


C 


D 



A 



B 



D 



B 



D 



ExpxjkXATiox.— Find the Year and obserre the Letter abore it ; then look for the Month, and 
In a line with it find the Letter of the Tear ; abore the Letter find the Day and the figures on the 
left, in the same line, are the days of the same name in the month. 

Leap Tears hare two letters ; the first is used till the end of February, the second during the 
remainder of the year. 



INTRODUCTION. 



In presenting to the public the " Gazetteer and Business Directory of Chit- 
tenden County," we desire to return our sincere thanks to all who have kindly 
aided in obtaining the information it contains, and rendered it possible to 
present it in the brief space of time in which it is essential such works should 
be completed. Especially are our thanks due to the editors and managers of 
the county papers, for the uniform kindness they have evinced in calling pub- 
lic attention to our efforts, and for essential aid in furnishing material for the 
work. We have also found valuable aid in the writings of the various authors 
in Miss Hemenway*s "Historical Magazine;" "Thompson's Vermont;" 
" Deming's Vermont Officers ;" Hoskins " History of Vermont ;" Hall's 
" Early History of Vermont ;" the " Documentary History of New York ;" 
Lanman's " Dictionary of Congress ;" Palmer's " History of Lake Champlain ;" 
"Pioneer History of the Champlain Valley;" "Letters of John A. Gra- 
ham ;" in the reports of the Adjutant-General and State School Superintend- 
ent ; F. W. Beers & Co.'s " Atlas of Chittenden County ;" and also the 
geological reports of Hitchcock and Hagar. Our thanks are also due to the 
clergy throughout the county, and to President M. H. Buckhani, Prof. Good- 
rich, Dr. A. P. Grinnell, T. H. Canfield, J. W. Hickok, Capt. William Anderson, 
Capt Dan Lyon, T. P. W. Rogers, Lawrence Barnes, Henry Loomis, Fred- 
crick Smith, Gen. T. S. Peck, J. E. Brinsmaid, The Fletcher Free Library, 
C. F. Wheeler, H. E. Brown, Carolus Noyes, L. A. Drew, Charles E. Allen, 
Mrs. L. M. Clapp, Miss Jennie Stacy, and Miss C. E. Collins, of Burlington ; 
A- C. Slater, of Essex ; Isaiah Dow, Joseph Landon, Hon. Nahum Peck, and 
W. K. Patrick, of Hinesburgh ; D. B. Fay and F. C. Wilkins, of Williston, 
and to many others throughout the county who have rendered valuable aid. 

That errors have occurred in so great a number of names is probable; and 
that names have been omitted which should have been inserted is quite cer- 
tain. We can only say that we have exercised more than ordinary diligence 
and care in this difficult and complicated feature of book making. Of such 



INTRODUCTION. 



as feel aggrieved in consequence of errors or omissions, we beg pardon, and 
ask the indulgence of the reader in noting such as have been observed in the 
subsequent reading of the proofs, and which are found in the Errata, follow- 
ing this Introduction, 

It was designed to give a brief account of all the church and other soci- 
eties in the county, but owing, in some cases, to the negligence of those who 
were able to give the necessary information, and in others, to the inability of 
• any one to do so, we have been obliged to omit special notices of a few. 

We would suggest that our patrons observe and become familiar with the 
explanations at the commencement of the Directory. The names it embraces, 
and the information connected therewith, were obtained by actual canvass, 
and are as correct and reliable as the judgment of those from whom they 
were solicited render practicable. Each agent is furnished with a map of the 
town he is expected to canvass, and he is required to pass over every road, 
and call at every farm house and place of business in the town, in order to 
obtain the facts from the individuals concerned wherever possible. 

The margins have been left broad to enable any one to note changes oppo- 
site the names. 

The Advertisers represent many of the leading firms and business men of 
this and other counties, and we most cheerfully commend them to the pat- 
ronage of those imder whose observation these pages may come. 

We take this occasion to express the hope that the information found in 
this book will not prove devoid of interest and value, though we are fully 
conscious that the brief history of the county the scope of the work enables 
us to give, is by no means an exhaustive one, and can only hope that it may 
prove a nucleus and incentive to future historians, who will be the better able 
to do full justice to the subject 

While thanking our patrons and friends generally for the cordiality with 
which our efforts have been seconded, we leave the work to secure that favor 
which earnest endeavor ever wins from a discriminating public, hoping they 
will bear in mind, should errors be noted, that " he who expects a perfect 
work to see, expects what ne'er was, is, nor yet shall be." 



HAMILTON CHILD. 




. & . S- 



*^^^Cz^ 



{PUrtr^i^ / ? V 3 




ADDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS. 

HISTORICAL. 

CHITTENDEN COUNTY.— On page 37, ninth line of third paragraph, 
read 4,389 for "4,329" 

On page 62, in seventh line of second paragraph, read cousin for " uncle." 

TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON.— On page 109, first line, read 
Skillings, Whitneys and Barnes, instead of " Skillings, \Vhitney & Barnes." 

In the fourth line of the second paragraph, on page 127, read city for 
" village." 

DIRECTORY. 

Bnrlington City.— BAILE Y'S music store patronizes thiswork. 
♦BURLINGTON FREE PRESS AND TIMES, on page 437, read 187 and 

189 College for "181 and 189." 
Conger R Henry, as printed on page 444, should read Conger Henry R. 
DALEY TO MAS P., market, etc, 136 Church, is a patron of this work. 
HART CHARLES L. etc, instead of as printed on page 463, and under 

head of "Grocers" on page 551. 
Hay Alexander L., on page 464, has sold his business to H. E. Sails, who con- 
tinues it in the same place. 
*LYMAN ELIAS, on page 479, instead of "dealer in moldings," read dealer in 

molding sand. 
•MOULTON WILLIAM F., on page 488, has his business office at 19 

Mechanics' lane, or 82 Pearl st. 
•NELSON HENRY J., on page 490 is located at 50 Church St., instead of 

50 Chase. 
•QUEEN CITY SOAP WORKS, on page 362, Herald Stevens, should 

read Herold Stevens. 
♦SKILLINGS, WHITNEY & BARNES, as printed on page 506, should 

read Skillings, Whitneys & Barnes. 
S. C. KINSLEY, as printed on page 336, should read C. S. Kinsley. 
BLAIR LEVI S., as printed on page 576, should read Balair. 

Charlotte.— * ALEXANDER ORSON H., is an advertiser, on page 270. 
HOSFORD WILLIAM E., is a patron of this work. 

Colchester.— LEVIGNE Charles, is a patron of this work. 
MARRS HARLAN F., instead of as printed on i)age 281. 

Essex. — Essex Classical Institute, (Essex) William A. Dearing, A. M., 

principal. 

HENRY WILLIAM A., (Essex Junction) shoemaker, removed from West- 
ford since our canvass. 

•JOSLYN WILLIAM B., on page 309, read his postoffice address, " Es- 
sex Junction." 

Hinesburgh.— HINESBURGH hotel, George W. Flanagan, pro- 
prietor, patronizes this work. 



ERRATA — ADDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS. 



PECK NAHUM, is a patron of this work. 

PETERS GEORGE, is a patron of this work. 

REED & PATRICK, and REED PERRY, on page 327, and also in 

advertisement on page 416, Read, instead of Reed. 
•SHINVILLE EDWIN L., advertises on page 333. 

Huntington.— MORRILL GEORGE H., is a patron of this work. 

Jericho. — BUXTON henry M., instead of as printed on page 341. 
PALMER CORNELIUS S., is in government employ in Dakota. 

Milton. — ASLEY GEORGE, on page 353, should have been printed 

Ashley George. 
•BENHAM JOHN S., is an advertiser, on page 466. 
BRUSH HENRY H., on page 455, should be Brush Henry A. 
Cooley Solomon, (Milton), r 54, resides with C. L. Parker. 
CROWN AMANDA M. Mrs., on page355, should read Crown Amanda M. 

Miss. 
•LAN DON ORRIN B., advertises on page 514. 

Richmond.— BATIS henry W., on page 368, should read Bates 
Henr>' W. ' 

FREE^LAN WILLIAM S., (Richmond), r 4, cor. 5, dair>' 100 cows, manu- 
facturer of butter and cheese, and farmer 700, instead of as printed on 
page 370. 

HAYFORD SYLVESTER C. Rev., (Richmond) pastor of Universalist 
church, h Main, instead of as printed on page 37 1. 

RHOADES HORATIO N., (Richmond) r 4, dairy 27 cows, and farmer 225, 
instead of as printed on page 373. 

Shelbnrne.— SAYTON EDWARD S., on page 381, should read 
Saxton Edward S. 

South Burlington.— ROSSI ER gust aye a., is a patron of this 
work. 

Underbill.— FOLEY JAMES, (Underhill) r — , farmer. 

Williston,— BRYANT JAMES, on page 414, should read Bryant 

James H. 
CURTIS CHARLES, on page 415, should read Curtis Charles L. 
DARLING LUCIA S., on page 415, should read Darling Lucia L. 
NARAMORE TRUMAN C, is a patron of this work. 
TALCOTT GIRLEY, on page 421, should have been printed Talcott J. 

Girley. 

Winooski Village,— •the Burlington spoke company 

advertise on page 260. 
Bushka Antoine, as printed on page 288, should read same as '* Busquet 

Antoine." 
•COLCHESTER MERINO MILLS advertise on page 306. 
freeman JOSEPH E. and L. X., as printed on page 292, should read 

Fremau Joseph E., etc. 
Grecnleaf William L., on page 293, should read collector U. S. Int. Revenue, 

instead of *' U. S. Customs." 
Greenmore James, on page 293, should read Greemore James. 
KAY ORMAN P., on page 294, should read Ray Orman P 



GENERAL CONTENTS — INDEX TO BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 7 

GENERA.L CONTENTS. 

PAGE 

Almanac or Calendar for 20 years 2 

Burlington City Government 423 

Business Directory, by towns 257 

Census Report "256 

Classified Business Directory 523 

County Officers 14 

Courts in Chittenden County 16 

Distance Table 584 

Errata 5 

Gazetteer of County 33 

Gazetteer of Towns 86 

Justices of the Peace 15 

Mail Routes and Stage Lines 12 

Map of Chittenden County front of title page 

Postal Rates and Regulations 10 

Post offices and Postmasters , . . . 12 

Publishers* Notes 20 

Societies 16 

Town Clerks 16 

Town Representatives 15 

Winooski Village Government 19 



INDEX TO BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

TOWN LISTS. 

PAGE 

Bolton 257 

Burlmgton City 423 

Charlotte 262 

Colchester, outside of Winooski village, 275 

Essex 303 

Hinesburgh 317 

Huntington 329 

Jericho 338 

Milton 353 

Richmond 367 

Shelbume 375 

South Burlington 382 

StGeorge 390 

Underbill 391 

Westford 402 

Williston 413 

Winooski Village 285 



8 INDEX TO ADVERTISEMENTS. 



INDEX TO ADVERTISEMENTS. 

PAGE 

Adsit & Bigelow, coal and wood, Burlington 362 

Alexander H. D., Lake View Vineyards, Charlotte, 270 

Alexander O. H., seed dealer, Charlotte 300 

Allen C. C. & Son, furniture, Burlington 392 

Allen Charles E., attorney at law, and patent solicitor, Burlington 350 

Allen John H., harnesses, wagons, lumber, etc, Hinesburgh 316 

Baribeault G., teacher of music, Burlington 456 

Beach £. A., clothing and gents' furnishing goods, Essex 400 

Benham J. S., drugs and medicines, Milton 466 

Bessett E., agt Buckeye Mowers, etc, carpenter and builder, Richmond 350 

Bissonett Joseph, hardware, Jericho 366 

Blue Store (The) clothing hats, caps, etc, Burlington bottom margins 

Bostwick George H., stock breeder, South Burlington 388 

Boutin Andrew, millinery and crockery, Burlington 260 

Bristol Herald, newspaper, Bristol, Ad. Co .opposite 481 

Bronsons, Weston, Dunham & Co., lumber, Burlington, back fly-leaf 

Brown's Photograph Cpmpany, Burlington 310 

Brush H. A., taxidermist, Milton 554 

Burbank F. C, physician and surgeon, St. Albans, Franklin Co 500 

Burlington Clipper, newspaper, Burlington 486 

Burlington Clothing Company, Burlington 434 

Burlington Free Press and Times, newspaper, Burlington 406 

Burlington Spoke Co., s]X)kes and axehelves, Burlington 260 

Burlington Steam Dye Works, Burlington 380 

Burlington Woolen Company, Winooski 306 

Burnham L. G. & Co., photographers and moldings, Burlington 346 

Carpenter B. W. & Co., druggists, Burlington 280 

Carpenter C. J., butcher, Hinesburgh 316 

Central Vt. Railroad 446 

Champlain Transportation Company, Burlington 290 

Chase E. R., pbysician and surgeon, Burlington 456 

Clifford N. E., contractor and builder, Hinesburgh. . 316 

Colvin H. E., physician and surgeon, Burlington 412 

Cormea John & Sons, manufrs. brooms and brushes, Burlington 280 

Davis Henry H., books and stationery, Burlington 466 

DegRe & Martin, wagons and carnages, Hinesburgh 316 

Doubleday T. A., furniture, Winooski, 274 

Dow Isaiah, woolen mill, Hinesburgh, 416 

Doyle William M., blacksmith, Essex Junction 350 

Drury Edwin I., livery stable, and sewing machines, Essex Junction 324 

Eaton E. R., physician and surgeon, Burlington 456 

Edwards Stevens & Co., manufrs. of machinery, Winooski 286 

Farrand Z. H., botanist and pharmaceutist, Essex 300 

Flanagan N. B., livery stable, Burlington 400 

Foote George A,, general merchant, Charlotte 296 

Foote R. A. & Son, plows, Middlebury, Ad. Co opposite 481 

Forrant J. B., hotel Burlington 466 

Foster Loyal, patent medicines, Williston 412 

Fraser Thomas, harnesses, etc, Williston 412 

Goodell J. W. & Co., marble and granite, Burlington front fly-leaf 



INDEX TO ILLUSTRATIONS 



PORTRAITS. 

PAGE. 

Howard John P., (steel,) opp. 144 

Peck Asahel, LL. D., Ex-Gov. of Vt opp. 2 1 1 

VIEWS, &c. 

Church of the Restoration, Richmond, 254 

Court House Square in 181 7, Burlington 138 

Dow Isaiah, residence, Hinesbiirgh opp. 204 

Dow Isaiah, Woolen Mill, Hinesburgh 204 

Edwards, Stevens & Co.'s Foundry and Machine Shop, Winooski 183 

Howard National Bank, Burlington 115 

Lyman Block, Burlington ..112 

Mary Fletcher Hospital, Burlington 126 

Third Congregational Church, Burlington 159 

University of Vermont, Medical Department, Burlington 121 

Van Ness House, Burlington 128 

Vermont Episcopal Institute, Burlington, (steel,) opp. 122 

Vermont Life Insurance Building, Burlington 130 

Wells, Richardson & Co., Stores, Burlington no 

Wright Smith, Cold Storage Buildings, Williston "256 



INDEX TO ADVERTISEMENTS. 



PAGE 

Hagar George I., hardware, Burlington on map 

Harden F. P. & Co., boots and shoes, Burlington 280 

Hayes John W., groceries and provisions, Burlington 456 

Henry, Johnson & Lord, patent medicines, Burlington 465 

Holmes George W. & Co., gloves and mittens, Burlington 374 

Hosford F. H., seed dealer, Charlotte 296 

Howard A. W., general merchant, Colchester 296 

Howard H. H. & Co., rubber stamps, Burlington. 388 

Howe L. B. & F., grist and flouring mill, Jericho 340 

Hull H. M., general merchant, Hinesburgh 324 

Hunt Jason E., yorkshire hogs, Essex 350 

Isham J. M., tailor, Burlington 310 

Jones R. A., boots and shoes, Richmond 384 

Joslyn E. C, hotel, Essex Junction 310 

Kimball S. C. & Co., doors, sash and blinds, Burhngton 486 

Kinney Ezra, wagons and sleighs, Jericho 366 

Kirby W. C, painter, Richmond 384 

Knapp L., blacksmith, Richmond 384 

Landon O. B., plows, Milton, 514 

Leavenworth A. E., Normal School, Castleton, Rut. Co 522 

Lee Jerry, carriages and sleighs, Burlington 486 

Lyman Fllias, coal, plaster, molding sand, etc, Burlington on map 

Marshall E. P., dentist, Burlington 266 

Martin J. C, millinery and fancy goods, Burlington 324 

McKillip W. B., groceries, Burlington 440 

McMahon P. H., barber, Burlington 456 

Mitchell David, gold and silver plater, Burlington 266 

Morehouse G. W., manuf. patent medicines, St. George 280 

Moulton W. F., conductors and eaves-troughs, Burlington 500 

Nelson Henry J., furniture, Burlington 430 

Nye & Lavelle, country produce and groceries, Burlington 346 

Ogdensburgh & Lake Champlain R. R., on map 

Page J. v., sewing machines, Burlington 420 

Patrick D. K., plows, etc, Hinesburgh 416 

Payn E. H., gun and locksmith, Burlington 500 

Peck T. S., insurance, Burlington inside front cover 

Percy A, N., clothing, etc., Burlington, 434 

Perry Frank, harnesses, Richmond 384 

Pierce & Linsley, lumber, Burlington, back fly-leaf 

Post C. C, sap bucket manuf., Burlington 356 

Queen City Soap Works, Burlington 362 

Read & Patrick, stoves and tinware, Hinesburgh 416 

Robertson A. R., tripe, poultry, etc., Winooski 296 

Robinson Amos, physician and surgeon, St Albans, Franklin Co 426 

Rood D. E., harness maker, Jericho 340 

Sager Charles H., furniture, Burlington 336 

Sails Hoyt E., tobacconist and confectioner, Burlington, bottom margins 

Sanctuary E. & Son, cofllns, carpenters and joiners, Hinesburgh 324 

Scott Franklin, attorney at law, (patents), North Bennington, 330 

Shanley B. F., contractor and builder, Jericho 366 

Shaw E. P., clothing and gents' furnishing goods, Burlington 266 

Shepard & Morse Lumber Company, Burlington, 346 



lO INDEX TO ADVERTISEMENTS —RATES OF POSTAGE. 



PAGE 

Shinville E. L., country produce, Hinesburgh 388 

Skillings, Whitneys & Barnes Lumber, Co., Burlington, opposite 480 

Sloan E. A,, tinware. Underbill 392 

Smitb H. W. & Son, slate roofers, Burlington 420 

Smith William & Co., wagons and carriages, Biu-lington 466 

Smith & Pease, clothing, hats, caps, etc, Burlington, bottom margins 

Snyder M. L., Monumental Works, Essex Junction 286 

State Normal School, Johnson, Lamoille Co., Vt 412 

Strong & Parker, road machines, Vergennes, Ad. Co 430 

Styles George E., bicycles, Burlington 420 

Taylor A., florist, Burlington 514 

Terrill George E., news agent, Underbill 392 

Thorp H., Spanish Merino sheep, Charlotte 27a 

Thynne Robert, dyer, Burlington, 38a 

Truax J. W., water-wheels, Essex 380 

University of Vermont, Medical Department, Burlington . . inside back cover 

Vermont Episcopal Institute, Burlington 476 

Vermont Life Insurance Co., Burlington, front fly-leaf 

Wakefleld James, rigger and sail maker, Burlington 362 

Walker, Hatch & Co., stair builders, Burlington 260 

Walker O. J. & Bros., grocers, Burlington 300 

Walker & Taplin, marble and granite, Burlington, opposite 481 

Wheelock T. A., plumber, steam fitter, Burlington, 440 

Whitney E. L., books and stationery, and jewelry Milton 366 

Whitney W. E., gun and locksmith, Burlington ... 400 

Wood W. W., boots and shoes, Burlington 400 

Worden G. E. Mrs., millinery and fancy goods, Richmond 388 

Worden G. E.. painter, Richmond 388 

Wormell E. O., photographer, Burlington 514 

Wright S. A., carriages and sleighs, Jericho 340 



THE RATES OP POSTAGE. 

Postal cards one cent each, to all parts of the United States and Canada. 

FIRST-CLASS MATTER — THREE CENTS PER HALF OUNCE OR FRACTION THEREOF. 

Letters and all other mailable matter of other classes subject to letter post- 
age by reason of a violation of the postal laws, three cents per half ounce to 
all parts of the United States and Canada. 

REGISTRATION, DROP LETl'ERS, ETC 

On registered domestic letters and third and fourth class matter an addi- 
tional fee of 10 cents is required. 

Local or "drop" letters, that is, for the city or town where deposited, 2 
cents, if delivered by carriers, and i cent if there is no carrier system, per half 
ounce. 



RATES OF POSTAGE. H 



Manuscript for publication in books, (except when accompanied by proof 
sheets,) newspapers and magazines chargeable as letters. 

FREE. 

Newspapers, to each actual subscriber in the county where published free 
of charge. 

SECOND-CLASS MATTER — TWO CENTS PER POUND. 

Newspapers and periodicals, transient excepted, to be prepaid at the office 
of publication, at 2 cents per pound, or fraction thereof. 

THIRD-CLASS MATTER ONE CENT FOR TWO OUNCES. 

(Must not be sealed.) 

Mail-matter of the third-class embraces books (printed and blank), tran- 
sient newspapers and periodicals, circulars and other matter wholly in print, 
proof sheets and corrected proof-sheets and manuscript copy accompanying 
the same, hand-bills, posters, chromo-lithographs, engravings, envelopes 
with printing thereon, heliotypes, lithographs, photographic and stereo- 
scopic views with the title written thereon, printed blanks, printed cards ; 
and in general, all impressions or copies obtained upon paper, parchment, or 
card-board, by means of printing, lithographing, or any other mechanical 
process, except the copying press; and postage shall be paid thereon at the 
rate of one cent for each two ounces or fractional part thereof 

FOURTH-CLASS MATTER ONE CENT FOR EACH OUNCE, 

Mailable matter of the fourth-class embraces blank cards, card-board and 
other flexible material, flexible patterns, letter envelopes, and letter-paper 
without printing thereon, merchandise, models, ornamented paper, sample 
cards, samples of ores, metals, minerals, seeds, cuttings, bulbs, roots, scions, 
drawings, plans, designs, original paintings in oil or water colors, and any 
other matter not included in the first, second, or third classes, and which is 
not in its form or nature liable to destroy, deface or otherwise damage the 
contents of the mail bag, or harm the person of any one engaged in the pos- 
tal service. Postage rate thereon, one cent for each ounce or fractional part 
thereof 

Packages of mail matter must not exceed four pounds each in weight, ex- 
cept in cases of single volumes of books. 

Undelivered letters and postal cards can be re-sent to a new address with- 
out additional charge. 

Senders may write their names on transient newspapers, books, or any 
package in either class, preceded by the word " from." 

Stamps cut from the stamped envelopes are rejected by the postoffice. 
Stamped envelopes and wrappers, postal cards, and stamps of different de- 
nominations for sale at postoffices. 

Stamped envelopes accidentally spoiled redeemed at any postoffice. 



12 



POSTOFFICES AND POSTMASTERS — MAIL ROUTES. 



Postoffices and Postmasters in Chittenden Co., Vt. 



POSTOFFICE. 

Bolton, 

*Burlington, 

Charlotte, 

Colchester, 

East Charlotte. 

Elssex, 

•Essex Junction, 

•Hinesburgh, 

Huntington, 

Huntington Center, 

•Jericho, 

Jericho Center, 

Jonesville, 

Malletfs Bay, 

•Milton, 

North Underhill, 

North Williston, 

•Richmond, 

St George, 

Shelbume, 

Underbill, 

Underhill Center, 

West Bolton, 

Westford, 

West Milton, 

Williston, 

•Winooski, 



TOWN. 

Bolton, 

Burlington, 

Charlotte, 

Colchester, 

Charlotte, 

Essex, 

Essex, 

Hinesburgh, 

Huntington, 

Huntington, 

Jericho, 

Jericho, 

Richmond, 

Colchester, 

Milton, 

Underbill, 

Williston, 

Richmond, 

St. George, 

Shelbume, 

Underhill, 

Underbill, 

Bolton, 

Westford, 

Milton, 

Williston, 

Colchester, 



POSTMASTER. 

James F. Whalen 

Buel J. Derby 

Mrs. Nancy C. Pope 

Alfred W. Howard 

Joseph S. Shaw 

George H. Brown 

Edgar A. Beach 

Leonard Andrews 

George W. Sayles 

Edson W. Ellis 

John A, Percival 

Edgar H. Lane 

Ansel Eddy 

Alexander C. Morrison 

Eben L. Whitney 

Fillmore J. Robinson 

John Whitcomb 

Edgar T. Jacobs 

Norman I sham 

Mrs. A, M. Lowry 

Darwin G. French 

Gaylord A. TerriU 

Fred W. Hall 

Irving E. Huntley 

Willard L. Sanderson 

Smith Wright 

James W. Edwards 



Bates of Commission Charged lor Money Orders. 

On orders not exceeding $15.00, ten cents ; over $15.00 and not exceed- 
u^g $30.00, fifteen cents; over $30.00 and not exceeding $40.00, twenty 
cents ; over $40.00 and not exceeding $50.00, twenty-five cents. No single 
order issued for a greater sum than $50.00 



Star Mail Routes and Stage Lines in Chittenden Co. 

(Government route numbers are given when known.) 

2230 Hinesburgh to Burlington, by St. George, 13 miles and back, daily 
except Sundays. From April i,to September i, leaves Hinesburgh at 
8 a. m., arriving at Burlington 1 1 a. m.; leaves Burlington at 2 p. m., ar- 
riving at Hinesburgh by 5 p. m. From October i, to March 31, leaves 
Hinesburgh at 8:30 a. m., arriving at Burlington by 12m.; leaves Burling- 
ton at 2 p. m., arriving at Hinesburgh by 5:30 p. m. Harly Palmer of 
Hinesburgh, is mail carrier; passenger fare to St. George, 75 cents, and 
from St George to Hinesburgh, 25 cents. Telegrams should be sent to 
Hinesburgh. 

* Money order oflkea. 



MAIL ROUTES. 1 3 



2231 Burlington to Grand Isle, by Winooski, Colchester, West Milton, 
South Hero, and Keeler's Bay, 26 miles and back, daily except Sundays, 
from July i, to September 30, and three times a week the residue of 
the year. From July i, to September 30, leaves Burlington at 8 a. m., 
arriving at Grand Isle by 4 p. m.; leaves Grand Isle at 7 a. m., arriving 
at Burhngton by 3 p. m. From October i, to June 30, leaves Burling- 
ton Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, at 9 a. m., arriving at Grand 
Isle by 2 p. m.; leaves Grand Isle Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, 
at 7 p. m., arriving at Burlington by 3 p. m.; leaves Burlington Tues- 
day, Thursday, and Saturday, at 9 a. m., arriving at Grand Isle by 5 
p. m. 

2233 East Georgia to Westford, by Fairfax, 8 miles and back. Twice 
daily to Fairfax, and once daily the residue. Leaving East Georgia 
daily except Sunday, at 8:45 a. m., and 7:05 p. m., or on arrival of train ; 
arrive at Fairfax at 9.45 a. m., and 8,05 p. m. Leave at 7 a. m., and 
on Saturday on arrivai of mail from Georgia, say at 9:30 a. m.; arriving 
at Westford by 8 a. m., and on Saturday by 10:30 a. m. Leave West- 
ford at 8:30 a. m., and on Saturday at 1 1 a. m.; arriving at Fairfax by 
9:30 a. m., and on Saturday at 12 m. 

2229 East Charlotte to Railroad Station, by Charlotte, 4 miles and 
back, daily except Sundays. Leaves East Charlotte at 3:15 p. m., ar- 
riving at Railroad Station by 4:30 p. m.; leaves the station at 4:45 p. 
m., or on arrival of train, arriving at East Charlotte by 6 p. m. The 
stage is run by A. F. Gillett and William Quinlan, accommodating pass- 
engers. Telegrams and express matter should be sent to the Railroad 
Station. Stage runs between Charlotte and the depot twice daily. 

2225 Jericho Center to Jericho, 3 miles and back, daily, except Sunday. 
Leaves Jericho Center at 11:30 a. m., arriving at Jericho by 12:30 p. 
m.; leaves Jericho at i p. m., arriving at Jericho Center by 2 p. m. 
E. Frank Lane, mail carrier; passenger fare 25 cents. Telegraph 
office at Jericho. 

2232 Milton to West Milton, 4^ miles, daily except Sundays. Leaves 
Milton at 9 a. m., arriving at West Milton by 10:15 a. m.; leaves West 
Milton at 10:45 ^- ™-> arriving at Milton by 12 m. Joseph B. Riddick, 
mail carrier, ; passenger fare 25 cents. Telegraph office at Milton. 

2228 Huntington Center to Richmond, by Huntington. 9 miles, daily ex- 
cept Sundays. Leaves Huntington Center at 6 a. m , arriving at Rich- 
mond by 8 a. m., in time to connect with train ; leaves Richmond at 
9 a. m., arriving at Huntington Center at 12 m. W. C. Brewster, mail 
carrier ; passenger fare 50 cents. Telegrams should be sent to Rich- 
mond. 

2224 Underhill Center to Underhill, 2^ miles, daily except Sundays. 
Leaves Underhill Center at 8 a. m., or in season to connect with train, 
arriving at Underhill by 8:45 a. m.; leaves Underhill at 9 a. m., or on 
arrival of train, arriving at Undrehill Center by 9:45 a. m. E. H. 
Prouty, mail carrier, two horses; passenger fare 15 cents. Telegraph 
and express office at Underhill. 

2226 West Bolton to Jonesville, 5J miles and back, three times a week. 
Leaves West Bolton Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday at 6:45 *• ^m ^^ 



14 CONGRESSMEN— COUNTY OFFICERS. 

in season to connect with train, arriving at Jonesville by 8 a. m.; leaves 
Jonesville at 9 a. m., or on arrival of train, arriving at West Bolton by 
10:15 a. m. Exlwin Hall, mail carrier; passenger fare 30 cents. Tele- 
grams should be sent to Jonesville. 

2227 WiLLiSTON TO North Williston, 2^ miles and back, twelve times per 
week. Leaves Williston daily, except Sunday, at 7 a. m., and 4 p. m., 
arriving at North Williston by 7:30 a. m., and 4:30 p. m.; leaves North 
Williston at 8:30 a. m , and 5:30 p. m., arriving at Williston by 9 a. m., 
and 6 p. m. H. L. Charles is mail carrier, the stage accommodating 
passengers. Telegrams and express matter should be sent to North 
Williston. 



CONGRESSMEN- 

United States Senator. 

George F. Edmunds, (term expires 1887,) Burlington 

Representative in Congress. 
William W. Grout, (third district, term expires 1882,) Barton 



COUNTY OFFICERS. 

Chief Judge, 



P. O. ADDRESS 

Hon. Homer E. Royce St. Albans 

Assistant Judges, County Court. 

Hon. Thomas D. Chapman Charlotte 

Hon. Ezra B. Andrews Richmond 

Judge of Probate. 

Torrey E. Wales Burlington 

Registers of Probate. 

E. B. Taft Burlington. 

George W. Wales 

County Clerk. 

A. J. Howard Burlington 

state's Attorney. 

Marcellus A« Bingham Essex Junction 

Sberifl*. 

Luman Drew Burlington 

High Bailiff. 

Adoniram Austin Burlington 

Treasurer. 

Edward W. Peck Burlington 

state Senators. 

Asher C. Robinson North Underhill 

Charles W. Woodhouse Burlington 

Walter A. Weed Shelburne 



JUSTICES OF THE PEACE — REPRESENTATIVES. 1 5 

Justices of the Peace. 

Bolton. — ^John Phillips, J. H. Smith, ancl R. J. Sabens. 

Burlington.— W. H. Brink, H. N. Drury, W. H. Hare, F. J. Hendee, J. H. 
Holton, H. S. Peck, W. H. Root, J. W. Russell, James B. Scully, M. 
R. Tyler, T. E. Wales, and H. O. Wheeler. 

Charlotte.— D. C. Gillett, J. M. Dean, A. W. Sherman, A. A. Byington, W. 
W. Higbee, D. W. Hazard, and W. W. Bradley. 

Colchester. — A. O. Hood, M. Gibbons, S. H. Edson, W. H. Whitman, Al- 
phonse Dubuc, G. D. Nash, E. O. Johnson, W. B. Macrae, Charles 
Collins, W. H. McBride, J. B. Small, and W. W. W. Thompson. 

Essex.— T. W. R. Nichols, A, B. Halbert, L. C. Butler, F. C. Williams, 
J. O. McKeen, J. W. Truax, S. A. Brownell, Edwin Andrews, M. L. 
Snyder and Lysander Wood worth. 

Hinesburgh. — Elmer Beecher, W. J. Douglass, J. L. Rockwood, C. G. Peck, 
Josiah Barker, J. F. Allen and M. F. Remington. 

Huntington. — H. R. Norton, C. D. Carpenter, Noble Ross, A. E. Bates and 
Chester Ross. 

Jericho.— M. V. Willard, A. B. Somers, E. C. Fay, R. M. Galusha, S. B. 
Bliss, H. N. Percival and S. S. Thompson. 

Milton.— B. Fairchild, P. A. Booth, S. M. St. John, R. Flinn, George Ashley, 
J. W. Brown, Lester Rice, A, B. Caswell, J. W. Flinn and E. Reynolds. 

Richmond.— Salmon Green, S. F. Cutler, I. W. Sayles, E. R. Jones, W. D. 
Hall, Giles Howe and C. E. Green. 

Shelburne. — R. J. White, W. A. Weed, H. N. Newell, James Patterson, 
N. R. Miller, James Sutton and H. Geer. 

South Burlington. — Frederick Headly, F. N. Drury, L. B. Baldwin, J. J. 
VanSicklen and J. E. Smith. 

St. George. — I. O. Lockwood, Henry Lawrence, H. H. Tilley, Norman 
Isham and H. B. Isham. 

Underbill — S. M. Mead, A. Marlow, L. Brown, S. Deavitt, I. N. Austin, 
F. Barrett and Thomas Shanley. 

Westford. — Alncy Stone, I. H. Macomber, A. C. Robinson, B. F. Marrs, 
R. M. Huntley, Albert Weed, and T. B. Tyler. 

Williston.— William Miller, W. N. Murray, Jackson Miller, C. E. Baldwin, G. 
W. Whitney, Hiram Walston, and G. A. Chapman. 

RepresentatiTes. 

POSTOFFICE. 

Bolton, Thomas B. Whalen, Bolton 

Burlington, Russell S. Taft, Burhngton 

Charlotte, Charles D. Prindle East Chariotte 

Colchester, Francis Leclair Winooski 

Essex, Charles H. Nichols Essex 

Hinesburgh, J. H. Allen Hinesburgh 

Huntington, O. H. Ellis Huntington Center 

Jericho, C. S. Palmer Jericho 



l6 COUNTY OFFICERS — COURTS — SOCIETIES. 

Milton, H. H. Rankin Milton 

Richmond, H. A. Hodges Richmond 

Shelbume, D. C. Smith Shelbume 

South Burlington, E. Thayer Burlington 

St. George, M. W. Hinsdill St George 

Underhill, G. W. Woodworth, Jr Underhill Center 

Westford, Ira Stevens Westford 

Williston, H. A. Clark Williston 

Town Clerk*. 

Bolton^ James F. Whalen; Burlington, William H. Root; Charlotte, W. 
W. Higbee ; CoUhester, H. V. Horton ; Essex, T. W. R. Nichols ; Hines- 
burgh, J. F. Miles; Huntington, G. W. Sayles; Jericho, E. F. Lane; Milton, 
H. H. Rankin ; Richmond, Salmon Green ; Shelbume, W. H. Tyler ; South 
Burlington, J. E. Smith ; St, George, I. O. Lockwood ; Underhill, J. J. Mon- 
ahan ; Westford, L. M. Bates ; Williston, W. N. Murray. 



COURTS IN CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 

At Court House, Burlington. 
Sopreme Coort. 
First Tuesday in January. 

County Coort. 

First Tuesday in April, and third Tuesday in September. 



SOCIETIES. 

Manonic FraternUy. 

Burlington. — Washington Lodge, No. 3, F. & A. M., Charles W. Wingate, 
W. M. ; regular communications first Wednesday evening of each 
month, at Masonic Hall. 

Burlington Lodge, No. 100, F. & A. M., Elihu B. Taft, W. M. ; meets 
first Tuesday evening of each month, at Odd Fellows HalL 

Burlington Chapter, No. 3, R. A. M., H. M. Phelps, H. P. ; regular 
convocations second Wednesday evening of each month. 

Burlington Commandary, No. 2, K. T., George H. Kinsley, E. C. ; reg- 
ular conclave third Wednesday evening of each month. 

Burlington Council, No. 5, R. & S. M., A, C. Tulle, T. L M. ; regular 
convocations fourth Wednesday evening of each month. 

Vermont Council Deliberation, A. A, S. R., George O. Tyler, deputy 
for Vermont commander-in-chief, and William Brinsmaid, ist lieut- 
commander. 

Vermont Consistory, S. P. R. S., William M. Henry, commander-in- 
chief ; regular meetings fourth Friday evening of each month. 

Delta Chapter of Rose Croix, H. R. D. M., Sayles Nichols, M. W. and 
P. M. ; regular meetings fourth Friday of each month. 



SOCIETIES. 17 



Joseph W. Roby Council, Princes of Jerusalem, George H. Kinsley, M. 
£. S. P. G. M. ; regular meetings second Friday of each month. 

Haswell Lodge of Perfection, A. & A. S. R., M. Wilson Johnson, T. P. 
G. M. ; regular meetings first Friday of each month. 

Star of Bethlehem Conclave, Knights of the Red Cross of Constantine, 
No. I, W. H. S. Whitcomb, sovereign; regular meetings first Monday 
evening of each month. 

Bethany Conclave, No. 4, C. P. Courier, sovereign. 

Charlotte. — Friendship Lodge, No. 24, F. & A. M., meets first Tuesday 
evening of each month. 

Colchester. — Webster Lodge, F. & A. M., meets first Thursday evening of 
each month. 

Essex. — MacDonough Lodge, No. 26, F. & A. M., communications on 
Thursdays of the weeks the moon fulls. 

HiNESBURGH. — Patriot Lodge, No. 33, F. & A. M., regular communications 
first Friday evening of each month. 

Milton. — Seneca Lodge, No. 40, F. & A. M., meets Tuesday evening of the 
week the moon fulls. 

Richmond. — North Star Lodge, No. 12, F. & A. M., meets Tuesday evening 
of the week the moon fulls. 

Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Burlington. — Green Mountain Lodge, No. i, L O. O. F., EliPoquette, N. G.; 
regular meetings Monday evening of each week. 

Green Mountain Encampment, No. 3, S. R. Wager, C. P.; regular 
meetings first and third Thursday evenings of each month. 

Hamilton Lodge, No. 14, I. O. O. F.; H. A. Crandall, N. G.j regular 
meetings on Friday evening of each week. 

Colchester. — Winooski Lodge, No. 37, L O. O. F., meets Wednesday even- 
ing of each week. 

Knigkts of Honor. 

Richmond. — Una Lodge, No. 2426, meets first and third Wednesday of each 
month. 

Temperance Societies* 

Burlington. — Champlain Lodge, No. 20, I. O. of G. T., regular meetings 
Tuesday evening of each week. 

Burlington Reformed Men's Club, regular business meetings on Wednes- 
day evening, and public service on Sunday at five o'clock p. m. 

Women's Christian Temperance Union, room. Temperance Hall, 
Wheeler's Block, Mrs. E. B. Lund, president. 

Milton. — The Milton Temperance Reform Club, organized in 1879, meets 
every Friday evening in the Cengregational church. Object, to pro- 
mote the cause of temperance. 

The Women's Christian Temperance Union, H. G. Hammond, president; 
meets second and fourth Wednesdays of each month. 

9 



l8 SOCIETIES. 



Underhill. — Mt Mansfield Lodge, No. 114, I. O. G. T., meets Tuesday 
evening of each week. 

WiLUSTON. — Crystal Lodge, No. 34, 1. O. of G. T., meets Monday evening of 
each week. 

Grand Army ot the Repoblic— Departmeiit of Yermoiit. Posts in Chitten- 

CoDnty. 

Burlington. — Stannard Post, No. 2, G. A. R., F. S. Francis, commander, 
meets every Friday evening from May to October, and ist and 3rd 
Fridays of each month from October to May. 

HiNESBURGH. — Cimimings Post No. 37, J. H. Allen, commander, meets last 
Saturday evening of each month. 

Bandft* 

Burlington. — Sherman Military Band, twenty-five pieces, George D. Sher- 
man, master, organized in 1878. M. James Tuite, secretary, and 
Henry Thompson, treasurer. 

HiNESBURGH. — The Hinesburgh Comet Band, twelve pieces, John K. Pat- 
rick, leader, was organized in 1863. Meets at Town Hall every Sat- 
urday evening. 

Huntington. — William K. Bryant's Orchestra, five pieces, William K. Bry- 
ant, leader. 

Jericho. — ^Jericho Comet Band has twelve pieces. 

Milton. — Milton Silver Comet Band, fourteen pieces, C. C. Wood, leader, 
meets Wednesday evening of each week in graded school building. 

Westford. — ^The Westford Band, F. B. McComber, leader, was organized 
in 1872. 

Snbordinate Granges, P* of H. 

MiLTON. — Ethan Allen Grange, No. 24, meets Wednesday evenings on or 
before the full moon of each month. 

WiLLiSTON. — Chittenden Grange, No. 56, G. W. Whitney, W. M. ; meets 
Friday before the full moon. 

Miscellaneoos Societies. 

Burlington. — St. Joseph's Society, A. H. Duhamel, president ; regular 
meetings first and third Thursdays of each month. 

St. John Baptist Society, Clement Beaupre. president ; regular meetings 
Tuesday evening of each week, in Wood's Building, cor. College and 
Center streets. 

Burlington Philharmonic Society, Jo D. Hatch, president; George 
Johnson, secretary; and Prof. N. H. Thompson, conductor; weekly 
meetings Tuesday evening of each week, at their hall in Exchange 
Block. 

Board of United States Examining Surgeons for Pensions; H. H. 
Atwater, president ; S. W. Thayer, secretary ; regular meetings first 
and third Wednesdays of each month, 10 a. m., at Dr. Atwater's, 44 
Pine St. 

Burlington Medical and Surgical Club, H. H. Atwater, president ; Jo H. 
Linsley, vice-pres. ; and £. W. Lovell, secretary and treasurer. 



FIRK COMPANIES — WINOOSKI VILLAGE GOVERNMENT. I9 

^^^M^^H^^BH^^M^^^^^V^H^^H^^B^^^^^^B^i^^^^H^^^^^— ^^■^^^_^^>a_^^^^^^^^^^^^^^B^^^^^^-^^^^^^^^B^^B— ^■■^^^■^■^■^^^^^^■^^^■^^■^■«^"^^^^^^^^^^^H^^— ^^■^^■B^H^M^^^^^^^^^M^^^B^^^H^B^HM^^^B^^^^^ 

Burlington Council of the American Legion of Honor, L. G. Burnham, 
commander ; E. Stanley Hall, vice-commander ; L. B. Lord, post 
commander, and C. P. Nichols, secretary. 

The Young Men's Christian Association, was organized May 28, 1866. 
It is in a prosperous condition, with rooms on Church street. 

Company E., Green Mountain Boys, W. G. DeCelle, captain; James 
Miles, first lieutenant, and Richard Shepard, second lieutenant. 
Headquarters, First Regiment National Guards of Vermont. 

Milton. — Milton Borough Reading Society, Lester Rice, president, was or- 
ganized in 1864. 

Williston. — Williston Lyceum, organized in January, 1882, G. W. Whitney, 
president. 

WiNOOSKi. — St. John the Baptist Society, a mutual benefit association, Oscar 
Shepard, president, was organized in July, 1877. 



FIRE COMPANIES 



Burlington, — Hook and Ladder Company, No. t, has forty-six members, 
with George Murphy, foreman. 

Star Hose Company No. 2 has twenty-one members, with George E. 
Cowlbeck, foreman. 

Boxer Engine Company, No. 3, has forty-five members, with Thomas 
E. Dooley, foreman. 

Ethan Allen Engine Company, No. 4, has eighty-two members, with W. 
H. Lane, Jr., foreman. 

Howard Hose Company, No. 5, has fifteen members, with Milo C. 
Graton, foreman. 

Clipper Hose Company. No. 6, has sixteen members, with John W. 
Louther, foreman. 

Barnes Hose Company, No. 7, has thirty members, with William G. 
Hudson, foreman. 

Volunteer Hose Company, No. i, has thirty-six members, with H. R, 
Conger, foreman. 

Volunteer Engine Company, No. i , Henry Loomis, captain. 

WiNOOSKL — Winooski Steamer Company, organized July 13, 1882, has up- 
wards of twenty-five members, with J. A. Harvey, foreman. 

George Sawyer Volunteer Hose Company, No. i, has forty members, 
with William Brothers, foreman. 



WINOOSKI VILLAGE GOVERNMENT. 

Clerk and Treasurer^ William Kidder; Ci;//f^A7r, Allen Stone; Trustees^ 
Alien Stone, John P. Reed, William H. Brothers, L. F. Burdick, Henry 
Cooaot, and Lewis Barabeej Polueman, Allen Stone; Fire Wardens, Alex 
McDaonell, George D. Nas^, and Joseph Mongeon. 



20 publisher's notes 



PUBLISHER'S NOTES. 

Adsit & BiGELOW, of Burlington, are wholesale and retail dealers in coal 
and wood of various grades. Purchasers will do well to remember this firm 
when in need of their goods. Card on page 362. 

H. D. Alexander, proprietor of "Lake View Vineyards" publishes a card 
on page 270. He propogates and keeps for sale the principal valuable grapes 
and small fruit trees. Trees and vines grown in this climate and soil will be 
found to do better than most of the imported stock. 

O. H. Alexander, of Charlotte, originator and dealer in a large variety of 
choice cereals and potatoes, advertises on page 300. His offer to send sam- 
ples of grain before shipments should attract a large number of correspond- 
ents among the enterprising farmers of the country. 

C. C. Allen & Son, furniture dealers, etc., opposite City Park, Burlington, 
print an attractive card on page 392. The styles exhibited by this firm are 
suited to the demands of all classes of customers. Citizens of the county 
should bear this fact in mind. 

Charles £. Allen, attorney at law, t8i College St., Burlington has had 
many years' experience as attorney and solicitor in patent cases. Inventors 
and others interested in American and foreign patents, can learn of him much 
that will aid them, and he is prepared to secure patents on most favorable 
terms. See card on page 350. 

John H. Allen, of Hinesburgh, on page 316, calls attention to the fact 
that he is prepared to supply the best of harness, heavy and light wagons, 
lumber, shingles, maple sugar, eta, all on favorable terms. Don't forget it! 

Prof. G. Baribeault, a disciple of Orpheus, in\ites your attention to his 
card on page 456. If you will call on the Professor, at his rooms in Burling- 
ton, he will soon convince you that it is indeed true that *' music hath power 
to soothe the savage breast." He is an experienced teacher in both vocal 
and instrumental music. 

K A. Beach, dealer in fine clothing of all sizes, from little bo>^ just out of 
dresses, to the towering six footer with a fifty inch waist, will be glad to see 
all who call on him at flssex Junction. See card on page 400. 

J. S. Benham deals in the goods appertaining to a first class drug trade, at 
Milton Depot. We cheerfully commend him to your patronage, reader, and 
suggest, when in the vicinity of his place of business, and in need of goods in 
his line, that you call on him. See his card on page 466. 

E. Besett, of Richmond, is agent for the celebrated Buckeye mower and 
reaper, and also for J. W. Goodell & Co*s. Marble and Granite Works. Be- 
sides all this he is a carpenter and joiner of good repute. Representing first- 
class houses, Mr. Besett is a man to be relied upon. Card on page 350. 

Joseph Bissonett, of Jericho, deals in hardware, iron and steel, farm- 
ing tools, etc, and manufactures milk-can covers and cans, which are declared 
to be the best in the market Farmers and milk men should examine them. 
Card on page 366. 



publisher's notes. 21 



Geo. H. Bostwick, of South Burlington, will be pleased to exhibit to 
lovers of fine stock his full blood Merino sheep, fine horses and Jersey 
cattle, which he breeds for those who desire to improve their domestic ani- 
mals. See card on page 388. 

Andrew Boutin, wholesale and retail dealer in millinery, furnishing and 
fancy goods, crockery, wall paper, etc., etc., on Church St., prints an 
illustrated advertisement on page 260. He buys from the best markets, and 
offers superior inducements to customers. 

The Bristol Herald, of Bristol, Vt., published by the Wilson Brothers, 
issues a card opposite page 481. This lively sheet has quite a circulation 
in Chittenden County, where its weekly advent is received with acclamations 
of pleasure. " May its editor's shadow [nor his subscription list] never grow 
less." 

Bronsons, Weston, Dunham & Co., large lumber dealers and manufac- 
turers of pickets, moldings, shingles, etc., have their mills for dressing and 
re-sawing located at Burlington, while their principal office is at Boston. 
See their card on back of fly-leaf. 

Brown, of the Burlington Photo. Company, sends out his greeting to the 
citizens of Chittenden County, in a neat card on page 310. His facilities are 
equal to any emergency, and prices within the reach of all. 

Henry A. Brush, the well-known taxidermist, of Milton, publishes a card 
on page 554 to which we cheerfully invite your notice and consideration. 
Mr. Brush is an enthusiast in his work, which fact, coupled with artistic genius 
and enterprise, renders him justly celebrated in the art. He also is a breeder 
and dealer in fancy fowls, choice singing and other cage birds. 

Dr. F. C. Burbank, of St. Albans, Vt., treats cancers without the use of 
the knife. The Doctor has made this painful, unusually fatal disease, a par- 
ticular study, arriving, he thinks, at the secret of its cure. All sufferers from 
this terrible malady will do well to consult the Doctor. We refer you to his 
card on page 500. 

The Burlington Clipper, C. S. Kinsley, editor and publisher, is indeed 
a clipper. Not that it " clips " its articles, — though it does clip superfluous 
letters from its words, spelling phonetically, sometimes fun-etically, but that 
it sails full clipper-rigged to the heart of all news and topics of interest. In 
fact, it is a live, energetic newspaper. We wish the Clipper continued pros- 
perity. See card on page 486. 

The Burlington Free Press and Times, daily and weekly, an historical 
sketch of which is given on page 57, comes forward as one of the oldest and 
most influential papers in the State, its value seeming to have increased like 
wine, with age. The Free Press Association, under whose management it is, 
spares no pains nor expense to make it, as is well known^ the most newsy 
and reliable sheet published in this section of the country. The Association 
has also unexcelled facilities for job printing, and also carries a large stock of 
starionery, paper, etc. See their card on page 406. 

Burlington Spoke Company, Walker & Hatch, agents, advertise their 
specialties on page 260. Their goods have earned an enviable reputation. 

The Burlington Woolen Company's Mills are quite fully described on 
page 182. They are the largest in the State, and by employment of labor 



22 publisher's notes. 



and consumption of material add much to the wealth of the county. Adver- 
tisement on page 306. 

L. G. BuRNHAM & Co., of Burlington, are among the most extensive manu- 
facturers of picture frames and moldings, in the State. They are also- 
wholesale dealers in photographic materials. Z. G, Burnham^ of this firm, 
is one of the best photographers in this section of the country. See card on 
page 346. 

B. W. Carpenter & Co., of the Central Drug Store, at Burlington^ 
dispense cool soda-water in the summer time, and sell first-class goods in 
all departments the year round. See card on page 280. 

C. J. Carpenter, wholesale and retail dealer in meats, at Hinesburgh, is 
prepared to furnish patrons with choice selections in any desired quantity. 
He also deals in hides, pelts and country produce. Card on page 316. 

Central House, at Essex Junction, has been recently opened by the 
popular landlord, E. O. Joslyn. The house is in complete repair and is well 
furnished. Notice the attractions offered in card on page 310. 

The Central Vermont Railroad Co. — This extensive corporation, 
operating a majority of all the Vermont lines, offers superior accom- 
modations to the traveling public. With palace cars by day and sleeping 
cars by night, attentive officers, and quick time, it is a pleasure to travel over 
this superb road, among the mountains, along the picturesque valleys, and anon 
catching glimpses of the beautiful Lake Champlain — the ever varying scenery 
makes this a popular route for tourists. The principal offices are located at 
St. Albans. See card page 446. 

Champlain Transportation Company. — The steamers of this fine 
are the finest on the lake, are officered by experienced men, and af- 
ford every facility for comfort and luxurious traveling. A vacation of two or 
three days can be no more pleasantly spent than in making a tour of Lake 
Champlain, and Lake George, by these steamers and connecting lines of rail- 
road. P. VV. Barney, the gentlemanly superintendent at Burlington, will af- 
ford all information needed. Sec advertisement on page 290. 

Dr. E. R. Chase and Dr. E. R. Eaton, 153 Champlain street, Bur- 
lington, print a card, stating office hours, etc., on page 456. We cheerfully 
commend them to the service of our patrons. 

N. E. Clifpord, contractor and builder, at Hinesburgh, is not only 
capable of taking entire charge of the construction of a building of any size, 
but he will also prepare plans, specifications, and estimates, and i/vnll furnish 
sash, doors, blinds, etc, on favorable terms. Card on page 316. 

H. E. CoLviN, M. D., Homeopathist, No. 49 Church st., Burlington, an- 
nounces his office hours on page 412. He has prepared himself especially 
for the treatment of diseases of women and children. 

John Cormea & Sons, the broom and brush manufacturers of Burling- 
ton, advertise on page 280. This firm buys stock of the best quality, direct, 
and make honest goods, for little money. 

Henry H. Davis's store, located at 65 Church st„ Burlington, is a popular 
resort for those who are interested in books, music, or art, as he keeps an 
extensive line of the goods appertaining to these accomplishments constantly 
on hand. We respectfully refer you to his card on page 466, and suggest 
that you give him a call. 



publisher's notes. 23 



DegRe & Martin, first-class carriage makers, at Hinesburgh, also man- 
ufacture bent wood work for the trade. DegRe's patent tire-oven is a 
great saving of fuel and of time, as all blacksmiths who have used them can 
attest. See card on page 316. ' 

T. A. DouBLEDAY, of Winooski, has for a long time given his attention to 
the manufacture of furniture, and at this time he has the largest manu- 
factory of the kind in the county. Besides ash and walnut cottage furni- 
ture, he makes a specialty of extension tables. In this line of goods he has 
acquired a large wholesale trade. His card appears on page 274. 

Isaiah Dow, of Hinesburgh, has probably the finest equipped mill in Ver- 
mont for his special class of manufactures. His many years' experience in 
the manufacture of cassimeres, flannels, fancy and plain stocking yarn,\justly 
entitles him to the enviable position he holds among the manufacturers of 
his State. Mr. Dow presents a cut of his mills, with card, on page 416. 

Wm. M. Doyle, general blacksmith, at Essex Junction, is also a dealer in 
iron, nails, bolts and other blacksmith goods, and makes wagons to order. 
Give him a call if you have not already done so. Card on page 350. 

Edwin I. Drury, the popular liveryman at Essex Junction, has trusty 
horses and good carriages at reasonable prices. He also sells Davis sewing 
machines, which are considered by many the best in the market. Card on 
page 324. 

Edwards, Stevens & Co., of the Extension Foundry and Machine Shop, 
at Winooski, are more fully written up in our Colchester chapter. They 
have earned a reputation for turning out first-class machinery in all depart- 
ments of manufacture. See card on page 286. 

Z. H. Farrand, of Essex, Vt., the well known botanist and pharma- 
ceutist, is manufacturer of his celebrated Anodyne Liniment, Blood and 
Liver Bitters, and several other proprietary medicines, which are all guaran- 
teed of purely vegetable composition. He desires drug sufferers to come to 
him for health. Card on page 300. 

Flanagan's Livery is located on Mechanic st., Burlington. Parties may 
here find trusty horses, fine carriages, and, when needed, careful drivers. 
See card on page 400. 

Geo. a. Foote, of East Charlotte, is agent for the well-known Warrior 
mowers and Beekmantown plows. He is also a successful dealer in general 
merchandise. He is sure to win friends and patrons. Card on page 296. 

R. A. Foote & Son, of Middlebury, Vt., deals in the Casady sulky plow. 
This plow has no land side, but carries all the weight on its wheels, enabhng 
it to perform a given amount of work, with less draft than can be done with 
a walking plow. See their card opposite page 481 where he invites corres- 
pondence. 

J. B. Forrant, proprietor of the Lake View House, Burlington, prints a 
card on page 466, setting forth the merits of his hotel. When convenient, 
pay him a visit, and test the truthfulness of his assertions. 

Loyal Foster, proprietor of Foster's Asthma Cure, Pain Extractor, Nerve 
and Liver Drops, Strengthening Plasters, etc., prints a card on page 412. 
Mr. Foster desires correspondence respecting his medicines and flavoring ex- 
tracts and essences. 



24 publisher's notes. 



Thomas Fraser, hamessmaker and dealer, in all kinds of horse goods, at 
Williston, will be glad to see the farmers and business men for many miles 
around. He has had twenty years' experience, and believes he can supply 
them all with horse clothing equal to any in the market. Card on page 412. 

J. W. GooDELL & Co., of Burlington, who print a card on the front fly- 
leaf, have every facility, including a large capital, for manufacturing marble 
and granite. They are prepared to undertake work of any design and of 
any magnitude, assuring to their patrons entire satisfaction. For a more ex- 
tended description see page 104. 

George I. Hagar, of Burlington, has a full line of saddlery, builder's, cab- 
inet and house furnishing hardware, and also a large stock of paints, oils 
and varnishes, which he offers for sale at very moderate prices. Note his 
card on the outside of the map, and, when desiring anything in his line, call 
and examine his goods. 

F. P. Harden & Co., boot and shoe dealers, at Burlington, keep full lines 
of all kinds of goods in their trade, at prices to suit all classes of customers. 
Go see them. Card on page 280. 

John W. Hayes is located on Champlain street, Burlington, where he 
offers for sale a fine line of groceries and provisions, and also deals in coal 
and wood, at reasonable prices. If you contemplate traveling abroad you 
will do well to consult Mr. Hayes, also, as he is agent for several trans- 
Atlantic lines of steamers, and cheerfully gives information. See his card 
on page 456. 

Henry, Johnson & Lord, an enterprising firm of Burlington, offer 
nepenthe to their suffering brethren, in the several proprietary medicines they 
manufacture, mentioned in their card on page 465. We would advise all 
afflicted ones to heed their proclamation and receive a respite from the ills 
flesh is heir to. 

XjEO. W. Holmes & Co., of 186 College st, Burlington, commenced busi- 
ness here as manufacturers and dealers in gloves and mittens, in 1874, since 
which time their trade, both wholesale and retail, has increased yearly, being 
now about eight times as great as seven years ago. This is the largest glove 
manufactory in the county, and they make a specialty of doing the finest 
work. See illustrated advertisement on page 374. 

F. H. Hosford, of Charlotte, grower of choice spring and winter seed- 
grains, prints an attractive card on page 296. Farmers who desire to im- 
prove the standard of their grains, will do well to correspond with Mr. 
Hosford. 

A. W. Howard, general merchant, at Colchester Center, by reason of fair and 
honest dealing, and a stock of seasonable goods always on hand to tempt the 
buyer, obtains and holds trade that would othen^dse naturally flow to Burl- 
ington. See card on page 296. 

H. H. Howard &. Co., of Burlington, manufacturers of rubber stamps of 
all kinds, for marking, offer goods equal, if not superior, to any made in the 
larger cities, and their prices are very low — way down ; in fact, it is to the 
interest of all persons wanting these goods to correspond with this firm. See 
card on page 388. 

L. B. & F. Howe, of the Jericho grist and flouring mills, are prepared to sup- 
ply flour, feed, meal, and in fact, all the products of a well regulated mill, on as 



publisher's notes. 25 



favorable terms as the market will afford, either at wholesale or retail. See 
card on page 340. 

H. M. Hull, of Hinesburgh, a general merchant of experience, succeeds in 
bringing to this town such choice selections of goods, and at so favorable 
prices, that he attracts trade from many miles away. Country produce is a 
specialty with him. Card on page 324. 

Jason E. Hunt, of Essex, breeder and dealer in thoroughbred Yorkshire 
hogs, prints a card on page 350. All who wish to improve their pork product 
wiU do well to enquire of Mr. Hunt. 

J. M. IsHAM, merchant tailor, 72 Church st., Burlington, is prepared to 
give perfect fits in the way of custom clothing, from superior goods and of ex- 
cellent workmanship. Card on page 310. 

The Johnson State Normal School, of Johnson, is under the manage- 
ment of one of the most competent instructors of the State, and has for its 
object the professional training of teachers. Those wishing such advantages 
wiU do well to address the principal, Mr. Edward Conant, late State superin- 
tendent of education. See card on page 412, and foot hnes. 

R. A. Jones, of Richmond, whose card appears on page 384, carries a fine 
stock of boots and shoes, which he offers at reduced prices. Those having 
hides and pelts for sale will do well to consult him. Mr. Jones also deals 
in butter and cheese, for which he pays the highest market price. 

S. C. Kimball & Co., manufacturers and dealers in doors, sash, blinds, 
moldings, etc., at Burlington, combine the advantages of experience, judg- 
ment, and a desire to please, in their business, thus enabling them to warrant 
satisfaction to the purchaser. See their card on page 486. 

ElzRA Kinney, of Jericho, the enterprising carriage and sleigh maker, prints 
a card on page 366. Mr. Kinney uses the best materials of all kinds, em- 
ploys the best class of workmen, and guarantees satisfaction. Patronize him. 

W. C. KiRBY, of Richmond, has gained considerable notoriety as a suc- 
cessful painter of church steeples without the use of staging. As a carriage, 
sign, and ornamental painter, he has a good reputation. Card on page 384. 

L. Knapp, of Richmond, has re-opened the blacksmith shop formerly occu- 
pied by Peter Crane & Son, and is prepared to do justice to his patrons. See 
his card on page 384. 

O. B. Landon, of Milton, is general agent for the famous Syracuse Chilled 
Plows, for the counties of Franklin and Chittenden, a cut of which he prints 
on page 514. He also is agent for several other valuable agricultural inven- 
tions, a list of which he prints in his card, to which we refer the reader. 

Jerry Lee, of Burlington, bobs up serenely with a card on page 486. 
Those desiring any description of carriage or sleigh will receive every atten- 
tion from Mr. Lee. 

Elias Lyman, located on South Wharf, Burlington, prints a card on the 
outside of the map. Mr. Lyman, as successor to Wilkins & Lyman, does 
an extensive business, dealing in coal, molding sand and Nova Scotia plaster. 
In his plaster mill alone, which is operated by a seventy-five horse-hower en- 
gine, he employs twelve men, grinding thirty tons of plaster per day. He 
is an experienced man in the business, and dealing largely, is always able 
to obtain the benefit of the lowest markets for his patrons. 



26 publisher's notes. 



Dr. £. P. Marshall, of Burlington, invites the attention of all those need- 
ing dental services, to his card on page 266. He is in every way qualified to 
give his patrons entire satisfaction in all branches of his profession. Call and 
see him when your teeth trouble you. 

J. C. Martin, of 7 i Church street, Burlington, sells millinery and fancy- 
goods, and sewing machines. His mechanical cash delivery system is in 
working order, and a novelty well worth a call at his store to see. Card on 
page 324. 

W. B. McKiLLiP, one of the successful grocers of Burlington, like the 
French, from whom the word grossur, or grocer, is derived, believes in having 
that which is tasteful and delicate, and hence carries a fine stock of choice 
goods. A visit to his store will convince you of the truth of this assertion. 
See his card on page 440. 

P. H. McMahon is an experienced hair cutter and barber, located on 
Church street, Burlington. He makes a specialty of hair cutting, pa)ring par- 
ticular attention to cutting ladies' and children's hair. Note his card on page 
456, and give him a call. 

David Mitchell, plater in gold, silver, nickel, etc., has an office at G. I. 
■Hager's store, in Burlington, while his factory is on Factory street, WinooskL 
l*he process of plating with metals is a very interesting one, and we recommend 
the citizens of the county to call and see the process. Take along some of your 
old ware and have it made as good as new for a little money. Advertisement 
on page 266. 

Morehouse's proprietary medicines, so well known all over Chittenden 
County, are manufactured by G. Will Morehouse, of St. George, and if the 
local popularity is an index, this little town will yet be widely known through 
its patent medicines. Card on page 280. 

W. F. Moulton, Burhngton, has something to say to those who are annoyed 
by bursting eaves-troughs and conductors, in his card on page 500. He has 
invented and patented something to eradicate the annoyance. Send for cir- 
culars and price lists. Among those who offer testimonials as to the high 
character of his goods are Gen. H. H. Baxter, of Rutland, and the officers of 
the Central Vt R. R., at St. Albans. He also manufactures a very simple 
yet ingenious hair crimper for ladies. 

Henry J. Nelson, of Burlington, believing that " a thing of beauty is a joy 
forever," has devoted himself to furthering the happiness of his fellow-creat- 
ures by designing and manufacturing a line of beautiful furniture. All 
who would be made happy in the possession of a handsomely furnished home 
should give him a call. He prints a card on page 430. 

Nye & Lavelle of Burlington, are wholesale and retail dealers in groceries, 
meats, poultry and country produce generally, and will give as good bargains 
as can be had anywhere. Card on page 346. 

The Ogdensburg & Lake Champlain R. R. Co. publish a card on the 
outside of the map, istating some of the desirable points travelers will find in 
their road. The company have made complete arrangements for connection 
with other roads, and also take great pains to accommodate their patrons and 
make their journeys pleasant. We commend them to the reader and invite 
attention to their card. 



publisher's notes. 27 



J. V. Page, at his rooms on Church street, Burlington, keeps constantly 
on hand a supply of hrst-class sewing machines and sewing machine attach- 
ments and supplies. In these modern times, no family can afford to be with- 
out one of these useful articles. To all who are, however, Mr. Page has some- 
thing to say which will be to their advantage. See his card on page 420. 

D. K. Patrick, at his foundry in Hinesburgh, manufactures a large variety 
of agricultural implements, among the most noted of which are his celebrated 
plows, made of Cook's patent steel mixture. See card on page 416. 

E. H. Payn, located at 128 Church street, Burlington, is an enterprising 
lock and gunsmith, stencil plate cutter and steel stamp manufacturer, dealing 
in all the goods appertaining thereto, a list of which he publishes in his card 
on page 500. 

T. S. Peck, one of the heaviest insurance agents in the State, located at 
Burlington, prints a notice on the inside of the front cover. He has $300 - 
000,000.00 represented in the most reliable American and foreign companies. 
He has also special facihties for placing insurance for other agents, who have 
risks too heavy for them to wholly place, and at the same time guarantees 
their interests shall be carefully protected. 

A. N. Percy of the ** Burlington Clothing Company," in the old " Lyman 
Block " comer of College and Church streets, Burlington, prints an illustrated 
announcement on page 434. In 1881, Mr. Percy's business had increased so 
as to demand more room and better facilities, consequently the stores of the 
block were thrown together, forming a single store 44x60 feet, entirely re- 
fitted in modem style. The location is one of the most desirable in the city, 
while its long association with some of the oldest and most successful busi- 
ness firms for more than half a century has given the block a reputation 
unsurpassed by any in this portion of the State. Mr. Percy will, by liberal 
and square dealing, continue to maintain its good reputation unimpared. 

Frank Perry, of Kichmond, in his card on page 384, offers inducements 
to those wishing to purchase harnesses, trunks, wagon trimmings and horse 
goods generally. As he manufactures his own goods, he should be able to 
please all parties. 

Pierce & Linsley, who have one of their principal offices located at Burling- 
ton, are extensive dealers in Western and Canada lumber, making a special- 
ty of Pine. They are prepared to fill orders for any amount on short notice 
See their card on back fly-leaf. 

C. C. Post of Burlington, is extensively engaged in the manufacture and 
sale of improved utensils for the gathering of sap and making of maple sugar, 
that toothsome sweet, in the manufacture of which Vermont excels any one of 
the other States of the Union. Ten million pounds of maple sugar have been 
made in this state in a single year. How much labor might have been saved 
had all the manufacturers employed Mr. Post's improved appliances, is a 
problem. The reader is referred to Mr. Post's illustrated page, 356. 

The Queen City Marble and Granite Works, Walker & Taplin, pro- 
prietors, manufacture all kinds of cemetery and building work, from the finest 
grades of foreign and domestic granite, marble and French gray stone, fin- 
ishing their work in an artistic manner, and on short notice. They also deal 
in flag-stone and curbing. Note their card opposite page 481, and when 
convenient call and examine their work. 



28 publisher's notes. 



Queen City Soap Works. — ^The business of this firm, established in 1876, 
has increased from a modest beginning to the extent requiring enlarged facil- 
ities. Accordingly the present commodious building, 104 Front street, was 
erected, and the business transferred thereto in 1881. The firm uses pure in- 
gredients in the manufacture of their soap, and so merits the extensive pat- 
ronage they enjoy. Their stearine candles are among the best in market 
Card on page 362. 

Read & Patrick of Hinesburgh, are manufacturers of tin, sheet-iron 
and copper ware of every description, dealers in stoves, and are agents for 
the celebrated Studebaker wagons, of South Bend, Ind. They also deal in 
furs and skins. See card on page 416. 

A. R. Robertson, manufacturer and dealer in tripe neats-foot oil, tal- 
low, &c, breeder and dealer in fine poultry, prints a card on page 296. All 
persons interested in his class of goods should correspond with him. 

Dr. Amos Robinson, of Swanton, Vt., advertises his new cancer remedy 
on page 426. The remedy was first applied to a cancer on his own breast, in 
1878, with perfect success. Next, Mr. Joseph Eaton, of Fairfield, who had a 
cancer under his left ear, which had been treated a long time by a noted can- 
cer doctor, without success, applied the remedy, which in ten days killed and 
removed the cancer. The Doctor refers to Mr. Eaton. Many other removals of 
cancers from the cheek, lips, nose, hands, breast, abdomen, &c, it is said, have 
been effected completely. He has several times been called to Boston, where 
he has applied his new treatment to cancer in the breast, successfully remov- 
ing them. The doctor has large specimens preserved, which may be seen at 
his office. He also removes wens, corns, moles, warts, &c. 

D. E. Rood, of Jericho, the popular harness-maker of that town, prints 
his card on page 340. All in want of harnesses, whips, blankets, robes and 
other articles in his line, can be supplied here with first-class goods. 

Charles H. Sager, manufacturer and dealer in furniture, at Burlington, 
presents an attractive card on page 336. In addition to new styles, Mr. 
Sager makes a specialty of old styles, and of dressing old time furniture to 
look as good as new. 

H. E. Salls, of Burlington, advertises on bottom lines, fine cigars, masquer- 
ading goods, fireworks, guns, tents, periodicals, papers, &c., most anything 
you want and at low prices. Don't fail to call on him. 

E. Sanctuary & Son, dealer in coffins and caskets, at Hinesburgh, are also 
carpenters and joiners of ability. They are prepared to supply goods in their 
line at reasonable prices, and as they have recently commenced the coffin and 
casket trade, they hope to merit a liberal share of patronage. Card on page 

324- 

Franklin Scott, patent solicitor and attorney in patent cases, at North 
Bennington. This gentleman has probably facilities for securing the inter- 
ests of his clients superior to any other attorney in Vermont, and undoubt- 
edly is not surpassed anywhere. Of a mechanical turn of mind, he has per- 
fected himself in the art of drawing and designing, until he now stands con- 
fessedly at the pinacle of the profession. His knowledge of mechanics 
enables him to point out defects or suggest improvements in the designs of 
his clients, and his immense library, pertaining to patent matters, enables him 
also to point out what has already been done, if anything, by others, to hin- 



publisher's notes. 29 



der the success of an application. Finally, his long experience in legal points 
connected with this peculair practice, combined with his other qualifications, 
eminently fits him for successfully advancing the interests of the inventor. As 
you would employ the most skillful physician to be obtained, in desperate 
cases of disease, so to secure your financial interests in patent matters you 
should employ one who understands how to introduce all the claims made, in 
such language and manner as will secure the desired rights and privileges. 
See Mr. Scott's advertisement, page 330. 

B. F. Shanlev, contractor and builder, at Jericho, makes a specialty of the 
erection of houses and barns, with the aid of first-class workmen. Card on 
page 366. 

E. P. Shaw, the fashionable clothier, cor. Church and Main sts., Burling- 
ton, is at all. times pleased to show his customers new styles in almost endless 
variety. He also keeps hats, trunks, robes, &c., in quality and style to suit the 
most fastidious. See card on page 266. 

Shepard & Morse Lumber Co. — ^This firm, with offices in Burlington and 
Boston, Mass., are among the most extensive manufacturers and dealers in 
lumber in this part of the country, and are prepared to fill all orders at lowest 
market rates for same quality of goods. Card on page 346. 

E. L. Shinville, of Hinesburgh, deals in choice dairy butter, which he has 
put up expressly for family use in packages as ordered. Families and grocers 
may also secure through him fresh eggs, beans, and country produce gener- 
ally. He is agent for pure dairy salt, from one of the best factories in the 
country. Card on page 7fi%, 

Skillings, Whitnevs & Barnes, dealers in Canada, Michigan, and South- 
em pine, and manufacturers of all other grades of lumber, having steam mills 
for dressing, located at Burlington, is one of the heaviest firms in the country, 
and also one of the oldest in this section. Long experience, coupled with a 
courteous demeanor, renders them desirable people to deal with. See their 
card opposite page 480. 

E. A. Sloan, of Underbill, manufacturer and dealer in tin, hollow, and 
woodenware, stoves, etc., prints a card on page 392. Mr. Sloan can supply 
goods in his line cheap as anybody, and of as good material. Patronize him. 

Smith & Pease of " the Blue Store," on Church street, Burlington, have 
long been known as leading clothiers. No better goods or in greater variety 
can be found in the State. Trunks, hats, robes, and furnishing goods are 
among ther specialties. See their foot line advertisements on directory pages, 
and be sure to call and make the acquaintance of this popular firm. 

H. W. Smith & Son, extensive roof slaters, located on Champlain street, 
Burlington, solicit our patrons custom. As they are also wholesale dealers in 
all qualities and colors of roofing slate, we doubt not their facilities for giving 
satihfaction are excellent. See their illustrated card on page 420. 

WiLUAM Smith & Co., of Burlington, show up a handsome carriage on 
page 466. They manufacture a handsome, durable article in this line, at 
prices low enough, too. 

M. L. Snyder, proprietor of the Essex Junction Monumental Works, pub- 
lished a card on page 286. Mr. Snyder's facilities for supplying his patrons 
with first-class work in all departments of his business, at very moderate prices, 
entitles him to the liberal trade he enjoys. 



30 PUBLISHERS NOTES. 



Strong & Parker, of Vergennes, Vt., manufacturers of the "Little Giant 
Road Machine," have accomplished great good in lessening the labor of road 
making. By the use of these machines, communities will greatly improve their 
roads, and do it in less time than by the ordinary methods of the past See 
the machine at work, on page 430. 

George E. St\'les, of Burlington, offers all who wish to follow the styU^ 
retain their health, and develop their muscles, an excellent opportunity to do 
so by purchasing of him a Columbia or Harvard bicycle. He has some- 
thing to say to you in his card on page 420. 

A. Taylor, florist and nurseryman, of Burlington, prints a card on page 
514, to which he invites attention. Mr. Taylor has an excellent nursery 
stock, while his floral display of tropical and native plants is exquisite. His 
large stock enables him to supply parties, weddings, funerals, etc, with taste 
and celerity. 

Geo. E. Terrill of Underbill, has special arrangements with publishers 
whereby he is enabled to furnish papers and periodicals in most cases cheaper 
than can be had direct. Read card on page 392. 

Henry Thorp, of Charlotte, a well-known breeder of pure Atwood Me- 
rino sheep, commenced his flock in 1862, by purchase of five Atwood Ewes, 
of Victor Wright, of Weybridge. Since then, from to time, he has added to 
the flock chiefly by purchase from the celebrated Hammond and Sanford 
flocks. Parties wishing pure bred animals should call on Mr. Thorp. See 
illustration of his Ram, ''No. i," on page 270. 

R. Tm'NNE, proprietor of the Burlington Steam Dye Works, although a 
dyer, purposes to " live and let live," by doing an excellent quality of work at 
moderate prices. He publishes a card setting forth the merits of his trade, on 
page 380, to which he invites attention. 

J. W. Truax, millwright and patentee, and an extensive manufacturer of 
mill machinery, invites attention to his discriptive card on page 380. Mr. 
Truax has testimonials of a high nature, from good authorities, pronouncing 
his inventions as eminently useful, not the least of which is his turbine 
water-wheel, pronounced to be one of the best for durability and power ever 
invented. Address him for a circular. 

The Unin'ersiit of Vermont. — This venerable and venerated institu- 
tion of learning, one of the best in New England, is now in a more prosper- 
ous condition than ever before. For particulars relative to its progress and 
present standing, we refer you to its card, printed on the inside of the back 
cover, and to the historical sketch on pages 118 to 122. 

The Vermont Episcopal Institute, whose announcement is printed on page 
476, and whose history and engraving of building are given in the historical 
portion of the work, serves as an excellent illustration of what energy and 
judgment can do. From a small beginning, the school has been built up, un- 
til it is now one of the best in the country. The course of training followed 
is unsurpassed, while the site of the school is one of the most beautiful and 
healthful in the State. Situated on the lake shore, one and one-half miles 
from Burlington, its students have every advantage of healthful breezes, rural 
delights, and city comforts. 

The Vermont Life Insurance Company, of Burlington, although a com- 
paratively new institution, has managed its business so successfully as to in- 



publisher's notes. 31 



crease its capital from $50,000.00 to $250,000.00, since it was organized, in 
1868. The practice of insuring one's life for the benefit of the friends left 
behind when death overtakes us, is constantly becoming more popular, and 
no other company is more reliable than this. See their advertisement on the 
front fly-leaf, and address them for particulars. 

The Vermont State Normal School, at Castleton, Rut. Co., is one of 
the most beautifully located in the State. The grounds and buildings are 
admirably adapted for school purposes. Situated at the head of Seminary 
street in this charming village, upon a slight elevation, they are at once re- 
tired, yet easy of access, airy and healthful. The drainage of the grounds is 
perfect, the ventilation of the buildings complete, having accommodations for 
one hundred boarders and two hundred day pupils. (See cut on page 522.) 
The present main building was first opened for the reception of pupils in 1830, 
by the late Solomon Foote, since which time there has been a succession of 
able principals and associate teachers, while many hundred cultured young 
men and women have gone out from its halls upon a useful life. It became 
a State Normal School in 1867, meeting with varying success under different 
principals, until 1881, when it came under the permanent control of Capt. 
Abel E. Leavenworth, entering upon a new era of prosperity. Principal 
Leavenworth is well known in Chittenden County, as he was bom in Charlotte, 
fitted for college at the Hinesburgh Academy, and graduated from the Univers- 
ity of Vermont. For five years before, and three years after the war of the 
Rebellion, he was principal of the Hmesburgh Academy, where, aside from 
fitting young men for college, he made a specialty of training teachers, many 
of whom have done efficient work in the schools of the county. For many 
years he was an officer of the County Teachers' Association, contributing 
largely towards its success during a period of twenty years. From Beeman 
Academy, New Haven, he sent out eighty-nine teachers and graduated forty- 
one in the several courses. While he was principal of the State Normal 
School at Randolph, over two hundred graduates were commissioned to teach, 
and over four hundred others received partial training. The first year at 
Castleton has been one of marked success, seven counties having been repre- 
sented in its membership. The railway and telegraph facilities of Castleton 
are excellent, there being four passenger trains daily to and from Rutland, 
eleven miles east, and two on each of the roads to Whitehall and Eagle Bridge, 
west and south. The principal is ably seconded in his efforts to make this 
a first-class school, by an efficient corps of teachers trained by himself in an- 
other school, and having large and successful experience in Normal school 
work and methods. Thus combining the advantages of healthful location, 
ample accommodations, facility of access, and competent instructors, this 
school cannot fail to command its legitimate share of patronage. 

James Wakeheld, of Burlington, sailmaker and manufacturer of tents, 
awnings, wagon-covers, flags, etc., and dealer in cordage and rope of all 
sizes, tackle blocks, etc., is prepared to supply all demands in his line 
promptly, and of the best materials. Country merchants, campers, and all 
wanting tents, awnings, sails, etc., will find it to their interest to correspond 
with Mr. Wakefield. Card on page 362. 

Walker, Hatch & Co., stair builders and manufacturers of fine church 
and office furniture, eta, employ a large force of artisans, and enjoy an ex- 
tensive trade. See their card on page 260. 



32 publisher's notes. 



O. J. Walker & Brothers, wholesale grocers, and dealers in flour, salt, 
nails, etc, etc, have built up a trade extending over most of Vermont and 
Northern New York. Their facilities for affording good bargains are not sur- 
passed in the State. Card on page 300. 

T. A. Wheelock, of Burlington, has reason to expect expressions of laud- 
ation and gratitude from many owners of comfortably heated dwellings, where 
he has inserted Pierce's low pressure steam heating apparatus, for which he is 
sole agent for this locality. Mr. Wheelock makes a specialty of fine plumb- 
ing and steam heating, doing his work on scientific principles, thus ensuring 
success. We refer the reader to the illustration accompanying his card, on 
page 440. 

E. L. Whitney, dealer in books, stationery, jewehy, etc, at Milton, prints 
a card on page 366. He keeps the latest and most desirable goods in either 
branch of his business at reasonable prices. 

Williaj^i E. Whitney, of 143 Cherry st., Burlington, is a gun and lock- 
smith of good repute. His guns, canes, fishing rods, etc, are among the 
best to be found. Card on page 400. 

W. W. Wood, of 60 and 62 Church st, Burlington^ invites the good peo- 
ple of Chittenten County to come into his store and be fitted from his ex- 
tensive stock of boots, shoes, and rubbers. See his card on page 400. 

Mrs. G. E. Worden, the fashionable milliner at Richmond, offers at all 
times the latest novelties in her line, and Mr. G. E. Worden, of the same 
town, is a painter of acknowledged ability. See card on page ^SS, 

K O. WoRMELL, proprietor of the Continental Photograph Gallery, at 
Burlington, has an experience that enables him to do an excellent grade of 
work at moderate prices. He is prepared to do out-door work at short 
notice. See his card on page 514. 

S. A. Wright, manufacturer and dealer in carriages, wagons, sleighs, etc, 
at Jericho, has gained a reputation for building honest work, durable and 
stylish, and as cheap as sudi work can be had in any neighboring locality. 
Give him a chance to quote prices. Card on page 340. 



>>.. 

>. 



GAZETTEER 



OF 



miTTn 



ENDEN 



J 



NTY, VT., 




!ERY aptly and truthfully has it been said that, " history is a bridge 
connecting the now with the past." It is indeed a bridge, over which 
we may pass to the hallowed days of which we all love to hear, — a 
passage whose every plank is the record of some noble life or deed, urging us 
to emulate their virtues, or, at other points, warning us from the errors and 
vices into which many have fallen. It is our purpose, then, to pass with the 
reader over this bridge, connecting the prosperous present with the toil-laden 
past of Chittenden County, involving also a cursory glance at the history of 
its parent, the State. A hasty journey it must necessarily be, however, — a 
mere superficial glance at the principal points of interest on the way, in which 
it shall be our endeavor to present the truth, and to preserve many, or at 
least some, facts which would otherwise soon become enshrouded in the 
oblivion that surrounds but too many of the heroic deeds and sacrifices 
attending the conception and birth of the old democratic State of Vermont, a 
territory that has no parallel in its peculiar beauties, revealed in the variety, 
the majesty and exquisite loveliness of its scenery, and whose history estab- 
lishes a just claim to its title of ** The Classic Ground of America." 

There are good reasons for believing that the first civilized people who 
\4sited New England, were a colony of Norwegians, or Northmen, who 
emigrated thither, according to the original Icelandic accounts of their voy- 
ages of discovery, as follows : — 

** In the spring of A. D. 986, Eric the Red, so named from the fact of his 
having red hair, emigrated from Iceland to Greenland, and formed a settlement 
there. In 994, Biame, the son of Heriulf Bardson, one of the settlers who 
accompanied Eric, returned to Norway, and gave an account of discoveries 
he had made to the south of Greenland. On his return to Greenland, Leif, 
the son of Eric, bought Biarne's ship, and, with a crew of thirty-five men, 
embarked on a voyage of discovery, A. D. 1000. After sailing some time to 
the southwest, they fell in with a country covered with a slaty rock, and des- 



34 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



titute of good qualities, and which, therefore, they called Helluland (slate- 
land). They then continued southerly until they found a low flat coast, with 
white sand cliffs, and immediately back, covered with wood, whence they 
called the country Mark/and (wood-land). From here they sailed south and 
west, until they arrived at a promontory- which stretched to the east and north, 
and sailing round it turned to the west, and sailing to the westward, passed 
between an island and the mainland, and entering a bay through which flowed 
a river, they concluded to winter there. Having landed, they built a house 
to winter in, and called the place I^ifsbuthir (Leifs-booths). Soon after this, 
they discovered an abundance of vines, whence they named the country 
Vinland, or Wineland, which corresponds with the present country at the 
head of Narragansett Bay, in Rhode Island." 

Subsequent to this came the discoveries of Columbus, in 1492 ; the Eng- 
lish discoveries, in 1497, followed, during the same year, by the Portugese ; 
the Spanish, in 1506, and finally came the French, in 1524, who sub- 
sequently discovered the Gulf and River St. Lawrence, and first began 
a colony upon it, whence they soon spread to the heart of the country, 
to which they had an easy means of access by way of the great lakes, 
whose waters head within a few miles of the tributaries of the Mississippi, 
which flows across half the continent to the Gulf of Mexico. In a 
few years they had explored this vast region, and established among the 
savages missions and trading posts, first in the forests of Canada, than in the 
West, and finally in New York and in the territory included within the pres- 
ent State of Vermont. 

In the meantime England had been pushing her explorations and discov- 
ies ; but the French laid claim to nearly the whole country, confining the 
English to a narrow strip of land along the Atlantic coast, thus transplanting 
the jealousies and rivalries which had long made them enemies in the Old 
World, to the New Continent. The French sought the alliance of the In- 
dian tribes, and years of warfare followed, in which, however, the English at 
last succeeded in gaining possession of a large amount of the land. The 
first hostilities between them originated on William's accession to the throne 
of England, in 1689, which terminated in the peace of Ryswic, in 1697. 
Queen Anne's war, so-called, commenced in 1702, and continued to the 
peace of Utretcht. in 17 13. The third controversy was declared by George 
II. in 1744, and continued until the preliminaries of i>eace were signed 
between France and England, at Aix-la-Chapelle, in 1748. The last con- 
flict between these powers, anterior to the American revolution, was formally 
declared by Great Britain, in 1756, and was reciprocated the same year on 
the part of France, and finally terminated by the capture of Montreal, in 
September, 1760, when the whole Province of Canada was surrendered to 
Great Britain. 

During this period of the French wars, the territory now included within 
the county was the chief point of rendezvous for the French and their Indian 
allies, in their hostile excursions against the English settlements in the valley 
of the Connecticut. It was through here they generally led their cap- 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 35 



tives and carried their plunder, their usual route both in going and re- 
turning being along Missisquoi Bay and Winooski River, crossing the short 
carrying place between the river and Mallett's Bay. It was along here the 
suffering captives from Deerfield, in the dead of winter, in 1704, were led on 
their way to Canada ; and here also was led the lad Enos Stevens, son of 
Capt. Phineas Stevens, in 1748; and on the east shore of Missisquoi Bay, the 
year previous, Mrs. Jemima Howe found her son Caleb perishing with hunger. 
Early skirmishes took place, too, within the territory, — one as early as 1709, on 
the Winooski, in which Liet. John Wells and John Burt were killed, followed 
by another at the mouth of the river, where several of the French and Indians 
were killed in turn. Upon this river, also, Capt. John Barnet lost his life in 
a skirmish, in 1776. Indeed, the whole territory teems with tales and anec- 
dotes of those days of bloodshed. 

These early wars, however, led to the first settlement of the State by civil- 
ized people. Samuel Champlain is supposed to have been the first to visit 
the territory, having sailed up the lake he discovered, and which has since 
borne his name, in 1609. In 1664, M. de Tracy, then Governor of 
New France (the French possessions in America), entered upon the 
work of erecting a line of fortifications from the mouth of the Riche- 
lieu (Sorel) River into Lake Champlain. The first year he constructed 
three forts upon the river, and the next spring, 1665, he ordered Capt. 
de La Motte to proceed up Lake Champlain and erect another fortress 
upon an island which he designated. It was completed that same year and 
named Fort St. Anne, and afterwards it was called Fort La Motte, from the 
name of its builder, and which in the end gave the name to the island on 
which it stood. The remains of the fort are now to be seen, and the island 
still bears the name. In 1690, a fort was built by Capt. de Nami,* at Chim- 
ney Point, in Addison County, about which a thriving settlement soon sprang 
up; but it was not until 1724, at Fort Dummer, that the first permanent set- 
tlement was commenced, and the garrison of this fort were for several years 
the only white inhabitants of the territory. 

After the close of the last French war, in 1759-60, the settlement of the 
country rapidly increased, as their old enemy, Canada, had been transformed 
from a hostile to a friendly neighbor. Township charters were rapidly granted 
by New Hampshire, under command of King George III., to whom the in- 
habitants were only nominally subject, however, but obeyed only the decrees 
of their own committees and conventions. At one of these conventions, 
January 15, 1777, the New Hampshire Grants were declared to be an inde- 
pendent State, " by the name, and forever hereafter to be called, known, and 
distinguished by the name of New Connecticut, alias Vermont, etc." The latter 
name, derived from the French verd mont or Green Mountains, it still re- 
tains, and which has gathered about itself, through all the vicissitudes which 



* In the Doc. Hist. 0/ New York^ this name is given as de Warm. 



36 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



its sons have passed, a halo of glory that shall pass away only with the demise 
of Time. Such, briefly, is the outline of Vermont's history. 

On February ii, 1779, *he State was divided into two counties, the Green 
Mountains forming the dividing line, the portion on the east being called 
Cumberland, and that on the west Bennington Count)'. Each county wzs 
divided into two shires, that on the east into^Westminster and Newbur>', and 
Bennington and Rutland on the west. This division of counties remained 
till the extra session of the legislature, in February, 1781, when the county of 
Rutland was incorporated from Bennington, and Windsor and Orange Coun- 
ties were incorporated from Cumberland, and the name of Cumberland altered 
to Windham. Rutland County in turn extended through to the northern line 
of the State for a period of four years, eight months and five days, during 
which time the courts were held at Tinmouth. The State, then, on October 
18, 1785, dismembered the old county, incorporating from it a new county, 
called Addison, which in turn extended to the north line of the State, and 
made the towns of Addison and Colchester half shires. But the connection 
of Chittenden with Addison County only continued for the term of two years, 
and Colchester had not the honor of holding the courts of that county but 
one term. Before the next stated term, at Colchester, the county of Chit- 
tenden, named in honor of Thomas Chittenden, the first governor of Vermont, 
was set off from Addison and incorporated into a distinct county, October 22 
1787.* It then embraced all the territory between the north lines of Ferris- 
burgh, Monkton, Bristol, Lincoln, and Warren, and the Province line, and was 
bounded on the west by the west line of the State, which followed the deepest 
channel of the lake, passing east of the P^our Brothers, and west of Grand Isle 
and Isle La Motte, and on the east by the west lines of Northfield, Montpelier, 
Calais, Woodbury, Hardwick, and Greensborough, to the northwest comer 
thereof, and then in the most direct course on town lines to the north line 
of the State. But the population and business of the county increased to 
such an extent that it soon became necessar>- that its turn should curoe to be 
reduced in territory; and on November 5, 1792, a new county on the north 
was incorporated, by the name of Franklin. The line that separated Chit- 
tenden from Franklin County commenced **on the west line of Orange 
County [as then established], at the northeast corner of Worcester; thence 
westerly on the north line of Worcester. Stowe, Mansfield, Underbill, West- 
ford, and Milton, to the waters of Lake Champlain ; thence across to the 
north of South Hero by the deepest channel between that and North Hero; 
and thence on the west line of the State." Still further deductions, however, 

* As an error has crept into a great many local works, relative to the date of this incorporation, we quote the 
following from Deming's Vermtnt Officerty which clears up the apparent myster>' : '*Zadock Thompsno, in 
\m histor\- of Vermont, says, that Chittenden County wxs incoi7>orated October 22. 1782. and Addison County 
February 27, 1787. This is a mistake xs to b(.>th counties, as will be seen by the follow in|; extract of a letter from 
Mr. Thompson to a friend, who had addressed him on the subject : * While in Montpelier a few days since, I 
was induced, by your sugcestionf, tti examine the manuscript acts in the office of the Secretary <^ State, and I 
there found that Addis^m County was incorfiorated October \\ 17X5, and that Chittenden County was incorpo. 
rated October 22, 1787.' " 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 37 



have been made from the original limits: October 20, 1794, Starksboro 
was annexed to Addison County; November 9, 1802, the county of Grand 
Isle was formed, and South Hero and adjacent islands were set off to form a 
part of that county. In addition, the county of Jefferson (now Washington) 
was incorporated November i, 1810, and to form a part of which, the towns 
of Mansfield, Stowe, Waterbury, Duxbury, Fayston, Waitsfield, Moretown, 
Middlesex, and Worcester, were taken from Chittenden. In 1839, the west- 
em part of the town of Mansfield was annexed to the town of Underbill, and 
re-annexed to the county of Chittenden. 

Thus the county is situated at the present time, lying between lat. 44** 7' 
and 44° 42', and between long. 3° 41' and 4° 14', bounded north by Frank- 
lin and Lamoille Counties, east by Washington and Lamoille, south by Addi- 
son, and west by the deepest channel of Lake Champlain, with an average 
length from north to south of about twenty-six miles, and from east to west, 
including the waters of the lake, of twenty-three miles, containing an area of 
about 520 square miles, divided into fifteen townships and one city, in addi- 
tion to Buel's Gore. 

In surface, the county is diversified by lofty mountains, deep gorges and 
ravines, gentle acclivities, wide-spread verdant valleys, rivers, lakelets and 
brooks, affording a landscape that is not only unexcelled in Vermont, but 
which vies with many far more pretentious localities in foreign lands. Taken 
together with its environs, it forms a scene upon which Nature has lavished 
her treasures of beauty "with a full and unwithdrawing hand." On the east- 
em part of its territory the Green Mountains rear their rocky crests with a 
sharply defined contour, Mansfield and Camel's Hump cleaving the clouds 
at an altitude of 4,329 and 4,083 feet respectively, the highest peaks in the 
range, while the western part of the territory lies upon the Red Sandrock 
chain, one of the four divisions of mountain systems in the State, having 
a gradual slope on the eastern side, and a bold, rugged escarpment on the 
western. 

The principal streams are the rivers Winooski or Onion, Lamoille, La 
Plotte, Brown's and Huntington. The Winooski, one of the largest rivers in the 
State, enters near the center of the eastern line of the county, flows a westerly 
course and falls into the Champlain between Burlington and Colchester, thus 
completing its course of seventy miles, during which it waters 970 square 
miles of territory, and affords sites for unlimited mill-power. Nature, circum- 
stances, and historical lore have combined in rendering this stream one of 
peculiar interest, — sufficient at least for it to merit a more euphonious cognomen 
than the antiscorbutic " Onion," consequently we have dropped it in this work. 
A controversy has long existed relative to the derivation of its name, the 
popular theory being that Winooski is an Indian name, composed of two 
words in the Abinaqui, or Algonquin tongue, winoosy onions, or leeks, and 
kij land, so that its literal signification is land of onions. But as there are 
at least six different styles of authography used by different writers, we cannot 



38 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 

understand why they should not affect the roots of the word. Accor Jing to 
a French map of 1732, the river is called Ounousqui, In the letters of John 
A. Graham, published at London, in 1797, Mr. Graham gives the following 
account of the naming of the river *' Onion : '' " A Mr. Peleg Sunderland, 
[who was also appointed by the Grand Committee, at Bennington, as guide 
to Maj. John Brown, in 1775, on his mission to Canada to treat ^^^th the In- 
dians respecting the approaching war,] in 1761, while hunting for beaver on 
this stream, lost his way, and was nearly exhausted with fatigue and hunger, 
when a party of Indians fortunately met him, and with great humanity, re- 
lieved his wants and saved him from perishing. Their provisions were poor ; 
but what they had they freely gave, and their kindness made amends for 
more costly fare. Their whole store consisted of onions, and Mr. Sunderland 
then gave the stream, near which he was so providentially preserved, the name 
of Onion River, which it has retained ever since." During the early French 
colonial wars it was called French River. But so much for this ; we have at 
least, we think, shown good cause for dropping the vegetable portion of its 
name. The alluvial flats along its valley are narrow until the river has passed 
the western range of the Green Mountains, when they become broad and 
fertile. Its rocky gorges, etc., are spoken of in connection with the sketch of 
Burlington, so we will omit their further notice at this point. 

Bolton Falls, on this stream, in the eastern part of the County, are well 
worth visiting. They form a wonderful evidence of the mighty agency of 
water, for an ordinary observer cannot fail to discover that the high bluffs of 
rock on either side were once united, and formed a barrier through which 
the stream has gradually worn its deep and narrow channel. The contem- 
plative mind at once reverts to the time when this barrier existed, and beholds 
a long and narrow lake extending up the valley to Montpelier, and discovers 
the reason why the streams emptWng into the head of this lake should, in the 
still water, deposit the sediment forming the numerous terraces that are found 
in different portions of its valley. In the tranquil waters of this lake the sed- 
iment brought down in the floods of the different streams emptying into it, 
would settle at the bottom and partially fill it up. Upon the opening of the 
rocky barrier, — like the breaking away of a flume or a portion of the dam of a 
mill-pond partly filled with sediment. — the running stream would sweep down 
a portion of this sediment, by cutting a channel through it, either in the cen- 
ter, leaving portions at each side, or upon one side and leaving the other 
remaining. Thus the smoothly rounded rocks that project from the sides of 
the valley, as well as the striated ones near the bed of the river, bear unmis- 
takable testimony that by some abraidng agency, in which water played a 
conspicuous part, the rocks have been worn down so as to give greater width 
to the valley. 

The Lamoille River is not as large as the ^Vinooski, nor quite as long ; yet 
it has, in a lesser degree, the same wild, picturesque channel, and affords 
many excellent specimens of terraces. It rises in Greesboro, from the union 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 39 



of several streams (formerly from Runaway Pond), runs southwest to Hard- 
wick, when it turns northwesterly, passes through the middle of Lamoille 
County, the southern part of Franklin County, and finally joins Lake Cham- 
plain in the northwestern part of this county, in the town of Milton. It was 
discovered by Champlain, in 1609, and called by him la Mouette, the French 
for mew, or gull, a species of water-fowl, which were very numerous about 
the mouth of the stream. In Mr. Anger's map of his surveys, in 1732, it is 
called la riviere a la Mouelle, probably a mistake in the engraver in not 
crossing his fs, " Thus," says Mr. Thompson, ** to the mere carelessness of 
a French engraver are we indebted for the smooth, melodious sounding name 
Lamailler 

Brown's River, so named from Joseph Brown, an early settler upon its 
banks, in the town of Jericho, originates in Underbill and thence flows a 
southwesterly course through the northern part of Jericho, into Essex, where 
it turns north and passes through Westford into Fairfax, in Franklin County, 
and there unites with the Lamoille. It is 'twenty miles in length. 

Huntington River rises in the southern part of Huntington, and after a 
rapid, sepentine course over a gravel or stony bottom for about twenty miles, 
empties into the Winooski, in the town of Richmond. This stream, from the 
many specimens of terraces its valley consists, its rocky gorges, etc., is called 
one of the most interesting tributaries of the Winooski. 

The La Plotte is a small stream, only fifteen miles in length, rising in the 
southeastern part of Hinesburgh, and flows a westerly course through a portion 
of Charlotte and Shelbume, into the head of Shelbume Bay. As the inter- 
esting tradition relative to the origin of its name is spoken of in connection 
with the Shelbume sketch, we will defer further mention here. These are 
the principal streams of the county, though there are many of almost equal 
importance, aflbrding many mill-sites, and ample irrigation to the soil. 

No inland lakes of importance are found, though there are several small 
ponds, Shelbume and Hinesburgh in the southern part of the county being 
the largest. But the unequaled Champlain lies upon its western border, 
stretching north and south as far as the eye can reach, while directly opposite, 
on its westcm shore, the blue Adirondacks spread far into the interior — at 
various points projecting their jagged spurs into the lake, and often present- 
ing lofty headlands, waving with forests or frowning in bleak masses of naked 
granite, while wide fields spread between these headlands, teaming with flocks 
and herds, and redolent in beauty and fertility. Not less charming is the 
scene presented on its eastern shore, though of a softer tone, and more of a 
pastoral beauty, while beyond, the horizon is limited by the bold and serrated 
outline of the Green Mountains. Still, this scene of transcendent natural 
beauty on either shore, is dimmed by the exquisite loveliness of the lake 
itself, which divides them. Calm and blue its waters lie, placid as the cloud- 
shadows that fleck its bosom, reflecting the mountains and headlands, and 
studded with numerous islands to variegate and adorn the scene — some of 



40 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



which are mere rocky shafts shooting up from the surface of the waters ; 
others, decked in their native emerald, gleam like gems upon its breast ; 
while others, of alluvial formation, glow in their soft and gentle loveliness, 
and are unsurpassed in their exuberant fertility. 

Reader, at the beginning of this chapter we likened history to a bridge, 
and purposed to journey with you across it, o'er the beautiful country we 
have attempted to describe, to the days when its history, so far as we are 
able to learn, was not. During this journey the beautiful Champlain must 
be the principal point of interest, for around no other section of our beauti- 
ful country cluster historical associations so brilliant and memorable. For a 
century and a half, this lake, appropriately named by the Indians Caniadere- 
Guarantee that is, " the lake which is the gate of the country," was rendered 
classic ground by successive deeds of daring, by bloody forays, by the 
romances of border warefare, and by the conflicts of fleets and armies. During 
those merciless contests, in which France and England were the allies of 
savage tribes; in the long and sanguinary conflicts between those great 
powers; in the war of the Revolution, and that of 1812, the whole course 
of the lake was stained with blood, and emblazoned by feats of glory. 

When Samuel Champlain, in 1609, entered upon the waters which have 
perpetuated his name, silence and solitude brooded over the charming scene. 
Grand primeval forests covered the territory where the verdant fields of Chit- 
tenden County now lie, with not even an Indian wigwam to relieve its deso- 
lation and stillness, for continuous savage wars had driven its transcient popu- 
lation into the recesses of the forests, and beyond the mountain barriers for 
protection. But this peace and solitude were soon to be broken. Even upon 
Champlain's first visit his arquebus carried fear and death to the hearts of the 
savages, some of whom he met on the New York side of the southern part 
of the lake. Soon after, canoes and batteaux, in summer, were gliding over 
its pure waters on errands of blood and rapine, or, in winter, a highway of its 
crystal pavement was formed for the same purpose, over which the French 
and their savage associates traversed the lake, thence up the Winooski, and 
penetrating the gorges of the Green Mountains, devastated, often amid the 
snows and storms of winter, the fairest villages of New England. Later on, 
upon its blue waters and sequestered shores, vast armies, clothed in the pomp 
and panoply of modern warfare, have gathered. But as our brief account of 
the war of 181 2, the war of the Revolution, etc, properly belongs to articles 
under these respective heads, we must defer particular mention until they, 
in their order, are reached. 

As settlements began to spring up in the State, and the forests to recede 
before the sturdy strokes of the pioneer, trade and commerce began to assert 
their rights. As Skeensboro (now Whitehall) was the first point at which 
the settlers touched the lake on their way north, and as the intercourse be- 
came more frequent between Connecticut, Massachusetts and the new set- 
tlements. Major Skeene, after whom the place was named, to accommodate 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 4 1 



the smaU business which was springing up, built a sloop in 1770, and with it 
opened a communication with the settlements on the borders of the lake and 
Canada. This was probably the first vessel which made any regular trips 
through the lake, or which was used for the purposes of trade. Soon after 
this, however, the Revolutionary war broke out, stopping all further settle- 
ments, and even drove off nearly all the people who had come, so that the 
navigation of the lake was returned to the uses of the military power. 

After the close of the war, settlements rapidly sprung up and trade with 
the Provinces was soon commenced with redoubled vigor, so that the white 
wings of the trading sloops, and the rafts of heavy timber, dotted the whole 
length of the lake. But the great stride in progress was not until 1808, one 
year after Robert Fulton made the memorable trial trip of his steamboat on 
the Hudson. It seems that parties in Burlington were the first to see, or 
at least to take practical advantage of, the new field opened by this event ; for 
during this year they launched the second practical steamboat ever made in 
the world, and during the following year, 1809, it was completed and com- 
menced navigating the lake, just two hundred years after Champlain had 
entered upon its waters in his bark canoe. The owners and builders of this 
boat were two brothers, James and John Winans. It was in appearance sim- 
ilar to a large-class canal boat, except being about forty feet longer and six 
feet wider. Her decks were clear, having no pilot-house, being steered by a 
tiller, and her engine an horizontal one, being all under deck, only the smoke- 
pipe appearing above. There was but one room below, about twenty-five by 
eighteen feet, in which were berths upon the side, and which was used for a 
dining-room as well as for a sleeping apartment. She was fitted with a second- 
hand engine and boilers ; cylinder twenty inches by three feet, " side level 
bell crank," with a large balance-wheel some ten feet in diameter, — withal 
very poor machinery. But they were the best that could be procured at 
that time, as manufacturers of general machinery little understood the pro- 
portioning of machinery to resist the power of steam. The consequence was 
that the boat was constantly subject to " break-downs," which were a part of 
her programme, and could be relied upon to make a trip from Whitehall to 
St. Johns and back in about a week. In October, 18 15, however, she had 
her last " break-down." On her trip from St. Johns the connecting rod be- 
came detached from the crank, and before the engine could be stopped, it 
was forced through the bottom of the boat and she was sunk a wreck near 
Ash Island, a few miles south of the Isle Aux Noix. The Messrs. Winans 
took out her engine and boilers, and sold them to the Lake Champlain 
Steamboat Company. 

The great improvements made in steamboat building since the time of the 
building of the ** Vermont " are well known. Even as early as 18 15, a steamer 
was built on the lake whose speed doubled that of its predecessor. This 
boat, the " ist Phoenix," met a sad fate, being destroyed by fire on 
the 5th of September, 181 9, causing the death of six of its passengers. It 



42 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



u 


> 


(0 




(0 


oc; 


H 


< 




-1 




D 




OJ 




< 




H 




7. 

O 




30 00 



> 

ti 

C 






= k t- c 
3 3^ 9 



a. 
S 

.03 . . 

"el" 

-J-" -a -3 

©•a <* • 
c S c e 

u « V w 

B C C C 
5 3 O C 



30 



s 



t* 

w 






bc 



■■ t- o — » — 



30 • B 



30 *»30 
M O ■■ 



36 

A 

a 

s 



a 1^ 

.Soe 

E© 
OS 



•• •© — "O "O "p 

^ S S « V V 

c c c s s 
•^ o 5 o o c 






B c r E 

S c S 
o o o 



■a 
p a -o o 

>en30a5M 
•■ ^^ •■ •« « 



» Mac B^ MM MM 

^^ •»« ^^ •*« •■■ ■«« ••* ■ 

•' <=K^e U B B B B 
« C<C S Sf B B B = 



E^JJ-c'g^ >^i 



3«15« 3,0000 



rt M (C 

« «} « 



• .••■••••■■•a *••••** 

rtMnMrtMMMrtrtAfefBMMRMlScaM 






•^S" 



Sffi 
«e A 

tsts 

30 r^ 



5 

r 

u 

« 



C 

O 







e u E £ « 
^ji< <* c S 
re If JS^ O 






•^30 MWOB030OQO*/-v- 



Si 5" B •*= e.S 

>« S C t* i^^ 

S n A s A b 
^USJS Ox 3 

^ .J^ _=* 

♦ ^^360 t^»« ^30^ »-» 9- 






•iuoH i 
Jd.dasjOH ' ^ '♦^ S^H rl2,2»5 ^§ § 8^ Sv&JC ^^§'^:f ITS' 



•J 



o o 




"§§" 

as 






.tJt-^ 



-**-*o 



9 



^ j>x 00 ^o eo>p> 3036X SkT'^w r^ ^jo r> oe ^^ > o>g>^ 

" j'JCJl ~ "j? if!--' 



O 

00 — 30 ^ 



V 
k 
(1 



-p9i{smij 

•< 



O «l 



V 

B 
,. B B B 
C V V *l ^ 



8 

B 
B 



«> e»v' e ** 5 *> 



sg 

>/«f 00 u 



(>>/«0 00 
I « W W 30 



. ♦* H •< H •• •« •« 

ao3Cooaox»9CW 



IE 



rtT« £ £*• £ « rt 2^3 
•*<c r«-t^3C •• "• •-»»^<? 

W0CWWXK30XWXWX 



-I 



.Sb 



B 
O 



ae • S 



'= P O » « B-^ 



"G . ^ B « 






E •; ^ 

.•TUB 



J? 

H o •» r<« 

M H t4 SO~ 



■ : n. 
I'm -ds 

5 M M ft" . 

w Kx oe ! 



3 S.- £2 cS C 3 

Htta<uao<o 



« «, B W 

'X c n V 



<>St< 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 43 



may be well to state, however, that this is the only wreck or conflagration 
which has occurred on the lake with an attendant loss of life. From this 
time forward boats were rapidly put out, increasing in power and size, until 
the present '* floating palaces '' have attained almost perfection. Navigation 
companies were established, and steamboat property came to be the 
most profitable in which one could invest money. Its profit was diminished, 
however, by the advent of its near relative, the locomotive, which took a large 
share of its business. Still, there is an extensive business done on the lake 
at the present time, which will doubtless continue, notwithstanding the build- 
ing of railroads. We should like, did space permit, to add a sketch of the 
establishment and progress of the several transportation companies, but as it 
does not, we shall have to be content with giving, on the opposite page, a table 
of the steamers that have been built on the lake, their dimensions, by whom 
built, date of building, etc., which we hope will prove of interest to many. 
Yet it may not be invidious to remark, that The Champlain Transportation 
Co. is the oldest company existing on the lake, and that to its enterprise and 
energy is owing, in a great degree, the past and present prosperity of the 
transportation business. As early as October 26, 1826, the Vermont legisla- 
ture granted its charter, the following well-known names appearing as the 
company: Ezra Meach, Martin Chittenden, Stephen S. Keys, Luther 
Loomis, Roswell Butler, and Eleazer H. Deming. 

GEOLOGICAL. 

The geological formation of this county does not materially differ, in gen- 
eral structure, from that of most of the other counties of the State. Its rocks 
are distributed, like those of the others, in parallel ledges, or ranges, extend- 
ing nearly in a north and south direction. Passing eastward from the lake 
shore, the first of these veins is a ledge of Trenton limestone^ which enters 
Charlotte from Addison County, underlying nearly the whole extreme western 
part of that town, where it finally passes under the lake, to appear again in 
Grand Isle and Isle La Motte, thence extending into Canada. Although this 
rock has four distinct or chief varieties, one very soon learns to distinguish it 
from all others, by its common characters of black schistose layers, associated 
with slaty seams of limestone and occasionally argillaceous matter. There are 
some varieties, however, that can be assigned to this formation only by their 
fossils, in which the whole group is peculiarly rich. The thickness of the 
Trenton limestone is 400 feet in New York, and is stated by Prof. Adams, in 
his second report, to be of the same thickness in Vermont ; but in one of his 
note books he suggests that it may be even thicker. Mr. Hagar, however, 
in his " Geology of Vermont," says he should think that 400 feet is rather too 
great a thickness for it, as it generally appears in Vermont, though he has 
made no measurements to settle the question. 

A bed of Utica slate comes next in order, crossing the western part of Char- 



44 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



lotte and Shelburne, thence passing under the lake and croping out again in 
the extremity of Colchester Point, and thence across to Grand Isle County. 
This formation is a continuation of the calcareous shales of the Hunson River 
group of rocks downward, until they meet the slaty limestone of the Tren- 
ton limestone, and it is extremely difficult to distinguish between them and 
the shales of the Hudson River group in Vermont, except by their fossils. 
The range has a thickness of about one hundred feet. 

Next to this bed comes a range of rocks known as Hudson Rh*er slates^ 
about a mile in width, passing through Charlotte and Shelburne, the western 
portion of Colchester, and thence under the lake. Liihologically, it con- 
sists of deposits of pure and impure limestone, clay slate, calcareous slate, 
interstratified with small beds of limestone^ often sparry, silicious slate, sand- 
stones, brecciated limestone, and slate filled ^ith veins of calcite, etc^ Prof. 
Thompson speaks of this variety in Chittenden County as follows : " The 
black slate is generally contortored or crushed, and abounds in seams of 
white calcite, varying from a line to a foot in thickness. Still there are places 
where the spar has not been injected, and where the lamination has not been 
disturbed. Cases of this kind may be seen on the eastern side of Pottier's 
Point, and at Appletree Point. But all this slate doubtless contains too 
much lime, and is too brittle to be used for any better purpose than making 
roads. This slate, in many places, particularly where it is fragmentary, has its 
surface covered with a black glazing, giving it very much the appearance of 
anthracite. This may be seen near the meeting-house in Charlotte, and at 
Rock Point, and it has led some to suppose that coal might be found in con- 
nection H-ith it But I believe very little, if any, money has been thrown 
away, in the vain search for coal in this county." The group is 930 feet in 
thickness, and is the highest member of the lower silurian rocks. 

Parallel with and adjacent to this range is an immense bed of red sand- 
rocky ha>'ing a mean width of about four miles, and extending through nearly 
the whole length of the county, making the principal rock formation of the 
towns of Charlotte, Hinesbiu-gh, Shelburne, Colchester and Milton. 

Stratigraphically considered, this bed occupies the position of the Medina 
Group, of New York, or its equivalent, the Levant series of Pennsylvania and 
Virginia. The sandstones and shales bear a close resemblance to those of 
the latter, not only in color, but in the profusion of fucoid-like markings 
which they display on some of the parting surfaces. The series of reddish 
and gray limestones which rest upon these massive arenaceous beds form an 
interesting feature in the geolog}' of Vermont. Their altercation with layers 
of sandstone and shale, and their frequently reddish tint, would lead us to 
regard them as a continuation of the lower mass under somewhat new forma- 
tive conditions. In the prolongation of this belt of sandstones and lime- 
stones toward the north, as in the vicinity of Burlington, the latter mass is 
seen to consist, in great part, of a pinkish-white, fine-graned limestone, which 
toward its base contains layers of reddish limestone, interstratified with red 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 45 



sandstone, making the transition from the arenaceous to the calcareous form 
of deposit. This latter variety forms a very durable and handsome building 
material. The whole formation, however, embraces a great variety of rocks, 
and there is some difficulty experienced in associating them together, because 
of the general absence of fossils. The general variety is a reddish brown or 
chocolate-colored sandstone. It becomes calcareous, and is frequently 
interstratified with dolomitic layers of corresponding color. The grains of sand 
composing the rock are often transparent, sometimes mixed with minute 
fragments of feldspar. A slight metamorphic action has sometimes rendered 
the grains nearly invisible, and made the whole rock compact. North of 
Burlington the variety is mostly red and variegated dolomites. At Milton a 
grayish quartz rock appears, probably equivalent to the red rock. The red 
color is owing to the change in the combination of the iron which enters into 
its composition, produced by heat. 

Extending through the center of the county, with a mean width of about 
three miles, underl3ring portions of the towns of Hinesburgh, Charlotte, Shel- 
bume, Williston, Burlington, Essex, Colchester, Westford and Milton, is a 
range of Eolian limestone^ or marble, one of the most important and useful 
rocks in Vermont. It furnishes the beautiful white marble, equal to the 
finest Italian, known all over the world as the product of this State. Such a 
rock, and such marble, certainly deserve a name as beautiful and as euphon- 
ical as the epithet Eolian. There is more variety in the limestone of this 
group than in almost any other formation in the State ; yet the variations 
are mostly slight in themselves chemically, but considerable as far as external 
appearance is concerned, producing the numerous shades of variegated mar- 
ble, each surpassing the other in beauty, ranging from the purest white to 
inky blackness. An excellent opportunity is afforded the curious for com- 
paring our native marbles, both of this and other States, with that imported 
from Italy, at the extensive manufactory of J. W. Goodell & Co., of Burling- 
ton, where immense quantities are kept on hand, enabling one to examine 
the rocks side by side, both before and after they have been cut and polished. 
An excellent quality of variegated marble, containing many beautiful fos- 
sils, is quarried near Mallett's Bay, in Colchester. The coloring matter in this 
species of limestone is usually derived from minute particles of slaty matter 
disseminated through them. Hence they never fade or disappear, or change 
their position in the slabs after they have been quarried. The occasional 
stains which appear may be produced by a small portion of pyrites, affording 
a dirty, brownish hue. Most of the iron rust stain upon the blocks of marble 
at the mills is temporarially produced by particles of iron worn from the saws. 
The thickness of the Eolian limestone bed is estimated at 2,000 feet. 

Leaving the vein of marble, we find next in order a deposit of clay slate, 
about a mile in width, extending from the northeastern part of Milton to the 
southern line of the county. The varieties in clay slate are few, unless we 
refer to color. The rock is usually simple and homogeneous, composed of 



46 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 

finely comminuted, hardened clay. If it has a good deal of iron, and if this 
is passing to the state of peroxyd. we shall have red slate, such as is quarried 
within the limits of New York, and in several localities in Vermont. The red 
and gray slates, and also those of a greenish color, are also found. Whoever will 
compare a bed of clay where the layers have been deposited quietly above one 
another, with the slates used for roofing, will notice a strong resemblance of 
form and composition ; and he cannot but suspect that the latter has been 
derived from the former. He can, if he will, trace out the steps of the pro- 
cess. Clay hardened by the sun and filled with cracks, seems to be a sort of 
first step in the process. Among the newer sandstones he will see similar 
layers, called shale, which is sometimes only a little harder than clay. These 
changes are produced in the shales by the more powerful influence of meta- 
roorphic agencies, which generally also superinduce other divisional planes in 
the rock, such as cleavage and joints. But cleavage planes in most of the 
clay slates of Vermont, coincide* essentially with those of deposition ; and the 
slaty layers seem to be mostly strata or laminae modified. If the modifying 
force were pressure, it seems to have operated to convert the planes of lamin- 
ation and stratification into those of cleavage, increasing the number of the 
latter. The bed in this county, however, might more properly be termed 
shales, and is unfit for roofing purposes. 

An immense bed of talcose conglomerate, about four miles in width, extend- 
ing through the whole length of the county, and underlying a greater or less 
portion of the towns of Hinesburgh, Huntington, Jericho, Williston, Essex, 
Westford and Milton, lies next to the clay slate vein on the east According 
to Prof. Adams, in his report of 1845, this rock was called magrusian slate. 
but later its present name was considered more appropriate, and consequently 
adopted The vein is a purely conglomerate species, having associated 
together in its formation the following varieties of rocks : Sandstones, breccias, 
quartz rock, calcareous rocks, novaculite schist, talcose schist, and coarse 
conglomerates. The sandstones are few, while the quartz variety is quite 
abundant. A large bed of the latter in almost a distinct formation lies in the 
southern part of the county, extending into the towns of Hinesburgh, Rich- 
mond and Williston. Prof. Thompson called these rocks Taconic. and has 
left the following note concerning them : "These rocks commence east of the 
clay slate and Eolian limestones, and extend eastward ; but I shall not attempt 
to assign their eastern limits. They consist entirely of schistose rocks, com- 
posed chiefly of quartz, and most of them more or less magnesian. There is 
a belt extending through Westford and the east part of E^ex, and the west 
part of Jericho to Winooski River, which is quite chloritic. This is often 
thick-bedded, and answers very well for a building stone, though rather soft. 
It has been considerably used for doorsteps, and has been transported to Bur- 
lington for that purpose. Some of the strata appear to be a coarse sandstone, 
or rather a fine conglomerate. Some places, as at Essex, exhibit a fine, com- 
pact magnesian slate, which is easily sawed into any form, and is used as a 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 47 



fire-stonc. In many places the slaty laminae are coverd with fine talc glazing. 
The slate generally, in the eastern part of the county, may perhaps be called 
talcose, but the proportion of talc, in the greater part of it, is quite small. 
The predominant mineral in it is quartz, and it often occurs, either white or 
limpid^ in seams several inches in thickness." In the Geological Reports 
of 1 86 1, Prof. Hagar says: **We have made no estimate of the thickness of 
the talcose conglomerates ^ but know that they must be very thick. They must 
be 2,000 or 3,000 feet thick at the least calculation. We suppose that this 
bed of rocks includes the Sillery sandstones of Canada. These are estimated 
at 4,000 feet, in Canada." No fossils have been found in this range. 

Adjacent to this vein of conglomerate is a large range of talcose schist^ ex- 
tending eastward nearly to the county line. Talcose schist proper consists of 
quartz and talc \ but with this bed there are associated together, consisting 
integral parts of the formation, clay slate, with plumbaginous, aluminous and 
pyritiferious varieties ; hornblende schist, gneiss, quartz rock, sandstones and 
conglomerates, limestone and dolomites. Prof. Zadock Thompson has the follow- 
ing respecting this range in Chittenden County : "Along the foot of Mans- 
field Mountain, in Underbill, a thick -bedded mica slate occurs, which makes 
a very good building stone. The stratification is so completely obliterated, 
that much of it, like granite, splits in all directions with nearly equal facility. 
In connection with these beds, seams of chlorite occur. Some of the strata 
ranging north and south through Underbill, Jericho, Bolton, and Huntington, 
are of a ferruginous character, and iron ores in small quantities have been 
found in several places, but not enough to justify the expectation of finding 
it in quantity. Near this range of ferruginous slate, a narrow range of 
plumbaginous slate shows itself in several places, as in Huntington and 
Jericho. This is doubtless a continuation of the same narrow range of plum- 
baginous slate, which occurs in Cambridge, Waterville, and the western part 
of Montgomery and Richford. To the eastward of the synclinal axis passing 
through Underbill, and the eastern part of Jericho, the rock perhaj>s should 
be called mica slate^ although it usually contains more or less talc. The 
rocks on the summit of Mansfield Mountain appear, in places at least, to be 
talcose slate, A great part of the slate which forms the mountains extend- 
ing from the chin towards the north, along the eastern border of the county, 
abounds in octahedral crystals of magnetic iron." 

The rocks underlying the residue of the county are of the Azoic period and 
oi gneiss formation. The essential ingredients of gneiss are quartz, feldspar, 
and mica, forming a rock closely resembling granite, differing from it only in 
having a distinctly stratified, slaty or laminated structure. For this reason it 
makes a very handsome and convenient building stone, as the sheets or strata 
can be easily obtained at the quarries, and it can then be split or divided into 
any required thickness. "The thickness of the gneiss in Vermont," says Mr. 
Hitchcock, "must be very great. The section across Mount HoUey, in Rut- 
land County, may perhaps give an average of its thickness. About 8,000 



48 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



feet of strata have been removed there, of which we should estimate about 
6,000 feet to have been of gfieiss. Yet as the bottom of the formation may 
not have been reached here, the true thickness may be greater." 

This ends our brief sketch of the principal rocks entering into the geolog- 
ical formation of the county, and we will now turn our attention for a few mo- 
ments to its surface geology, then drop the subject, to be taken up by far more 
competent hands than ours. That the whole of this beautiful territory of Ver- 
mont, not excepting the summits of its most lofty mountains, was once the 
bottom of a great ocean ; that its verdant and flower-bedecked valleys were 
the basin or channel of mighty lakes and rivers ; that the whole was once 
covered by stupendous glaciers and ice-floes, are facts incontrovertable. Each 
of these epochs or periods has left its history, written as plainly as the records 
upon the pyramids of Egypt, leaving behind, as it were, '' Footprints of their 
Creator." But they who have deciphered the history, or " Testimony of the 
Rocks," have not, as has the Archaeologist that of the pyramids, arrived at the 
truth by delving in the ruins of a forgotten language, but from the scroll of 
nature, descending into the bowels of the earth, and reaching forth into the 
uttermost parts of the limitless heavens for information. For — 

** All intinite, all limitless in awe, 
Heaven to great minds was given; 
Vet, with all hi<> littleness, down tohi> inch 
Man can draw — the heaven." 

Such is the province of the geologist. 

But to return to the several changes we have mentioned. Among men of 
science it has become the common, if not the prevailing opinion, that all the 
elements with which we meet were first in an ethereal, or gaseous state — that 
they slowly condensed, existing for ages as a heated fluid, by degrees becoming 
more consistent — that thus the whole earth was once an immense ball of fieiy 
matter — that, in the course of time, it was rendered very compact, and at last 
became crusted over, as the process of cooling gradually advanced — and that 
its interior is still in a molten condition. Thus, if the view suggested be cor- 
rect, the entire planet, in its earlier phases, as well as the larger part now 
beneath and within its solid crust, is known to geologists as elementary or 
molton. Then came another age, in which this molten mass began to cool 
and a crust to form, called the igneous period. Contemporaneous with the 
beginning of the igneous period, came another epoch. The crust thus formed 
would naturally become surrounded by an atmosphere heavily charged with 
minerals in a gaseous or vaporous condition. As the cooling advanced, this 
etherealized matter would condense and seek a lower level, thus coating the 
earth over with another rock. This is named the vaporous period. At last, 
however, another age was ushered in — one altogether different from those that 
had preceded it. The moist vapors which must of necessity have pervaded 
the atmosphere began to condense and settle, gathering into the hollows and 
crevices of the rocks, until nearl) the whole surface of the earth was covered 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 49 



with water. This is called the aqueous period. As these waters began to 
recede and the " firmament to appear," the long winter would cover the earth 
with mighty ice-floes and glaciers, forming what is known as the drifts or gla- 
cial period. Evidences of these several epochs are left in Chittenden County 
by terrcues^ moraines^ drift boivlders, etc. 

First, terraces, — ^These are simply shelves, or water-marks, left on the 
sides of valleys and mountains, proclaiming that they were once the 
beach of a lake or ocean, while the fossils left will decide which of the 
two it was. These terraces are the most fully developed in the valley 
of the Winooski ; yet the Lamoille valley, and that of the other several streams, 
contain fine specimens. The deposits of sand, too, proclaiming the bed of an 
ocean, are numerous and extensive, particularly in the towns of Milton, Col- 
chester, and Burlington. They are for the most part superficial, varying in 
depth from a few inches to eighty or ninety feet, and in general have a regular 
and nearly horizontal stratification. They usually terminate downward in 
brown or blue clay, and in many places the mixture of clay and sand is in the 
proper proportion for making brick, as at the foot of Winooski Falls. The 
elevation of the surface of these sand deposits varies from twenty to two 
hundred and sixty feet above Lake Champlain. The mean elevation of those 
plains (terraces) to the westward of the range of limestone extending from 
Rock Point to Mallett's Head, and thence to Milton, may be estimated at 
forty feet ; and the mean elevation of the extensive sandy plains commencing 
in Burlington, and extending through the southwestern part of Essex, and 
through the central parts of Colchester and Milton, is about 200 feet. Ma- 
rine shells are found in this sand in numerous places. At one place in Bur- 
lington, half a mile northeast from Rock Point, and by the side of the road, 
they abound in a coarse gravel about 130 feet above the lake ; and two miles 
northeast of Mallett's Bay, in Colchester, is a large deposit of them at an ele- 
vation of more than 200 feet above the lake. At both places they are much 
broken, and mingled with rather coarse gravel. It would appear in these 
places, that the shells had been worked up above the line of the shore com- 
posed of drift, and that the gravel of the drift was mingled with them by the 
action of the waves, and these and larger objects, like the fossil whale, were 
buried by the washing down of the drift materials. 

Second, drift, — We think it will not be difficult for almost any inhabitant 
to form an accurate idea of drift. For in almost every part of the county 
occur accumulations of bowlders, or large blocks of stone, with the angles 
more or less rounded, l3ang upon the solid ledges, or upon, or in the midst of 
a mixture of smaller fragments, with gravel and sand ; the whole mingled 
confusedly together, and evidently abraded by some powerful agency from 
the rocks in place, and driven along pell mell often to great distances ; for 
if the bowlders and fragments be examined, they will for the most part be 
found not to correspond to the ledges beneath, but to others many miles 
perhaps to the north or northwest. 

4 



so CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



Third, moraines, — These are a class of terraces formed by ice instead of 
water. The theory of their formation is as follows: In Xki^ glacial period^ 
icebergs became stranded at the base and on the sides of hills, and deposits 
were made around and upon them, and they would have been level-topped if 
the ice had remained ; but in consequence of its melting they are now ex- 
tremely irregular. At Underbill Flats the moraine terraces are abundant, and 
beautifully rounded, upon both sides of Brown's River. 

STAPLE PRODUCTIONS. 

As a whole, the county has an excellent, productive soil, varying from a fine 
alluvial deposit to clay and sand, with very little of its territory unfit for 
purposes of cultivation. The staple products are wheat, rye, Indian com, 
oats, barley, buckwheat, potatoes, and the various products of its herds and 
flocks. Some idea of the extent of its products may be formed from the fol- 
lowing statistics, taken from the census report of 1870, though the report for 
1880, when tabulated, will doubtless show a material change in many of the 
figures. During that year there were 218,670 acres of improved land in the 
county, while the farms were valued at $14,783,045.00, and produced 46,426 
bushels of wheat, 11,804 bushels of rye, 163,597 bushels of Indian com, 
286,615 bushels of oats, 14,381 bushels of barley, 21,768 bushels of buck- 
wheat, and 333,858 bushels of potatoes. There were also in the county 4,977 
horses, 21,941 milch cows, 1,014 working oxen, 17,041 sheep, and 4,809 
swine. From the milk of the cows was manufactured 1,761,543 pounds of 
butter, and 1,374,387 pounds of cheese, while the sheep yielded 87,256 
pounds of wool, or about five pounds to the fleece, providing each sheep was 
sheared. 

AGRICULTURAL SOCIETIES. 

As early as 1819, a society existed in Burlington, called the " Chittenden 
County Society for Promoting Agriculture and Domestic Manufactures," of 
which Martin Chittenden was president, and Charles Adams, secretary. The 
first fair held was during the following year, 1820, near the present Oslo E. 
Pinney residence, and an address delivered at the Court House Square. 
Fairs, however, were held here by the Chittenden County Agricultural Society, 
as it was called, in the years 1843 and 1848, inclusive, and one was adver- 
tised for 1849, but not held, and in 1857, 1858, and 1862, since which time 
they were held in Essex. At these fairs the agricultural and mechanical pro- 
ducts of the county were exhibited, several hundred dollars expended in pre- 
miums, etc, and were in all respects a success ; but it finally became appa- 
rent to those most actively interested in the promotion of agricultural inter- 
ests in the county, that an association founded on more extended principals 
should be inaugurated. Accordingly, in 1881, a society called the Lake 
Charoplain Agricultural and Mining Association was contemplated by them, 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 5 I 



and stock issued for $25,000.00, in shares of $25.00 each, $20,000.00 of 
which was taken up, when the State Society took the balance and are to 
hold their fairs in union with that association. Accordingly, pursuant to a 
vote of the corporators, who had decided to call the association The Cham- 
plain Valley Association for the Promotion of Agriculture and the Mechanic 
Arts, and in accordance with a published notice, the first meeting of 
stockholders of the association was held in the city court-room, Saturday, 
May 6, 1882, the State Society being represented by its Secretary, Mr. N. B. 
Safford. The meeting was called to order by Mr. Henry Loomis, president ; 
G. G. Benedict, from the committee to report by-laws and to present nomi- 
nations for directors, reported that the committee appointed on the part of 
the Champlain Valley Association had held a joint meeting with the com- 
mittee ap|>ointed for a like purpose by the State Agricultural Society, and had 
prepared the series of by-laws then presented. The report of the committee 
was accepted, and the by-laws, ten in number, were duly adopted. He further 
reported that the State Agricultural Society had selected seven gentlemen, 
and the committee of the Champlain Valley Association seven, for directors, 
and that for the fifteenth member of the board the committee unanimously 
agreed upon Hon. John Gregory Smith, and in accordance with that action 
the committee nominated the following list of fifteen gentlemen for directors : 
LeGrand B. Cannon, John Gregory Smith, Henry Chase, Henry G. Root, 
James A. Shedd, Crosby Miller, George Hammond, John W. Cramton, 
Lemuel S. Drew, Frederick M. VanSicklen, Urban A. Woodbury, Sidney H. 
Weston, Buel J. Derby, Louis H. Talcott, and Albert G. Peirce. 

On Wednesday, May 10, at an adjourned meeting, the following officers were 
elected: President, LeGrand B. Cannon; vice-presidents, H. G. Crane, 
George W. Hendee, Hervey Spencer, A. Williams, Timothy Hoyle, George 
Hammond, Frank W. Witherbee, H. G. Burleigh, John W. Stewart, John L. 
Barstow ; secretary, E. F. Brownell ; treasurer, Cyrus M. Spaulding ; general 
superintendent, James A. Shedd ; auditors, S. H. Weston, L. H. Talcott ; 
construction committee, James A. Shedd, H. G. Root, F. M. VanSicklen ; 
executive committee, H. G Root, J. Gregory Smith, Henry G Chase, F. M. 
VanSicklen, Albert G Peirce. 

The directors, we understand, are now (May, 1882,) taking measures for the 
purchase of the grounds, erection of necessary buildings, etc Thus the So- 
ciety starts out, under the best auspices, and bids fair to become one of the 
most extensive and useful in this part of the country. 

MANUFACTURES. 

As the manufacturing interests are spoken of in detail in connection with 
the several town sketches, it would be but needless repetition to give the sub- 
ject more than a passing glance at this point. A comparison of the present 
facilities, as therein set forth, with their condition half a century ago, however. 



52 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



will teach one that the history of Chittenden County, in this respect at least, 
has been one of sure, steady improvement ; a course, too, which has not ended, 
but only begun. Many portions of the territory which fifty years ago, yes, 
twenty-five years since, were either considered unworthy to bear the point of 
a plowshare, or covered with the gnarled trunks of the primeval forest, now 
are the site of extensive factories, where the whir of the loom or the steady 
stroke of the mechanic's busy hammer are heard constantly. And let us here 
prophesy that, he who looks upon the county a quarter of a century hence, 
will behold as marked an improvement during that time, as he who now 
takes a retrosi>ect of the one just passed. The principal manufactures are 
that of lumber in all its various branches — sash, doors, blinds, wooden-ware, 
etc, woolen and cotton cloths, marble and granite, machinery, and dairy 
products. According to the United States census report of 1870, the county 
had 300 manufacturing establishments, operated by thirty-one steam engines, 
and one hundred water-wheels, giving employment to 3,45 1 people. There 
were $3,760,520.00 invested in manufactures, while the manufactured products 
for the year were valued at $6,537,230.00, nearly double that of any other 
county in the State. 

COURTS AND COUNTY BUILDINGS. 

At the organization of Addison County, as previously mentioned, courts 
were appointed to be held alternately at Addison and Colchester ; and after 
the establishment of Chittenden County, Colchester was still retained as the 
shire town, although all causes pending in the supreme court were tried in 
Addison County. On October 21, 1788, however, an act was passed restor- 
ing the supreme court to Chittenden County, "with all actions and appeals 
from this county, pending in the county of Addison, to be heard, tried, and 
determined in said court, to be holden at Colchester," and fixing the stated 
terms of the court on the first Tuesday of August annually. The supreme court 
held two annual sessions in Colchester, commencing with the August term, 
1789. At this and the succeeding term, Nathaniel Chipman presided as chief 
justice, and Noah Smith and Samuel Knight as assistant justices ; and at the 
third term, held at Burlington, Elijah Paine was chief justice, and Samuel 
Knight and Isaac Tichenor assistant justices. The county court held six 
terms at Colchester, commencing with the February term, 1788; the first four 
terms (embracing the years 1 788-1 789), John Fassett, Jr., of Cambridge, pre- 
sided as chief justice, and John White, of Georgia, and Samuel Lane, of 
Burlington, assistant justices; John Knickerbocker, clerk; Noah Chitten- 
den, of Jericho, sheriff; Samuel Hitchcock, of Burlington, State's attorney. 
John McNeil, of Charlotte, was judge of probate, Isaac McNeil, register, and 
Stephen Lawrence, of Burlington, county treasurer. The next four terms of 
the court, the last two held at Burlington, at the inn of Gideon King (1790 
and 1 791), John Fassett, Jr., presided as chief justice, and John White aad 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. S3 



John McNeil, assistant justices ; Martin Chittenden, clerk ; Stephen Pearl, 
sheriff, Samuel Hitchcock, State's attorney for 1790, and William C. Harring- 
ton for 1791 ; CoL John Spafford, county treasurer. The county still retained 
its original limits, which extended over the counties of Grand Isle, Franklin, 
Lamoille, and parts of Washington and Orleans, and was divided into three 
probate districts, with Matthew Cole, of Richmond, Jonathan Hoyt, of St 
Albans, and Timothy Pearl, of Burlington, were appointed judges of probate, 
in their respective districts. 

The first jury trial in the county, after its organization, was at the February 
term of the court, 1788, being an action of trespass quare clausum f regit ^ in 
favor of John Collins vs. Frederick Saxton ; in which case David Stanton, 
Jonathan Bush, John Doxy, Alexander Gordon, John Martin, John Chamber- 
lin, John Fisk, David Whitcomb, David Warren, Eben Barstow, William Smith, 
and Allen Hackett were empaneled as jurors. 

By a special act of the legislature, passed October 27, 1790, the courts were 
removed from Colchester to Burlington — fixing the session of the supreme court 
on the fourth Tuesday of August, and the county court on the last Tuesday 
of February, and last save one in September. The county officers continued 
the same up to the February term, 1794, when Martin Chittenden took his 
seat as one of the assistant justices in place of John White, and Solomon 
Miller was appointed clerk, which office he held for the next eighteen years in 
succession, (save the year 1808, by William Barney,) to his credit, as a very 
acciirate and efficient officer. And until 1794, the same judges of the supreme 
court presided. 

In tlie meantime, Chittenden County had been circumscribed in its limits 
by the erection of Franklin County on the north. Soon after this division, 
it seems that there was a controversy on the subject of locating the county- 
town and buildings. To settle the question, a special act of the legislature 
was passed, November 4, 1793, "appointing Thompson J. Skinner and Samuel 
Sloan, of Williamstown, and Israel Jones, of Adams, in the commonwealth of 
Massachusetts, a committee to fix on the place for holding county and supreme 
courts in the county of Chittenden ; and to stick a stake, for the place of 
building the court-house." The decision of this committee resulted in the 
permanent establishment of the courts and court-house at Burlington, where 
they still remain, and where the supreme court meets on the first Tuesday in 
January, and county court on the first Tuesday in April, and the third Tues- 
day in September. The probate districts were changed so that the county 
now constitutes one district. The United States circuit and district courts 
also hold their sessions here on the fourth Tuesday in February. 

The first sessions of the courts at Burlington were held in a room in the 
southeastern part of the house of Capt. King, at Burlington Bay, as it was 
then called, being a settlement at the lower end of the present Battery street. 
The room used was about 16x20 feet. The portion of the room-allotted to the 
judges was railed off with boards, and within, upon a slab, into which round 



54 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



poles had been inserted for legs, sat the justiciar)' of the county. Here courts 
continued to be held until the summer of 1796, when a court-house was erected 
on the center of Court House Square, and a jail near the northeast comer, on 
the ground now occupied by the Strong's block. In 1802, a court-house was 
erected upon the site of that now occupied by the Fletcher Library building, 
which was used until 1828, when it was destroyed by fire. During the same 
year, another was erected in its place, the present library building, a two-story 
brick building, forty-six feet wide and sixty feet long. The lower story was occu- 
pied for offices by the county clerk and sheriff, and for jury rooms, the upper for a 
court room. The town united with the county in erecting the building, and $ 1,500 
was subscribed on condition of having the basement thereof to the sole and 
exclusive use of the town for town purposes, and was used by them for 
holding town meetings until 1854, when the town hall was built, since which 
time, until devoted to the uses of the library, it was used for housing fire 
engines and apparatus. This building was used as a court-house until the 
present court-house was completed, an elegant structure of cut and hammered 
stone, two stories in height, with a mansard roof, which cost between $50,000 
and $60,000, and was commenced in 187 1, and completed in 1873. 

THE POOR. 

Those who, from age, infirmity or otherwise, are unable to support them- 
selves, and are so unfortunate as to be obliged to rely upon public charity 
for sustenance, are cared for, in conformity with the laws of the State, by the 
towns wherein the applicants reside. 

L\TERXAL IMPROVEMENTS. 

A company was incorporated November i, 1843, for the purpose, and 
with the right, of building a railroad " from some point on the eastern shore 
of Lake Champlain, thence up the valley of Onion River, and extending to a 
point on the Connecticut River most convenient to meet a railroad either 
from Concord, N. H., or Fitchburgh, Mass." Stock was subscribed for the 
enterprise, and in the spring of 1 847, work upon the construction of the Ver- 
mont Central Railroad was commenced. Various financial difficulties and 
controversies with other enterprises of a like kind followed, delaying its com- 
pletion until 1849, when, in November of that year, the first train of cars 
passed over it. Its final route was decided upon as follows : commencing at 
Windsor, it follows the Connecticut River to the mouth of White River, 
thence up that stream to the source of its third branch ; thence, reaching the 
summit in Roxbur)-, and passing down the valley of Dog River, it enters the 
Winooski valley, near Montpelier ; and thence, continuing in the Winooski 
valley, near Montpelier ; and thence, continuing in the Winooski valley, its 
terminus is reached at Burlington, a distance of 1 1 7 miles. 

On the same date that the above charter was granted, November i, 1843, 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. " 55 



another charter was issued to the Cham plain and Connecticut River Railroad 
Company, for the purpose of ** Constructing a railroad from some point at 
Burlington, thence southwardly, through the counties of Addison, Rutland, 
Windsor and Windham, to some point on the western bank of the Connecticut 
River." The route fixed upon was from Bellows Falls to Burlington, a distance 
of 1 19^ miles, passing through portions of the valleys of Williams and Black 
Rivers, upon the eastern side of the Green Mountains, and along the valley of 
Otter Creek and valley of Lake Champlain, upon the western side. The first 
meeting of the stockholders was held at Rutland, May 6, 1845, with Timothy 
Follett, of Burlington, chairman, and L. Brown, of Rutland, clerk, at which 
it was voted to open subscriptions for stock, June loth, of that year, which was 
accordingly done. On November 6, 1 847, the legislature changed the name 
of the corporation to the Rutland & Burlington Railroad Company, and sub- 
sequently it was changed to the Rutland Raihoad Company. The first blow 
towards its construction was struck during the month of February, 1847, in 
the town of Rockingham, near Bellows Falls, and in two years and nine 
months it was completed, and opened through, December 18, 1849. 

The Vermont and Canada Railroad Company was incorporated by the 
general assembly, October 31, 1845, and amended and altered, November 15, 
1847, giving a right to build a railroad ** from some point in Highgate, on the 
Canada line, thence through the village of St. Albans, to some point or points 
in Chittenden County, most convenient for meeting, at the village of Burling- 
ton, a railroad to be built on the route described in the acts to incorporate the 
Champlain & Connecticut River Railroad Company, and the Vermont 
Central Railroad Company." The route decided upon was from Rouse's 
Point to Burlington, a distance of fifty-three miles, passing through the towns 
of Colchester, Milton, Georgia, St. Albans, Swanton and Alburgh. Ground 
was broken for its construction early in September, 1848, in the northern part 
of Georgia, and completed and opened to the public early in 185 1. 

By the subsequent organization of the present Central Vermont Rail- 
road Company, however, these roads all came under its control, and are 
now operated by the same, as different branches of the Central Vermont 
Railroad. The company has its principal office at St. Albans, with the fol- 
lowing list of officers : J. Gregory Smith, president ; J. W. Hobart, general 
superintendent ; J. M. Foss, assistant general superintendent ; A. Arnold, 
superintendent central division ; I. B. Futvoie, superintendent northern divi- 
sion; Jesse Burdett, superintendent Rutland division; E. A. Chittenden, 
superintendent of local freight traffic ; and W. F. Smith, general passenger 
agent. 

The Burlington and Lamoille Raihoad Company was organized February 
24t 1875, ^nder the general laws of the State. Its construction was com- 
menced in May of that year, and was finished and opened for traffic, July 2, 
1877, extending from Burlington to Cambridge, a distance of thirty-five 
miles. The track between Burlington and Essex Junction is not used by the 



56 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



company at present, as arrangements were made with the Central Vermont 
Company, by which their line is used to that point. The first list of officers 
were : William B. Hatch, of New York, president ; N. Parker, of Burlington, 
vice-president ; E. W. Peck, of Burlington, treasurer ; D. C. Linsley, of Bur- 
lington, general manager. The present officers are: D. C. Linsley, presi- 
dent; C. M. Spaulding, vice-president j E. W. Peck, treasurer; G. L. Linsley, 
general manager; and L. Barnes, N. Parker, D. C. Linsley, Morillo Noyes, 
C. M. Spaulding, and G. L. Linsley, of Burlington, and Josiah Tuttle, of 
Essex, H. M. Field, of Jericho, L. F. Turrill, of Underhill, H. F. Wetherby, 
of Cambridge, William B. Hatch, of New York, George W. Hendee, of Mor- 
risville, and Waldo Brigham, of Hydeville, directors. 

NEWSPAPERS. 

During the latter part of the last century, when Chittenden County was 
but a youth, its first newspaper was issued ; since that time, except for short 
periods, it has not been without a live, energetic sheet. Two papers are now 
published within its limits, conducted in a manner that would do discredit to 
no publication or locality. 

The Burlington Mercury^ published at Burhngton, was the first publication 
ever issued in the county. It was a small sheet, published weekly by Don- 
nelly & Hill, from 1797 to 1799, when it was discontinued, and for the next 
two years none was issued. 

Tlie Verpnont Centincl was then commenced by John K. Baker, the first 
number appearing Thursday, March 19, 1801. The above name was retained 
until December 6, 1810, when its title was changed to Xorthern Centinel, a 
new volume being commenced December 13, 18 10, with its new title. Two 
years later, December 10, 181 2, the word •* Northern" was dropped, and the 
new volume commenced as T/te Centitul. A year later, January 14, 181 4, a 
figured heading appeared upon the paper, bearing the title — Northern Sen- 
tinel ; the old name resumed, but with modernized spelling. This figured 
heading was retained throughout the year, then dropped, and the plain title of 
Northern Sentinel Ttsumed, This name it retained until 1830, when it was 
changed to Burlington Sentinel, a title it retained until June, 1872, and then 
changed to Burlington Democrat, 

Mr Baker, the founder of the paper, relinquished its publication on the 12th 
of October, 1804, in favor of Josiah King ; but Mr. Baker's ser\ices were 
retained as assistant editor. Mr. King retained the proprietorship of the 
paper only one year, having relimjuished it October 11, 1805, when its pub- 
lication was resumed by its founder, and printed by him *'for the proprie- 
tors" (the names of whom we are unable to give), until the beginning of 
the following April, 1806, when it passed into the hands of Messrs. Daniel 
Greenleaf & Co. It was considerably enlarged in size by them, and much 
improved in its general appearance. The name of the publishing firm was, a 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. $7 



few weeks later, changed to Greenleaf & Mills, the firm consisting of 
Daniel Greenleaf and Samuel Mills. The partnership between them, however, 
was dissolved in October of the same year ( 1 806) ; and the Sentiml, with 
its printing establishment, became the sole property of Mr. Mills. It con- 
tinued under his proprietorship until January i, 1818, when he retired from 
the printing business, having sold out his interest in it to his brothers, 
Ephraim and Thomas Mills. The Messrs £. & T. Mills remained the pub- 
lishers of the *S?/i/r>i^/ until January i, 1835, when they sold it to Mr. Nahum 
Stone. After publishing the paper about two years, Mr. Stone sold his in 
terest to Sylvanus Parsons, who retained it only about one year, then sold it 
to Azro Bishop. Bishop retained the proprietorship of the paper some two 
years, then sold out his interest to Dana Winslow. Winslow continued its 
publication about three years, then sold it to George Howard Paul, who 
published it several years. Not being fortunate, however, in his pecuniary 
affairs, Mr. Paul failed, and his property, including the Sentinel establish- 
ment, passed into the hands of an assignee, by whom the paper was sold to 
John G. Saxe, Esq. This was in the year 1851. Mr. Sax continued to pub- 
lish it until 1855, when he in turn sold out to Douglas A. Danforth, who 
continued the sole proprietor of it for several years. During the latter 
part of 1859, he sold a half of his interest in the paper, and the large job 
printing establishment connected with it, to E. Marvin Smalley ; and it was 
published by them, under the firm name of Danforth & Smalley, during the 
year i860, and until March, 1861. Mr. Smalley then sold his interest in it 
to William Henry Hoyt, who also, a few weeks later, purchased from Mr. 
Danforth his interest in it, and thus became its sole proprietor. On October 
I, 1861, the firm was changed to W. H. & C. A. Hoyt & Co., who in turn 
sold the property to William Eaton. Mr. Eaton continued the publication 
until 1868, when it was discontinued. In 187 1, it was recommenced by 
Harry C. Fay, and continued by him one year, when it was sold to Albion N. 
Merchant, of Champlain, N. Y., in June, 1872. Mr. Merchant removed the 
paper from Burlington, changing the naftie to Burlington Democrat, and it 
was issued as such for a time from Providence, R I., and finally changed to 
the Rhode Island Democrat, and as such is still published. 

Thf Burlington Gazette, a weekly, published by Hinckley & Fish, was com- 
menced September 9, 1814, and continued until February, 181 7. 

754^ Repertory was next commenced, a weekly, published by Jeduthan 
Spooner, its first issue appearing October i, 1821, and was continued but a 
short time. 

Burlington Free Press was first issued June 15, 1827, by Luman Foote. 
Its establishment met with great favor in the community, and being con- 
ducted with great ability, it soon became one of the most influential papers in the 
State, a position it still continues to maintain. Mr. Foote continued its 
publication alone, till the latter part of February, 1828, when Henry B. Stacy, 
who had had the practical business of printing the paper under his charge 



58 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



almost from the issue of its first number, became associated with Mr. Foote 
as editor and proprietor. By them jointly it was edited and published till 
January, 1833, when Mr. Stacy became sole editor and proprietor, and so re- 
mained till July, 1846. At that time DeWitt C. Clarke became its owner and 
editor. From the commencement of the paper until April, 1848, the Bur- 
lington Free Press had appeared only as a weekly sheet ; but at that time, 
telegraph connections having been formed between Burlington and New 
York, by the way of Troy, Mr. Clarke started a daily paper entitled the Daily 
Free Press, which was issued as well as the weekly. On the first of April, 
1853, the Free Press was purchased by Messrs. George W. and George G. 
Benedict, who enlarged and greatly improved both weekly and daily. In 
July, 1868, it was transferred to the Free Press Association, and issued as 
a morning and evening paper, and in January, 1869, the Times, a morning 
paper, was united with it, and the name changed to THE DAILY FREE 
PRESS AND TIMES. 

The Iris and Burlington Literary Gazette was commenced by Worth & 
Foster, in 1828, and continued about one year. 

The Green Mountain Repository was published by C. Goodrich, during the 
year 1832, and by Z. Thompson, in 1833. It was issued monthly, at $1.25 
per year. 

The Green Mountain Boy was commenced by Richards & Co., in Decem- 
ber, 1834, and continued by them until March, 1835. 

La Canadien Patriot, by , was published a short time in 1839. 

The Milton Herald, published at Milton, Vt, was commenced in 1843, 
and continued until 1845 ^^ 1846. 

The True Democrat was commenced in 1843, by Nathan Haswell, and 
suspended after a short time. 

The Liberty Gazette, published by C. C. Briggs, was started in July, 1846. 
In 1848, it was taken by E. A. Stansbury and L. E. Chittenden, who changed 
its title to the Free Soil Courier and lAberty Gazette, and continued it un- 
til 1 85 1, or 1852, when it ceased to exist. 

The Liberty Herald, by , was commenced in 1846, and continued 

only a short time. 

The Burlington Courier ytzs commenced by E. A. Stansbury, in June, 1848, 
and continued by him until June 24, 1852, when it was taken by Guy C. 
Sampson, who run it until 1854, when it was discontinued. 

Vermont State Agriculturist, by Casper T. Hopkins and D. W. C. Clarke, 
was commenced July i, 1848, and continued about two years. 

The Commercial Register was commenced in 185 1, by Nichols & Warren, 
and published about two years. 

The Crystal Fount, a temperance paper, was started by James Frame, in 
1852, though but one issue was ever printed. 

Burlington Times, daily and weekly, was commenced by D. W. C. Clarke, 
May 18, 1858, and continued by him till October 10, i860, when it was 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 59 



transferred to Bigelow & Ward. Mr. Ward withdrew from the firm, January 
19, 1861, and Bigelow continued the paper until 1869, when it was united 
with the Burlington Free Press to form THE DAILY FREE PRESS 
AND TIMES. 

The Vermont Watchman^ a weekly, was commenced by Capt. John Loner- 
gan in 1868, and continued through two or three issues. 

The Independent^ by A. N. Merchant, was started in 1871, and continued a 
short time. 

Home Hours ^ a monthly published by Benedict & Co., in 1872, was con- 
tinued but a short time. 

The Souvenier, monthly, was commenced by A. N. Merchant, in 1873, ^^^ 
continued a short time. 

Vermont Medical Journal^ bi-monthly, by J. M. Currier, was issued a 
short time, beginning in 1873. 

Vermont Statesman^ by Charles Pomeroy Button, was commenced in 1873, 
and run about three months. 

Archives of Science, a quarterly, was commenced by J. M. Currier, in 1874, 
and continued a short time. 

THE BURLINGTON CLIPPER, a weekly, was commenced by C. S. 
Kinsley, March 26,1874, and is still continued by him, a lively, energetic publi- 
cation, rapidly increasing in popularity. 

The Witness a monthly, published at Winooski village, by Wilson Bros., 
was commenced in 1875, and continued about two years. 

The Vermont National, commenced in 1875, was published only a short 
time, by the National Publishing Co. 

The Burlington Review was commenced by H. W. Love, in 1878, as a weekly, 
and he soon after established a branch paper in Rutland, where the Review 
was published until a short time since, and where he still issues the Rut- 
land Review, 

The Sunday Crucible, a weekly, was started by R. E. Chase & Co., May 
25, 1879, and continued until July 27, when it was changed to the Vermont 
National, and published by Pratt & Chase, from August ist, until December 
26th, when it was discontinued. 

THE VERMONT AUTOGRAPH AND REMARKER.— This paper 
may perhaps not be worthy of mention except as a curiosity. It is a small 
sheet, with a limited circulation, printed with a pen, by James Johns, of 
Huntington. It has been issued from time to time for many years, and its 
files contain much valuable historical matter. 

So far as we have been able to learn, this forms a complete list of all the 
newspapers ever published in the county. All of them, unless especially 
mentioned as otherwise, were published and printed at Burlington. 



60 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



ABORIGINAL OCCUPANCY. 

The territory embraced within the present limits of Vermont, previous to any 
settlement by Europeans, was claimed as a hunting-ground by several tribes 
of Indians who were hostile to each other, consequently it was often the scene 
of their savage wars, and constant invasion prevented its being made their 
permanent home. Indeed, it was Champlain's nominal purpose to help the 
Canadian Indians in their war with those in the region of the lake, that first 
brought him upon its water. 

The Iroquois, or Five Nations, was a powerful confederacy composed of 
several tribes of Indians, who had planted themselves in Western New York, 
on the shores of Lakes Ontario and Erie, and were the inveterate enemies of 
the Canadian Indians. Champlain started from Quebec with about one hun- 
dred of the Canadian Indians, in 1609, and proceeded up the lake to the 
vicinity of Crown Point, where, on the western shore, as they had expected, 
they met a large party of Iroquois, who defied them. But, when Champlain, 
at a single fire of his arquebus, killed two chiefs and mortally wounded 
another, and another Frenchman fired from another quarter, they fled in 
alarm, ending the first battle fought on Lake Champlain. 

The origin of the Indian cannot be determined by history, nor will calcu- 
lation ever arrive at a probable certainty. Some writers have declared that 
they were indigenous, whilst others maintain the opinion of their migration ; 
and both classes, with perhaps a few exceptions, consider them the extreme 
of human depravity, and outcasts of the world. Now, while we do not dis- 
pute this sentiment entirely, let us, in justice, glance at the other side of the 
question. Criminations have been thrown upon them, they have been driven 
from their possessions, then in turn driven from others they had obtained, and 
thus, over and over again, the quietness of their dwellings has been interrupted 
by insolent invaders. But above all, dissipation, introduced among them by 
their civilized neighbors, has plunged them still deeper into HTetchedness and 
barbarity. They are human beings, fashioned, like you and I, in the " image 
of their Creator." Might they not, then, had other treatment and circum- 
stances been brought to bear, be other than the degraded people they now are? 

A branch of the Abenaquis tribe of Indians were the aboriginal occupants 
of this section of the country, previous to its settlement by the whites ; and, 
indeed, they lingered upon their rightful soil, at the mouth of the Lamoille 
River, and thence north along the Missisquoi Bay, for a long while after the 
French and English had taken possession and commenced the settlement of 
the country to the north and south of them. Still, as we have stated before, 
neither this nor any other locality in the State, seems to have been the red 
man's permanent home ; at least not within historic times. But Vermont 
was rather a territory to which all laid claim, and was used in common as a 
hunting, fishing, and battle ground, by the St. Francis tribe on the north, their 
principal settlement being at Montreal, or Hockhelaga, as it was then called ; 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 6 1 



the Narraganset on the east, their principal settlement on the Merrimac River, 
N. H.; the Pepuquoits on the south, inhabiting the northwestern part of Con- 
necticut; and the Iroquois, or Mohawks, as they were commonly called, on 
the southwest, their principal settlement being at Schenectady, on the Mo- 
hawk River, N. Y. 

In several localities throughout the county, however, there has been found 
indubitable proof that the Indians have, at some period, resided here in con- 
siderable numbers, and for many years. In Shelburne, on the eastern side of 
the mouth of the river, a field of about twenty-five acres was found by the 
early settlers, which showed undoubted evidences of having been cleared and 
cultivated for a length of time, as there were no stumps of the original tim- 
ber. This clearing was in a square form, and had a heavy growth of the 
original timber on all sides, and two large trees of the original growth left 
standing in the center. There were numerous heaps or piles of stones on the. 
field, which must have been carried there, probably for camp fires, as there 
were no stones in the soil This clearing was evidently abandoned by the sav- 
ages a number of years before any settlement was made by the whites, as it 
was covered with a thick growth of small trees, unlike the surrounding timber, 
apparently of about thirty years growth. Arrow heads, flints, and other articles 
were also found in large numbers, which was conclusive evidence of its having 
been occupied by savages for many years. 

Near the mouth of the Lamoille River, in Colchester, also was found the 
remains of an Indian encampment and burial place, together with a large 
mound, where the skeletons and bones of the race, buried in their usual sit- 
ting posture, were exhumed, and numerous arrow heads and other Indian 
relics found, among which was the famous ** Indian urn," found by Capt. 
John Johnson^ in 1825. This urn, which is now in the museum of the Uni- 
versity of Vermont, is about eight inches in height, and will hold about four 
quarts, is highly ornamented, and shows a considerable degree of skill in pot- 
tery. Its antiquity is attested by the circumstances in which it was found, 
it being covered with a flat stone, over which a large tree had grown, and had 
been so long dead as to be nearly all rotten. A similar vessel, but much 
larger, was found many years ago in Bolton. But these researches, however 
interesting they may be to the antiquarian, can only lead to conjecture. The 
Indian history of Vermont must ever remain as obscure as that which relates 
to the origin of the race itself. 

WHEN FIRST SETTLED BY THE WHITES. 

In 1664, as mentioned on page 35, M. de Tracy, then Governor of New 
France, entered upon his work of erecting a line of fortifications from the 
mouth of the Sorrel to Lake Champlain, and during the following year ex- 
tended the works up the lake. There is no direct evidence, but some circum- 
stances which would seem to indicate that fortifications of some kind were 



62 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



erected upon Colchester Point, at, or about this time. When the locality was 
first settled, at least, it is claimed there were remains of fortifications of some 
sort, and the ruins of other works and buildings to be found upon the Point 
Some of these remains are still visible ; and it is represented that when the 
first settlers came on, they then had the appearance of great antiquity. Upon 
the old Porter place, an old chimney bottom and the remnants of the walls 
of some buildings were then there. Various relics, such as leaden bullets, 
partially decayed materials of iron, and pieces of silver and copper coin, have 
also been found, all tending towards the theory that during this extension of 
the old line of fortifications, one was established at this point, though there is 
no written or traditionarj- account to this effect. 

Should this hypothesis be correct, then, the first settlement of Chittenden 
County dates back to a very remote antiquity. The first English settlers, how- 
ever, who settled in the territory, were Ira Allen and Remember Baker. 
They explored the country along the Winooski River, in the fall of 1772, and 
came into the country to reside the following spring. Baker brought his 
family with him ; and Allen, being then a single man, resided in the family of 
Baker, who was his uncle. They made their pitch at the lower falls on the 
Winooski River, where, as a matter of security against the Yorkers and In- 
dians, they constructed a block-house or fort, which they christened Fort 
Frederick, and in which they lived. These were followed by other settlers 
from time to time, until there were about forty families in the county at the 
breaking out of the Revolution ; but they left for localities of greater security, 
however, in 1776, all except Joseph Brown and family, who had settled on 
Brown's River, in Jericho. The attack on Brown's house, his capture by 
the Indians, etc., are spoken of in connection with the sketch of that town ; 
indeed, it is not necessary to speak of the early settlement and settlers at this 
l>oint only in a general way, as the details are given in the sketches of the 
various towns wherein they located. Suffice it to say, then, that on the return 
of peace, in 1783, Stephen Lawrence was the first to return with his family, 
and during the same year most of the settlers returned to their farms, bring- 
ing many new settlers with them, who were in turn joined by others, until at 
the taking of the first census, in 1791, the county had a population of 3,875. 

LAND TITLE CONTROVERSY. 

Except in the instances already mentioned, no settlement was made within 
the present limits of the State of Vermont, owing to its distance from the 
English settlements on the seacoasts, and from the French on the St Law- 
rence, until 1724. In 1 7 16, however, Massachusetts granted a tract of land, 
in the southeastern part of the State, containing more than one hundred thous- 
and acres, upon which, eight years later, the settlement of Fort Dummer was 
commenced. At this time the fort was supposed to be within the limits 
and under the jurisdiction of Massachusetts ; but a controversy soon after 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 63 



arose between New Hampshire and Massachusetts, relative to the boundary 
line between these States, or Provinces, as they then were, which, after a long 
and tedious struggle, was adjusted, March 5, 1740, when King George II. 
determined that, "the northern boundary of the province of Massachusetts 
be, a similar curve line, pursuing the course of the Merrimac River, at three 
miles distance, on the north side thereof, beginning at the Atlantic Ocean, 
and ending at a point due north of Pawtucket falls ; and a straight line drawn 
from thence, due west, until it meets with his Majesty's other governments." 
This line was run in 1741, and has ever since been admitted as the boundary 
line between Massachusetts and New Hampshire. 

By this decision, and the establishment of this line^ the government of 
New Hampshire concluded that their jurisdiction extended as far west as 
Massachusetts had claimed and exercised, that is, within twenty miles of 
Hudson River. It was also well known, both in Great Britain and America, 
that the King had repeatedly recommended to the assembly of New Hamp- 
shire, to make provision for the support of Fort Dummer ; and Fort Dum- 
mer was located upon the west side of the river, thus proving that the jurisdic- 
tion of New Hampshire extended west of the Connecticut ; but how far west 
had not been particularly inquired into, the twenty mile line from the Hudson 
being taken for granted, and silently acquiesced in by the King. 

The land lying between the Connecticut and New York was the most fer- 
tile and productive in the State, and it soon began to attract the attention of 
pioneers. Accordingly, Benning Wentworth, then governor of New Hamp- 
shire, in 1749, made a grant of a township six miles square, located twenty 
miles east of Hudson River, and six miles north of the Massachusetts line, to 
which, in allusion to his own name, he gave the name of Bennington. Dur- 
ing the following four or five years he made several other grants east of the 
Connecticut River. But in 1754, the breaking out of hostilities between 
France and Great Britain put a stop to all these operations, and no other 
grants were made until after the close of the war. During its progress, how- 
ever, the New England troops cut a road through from Charlestown, in New 
Hampshire, to Crown Point, N. Y., and were frequently passing through these 
lands, and thus many became acquainted with their rare fertility and agricul- 
tural possibilities. The war was closed in September, 1760, by the taking of 
Montreal, and the whole of Canada became annexed to Great Britain. Dur- 
ing the following month King George III. acceded to the throne of England ; 
and to his obstinacy, bigotry, and perhaps ignorance, is owing the troubles 
that sprang up between New Hampshire and New York, indirectly leading to 
the subsequent revolt, in 1775, by which England lost one of the finest 
countrys upon which the sun ever shone. 

Applications for grants were rapidly made to Governor Wentworth, so that 
in the year 1761, not less than sixty charters were issued, granting as many 
townships of six miles square, and in two years more the number amounted 
to one hundred and thirty-eight. The territory began to be known by the 



64 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



name of the New Hampshire Grants, and the number of actual settlers soon 
grew to be quite large. The forests began to disappear, giving place to large 
fields of grain, and all gave token of a prosperous, happy future. But a dark 
day dawned upon this peaceful scene. A proclamation was issued by Gov. 
Golden, of New York, April lo, 1765, giving a copy of an order issued by 
George III., in council July 20, 1764, stating that '*the western bank of the 
Connecticut should thereafter be regarded as the eastern boundary of New 
York," and notifying his Majesty's subjects to govern themselves accordingly. 

This had been brought about by the jealousy and cupidity of New York, 
who had just awakened to a knowledge of the richness of the territory. Their 
whole claim was based upon an old charter issued by Charles II., in 1664, 
making an extraordinary grant to his brother, the Duke of York, containing, 
among other parts of America, " all the lands from the west of the Connecti- 
cut River to the east side of Delaware Bay." This grant was entirely incon- 
sistent with the previous charters, which had been granted to Massachusetts 
and Connecticut, and neither of them had ever admitted it to have any 
effect, with regard to the lands which they had settled, or claimed to the west 
of the said river. 

Although the settlers of the grants were alarmed and displeased at this 
change, they had no idea it would amount to more than a change of juris- 
diction, and supposed their titles to lands would be perfectly secure. But, 
ere long, new grantees began to appear, with charters issued by the authori- 
ties of New York, who ousted, or attempted to, the original grantees. But 
in this they found a difficult task. The settlers of Vermont were a bold, 
hardy people, law-abiding, but ix>ssessing a peculiarly acute sense of jus- 
tice, and sturdy in defending their rights. Their allegience to King George 
III. soon became merely nominal, as they obeyed only the mandates of their 
own conventions and town meetings. The New York claimants would come 
on, present their claims, and oust those already occupying the land, if possi- 
ble, while they in turn would be driven off by the settlers, leading to much 
violence and outrage on both sides. One party was called " land pirates " and 
" land thieves," while the people of the grants were, in turn, stigmatized as 
"rebels" and "outlaws." 

In these scenes of violence and opposition, Ethan Allen placed himself at 
the head of the settlers of the Grants. Bold, enterprising, and ambirious, 
wielding the pen and the sword with almost equal facility, though rash and 
indiscreet, withal, he soon made himself and his " Green Mountain Boys " a 
foe whom the Yorkers learned to respect, in point of arms at least. His grave, 
marked by that tall Tuscan shaft in a Burlington cemetery, is now visited by 
hundreds each year, who thus pay their tribute of respect to the memor}- of 
the bold, patriotic, yet rough mountain hero. Associated with Allen were 
Seth Warner and Remember Baker, in courage and braver}' not a whit behind 
their leader. Baker has already been spoken of as one of the first settlers of 
this county, coming here with his uncle, Col. Ira Allen. His useful life was 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 6S 



unfortunately brought to a sad end, during the early part of the Revolution, 

while in a skirmish with Indians near St. John, in August, 1775. Warner 

was cool, firm, steady, resolute, and fully determined that the laws of New 

York, respecting the settlers, never should be carried into execution. At 

the beginning of the trouble, when an officer came to take him as a rioter* 

he considered it as an affair of open hostility, and defended himself, attacked, 

wounded and disarmed the officer, but, with the spirit of a soldier, spared 

his life. 

We will relate one instance to show something of the spirit of the times : 

A Scotchman, by the name of Will Cockbum, was sent out by New York 

parties to survey their claims, and from the following extracts from a letter 

written to his employers, in 177 1, it would seem that he at least met with 

difficulties: — 

Albany, September 10, 1771. 

" Sir : — ♦ » » ♦ • After being the second time stopped in Sodal- 
borough, by James Mead and Asa Johnson, in behalf of the settlers in Rut- 
land and Pittsford, I have run out lots from the south bounds to within about 
two miles of the Great Falls [Southerland Falls, on Otter Creek]. I found it 
in vain to persist any longer, as they were resolved at all events to stop us. 
There have been many threats pronounced against me. Gideon Conley, 
who lives by the Great Falls, was to shoot me, * ♦ » * » ^nd your 
acquaintance Nathan [Ethan] Allen, was in the woods with another party 
blacked and dressed like Indians, as I was informed. Several of my men can 
prove Townsend and Train threatened my life, that I should never return 
home, etc »****♦ 

''The people of Durham [now Clarendon] assured me these men intended 
to murder us if we did not go from thence, and advised me by all means to 
desist surveying. » » * » * * j found I would not be allowed to go 
northward, as they suspected I would begin again, and therefore intended to 
convey us to Danby and so on to the southward, and by all accounts we 
should not have been very kindly treated. I was advised by no means to go 
that road. ****** On my assuring them I would survey no 
more in those parts, we were permitted to proceed along the Crown Point 
road, with the hearty prayers of the women, as we passed, never to re- 
turn. *♦***♦ 

" I have not been able to fix Kier's location, and Danby people have been 
continually on the watch always. ***•*♦ Since I have been 
here, several have visited me, asking questions, no doubt to be able to know 
us, should we venture within their territories, and at the same time warning 
us of the danger, should we be found there. Marsh's survey is likewise un- 
done, as I did not care to venture myself that way. I shall be able to inform 
you more particularly at our meeting, and am, 

" Sir, your most obedient servant, 

Will Cockburn. 

•* James Duane, New York." 

Cockbum was the second time stopped by Mead and Johnson, at Rutland, 
and by other parties threatened with death, and their threats appear to have 
prevented him from making further attempts under the patent of Social- 
borough. The next summer, however, he was found, with a number of his 



66 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



assistants, in this county, at Bolton, and was arrested by Remember Baker, 
,Seth Warner, and others, who, after breaking his compass and chain, took 
him and his party to Castleton for trial before a court of the settlers, where 
he was finally released. 

" Beech sealing" was a favorite mode of punishment awarded the obnoxious 
New York officials. This consisted of tying the victim to a tree and admin- 
istering a certain number of lashes >\'ith a beech gad. The last chastisement 
of this sort was inflicted on one Benjamin Hough, who occupied land under 
the odious title of SociallK)rough. and for a long time had been looked upon 
with disfavor by the Green Mountain Boys ; but at last he was invested by 
New York with the power of a magistrate, and attempted the duties of his 
office. He was subsequently formally served ^"ith a copy of a resolution of 
the convention at Manchester, on April 12 and 13, 1774, certified by Jonas 
Fay, clerk, by which it was declared that whoever should, in the then situa- 
tion of affairs. " until his majesty's pleasure in the premises should be further 
known," presume to take a commission of the peace from the New York govern- 
ment, should " be deemed an enemy to their country and the common cause." 
He was also verbally warned to desist from the further exercise of his official 
authority, and threatened with punishment if he persisted. To these warn- 
ings he paid no heed, but continued as active and troublesome as ever. The 
indignation against him became very great, and it was resolved to make such 
an example of him as would not only efl'ectually silence him. but deter others 
from the commission of like offences. He was accordingly seized by a body 
of his neighbors, placed in a sleigh, and carried about thirty miles, to Sunder- 
land, where he was kept for three days under strict guard, until Monday, 
January 30. 1775. when, the leading Green Mountain Boys being as.sembled, 
he was brought to trial, the coun appointed for the purpose consisting of 
Ethan Allen. Seth Warner, Robert Cochrah, Peieg Sunderland. James Mead. 
Gideon Warren, and Jesse Sawyer. His judges being seated, he was put 
upon his defence, which being held insufficient, he was found guilty and sen- 
tenced ** to be tied to a tree and receive two hundred lashes on the naked 
back, and then as soon as he should be able, should depart the New Hamp- 
shire Grants and not return again till his majesty's pleasure should be known 
in the premises, on pain of receiving five hundred lashes." This sentence 
was read to him from a paper by Allen, and was immediately put into execu- 
tion, after which he was given a pass to depart to New York, which read as 

follows : — 

•* SuNDtkLAND, Januar> 3, 1775. 

**This may certify to the inhabitants of the New Hampshire Grants, that Ben- 
jamin Hough hath this day received full punishment for his crimes committed 
heretofore against this country, and our inhabitants are ordered to give him 
the said Huff free and unmolested passport towards the city of New York, 
or the westward of our grants, he behaving as becometh. Given under our 
hands the day and date aforesaid. 

Kthan Allln. 

Skth Warner." 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 67 



Thus the people of the Grants struggled on until the breaking out of the 
Revolution, when the greater and common trouble consumed the lesser. On 
the 24th and 25th of September, 1776, one of the conventions of the Green 
Mountain Boys was held at the house of Cephas Kent, in Dorset, at which it 
was resolved " to take suitable measures as soon as may be, to declare the 
New Hampshire Grants a separate district. This was the germ which soon 
expanded and grew into the free and independent State of Vermont — the 
only State in the Union, except Texas, which was admitted by petition of her 
people. The delegates to this convention from Chittenden County were 
Col. Thomas Chittenden, of Williston, after whom the county was named, 
and who subsequently became Vermont's first governor, and Lieut. Ira Allen, 
of Colchester. The close of the war found Vermont an independent State, 
to which Yew York relinquished all right and title upon payment of $30,000. 
Thus ended " the trials that tried men's souls" — trials which nerved the Green 
Mountain Boys to declare and maintain their independence, and to emerge 
a free and sovereign State. 

REVOLUTIONARY WAR. 

The end of the long struggle between England and France had arrived — a 
glohous end for the British lion. Spain had paid for her indiscretion by dis- 
gorging the beautiful island of Cuba, which was exchanged for the present 
State of Florida. It would seem, then, that covered with glory, enriched by 
the addition to her territory of Canada and Florida, England would feel com- 
pensated for the debt she had incurred. But it was directly the opposite. No 
sooner was peace declared than she determined to get back from her Ameri- 
can possessions what she had expended in defending them. Accordingly 
we find the history of the next' twelve years, from the treaty of peace in 1763 
to 1775, * continuous narrative of unwise, ungenerous attempts on the part 
of the mother country to increase her revenues at the expense of her col- 
onies, and on the part of the colonies, of spirited and united resistance to 
these attempts. 

The colonies would willingly have borne part of the load, had they been 
allowed a voice in laying the duties or taxes to be imposed. But they in- 
sisted that taxation without representation was an infringement on the rights 
of freemen ; that the power to tax them should be vested in their own col- 
onial assemblies, — or that, if Parliament were to exercise it, they should be 
represented in Parliament. To the folly of George III., then, strengthened 
by the tyranny of the British Parliament, who, in his name, allowed his lands 
to be granted twice over, and the first grantees to be persecuted as felons 
and outlaws ; who would do nothing for his people in America without being 
exhorbitantly paid ; by the pas^ge of the notorious Stamp Act, in 1765, and 
the Boston Port Bill, in 1774, is owing to the estrangement and revolt in 
1775, which took practical development at Lexington, at Bunker Hill, at Bos- 



68 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



ton, in the expedition of Arnold through the wilds of Maine, in the taking of 
Ticonderoga, and in the co-operation of Montgomery, by the way of Lake 
Champlain, Montreal and St. Lawrence, with Arnold under the frowning 
walls of Quebec. 

The people of the New Hampshire Grants, as may well be supposed, 
entered with and especially hearty zeal into this contest for American Inde- 
pendence. Their schooling had been such as to render them an exceedingly 
undesirable foe to meet A large proportion of the settlers had served in the 
French and Indian war, and during the twelve or fifteen years that intervened 
had been almost continuously at strife with New York, leading to a feeling 
of deadly hatred against King George and the British Parliament. It is not 
strange, then, that the Green Mountain Boys were soon both feared and re- 
spected by their adversaries. The few who had settled in Chittenden County, 
left, as previously mentioned, on the approach of Burg03me ; no battle was 
fought within its limits, and except one or two incursions by Indians and 
Tories, no blood was shed (see sketches of Colchester and Shelbume). But 
subsequent to the war, the Green Mountain Boy's leader and idol, Ethan 
Allen, made his home here, therefore it is proper to give the events that occurred 
in its immediate vicinity, more than a passing notice, though they constitute 
no part of its local history, and are, withal, well known subjects of general 
history. 

Haldibrand, the governor of Crown Point and Ticonderoga, had announced 
to the government, in 1773, that the fort at Crown Point "was entirely de- 
stroyed," and that Ticonderoga was in a " ruinous condition," and that both 
" could not cover fifty men in winter." The appeal to arms, which in April, 
^775i ^^^ sounded from the plains of Lexington, seems to have suggested, 
simultaneously, to various patrotic indiWduals in the colonies, the idea of 
capturing these important fortresses in their dilapidated and exposed con- 
dition. Members of the provincial legislature of Connecticut, on their own 
individual responsibility, raised funds to effect this object, and appointed a 
committee to proceed to the scene, and to attempt the execution of the plan. 
In the county of Berkshire a small force was collected, but at Bennington the 
fearless spirit and powerful influence of Ethan Allen was enlisted in the 
enterprise. An intrepid band of two hundred and seventy volunteers, all of 
whom except forty belonged to the Green Mountains, were collected at Cas- 
tleton, Rutland County, on the 7th of May. At this moment Benedict 
Arnold, invested with plenary powers from the Ma.ssachusetts committee of 
safety to accomplish the same object, appeared on the scene, and claimed the 
command of the expedition. A contest ensued which threatened to defeat the 
whole design, but was terminated by the troops refusing to proceed except 
under the leadership of Allen, their tried and cherished leader. Arnold was 
constrained to yield, and joined the force as ah aid to the commander. The 
garrison of Ticonderoga was slumbering in profound security. To procure means 
of crossing the lake, Col. Herrick had been sent to Skeensboro, and Remem- 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 69 

ber Baker was to join them with boats from Otter Creek ; but when the 
troops reached Shoreham, neither had appeared Seizing such vessels as 
could be procured, Allen boldly decided to cross. The landing was effected 
at a little cove, a mile north of the fort. When the morning dawned only 
eighty-three men had reached the western shore ; yet Allen, knowing how 
much delay would imperil the issue, decided to advance at once to the assault. 
The story need not be repeated The fortress, which had cost so much blood 
and treasure, was won by the little band in a bloodless triumph, ''in the name 
of Jehovah and the Continental Congress," on the loth of May, 1775. 

Warner arrived soon after the place surrendered, and taking command of 
a party, set off for the reduction of Crown Ppint, which was garrisoned only 
by a sergeant and twelve men. They surrendered upon the first summons, 
and Warner took possession of the fort. Skeensboro was also taken, the 
same day, by another party, and Maj. Skeene made prisoner. Allen and 
Arnold started soon after for St. Johns, where an armed sloop was lying, 
Arnold in command of a schooner, and Allen in command of a batteaux. 
They both set out together upon the expedition, but a fresh wind springing 
up from the south, the schooner outsailed the batteaux, and Arnold soon ar- 
rived at St. Johns, where he surprised and captured the sloop. The wind 
immediately shifting to the north, Arnold set sail with his prize, and met 
Allen with his batteaux at some distance from St Johns. Thus in the course 
of a few days, and by a few daring individuals, was Lake Champlain and its 
important fortresses secured to the Americans. 

On the 2 1 St of August, Montgomery set out for Canada. The rest is well 
known — Montgomery's triumph, until he reached Quebec, where reverses met 
him and one-half the American forces slain, among them the gallant officer 
himself, December 31, 1775, followed by the subsequent retreat of the Ameri- 
cans from Canada, and the apprehended advance of Carlton, spreading uni- 
versal consternation and panic among the settlers in the environs of the 
lake. 

After their retreat from Canada, the American army evacuated Crown 
Point, burned all the erections, destroyed all the public property that could 
not be carried with them, and gathered at Ticonderoga. A large and well 
appointed British army was concentrated at St. Johns, who, to effect a suc- 
cessful advance, found it was necessary to secure a naval preponderance upon 
the lake. Six vessels of a large class, which had been constructed in England, 
were taken apart at the foot of the rapids on the Sorel, the materials 
transported to St. Johns, and there rebuilt in the summer of 1776. Other 
vessels of various dimensions were also constructed with the utmost celerity. 
By these energetic efforts a fleet of thirty-one vessels, and carrying in their 
armament from one to eighteen guns, was prepared for active service on the 
I St of October of that year. This fleet was navigated by seven hundred vete- 
ran seamen, and armed by a heavy corps of artillery. 

Congress was not insensible to the vital emergency of the occasion, but 



JO CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 

possessed means totally inadequate for the magnitude of the crisis. The 
timber required for the construction of a flotilla was yet standing in the forest, 
and was to be cut, prepared and transported, to the ship-yard at Ticonderoga, 
almost unaided by the appliances of art or mechanism. Its equipments were 
to be conveyed a long distance, over roads new and almost impracticable. The 
ship carpenters who must construct the vessels were employed in urgent duties 
in the navy-yards upon the coasts. Stimulated rather than oppressed by all 
these adverse combinations, the energies of Arnold created and equipped a 
flotilla of fifteen vessels, with an aggregate battery of fifty-five guns, and 
manned by three hundred and fifty gallant and resolute men, but nearly all of 
whom were totally inexperienced in naval expeditions. The exigency invoked 
heroism and sacrifices, and notwithstanding the great disparity in every ele- 
ment of strength, .Arnold fearlessly threw his little armament across the path 
of the invaders. The fleets met on the nth of October, in a narrow strait 
between Valcour Island and the mainland. During four hours the conflict 
continued with terrific fur)-, and was ennobled by deeds of heroic and exalted 
daring, unsurpassed in the annals of naval warfare. Arnold, levelling almost 
every gun in own vessel, conducted the battle with the highest skill and the 
the most determined courage, until night terminated the engagement. One 
of the British gondolas was sunk, and another, with all its crew of sixty men, 
was blown up. An American schooner was also sunk and a gondola burnt, 
while the entire fleet was shattered and disabled. The disproportion in the 
strength of the fleets was too vast to justify a maintainance of the conflict. 
Arnold attempted to effect an escape to Crown Point, by boldly passing 
through the British fleet under cover of a dark and foggy night His retreat 
was revealed to the vigilant enemy by the earliest dawn, and a prompt pur- 
suit ensued. 

A solitary rock which stands in the broad lake, in the early gloom was 
mistaken by the British for an American vessel, and a cannonade was opened 
upon it. It is still called " Carleton's prize." Arnold was overtaken near 
Otter Creek, and sustained for another four hours, with his single galley, and 
and five gondolas, a bloody combat with the British fleet, in protecting the 
retreat of the remainder of his flotilla and crew from becoming trophies to 
the enemy, he ran the vessels upon the shore and blew them up. Their 
charred wrecks for many years remained upon the beach at Panton, memo- 
rials of the bravery and gallant deeds of he whose name was afterwards con- 
signed to infamy, and whose wretched after life was closed by death in the 
garret of a London tenement. 

Next came the invasion of Burgoyne, the evacuation of Ticonderoga, in 
1777, followed by the subsequent battles of Hubbardton and Bennington, and 
the final surrender of Cornwallis, at Yorktown, October 19, 1781, virtually 
ending the war. The settlers who had been driven off began to return, and 
the trader's sloop soon was passing up and down the lake, intent upon their 
peaceful avocations, over the very course taken by Arnold when pursued by 
the British at the memorable battle of Lake Champlain. 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 7 1 



WAR OF i8i2. 

The yoke of the mother country having been thrown off, the American 
colonies rapidly advanced in progress. Vermont expanded into a free 
and independent State, and finally was annexed to the Union, March 4, 1791. 
In the meantime, the French nation, led by Napoleon Bonaparte, had arrived 
at the zenith of military glory, and was giving England great cause for fear 
and trembling. England, in turn, seeming to forget that her offspring had ar- 
rived at maturity and was quite able to protect its own institutions, continued 
her acts of tyranny. Looking upon herself as mistress of the ocean, during her 
wars with Napoleon, she utterly disregarded the rights of the United States 
as a neutral nation. Her cruisers would stop and search American vessels, 
and seize such able-bodied seamen as were needed, on the pretext that they 
were British subjects. An American frigate, not in condition to resist, having 
been subjected to this indignity almost within sight of an American port, 
after receiving several broadsides for denying the right of search, the Presi- 
dent issued a proclamation ordering all British ships-of-war to quit the waters 
of the United States. Congress also laid an embargo on American vessels, 
detaining them at home, but afterward substituted a non-intercourse act, 
prohibiting trade with Great Britain. All intercourse between this State and 
the people of Canada was prohibited, without a permit from the Governor, 
under a penalty of $1,000 fine and imprisonment at hard labor in the State 
penitentiary for the term of seven years. 

Notwithstanding all this, England persisted in her offensive course. All 
hopes of obtaining consessions on the impressment question from her were 
at length abandoned. George III., who was still on the throne, had become 
insane, and the men who managed affairs were as short-sighted as his ad- 
visers had been forty years before, whose folly had provoked the Revolution. 
Longer submission to their arrogant claims was deemed unworthy of a free 
nation, and war was formally declared by the United States, June 18, 181 2. 

The majority of the people of Vermont considered the declaration of war 
rash and imprudent, believing that the required issue could have been brought 
about by legislation ; but notwithstanding this feeling, the general assembly 
of the State passed the following resolution : — 

" The constituted authorities of our country having declared war between 
the United States and Great Britain and her dependencies, it is our duty as 
citizens to support the measure ; otherwise we should identify ourselves with 
the enemy, with no other difference than that of locality. We therefore 
pledge ourselves to each other and to our government, that with our individ- 
ual exertions, our example and influence, we will support our government and 
country in the present contest, and rely on the great Arbiter of events for a 
favorable result." 

After the dose of the Revolution, both Gov. Chittenden and Ethan Allen 
located in Chittenden County, facts sufficient in themselves to render the 



72 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



locality one of importance, not to mention its fertile soil, and elegant harbor 
afforded at Burlington Bay. War being declared, then, Burlington was at 
once established as the seat of operations in Vermont. Troops were stationed 
here under the command of Gen. Macomb, and Gen. Wade Hampton, con- 
sisting of 4,000 men. Soon after, Col. Clark went from here with 102 men 
and attacked a British force at St. Armand, killed nine, wounded foiuteen, 
and took loi prisoners, and brought them to Burlington. During the same 
year, the public stores at Plattsburgh were removed to Burlington, and a bat- 
tery planted on a commanding ]X)sition, now known as Battery Park, as the 
enemy threatened Plattsburgh. Their fleet came up the lake and fired a few 
shots, but soon retired when the cannon from the shore commenced playing 
upon them. 

In the summer of 1814, the British, having concentrated 14,000 men near 
the foot of Lake Champlain, undertook an invasion of the States, somewhat 
on the plan of Burgoyne in 1777. There had been skirmishing throughout 
the season ; but when in August most of the American troops were transferred 
to the Niagara frontier. Gen. Prevost improved the opportunity to march 
upon Plattsburgh. Here Gen. Macomb, in command of the Americans, had 
made all the preparation in his power for a vigorous defence ; but he had only 
2,000 efficient men, and lacked ordnance, while his works were still incom- 
plete. Commodore McDonough had also strained every nerve to make ready 
for the British fleet, which was to act in conjunction with the army. His 
flagship was launched within forty days from the time that the trees used in 
its construction were standing in the forest. Despite all his exertions, how- 
ever, in the number of his vessels, guns, and men, he was inferior to the 

enemy. 

The British army, having reached Plattsburgh, was there held in check by 
Macomb, who, strengthened by the brave militia of Vermont and New York, 
had taken a position on the south side of the Saranac River. But the fate of the 
battle was to be decided on the water. On the i ith of September, the Brit- 
ish flotilla drew near to Plattsburgh, and McDonough joined battle, after 
having on the deck of his vessel invoked the blessing of God upon his cause. 
Two hours of terrible fighting resulted in victory for the Americans as signal as 
had been that of Perry's on Lake Erie. The British commander, who had 
boasted that nith his flag-ship alone he could whip the whole Yankee fleet, 
was killed, and his entire squadron struck. Thus ended the Battle of Platts- 
burgh Bay, one of the great naval engagements of the world. 

The British commissioners, at first unreasonable, lowered their tone after 
the battle of Plattsburgh and the subsequent battle of Baltimore, and on the 
24th of December, 18 15, a treaty of peace was signed at Ghent, in Belgium, 
ending the war. Once more the Green Mountain Boys settled down to the 
peaceful avocations of life, to be aroused again not until many years after, 
when the terrible civil struggle of 186 1, called them again into the field. Some 
of the old veterans still are living in the county, though few, a remnant of the 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 73 

gallant ones who gave England her final lesson in Yankee pluck. Of these, 
the following names occur to us : John B. HoUenbeck, of Burlington ; Joseph 
Weed, of Essex, who now resides with his son, E. B. Weed, at the age of 
eighty-seven years ; and the venerable John Nash, of Shelbume. During the 
winter of 1812, McDonough's fleet was anchored in Smith's Bay, Shelbume, 
and he and his staff boarded with Levi Comstock. 

THE MEXICAN WAR. 

Texas-, analogous to Vermont, had declared herself a free and independent 
State, and by petition of the people was annexed to the United States. Out 
of this annexation grew the war with Mexico. The old southwestern boundary 
of Texas had been the Neuces River, but the Texans had claimed to the Rio 
Grande ; and when the United States authorities offered to adjust the bound- 
ary by negotiation, Mexico rejected the proposal with contempt. The United 
States government, therefore, directed General Zachary Taylor, " Old Rough 
and Ready," to occupy the disputed territory. This he did with a small 
force, taking post at the mouth of the Rio Grande — a movement which 
Mexico accepted as a declaration of war. 

The necessity of this war was not, as is well known, generally concurred in by 
the people of Vermont, and consequently did not arouse any great degree of 
sympathy or enthusiasm. But soon after the first battle was fought, — Palo 
Alto, May 8, 1846, in which the Americans were so victorious, — the martial 
spirit of the Green Mountain Boys was aroused from its apathy, and the 
recruiting of a regiment was soon after commenced. A list of the loyal sons 
of Chittenden County who took part in this difficulty, we are sorry to say, 
we cannot furnish ; but from the fragments of their record we have been 
able to glean, we learn that, though small in number, they sustained well the 
reputation of their county, and did their full share towards annexing to the 
United States the rich territory of California and New Mexico, of which Cali- 
fornia alone yielded, during a period of twenty years, $900,000,000.00 worth 
of gold Soon after the battle of Mexico, a treaty was agreed on at Guada- 
lupe Hidalgo, and on July 4, 1848, peace was proclaimed. 

THE WAR OF THE UNION. 

This period of peace lasted thirteen years — ^years of great improvement in 
the condition of Chittenden County, a counterpart of the prosperity enjoyed 
by the whole State. Indeed, the war with Mexico had scarcely disturbed 
the even tenor of her way, as so few of her sons were engaged in the strife, 
and the active scenes of which were so far removed. Except for display at 
celebrations, or as curiosities, the old sword and musket were unseen. 
The " Green Mountain Boys " had passed away to join the spirits of their 
brave commanders, while their names were perpetuated alike in the annals 
of history and romance. Their children and grandchildren were enjoying 



74 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



the bounties of the verdant fields they had struggled so hard to win ; but 
amid all the enervations of peace and plenty, the spirit and blood of sudi 
men as Allen, Baker, Stark, and Warner, yet coursed in their veins, ready to 
reveal its latent power, like the trained battle-horse, at the first dash of arms. 

The morning of April 12th, 1861, dawned bright and fair, yet dense with 
weight of woe that overspread the land. The fatal shot upon Sumpter had 
been fired, and for the first time in its young life, since first unfurled to the 
breeze o*er the decks of the '* Ranger," proudly bearing its " emblem of per- 
petuity/' — the wreath of thirteen stars, — the flag of the Union had been 
desecrated. 

The causes leading to this terrible civil war we need not repeat ; the re- 
sults are patent to every household in the broad land. To some, however, 
the word '' results " has a peculiar significance. It recalls to the memory of 
the wife, the husband's face so kind and true ; to the son and daughter, the 
loved lineaments of their sire ; and to the parent, the noble form of their 
bright and promising son, all of whom now are resting in the quiet church- 
yard, or, mayhap, whose bones are bleaching in the sand that drained their 
blood at the fearful carnage of Gettysburgh, Antietam, Fredericksburgh, or 
other fields where perished so many of our noble dead. But, ye wives, parents, 
brothers and sisters, the nation's honored dead o'er whose graves you weep, 
have left you a valuable legacy, a bequest in which none but you can share — 
the glory that surrounds their names ! 

Vermont's sons soon proved their *' lineiaJ descent from warlike men," and 
** The Green Mountain Boys " became again an honored title of the present, 
adding lustre to the fame which already clustered about it. Of this band, 
34,238 were sent to fight the battles of their country, and $9,087,352.40 of 
Vermont's treasure were expended in the cause. But her greatest treasure 
was the 5,r28 noble souls she sacrificed upon the altar of freedom, while 
5,022 loyal ones were returned to their homes with shattered constitutions, 
or maimed in body. Surely, a bountiful contribution towards the preserva- 
tion of our " Grand Republic" 

Chittenden County furnished its full quota of both men and means. The 
first call was for one company, which in ten days' time was furnished and on 
its way, with others, towards the scene of strife. The streets of Burlington 
again " echoed the tread of arm^d men," and the monument marking the 
last resting place of Ethan Allen looked down upon the soldier's tent and 
marshalled host During the war, the old fair ground, between North 
Avenue, North Bend, East Pitkin and North streets, now the property of 
Mr. Lemuel S. Drew, was used as a camp-ground, called Camp Fairbanks, 
and the following regiments and companies were quartered here at different 
times : 2d Vermont Infantry, Colonel Henry Whiting ; ist Vermont Cav- 
alry, Colonel L. B. Piatt ; r 7th Vermont Infantry, Colonel F. V. Randall ; 
3d Vermont Light Battery, Captain Romeo H. Start, and two companies of 
Frontier Cavalry. 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 75 



The following complete roster of men who went from Chittenden County 
as commissioned officers, and of those, who, enlisting in the ranks, were sub- 
sequently promoted to a commission, is compiled from the Adjutant and In- 
spector-General's report of 1866, and from other sources. For convenience 
sake, the names are arranged in alphabetical order, the dates referring to 
commissions, the date of muster being omitted: — 

Terms of Enlistments. 

First Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service May 2, 186 1, and mus- 
tered out August 15, 1866. 

Second Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service June 20, 1861. Original 
members, not veterans, mustered out June 29, 1864. Recruits for one year 
And recruits whose term of service would expire previous to October i, 1865, 

mustered out June 19, 1865. Remaining officers and men mustered out of 

service July 15, 1865. 

Third Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service July 16, 1861. Orig- 
inal members, not veterans, mustered out July 27, 1864. Veteran and re- 
cruits consolidated into six companies, July 25, 1864. Recruits for one year 
and recruits whose term of service would expire previous to October i, 1865, 
mustered out June 19, 1865. Remainder of Regiment mustered out July 1 1, 
1865. 

Fourth Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service September 21, 1861. 
Original members, not veterans, mustered out September 30, 1864. First, 
Second and Third Companies of Sharp Shooters transferred to Fourth Regi- 
ment, February 25, 1865. Veterans, recruits and men transferred from Sharp 
Shooters, consolidated into eight companies, February 25, 1865. Recruits for 
one year, and recruits whose term of service would expire previous to October 
I, 1865, mustered out June 19, 1865. Remainder of Regiment mustered out 
July 13, 1865. 

Fifth Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service September 16, 1861. 
Original members, not veterans, mustered out September 15, 1864. Recruits 
for one year, and recruits whose term of service would expire previous to Oc- 
tober I, 1865, mustered out June 19, 1865. Remainder of Regiment mus- 
tered out June 29, 1865. 

Sixth Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service October 15, 1861. Orig- 
inal members, not veterans, mustered out of service October 28, r864. Veterans 
and recruits consolidated into six companies, October 16, 1864. Recruits for 
one year, and recruits whose term of service would expire previous to October 
f , 1865, mustered out June 19, 1865. Remainder of Regiment mustered out 
June 26, 1865. 

Seventh Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service P'ebruary 12, 1862. 
Original members, not veterans, mustered out August 30, 1864. Regiment 
mustered out March 14, 1866. 



76 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



Eighth Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service February i8, 1862. 
Original members, not veterans, mustered out June 22, 1864. Recruits for 
one year, and recruits whose term of ser\ice would expire previous toOctobo* 
I. 1865, mustered out June 21, 1865. Remainder of Regiment mustered out 
of service June 28. 1865. 

Ninth Reglment, Infantr}*, mustered into service July 9, 1862. Original 
members and recruits whose term of service would expire prcA-ious to Octo- 
ber I, 1865, mustered out June 13, 1865. Remaining officers and men con- 
solidated into battalion of four companies. Battalion mustered out Decem- 
ber I, 1865. 

Tenth Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service September i, 1862. 
Original members and recruits whose term of service would expire previous 
to October i, 1865, mustered out June 22, 1865. Remainder of R^ment 
mustered out June 29, 1865. 

Twelfth Regiment, Infantr>', mustered into service October 4, 1862. 
Mustered out July 14, 1863. 

Thirteenth Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service October 10, 1862. 
Mustered out July 21, 1863. 

Fourteenth Regiment, Infantry, mustered into ser\'ice October 21, 1862. 
Mustered out July 30, 1863. 

Seventeenth Regiment, Infantry, mustered into service by companies 
in 1864. Mustered out July 14, 1865. 

First Regiment U. S. Sharp Shooters, Company F (First Vermont Com- 
pany), mustered into service September 13, 1861. Original members, not 
veterans, mustered out September 13, 1864. Regiment disbanded and vet- 
erans and recruits transferred to Second Regiment U. S. Sharp Shooters, 
December 23, 1864. 

Secont) Regiment U. S. Sharp Shooters, Company E (Second Vermont 
Company), mustered into service November 9, 1861. Original members, not 
veterans, mustered out of service November 9, 1864. Regiment disbanded, 
and veterans, and recruits transferred to Co. G. 4th Vt. Vols., Feb. 25, 1865. 
Co. H (Third Vermont Company), mustered into service December 31, 1861. 
Original members, not veterans, mustered out of ser\ice December 31, 1864. 
Regiment disbanded, and veterans and recruits transferred to Company H, 
4th Vt. Vols., February 25, 1865. 

First Regiment Cavalry, mustered into service November 19, 186 1. 
Original members, not veterans, mustered out of service November 18, 1864. 
Recruits for one year, and recruits whose term of service would expire pre- 
vious to October 1, 1865, mustered out June 21, 1865. Remaining officers 
and men consolidated into battalion of six companies. Battalion mustered 
out August 9, 1865. 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. // 



Third Battery Light Artillery, mustered into service January i, 1864. 
Mustered out of service June 15, 1865. 

Roster of Fields Staffs and Company Officers, 

Allen Heman F., of Burlington, age 27, private Co. G, 5th Regt., Sept. 17, 
*6i ; Sergt., 2d Lieut. Co. G, Nov. 22, '61 ; resigned May 8, '62. 

Allen John H., of Hinesburgh, age 24, ist Lieut Co. G, 14th Regt., Sept. 8, 
'62 ; mustered out of service, July 30, *63. 

Appleton Giles F., of Burlington, age 23, Capt. Co. D, loth Reg., Aug. 5, 
'62 ; resigned Jan. 26, '63. 

Austin Adoniram N., of Colchester, age 35, Regt. Qr. Master Sergt., 5th 
Regt, Sept 16, '61 ; 2d Lieut. Co. K, Nov. i. *6i ; ist Lieut Co. K, 
April 19, '62 ; transferred to Co. F; promoted Capt. and A. Q. M. U. S. 
Vols., April 7, '64. 

Bain John J., of Burlington, age 20, private Co. G, 2d Regt., May 7, *6i ; rst 
Sergt, June 20, '61 ; 2d Lieut., July 5, '62 ; wounded May 5, '64; ist 
Lieut, March 10, '63; mustered out of service June 29, '64. 

Ballou Newton H., of Burlington, age 45, surgeon 2d Regt, June 11/61; 
resigned Dec. 18, '62. 

Barber Brownson M., of Richmond, age 18, private Co. K, 5th Reg., Aug. 
24, '61 j ist Sergt. Sept 16, '61; died July 20,^62, of wounds received in 
action at Savage Station, Va., June 29, *62. 

Barstow John L., of Shelbume, age 29, Adj. 8th Regt., Feb. 19, '62; Capt. 
Co. K, March 21, '63 ; Major, Dec. 28, '63 ; mustered out of service June 
22, '64. 

Bascom George, of Milton, age 30, ist Lieut. Co. D, 13th Regt, Sept. 6, '62; 
Capt, June 4, '63 ; mustered out of service July 21, '63. 

Bascom John T., of Milton, age 21, private Co. C, 2d Vt Vols., May i, '61 ; 
2d Lieut Co. F, 9th Vt. Vols., June 25, '62 ; ist Lieut Co. F, Dec. 

22, '63 ; Capt. May 8, '64; mustered out of service March 9, '65. 

Beach Edgar A., of Essex, age 23, private Co. H, 2d U. S. S. S., Aug. 21, 
'62 ; Corporal, March 12, '64; wounded Nov. 27, '63, and Oct 27, '64; 
transferred to Co. H., 4th Vt Vols., Feb. 25, '65 \ ist Lieut., Co. A, 
June 4, '65, mustered out of service as Corp. Co. H, June 19, '65. 

Beebe George A., of Burlington, age 23, Capt. Co. F, 9th Regt., June 25, '62 ; 
died Aug. 10, '62, of fever. 

Belden Henry D., of Burlington, age 18, private Co. F, 9th Regt, June 2, 
*62 ; ist Sergt., July 9, '62 ; hospital steward, Aug. 10, '62 ; Sergt-Major, 
March 13, '63 ; wounded Sept 29, '64 ; Adjt., Oct 19, '64 ; resigned April 

5, '65. 

Benedict George G., of Burlington, age 35, private Co. C, 12th Regt., Aug. 

23, '62 ; 2d Lieut, Jan. 23, '63 ; mustered out of service July 14, '63. 

Bigelow George H., of Burlington, age 24, Regt. Qr. Master Sergt., Oct 4, 
'62 ; 2d Lieut, May 15, '63 ; mustered out of service July 14, *63. 

Bixby James A , of Jericho, age 18, private Co. I, 5th Regt, Sept 9, '61 ; 
Corp.; Sergt.; 2d Lieut, March 25, '63; wounded June 4, '64; mustered 
out of service Sept. 15, '64. 



78 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



Blake William L., of Milton, age 23, private Co. D, Sept, 6/62 ; istSeigt., 
Oct, 10, ,62 ; 2d Lieut. Co. C, Feb. 23, '63 ; mustered out of service 
July 21, '63. 

Bostwick Lucius H., of Jericho, age 25, ist Lieut. Co. F, 13th Regt, Sept, 10, 
'62 ; Capt., March 3, '63 ; resigned June 3, '63. 

Bowker William H., of Colchester, age 21, private Co. K., 2d R^t, June 20. 
*6i ; Sergt., July 16, '61 ; Sergt-Major, Feb. 20, '63; ist Lieut, Nov. 
I, '63 ; mustered out of service July 27, '64. 

Brownell Elias L., of Essex, age 19, private Co. F., 9th Regt., June 11, '62 ; 
Corp. July 9, '62 ; Sergt. ; ist Sergt. ; 2d Lieut Co. F., Dec. 22, '63 : 
ist Lieut. Co. F., March 13, '65 ; transferred to Co. C, by reason of 
consolidation of Regt. June 13, '65 ; mustered out of service Dec 

I, '65. 

Brownell Horace W., of Williston, aged 26, private Co. I, 6th Regt, Oct. 2 . 
*6i ; Sergt Oct. 15, '61 ; re-enlisted Jan. 31, '64; ist Sergt, May 7, 
'64; 2nd Lieut, Co. G, March 10, '65 ; mustered out of service June 
26, '65. 

Brownson Leonard J., of Richmond, age 19, private Co. K, 5th Regt, Aug. 
23, '61 ; Sergt, Sept 16, '61; ist Sergt; 2nd Lieut, March i, '63; 
wounded May 5, '64 ; dismissed the service. Sept 29, *64. 

Burdick Arthur F., of Underbill, age 33, Assist. Surg., 5th Regt., Sept 23.'62 ; 
resigned, May 26, '63. 

Cargill John D., of Richmond, age 27, private Co. K, 5th Regt. Aug. 27, 
'61 ; Corp. Sept 16, '61 ; Sergt. ; wounded June 5, '63 ; re-enlisted Dec. 
15, '63 ; mustered out of service June 29, '65. 

Carpenter Chester W., of Hinesburgh, age 21, private Co. A, 7th Regt., Dec. 
6, '61; Sergt, Feb. 12,^62; 2nd Lieut. Oct 15, '62; dishonorably 
dismissed the service, Jan. 7, '65, for disobedience of orders, neglect of 
duty, and defrauding the enlisted men of his command. 

Carpenter Walter B., of Burlington, age 25, Assist Surg., 2d Vt Vols., June 

II, *6i ; Surg., June 21, '62 ; resigned Nov. 4, '64. 

Chapin Cornelius A., of Williston, age 21, Assist. Surg., 6th Regt., July 8. 
'63 ; died Sept 14, '63, at New York city, of disease. 

Chesmore Alwyn H., of Huntington, age 25, Assist Surg., 5th Regt, Sept. 
25, '62; Surg., March i. '62 ; mustered out of service Sept 15, '64. 

Colbum Dan L. C. of Burlington, age 30, Assist. Surg., 5th Regt., Aug. 18, 
'63 ; mustered out of service June 29, '65. 

Conn Granville P., of Richmond, age 31, Assist Surg., 12th Regt, Sept 19. 
*62 ; mustered out of service July 14. '63. 

Cronan William, of Burlington, age 20, private Co. B. 17th Regt, Oct i, '63 ; 

Sergt., July 20, '64 ; wounded, July 30, '64; ist Sergt, May i, '65 ; 2d 

Lieut.. July 10, '65 ; mustered out of service as ist Sergt. Co. B. July 

14, '65. 
Curtis Edwin M., of Burlington, age 21, hospital steward, 4th Regt., Sept 

21, '61 ; .\ssist Surg., 6th Vt. Vols., Jan. 29, '63 ; Surg., Aug. 15, '61 ; 

mustered out of service July 13. '65. 

Danforth Alonzo H.. of Charlotte, age 25, 2d Lieut Co. B, 17th Regt., Feb. 
23, '64 ; discharged June 3, '64, for disability. 

Darrah Samuel, of Burlington, age 22. ist Lieut Co. D, loth Regt., Aug. 5, 
'62; Capt, Jan. 26, '63 ; killed near Cold Harbor, Va., June 6, '64. 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 79 



Davis George £., of Burlington, age 22, 2d Lieut. Co. D, Aug. 5. '62 ; ist 
Lieut., Jan. 26, '63; wounded Sept. 19, '64, and Oct. 19, '64; Capt., 
Nov. 2, '64; mustered out of service June, 22, '65. 

Derby Buel J., of Huntington, age 25, Qr. Master 17th Regt., April 12, '64; 

mustered out of service July 14, *65. 
Dewey Archibald S., of Burlington, age 50, Qr. Master, 1st Cavalry, Sept. 

24, '61, mustered out of service Sept. 11, '62. 

Drew John T., of Burlington, age 25, Capt. Co. G, 2d Regt., May 20, *6i ; 
resigned Oct. 8, '62. 

Erhardt Joel B., of Burlington, age 23, ist Lieut. Co. A., ist Cavalry, Oct 1 1, 
'61 ; Capt., July 16, '62 ; resigned Feb. 7, '63. 

Edwards Ellis B., of Colchester, age 20, 2d Lieut. Co. A, ist Cavalry, Oct. 
1 1, '61 ; ist Lieut, July 16, '62 ; Capt, Feb. 7, '63 ; mustered out of ser- 
vice Nov. 18, '64. 

Fay Arnold C, of Richmond, age 22, private Co. F, 13th Regt, Sept. lo, '62 ; 
ist Sergt., Oct 10, '62 ; 2d Lieut, March 3, '63 ; mustered out of service 
July 21, '63; re-enlisted as ist Lieut Co. K, 17th Reg., Sept 22, '64; 
Brevet Capt., April 2, '65, for gallantry in assault on Petersburg, April 2, 
'65 j Capt Co. D, June 26, '65 ; mustered out of service as ist Lieut. 
Co. K, July 14, '65. 

Fassett Nelson, of Jericho, age 37, private Co. E, 2nd Regt., Feb. 26, '62 ; 
re-enlisted April 19, '64; Sergt., Oct. 18, '64; Regt Q. M. Sergt, Feb. 7, 
'65 ; ist Lieut, June 7, '65 ; mustered out of service July 15, 65. 

Fish Hiram B., of Jericho, age 25, 2d, Lieut Co. A, 7th Regt., Jan. 14, '62; 
resigned, Oct 15, *62. 

Fonda Abner S., of Charlotte, age 21, private Co. A, 7th Regt, Dec. 18, '61 ; 
re-enlisted, Feb. 15, '64; Regt. Qr. Mr. Sergt., Sept. 27, '64; mustered 
out of service March 14, *66. 

French Aaron F., of Colchester, age 30, private 3d Battery Lt. Art, Sept. 21, 
'63 ; 2d Lieut, Jan. 2, 64 ; honorably discharged, Oct. 10, '64, for dis- 
ability. 

Greenleaf Edward E., of Colchester, age 24, private ist Battery Lt Art., 
Dec. 10, *6i ; Sergt. March 10, '62; Sergt.-Major, Oct 15, '62; 2d 
Lieut., July i, '63; Capt, Feb. 14, '64; mustered out of service, Aug. 

10, '64. 

Greenleaf William L., of Colchester, age 19, private Co. L, ist Cavalry, Aug. 

11, '62 ; Sergt., Sept. 29, '62; wounded July 13, '63 ; ist Sergt., March 
I, '64; 2d Lieut, Feb. 28, '64; wounded June 23, '64; ist Lieut, Feb. 
9, '65 ; honorably discharged. May 15, '65, for wounds received in action. 

Goodrich John E., of Burlington, age 33, Chaplain 1st Cavalry, April 7, '64 ; 
mustered out of service, Aug. 9, '65. 

Hagar George L, of Burlington, age 25, 2d Lieut. Co. H., ist Regt., April 

25, '61 ; mustered out of service, Aug. 15, '61. 

Hall Hiram H., of Williston, age 25, private Co. L, ist Calvary, Aug. 15 '62 ; 
2d Lieut Co. E, Feb. i, '63 ; ist Lieut, March 17, '63 ; Capt, June 4, 
'64 ; killed in action, June 2^, '64, at Nottaway Court House, Va. 

Han ley Thomas, of Richmond, age 35, private Co. K, 5 th Regt, Aug. 12, 
*6i ; Sergt Sept. 16, '61 ; re-enlisted Dec. 15, '63; wounded. May 12, 
'64; ist Sergt April 3, '65; mustered out of service as ist Sergt, June 
29, '65. 



80 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



Harris William L., of Burlington, age 30, private Co. A, 7th Regt., Dec 7, 
*6i ; ist Lieut., Feb. 25, '62 ; resigned, Oct. 15, '62. 

Hastings Frank, of Burlington, age 19, private Co. C, 4th Regt., Feb. 20. 
'62 ; Sergt.-Major, July 17. '62 ; 2d Lieut., Co. B. April i, '63 ; mustered 
out of service, Sept. 21, '64. 

Hatch George J., of Bolton, age 23, 2d Lieut. Co. K, 5lh Regt., Sept, 12, '61 ; 
resigned Nov. i, '61. 

Hazelton We.sley, of Es.sex, age 50, Capt. Co. I, 6th R^., Oct 7, '61 ; re- 
.signed, Jan. 17, '62. 

Herrick Edgar E., of Milton, age 20, private Co. I, 6th Regt., Sept 24, '61 ; 
Corp; re-enlisted, Dec. 15, '63; Sergt, May 7, '64; Sergt-Maj., Jan. 
5, '65 ; 2d Lieut, April 22, '65 ; mustered out of service, June 26, '65. 

Hibbard Edward L., of Charlotte, age 31, ist Lieut Co. B, 17th Regt., Jan. 
5, '64; mustered out of service, Oct 19, '64, for phx-sical disability ex- 
isting prior to entry into service. 

Hight Bradbury \V., of Burlington, age 22, private Co. K, 2d Regt., May 20, 
*6i ; Corp. June 20, '61 ; Sergt.-Major, Feb. 22, '62 ; 2d Lieut, March 
I7» '63 ; mustered out of service, June 29, '64. 

Holton Edward A., of Williston, age 28, private Co. I, 6th Regt.. Aug. 28, 
'61 ; ist Sergt, Oct 15, '61 ; 2d Lieut, Jan. 18, '62; ist Lieut, June 
5. '63; Capt, May 15, '64; honorably discharged as ist Lieut, Aug. 17, 
'64, for wounds received in action at Wilderness, Va., May 5, '64. 

Humphrey William H., of Underhill, age 30, j)rivate Co. E, 2d U. S. S. S., 
Oct. 30, *6i ; Sergt. June 3, '63 ; re-enlisted, Dec. 21, '63 ; ist Sergt, 
March 13,^64; ist Lieut, Co. E., 2d U. S. S. S., Nov. 12, '64; trans- 
ferred to Co. G, 4th Vt Vols., Feb. 25, '65, honorably discharged, 
Aug. 3, '65, for wounds received in action at Petersburgh, Va., April 2, 

•6s. 
Irish Henry C, of Burlington, age 37, private Co. D, Aug 2, '62 ; Corp.. Sept. 
I, '62; ist Sergt, Jan. i, '64; ist Lieut, Co. F, Dec. 19/64; wounded 
severely, Sept. 19, '64; discharged as ist Sergt Co. D, Slay 9, '65, for 
wounds. 

ICavany Thomas, of Burlington, age 25, private Co. I, 5th Regt., Oct 27, 
'62 ; Corp. ; Regt. Qr. Master Sergt., May i, '63 ; Capt Co. A, Aug. 5, 
•64 ; Major, June 9, '65 ; wounded severely, Oct 19, '64; mustered out 
of service as Capt. Co. A, June 29, '65. 

Keith Frank, of Burlington, age 19. private Co. B, 17th Regt, Jan. 30, '64; 
Sergt, March i, '64; transferred to Co. F, Oct 2^. '64; ist Sergt., June 
23, '65 j 2d Lieut., July 10. '65 ; mustered out of service as 1st Sergt. Co. 
F,July 14, '65. 

Kinney Edwin R.. of Burlington, age 21, 2d Lieut Co. I, 6th Regt., Oct. 7. 
'61 ; ist Lieut. Co. I. Jan. 18, '62 ; wounded April 16, '62 ; Capt. Co. G, 
June 5, '63 ; wounded Oct 19, '64; Major, June 4, '65; mustered out oif 
service as Capt. Co. G. June 26, '65. 

Knox Edward M.. of Hinesburgh, age 20, private Co. A., 7th Regt., Jan. 6, 
*62 ; Corp., Feb. 12, '62 : Sergt. ; ist Sergt., Oct. 23, *62 ; re-enlisted Feb. 
29, '64; ist Lieut. Oct. 28. '64; Capt, Sept. i, '65; mustered out of 
service March 14, '66. 

l^ngdon Henry H., of Burlington, age 35, -Assist. Surg. 7th Regt. Oct. 3, 
'62 ; resigned March 27. '63. 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 8l 



Lewis George C, of Underbill, age 21, private Co. M, ist Cavalry, Oct 9, 
'62; Sergt. Dec 31, '62; ist Sergt., Feb. i,'64; 2d Lieut. Co. M, July 
7,^64; ist Lieut, Feb. 9, '65 ; honorably discharged as 2d Lieut May 
1 5, '65, for disability. 

Lewis John R., of Burlington, age 26, Capt Co. I, 5th Regt., Sept 12, '61; 
Maj. July 15, '62, Lieut. CoL, Oct 6, '62; wounded severely, May 5, '64; 
Col. May 6, '64; honorably discharged Sept 11, '64, to accept appoint- 
ment as Col. in Vt. Res. Corps ; Brevet Brigadier-General for gallant 
service in battle of the Wilderness, Va., to date from March 13, '65. 

Lonergan John, of Burlington, age 24, Capt Co. A, 13th Regt., Oct 10, '62; 
mustered out of service, July 21, *63. 

Loomis William, of Burlington, age 20, 2d Lieut Co. C, Aug. 23, '62 ; ist 
Lieut. Co. I, Jan. 23, '63 ; mustered out of service, July 14, '63. 

L}inan Wyllys, of Burlington, age 32, Adjt, loth Reg., Aug. 8, '62 ; wounded 
severely, Oct 19, '64; Major, Jan. 2, '65; Lieut-Col., June 15, '65; 
mustered out of service as Major, June 28, '65. 

Miller George, of Williston, age 24, private Co. L, ist Cavalry, Aug. 15, '62; 
Sergt. Sept 29, '62 ; ist Sergt. Jan. i, '65 ; mustered out of service as 
ist Sergt, June 21, '65. 

Morse Cornelius W., of Burlington, age 27, private Co. A, ist Cavalry, Sept 
12, '61 ; Sergt., Nov. 19, '61 ; 2d Lieut, July 16, *62 ; mustered out of 
service Nov. 18, '64. 

Moore Alanson K., of Shelburne, age 18, private Co. A, 7th Regt., Nov. 29, 
'61 ; re-enlisted Feb. 20, '64; Corp., Feb. 28, '64; Sergt, Jan. 23,^65; 
2d Lieut, March i, 66; mustered out of service as Sergt, March 14,^66. 

Mower Oscar G., of Burlington, age 27, ist Lieut. Co. H., ist Regt, April 
25, '61 ; mustered out of service Aug. 15, '61. 

Munson William D., of Colchester, age 29, Capt Co. D, 13th Regt., Sept 6, 
'62 ; Lieut -CoL, May 5, '63 ; wounded July 3, '63 ; mustered out of 
service July 23, '63. 

Naramore Justin, of Underbill, age 22, 2d Lieut Co. F, Sept 10, '62; ist 
Lieut, March 3, '63 ; mustered out of service, July 21, *63. 

Newton William H., of Burlington, age 21, private Co. I, 5th Regt, Sept 2, 
'61 ; ist Sergt, Sept 16, '61 ; 2d Lieut Co. I, June 15, '62 ; ist Lieut, 
July 9, '62 ; dismissed the service Feb. 22, '63. 

Nichols Alfred K., of Burlington, age 40, Capt. Co. B, 4th Regt., Jan. i, 
'63; mustered out of service July 13, '65 ; re-enlisted as ist Lieut Co, 
B, 4th Regt, Aug. 30, '61 ; mustered out of service. Sept 30, '64. 

Nims Edward B., of Burlington, age 26, Assist. Surg., ist Cavalry, May 9, 
'64; mustered out of service, Aug. 9, '65. 

Norton Seymour F., of Burlington, age 20, private Co. E, 2d U. S. S. S.^ 
Sept 27, '61; ist Sergt., Nov. 9, '61 ; ist Lieut, Sept 17, '62; Capt^ 
Sept 14, '63; wounded, May 12, '64; transferred to Co. G, 4th Vt. 
Vols., Feb. 25, '65; mustered out of service, July 13, '65. 

CDonahoe Florance, of Burlington, age 31, private Co. I, 5th Rept, Sept. 
12, '61; Corp.; re-enlisted, Dec. 15, '63; Sergt, Oct 12. '64; ist 
Seigt, Jan. 2, '65; 2d Lieut, June 4, '65; wounded. May 12, '64, and 
April 2, 65 ; mustered out of service as ist Sergt, June 20, '65. 





82 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



Owen Myron, of Essex, age 37, private Co. E, 7th Regt., Feb. 11, '62 ; Sergt, 
Feb. 12, '62; re-enlisted, Feb. 15, '64; ist Lieut, March i, '66; mus- 
tered out of service as Sergt, March 14, '66. 

Page Lemuel W., of Burlington, age 41, Capt Co. C, 12th Regt, Aug. 23, 
'62 ; mustered out of service, July 14, '63. 

Peck David B., of Burlington, age 28, Capt Co. H, ist Regt., April 25, '61 ; 
mustered out of service, Aug. 15, '61 ; re-enlisted, Capt Co. A, 7th 
Regt, Jan. 14, '62; Lieut-Col, Aug. 27, '62 ; Col, June 29, '65; mus- 
tered out of service as Lieut.-Col, Aug. 26, '65. 

Peck Theodore S. of Burlington, age 20, Regt. Qr. Master Sergt, 9th Regt, 
July 9, '62 ; 2d Lieut Co. C, Jan, 8, '63 ; ist Lieut, June 10, '64 ; 
promoted Capt and A. Q. M. U. S. Vols., March ii, '65. 

Peck William H. H., of Burlington, age 21, ist Lieut Co. E, 5th Regt, Aug. 
30, '61 ; wounded, June 29, '62; Capt Co. I, July 24, '62 ; transferred 
to Vet. Res. Corps, Aug. 10, '63. 

Pitkin Edgar, of Burlington, age 22, Adjt ist Cavalry, Sept 11, '61 ; mus- 
tered out of service. Sept 10, '62. 

Plant Azro M., of Burlington, age 27, Assist. Surg., 14th Regt., Jan. 29, '63 ; 
mustered out of service, July 30, '65. 

Piatt Frank A., of Colchester, age 22, Capt. Co. A, 1st Calvary, Oct 11, '61 ; 
resigned, July 18, '62. 

Piatt Lemuel B., of Colchester, age 50, Col ist Calvary, Sept 4, '61 ; re- 
signed, Feb. 27, *62. 

Ray Orman P., of Essex, age 25, private Co. G, 2d Regt., Aug. 30, 62 ; Sergt.- 
Major, Nov. i, 64; Adjutant, Dec. 24, '64; mustered out of service, 
June 19, '65. 

Raxford Denison, of Burlington, age 40, 2d Lieut Co. F, 6th Regt, Oct 8, 
'61 ; resigned, July 30, '62. 

Read James ^L, of Burlington, age 28, private Co. D, loth Regt, July 31, 
'62 ; Sergt., Sept. i, '62 ; 2d Lieut Co. D, June 17, '64; wounded, Oct 
19, '64 ; ist Lieut. Co. E, Dec. 19, '64 ; Brevet Capt, April 2, '65, for 
gallantry in the assault on Petersburgh, Va., April 2, '65 ; Adjt, Jan. 2, 
'65 ; died, April 6, '65, of wounds received in action, April 2, '65. 

Reynolds William B., of Milton, age 24, ist Lieut. Co. I, 6th Vt Vols,, Oct 
14, '61 ; Capt, Jan. 18, '62 ; Major 17th Regt., April 12, 64; killed in 
action before Petersburgh, July 30, '64. 

Rolfe John M., of Colchester, age 24, ist Lieut Co. D, 13th Regt, Sept 6, 
*62 ; resigned, Jan. 30, '63. 

Sargent Joseph, of Williston, age 45, Chaplain of 13th Regt., Oct 4, '62 ; 
died April 20, '63, of disease. 

Sawyer Francis O., Qr. Master, 9th Regt, June 10, '62 ; promoted Capt, and 
A. Q. M. U. S. Vols., Aug. 15, '64. 

Seaton Charles W., of Charlotte, age 30, ist Lieut Co. F, ist Regt. U. S. S. 
S., Aug. 15, '61 ; Capt, Aug. 2, '62; resigned, May 15, '63. 

Seligson Herman, of Biu-lington, age 22, ist Lieut Co. C, 9th Regt, June 24, 
'62 ; Capt. Co. C, Jan. i, '63 ; transferred to Co. A, by reason of consoli- 
dation of regiment, June 13, '65 ; mustered out of service, Dea 1, '65. 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 83 

Sharpley David L., age 40, ist Lieut. Co. G, 2d Regt., May 20/61 ; resigned 
June 24, '61. 

Shedd George P., of Richmond, age 25, private Co. D, loth Regt., Aug. 9, 
'62 ; Corp. Jan. 17, '63 ; Sergt., Jan. 1/64; wounded severely, Sept. 19, 
'64 ; mustered out of service as Sergt., June 22, '65. 

Shattuck Hiram, of Huntington, age 37, private Co. F, 13th Regt., Sept. 10, 
'62 ; Sergt. ; 2d Lieut. Co. D, June, 4, '63 ; mustered out of service, 
July 21, '63. 

Sibley Ebenezer K., of Westford, age 21, private Co. M, ist Cav., Sept. 25, 
*62 ; ist Sergt., Sept. 29, '62 ; 2d Lieut. April 6, '63 ; ist Lieut. July 7, 
'64 ; Capt. Co. B, Feb. 9, '65 ; transferred to Co. C, June 21, '65, by reason 
of consolidation of Regiment ; mustered out of service, Aug. 9, '65. 

Smith John, of Bolton, age 27, private Co. K, 5th Regt., Aug. 17, *6i ; Corp., 
Sept. 16, '61 ; Sergt. ; re-enlisted, Dec 15, '63; ist Sergt., Jan. i, '65; 
J St Lieut. Co. A, March 11, '65 ; killed in action before Petersburgh, Va., 
April 2, '65. 

Steams Riley B., of Burlington, age 21, private Co. A, 7th Regt., Nov. 30, 
'61 ; ist Sergt., Feb. 12, '62 ; ist Lieut., Oct, 15, '62 ; Capt., Sept. 22, 
'64; honorably discharged. May 15/65. 

Sweet Orvis H., of Burlington, age 21, private Co. A, 5th Regt, March 28, 
'62; Corp.; Regt. Q. M. Sergt., Sept. i, 62 ; 2d Lieut., Dec. 23, '62; 
ist Lieut., Nov. 1, '63 ; died. May 17, '64, of wounds received in action 
at Wilderness, Va., May 5, '64. 

Thomas John VV., of Burlington, age 20, private Co. F, 9th Regt., July 21, 
'63 ; Sergt., Aug. 9, '63 ; Sergt.-Major, Jan. i, '65 ; 2d Lieut. Co. F, 
March 13, '65 ; transferred to Co. B, by reason of consolidation of Regt., 
June 13, '65 ; ist Lieut., July 3, '65 ; mustered out of service, Dec. i, '65. 

Townshend Joseph W., of Charlotte, age 39, private Co. B, 17th Regt., Jan. 
2, '64 ; Corporal, Jan. 5, '64; Sergt. ; ist Sergt. Co. D, Nov. 12, '64 ; ist 
Lieut. Co. A, June 26, '65 ; mustered out of service as ist Sergt. Co. G, 
July 14, '65. 

Trick, Edwin H., of Burlington, age 21, private Co. I, 5th Regt., Sept. 9, '61 ; 
re-enlisted, Dec. 15, '63; Regt. Com. Sergt., July 31, '64; ist Lieut., 
June 4, '65 ; mustered out of service as Com. Sergt., June 29, '65. 

Trueworthy Edwin W., of Burlington, age 24, Assist. Surg., 7th Regt., June 
'7* '65 ) Surg., Oct. 1, '65 ; mustered out of service, March 14, '66. 

Vancor James Henry, of Jericho, age 18, private Co. H, 9th Regt., Dec. 18, 
'63 ; Corp. March 3, '65 ; transferred to Co. C, by reason of consolida- 
tion of regiment, June 13, '65; Sergt, June 15/65; ist Sergt., Aug. 
8, '65 ; 2d Lieut. Nov. 17, '65; mustered out of service as ist Sergt., 
Dec, I, '65. 

Viele Eugene, of Hinesburgh, age 27, ist Lieut. Co. F, 9th Regt, June 25, 
'62; Capt. Co. I, Dec 22, '63 ; mustered out of service June 13, '65. 

Ward Byron C, of Underbill, age 23, private Co. G, 2d Regt, Aug. 26, '62 ; 
wounded May 5, '64; Sergt, Sept i, '64; 1st Sergt. Dec. 24, '64; ist 
Lieut Dec. 24, '64; mustered out of service June 19/65. 

"Ward Ekiwin R, of Underbill, age 18, private Co. G, 2d Regt., Aug. 28, '62; 
wounded May 5, '64, and May 18. '64; ist Sergt. Feb. 8, '65 ; 2d Lieut 
June 7, '65; mustered out of service as ist Sergt., June 19, '65. 



84 CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 



Warner Edward C, of Milton, age 24, private Co. C, 5th Regt., Aug. 19, '61 ; 
Sergt, Sept. 16, '61 ; re-enlisted Dec. 15, '63 ; ist Sergt., Sept i, '64 ; ist 
Lieut. Co. F, Nov. 10, '64; mustered out of service June 29, '65. 

Watson Alexander G., of Burlington, age 23, 2d Lieut. Co. L, ist Cavalry, 
Sept 18, '62 ; ist Lieut., Jan. 5, '64; Capt., Feb. 28, '64; mustered out 
of service June 21, '65. 

Weed Anson H., of Hinesburgh, age 24, 2d Lieut. Co. G, 2d Regt., May 20, 
'61 ; ist Lieut. July 5, '62; resigned March 5, '63. 

Welch George P., of Williston, age 20, private Co. D, Aug. 20, '62 ; Sergt.- 
Major, Jan. i, '63; 2d Lieut. Co. C, March 3, '64; wounded severely, 
Oct. 19, '64; ist Lieut. Co. K, Aug. 9, '64; honorably discharged, Dec. 
27, '64, for wounds; re-enlisted as Adjt., loth Regt., April 22, '65 ; mus- 
tered out of service June 28, '65. 

Williams Lyman S., of Essex, age 21, private Co. I, 6th Regt., Sept. 26, '61 ;. 
Corp., Oct 15, '61 ; Sergt; re-enlisted Dec 15, '63; 2d Lieut Co. C, 
May 15, '64; ist Lieut Co. I, Oct 29, '64; Capt, Nov. 12, '64; mus- 
tered out of service June 26, '65. 

Williams Milo A., of Charlotte, age 22, 2d Lieut Co. I, 14th Regt, Sept^ 
16, *62 ; ist Lieut., Jan. 16, '63 ; mustered out of service July 30, '63» 

Wing Heman R., of Burlington, age 36, ist Lieut Co. C, 12th Regt, Aug. 
23, '62 ; mustered out of service July 14, *63. 

Woodward John H., of Westford, age 33, Chaplain of ist Cav., April 7, '64 ; 
resigned July 17, '63. 

Woodward John W., of Burlington, age 23, Capt Co. M, ist Cavalry, Nov. 
19, '64 ; killed in action at Hagerstown, Md., July 6, '63. 

Yale John L., of Williston, age 21, Capt Co. F, 13th Regt., Sept 10, '62; 
resigned Feb. 6, '63 ; re-enlisted Sept. 22, '64; mustered out of service 
July 14, '65. 



Of the 5,022 Men Discharged, 317 commissioned officers resigned, sixty- 
one commissioned officers and 3,865 enlisted men were discharged for disa- 
bility, forty-four commissioned officers and 596 enlisted men, for wounds 
received in action. Eleven enlisted men were paroled prisoners. Twenty- 
eight commissioned officers and one hundred enlisted men were dishonorably 
discharged. 

Among the whole number of troops it is to be expected that some were 
not true, and the records show that 2,219 ^^^ (mostly, if not all of whom 
were substitutes,) deserted. 

T/u Number of Engagements in which the several Regiments, Batteries and 
detached troops, (officered in part by Chittenden County men,) bore honora- 
ble part during the war, are as foUoi^'s : — 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY. 85 

First Regiment, Infantry. .... i 

Second Regiment, Infantry 28 

Third Regiment, Infantry 28 

Fourth Regiment, Infantry 26 

Fifth Regiment, Infantry 25 

Sixth Regiment, Infantry 25 

Seventh Regiment, Infantry 5 

Eighth Regiment, Infantry 7 

Ninth Regiment, Infantry 4 

Tenth Regiment, Infantry 13 

Thirteenth Regiment, Infantry i 

Fourteenth Regiment, Infantry i 

Seventeenth Regiment, Infantry 13 

First Regiment, U. S. Sharp Shooters 37 

Second Regiment, U. S. Sharp Shooters 24 

Third Battery, Light Artillery 4 

First Regiment, Cavalry 73 

IN CONCLUSION. 

It may be well to state that the War Department accredited to this State 
5,242 men; being one thousand and four more than are shown by the State 
records, and gives the State credit over the aggregate quota under all calls, 
oi fifteen hundred and thirteen men. " This discrepancy may be and proba- 
bly is to be accounted for," says Adjutant-General P. T. Washburn, "by en- 
listments in organizations of other States, to the credit of this State, which 
appear upon muster rolls of those organizations and were not reported to the 
State." 



GAZETTEER OF TOWNS. 




[OLTON, a mountainous town lying in the extreme eastern part of the 
county, in 44" 25' north lat., and long. 4° 9' east from Washington,* 
1^ bounded north by Underhill, east by Waterbury and a partof Duxbury, in 
Washington County, south by Huntington, and west by Richmond and Jericho,, 
was granted by Benning Wentworth, the Colonial Governor of New Hamp- 
shire, under George the Third, to Thomas Darling and seventy -one associ- 
ates, the charter bearing date June 7, 1763, and giving the township an area 
of thirty-six square miles, or 23,040 acres. The form and provisions of the 
charter are somewhat peculiar, at least they appear so to our modem ideas, 
and as the same form was used in chartering most of the other towns of the 
county, it may be well to insert a copy of the document at this point, in order 
that certain restrictions, reservations, etc., hereafter alluded to, both in this 
and following town sketches, may be the better understood : — 

" GEORGE the Third. 

Tt c 1 " ^y ^^^ Grace of God, of Great Britian, France, Ireland, KING, 

L^ ^-J Defender of the Faith, &c. 

" To all persons to whom these presents shall come. Greeting : — Know ye, 
that We, of Our special Grace, certain knowledge. Mere Motion, for the 
due encouragement of setting a New Plantation within our said Province, by 
and with the advice of our trusty and well-beloved BENNING WENT- 
WORTH, ESQ., our Governor and Commander-in-Chief of our Province of 
NEW HAMPSHIRE, in New England, and of our COUNCIL in said 
PROVINCE, HAVE, upon Conditions and Reservations, hereinafter made, 
given and granted, and by these presents for Us, Our Heirs, and successors, 
do give and grant in equal sliares unto our loving Subjects, Inhabitants of 
Our said Province of Niruf Hampshire and Our other Governments, and to 
their Heirs and Assigns forever whose names are entered on this Grant, to be 
divided to and amongst them into seventy-two equal shares, all that tract or 
parcel of Land situate, l>'ing and being within our said Province of New 
Hampshire^ containing by Admeasurement, Twenty-three Thousand and 
Forty Acres, which tract is to contain something more than Six Miles square, 

* As the whole countv lies in north latitiide, with longitude reckoned east from Washington, the terms M«rC4 
and e€ut will hereafter oe omitted. 



TOWN OF BOLTON. 8/ 



and no more, Out of which an allowance is to be made for highways and un- 
improvable Lands, by Rocks, Ponds, Mountains and Rivers. One Thousand 
and Forty acres free, according to a plan and survey thereof, made by our 
said Governor's order, and returned into the Secretary's Office and hereunto 
annexed, butted and bounded as follows, viz. : — ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ 
And the Inhabitants that do or hereby shall Inhabit the said Township are 
hereby to be enfranchised with and entitled to all and every the privileges and 
Immunities that other towns within Our Province by Law Exercise and 
Enjoy ; And further, that the said Town as soon as there shall be fifty fam- 
ilies resident settled thereon shall have the liberty of Holding Two Fairs, one 
of which shall be held on and the other on the 



annually, which fairs are not to continue longer than the respective 

following the said and that as soon as the said town shall con- 
sist of fifty families a Market may be opened and kept, one or more days in 
each week, as may be thought most advantageous to the inhabitants. Also, 
that the first meeting for the choice of Town Officers agreeable to the laws of 
our said Province shall be held on the first Tuesday in January next which 

said Meeting shall be notified by , who is hereby also appointed 

the Moderator of the said first Meeting which he is to notify and govern 
agreeable to the laws and Customs of our said Province and that the Annual 
Meeting forever hereafter, for the choice of such Officers of said Town, shall 
be on the second Tuesday in March Annually. 

"TO HAVE AND TO HOLD the said tract of Land as above expressed, 
together with all the Privileges and Appurtenances, to them and their respec- 
tive Heirs and Assigns, forever, upon the following conditions, viz : — 

" I. That every Grantee, his Heirs and Assigns, shall plant and cultivate 
five acres of Land within the term of five years, for every fifty acres contained 
in his or their share or proportion of Land in said Township, and continue 
to improve and settle the same by additional Cultivations on penalty of the 
Forfeiture of his Grant or Share in said Township, and of its reverting to Us, 
Our Heirs and Successors, to be by Us Regranted to such of our subjects as 
shall effectually settle and Cultivate the same. 

"II. That all White and other Pine Trees within the said Township fit for 
Masting Our Royal Navy, be effectually preserved for that Use, and none to 
be cut of felled, without Our Special License for so doing, first had and ob- 
tained upon the penalty of the forfeiture of the Right of such Grantee, his 
Heirs and Assigns to Us, Our Heirs and Successors, as well as being subject 
to the penalty of any act or Acts of Parliament that now are or shall be here- 
after enacted 

" III. That before any Division of the Land be made to and among the 
Grantees, a tract of Land as near the Center of the said Township as the 
Land will admit of, shall be reserved and marked out for Town I-,ots, one of 
which shall be allotted to each Grantee, of the contents of one acre. 

" IV. Yielding and paying therefor to Us, Our Heirs and Successors, for 
the space often years, to be computed from the date hereof, the rent of one 
Ear of Indian Corn only, on the Twenty-fifth day of December annually, if 
Lawfully demanded, the first payment to be made on the Twenty-fifth of 
December, 1763. 

" V. Every proprietor Settler or Inhabitant shall yield and pay unto Us, 
Our Heirs or Successors, yearly and every year forever, from and after the 
expiration of ten years from the above said Twenty-fifth of December, namely, 



88 TOWN OF BOLTON. 



on the Twenty-fifth day of December, which will be in the year of Our Lord, 
177 1, One Shilling Proclamation Money, for every hundred Acres he owns, 
settles or possesses, and so in proportion for a greater or less tract of said 
Land, which Money shall be paid by the respective persons abovesaid, their 
Heirs or Assigns in our Council Chamber in Portsmouth, or to such Officer 
or Officers as shall be appointed to receive the same, and this to be in Lieu 
of all other Rents and services whatsoever. 

" In testimony whereof, we have caused the Seal of our said Province to be 
hereunto affixed. Witness, 

"BENNING WENTWORTH, ESQ., 
"Our Governor and Commander-in-Chief of Our said Province, this 7th day of 
June in the year of our Lord CHRIST, One Thousand Seven Hundred 
Sixty-three, and in the Fourth Year of Our Reign. 

B. Wentworth. 
" By his EXCELLENCY'S Command ) 
with Advice of Council. 

Theodore Atkinson, Sect'y. ) 



If 



The charter also bears the following endorsement, together with a list of 
the grantees : — 

" His Excellency, Benning Wentworth, Esq. 

" A Tract of Land to contain Five Hundred Acres, marked B. W. on the 
Plan, which is to be accounted two of the within shares. 

" One whole share for the incorix)rated Society, for the propagation of the 
Gospel in Foreign parts. 

" One share for the Glebe for the Church of England, as by law established 
" One share for the first settled Minister of the Gospel, and one share for 
the benefit of schools in said Town. 

" Province of Newhampshire, 
**June 7, 1763. 

" Theodore Atkinson, Sect'y." 

The area of the tract thus chartered remained the same until October 27, 
1794, when it was increased by the annexation of a portion of Huntington ; but 
the law on this point proving rather deficient, and lawsuits relative to titles 
arising in consequence, the same was re-annexed to Huntington, November 10, 
1808, and all acts under the former law confirmed. Again, October 25, 1804, a 
part of Bolton was annexed to Richmond. Other than these no changes 
have occurred. The surface is very broken and mountainous, the rugged, 
rocky piles, with their steep cliffs and dark gorges, afford many wild, romantic 
points of scener)-^, so many, indeed, as to render the township noted in this 
respect. Just south of the central part of the town the Winooski River crosses 
the country in a nearly easterly and westerly direction, from which the moun- 
tains rise abruptly on either side, forming a deep, narrow valley, with a bitter, 
freezing temperature in winter, yet cool and moderate in the summer months, 
in consequence of the valle}''s forming a natural wind-guage through which 
Old Boreas passes and repasses in the same direction ; the north and west 
winds coming up the stream, while the south and east winds always blow 
down stream. Duck Brook, from the north, after many windings and wild 



TOWN OF BOLTON. 89 



plunges over the cliffs, unites with the Winooski near the western line of the 
town. Preston Brook, from the southern part of the territory, flows a north- 
erly course, also uniting with the above mentioned river, while from the north, 
east of Duck Brook, the waters of Joyner and Pinneo Brooks help to swell the 
waters of the same stream. Mill Brook, upon which the village of West Bol- 
ton is situated, rises in the northern part of the town and flows an easterly 
course into Jericho. These, the principal streams, though there are many 
others of minor importance possessing equally picturesque courses, afford 
several very excellent mill privileges, of which more anon. The Joyner 
Brook drains a broad valley some four miles in length, well studded with fine 
maple, beech, spruce and hemlock, but which, from the nature of the country, 
could not be gotten at by the woodman, except by the construction of roads 
and passes at very great expense, until Nature, who is ever kind, opened the 
way on the 9th of April, 1852, through the medium of a heavy flood. The 
water in the stream was very low on this date, and the sun arose clear and 
bright, with no indication of the coming storm ; but in the latter part of the 
day the air began to grow hot and oppressive, the dead calm relieved only by 
occasional short angry whiffs, until towards evening the sky began to be over- 
cast with clouds through which the sun shone with a fierce, angry glare, until 
it was finally hidden by the deep murky cloud-banks. At about seven o'clock 
the dark mass broke, firing its fiery bolts back and forth across the valley, 
and pouring down upon the earth below such a deluge that in one hour's 
time the giant spruces and hemlocks that had stood for years upon the banks 
of Joyner Brook, were torn up by the roots and swept onward to the river 
below. Huge rocks, weighing hundreds of tons, were swept from their beds, 
while in one instance a whole farm, known as the Stone farm, was almost en- 
tirely destroyed, Mr. Stone and his family only escaping death by taking shel- 
ter in the branches of a giant sycamore which stood in his door-yard, where 
they remained until the flood had subsided. No lives were lost, while the 
damage to property was amply compensated by the passage hewn out by the 
torrent, which has since afforded an easy access to the rich timber-land be- 
yond, from which there has been taken thousands of dollars worth of timber. 

The whole town of Bolton may be considered as a lumbering district, the 
principal part of the inhabitants being residents of the Winooski valley^ and 
the valley of Mill Brook, in the northwestern part of the township. Still, 
there are many tracts of rich tillable land, and many fine, well cultivated 
farms. The hillsides have a deep soil of marl and clay, while many of the 
streams have upon either bank a rich intervale of sandy loam, second in fer- 
tility to none in the county : — 

The varieties of rocks are disposed principally in ledges extending in a north 
and south direction. In the western portion of the town, for a distance of 
two miles east from the town line, they are mostly of ^//^ijy formation, while 
in the residue of the township they are principally composed of talcose schist^ 
though they vary much in their aspect and composition. There is much 



90 TOWN OF BOLTON. 



chlorite and mica slate, the former containing the sulphuret of iron, and the 
sulphuret of copper. Veins of granite are found in a moderate quantity, 
from which some very fair specimens have been taken. In some parts, the 
rocks have a greenish and chlorite hue, a conglomerate, so thick bedded and 
compact as to form a very good building stone, though this variety is com- 
paratively small. Gold has been found in several localities, but not in quan- 
tities sufficiently great to warrant remunerative working. 

In 1847, immigration and business interests received quite an impetus 
from the building of the Vermont Central Railroad, which crosses the town 
from east to west, following the northern bank of Winooski River. Work 
was begun in the spring of the above mentioned year, the contract being 
taken by Suel Belknap, of Burlington, who underlet this portion of the road 
to Mr. Barker and others. Its construction was pushed rapidly for two or 
three months, when funds began to run low, causing much discontent, and 
some open outbreaks among the Irish workmen, about three hundred of 
whom were employed ; no blood was shed, however, though operations were 
discontinued and the laborers lost the money due them. In March, 1849, ^^ 
enterprise was again taken up and pushed so vigorously that cars commenced 
running in the following November. 

In 1880, Bolton had a population of 678. was divided into six school dis- 
tricts, and sustained five common schools, employing one male and seven 
female teachers at an aggregate salary of $474.00. There were 151 pupils 
attending common school, while the entire cost of the schools for the year, 
ending October 31st, was $565.35, with Mr. F. W. Hall, superintendent 

West Bolton (p. o.), a small village located in the northwestern part of 
the town, on Mill Brook, contains a school-house, church (Baptist), store, saw- 
mill, grist-mill, and about a dozen dwellings. 

Bolton (po.), a hamlet and station on the Central Vermont Raihroad, 
is located in the central part of the town. 

E. M. Cotton's saw and shingle-mill, located on Mill Brook, manufactures 
200,000 feet of lumber and 600,000 shingles annually. The saw-mill was 
erected in 1848. to which the shingle-mill was added in 1852, and has done a 
thriving business since, although it is operated but a part of the year, owing to 
low water. Mr. Colton employs four hands. 

D. W, Traces saw-mill, located on Joyner Brook, is engaged in cutting 
common lumber, turning out 200,000 feet annually. The first mill erected 
on this site was built by Whitcomb & Willard, the property coming into 
the present owner's hands in 1872. He immediately substituted a circular 
saw for the old style of machinery, and also added a shingle-mill, though he 
has abandoned the use of the latter for the past few years, devoting all his 
time to the manufacture of common lumber. 

J. G, Tomlinsofis butter tub and cheese box manufactory was built by W. 
A. Hall in 1 860, and came into Mr. Tomlinson's possession about four years 
ago. He employs from five to twelve men, manufacturing 12,000 butter tubs 



TOWN OF BOLTON. g\ 



and about the same number of cheese boxes annually, besides doing consid- 
erable Other work in sawing, etc. 

C, P. &• G. IV, Stevens, in connection with Spauiding&» Larned, are largely 
engaged in the manufacture of lumber, on road 4. The Messrs. Stevens 
furnish the logs and convey the lumber to the depot, employing twenty-five 
men and teams in this capacity, while Spaulding & Larned attend to the 
sawing, the mill being operated by steapi-power. Every facility for the rapid 
and economical manufacture of lumber has been brought into use, and they 
consequently do a large and profitable business. 

From the date of the charter, 1763, up to the year 1770, we have no record 
that there was any meeting of the proprietors called, or that anything towards 
the survey or settlement of the town was done. But during this year, ac- 
cording to the records, the first proprietors* meeting was warned, and met 
therefore at the dwelling of Samuel Canfield, of New Milford, Conn., on the 
loth day of May, when Samuel Averill, of Kent, was chosen clerk. This 
meeting was adjourned to the fourth Tuesday in September, when it was held 
at the house of Mr. Averill, in Kent. Other meetings were soon after held, and 
steps were being rapidly taken towards the settlement of their possessions, wheD 
the breaking out of the Revolution put a stop to their proceedings, as in the 
troubled times of that period it was impossible to attempt a settlement with 
any degree of safety to the pioneers. No white man had disturbed the quiet 
solitude of the forest, no roads had penetrated its solemn depths, except per- 
haps here and there an Indian trail, left by the Redmen in their numerous 
incursions in search of game, when, during the Revolution and soon after the 
burning of Royalton, a party of twenty-four, with John Bamet at their head, 
started from Piedmount, on the Connecticut River, to explore the wilderness 
down the Winooski River as far as the shore of Lake Champlain. Passing 
over an Indian trail through this town into Richmond, they were there 
attacked by a party of Indians and Tories, and their leader, Mr. Bamet, killed. 
This is the first record we have of any white man's visit to Bolton. Soon 
after the close of the war, however, settlement was commenced by John and 
Robert Kennedy, Peter Dilse, Amos Palmer, Noah Dewey, Augustus Levague, 
Jabes Jones, Daniel Pinneo, James Craig, John Preston, John Moore^ 
Robert Stinson, and Samuel Bamet. At the tak'ng of the first census, in 
1 791, the inhabitants numbered eighty-eight, which, in 1800, had increased 
to 219. 

The first town meeting was held at the house of James Moore, a quaint, 
question-loving Yankee, the first hotel keeper in the town, on the second 
Tuesday in March, 1794, at which meeting Samuel Bell was chosen modera- 
tor; Jabez Jones, town clerk; Francis Joyner, William Rogers, and Samuel 
Bell, selectmen ; Robert Kennedy, constable ; and James Moore, town treas- 
urer. The first representative after the organization of the town was Jabez^ 
Jones, elected at a meeting held on the first Tuesday in September, 1794, 
though the town had been represented before it was regularly organized, the 



92 TOWN OF BOLTON. 



first representative being Samuel Bell, chosen in 1795. The first justice was 
Stephen Royce, chosen in 1794, and continued in office eleven years. Among 
others who held the office for a number of years was John Pinneo, thirty-nine 
years ; Samuel B. Kennedy, twenty-eight years ; Moses L. Colton, twenty- 
five years ; Asa Stockwell, twenty-four years, and John White, twelve years. 
Rev. William L. Hurlburt was the first settled minister, and received the minis- 
terial lot provided by charter. 

John Kennedy, one of the first settlers of the town, a native of Massa- 
chusetts, was an old hero of the Revolution, personally acquainted with Gen. 
Washington, and was with Allen at the taking of Ticonderoga, receiving 
$80.00 as his share of the prize taken from the British. After the close of 
the war, he purchased land in Waterbury, worked there during the summer 
and fall, harvested his com and put it in a crib, and then returned to bis 
family in Newbury. On his return the following spring, he found his corn had 
been stolen, and that there were adverse claims upon his land, proving his 
title worthless. He then removed to Bolton, where he resided until his death) 
in 1820, in his seventy-seventh year. 

John Morse, a native of Massachusetts, came to Waterbury in 1782, when 
there were but few houses in that town. During the next season he removed 
to Bolton, and located upon the farm now included within the John Pinneo 
estate. His family consisted of wife and five children. Joseph, the fourth 
son, located on the farm now owned by his son, R. J. Morse, where he died 
at the age of sixty-three years. During his life he held many offices of trust 
in the town, and in the year 1839, was the only representative of the Whig 
party in the township. R. J. Morse, residing on road 13, was born on the 
farm he now occupies. Early in life he was a Whig, but in 1868, he joined the 
Republican party. He has held many of the town offices, was at one time 
assistant judge, and town collector twenty years, his term of office ending in 
1874. His family consists of three children, one'Son and two daughters. 

John Sabin, at an early day removed with his family to Duxbury, from New 
Hampshire, and thence to this town, where he resided until his death, aged 
seventy years, leaving a family of eight children. Five of his grand children, 
children of William, now reside on road 6, viz.: Ransom J., Elisha B., Elijah 
H., Allen M., and Jennie, wife of Wm. A. Bohonnon. The four sons reside 
together upon a farm they have leased for a period of sixteen years. 

Asa Stockwell, from Connecticut, came to Bolton about 1800, and located 
on road 16. His son, Eleazer, now resides on road 18. 

Joseph, Samuel, and Asa Lewis, from Bradford, Conn., came to this town 
in 1 80 1, or 1802. Asa and Samuel located u];x>n a farm on road 18, and Joseph 
settled near them, across the brook. 

Moses L. Colton come to Bolton in 1825, and located in the western part 
of the town, where he soon after erected a saw-mill, the first built in that 
locality. In this mill he continued business until his death, in 1872. He was 
one of the prominent men of the town, and held many positions of honor and 



BUKLS* GORE. 93 



trust. £. M. Colton, his sod, was born here in 1826, and has since resided 
on the old homestead. He has been very successful in the manufacture of 
lumber, and has also held many positions of public trust. 

Asher Hall, from Jericho, located in the western part of Bolton in 1835. 

Rev. W. L. Hurlburt, born in Dorset, Vt., was the first settled minister 
here, and received the ministerial right of land allowed by charter, though 
Rev. Roswell Mears and Rev. Samuel Webster were the first itinerant min- 
isters. Thomas Mitchell was the first Methodist minister, having been in- 
vited here from Waterbury, by John Kennedy. Soon after, Lorenzo Dow 
preached here. In 1800 the first church was dedicated. It consisted of a 
high rocky and may be seen by the traveler situated at the back of a level 
meadow about forty rods from the railway, one and one-half miles east of 
Jonesville station. It is about fifty feet high, has a natural grotto, three 
regular stone steps, and a hollow, shaped like a boiler, which holds about four 
pails full, and is called the " Indian's kettle.'' Here was held the first Metho- 
dist quarterly meeting. The Rev. Shadrick Bostwick, of Baltimore, Md.^ 
was presiding elder. There was a large gathering on this occasion, and the 
society numbered about seventy-six members. Bishop Hedding preached 
his first sermon in Bolton, at John Kennedy's house, in 1800. Both the 
Calvinist and Freewill Baptists formed societies in town before the Metho- 
dists came. 

77te Baptist Church of West Bolton^ located at West Bolton, was organized 
by Rev. William S. Hurlburt, with forty-five members, in 1875, and now has 
sixty-eight members, with Rev. D. F. Safford, pastor. The church building, 
however, was built in 1867, a wooden structure, capable of accommodating 
250 persons, and cost $3,000.00, though it is now valued at but $2,500.00. 




iUELS' GORE, a triangular tract of land containing an area of about 
3,000 acres, forms the southeastern comer of the county, lying in lat. 
44° 13' and long. 4° o', bounded north by Huntington, east by Fayston, 
in Washington Co., and south and west by Starksboro and Lincoln, in Addisoii 
Co. It was granted by Vermont, November 4, 1 7 80, to Elias Buel and fifty-nine 
others, and then contained an area of 4,273 acres ; but was curtailed by the 
legislature, October 27, 1794, by annexing a portion of its territory to Hunt- 
ington. The first settlement was made by Abel Turner, John Fitch, and 
Samuel Fargo, about 1789. From that time until 1850, its population in- 
creased to eighteen, and since then has increased to twenty-four. 

The Gore has never been organized as a town, has no church building, and 
no postofficc. Its residents all depend upon the adjoining towns for these 
matters, mostly upon Huntington ; and, indeed, it might almost be said to be 
a portion of that town. For this reason we have put what notes we have 
relative to its settlement, biographies, eta, into the Huntington sketch. The 
"Directory" will also be found combined with that of Huntington. 



94 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 




•URLINGTON, the shire town, lies near the center of the west line of the 
f^' county, on the lake shore, in lat. 44^ 27' and long. 3° 52'. It was 
!♦? granted, according to the charter deed which now hangs, appropriately 
framed, upon a w^all of the city clerk's office, by Benning Wentworth, the 
Colonial Governor of New Hampshire, under King George III., June 7, 1763, 
to Samuel Willis and sixty-three others, in seventy-two shares of 320 acres 
each, making a total area of 23,040 acres. Its original bounds were as follows: 

" Beginning at the southerly or southwest side of French or Onion River, 
so-called, at the mouth of said river, thence running up by said river until it 
comes to a place that is ten miles upon a straight line from the mouth of the 
river aforesaid, then runs upon a line perpendicular to the aforesaid ten miles 
line southerly so far as that a line to Lake Champlain, parallel to the ten 
miles line aforesaid, will, within the lines and the shore of the said lake, con- 
tain six square miles." 

This area, however, was changed by the legislature. October 27, 1794, by 
annexing to Williston all the land lying east of Muddy Brook ; and again, by 
an act of the legislature, approved November 22, 1864, and accepted by the 
inhabitants of Burlington. January 18, 1865, all the township lying west of an 
irregular line drawn from the mouth of Shelburne Bay, northeasterly through 
the center of the township to the Winooski River, was incorporated into the 
City of Burlington, while the residue has since been known as South Burling- 
ton. But as they were so long considered as a whole, and so lately separated, 
we shall, in speaking of their surface, rocks, early settlement, etc., consider 
them as one — the old town of Burlington. 

In surface, the territory is just broken enough to lend a pleasing diversity 
to the landscape, the western part rising, gradually in some places, at others 
abruptly, from the lake shore, to an altitude of about 300 feet, forming a 
very handsome beach scene as viewed from the lake. From the northern 
part of the shore, a long, narrow neck of land extends into the Champlain, 
terminating in Appletree Point, south of which, extending to Rock Point, is 
Appletree Bay. Rock Point, especially, is noted for its vn\d, picturesque 
aspect. It rises almost abruptly from the water, a bold, beetling, craggy, rock 
promontory, nearly a hundred feet in height. In the course of time, the ele- 
ments have wrenched huge crags and large bodies of rock from its sides, 
which have come crashing down to its base, where they now lie in a confused, 
picturesque pile, not unlike the ruins of some giant castle. About twent)* 
feet from this mass, with a deep channel of water between them, rises Lone 
Rock, a solid mass of stone some forty feet in diameter, conical shaped, lift- 
ing its head to a height of twenty-five or thirty feet. South of this, .extending 
to Red Rocks Point, is the broad, cresent-shaped Burlington Bay, vrith its 
long stretch of silver>'-white sand beach, the finest harbor on the lake. About 
a mile southwest from Red Rocks Point is Pottier*s Point, with the entrance 
to Shelburne Bay lying between them, extending south into Shelburne, and 
which may almost be termed an arm of Burlington Bay, as it opens directly 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 95 

from it. Add to this, then, the beautiful country that forms a background to 
the scene, its handsome groves, fine residences, and the fair city and harbor of 
Burlington, the latter with its long docks and immense lumber piles, lying at 
the foot of the town, which extends up the slope of the hill until its summit 
is capped by the University of Vermont — the " Queen City's " crown, and 
you will have in all a picture of rare beauty. The southern and eastern part 
of the territory (now South Burlington) is low and level, and in the northeast- 
em part it is an extensive pine plain. Muddy Brook bounds it on the east, 
separating it from Williston, an inconsiderable stream flowing north into the 
Winooski, containing no mill seats of any special value. The Winooski 
River forms the northern boundary, a stream that not only takes the pre- 
cedence in size, being seventy miles in length and watering 970 square miles 
of territory, but also is the first in Vermont in its curiosities and beauties of 
nature, as well as in historical interest. Since the earliest days, long before 
Vermont contained a settlement, in the time of King William's and Queen 
Anne's wars, the French and Indian outbreak, and indeed all through these 
earlier troubles, the Winooski bore warlike parties upon its bosom. But as 
we have already spoken at some length of this stream, on page 37, of its 
gorges, natural bridge, and derivation of its somewhat peculiar vegetarian 
name, we will only mention at this point its singular gorge, lying three-quar- 
ters of a mile above Winooski village. Here, the channel, which is about 
seventy feet in width, for a distance of forty rods, has worn its course through 
the surface to a depth of sixty-five feet, leaving a perpendicular wall of solid 
rock on either side, over which has been built a bridge, called High Bridge, 
a view from which is well worth a visit. There are also abundant evidences 
at this point that there formerly existed a large pond here, whose waters were 
drained off by the wearing down of the river channel. On the south the 
country is bounded by the town of Shelburne. No streams of any magni- 
tude, except those mentioned, flow through its soil, which is quite uniform, a 
general sandy loam, with a productive clay in the southern part, yielding large 
crops of fruits and grains indigenous to the county, with comparatively little 
labor. The original timber, of which little is standing, was mostly pine, hem- 
lock, cedar, spruce, maple, oak, and ash. 

The principal rock entering into the geological structure of the territory is 
red sandrock, underlying nearly the whole of the central part of the country, 
affording a very excellent building stone. The western portion of the north- 
ern part of the town is composed of Hudson River slates. The eastern 
p>ortion of South Burlington, next to the range of red sandrock^ the rock 
foimation is of the Eolian limestone variety. The geology has been quite 
fixlly treated in connection with the county chapter, so we shall mention here 
only the above bare outline of facts. (See page 43.) 

Burlington, the largest, and one of the only two cities in the State, was 
incorporated by the legislature, November 22, 1864, and organized, by the 



96 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 



election of the proper city officers, January 18, 1865. Its corporation is em- 
braced in the following limits : — 

"Beginning at the east shore of Lake Champlain, at the northwest comer 
of one-hundred-acre lot number 163, thence easterly in the north line of said 
lot to the northeast comer thereof; thence northerly in the west line of one- 
hundred-acre lot number 155, to the northwest comer of said lot number 155, 
thence running easterly in the north line of said lot number 155, to the east 
line of the stage road from Burlington to Shelbume ; thence northerly in the 
east line of said stage road, to the northwest comer of one-hundred-acre lot 
number 1 65 ; thence easterly in the north line of one-hundred-acre lots num- 
bers 165 and 183, to the east line of Spear street ; thence northerly in the east 
Hne of Spear street, to the south line of Winooski turnpike ; thence easterly 
in the southerly line of said turnpike, to a point opposite the angle formed by 
the north line of said tumpike and the east line of the road leading northerly 
from said turnpike to Colchester avenue, east of the residence of Henry W. 
Catlin ; thence crossing said tumpike northerly to said angle ; thence from 
said angle in a straight line to the centre of Winooski River, at the northern 
termination of the east line of one-hundred-acre lot number 18 ; thence, 
in the centre of Winooski River, down said river to Lake Champlain ; thence 
southerly on the lake shore, at low water mark, to the most western point of 
Appletree Point ; thence in a straight line to place of beginning." 

After the division of the town and the proper organization of South Bur- 
lington as a town and Burlington as a city, the board of aldermen of the 
latter place met the selectmen of the former, and a basis of settlement wa^ 
agreed upon, settling all questions and dividing all property in which each had 
an interest. The payments due by virtue of this agreement are shown by the 
following statement, copied from the records, which may prove of interest to 
many : — 

Burlington, June 17, 1865. 

Due from the City of Burlington to the Town of South Burlington. 

One-tenth of valuation of Town Hall, $ 3,000.00 

" " ** '* Basement of Court House 125.00 

balance in hands of Treas, in town of Burlington, 51.31 
County order in favor of Town of Burlington, 10.25 

balance due Town of Burlington from Town 
of Williston, 1.02 

uncollected rents of Town Hall, down to Feb- 
ruary 21, 1865, 6.06 

valuation of personal property of Town of 
Burlington in Town Hall and in the hands of 
highway surveyors, 27.00 

balance due Town of Burlington from Town 
of Colchester, 4.74 

•* ** uncollected Town Taxes in hands of Samuel 

Huntington, Constable of Town of Burlington, 28.09 

excess of State Taxes for 1864. in hands of 
Kaid Huntington as said Constable, 42.82 

3,296.39 



<; (( 



l( « 



4( it 



it it 



ii 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 97 

» . _^ . ^^ 

Amount brought forward, $3,296.29 

Due from the Town of South Burlington to the City of Burlington, 

One-tenth of outstanding notes of Town of Burlington 

above si>ecified, $2,120.00 

balance of judgment against Town of 
Burlington in favor of the Merchants' Bank, 'o-95 

" interest on the U. S. deposit fund for the 
year ending Feb. i, 1865, due from the Town 
of Burlington, 93-39 

*' " excess of liabilities of town liquor agency 

over assets, 40.66 

" " receipts of liquor agency since Feb. 21, 1865, 

paid into the treasury of the Town of Burlington, 179.76 

2,444.76 

Balance due from the City of Burlington to Town of 

South Burlington, $ 851.53 

Having thus followed the division of the town, we will now endeavor to 
speak more minutely of the city, and then of its near relative. South Burling- 
ton. No city or village in the New England States surpasses Burlington in 
beauty of location. The hill upon whose gentle slope it is situated rises 
gradually back from the lake front until its highest point is reached one mile 
from the shore. The principal streets extend east and west, and are inter- 
sected at right angles with numerous others extending north and south, cut- 
ting nearly the whole city into regular squares. Upon the highest point. 
College Hill, is situated the University, of Vermont, from whose observatory 
a view may be obtained of the surrounding beautiful scenery — scenery that 
few, we take it, will claim to have seen excelled. On the east rise the Green 
Mountains, Mansfield and Camel's Hump in full view from base to summit, 
with a fine sweep of open country between. On the north is the valley of the 
Winooski, and of Lake Champlain stretching north to St. Albans Bay, while 
on the south the hill sinks away and leaves in sight Shelbume Bay with its 
picturesque shores, land-locked, and apparently a lake rather than a bay, and 
with everything that is beautiful of hill and dale, woodland and meadow, dis- 
tant water and mountains sinking into the horizon, for accompaniments of the 
scene. On the west the sweep of the eye takes in the gentle slope of the city 
to the lake shore, the bay, Pottier's, Red Rocks, Rock and Appletree Points, 
and between the city and the opposite shore, ten miles distant, one of the broad- 
est parts of Lake Champlain, reflecting the mountains and flecked with the 
shadows of clouds, gemmed with the green isles Juniper and Four Brothers, 
'^hile the Adirondacks sink into the horizon beyond, stretching north and 
south for nearly a hundred miles. Old Whiteface " heaving high his forehead 
^a.re" behind the front tier of Peaks right opposite, and Mount Marcy and 
"^'s tall companions on the southwest, with the tracks of land-slides marked in 
^^ite on their blue sides. Immediately below, from the front of the college 
S^^en, extend the broad well-kept streets, leading to the lake front, where 
*^Tes upon acres of land have been made by filling in along the shore, and the 



98 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 



whole now covered by immense lumber yards, large mills, and extensive 
wharfing, proclaiming that enterprise, commerce and manufacture are march- 
ing onward, hand in hand Between us and this manufacturing district, 
stretching north and south, lies the fair city, with over ii,ooo inhabitants, its 
substantial public buildings, public square and Batter>- Park, five banks, five 
hotels, eight churches, fifteen public schools, long rows of business blocks and 
many elegant private residences. 

Prenous to its incorporation, the city was looked upon as a ver>' prosper- 
ous village ; yet it had no village charter, although some attempts had been 
made to procure one. In the fall of 1852, an application was made to the 
selectmen of the town by several freeholders, requesting them to warn a meet- 
ing, to ascertain if the town would make an application to the legislature for 
an act to incorporate the whole or a part of the township into a city. A 
meeting for this purpose was called, therefore, on the 7 th of October, when the 
following resolution was introduced by Lyman Cummings : — 

" Resolved^ That it is ex|>edient to incorporate a part of the town of Bur- 
lington into a city, with proper boundaries, and suitable pro\isions therefor." 

It was also voted that a committee be appointed to carry the resolution 
into effect, with an amendment recommending that the proposed city em- 
brace the whole instead of a part of the town. A committee of five was ac- 
cordingly chosen, consisting of George \V. Benedict, Timothy FoUett, John 
VanSicklen, D. W. C. Clarke, and William Weston, who were instructed to 
report at an adjourned meeting to be held on the 12th instant, following, a 
draft of a bill to incorporate a part or all of the town into a city. At this 
adjourned meeting the committee reported as directed, and the resolution was 
adopted by one hundred and sixty-nine ballots in the affirmative against sixty- 
three in the negative. The legislature was in session at that time, so the bill 
was immediately sent in, when an act was passed incorporating the \'illage 
and that part of the to^n lying north of it, into a cit>', and likewise an act 
chartering the village of Burlington, ^ith the power left to the town of adopt- 
ing or rejecting either act. Accordingly, on January 21, 1853, a meeting was 
held within the limits of the contemplated city, to ascertain which act should 
be adopted, with the following result: for a village charter, 273 votes were 
cast \ for a city charter, 233 votes. As it was thus decided that the ** city 
act" should be abandoned, another meeting was called on the 7th of the fol- 
lowing month, for the purpose of voting on the question whether the village 
charter should be accepted or rejected, and the vote being taken there were 
cast for accepting the charter, 115 votes; for rejecting it, 200 votes. And, 
thus ended the first attempt to incorporate the town or a portion of it into 
a city, until 1864, when an act passed the legislature, incorporating the dty, 
as previously mentioned. 

In pursuance of this act, a special town meeting was warned, January 2, 
1865, as follows : — 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 99 



" The inhabitants of the town of Burlington, who are legal voters in town 
meeting, are hereby notified and warned to meet at the Town Hall in said 
Town on Wednesday, the i8th day of January, A. D., 1865, at 10 o'clock A. 
M., for the following purposes, viz. : ist. To dioose a Moderator to govern 
said meeting. ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ^^^ 'p^ ^q^^ ^y ballot on the accept- 
ance or rejection of a certain Act of the Legislature of Vermont, approved 
November 22nd, 1864, and entitled *An Act to incorporate the City of Bur- 
lington.' by the terms of which act those in favor of the acceptance of this 
act shall cast ballots on which shall be inscribed or printed the word *Yes,' 
and those opposed to such acceptance shall cast ballots on which shall be in- 
scribed or printed the word *No.* 4th. To do any other business proper to 
be done at such meeting. Carolus Noves, ^ 

L. B. Platt, >■ Selectmen." 
P. H. Catlin, ) 

Pursuant to the foregoing warning, the meeting was held at the time and 
place specified, and was duly organized by the election of William G. Shaw 
as moderator, who appointed Albert L. Catlin, James A. Shedd, Russell S. 
Taft, and Nathaniel Parker, tellers to sort and count the ballots. The whole 
number of ballots cast was 671, upon 452 of which was found inscribed the 
word *Yes,* and upon 219, the word *No.' Within twenty days after the ac- 
ceptance of the charter thus made, the selectmen of the town, according 
to the provisions of the act, divided the city into wards, appointed places in 
each for the holding of elections, and ward ofllicers to officiate until an election 
should be made, and also issued the following warning for the first city 
election : — 

** The legal voters of the city of Burlington are hereby notified and warned 
to meet in their respective Wards, at the places therein hereinafter severally 
designated and appointed, on MONDAY, the 20th of FEBRUARY, A. D., 
1865, at 10 o'clock A. M., for the election of Mayor, Recorder, Aldermen, 
Common Councilmen, and Ward officers, as prescribed in the Act incorporat- 
ing the City of Burlington. And the undersigned, Selectmen, have divided 
the City of Burlington, in conformity to the said Act of incorporation, into 
three Wards, which are hereby severally designated : The North Ward, the 
South Ward, and the Centre Ward * * * *. 

"Given under our hands at Burlington, this 4th day of February, A. D., 
1865. Carolus Noves, ^ 

L. B. Platt, v Selectmen." 
P. H. Catlin, ) 

At the meeting thus warned, the following list of officers were elected : 
Mayor, Albert L. Catlin ; recorder, E. R. Hard ; aldermen, Lawrence Barnes, 
Levi Underwood, Calvin Blodgett, Omri A. Dodge, Giles S. Appleton, and 
Russell S. Taft; clerk, J. R. Hickok. Common Council, — president, Salmon 
^ires ; J. H. Worcester, Henry Loomis, and J. A. Arthur, North Ward ; 
^mon Wires, Charles Wilier, and W. H. Brink, Centre Ward ; George W. 
^kwith, O. J. Walker, and P. D. Ballou, South Ward ; and William H. 
^oyt, clerk. By an amendment to the city charter, however, approved No- 
vember 9,1865, the common council was abolished, and the government from 
^ch, 1867, established in the Mayor and board of Aldermen, the said board 



lOO TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 



being, since 1873, when the city was re-divided into five instead of three 
wards, composed of two aldermen from each, making ten in alL 

Water Works. 

The water supply, at the time of the organization of the city, was exceed- 
ingly poor, as may be inferred from the following official statement, made in 
1865: " There are 650 who depend for their entire supply of water upon the 
lake, which is mostly hauled in casks ; 1828 persons who depend entirely 
upon cisterns ; 1,214 upon cisterns and wells, fifty-seven upon springs and the 
lake ; forty-eight are entirely dependent on their neighbors, and one thousand 
persons receive water from the Aqueduct Company." 

The great cause of this deficiency was the difficulty, and at most points im- 
possibility, of sinking wells a sufficient depth to strike a water vein ; but the 
lake and the Winooski afforded means for an abundant supply, and the city 
council early turned their serious attention to the subject. The village had 
been afforded an indifferent supply by an aqueduct company, organized in 
1850. 

As early as 1827, the Champlain Glass Company, whose works were 
located on the lake shore near the Battery Park, laid a line of log pipes thereto, 
from or near the present residence of Henry Loomis, on Pearl street, for the 
purpose of conducting water to their factory from several springs in that 
vicinity. This line was in use until 1850, when Frederick Smith, who at that 
time was a part owner of the glass factory property, started a stock com- 
pany, known as the Burlington Aqueduct Company, which was incorporated 
by the legislature for the purpose of furnishing the village with an adequate 
supply. The old logs were superceded by iron pipes, about three miles of 
which were laid during the first year. A reservoir, forty feet square and 
twelve feet in depth, arched over with brick, was built in the center of Pearly 
near Williams street, which is still in existence. This reservoir was supplied 
by four springs, two being situated on the lot now owned and occupied b^ 
George L. Linsley, at that time owned by Warren Root, and two just above 
him, one in the center of the street. Subsequently, about the year 1855, *"* 
arrangement was made with the old Pioneer Shop Company, by which water 
was pumped from the lake. But even then, as previously shown, the growth 
of the community had made the supply wholly inadequate to the demand ; 
consequently, the city took the affair in hand and issued bonds to the amount 
of $150,000.00 for the construction of new works, and bought the property of 
the Aqueduct Company for $24,000.00, coming into possession October i, 
1866. A resolution for the construction of the new works was adopted by 
the city council on the 2d day of April, 1867, and the city now has one of 
the finest supplies in the State. The reservoir is situated at the junction of 
Winooski turnpike and University place, a distance from the pump-house of 
8,362 feet, with a head of 289 feet, and a capacity of 2, 236,000 gallons. The 
pump-house and machinery are situated at the foot of Pearl street, and were 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. lOI 

first put into operation December 25, 1867. There are at present twenty- 
seven miles of mains, with 1,620 service pipes or taps, through which was 
used, during the year 1881, 216,869,535 gallons of water, for which the city 
received $24,407.21. Throughout the city there are 123 public, and twenty 
private fire-hydrants, the great force of the water precluding the necessity of 
fire engines, as hose has only to be attached to the hydrant when a powerful 
stream is thrown. In addition to the first appropriation of the city, there has 
been bonds issued at different periods until the whole bonded debt of the 
water works is now $244,900.00, and their entire cost $271,470.83. 

Gas Works. 

On the 5th of November, 1852, the Burlington Gas Light Company was 
incorporated by the legislature, with John Peck, president ; Charles F. War- 
ren, treasurer; and Salmon Wries, secretary. During the following year, the 
construction of the works, located at the corner of Bank and Battery streets, 
was commenced, and finished in 1854. The contract was let to Dugand, 
Cartwright & Co., of Philadelphia, Pa., who constructed works for the manu- 
facture of gas from coal; but in 1879, the process was changed, and petrolium 
gas is manufactured instead. The works were finished, and the city first lighted 
May 15, 1854, with only a few miles of mains, which have since been extended 
until they aggregate ten miles in length, conducting gas to 365 meters. The 
present officers of the company are Nathaniel Parker, president, and F. H. 
Parker, treasurer and superintendent. 

Manufactures. 

The first extensive manufactory commenced at Burlington was in 1827 
when the Champlain Glass Company built a factory, between Champlain and 
Battery streets, near the Battery Park, and commenced the manufacture of 
window glass. For a long time the company was quite successful and did a 
large business, employing as many as two hundred hands ; but later, more, 
from mismanagement than any other reason, it declined, and finally practically 
died, in 1834. Mr. Frederick Smith, however, who was then a young man 
employed in the office as an accountant, considered he had the requisite tact 
and energy to rebuild the enterprise, and therefore bought out the business, 
and, with several changes of partners, carried it on successfully for a number of 
years, or until 1848, when the manufacture of glass was abandoned, principally 
on account of high prices of fuel. In the meantime the manufacture of cotton 
cloth was commenced, a business which has since grown to extensive propor- 
tions. 

Burlington and IVinooski Cotton Mills. — In 1845, a firm under the title of 

The Winooski Mill Co., was granted a charter by the legislature, for the pur- 

'pose of carrying on the manufacture of cotton cloth at Burlington. During 

that year the company was organized, with a capital stock of $25,000.00, and 

Joseph D. Allen elected president. Thus it remained until 1853, when the 



I02 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

legislature authorized the increase of its capital to $75,000.00. Manufactur- 
ing was first commenced in a wooden building, known as " the oil mill," situ- 
ated on the west side of the highway, near the south end of the covered 
bridge, at Winooski Falls. 

On the night of January i, 1852, the entire works were destroyed by fire. 
Soon after this catastrophy, in the following spring, a site some twenty rods 
above the bridge was purchased, and a commodious brick and stone factory 
erected, 45x103 feet, in addition to the wood building, 34x84 feet, already 
standing upon the site. In 1880, the property was purchased by the present 
proprietors, Joel H. Gates and Robert G. Severson, who have been many 
years prominently identified with the business interests of Burlington, and is 
now operated by them under the firm name of Joel H. Gates & Co. They 
soon made many improvements, and greatly increased the concern's facilities, 
so that the mill property of the company now consists of the greatly enlarged 
mills at the falls, and their large factory on Pine and St. Paul streets. 

The falls factory is devoted exclusively to the process of picking, carding, 
and spinning, where 23,000 spindles, and the machinery necessary to supply 
them, are continuously running during the working hours of each day, in ad- 
dition to the machinery for a well-appointed repair shop, the whole of which 
is driven by water-power. Immediately adjoining the mill are the necessary 
storehouses, tenements for operatives, boiler-house, where steam is generated 
for heating purposes, and various other requisite out-buildings. Upon Pine 
and St. Paul streets, in the western part of the city, is located the weaving 
mill— a large frame and stone structure, two stories in height, with a basement. 
The two main floors are each 50x360 feet, containing 650 looms, while the 
basement contains the machinery for measuring, folding and baling the finished 
cloth. At one end of the main building, forming an '* L," is a substantial 
brick structure, 50x100 feet, two stories high, in which are located the repair 
and machine shops, and the machinery for dressing warps, etc., and also the 
boiler room, containing four large boilers which supply the steam for running 
the engine (one hundred horse- power) and heating the buildings. Within con- 
venient distances are the office, boarding-house, bames, stables, ice-house, 
etc, all situated so as to leave a large yard, or clear space, around the mill, 
thus providing ample light and air at all seasons. Their machinery and equip- 
ments are all modern, and capable of turning out work fully up to the times. 

The class of goods manufactured is what is called " print cloth," 25,000 
yards of which are woven daily, making an annual product of 7,500,000 
yards, giving employment to 350 persons. Thus the establishment is one of 
the largest and most extensive concerns in the State, and very ably managed 
by its general superintendent, Mr. Horace W. Barrett, who has been connect- 
ed with the institution ever since it was first established, in 1845. 

The Pioneer Mechanic^ Shops. — About the year 1850, the cause of the 
dearth of manufactures began to be canvassed by several of the representative 
business men of Burlington, with a view to changing the condition of affairs. 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. IO3 

" Here is a village with undoubted facilities for manufacture," they said, " with 
communication by water and rail with the large cities, and there is no reason 
why it should not become an extensive manufacturing center, could we only 
induce some good live mechanics to act as * pioneers.' " And they were 
right. 

The awakening of this sentiment soon took practical development, owing 
principaUy to the energy of Messrs. Frederick Smith and Henry P. Hickok, 
resulting in the establishment of "The Pioneer Mechanics* Shops Co.," May 
31, 1852, a stock company with a capital of $30,000.00, divided into shares 
of $25.00 each. The legislature had granted them a charter in November of 
that year, and the first directors were Henry P. Hickok, Frederick Smith, T. 
R. Fletcher, Edward W. Peck, and Morillo Noyes. Land was donated for 
the erection of suitable buildings, by Henry B. Stacy, Henry P. Hickok, 
Eliza W. Buel, and Nathan B. Haswell, the said buildings, with steam engines 
and fixtures for running machinery, being intended "to be rented to mechanics 
and manufacturers, in convenient allotments, in such manner as to facilitate 
and invite the introduction of new branches of mechanical and manufacturing 
industry." 

In 1853, the shops were completed, located on the east side of Lake street, 
of brick, four stories high, 400 feet long, and 50 feet wide, divided into four 
apartments, each one hundred feet long, with a heavy brick wall between, the 
machinery being driven by two heavy engines in a building just east of the 
shops. It was not long before the buildings were occupied, proving the en- 
terprise a success, and chairs, doors, sash, blinds, and machinery were soon 
counted among the exports of Burlington. 

The corporation, however, having borrowed money over and above their cap- 
ital for the completion of their buildings, and given a mortgage on their property 
to secure its payment, were unable to meet their obligations, so the mortgage 
was foreclosed, and the property came into the hands of Henry P. Hickok. 
Soon after, April 2, 1858, the entire buildings were destroyed by fire, entailing 
^ ^oss of about $150,000.00. But manufacturing industries had become too 
^'mly seated here to succumb to even this misfortune. The citizens of the 
tourn donated 8,000.00 towards the re-construction of the works, and Mr. 
■'-A'^^Tencc Barnes purchased the ruins, and immediately erected three brick 
5*^op>s, two stories high, each one hundred feet long and fifty feet wide, being 
"*^ same, with others which have been erected adjoining, that are know as 
'^^^ le Pioneer Shops" to-day. Immediately after their re-construction, Jan- 
I, 1858, the property was transferred to the present proprietors, B. S. 
^^^tiols & Co., who lease the shops to the following firms, who collectively 
^^''^^ish employment to 500 persons : — 

-^. £, and A. C. Whitney, who are successfuly engaged in the manufacture 

^^ V>rush stock. The Ferguson Manufacturing Co., in the manufacture of 

* t^Urcau creameries." R. M. Clapp^ curtain rollers and fixtures. J, R. Booth, 

^^^Ts, sash, blinds, etc. Messrs. Wing 6- Smith, manufacturers of shoe lasts 



I04 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

and boot trees. Wallace S, Holland^ manufacturer of fancy cabinets and 
cases, and Venetian blinds. 51 C Kimball &» Co., in the manufacture of 
doors, sash, and blinds. Woodbury &» Co,^ as a planing-milL W, H, Brinks 
as a brass and iron foundry, and also by several other firms who carry on a 
less extensive business. 

J, R, BootHs manufactorj' is under the management of U. A. Woodbury, 
and employs 1 25 hands. Aside from the manufacture of sash, doors, blinds^ 
eta, Mr. Booth, who resides in Canada, is extensively engaged in the manu- 
facture of lumber, having mills at Ottawa, where 47,000,000 feet of lumber are 
cut annually, 20,000,000 feet of which are sold from this point, making his 
business in Burlington, commenced in 1874, aggregate a half million dollars 
per year. 

6". C. Kimball 6- Co. commenced business as Crombie & Kimball in 

1858, in the Pioneer buildings, and continued thus until 1868, when their 

firm's title was changed to the one they now bear. This company emplo>'S 

• twenty-five men, and turns out about $50,000.00 worth of manufactured goods 

annually. 

R. M. CAj//' J manufactory was established in 1870, employs twenty five 
men, and produces $40,000.00 worth of goods per annum. 

Wallace S. Hollamfs manufactory furnishes employment for twenty per- 
sons, and turns out $20,000.00 worth of goods per year. 

J. W. Goodell d^• Co.'s marble and granite works, located on Pine street, 
are among the largest of the manufactories situated outside of the Pioneer 
Shops. Their buildings, which cover an area of several thousand square feet, 
are admirably located for conveniently carrying on this manufacture, as the rail- 
road passes right by the door, affording an easy mode of shipping and receiving 
goods, and also situated near the lake, from which a constant supply of water 
may be pumped, an item extremely essential in sawing and polishing marble. 
Business was commenced by them in the spring of 1875, under the manage- 
ment of Mr. J. W. Goodell, who, with Messrs. F. W. Smith and C. R. Hayward, 
constitute the company. Since that time they have been very extensively 
engaged in the manufacture of finished marble and granite work, and are now 
producing more marble tops for furniture that any other firm in the country. 
The method of working and polishing the various kinds of stone has been greatly 
improved during the past few years, and Messrs. Goodell & Co. have kept 
promptly up with the improvements, inventing not a few of them themselves, 
so that their factory is now an interesting place to spend an hout* in observ- 
ing how the rough blocks of stone are metamorphosed into beautiful, polished 
specimens of mechanical and artistic genius, which eventually perform an 
active part in decorating both the interior and exterior of some of our grandest 
private and public buildings, as well as to embellish our cherished " cities of 
of the dead." Two hundred men are employed here continually, night and 
day, producing a quarter of million dollars worth of manufactured goods per 
annum. 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 10$ 

Burlington Manufacturing Co,, located on the corner of Pine and Maple 
streets, is a stock company largely engaged in the manufacture and sale of 
marble, with Hon. Torrey E. Wales, president, and Charles R. Hayward, 
secretary. The company was organized, and buildings erected, in 1865, for 
the manufacture of nails, and as a rolling-mill, which business was continued 
several years, or until 1872, when the factory was fitted up for the present 
manufacture of marble. The firm has exclusive control of several quarries of 
very popular marble, owing to the fact of different members of the firm 
owning a portion or a whole of the said quarries. Among these several grades 
may be mentioned the celebrated Verona, Lapanto and Moriah marbles of 
New York, and the Florence marble from the quarries at Pittsford, Vt., and also 
at the same time they import large quantities from Italy. They operate twelve 
gangs of saws and employ seventy men at their works, besides retaining 
numerous other workmen at their several quarries, while their sales of rough 
blocks aggregate many thousand feet each year. 

The Queen City Steam Granite Works^ located at 143 College street, are 
owned by L. A. Walker and Eben Tappen, who manufacture there all kinds 
of monuments, headstones and building blocks, from granite and marble, em- 
ploying twenty-five men and doing a business of $25,000.00 per annum, 
though some years it amounts to as high as $75,000.00. 

Guy N,^ Willar{fs stone quarries, located southeast of the principal part 
of the city, were first opened by Mr. Willard's father, Levi, in 1805, since 
which time many thousand yards of stone have been taken therefrom, enter- 
ing into the structure of some of the finest buildings in Burlington and vicinity. 
The material consists in most part of a pinkish-white, fine-grained limestone, 
somewhat resembling granite in its construction, with layers of reddish sand- 
stone interstratified with red sandstone — marking the transition from the 
arenaceous to the calcareous form of deposit. Mr. Willard employs fifty men 
at his quarries. 

Corner M. Pheip^s steam marble and granite works, located on Bank street, 

'^ere established by him in 1862, for the manufacture of all kinds of building 

^<>cf cemetery work, and now give employment to twenty men. 

-^EJolt &» Barneses spool and bobbin works, located on Pine street, south of 

^^ jDle, were established at Salisbury, in 1869, and removed to Burlington in 

'^y ^. Spools for thread only were manufactured previous to 1877, but dur- 

^S ithat year machinery for the manufacture of bobbins was introduced, since 

^^i ^::h time the business has largely increased, so that eighty hands are now 

^^ Y=>loyed at the works. 

^•Valkery Hatch 6- Co., stair builders and manufacturers of doors, sash, 

^^'^^ds, eta, have their office and salesroom at 153 Main street, though their 

in^l^ls are located at Winooski village. The business was established in 1874, 

^ David Walker and D. F. Hatch, since which time it has continued to 

«!^^adily increase; until they now employ thirty-five men. 

Ttf/5f. Morgan ^S^• Co., manufacturers of sash, doors, blinds, and house fur- 



I06 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

nishings, on College, Battery, and Lake streets, commenced business in 1877, 
as Taft & Morgan, and continued until 1879, when the present firm was 
organized. They employ eighty men, and manufacture $200,000.00 worth of 
goods per year. 

Alatthtius Of* Hickok, manufacturers of packing-boxes, cloth-boards, etc, 
on Pine street, were organized as a firm in 1871. They employ fifty men 
and turn out $200,000.00 worth of goods per annum. 

The Burlington Spoke Company, Walker & Hatch, agents, engaged in the 
manufacture of carriage spokes, axehelves, pick, hammer and sledge-handles, 
have their mills located at Winooski village, and their place of business in 
Burlington. They employ a number of experienced workmen, and do a large 
business. 

Jerry Le^s carriage shops, located at 175 Pearl street, were established in 
1856. He now employs ten men, and manufactures from $8,000.00 to $10,- 
000.00 worth of carriages and sleighs per annum. 

Harmon Ray, engaged in the manufacture of carriages and wagons, on 
Front street, first commenced business in Hinesburgh, where he was estab- 
lished ten years ; he then removed his works to Burlington, in 1856, and 
now does a business of about $15,000.00 per year. 

William Smith 6- Co.'s carriage shop, located in the rear 153 Pearl street, 
was established by S. M. Pope, in 1867, since which time, with various 
changes of partners, Mr. Smith has been constantly connected with the 
business, the members of the firm now being Smith, Tuttle and Deitte. They 
employ three men. 

Charles B, Grafs carriage manufactory, located on Champlain street, was 
established in 1830. He now employs ten men in the manufacture of light 
and heavy carriages and wagons, and also deals in Extern and Western car- 
riages, etc, doing an annual business of $15,000.00. 

Charles H. Sager, manufacturer and repairer of furniture, located at 10 
North Winooski ave., commenced business here in 1879, and now emplo3rs 
seven men. 

George IV. Le^s carpenter and joiner shops, located on North street, were 
established in 1865. He employs thirty men. 

John W. Robertas car|>enter and building shops are located on North Wil- 
lard street. Mr. Roberts commenced business here in 1879, and now em- 
ploys seven men. 

Homer C JDreu\ carpenter and builder, located on South Winooski ave., 
commenced business here about fourteen years ago, and now employs twenty 
men. 

C. A. Hibbarifs boot and shoe manufactory, located at 52 and 54 College 
street, was established at Troy, Vt., in 1865. In 1870, Mr. Hibbard re- 
moved to Essex Junction, and from there to Burlington, in 1874. He man- 
ufactures none but hand-made goods, turning out from 1,200 to 1,700 cases 
per year, giving employment to fifty workmen. His whole trade, consisting 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. IO7 



of the sale of his own and other manufactured goods, amounts to 150,000.00 
annually. 

George IV. Holmes &» C<?.'j glove and mitten manufactory, located at 181 
College street, was established by J. H. Whitten, in 1874, by whom the busi- 
ness was conducted until his death, in 1877, since which time it has been 
managed by G. W. Holmes, who became a partner in 1880. The firm em- 
plo)^ fifteen persons at their manufactory and salesrooms, though a large por- 
tion of their hand- work is done outside of the factory. 

The Burlington 6- Lamoille R, R. Machine Shops, located at ^^ Maple 
street, are under the management of Mr. F. G. Brownell. The rolling stock, 
locomotives, etc., for this road are manufactured here, giving employment to 
twelve men. 

Queen City Soap fVorhs, Dodds & Stephens, proprietors, located on 
First street, were established in a modest way in 1876, and have since steadily 
increased in business, until they now have an extensive manufactory, employ- 
ing several men. 

Z. G, Burnham 6- Co., photographers and manufacturers of gilt and black 
walnut moldings, picture frames, easels, etc., are now doing an extensive busi- 
ness, which was established by Mr. Burnham in 1877, employing twelve 
women. 

Arbuckle &* Co. — In 1870, this firm succeeded to the business of D. A. 
Van Namee in the manufacture of candy, to which was subsequently added 
the manufacture of cigars. In the line of confections they are the largest 
manufacturers in the State, and employ thirty operatives. Their sales are 
principally in this State, Northern and Eastern New York, and New Hamp- 
shire. 

Pranklin WoodwortHs Pottery. — About the year 1830, E. L. Farrar built 

a pottery on the south side of Pearl street, between St Paul and Church 

^fi"etrts. It was afterwards enlarged by Ballard Brothers, and retained by 

^enri until 1874, when it was purchased by Mr Woodworth, who now does an 

extensive business, employing fifteen men. 

^Ving 6f* Smith. — In July, 1852, H. R. Wing and James A. Smith came to 

this city, from Niagara Falls, N. Y., and started the manufacture of lasts, boot- 

'"^^s, crimps, etc., in a building known as the "Foundry Building" on the 

^^*T^er of Main and Battery streets. Mr. G. F. Wing having previously opened 

^ stcz^re and sales room at 57^ Frankfort street. New York, a large share of the 

Soo^s manufactured were sent to that place. After running two years in the 

Old •- 'Foundry Building," it was destroyed by fire, the firm losing their stock, 

^*^^<^liinery, and books. With the proceeds of their small insurance they com- 

^^^ticed to refund their machinery, and in six months had it in operation, in 

^«e old Pioneer Shop. They continued business there until the property was 

^^troyed by fire, a small insurance being all that was left them. Everything 

^^cluding books, was lost. From the ruins they proceeded to Winooski, and 

^^ ninety days had the goods in market again. When the Pioneer Shops were 



lOS TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

rebuilt the business was removed to them, where it is still continued G. F. 
Wing and James A. Smith having been removed by death, leaving H. R. 
Wing the surviving active partner, Mrs J. A. Smith retaining an interest in the 
firm, the name has not been changed They employ fifteen men at Burling- 
ton, and five men at New York city, their sales amounting to from twenty- 
five to thirty thousand dollars per year. 

The Lumber Trade. 

The first saw-mill in the vicinity was built at Winooski Falls, by Ira Allen, 
in 1786. Mr. Allen, in connection with his brother, Levi, who was then en- 
gaged in trade at St. Johns, C. E., opened a trade with Quebec, and among 
the articles sent was the lumber manufactured at this mill. The first raft of oak 
timber taken to Quebec was owned by Stephen Mallett, of Colchester, in 
1794. The first raft of Norway pine was taken by John Thorp, of Charlotte, 
in 1796. From this a great trade soon sprang up, of whom the most actively 
engaged were Ira Allen, Stephen Mallett, Benjamin Boardman, Henry Board- 
man, Amos Boardman, Ebenezer Allen, William B. Woods, Samuel Holgate, 
Judson Lamson, Joseph Clark, Thaddeus Tuttle, Mr. Catlin, Ezra Meech, of 
Shelburne, Daniel Hurlburt, Nathaniel Blood, of Essex, William Munson, 
William Hine, Jacob Rolfe, Allen Hackett, David Bean, Heman Allen, of 
Colchester, James Mmer, Samuel Holgate, Jr., of Milton, Major L)'man King, 
and Roswell Butler. After the opening of the Champlain canal, however, in 
1820, the course of trade began to take an eastern route, and New York was 
the lumber market. But erelong the immense forests of oak and pine became 
exhausted — transferred from the soil to be planted in a floating home, to form 
another forest— a forest of tall, tapering masts throughout the various great ship- 
ping marts of the world The depletion of the forests, however, extinguished 
the lumber trade only for a time. It again sprang up, with increased pro- 
portions, but with a great change. The current of its tide had been reversed, 
so that now the lumberman receives his lumber from Canada, instead of ship- 
ping it there. 

The first cargo of lumber that arrived here from the Canadas, for the Eastern 
markets, was brought by L. G. Bigelow, in 1850. He associated ^nth him in 
the business Enos Peterson, and they continued in trade until 1855. Messrs. 
C. Blodgett & Son, then of Waterbur)*, next commenced trade here. The 
St. Maurice Lumber Company shipped their lumber here during the three 
years that their mills were in operation. In 1855, the Hunterstown Lumber 
Company located their sales depot at this place, and in 1856, Mr. I^wrence 
Barnes opened a yard here for the purchase and sale of lumber. From this 
time trade rapidly increased and reached mammoth proportions, which it re- 
tains to-day, though not to the extent it has done. Still, about 100,000,000 
feet of lumber per year are shipped here now, amounting to a trade of over 
two million dollars. In addition to the firms already mentioned on a previous 
page, the following are extensively engaged in the business : — 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. ICQ 



Skillings^ Whitney 6- Barnes. — This company, though formed as it now ex- 
ists as late as 1878, is in reality the business established by Mr. Lawrence 
Barnes in 1856, which has thus come down through various changes. In addi- 
tion to their yards at Burlington, they have goods at Ogdensburgh, and at 
Boston, where their general office is located, at No. 5 Kilby street. They 
employ at this point 100 men, and at all their yards 500. The aggregate 
annual amount of lumber handled by them is 90,000,000 feet. 

Shepard 6f* Morse Lumber Co, have their principal office at No. i Liberty 
street, Boston, and in addition to their large yards here have others situated in 
Canada, Michigan, and Tonawanda, N. Y., together with a manufactory at 
£ast Saginaw. They employ in all about 300 men and handle 80,000,000 
feet of lumber per annum. 

Bransons^ Weston^ Dunham 6f* Co. — This firm deals largely in lumber, and 
is also extensively engaged in its manufacture at their mills on Pine street. 
The mills are an outgrowth of others started at Albany, by J. W. Dunham & 
Co., and were first located here in 1872. They contain eleven planing 
machines, two circular re-saws, and an upright re-sawing machine, in addition 
to numerous other machines, all driven by an immense double engine of 175 
horse-power. They employ from sixty to one hundred men, their mill having 
the capacity for turning out 20,000,000 feet of lumber per year. 

Pierce 6- Linsley^ located at 38 College street, and who have also a branch 
office at 7 Doane street, Boston, and another office and yard at East Sag- 
inaw, Mich., were organized as a firm January i, 1880. They give constant 
employment to a numerous corps of laborers, and though comparatively young 
in the business, handle about 6,000,000 feet of lumber per year. 

Early Business Men. 

As the early settlement at " Burlington Bay" gradually increased in size by 
^e addition of pioneers, it soon became necessary to have a merchant estab- 

&hed among them, which want was filled by Grant. Others soon 

followed his example, among whom, as the earliest, were the following : Stephen 

^e3rs,ZaccheusPeaslee, Thaddeus Tuttle, E. T. Englesby, William F. Pell & 

^^. , Herring & Fitch, Newell & Russell ; Moses Jewett, saddler ; Nehemiah 

'^^^tchkiss, tailor; J. Storrs, painter; Justus Warner, cabinet maker ; William 

^O^'^nt, shoemaker ; and Daniel Wilder, joiner. In the footsteps of these 

^^x^hy men followed others, whose energy and business capacity have made 

^^rtington what it is, the metropolis of the State, with its long blocks of busi- 

^e^s houses and many wholesale concerns. There are at present one hundred 

^*"^cling salesmen resident in the city, seventy-five of whom are engaged by 

^^M'lington houses. Among the wholesale enterprises of to-day are the 

foUowing: — 

Wells ^ Richardson gn Co.^ wholesale dealers and manufacturers of drugs 
^"^ medicines. — This firm commenced business in 1872^ as successors to the 



\ 



no TOWN AND CITV OF BURLINGTON'. 

old house of Henry & Co., so long known in Burlington, with Edward Wells, 
A. E. Richardson, and W. J. Van Patten, Torming the partnership. They 
immediately commenced pushmgthe wholesale drug trade, in all its branches, 
with such vigor that they soon supplied the whole trade of Vermont. North- 
em New York, and New Hampshire, with their goods. In 1873, Mr. Henry 
Wells was admitted as a partner, and in 1874, their handsome, commodious 




store was erected, a building whose facilities for and a{laplability to the drug 
business, are excelled by none. In January, 1881, Mr. F. H. Wells became 
one of the firm, which is thus made up of young men whose whole business 
training has been in the wholesale drug trade and specialties connected there- 
with, and who are, withal, thorough business men in every sense, and deserve 
well the high position they have attained in business circles. 

Wells, Richardson & Co. began their extended system of advertising in 
1877, expending during that year about $4,000.00 in making known the raerils 
of their Butter Color. Their drug business at that time amounted to about 
$200,000.00 per year. In 1879, they began to extensively advertise their 
now famihar, but then little known remedy, "' Kidney-Wort," expending dur- 
ing the first year about $75,000.00. This expenditure proved to be so profita- 
ble — increasing their business more than fifty per cent. — that their investment 
in printer's ink the following year, 1880, was increased to $125,000.00. _ The 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. Ill 



business at once began to show the effect of this large outlay, and that year 
amounted to a round $400,000.00. In 188 1, their advertising cost them 
$150,000.00, and they did a business of over half a million. This year the 
outlay for advertising will be much larger, and the business thus far shows an 
increase of twenty-five per cent, over that of 1881. 

About $200,000.00 of their business continues to be from the general 
wholesale drug trade, while the balance is from the sale of their proprietary 
articles, Kidney-Wort, Improved Butter Color, and Diamond Dyes. These 
articles have an almost world-wide reputation. Of Kidney- Wort, about 4,000 
gross, 576,000 bottles, equal to 2,250 barrels, are shipped in the course of 
a year, a large proportion of which is used in the different States of the 
Union, though much is sent to other parts of North America, and some to 
South America, while arrangements are now pending for introducing the 
remedy into Europe and Australia. About 200 gross of Diamond Dyes are 
shipped during the same period, or, in all, 132,000 dozen packages of goods 
in a year. Surely, a business of great magnitude for a Vermont Yankee firm ! 
In transacting this great business they employ at their store sixty persons, 
forty others indirectly, and send out four traveling salesmen. 

Saffordy Wetherby &* Co, — This firm, wholesale jobbers of fancy goods, 
notions, hoisery, overalls, shirts, etc., first commenced business at Montpelier, 
in 1870, under the title of K S. Fullam & Co., and in September of that 
year removed to Burlington, locating at their present site. About four years 
subsequent to this Mr. C. C. Chad wick was admitted to the business, and 
the firm name changed to Fullam, Safford & Chadwick, and so remained 
until 1875, when, owing to failing health, Mr. Fullam sold his interest to 
Messrs. Safford & Chadwick, and during the same season Mr. Humphrey 
became a partnec, and the firm was known as Safford, Chadwick & Co. ; but 
in the early part of 1876, Mr. Chadwick died, and Messrs. Safford & Hum- 
phrey having purchased his interest, the business continued in their name 
until 1 88 1, when Mr. Henry L. Wetherby was admitted, and the title changed 
to the one it has since borne. Still, although Mr. Humphrey is yet a mem- 
ber of the firm, his time is given to conducting a retail trade in Winooski 
village, which is owned by Saiford, Humphrey & Co. During these years the 
business has steadily increased, so that they now employ three traveling 
salesmen and a full corps of clerks at their store, their annual sales amount- 
ing to about $100,000.00. 

Henry^ Johnson &> Lord, — This enterprising firm, located on College street, 
commenced business at Waterbury, Vt., in 1855, under the firm name of J. 
M. Henry & Sons. Under various changes the firm continued in Waterbury 
until March, 1867, when they removed the business to Burlington. After this 
removal, the addition of the- wholesale drug business was made to their man- 
ufacture of proprietary medicines. In 1870, the firm divided, the present firm 
of Wells, Richardson & Co. taking the wholesale department under the firm 
title of Henry & Co., and Henry & Johnson retaining the proprietary medi- 



112 TOWN AND CITV OF BURLINGTON. 

cine department, which they still continue, with the addition, in 1879, of L. 
B. Lord to the company, making the firm as at present. The specialties which 
they manufacture are N. H. Downs' Elixir, Baxter's Mandrake Bitters, and 
Arnica and Oil Liniment, besides a large line of toilet articles, extracts, essence^ 
and other proprietary medicines. They have traveling salesmen in all New 
England and the Middle States, while their sales extend to ail parts of the 
Union, 




The stores known as the Lyman block, Nos. 179 — 18$ College street, and 
Nos. iiS, I20, r22 Church street, were erected by John and Cornelius Wick- 
ware, on the site purchased by them of Col. Henry Thomas. January 15, 1829. 
It was built in the summer of 1S29, for their dry goods trade, and was the second 
store erected on Church street, now the principal business street of the city. 
Mr. Sion £. Howard's store on the block north, the site of the present How- 
ard Opera House, being the first. The block was sold to Jonathan Wick- 
ware, August 33, 1834, and by htm to Samuel Hickok, Feb. 14, 1835. It 
was purchased by Capt. Gideon Lathrop, May 15, 1838, and was successively 
occupied by Messrs. D. W. Ingersol & Co., John S. Potwin & Co., and 
Joseph Wait, for dry goods and general country trade. Mr. Elias Lyman, 
who had received his early merchantile education in the house of Justin and 
Elias Lyman (his father), then extensive merchants and jobbers at Hartford, 
Vt., purchased the block in 1844, for his drj' goods business. In 1S47, Mr. 
Lyman formed a partnership with his cousin, Edward Lyman, now the senior 
partner of the wholesale and retail dry goods house of Lyman & Allen. The 
firm of E. & E, Lyman continued till 1851, when Mr. Elias Lyman retired. 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. II3 

Mr. Edward Lyman succeeding to the business, in the same store, till 1868. 
From that date till 1878, the store was occupied by L. W. Page, and subse- 
quently by Messrs A. B. Simonds & Co., dry goods merchants. Since Sep- 
tember, 1878, it has been occupied by A. N. Percy, manager of the Burling- 
ton Clothing Co. 

JLyman &* Allen, wholesale dealers in dry and fancy goods, — This firm, 
located on Church and Bank streets, was established in 1868, as a continua- 
tion of the business commenced by Mr. Bkiward Lyman, the senior member 
of the firm, in 1848. Their store is large and commodious, 74x45 feet, and 
employs sixteen persons, while two salesmen are kept upon the road. The 
l>usiness done by the firm amounts to $200,000.00 annually. 

ydn Sicklen, Seymour 6- Co. — In 1856, the firm of Van Sicklen & Walker 
organized for the wholesale trade of general groceries and provisions. In 
878, the firm was changed as it now is, being the oldest in this line in the 
ty, and still does business at the old " stone stores," South Wharf. They 
^ive employment to ten men. 

Breweries. 

About 1800, Daniel Staniford owned a distillery on the north side of Pearl 

street, near the present Winooski avenue, where he brewed ale, beer and por- 

^cr, and manufactured other fluids which even the phlegmatic votary of lager 

inking cannot claim as *' non-intoxicating," Another distillery was subse- 

uently operated nearer the head of Pearl street, by Loomis & Bradley. 

amuel Hickok built a brewery on the west side of Champlain street, which 

as burned down. It was afterwards rebuilt by George Peterson, about 

^ ^37, who used it for many years in manufacturing ale, usually about 1,500 

X^^xt^i'^ each year. It was taken by 

Ammi F. Stone, in 187 1, who manufactured about 3,000 barrels per year. 
Xvi 1878, he added the business of bottling lager, and manufactured the same 
€or two years, when its manufacture was discontinued, though he still con- 
tinues the bottling, procuring his lager at Albany, N. Y., using about 400 
^^*Tels per year. 

Banks. 

Soon after the year 1800, many attempts to establish banks of discount and 
^^r>Osit based upon a circulating ciurency were made, but the people were 
^^ then in a condition to receive them. They believed in the exchange of 
^^^^Uiodities rather than the to them frail and unreliable I. O. U.'s of the 
^^cs, and that " by introducing a more extensive credit the tendency of 
"^'^Vs would be to palsy the vigor of industry and to stupefy the vigilance of 
^^x^omy, the only two honest, general and sure sources of wealth. " Conse- 
^w&ntly the petitions to the legislature, not only from Burlington, but from 
^'^i^nt parts of the State, were met with a sturdy resistance. In 1803, a 
^^ for establishing a bank here was passed by the assembly, at Westminster^ 



114 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 



by a vote of ninety-three to eighty-three, but was non-concurred in by the 
governor and his council Again, in 1805, a similar bill passed the house of 
representatives, and was likewise non-concurred in, and failed to become a 
law. But in 1806, the Vermont State Bank was chartered, and during the 
following year a branch was established at Burlington, where it remained until 
1812, when the legislature ordered its removal to Woodstock. The bank 
was located on the west side of the square, and its business transacted by 
Samuel Hickok, who acted as cashier. By the original act establishing the 
branch, it was provided that the directors of the State Bank, thirteen in num- 
ber, chosen annually by the legislature, should assign three of their number to 
said branch, two of which should constitute a quorum to manage the prudential 
concerns of the said branch. The two directors residing in this locality were 
William C. Harrington and Noah Chittenden. In 18 16, an application was 
made to the legislature for establishing another branch here, which, after much 
discussion and delay, was granted in 1818, and the Bank of Burlington immedi- 
ately went into operation, occup3dng a building on the north side of the 
square, and shortly afterwards a two-story building on the present site of the 
Howard Opera House, where it did a successful business for many years, its 
charter being extended by the legislature three different periods, by acts ap- 
proved November 5, 1830, November 8, 1847, ^^^ November 20, 1861. The 
bank had a capital of $ 1 50,000.00, and was managed by a board of seven 
directors, who chose a president and cashier. Cornelius P. Van Ness was the 
first president, and Andrew Thompson, cashier. Business was suspended and 
the institution went out of existence, January i, 1868, by a proclamation of 
the governor, Paul Dillingham, annulling the charters of all State banking 
institutions. In 1 830, a branch of the United States Bank was established 
here, and continued business until the expiration of the charter of the parent 
bank. Their banking house was situated on the northeast comer of Collie 
and St Paul streets, where the Savings Bank now is. The officers of the 
institution were, Heman Allen, president, and Thomas Hockley, cashier. 
The Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank was chartered November 4, 1834, with a 
capital of 100,000.00, John Peck, president, and Thomas Hockley, cashier. 
Their banking house was situated on the northeast comer of St Paul and 
College streets, where they did business until 1868, their charter being extended 
October 31, 1846, and November 20, 1861. 

TA^ Commercial Bank of Burlington was chartered November 8, 1847, with 
a capital of $150,000.00, and Harry Bradley, president, and Martin A. Sey- 
mour, cashier. Its charter was extended in 1861, and it continued business 
as a State Bank until 1868, since which time it has been operated as a private 
institution by V. P. Noyes, with J. E. Lovell, cashier. 

The Merchants Bank was incorporated November 10, 1849, with ^ capital 
of $150,000.00, Timothy FoUett, president, and H. S. Noyes, cashier. It first 
commenced business on the east side of Water street, and subsequently moved 
to its present location on College street In 1865, it was reorganized as a 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 



IIS 



Nationfi! bank, with a capiul of $300,000.00, under its present name of 
Merchants' National BanlL A year or two later the capital was increased to 
$400,000.00, and in 1870, it bought out the First National Bank, with which 
it was consolidated, making its capital $700,000.00, which was subsequently 
decreased, until it now has a capital of $500,000.00, and a surplus fund of 
$100,000.00. H. P. Hickok is president, and C. W. Woodhouse, cashier. 

The Howard National Bank,\oc»XtA 
on the northeast comer of Church ai 
College streets, was chartered June i 
1870, with a capital of $200,0000 
Lawrence Barnes was chosen president , ^ 
F. N. Van Sicklen, vice-president , and a 
C. A, Sumner, cashier, and still retain | 
their offices. The capital was subse 
■quently increased to $300,000 00, and I 
the bank now has a surplus fund of « 
$23,500.00. The building occupied by 1 
the institution was erected by the First - 
National Bank, in 1867, and is admirably \ 
adapted for the purposes of a bank, as it 1 
is fire-proof, neat and commodious, and 
furnished with spacious vaults hned with j 
walls of railroad iron, and is heated by ^ 
steam. The whole block is not used by 
them, however, but rented to other par 
ties, the principal portion to Mr Charles P Fnssell, successor to Griswold 
& Frissell, being one of the oldest insurance agencies in the city, having been 
established by S. Wires, in 1848, and represents some of the strongest foreign 
and American companies. 

The Burlington Savings Bank, located on the northeast comer of St. Paul 
and College streets, was chartered by the legislature December 13, 1 847, with 
John N. Poraeroy, president ; Wyllys Lyman, vice-president ; and Edward A. 
Stansbury, secretary. The bank has always done a good business and retained 
the confidence of its depositors since it first commenced operation, the month 
following the grant of its charter, January 1848. It now has the names of 
many depositors on its books, whose money is judiciously and safely invested. 
The present officers are : S. M. Pope, president j C. F. Ward, treasurer ; and 
F. W. Ward, leUer. 

7Sf Farmer/ and Mechanic/ Savings Institution and TVusi Company, 
located on Collie street, waschartered by the legislature November 1 1, 1870, 
with a capital of $100,000.00, with power toincrease the same to $500,000.00, 
and " to receive moneys on deposit or in trust, at such rate of interest or on 
such terms as may be agreed upon, the rate of interest to be allowed for de- 
posits not to exceed the legal rate." The present list of officers is as follows : 




Il6 TOWN AND CITY OP BURLINGTON. 

Henry P. Hickok, president ; Charles W. Woodhouse. treasurer ; Henry P. 
Hickok, George Morton, Edward Lyman, Charles W. Woodhouse, and Lorenzo 
Z. Woodhouse, trustees. The business of the institution is transacted by the 
Merchants National Bank, who receive and pay deposits daily, during banking 
hours. 

Public Buildings. 

The public buildings are all substantial, well-built structures, the finest of 
which is the county court-house, located on Church street It is an elegant 
building, two stories in height, with a mansard roof, built of cut and hammered 
stone, and said to be the second best public building in the State. Its structure 
was commenced in 187 1, and completed in 1873, costing between $50,000.00 
and $60,000.00. The county jail is situated on Church street, midway be- 
tween Bank and Cherry streets, upon land conveyed for the purpose by Capt 
King, in 1802. It is a two-stor>' structure, built of brick, and well adapted for 
the convenience and safety of those who for a time may become involuntary 
guests of the county. The City Hall, located on the southeastern comer of 
the Square, was built in the years 1853 and 1854. It is 80 by 80 feet, with a 
basement, which is built of stone, the other two stories being brick with stone 
trimmings. The basement is used for a police office, and shops and stores of 
various kinds ; the first story for the city offices, and the upper story for the halL 
and is valued at about $36,000.00. On August 4, 1854, congress passed an 
act appropriating $40,000.00 for the erection of a custom house, postoffice, 
and rooms for the district judge of the United States courts, at Burlington, 
and also enough to purchase a location for the building. A site was selected on 
the southeast corner of Main and Church streets, containing two and one-half 
acres of land, for which $7,750.00 was paid. The construction of the build- 
ing was commenced in the fall of 1855, and finished in the spring of 1857. 
In June, 1858, an appropriation was made of $4,000.00, for paving and 
grading the grounds and furnishing the building. It is made of brick, iron 
and stone, and is fire-proof; only the doors, base-boards, and the floors of the 
upper story are made of wood. In 1870, a city market building was erected 
on the comer of Main street and Winooski avenue, at a cost of $10,000.00. 
It was used for a time and gave promise of proving of great public utility, but 
soon grew into disfavor, was abandoned, and now stands unoccupied. 

Educational. 

As early as 1790, the town was divided into school districts, by a committee 
appointed for that purpose, consisting of Col. Frederick Saxton, Capt David 
Stanton, and Daniel Hurlburt, who reported said division to be two for the 
whole township. It thus remained until 1795, when a third was added, from 
the southern part of the town, and to this number was added one more during 
the following year, consisting of " the house lots at Burlington Bay, " the 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. II7 

nucleus of the village. From that time until 18 13, districts were added, un- 
til the town had eight, Nos. i, 2, and 8 of which being located at the village. 
In 1815, the boundaries of the districts having become uncertain and indefi- 
nite, on the 28th of April, John Johnson, Nathan Smith, and George Robin- 
son were appointed a committee to ascertain the lines of the several districts. 
They reported at a meeting held on the 12th of the following May. The report 
was accepted, and the districts established accordingly. This report con- 
tained the boundaries of seven districts : The village district, bounded on 
the south by the south lines of lots No. 160, 158, 164, 184, and the westerly 
half of lot 109; on the east by a line running from the centre of the south 
line of lot No. 109, northerly, east of the college grounds, to the river, just east 
of the residence of the late John N. Pomeroy ; on the west and north by the 
lake and river. No. i included the territory at the falls and loo-acre lots 
lying on the river, and most of the two three-acre lots adjoining the latter. 
Nos. 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6, just as they remained for many years. In 1816, the 
part of the town northwest of the village was formed into a district and num- 
bered 7. From this time until 1820, no changes were made ;but at that time 
district No. 8 was formed out the territory near the High bridge, being the 
easterly end of district No. i. In 1829, the village district was divided into 
six districts, numbered 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14, to which was subsequently 
added 15 and 16. A union school district was organized, December 28, 
1849, composed of districts No. 10, 12, 13, 14 and 15. Only scholars in 
the higher branches of learning from the districts composing the Union dis- 
trict attended the school, which was equal in all respects to the best acade- 
mies in the State. Thus affairs stood at the time the city was organized, the 
Union School being located on the northwest corner of College and Willard 
streets, where the High School now is, and each of the districts possessed a 
good school-house, where school was usually kept from six to ten months 
-each year. Previous to the first day of April, 1868, the city was divided into 
eleven school districts, and under the charge of a superintendent ; but on that 
date an amendment to the city charter came into effect, and since that time 
they have been under the charge of a board of commissioners, who are respon- 
sible for the schools in a higher degree than the district school officers ever 
were. Accordingly, they decline to consider the general reputation of a 
teacher, or even the State's certificates as sufficient recommendation for a 
place in the schools, and insist on a special examination of applicants by their 
own committee. Under this plan the schools have been greatly increased in 
usefulness, and the city now has a most excellent school system, with a fine 
Iwgh school, a grammar school, three intermediate, four primary, a primary 
and intermediate, one with primary, intermediate and grammar grades, an 
ungraded, and an evening school, employing forty-two teachers, to whom is 
p^d an aggregate annual salary of $15,594.85. The High School building 
^^ erected in 1878, at a cost $30,000.00. It is seventy-four feet long by 
fifty-four feet wide, three stories high, and is so arranged as to accommo- 



Il8 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

date the entire high school department, and at the same time, when necessity 
requires, affords a fine audience hall for general exercises, exhibitions, eta 
From i860, up to 187 1, the city had no additional school-house accommo- 
dations, with the population largely increased in that time. So the commis- 
sioners adopted and recommended to the city a plan that would accommo- 
date the high school department, and extend the tax for the same for over a 
period of five years, so as to raise a small tax each year until the whole 
amount should be paid ; and after much debate and time spent in the exam- 
ination of grounds, located the building, with the unanimous approval of the 
city council, upon the old academy site, on College street The school is 
under the very able charge of D. Temple Torrey, principal. 

South Burlington now has a population of 665, is divided into six schools dis- 
tricts and contains six common schools, employing six female teachers, to 
whom is paid an aggregate salary of $1,000.00. The schools are usually open 
from six to ten months during the year, with an aggregate average attendance 
of about 100 pupils. 

University of Vermont and State Agricultural College, — No University in 
the United States can boast a finer site than that belonging to this venerable 
institution, chartered November 3, 1791, thus lacking but a few years of its 
centennial anniversary. Its buildings cap a crest of land on the eastern side of 
the city, 277 feet above the lake and one mile back from the shore, command- 
ing a beautiful view of the lake, the Adirondacks, Green Mountains, and the 
valleys of VVinooski River and Lake Cham plain. The corporation was organized 
on the same day its charter was issued. In 1794, the original dwelling for the 
president was commenced, nearly finished in 1795, but not completed so as 
to be occupied until 1799, when the Rev. Daniel C. Sanders was authorized 
to occupy the building, and opened therein a school to fit boys for college. 
In October of the following year, 1800, Mr. Sanders was chosen president, 
and instruction was commenced in the University, four students being 
admitted. In seven years the number had increased to forty-seven. The 
original college building was erected the following year, 1801, a structure of 
cruciform shape, four stories in height, 160 feet long, seventy-five feet wide 
in the central part, and forty-five feet in the wings, containing a chapel, seven 
public rooms, and forty-five chambers for students. 

In the course of the war of 1812-15, ^^^ college edifice was taken by the 
U. S. Government, to be used, first as an arsenal, and finally for barracks. 
This compelled a suspension of the institution ; the salaried officers were dis- 
missed in March, 181 4, and the students recommended to other colleges. In 
September, 181 5, the University was reorganized, the buildings having been 
put in complete repair by the Government. In 1824, this building was 
burned, with the librar>' and apparatus, and on the following 29th of June, 
1825, the corner-stone of the present edifice was laid by Gen. LaFayette. 
As this building is now in process of re-construction, a detailed account of it 
would be superfluous. It may be said, however, that the new building will 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. II 9 

be higher than the old one, but of the same length (250 feet), and will group 
all the public rooms in the middle of the building, leaving the ends or wings 
for dormitories. 

The library building was erected in 1862. It contains a valuable collec- 
tion of 20,000 volumes. The museum occupies the ground floor of the build- 
ing, while the casts and other treasures of the Park Gallery of Arts may be 
found in the third story. 

The Vermont Agricultural College was chartered in 1864, under the act of 
Congress of July 2, 1862, and by the act of November 9, 1865, was incor- 
porated with the University of Vermont. Each institution is represented in 
the Board of Control by nine trustees, those of the Agricultural College 
being elected by the legislature. 

In addition to the medical course and the usual course in arts, including 
languages, mathematics, the natural sciences and philosophy, the University 
offers courses in civil engineering, in theoretical and applied chemistry, in 
agriculture and related branches, and in metallurgy and mining engineering ; 
as also a literary-scientific course, which omits the Greek of the course in 
arts, and fills its place with sciences and modern languages. Women are ad- 
mitted to all the courses except the medical. 

The whole number of those who have completed their studies in the Uni- 
versity, up to 1881, is 1,771. The graduates in medicine from 1823 to 1836, 
number 116; between 1853, the period of reorganization, and 1 881, they 
count 701, or 817 in alL The total of academic graduates is 954, of whom 
about 200 became clergymen, 355 lawyers, and 70 physicians ; others are 
teachers, farmers, editors^ merchants, eta It is expected that the re-con- 
structed edifice will be ready for occupancy in October, 1882, by which time, 
also, a bronze statue of LaFayette will grace the park in front of the main 
college building, For both the re-building and the statue the University will 
be indebted to the generosity of John P. Howard, Esq., who has already more 
than once testified his interest in the institution by very substantial tokens. 

The officers of instruction and government are as follows: Matthew 

Henry Buckham, D. D., president; Samuel White Thayer, M. D., LL. D., 

professor emeritus of general and special anatomy, and dean of the medical 

Acuity ; Rev. Mc Kendree Petty, A. M., Williams professor of mathematics ; 

/o>in Ordronaux, M. D., LL. D., professor emeritus of medical jurispru- 

^^nct ; Rev. Henry Augustus Pearson Torrey, A. M., Marsh professor of 

''^^^Uectual and moral philosophy; Volney Giles Barbour, Ph. B., professor of 

^'^'^l engineering; George Henry Perkins, Ph. D., Howard professor of 

"^^tural history ; Rev. John Ellsworth Goodrich, A. M., professor of Latin ; 

^^^"illiam Darling, LL. D., F. R. C. S., professor of general and special 

^■^'^tomy; Albert Freeman Africanus King, M. D., professor of obstetrics and 

*^^«ases of women ; Henry D wight Holton, A. M., M. D., professor of 

t'^ia.tcria medica and general pathology; James Lawrence Little, M. D., pro- 

t^^sor of the principles and practice of surgery ; Rev. Joshua Isham Bliss, A. 



I20 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

M., professor of rhetoric ; Alvah Horton Sabin, M. S., professor of chemistry 
and physics ; Ashbel Parmelee Grinnell, M. D., professor of the theory and 
practice of medicine, and secretary of the medical faculty ; Rudolph August 
Witthaus, A. M., M. D., professor of medical chemistry and toxicology ; 
Samuel Franklin Emerson, A. B., professor of Greek and modem lan- 
guages ; Herbert Everett Tutherly, ist. Lieut ist Cav. U. S. A., professor 
of military science and tactics ; John Henry Jackson, M. D., lecturer on 
physiology and microscopic anatomy ; Robert William Taylor, M. D., special 
professor of diseases of the skin ; Stephen Martindale Roberts, A. B., M. D., 
special professor of diseases of children ; Adrian Theodore Woodward, M. 
D., special professor of the surgical diseases of women ; Daniel Bennett St. 
John Roosa, M. D., LL. D., special professor of diseases of the eye and 
ear ; George Minot Garland, M. D., special professor of thoracic diseases ; 
William James Morton, M. D., special professor of diseases of the mind and 
nervous s>'stem; Edward John Phelps, LL. D., special professorof medical juris- 
prudence ; Jacob Chase Rutherford, M . D., demonstrator of anatomy ; Hiram 
Hayden Atwater, A. M., M. D., instructor in obstetrics and diseases of woman 
and children ; William Brown Lund, A. M., M. D., instructor in materia 
medica and therepeutics ; Andrew Jackson Willard, A. M., M. D., instructor 
in chemistry and toxicology ; George C. Briggs, M. D., instructor in physi- 
ology and microscopic anatomy ; John Brooks Wheeler, A. B.,M. D., instmctor 
in principals and practice of surger}' ; Prof. Goodrich, librarian ; Prof. Pelt>', 
curator of buildings ; Prof. Perkins, curator of museum ; and Prof. Barbour, 
superintendent of grounds ; Prof. Grinnell, secretar}* of the medical faculty. 

The Medical Department of the University was first fully organized in 1821. 
The gentlemen who composed the faculty at that time were : John Pome- 
roy, professor of surgery; James K.. Piatt, professor of midwifer}'; Arthur L. 
Porter, professor of chemistry ; Nathan R. Smith, professor of anatomy ; and 
William Paddock, professor of practice and materia medica. Instruction 
was given by these gentlemen and their successors for thirteen years, during 
which time 114 students were graduated from the institution. The result of 
the enterprise was not successful, for after 1825, the number of students 
steadily diminished, and, in 1836, the department ceased to exist Two un- 
successful attempts to revive it were made by Dr. S. W. Thayer, the first in 
1840, the second in 1842; but it was not until 1853, that Dr. Thayer, with 
the aid of President Smith, Rev. John Wheeler, Prof. Benedict, Hon. John 
X. Pomeroy, and other public-spirited citizens of Burlington, succeeded in re- 
organizing the Medical College. The new medical faculty consisted of 
Horatio Nelson, professor of surgery ; S. W. Thayer, professor of anatomy ; 
Orrin Smith, professor of obstetrics ; Henr)- Emi, professor of chemistry ; and 
Walter Carpenter, professor of materia medica. Since this time the growth 
and prosperity of the institution have been uninterrupted, a fact which is 
owing mainly to the untiring efforts of Professors Thayer and Carp>enter. 
During their long connection with the medical department, these gentlemen 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 




(MEDICAL DEPARTMENT, UNIVERSITV 



lia.-v« spared neither time nor labor in the promotion of its welfare. Prof. 
Ca.rpenter filled the chair of materia medica from the organization of the col- 
lege in 1853, until 1857, when he was made professor of theory and practice, 
*I*<5sition which he held until his resignation, in 1881. Prof. Thayer lectured 
oi* anatomy and surgery, besides discharging the duties of dean and secre- 
'*0'i from 1855 until 1872, when he left Burlington to reside for some years 
10 the West. At this time he was made emeritus professor of anatomy. On 
■"s return to active practice in BurUngton, in 1881, he was re-appointed dean 
™ *«e medical faculty, and took the chair of hygiene and State medicine. It 
•* *o the liberality of Prof. Thayer that the college owes a greater part of its 
""seum. 

^o single act of any person has conferred so much benefit upon the Medi- 
™ College, however, as the generous deed of Miss Mary Fletcher, in found- 
^^ the hospital which bears her name. Since the opening of the Mary 
"Wcher Hospital, medical students have had access to its wards and amphi- 
™Wte, and are thus enabled to enjoy such clinical advantages as are af- 
lOtded by very few, if any other places of the size of Burlington. The Medi- 
ral Collie building is situated on the College Green, near the main University 



122 TOWN ANU CIT\ (»F B KLINGTON. 



building, and within five minut* s' wak f thr Fletcher Hospital Through 
the generosity of a number of the c\t:z" s of Burliigton, it was repaired and 
enlarged in 1880, so that each of as ■. .vo le< ture r 'oms will now accommodate 
more than two hundred students. .' tw stov addition has also been built, 
which contains a dissecting-room a d • cheni :il laboratory, both large, well- 
appointed apartments. 

T/tt Vermont Episcopal Ins tt tuft.— 1 I e \ trmont Episcopal Institute was 
founded by the Rt Rev. John H' i.r> H< pki s. D. D., LL. D., first Bishop 
of Vennont, and incorporated by the Kgisl; ttre Novtmber 14, 1854. John 
H. Hopkins, Charles B. Marvin, 1 h. m.is H. Canfield, Edward J. Phelps^ and 
Albert L. Catlin constituted the ft' si board < f trustees, the latter three of 
whom still are members Cif tht- b< ard. 1 ht- \ ropeity held by the corporation 
consists of a tract of land one lun'teH a(rts 'n extent, located upon Rock 
Point, distant about two miles funi the Bunii ^ton postoffice, directly across 
the bay and within full view < f the city, | ossessirg advantages of extraor- 
dinary attraction in point of htraMifu nrss, ruie a r, beautiful scenery, eta In 
point of scenery, especiallv, the lo< Mv 1 is ui exctlled. Rock Point itself has 
already been mentioned for its w'd, pictnresque aspect; but the lovely view 
it affords of the lake, the city, the Grren and Adirondack Mountains, sur- 
passes its own picturesqueness. and situated also, as it is, in the midst of an 
historical region, renders it, as we have said W f. re, a peculiarly advantageous 
site for a school and seminary of learning. Up« »n this property is the brick resi- 
dence of the late Bishop Hopkins, al^o a largest* ne building, erected from speci- 
mens of marble found c>n the plare, 1 25 ft et long, fifty-seven feet wide at the north- 
em end, and sixty-six feet wide at the >« )uihern end, in which is a beautiful chapel, 
complete, for the accommodation of i50|>ers()ns, and equipped with all other 
appurtenances for a first-class 1 Otirdii g school, which will accommodate sev- 
enty-five pupils, with the principal and his family. The style of architecture 
is the Collegiate Gothic, of the same grneral chiracter which prevails in the 
English Universities of Oxford and Cambridge. The tower, sixty feet in 
height, projects twenty-two fett, c rd 'h chancel window of the chapel, which 
is in the second stor>', is a fine exan:f '"'e « f e* ch siastical architecture. Inside, the 
chapel is decorated with several It ant fi.l scrijtUTe paintings, executed by the 
late Bishop. The building iist If. v -th its deej 1\ recessed windows and do<Ms, 
tall, projecting tower, and wall- flanked with buttresses, presents an appear- 
ance which is universally considert^d ^r<ind and impressive. 

The school has been in ope? anon t\*enty-<ne years, under the charge of 
Rev. Theodore A. Hopkins, a >on of the late Bishop, and during that time 
acquired a wide and extensive ie| utation as a scund and thorough educator. 
He is now succeeded by Henry H. Ross, A. M., an experienced teacher, 
well fitted for main tain irg and iMitasng tie high standard of instruction 
established by his predecessor. The oneinal tract of land and all the build- 
ings (except the seminar}' builr'^g vhich he erected during his life time) were 
oii^Tied by the late Bishop Hopk ns. In his experience as Bishop, he saw 



1 

4 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 1 23 



^ \''f rmont was at best a small Diocese, and that by reason of the constant 
fir ' « f its young and roost active population to the more attractive fields in 
he ^^ est, the Church would be necessarily small and weak, and with difficulty 
•' d sustain a Bishop, and withal had no Church school within its borders. 
Hr- r'e»erniined, therefore, so far as he was able, to provide for this deficiency 
" givir g and devoting," as he expressed it in his deed, " all this property 
• I etually to the service of Almighty God, as the property of the Protestant 
^ ] -(oijal Church in the Diocese of Vermont, for the purpose of being the 
e d« nee of the present and every furture Bishop of said Diocese, and the 
•C)r a Theological Seminary and school in strict conformity to the stand- 
d •'•■rimes, worship, and discipline of the Protestant Episcopal Church in 
h Vn ltd States of America," The deed bears date December 15, 1854, 
♦i-e property was then valued at $20,000.00, all of which he conveyed to 
e • « Tp<iration for purposes set forth in the deed. From that time on he 
- red. and procured during his life-time some $40,000.00, which was ex- 
en- cH if) the erection of the Seminary and other buildings, and the accumu- 
oi. I f a fund for the erection of a girls' school, the foundation of which he 
« « • mmenced, when he was called from the Church militant to the Church 
T I phant, on the 9th day of January, 1868. 

h- s does the Church in Vermont possess, what can hardly be said of any 

• I Diocese in the Union, a residence for her Bishop, with a farm of one 

u i\ui\ acres, furnishing ample room for the erection, in addition to the 

present ones, of buildings for a young ladies' school, a Theological Seminary, 

<>>l>ital, and, indeed, all the buildings necessary for the full working and 

dev Cm pment of the Church, and this, too, through the efforts and labor, and 

y ' he (loiiationK)f all the property he possessed in this world, of her devoted, 

•:»<i^r.tij|e and lamented first Bishop. It is proper to say, however, that the 

'•itt; Bishop was assisted and sustained in all his undertakings and plans by a 

' 'Ard t.f trustees, composed of clergymen and laymen from different parts of 

^*^ i >u>cese, who always acted in harmony with him, and to whom the Church 

' ^?^ a debt of gratitude. While all of these labored and devoted time to 

" en t erprise, without receiving a dollar of compensation, or even re-imburse- 

^ '^s for their expenses, it would not be invidious, we take it, to mention 

^ nie \%ho have served upon the Executive Committee and devoted much of 

' ^ time and attention to the cause. Of these were the late Julius E» 

"^figins, of Brandon, James H. Williams, of Bellows Falls, Richard G. Cole, 

* Turlington, and Harmon Canfield, of Arlington, all of whom have gone to 

^•^ ^ rtst ; and of the living, Rt. Rev. Bishop Bissell, Rev. Dr. Sweet, Hon. 

Roderick Richardson, of Montpelier, Hon. George R. Chapman, of Wood- 

sl»cw, Hon. Alfred Keith, of Sheldon, Hon. A. L. Catlin, Artemus Prouty, 

'*^*^ 1 homas W. Canfield, of Burlington, the latter gentleman having been 

\ ^asuter most of the time, and closely identified with and assisting the late 

ki^shi p during the earlier years, when the construction and organization were 

V^i^g on, and who had, during that time, the immediate supervision and care 



124 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

of the whole proi)erty and assets of the corporation. In the last report of 
the convention of the Diocese, the trustees say : " It is now a quarter of a 
century since the late Bishop Hopkins made his first annual report in behalf 
of the trustees of the convention. Some who were members of the Board 
then are with us to-day ; and amid all the trying exigencies through which 
our Nation has passed during that time, the seven periods of financial disaster 
which have occurred, there has been no interruption in the workings of the 
Institute, and not a dollar of its funds has been lost, $73,000 of which have 
come into their hands." Between the residence and the Seminary building, 
the trustees have laid out a cemetery, overlooking the lake, which has been 
duty consecrated by the present Bishop of the Diocese, and a beautiful mon- 
ument, designed by his eldest son, erected from money contributed by friends 
in different parts of the Diocese, appropriately marks the spot where rest the 
remains of the late Bishop and seven members of his family. 

TA^ Burlington Commercial School. — This institution was establised by 
the present principal, Mr. G. W. Thompson, in 1878, since which time it has 
been steadly increasing in public favor, as a thorough educator in the training 
which fits young men for the business cares and responsibilities of life. Mr. 
Thomson also is engaged by the city to teach penmanship and book-keeping 
in the public schools. 

Here we will end our brief sketch of the educational advantages afforded 
by Burlington, "the City of Learning," as we have heard it called, ii^ith one other 
thought which presents itself. Some of the oldest residents are able to recall to 
mind a neat, dapper pedagogue, one who always insisted upon using a quill 
pen, and also obliged his pupils to do the same, though his penmanship, a 
specimen of which may be seen in an old Bible, in the possession of the 
Brinsmaid family, proclaimed him to have been a thorough master of the 
science. Years ago, however, he laid aside the ferule and quill, and went to his 
long rest. His son was named Chester — Chester A. Arthur. 

Libraries. 

The Fletcher Free Library, — In the summer of 1873, Mrs. Mary L. 
Fletcher, with her daughter, Miss Mary M. Fletcher, gave to the city of Bur- 
• lington twenty thousand dollars for the founding of a city library, to be 
called the Fletcher Free Librar}-. Half of this sura was to be spent at once 
for books, the other half kept for a library fund. Charles Russell, Henry 
Loomis, and Henry P. Hickok, were named trustees of this fund. The mayor 
of the city, ex-officio^ with Matthew H. Buckham, L. G. Ware, E. J. Phelps, 
and Samuel Huntington, were to be trustees of the library. Each board of 
trustees was empowered to fill vacancies in their numbers occasioned by 
death, resignation or removal from the city. The city government accepted 
the gift, and assumed the charge of the library, and have ever since shown a 
wise care of, and made generous appropriations for it, as an important means 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 12$ 

to public education and a credit to the city. The large room in the old court- 
house, which the court had just vacated for their new building, was fitted with 
gallery and cases and the proper furnishings, and proved a commodious and 
light place for library use. Ten thousand dollars of the gift was spent, and 
an excellent selection made of standard books, with a good supply of the 
more popular sort. Since then, by a gift of four thousand dollars more, from 
its generous founders, and by kind gifts from various associations and from 
private persons, the library has grown to its present large proportions. The 
entire libraries of the Young Men's Christian Association, the Young Men's 
Association, and of Green Mountain lodge I. O. of O. F., — in all upwards of 
two thousand volumes — were turned over to the trustees. Besides which, 
Mr. B. B. Smalley presented to the library three very large and fine photo- 
graphic views, and Mrs. Irene F. Stetson the well-known steel engraving of 
Washington, by J. H. Hills, of this city. 

The library now contains about 1 5,000 volumes and pamphlets, under the 
care of the efficient librarian, Mr. T. P. W. Rogers, and is also a depository of 
public documents of the United States. Its generous founders, Mrs. Mary Law- 
rence (Peaslee) Fletcher and Miss Mary Martha Fletcher, were the wife and 
daughter of Thaddeus R. Fletcher, one of the wealthiest and most prominent 
citizens of Burlington. Miss Mary M. Fletcher, in addition to her share in 
founding the library, also established, in 1876, the public hospital mentioned 
in the sketch of the Medical College, the endowment of which called for nearly 
a. quarter of a million dollars. This hospital, (see next page,) in addition to 
its great value as an educator and a public benefit, has lately established (April, 
% 882,) a training school for nurses, under charge of a competent corps of 
professors, where those who intend to make nursing a profession, or any who 
siDaywish to receive instruction, may do so on payment of a small fee. 

Burlington Law Library Association, — This association includes among its 
OJembers nearly the whole membership of the bar of the county. They have 
SL large library, located in the court-house, which is much patronized by the 
I^£:ai profession, as the annual reports of many of the older States are taken. 
The officers are as follows : Russell S. Taft, president ; Charles E. Allen, 
secretary ; W. L. Bumap, treasurer, and Seneca Haselton, librarian 

-^^brary of the University of Vermont. — This library, containing 20,000 
"^^Ivimes, is spoken of on page 119, in connection with the University. 

Home For Destitute Children. 

"T^his charitable institution was founded October 3, 1865, through the per- 

'^•^al efforts of Miss Lucia T. Wheeler, of Burlington. A month later it was 

^^^^orporated by the legislature, the object being to provide destitute children 

* Home to " supply their necessities, promote their intellectual, moral and 

^^gious improvement, and fit them for situations of usefulness and self- 

^^^ntcnance." The charity was placed under the control of a board, in 



TOWN AN «irv •)l* MIJKLINGTON. 12/ 



which each den om in ati«>n of he Pr i« stait Church should be represented. 
The necessity for its establisi m nt, and ilio judicious character of its manage- 
ment, are apparent in the sn* c« >s (»i the (harity from the first. Beginning 
with seven little waifs of s« c 'v. it has. during the years of its existence, 
taken and found good homes l<" -• v«ral hundred children, besides the hun- 
dred who are at preset t inmii'es « f \hv institution. July i6, 1866, the U. S. 
Marine Hospital and gr u» «'s v\ re p'lrchn^ed by the corporation for $7,000.- 
00, the building enlarged and >« p;* V' <i at a cost of $23,000.00, so that it will 
now accommodate one hundr •' nm t's. l he institution is maintained by a 
permanent fund of $5 1.000.00 in vlditirm to which Mr. John P. Howard pre- 
sented them, in 1881. « t • 'h maunincent opera house and block that bears 
his name, which cost ovei jo«. ,cco 00. I he present officers of the institution, 
are as follows: Presdrnt, ^ r- VVilham C. Hickok ; vice-president, Mrs. 
James A. Shedd ; trrasur* r \ r L. M. Cna])p; secretaries, Mrs. C. E. Miner, 
and Mrs. A. G. P^rce ass -'ant; managers. Mrs. J. Shedd, Mrs. W. F. 
Bowman, Mrs. L. B. Lord ^ r>. S. C Kimhall, Mrs. C. E. Miner, Mrs. A. G. 
Pierce, Mrs. Julia A. Si)'ar, Mr-. C. H. (Jray, Mrs. C. M. Spaulding, Mrs. B. 
Turk, Mrs. Theodore A. H«.pk ns Mi>s Carrie Kingsland, and Mrs. L. M. 
Clapp ; auditor of accou ts, M's. Sarah C. Cole; advisory committee, Henry 
LiOomis, Esq., Hon. Wi.lini C Shaw. Miss Mary C. Torrey, Mrs. Sarah C. 
Cole, and Edward Lymin. K q.; tristees of permanent fund, Charles T. 
"Ward, Elsq., Hon VVdiiam G .^haw, and Hon. Samuel Huntington ; county 
managers, Addison C nnty, Mis. A. P. Tupper, of Middlebury; Bennington 
Oounty, Miss S. E. P rk, • f lit u ing'on ; Caledonia County, Mrs. C. E. Stone, 
of St Johnsbury; Essex C ••! r\, Mrs. C. E. Benton, of Guildhall; Franklin 
County, Mrs. James Saxc *\ St. Albans; Grand Isle County, Mrs. O. G. 
'^Vheeler, of South Ht-ro; Lanoille County, Mrs. J. C. Noyes, of Morris- 
-^nlle; Orange Countv, Mrs A^ron Davis, of Chelsea; Orleans County, Mrs. 
E. P. Wild, of New[>ort ; Kntla d County, Mrs. S. W. Rowell, of Rutland; 
"VTashington County. Mrs Joseph Polana, of Montpelier ; Windham County, 
;^1ts. C. p. Thompson, of Brattleboro ; Windsor County, Mrs. H. A. John- 
'^on, of Woodstock. 

Their building was encted from an appropriation made by congress in 
^ ^55» of $35,000.00, f r the ere< tion of a marine hospital at Burlington, with 
^ sum sufficient to purchase tie land for a situation. A site was selected, two 
fXJiles south of the village, on the west side of the Shelburne road, embracing 
to acres, for which was paid $1,750 00. The building was commenced in 
XS56, and finished in 1858, durmg which later day another appropriation of 
94*000.00 was made. As it was not occupied for the purposes for which it 
''^as constructed, when the late cival war began the military authorities went 
into possession, and it was occupied as a military hospital for several years, 
principally for Vermont soldiers. 



128 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 



St. Joseph's Orphan Asylum. 

St. Joseph's Orphan Asylum, a Roman Catholic institution, located on the 
comer of Pearl and Prospect streets, was established by Bishop De Goesbriand, 
the first Catholic Bishopof Vermont, in 1854, and incorporated in 1866. The 
Asylum receives destitute orphans, educates them, and as soon as piossible 
furnishes them wiih suitable homes. The institution is managed by the Sisters 
of Charity, under the control of Sister Catharine, Superior. The Asylum has 
furnished, since its organization, homes for 1,400 children, while eighty-four 
are now inmates. 

Hotels. 

The first hotel was kept by Capt. Gideon King," on Battery street, who after- 
wards opened a hotel in the building now standing on the northeast comer of 
the square, known as the Strong block. The Howard House was kept for a 
long time on the north side of the square, where Turk's clothing store now 
is, and was destroyed by fire in 1848. The Green Mountain House, after- 
wards called the Pearl Street 
House, at the head of Pearl 
street, was used as a hotel for 
many years. The place lat- 
. terly called the Omnium Gath- 
erum, on the comer of Pine 
[ and Pearl streets, was also 
'. of the old-time houses. 
I A tavern was kept for about 
fifty years at the junction of 
the \\'inooski turnpike and 
the High bridge and Hines- 
(THE v*N NESS HOUSE ■ ^urgh Toad, called the Eld- 

ric^e place, and about one-half mile east of the Eldridge place a tavern was 
kept by Maj. Ebenezer Brown, and one also about two miles south of the 
city, on the Shelburne road. The Lake House, located on Battery street, a 
large, first-class hotel, was destroyed by fire several years since. At present, 
the city has as good hotel accommodations as are to be found in the State. 

The Van A'ess House. — This hotel, named in honor of Gov. Cornelius Van 
Ness, is a large, four-story brick building, located on the southwest comer of 
Main and St. Paul streets. The present building was erected in 1870, by D. 
C. Barber, upon the site of the old Franklin House, latterly the Howard 
House, which burned June 11, 1867. It has 135 lat^e, airy sleeping apart- 
ments, in addition to eight suits for families, and also several elegantly furnished 




Cipi. Dani 






I Lym, 

m jDHph, hitbnHher. Theoldhoicl ' 
t 1&40. GideoD livad b Ihv houH juvt c«M of il 









TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 1 29 

parlors, and a dining-hall capable of seating 150 guests. The whole is hand- 
somely furnished with modem furniture, of a tasty pattern, supplied with an 
elevator, bath-rooms, closets, etc., and indeed every modern convenience for the 
comfort of its guests, not forgetting to illuminate its public halls and parlors 
with electric lights. The present proprietors, Messrs. Bowman, Woodbury & 
Clark, came into possession of the property January i, 1882, previous to which 
it was conducted by W. F. Bowman & Co. Their exp)erience as popular 
hotel men rapidly made itself felt, and the general popularity of the house has 
since increased in the same ratio. 

The American Hotel, — This house, one of the old landmarks of the town 
has long been one of the most popular hotels in this region. Why it should 
be called the " American," and the hotel on the opposite corner be named 
the *' Van Ness," we cannot conceive ; for // should certainly have the honor, 
if honor it is, as a part of the building as it now stands was once the resi- 
dence of Gov. Van Ness, and in its time one of the finest in the town. Many 
historical incidents and episodes are connected with it, not the least of which, 
perhaps, is that Gen. LaFayette, during his visit to the city (village it was 
then), in 1825, held a levee in one of its parlors.* The room is still used as 
a parlor, located in the northwest comer of the building, opening just to the 
right of the principal stairway. In the center of it the brave old General 
stood, the bosom friend of Washington, and received the salutations of the 
masses who crowded the apartment, which remains to-day essentially in the 
same condition that it was on that eventful evening — the same windows, 
doors, wainscoting and mantles, nothing materially changed except the fur- 
niture. Still, were one who was present then to visit the house now, he 
would scarcely recognize it, so much enlarged and modernized has it been 
made. The building as it now stands is a four-story brick structure, extend- 
ing south on St. Paul street one hundred feet, and east on Main street about 
the same distance, containing over one hundred well-ventilated, well-furnished 
sleeping apartments, two large sample rooms, two spacious double parlors, 
and a dining-hall with accommodations for 200 guests. The building is sup- 

* This tradition has generally been accepted as truth ; but we have abundant evidence that the levee was 
held at the residence of Gov Van Ness, now known as the Lawrence Barnes house, on Main street. Still, the 
Geseral may have been in the present American Hotel during the evening, and in all probability met some com- 
pany there, which possibly has led to a misunderstanding of the facts. The following letter, from Mr. J. W. 
Uickok, whom we had addressed on the sublject, we think almost conclusive evidence that our view is correct : 

"Burlington, Vt., April 27, i88z. 
** Dbas Sis : I find on inquiry aunoog our oldest citizens that there is no doubt that Gov. Van Ne»s was 
Ihring 00 the hill, m the house now owned and occupied by Lawrence Barnes, Esq., in 18x4, and entertained 
LaFayette there in 1825. Mr. Abner Lowry came to Burlington in 18x4, and his first job as a painter was to 
paint the Van Ness house (now Barnes house), in the fall of that year. He says he attended the levee in honor 
of LaFsyette at that house, in June, i8xs. Henry P. Hickok, Esq., president of the Merchants' Bank, was a 
rtadcnt in the Univernty in i8x4^*xs, and saw LaFayette lay the comer stone of the University. He ssjrs he 
titr-***** the levee in his honor, at the Barnes house, and was then twenty-one years of age Mr. L. M. Hagar 
■iao cuufum s the statemenL He was an officer of the Champlain Steamboat Co. during the season of 1824, 
Van Ness as president, and had occasion to visit him at his house during that year, and says that he 
oocupied the building on the hill. I find no testimony among the old people which rebuts this evidence. 

"Respectfully yours, 

•* J. W. HicitOK.'* 



130 TOWN AND CITY OP BURLINGTON. 

plied throughout with gas, nicely furnished, and up to the times in evcwy 
respect. The proprietor, Mr. L. S. Drew, has been a hotel man all his life, 
and proprietor of the American Hotel twenty-one years, during whidi time 
he has made himself extremely popular with the traveling public 

Quiney House. — The Quincy House is a three-story wood building, located 
on the northwest corner of St Paul and Main streets. The building was ciw 
lathed from a dwelling house and first opened as a hotel by Charles Eaton, 
underthe name of the Park House, in 1874. The present proprietor, Mr. 
Diamond Stone has greatly improved the place, thoroughly repairing it 
throughout until it is now a neat tasty hotel, with twenty sleeping apartments, 
and a dinmg room with capacity for accommodating fifty guests. 

Row^s Hotel. — This hotel, located on the 
nonhwest comer of Church and Cheny 
streets, is one of the old landmarks of the 
city, having been built previous to the year 
1800. Many repairs have been made, how- 
^ p ever, so that the building now has a modon 
appearance. The present pro{xietor, Mr. 
H S. Kimball, keeps a neat, respectable 
house, and is courteous to his guests. 

Insurance— (Home Office). 

The Vermont Life Insuranee Company, 
' located at No. 179 Main street, was chartered 
by the legislature, October 28, 1868, with a 
capital of $100,000.00, and commenced busi- 
ness January i, 1869. The first officers were, 
Russell D. Taft, president ; R. S. Wires, vice- 
(VEKM(jftT~UFii INS. CO.) president j and Warren Gibbs, secretary. 
The present officers are, Warren Gibbs, president; Daniel Roberts, vice- 
president; and C. A. TurriU, secretary. 

Howard Opera House. 
This handsome building, located on the southwestern corner of Bank and 
Church streets, was erected by Mr. John P. Howard, some four or five years 
ago. It is built of pressed brick, sixty-five feet in height, 175 feet l<mg 
and 7S feet wide. The auditorium hasacapacity for seating i,i65persons, 
is beautifully furnished and decorated, and has a stage 74x30 feet. The 
building, including site, cost between $115,000.00 and $130,000.00. Mr. 
Howard subsequently gave the house to the Home for Destitute Children. 

Cemeteries. 
The date of the first interments in the town cannot now be ascertained. 




TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. I3I 

though it is known that Green Mount cenaetery, located on Colchester avenue, 
was first used soon after the settlement of the town, and consisted of two 
acres until 1869, when it was extended to ten. In addition to this, the city 
now has four others, aggregating fifty-six acres, devoted to this purpose. Lake 
View is the largest, covering thirty acres; Green Mount comes next with ten ; 
Mount St. Joseph's (Roman Catholic) has eight; Elmwood Avenue five, and 
Calvary (French Roman Catholic) three, completing the fifty-six acres. Elm- 
wood Avenue Cemetery was the next established, occupying school lot number 
113, and first used at the beginning of the present century. At the March 
meeting, in 181 2, a committee, consisting of John Johnson, Charles Adams, 
and John Eldridge, was appointed " to lay out and ascertain the graveyards 
in the town." At a meeting held April 19, 18 13, this committee reported a 
plan for laying out what is now called the Eldridge and Elmwood Avenue 
Cemeteries, but stated that the interments in the burying-ground at the Falls, 
now known as Green Mount Cemetery, were too irregular and crowded to 
allow it to be divided into lots and avenues. At an adjourned meeting held 
on the 24th of the same month, the committee, on request, reported a series 
of rules " for the regulation of the burying-ground north of the village," now 
known as Elmwood Avenue Cemetery. These were formally adopted, and 
George Robinson, Charles Adams, and John Johnson were appointed a 
special committee to have the entire control, under the rules, of the ground. 
For a long series of years no continuous record of interments was kept, and 
it is therefore impossible to ascertain the aggregate number; and for a like 
reason the figures for Mount St. Joseph's cannot begin. In the period ex- 
tending from i860, to September i, 1881, there were 1,598 interments in the 
cemetery last named ; in Calvary Cemetery, from 1878, to the same date, 173 ; 
and in Lake View, from 1868, to the same date, 847. 

Green Mount Cemetery, however, retains the respect and honor due 

to age, and attracts hundreds of visitors each year, not particularly on 

^uxx)unt of its beauty, though a beautiful spot it is, and not to obtain a glance 

at the magnificent view it affords, but to gaze upon a magnificent monument, 

^*wch marks the spot where rest the remains of one of Vermont's greatest 

patriots and heroes, Ethan Allen. The monument to Ethan Allen was erected 

"y the State of Vermont, by authority of an act of the legislature, passed in 

559 which appropriated $2,000.00 for that purpose, which by contributions, 

^^^, ivas increased to $2,700.00, the total cost of the monument, though it 

"^ '^CDt completed until 1873, the exercises attending its unveiling occuring 

•'. ^ ^th of that year. It is of Barre granite, the base of the pedestal being 

^"t f ^et square on the ground, and consists of two steps of granite, on which 

^^^ s^. die of solid granite six feet square, in the four faces of which are set 

Pinel.^ of white marble bearing the inscriptions. Above the pedestal rises 

* T\i^^*an shaft of granite, four and a half feet in diameter and forty-two feet 

*^^ Upon its capital, on a base bearing the word " Ticonderoga," stands a 

Vtttoi^ statue of Allen, eight feet four inches high, modeled by Peter Stephen- 



132 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

« 

son, sculptor, of Boston, now deceased, and cut in Italy, intending to repre- 
sent Allen as he appeared on that eventful moment when he demanded the 
surrender of the fort '' in the name of the Great Jehovah and the Continenul 
Congress." The monument is protected by a fence of original design, the 
corner posts of which are iron cannon, and the pales are muskets, with bayo- 
nets, resting on a base of cut granite. The inscriptions are as follows : — 

(On the West face,) 
VERMONT 

TO 

ETHAN ALLEN 

BORN 

IN Litchfield Ct ioth Jan A D 1737 

DIED 
IN Burlington Vt i2TH Feb A D 1789 

AND BURIED NEAR THE SITE OF 
THIS MONUMENT 



> 



(On t/ie North face,) 

The 
Leader of the Green Mountain Boys 

IN THE surprise AND CAPTURE OF 

TICONDEROGA 

WHICH HE DEMANDED IN THE NAME 

OF THE Great Jehovah and the 
Continental Congress 



( On the East face.) 

Taken 
Prisoner in a daring attack on Montreal 

AND transported TO ENGLAND 
HE DISARMED THE PURPOSE OF HIS ENEMY 
BY THE RESPECT WHICH HE INSPIRED 

FOR THE 

REBELLION AND THE REBEL. 



{On the South face.) 

Wielding 

the pen as well as the sword, he was the 

Sagacious and intrepid 

DEFENDER 

OF THE New Hampshire Grants, and 

Master Spirit 

IN the arduous struggle which resulted in the 

Sovereignty and Independence 

OF this State. 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 1 33 

Early Settlement. 

Nearly eleven years after the charter was granted, the first proprietors' 
meeting was held at the house of Capt. Samuel Morris, in Salisbury, Conn., 
March 23, 1774, at which Col. Thomas Chittenden was appointed moderator, 
and Ira Allen, clerk. On the following day, March 24th, an adjumed meet- 
ing was held. The following is a copy of the records of proceedings : — 

" ily. Voted, That whereas, Ethan Allen, Remember Baker, Heman Allen, 
Zinri Allen, and Ira Allen, known by the name of the Onion River Company, 
who are proprietors in this Township of Burlington on said Riv^r (a Town- 
ship lately granted by the Governor and Counsel of Newhamj^hire and is 
now in the Province of New York) have expended large sums of money in 
cutting a road through the woods from Castleton to said River seventy miles, 
and clearing off encumberments from the said lands in them parts, clearing 
and cultivating and settling some of these lands and keeping possession which 
by us is viewed as a great advantage towards the settlement of these lands in 
general, especially the Township of Burlington. 

" Whereas, The said Ethan Allen, Remember Baker, Heman Allen, Zinri 
Allen and Ira Allen laid out fifteen hundred-acre lots in said Township 
bounded on said river. Therefore in consideration of these services done by 
them, in consideration of their settlement of five families on said lots with 
those that are already on, and girdling five acres on each one-hundred-acre 
lot in two years from the first day of June next, improving same, 

" It is voted ; if proper survey bills be exhibited to the Proprietor's Clerk 
of said Town and recorded in this Book by the first day of June next, the 
said lots are confirmed to them as so many acres of their rights and shares in 
said Township, said fifteen lots are to be laid seventy rods wide on the river. 

'* 2ly. Voted, That each Proprietor have liberty at his own cost to pitch 
and lay out to himself one hundred acres on one whole right or share that they 
own in said town, said lots to he laid out not less than seventy rods wide, 
exclusive of what hath already been granted to be laid in said town. Pro- 
"vided, they clear and girdle five acres to said right within two years from the 
time said lots are laid out. 

"3ly. Voted, That there shall be for each one hundred acres to be laid in 
the town of Burlington one hundred and three acres laid, which three acres 
shall be improved for the use of said town for public highways if needed in 
the most convenient place of said lot. 

" 4ly. Voted, That the Proprietors' Clerk shall record all deeds of sale and 
Survey Bills of land in said Burlington that shall be offered to him if paid a 
reasonable reward therefore, and that the survey first recorded or received to 
record shall stand good without regard to the dates of said Survey Bills. 

* 5 ly. Voted, That Ira Allen shall be a Surveyor to lay out said town. 
** ^ly. Voted, That this meeting be adjourned to Fortfraderick in Colches- 
^^f On Onion River, to be held on the first Monday in June next at two 
oclook in the afternoon. 

" Ira Allen, Proprietor's Clerk. " 

^•"om this queerly worded, not very literary record, it may be seen that in 
^"^7^ the county was settled, and, to some extent, improved. The Onion 
Riv^r Co. mentioned owned, land, however, not only in this town, but in a 
V^^^ many others, both in and out of the county. At Winooski falls, just 



134 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

over the line in Colchester, Ira Allen and the others mentioned had com- 
menced a settlement, and built a block-house which they named Fort Fred- 
erick, being the " Fortfraderick " mentioned in the record, and which was 
generally known as the " Allen settlement." Here several other proprietors' 
meetings were held during the year 1774, and one in 1775, after which none 
were held until after the Revolution. 

The first to settle in the town was Felix Powell, in 1773, locating upon Apple- 
tree Point. He was followed, in 1774, by Stephen Lawrence, of Sheffield, 
Mass., who located in the northern part of the town on the River. During 
the same year contracts were made by John Chamberlin, Ephraim \VheeIer, 
Stephen Clapp, Ichabod Nelan, and Benjamin Waite, for lands with a view to 
settlement, but nothing much was done by them before the Revolution. The 
next settlement was commenced by Lemuel Bradley and others, and during 
1774 and 1775, clearings were made on the Winooski opposite the Allen settle- 
ment ; but during the latter year a majority of the families retired from the 
town, and were followed by those who remained, in 1776. Nothing was heard 
from the proprietors from this time until 1781, when, on the 29th of January, 
they met at the house of Noah Chittenden, in Arlington, pursuant to a warn- 
ing published in the Connecticut Courant, and dated at Sunderland, No- 
vember 21, 1780. The following is a record of proceedings: — 

"The proprietors met and voted, ily, His Excellency Thomas Chittenden, 
moderator. 2ly, Ira Allen, clerk. 3ly, Ira Allen, treasurer. 4ly, To examine 
the proceedings of the former proprietors' meetings. 

"5ly. Voted, That on examining the former proceedings of the proprietors, 
and considering the peculiar situation of the towns and New Hampshire 
Grants, being claimed by New York, and experience in defending, etc, and 
the proceedings appearing consonant with the laws and usages of the govern- 
ment of New Hampshire and the proceedings of the people of the New Hamp- 
shire Grants before the late Revolution, we do therefore hereby ratify and con- 
firm all the votes and proceedings of the several proprietors' meetings as here- 
tofore recorded in this book respecting the di\nsion of the lands, recording of 
survey bills and every other matter and thing, as fully and amply as though 
said proprietors' meetings had been held under the present law and customs 
of this State. 

"61y. Voted, That future meetings be called by the clerk by notice in news- 
papers in which legal notices are inserted upon application by one-sixteenth 
of the proprietors. 

*' Adjourned sine die." 

From the close of the Revolution, the town was rapidly settled. In 1783, 
Stephen Lawrence, who nine years before purchased a tract of land here, 
moved his family into town, the first to arrive after the war. He was followed 
during the same year by John Doxey, Frederick Saxtonand John Collins, and 
at the taking of the first census, in 1791, the population amounted to 332, and 
in 1800, to 815. John Doxey settled upon the intervale north of the village, 
but his settlement was submerged by an overflow of the river, so. he removed 
to the road now running from High bridge to Hinesburgh. Stephen Lawrence, 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. I35 



Samuel Lawrence, Samuel Lane, and John Knickerbocker settled near the 
High bridge. John Collins, Job Boynton, Mr. King, and Mr. Keyes. on the 
lake shore where the city now is, and settlements were soon made at the head 
of Pearl street. The Loomis family and Frederick Saxton were early settlers 
at the latter place. Jonathan Hart, Zachariah Hart, Philip Walker, Isaac 
French, Jeremiah French, and John Downer settled quite early that part of 
Burlington east of Muddy Run (as it was then ealled), which was subsequently 
annexed to Williston. Timothy Titus settled at Muddy Brook, and erected 
the first saw-mill built in town, just above the road leading from Burlington to 
Williston, previous to 1788. Isaac Webb was one of the first settlers in the 
southern part of the town. John Van Sicklen settled in the southeastern part 
of the town. 

In 1 79 1, there were but three houses at the city, or Bay, as it was then 
called, situated near the foot of Battery street. Capt. Job Boynton lived in 
one of these, a large frame house built low on the ground. Capt. King kept 
a tavern in another, at the northeast corner of King and Battery streets, a 
two-story house with a kitchen in the rear, where the county courts were 
held for a few years after Burlington was made a shire town. Capt. John 
Collins lived in a frame house near the tavern. A Mr. Grant, a Scotchman, 
was engaged in the mercantile business in a small one-roomed log store. A 
few logs fastened to the shore was the only wharfing. 

In 1793, during the winter. Prince Edward, the father of Queen Victoria, 
on his trip through this country, honored Burlington with a visit. There 
were then only seven framed houses in the village, and but one, that of Phineas 
Loomis, large enough to receive so large a company as his suite comprised. 
The forest was almost unbroken, except on Battery and Pearl streets Dur- 
ing that year, also, Abram Brinsmaid, the patriarch of the present family of 
Brinsmaids, came to Burlington for the first time, being on his way from 
Connecticut to Montreal, and from a diary kept by him, and now in posses- 
sion of one of his sons, we quote the following : — 

"July 2, 1793. — When I came to the Bay [Burlington Bay] it gave me 
great satisfaction that I could look so far and not see woods. The bay is 
about fourteen or fifteen miles across. Burlington street is situated nearly 
north and south upon the bay, and has a fine prospect off upon the water. 
About four miles west of Burlington there is an island of about four acres 
[twelve acres], by the name of Juniper Island ; then off at a distance from 
that, at the north and at the south, there are two more, right back of which 
there is another that is not perceptible, which go by the name of the Four 
Brothers. Then south about the same distance there is Rock Dunder, to 
appearance about the size of a cock of hay, and some other curiosities that 
I have not time to mention. When I came to the bay, the boats had set 
out for St. Johns and were not expected back until the wind shifted, so I put 
up with CoL Keys, and had everything that I wished for my money. After all 
this, I went to bed, and rested exceedingly well. 

"Tuesday, July 3, 1793. — I awoke in the morning and looked out of my 
chamber window and found the wind was fair to bring the boats back again 



136 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

to-day. I waited till the afternoon and they had not come, and the prosi>ect 
for their coming was not so good as it had been, so I got up my horse and 
went up to 'Squire Stanton's and staid that night. The next day, in 
the afternoon, young Mr. Stanton and m)3elf got up our horses and rode 
down to the bay to see if there was any opportunity to get a passage to 
Canada ; but the boat had not returned yet, and the wind was unfavorable, 
so we drank some porter, amused ourselves one way and another, and went 
home again. The next morning I concluded it was so uncertain when I 
could get a passage from the bay, that I would go on a little further by land, 
and trust to getting a water passage again. So I started on before breakfast 
and went to Milton River and crossed to Amos Mansfield's, then went to the 
sandbar and got old Daddy Joslin to go with his canoe and put me across the 
bar." 

Mr. Brinsmaid was disappointed in Canada, and returned to Burlington in 
August of the same year, and settled here for life, carrying on the business 
of clock making and plating. 

In The Letters of Jofin A. Graham^ a book published at London, in 
1797, we find the following description: — 

*' Burlington is situated on a fine Bay of the Lake, distant from Fort St. 
John's about eighty miles, and is laid out in the most regular and best man- 
ner. For local advantages and surrounding scener}% Burlington has not its 
sur])erior in the Northern parts of the State. The University of Vermont, 
and the Sessions of the Supreme and County Courts are established here. A 
house for the President of the College, and several others, are now building. 
The office of the Customs for the Port of Alburgh, the only Port in Vermont, 
is kept at Burlington by Col. Keys. This gentleman, Messrs. Pearl, Lee, 
Stanton, Law, and Coit, are the leading people. Mr. Lee was bred to the 
law, but declined the practice, and afterwards turned his attention to the 
Presbvterian svstem of Divinitv, in which situation he conducted himself in 
such a manner as to be looked up to, and venerated by persons of ever)' de- 
scription and every sect, who all unite in paying to his character the tribute 
such excellence deserves. To unaffected piety he joins the highest classical 
knowledge in the Greek and Latin languages. Between Burlington and 
Colchester, about one mile from the Bay, is the great Fall on Onion River, 
belonging to Mr. Ira Allen ; on the Fall are built large mills, forges, and 
iron foundries. In Colchester (the North side of Onion River) is this 
Gentleman's seat ; the place where General Ethan Allen for some time resided 
previous to his death. Of the Aliens, there are seven brothers, all of whom 
are now dead except Levi and Ira. This family emigrated to Vermont from 
Salisbur}- in Connecticut ; but their native place was Roxbury, Litchfield 
County." 

The town was organized, by proper election of town officers, March 19, 
1797, at which meeting Samuel Lane was chosen to^n clerk; Job Bo}Titon, 
constable; and Stephen Lawrence, Frederick Saxton, and Samuel Allen, 
selectmen. The first justices of the peace were Samuel Lane, and John 
Knickerbocker, elected in 1789. Samuel Lane was also the first representa- 
tive in the legislature, chosen in 1786. The first meeting for the election of 
State officers and councilors was held at the house of Benjamin Adams, on 
the first Tuesday of September, 1794, when the vote for governor stood as fol- 



I 

[ 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 1 37 

lows: Isaac Tichenor, twenty-three; Thomas Chittenden, seventeen ; Ira Allen, 
three; and Nathaniel Niles, one. The first election for representative to 
Congress (on record) was held at the same place on the last Tuesday in De- 
cember of the same year, when the ballot stood as follows : Israel Smith, 
seven ; Isaac Tichenor, seven ; Matthew Lyon, four ; William C. Harrington, 
two ; Nathaniel Chipman, one ; and Noah Smith, one. 

The first marriage on record was that of Samuel Hitchcock to Lucy Caro- 
line, daughter of Gen. Ethan Allen, May 26, 1789. The first birth recorded 
was that of their daughter, June 5, 1790. 

On the nth day of June, 1798, the last meeting of the proprietors was held 
at the court-house, with Gideon King, chairman ; William C. Harrington, 
clerk ; Zaccheus Peaslee, treasurer ; and Stephen Pearl, collector. William 
Coit, Stephen Pearl, and Zaccheus Peaslee were chosen a committee to examine 
the old surveys and make further ones, to make a division of the lands, 
and also to ascertain what right's had been owned by Ira Allen, as Allen 
had avoided mentioning the names of his grantors in his deeds to the 
settlers. On the i6th, 17th, i8th, 19th and 20th days of June, the division 
of lands was made, which is on file and recorded in the town clerk's office, 
and which prevails at the present day. At an adjourned meeting, held on 
the 26th day of the same month, it was voted ** that two acres and one-half 
of land whereon the court-house and goal are built in said Burlington, shall 
be and is hereby set off for the use of the publick for the erecting of all neces- 
sary county and town buildings for publick use." 

The land thus set off corresponds with the y)resent City Hall Park. The 
cut on next page illustrates it as it was in 181 7, it was sketched by Hon. J. N. 
Pomeroy from his oflfice window. The old pine tree, and near it the pubHc hay 
scales, is doubtless remembered by the older citizens. The old tree was 
about eighty feet in height, and served as a whipping-post when that institu- 
tion was required under the early laws. It was cut down in 1830. A com- 
parison of the appearance of the square and its surroundings at that time, 
with its present appearance, fully illustrates the marked growth and improve- 
ment of the place. 

The Free Press and Times of June i, 1882, in an article on the death 
of the late Sidney Barlow, gives so good a description of Burlington as it was 
about the first quarter of the present century, that we take the liberty of quot- 
ing it in full : — 

" In the death of Sidney Barlow, the last of the old merchants who in a 
former generation made Burlington the center of a wide and prosperous 
business, passed away. A list of the men who were in active business when 
lie was, fifty years ago, would comprise such names as Horace and Luther 
Loomis, Col. O. Buell, Harry Bradley, Timothy FoUett, Moses and Guy 
^tlin, John Peck, Samuel Hickok, E. T. Englesby, Philip Doolittle, and 
others, known as builders and pillars of the prosperity and public institutions 
^ Burlington. One by one they have gone, most of them ripe in years, 
possessed of ample means, and respected and honored by all who knew them 



■38 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 




(COURT HOL'SE SQU 



— and Mr, Barlow, the youngest of their number, has in his turn followe- 
them to his long home. Mr. Bariow. the son of David Barlow, was born i 
Fairfield. Vt.. .May i z, iSoi In 1817, he came 10 Burlington, a boy c= 
sixteen, to be a clerk in the store of E. H, Deraing. In iSjj. at the age c» 
twenty-one, he went into business for himself, in a small building near tl — 
head of Pearl street, on the north side of the street. The upper half of Pe^ 
street was Ihen one of the chief business centers of this region ; and in tt 
stores (all of which have long since disappeared) of E. H. Deroing, Lut}*.' 



i 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 1 39 

Loomis, Luther and George Moore, Vilas & Noyes, and Harry Bradley, on 
Pearl street, between the streets now known as Willard and Prospect streets, 
a large and widely extended business was transacted, and not a little money 
made, in those days. After the death of Mr. Deming, in 1828, Mr. Barlow 
bought the Deming store, at the head of Willard street, in which he had his 
first business training, and succeeded to the business. In the year 1828, he 
married and set up housekeeping, in the house on Willard street occupied 
by him for the remainder of his long life. His business grew and thrived 
under his enterprise and care, and at successive times he established branch 
stores in Winooski, Westford, and Grand Isle. He was one of the organ- 
izers and stockholders of the Burlington Woolen Mills, at Winooski, and was 
the agent of the company when it built the large factory and the dam, and 
for several years after, and he remained one of the larger owners of the prop- 
erty till it was purchased by the Hardings, shortly before the late war. Mr. 
Barlow's capacity for work, in his prime, may be inferred from tlje fact that 
he at the same time conducted the business of the Woolen Mills, as its agent, 
and carried on three stores, doing a general mercantile trade in as many 
towns. Mr. Barlow remained in business, at Winooski, till April i, 1850, 
when he retired. He was for a number of years one of the directors of the 
old Bank of Burlington. He was one of the founders of the Merchants' 
Bank, and a large stockholder in it. In his day he held various minor town 
offices, and did his share of public and political work in the community. He 
was a constant attendant at the Unitarian Church, from his first residence in 
Burlington, and one of the liberal supporters of the Church and Society. He 
was thrice married — to Miss Harriet Reed, to Miss Caroline White, and to 
Miss Mary Pope, who survives him. He leaves six children — Frances, Ellen 
(Mrs. Geo. K. Piatt), and Harriet (Mrs. Gushing, of California), by his first 
marriage; and Edward, Horace, and Mary (Mrs. Johnson), by the last. 

" Mr. Barlow suffered from the usual infirmities of declining years, to which 
was added, in latter years, a disease (cataract) of the eyes, for which he under- 
went an operation three years ago ; but he was about his house and often 
out on the streets, till two weeks before his death, when his powers of body 
and mind began to fail and gradually sank, till he passed quietly away. He 
was a man of simple tastes, strong will, and thorough honesty. His word 
was as good as his bond. He was a good neighbor and a worthy citizen, and 
possessed the trust and respect of all who knew him." 

Of that portion of Burlington situated near the falls, as it was in 1822, 
Afiss C. E. Collins, whose mother is one of the oldest residents of the town, 
sajrs : " My mother, Mrs. Louisa E. Collins, became a resident of Burling- 
ton in 1822, she being then sixteen years of age. Less than two years after- 
guards she was married to Alphonso Collins, of Burlington, and has since 
''esided here, near Winooski falls. During that time she has seen many 
^^^^a^es, especially in this portion of the city and in Winooski village. Some 
^» the old places, however, remain essentially as they were at that time. The 
"Ousc on Colchester avenue, now occupied by Mr. Murdock, and owned by 
^"e Underwood family, then belonged to Moses Catlin, who, with his brother, 
^^y Catlin, owned a large portion of the real estate in this vicinity. The 
7^Usc was surrounded by extensive grounds and well-cultivated gardens, kept 
^*^ order by a gardener and assistant, making it a pleasant resort for the peo- 
W^ of Burlington and Colchester, who spent many pleasant hours wandering 



I40 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

over the graveled walks. The house situated on Colchester avenue just 
below the cemetery, long known as the Edgcumb place, and now occupied by 
members of that family, was then a tavern stand The large house on the 
same avenue, now owned and occupied by Mrs. Orville Sinclear and family, 
was built in 1809, and, in 1822, was owned by Guy Catlin, who lived there 
some years afterwards, and finally sold the property to Alfred Day, a promi- 
nent busmess man here at that time. Nearly opposite this property is a tene- 
ment house, belonging to the Villas estate, which was then the only store in 
the neighborhood, and kept by a Mr. Harmon. On the site of the old flour 
mill, near the bridge, stood a grist and custom mill, owned by Mr. Catlin, 
and leased by George Edgcumb, who did an extensive business there for 
many years. On the road now called Chase street, were two or more houses, 
now standing, of which one, at present owned by Joseph Harrington, was a 
pleasant, well-kept place, for many years the residence of Lansing Barnard's 
family, who latterly built the house situated near the Chase residence, owned 
by Miss A. Edgcumb. The house nearly opposite Mrs. Harrington's, the 
property of S. Watson, occupies the site of a very old place, which was used 
as a tavern in 1805, kept by Stephen Lawrence, son of one of the first settlers 
of the town, and uncle to my father. My father came to this part of Bur- 
lington to reside, from the State of New York, in 1818. There were then 
large forges and iron works established at the falls, employing a number of 
men, while an extensive lumber trade was carried on, as large forests of pine 
and other timber were growing in the vicinity." 

Samuel Hickok was born in Sheffield, Berkshire Co., Mass., Sept. 4, i774< 
and died at Burlington, June 4, 1849, in the seventy-fifth year of his age. He 
came to Burlington at as early a period in its history as A. D. 1792, when he 
was eighteen years of age, accompanying thither his elder brother, William, 
from Lansingburgh, N. Y., to which place the family had removed, and where 
his father and grandfather now lie buried. The site of Burlington was then 
a forest, its two or three buildings standing on the lake shore. No wharf ex- 
isted, and goods brought in sloops from Whitehall, were landed in scows, or, 
if casks of liquor or molasses, were thrown overboard and floated ashore. 

William Hickok opened a store in a small wooden structure which stood on 
the bank, a little north of the present stone store of Van Sicklen, Seymoiu* & 
Co., and Samuel acted as his clerk. A sad event which transpired on its 
beautiful bay, on the 26th of December, 1797, greatly shocked the infant 
community of Burlington : William Hickok, Benjamin T. Pierce, a promis- 
ing young lawyer, and other young men, were out upon the bay skating. 
Hickok was skating rapidly, closely tbllowed by Pierce, when they both fell 
through the ice in quick succession, and perished together. When the bodies 
were found, Pierce was clinging to the feet of Hickok. It was supposed that 
Hickok, being a very athletic and powerful young man, and a skillful swimmer, 
would have saved himself but for this entanglement. Samuel succeeded to 
the business of his brother. 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. I4I 



At that day, lumbering to Quebec, the purchase of wheat grown on new land, 
and the gathering of pot and pearl ashes, were the three leading branches of busi- 
ness. As customers came in from the east, the tendency of dealers was up town 
to meet them, so Mr. Hickok erected his second store on Main street, upon the 
site of the present residence of Daniel Roberts, Esq., and built the large square 
dwelling house, yet standing, on the corner of Main and Pine streets, above 
his store, where his three eldest children were born. In 1805, he built and 
occupied the three-story brick store on the west side of the Court House 
Square (now City Hall Park), next south of the present express office, and 
which is believed to be the oldest building of brick in Burlington. At this 
period he fixed his permanent residence in the large white house standing at 
the southwest comer of the square, now called the Quincy House. It then had 
a large garden attached, extending northerly to the store, was one of the 
ornaments of the town, and the seat of a liberal hospitality during his life. 
Henry Clay was entertained there when he visited Vermont, in 1838, and was 
received by Vermonters with an enthusiasm which should have foreboded his 
nomination and election to the Presidency, instead of Harrison's. 

Samuel Hickok was a stoutly built man about five feet eight inches in height, 
with a high, broad forehead and a large and piercing blue eye, which could read, 
with great accuracy, the purposes of people with whom he had to do ; indeed 
until he thought he could do this, he would rarely make a move of impor- 
tance. He was energetic and prompt in action, of sound judgment and great 
decision of character, so much so that to casual observers he seemed stem and 
severe, but under this outer crust he carried a warm and kindly heart. His 
leading characteristic, however, was integrity and love of justice. These 
traits attached his customers to him, and it was a common saying among his 
rivals in trade, that if any dealer about the county was about to fail and run 
away, he would be sure to come to Burlington the night before and settle with 
'* Uncle Sam." In the exercise of these sterling quahties he was for many 
years the leading merchant in Burlington, and accumulated an estate of over 
$200,000, which is believed to be the largest ever accumulated by any indi- 
vidual in Chittenden County prior to 1849, ^^^ .v^ar of his decease. 

The Vermont State Bank was chartered in 1 806, and a branch established 
at Burlington. Samuel Hickok was its cashier, and transacted its business 
in ^is brick store referred to, until its removal from BurHngton to Woodstock, 
in 18 1 2. He was one of the original corporators, and a director of the old 
^Q^ of Burlington, chartered in 181 8, until the establishment of a branch of 
^^ United States Bank here in 1830, when he left the Bank of Burlington, 
to beoome one of its directors. 

H^ was a firm and liberal supporter, and for many years a deacon of ** the 
"^CH^rch of Christ in Burlington, under the Congregational order," organized 
"* *^0 5, under that title, in the house in which he so long lived, on the south- 
^cst ^^omer of the square. He presented that church st fine organ, which was 
Dura^^ with the original church in 1836, and was also the largest contributor 



142 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

towards the erection of the present edifice, now called the Winooski Avenue 
Church. Every worthy object had his countenance and support. The Uni- 
versity of Vermont found him ever a firm friend and liberal contributor to its 
funds. When its first building was erected, when after the fire it was rebuilt, 
and, indeed, at every stage of its early progress, his name stood prominent on 
all the old subscription papers, which served to keep alive the institution until 
the coming of its now more prosperous days. 

Samuel Hickok was one of Nature's noblemen. Though living after the 
stirring times of the Revolution and the New York controversy, he mingled 
with the actors in those scenes and with them pursued in generous rivalry 
the arts of peace. The Chittendens and Aliens were his neighbors and 
friends, and he was worthy of their companionship. A fine portrait of the 
old gentleman, by that eminent American painter, Huntington, is now to be 
seen at the residence of his son, J. W. Hickok, Esq. 

Three sons sur\ive him in Burlington. Wm. C. Hickok, M. D., who prac- 
ticed medicine successfully in New York City for twenty-five years, but has 
resided for many years in the south ward of Burlington, devoting himself 
to agriculture, astronomy, and conchology. The revolving dome on the top 
of his fine stone house covers the most powerful telescope in the State, and 
he also possesses a very valuable and extensive collection of shells. 

Henr)' P. Hickok, the second son, has been for more than thirty years, 
and is still (1882) the president of the Merchants' National Bank, and also 
of the Farmers' & Mechanics' Sa\nngs Institution and Trust Company. He 
has been for many years prominent as a corporator and secretary of the 
University of Vermont, and is now one of the trustees of the Mary Fletcher 
Hospital. In the erection of the Pioneer Mechanics' Shop, in 1852, he took 
the lead in introducing manufacturing industr>' into Burlington. He also 
took the lead in building that fine stone edifice, the College Street Church, 
and together with his sister, Eliza W. Buell, contributed three-fourth of the 
needed funds. 

James W. Hickok, the only other sur\'iving son, was educated to the law, 
and practised it a few years, but was diverted from it by business affairs. He 
was for two and one-half years treasurer of the University of Vermont, and 
five years a director of the old Bank of Burlington ; was one of the founders 
of the Burlington Savings Bank, and ser\'ed it as treasurer for the first five 
years of its existence without salarj-. He was for fifteen years (1868 to 
1875) treasurer and principal contributor to the support of what is now 
the Winooski Avenue Congregational Church. He passed four years in New 
York (1854 to 1858),' associated with the late Wm. B. Ogden and Charles 
Butler, Esq., in laying the foundation of what is now the Chicago North- 
western Railroad Company, and has been for the last ten years one of the 
directors and managers of the Rutland Railroad Company, in its successful 
efforts to relieve itself of a heav>' floating debt and get on to a dividend-pay- 
ing basis. 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 143 



In town affairs, he was, in 1852, the chairman of the committee that 
planned and erected the City Hall, against a strenuous opposition, which main- 
tained that the building was too large and extravagant. He opposed and de- 
feated the adoption of the first city charter, in i853,',mainly on the ground 
of its unwise division of the town, and also opposed the present charter for 
the same reason, although he considers the division is less objectionable. He 
was prominent in the minority which opposed the vote of $160,000,00 of 
the city bonds to the Burlington & Lamoille Railroad Co., as he believed 
the city would thereby lose that large sum and receive no benefit. 

Samuel Hickok had four daughters: ist, Eliza Whelpley, born in 1801, 
married Frederick Buell, and resided on Pearl street until her death, in 1874. 
She was a benevolent woman, giving to a great variety of charitable objects 
in a quiet way, and aiding many young men, by advances of money, to obtain 
an education. It was she, who, with her brother Henry, gave so liberally 
for the erection of the College Street church. A daughter, Maria, survives 
her, occupying the homestead, the wife of Prof Edward Hungerford. 

2d, Jane Ann, the wife of Henry Leavenworth, Esq., died in 1836, aged 
twenty-seven years. 

3d, Mary Hickok, the wife of the Rev. James T. Dickenson, who died at 
Norwich Conn., in 1834. 

4th, Frances, who died unmarried, in 1845, aged twenty-eight years. She 
was a person of rare intellectual gifts, and strongly marked benevolent and 
Christian character. Through her liberality and energetic efforts the " Ragged " 
or " Charity School," both of which names were applied to it, was established 
and maintained, first in the old Pattee Building on White street, and after 
wards on Battery street. This was the first distinctively Christian effort to 
improve the moral condition of the poor and outcast children of the town, 
and was rendered necessary by the then bad condition of the public schools. 
She raised, by subscription, the money to pay the teacher, and other expenses 
of the school. After her death this charity school was continued some twenty 
years in alL Among its teachers the names of Miss Blatchley, Miss Cody and 
Miss Adams are well remembered. The board of the teachers, during the whole 
period, was given by her brother, Henry P. Hickok, Esq. As the town grew, 
the need of better provision for its destitute and homeless children, and for 
those of the State as well, became manifest, and, in 1865, through the perse- 
vering efforts of Miss Lucia T. Wheeler, " The Home " was opened and estab- 
lished, and has since developed into one of the most important and best 
endowed charities of the State. In this work. Miss Wheeler found in Mrs. 
Laura A. Hickok, wife of Dr. William C. Hickok, a most efficient coadjutor. 
The complete success of this institution has been largely attributable to the 
zeal and fidelity with which all its interests have been watched over by Mrs. 
Hickok, who has been for thirteen years past, and still is, its president 

John Howard, the patriarch of the Burlington family of Howards, was bom 
at Providence, Rhode Island, in 1770. He came of an honorable line, as he 



144 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 



could trace his ancestry directly back to the celebrated Roger Williams, famous 
as one of the founders of Rhode Island, in 1637. His father was lost at sea 
while John was quite young, and he himself, in his youth, made several sea 
voyages. He afterwards resided a few years at Pittstown, N. Y., and then 
six or more years at Addison, Vt, as a farmer. In 1812, he came to Bur- 
lington and established the Howard Hotel, located on the north side of 
the (then called) Court House Square, which he kept for the next thirty-five 
years of his life. 

He was on board the steamboat " Phcenix " when it was burned on Lake 
Champlain, on the night of September 5, 18 19, and there distinguished him- 
self by his energetic efforts in arousing the passengers and aiding to save 
their lives, and in preserving property entrusted to his care. He himself was 
saved by the aid of a plank, after ha\ing been in the water several hours. 
The books of the old Bank of Burlington contain the following record with 
reference to the affair: — 

*• At a meeting of the directors of the Bank of Burlington, September 16, 
18 1 9, C. P. Van Ness, the president, William White, Ozias Buell, Luther 
Loomis, and Samuel Hickok, being present, it was 

*' Resolved, That the cashier do, and is hereby authorized and required, to 
present to Mr. John Howard the sura of one hundred dollars, for, and on 
behalf of the president, directors, and company of this institution, as a testi- 
mony of the obligation they feel themselves under, for his unyielding exertions 
at the time and after the conflagration of the late steamboat " Phoenix," in 
preserving that portion of their property, $8,500, committed to his care, from 
destruction and loss, under all its various circumstances of exposure." 

Under his care the Howard Hotel acquired an enviable reputation, and be- 
came extremely popular with travelers. Possessed of a stalwart, upright 
character, he was the terror of thieves and impostors of every description. 
Few of them escaped, who came within the scope of his shrewd observation 
and keen sagacity ; indeed, to such an extent was he interested in the public 
welfare, that he was often up all night looking after suspicious persons who 
had attracted his attention, and if any rascal was caught, as many were, it was 
sure to be through his instrumentality. He was also, possibly on account of 
his rough experience on the ill-fated ** Phcenix," noted for his great vigilance 
in guarding against tire on his own premises or in his vicinity, and for his 
advocacy of ever)* measure for the common protection against this dire foe. 
His enterprise and public spirit, as shown in these and other respects, was 
remarkable, and he at the same time possessed a most kindly heart. No man 
was more prompt, or would go farther to do a kindly act to a neighbor, or to 
any person in distress, than " Uncle John," as he was familiarly and atfection- 
ately called by the many who knew his good qualities. One incident, related 
by a person who was long acquainted with Mr. Howard, fully illustrates the 
kindly phase of his character: One morning, in the winter of 1833, ot 
thereabouts, when an ice bridge covered the lake, a party of young people 
drove across it to Essex, N. Y., to dine there and return in the evening. At 



* -■& 



■< 




-r 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. I45 

that time, Burlington was not so large but that such an excursion would 
attract some attention. In the afternoon, a furious snow-storm came on, 
and " Uncle John," fearing that the party would be lost in it on their return, 
started out upon the lake, in the blinding storm, with his team, taking a com- 
pass to guide him, resolved to find the party, and pilot them safely home — 
which he did Few men, over sixty years of age, would volunteer such an 
arduous service on behalf of persons in whom they were not especially inter- 
ested. 

It may with truth be said of him, that he was one of the best, most useful 
and public spirited citizens that Burlington ever had. He retired from 
business about seven years before his death, which occurred February 24, 
1854, at the ripe age of eighty-four years. The Free Press, in noticing his 
death, said: — 

" During a long residence in Burlington, Mr. Howard was found ever ready, 
by his counsel, advice, and purse, to contribute to its prosperity, as well as 
to the happiness of all around him ; and his demise, even at his advanced 
age, leaves a gloom upon many who were familiarly and intimately acquainted 
^ith him." 

His wife, Hannah Earl, born at Dartmouth, Mass., came of a sturdy and 

^gorous New England stock, and was the fourth in lineal descent from Philip 

S/ierman, who settled in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, in 1637. A grant of 200 

•Uteres of land to him in that township bears date December 10, 1639. She 

"^vas a very estimable lady, and lived to the age of ninety-three years, retaining, 

to a remarkable degree, her faculties, both of mind and body. She died in 

iS^5, bearing to her grave the love and esteem of all who knew her. An 

aunt of hers, the mother of the late Benjamin Sherman, of Peru, N. Y., 

ate^ned the great age of 104 years. 

^^Ir. Howard left two daughters. The youngest, Catharine, is the wife of 

M^:r-. Amos C. Spear, and mother of Mrs. Julia Howard Spear. The eldest, 

^^ i^ Hannah Louisa, has recently become well-known by her liberality in 

gi'v-i ng $5,000 to the Home for Destitute Children, to pay off debts which 

^^X"e pressing upon that institution, and for the erection, very recently, of a 

^ dutiful gothic chapel, of stone, in Lake View Cemetery, for public use. 

I-Ie had four sons, the eldest of whom, Sion Earl, was long known in Bur- 

^^^^^^on as a merchant, and who accumulated a handsome fortune, and died in 

'^^>6. The third son, Sidney Smith, died June 30, 1839, ^g^^ thirty-three 

y^-^fcors. The other two sons, Daniel Dyer and John Purple, in early life went 

^^ ^^^ew York city to seek their fortune, depending on their brains and hands 

^^^:»:ie. After various smaller undertakings, they had the foresight and bold- 

'^^^s to lease for a term of twenty years, a block of buildings on the west side 

^^ Broadway, a little above the City Hall Park, and to transform it into an 

^^'t^nsive hotel, fitted up and furnished with an elegance extraordinary for 

^^ s^'t time. This was the first up-town hotel of the first-rate, and in this respect 

^^sc brothers were enterprising pioneers, and by their liberal management^ 
10 



146 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

careful and courteous attention to every want of their guests, made the Irving 
Hotel for many years the most popular in New York, and they retired there- 
from with over half a million dollars. 

The character of the brothers differed widely, — Daniel D. contributed 
to the foundation of this fortune by his enterprising spirit, which doubtless 
led to the establishment of the "Irving House," and by his genial nature, 
which made him a great favorite with all who frequented the hotel Jdm 
Purple was more conservative, inheriting, with his father's strong good sense, 
his keen insight into impostures and shams of whatever sort. He never could 
be entrapped into visionary and worthless speculation, and was, for these 
reasons, a safe and successful financier, and to him was wisely entrusted, by 
his brother Daniel, the management of their joint fortune. It is said of him 
that he never made a mistake in investing money, and for about thirty years 
this fortune has been rolling up under his wise care until it is now counted by 
millions. 

Daniel D. died at Geneva, Switzerland, in 187 1, aged sevent>' years, leav- 
ing a daughter, Fanny, the wife of Dr. Theodore Evans, of Paris. 

John Purple Howard never married, nor had he in youth a college education ; 
but this deficiency his quick intelligence has fully remedied, by his long resi- 
dence in New York, his intercourse with cultivated people, and his extensive 
travel in all parts of the world. He visits Burlington frequently, and cher- 
ishes an affectionate interest in the town where he was bom, June 3, 1814, 
and where he passed his early years. This interest is proven by the great 
liberalit}' with which he has disbursed, and is still disbursing, his fortune here. 
Passing over many smaller gifts to Burlington, such as ornamental fountains 
in its parks, improvements in Lake View Cemetery, and liberal subscriptions 
to its charitable and public enterprises, it is worthy of note that he erected the 
beautiful gothic chapel attached to the Episcopal church, at a cost of over 
$10,000; that, in 1881, he gave to the Home for Destitute Children the 
splendid Opera House Block, erected at a cost of over $100,000 ; and that he 
is now engaged in the patriotic work of erecting a statue of Gen. LaFayette, 
by that eminent artist, J. Q. A. Ward, upon the grounds of the University, 
whose corner stone was laid by LaFayette, in 1825, which will cost about 
$30,000, and confer upon his native town the honor of having the only statue 
in this country erected to the memory of the noble Frenchman ; that he gave 
his check for $50,000.00 to the University, in 1881, to found a professorship, 
and for other purposes ; and that he is now rebuilding and enlarging the 
University buildings, at a cost of about $50,000.00 more. By such benefac- 
tions, he has entitled himself to the esteem and gratitude of the city and 
State, and has earned for his name an honorable immortality by associating 
it indissolubly with the histor)* and prosperity of the University of Vermont, 
whose foundations were laid i;vnth the organization of the State, by the 
Aliens, the Chittendens, and their compatriots, upon the fundamental truth 
tliat education and intelligence go hand and hand with libert}' and good 



i 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. I47 

government ; and until this truth is forgotten, the University will ever stand 
as the crowning glory of the city and of Vermont. 

John N. Pomeroy, who died in July, 1881, was, at the time of his death, the 
oldest native resident of Burlington, having lived here since his birth, Septem- 
ber 29, 1792. He was born in a log house on the north side of Pearl street, 
just below the sight of the present residence of Mr. Henry Loomis. He 
was the son of Dr. John Pomeroy, an early settler of Burlington, and a phy- 
sician of wide practice and repute. Dr. Pomeroy built and for many years 
occupied the large brick house on Battery street, between Main and King 
streets, now owned by the estate of Patrick Cavanagh, and there the late 
Mr. Pomeroy spent the greater part of his childhood. 

He entered the University of Vermont as a student, in August. 1805, when 
not quite thirteen years of age, and graduated there in 1809, delivering both 
an oration and a poem at commencement, and ever after, during his long life, 
was an active friend of that institution, and frequently aided it by liberal 
donations. He studied law in Burlington from i8ioto 181 6, with occasional 
interruptions, beginning with Judge Farrand and closing with Charles Adams, 
Esq. In 1 816, he was admitted to the Chittenden County bar, practiced law 
till the death of his father, in 1844, when, having thereby inherited an ample 
fortune, he retired from practice. His professional labors were mainly those 
of a collecting lawyer, in which he was active and successful, but among other 
important disputable cases, he was prominent in defeating the claims of cer- 
tain private individuals who had taken possession of portions of the City Hall 
Park, under leases from the town of Burlington, and he thus vindicated the 
sole right of the public to keep and use the same for the erection of public 
buildings and for a public park. 

Until about 1857, Mr. Pomeroy took an active part in the municipal affairs 
of Burlington, always attending town meetings and participating in the debates, 
an<3 exercising a large influence about public matters. He was at various 
times selectman, town treasurer, overseer of the poor. State's attorney, and 
justice of the peace for many years, and faithfulUy discharged the duties of 
all public trusts conferred upon him ; exercising a sound and discriminating 
economy, with no illiberality, however, in regard to reasonable public improve- 
in ents, and rigidly accounting for everything which came into his hands, and 
stoutly demanding similar action on the part of others in like positions. 

He was the member from Burlington of the Constitutional Convention of 
^^36, which abolished the old council and established the senate, and was a 
prominent leader in all the actions of that body. 

l^lected to the council of censors, in 1848, he became secretary of the council. 

*^^ there advocated, with great power and spirit, a refonn in the system of 

^^P^esentation in the house of representatives, to correct the injustice which 

8^^^ to the eleven thousand citizens of Burlington no more voice or vote in 

^^ lower House than to the one hundred inhabitants of St. George. He 

^^'^d to see the principle he thus advocated adopted by every State in the 

^^ion except Vermont. 



148 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

In 1850, Mr. Pomeroy was appointed by the President one of the board of 
examiners at West Point, and attended and acted in that capacity. In the 
same year he was appointed, by Gov. Williams, chairman of a committee of 
which Lieut-Gov. Ranney and Hon. T. P. Redfield were the other 
members, to examine and report upon the finances of the State mider 
a resolution of the legislature. He drew up the report of this committee, in 
which, as was his custom, he expressed to the legislature in earnest and vig- 
orous language his views, which in many respects were by no means flattering 
to that body. Indeed, to the very last of his long life, he was deeply inter- 
ested in the political affairs of the nation, preserving, to a remarkable degree, 
his intellectual activity on these subjects. 

He was one of the original members of the Unitarian church in Burling- 
ton, formed in 1816, and continued such to his death. That society is greatly 
indebted to him, not only for wise counsel for more than sixty years, but also 
for many generous gifts, and he gave to that church, and the cause of religion 
generally, the testimony of unfailing and attentive attendance upon public 
worship. He was brought up to "go to meeting," as they used to call it, and it 
grew to be a matter of pleasure as well as principle with him to do so. 

In March, 181 9, he was married to Lucia Loomis, daughter of Horace 
Loomis, with whom he led a long and happy married life, till her death, in De- 
cember, 1877. They had no children of their own, but have left an adopted 
daughter, Mrs. Lewis ^^^leeler, of this city. 

John Johnson was among the earliest and best known citizens of Burling- 
ton. He was a great-grandson of Capt Timothy Johnson, one of the largest 
land-owners of Andover, Mass., who, in 1677, commanded the mounted corps 
organized to drive the Indians from that vicinity. Benjamin Johnson, the 
father of John, moved to Canterbury, N. H., where John was bom, December 
2, 177 1. In 1790, following the example of other young men of that day, 
young Johnson determined to seek new fields of enterprise, and, coming to 
Northern Vermont, he finally located at Burlington, and entered upon the 
business of a land surveyor. This pursuit was at that time particularly arduous. 
The country was wild, hilly, unsettled and covered with dense forests, in which 
the snow lay in great depths late in the season, and the surveying was prosecuted 
often during the winter months. Mr Johnson laid out most of the town- 
ships of the northern part of the State, and the accuracy of the records pre- 
pared by him, have proved of great value in determining lines and boundaries, 
and adjusting disputed titles. 

He was appointed, in 181 2, surveyor-general of Vermont, and was select- 
ed by the commissioners, under the treaty of Ghent, to take charge, on the 
part of the United States, of the surveys of our northern boundary. At the 
conclusion of the last war with England, he was appointed a government com*- 
missioner to examine and adjust claims of citizens for transportation, forage, 
etc., furnished to the United States army on our northern frontier. 

Besides his acknowledged skill as a land surveyor, his aptness for mathe- 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. I49 



matical and mechanical studies led him to give attention to civil and mechan- 
ical engineering, and although his conclusions were the result of his own 
unaided studies and investigations, his manuscripts upon building, bridge con- 
struction, hydraulics, etc, evince great care, intelligent study, careful observa- 
tion, judgment, and engineering skill. He furnished, or revised, the plans 
for nearly all the mechanical structures of any magnitude in Northern Ver- 
mont during this period, and his superior skill in the planning and erection 
of flouring and saw-mills and bridges, gave him a wide and favorable reputa- 
tion not confined to his own State. 

Mr. Johnson was ever ready to extend his counsel and assistance to young 
men who were qualifying themselves for mechanical pursuits, and it was his 
endeavor to impress upon them the great benefits of study and thorough 
observation to qualify them for success in their chosen profession. 

In his death, which occurred April 30, 1842, at the age of seventy-one years, 
Vermont lost a man widely known and highly esteemed, and Burlington a 
citizen who will long be remembered, both for his professional skill and many 
Virtues. Of Mr. Johnson's family representatives, were his eldest son, Hon. 
£dwin F. Johnson, an eminent civil engineer, and author of many valuable scien- 
tific papers, the pioneer of the Northern Pacific Railroad route, and subsequently 
the engineer-in-chief of that road, and at the time of his death, in 1872, its 
consulting engineer. His third son, Anson S. Johnson, still living, a leading 
ajid successful farmer in South Burlington, and his son-in-law, Joseph D. 
.Allen, whose reputation as a civil engineer was among the first of his profes- 
sion, and who, at the time of his death, in 1878, had been a resident of Bur- 
lington for thirty-six years. 

Henry Baldwin Stacy, long known as one of Vermont's successful journal- 
ists, was born in Orange, Vt., August 23, 1804, the youngest, save one, of a 
fa.niily of twelve children. His father was a farmer of limited means, and his 
rly training was in a school where the practice of industry and economy 
'as not theoretical, but a matter of stern necessity ; and this training, where 
labor of the head and the hands must necessarily unite to obtain food 
3jcid clothing for the body, as well as development and growth to the mind} 
^^^is his capital with which to start life. 

At the age of fourteen he left the farm and went to Bennington to learn 

tl^e printer's trade in the office of the Vermont Gazette. He had previously 

oS^M a common school education, but was a ready scholar, possessing a 

q^uick, penetrating mind, rare powers of investigation, and had within him 

the germ of self-culture, which developed itself more and more through his 

life. He subsequently worked at his trade in Middlebury and Montreal, and 

4Bame to Burlington, July 27, 1827, to be a journeyman for Luman Foote, 

who had just started the Burlington Free Press in the interest of the 

** National Republican Party," and in support of the administration of John 

Quincy Ada ms. He took sole charge of the mechanical work until January 

*^» 1828, when he became associated with Mr. Foote as editor and publisher 



I50 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

In 1832, Mr. Stacy purchased and took entire control of the establishment, 
the first issue of the paper in his name alone being on the 20th of July, and 
he shortly after erected the present Free Press building, the upper stories 
being occupied as his residence. He conducted the paper until 1846, when 
he sold the establishment to D. W. C. Clarke, devoting himself afterwards to 
agricultural pursuits. He was an earnest politician of the old Whig part}', 
and afterwards an equally earnest Republican. Being a strong and ready 
writer, the Free Press^ under his control, was alwa^-s influential and respected. 

He represented the town in the legislature during the years 1843, '44, '51, 
and *56, the last time with special reference to the rebuilding of the State 
House. He was an influential legislator, having a strong working influence 
without the House, as well as legislative influence within. His speaking was 
ner\'ous and often eloquent, his sentences being usually short, animating, and 
full of life. He was also a selectman of Burlington six years, from 1847 to 
1852, and as such was always a friend of improvement and a careful guardian 
of the interests of the town. In 186 1, he accepted an appointment as United 
States consul at Revel, Russia. As a consul, his reports showed him to be 
an observant student of affairs, and a patriotic and faithful public servant. 
He remained abroad until November, 1868, when he returned to visit his 
family and home. Meanwhile, under the new administration, another consul 
ha>'ing been appointed to Revel, Mr. Stacy returned to close up the affairs 
of his consulate as well as his o^ivn private affairs, sailing from New York 
direct to Hamburg, May 4, 1869, intending to return home in August He 
arrived in Revel May 27th, and was suffering from the effects of a cold con- 
tracted while crossing the Baltic Sea, which resulted in an inflammation of 
the lungs, from which he died after an illness of nine days, on June 18, 1869. 

Cornelius Peter Van Ness, the third son of Peter Van Ness, was bom at 
Kinderhook, X. Y., January 26, 1782, and immigrated to Vermont in 1806, 
locating at St. Albans, and subsequently, in 1809, removed to Burlington, 
where, with occasional intermissions, while engaged in public affairs, he con- 
tinued the practice of his profession, the law, for twenty years. The same 
year of his removal to Burlington, he was appointed by President Madison to 
the office of U. S. district attorney for the district of Vermont. He subse- 
quently held the offices of collector for the port of Burlington, and commis- 
sioner to settle the national boundaries after the treaty of Ghent. In 181 8, 
he was elected representative to the general assembly, and re-elected during 
the three following years. 

During the last year of his legislative term, in 1821, his office of commis- 
sioner having ceased by the disagreement of the British and American com- 
missioners, he was appointed chief justice of the State, which office he held 
until two years later, when he withdrew from it to be placed in the executive 
chair of the State. He held the office of governor three years, ha>nng been 
twice re-elected wthout opposition, and declining further service in 1826. All 
of these offices he filled with distinguished ability and eminent success. 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 151 



On the accession of General Jackson to the Presidential chair, in 1829, Mr. 
VanNess received the distinguished appointment of minister to Spain, a post 
which he continued for ten years, and the duties of which he fulfilled with his 
accustomed ability and success. He returned to Burlington in 1840, and in 
1 84 1, took up his residence in New York city. He died at the Girard House, 
in Philadelphia, while on a journey from New York to Washington, Decem- 
ber 15, 1852. 

Nathan B. Haswell, a son of Anthony Haswell who was well known as one 
of the first journalists and printers in Vermont, at Bennington, was born at 
that place January 20, 1786. He entered the law office of Jonathan Robin- 
son, in 1800, and continued his studies until 1804, when he came to Bur- 
lington to attend the University. Soon after, while contemplating a thorough 
collegiate course, news came of the destruction of his father's house and 
printing office, by fire, causing young Haswell to leave the University and 
engage in active business at once. In 1805, he received from Jabez Penni- 
man, collector of customs, the office of inspector at Burlington, which office 
he held, honorably discharging its duties during the embargo, until 1809, when 
he resigned. 

In 181 2 and 18 13, Mr. Haswell was the issuing commissary for distributing 
army rations. He was also a portion of the time the public store keeper, 
and also superintended an inventory of the public property in Burlington. 
He was appointed orderly sergeant in the corps of exempts formed at Bur- 
lington during the war of 181 2. When the British, under Col. Murray, made 
an incursion into this section, and from their galleys fired several shots into 
the town, he was active in assisting Capt. Chappell to meet the enemy. In 
1 814, he forwarded troops, provisions, etc., to the army at Piattsburgh. From 
iS 18 to 1836, he held the offices of clerk of the county and supreme court, 
notary public, master in chancery, etc. In 1836 and '37, he represented the 
to^ni in the legislature, and during the same year was appointed U. S. agent 
to build the breakwater and to superintend the cleaning of the channel 
between the island of North and South Hero. He was also a Mason of high 
degree. During the last few years of Mr. Haswell's life, his constitution 
becanae enfeebled by frequent and severe attacks of illness. A last and fatal 
one Occurred during an absence to the West on business. He died at Quincy, 
^IL, June 6, 1855. 

T'irnothy Follett, who did so much for the Rutland Branch of the C. V. R. 
^» and who was its first president, was bom at Bennington, Januarys, 1793. 
^^ th^ age of ten years, by the death of his father, he was left with two sisters 
^^ the care of a widowed mother with but slender means, who, to educate her 
^'^ildren, removed to Burlington. In 1806, he entered the University, and 
^^s admitted to a baccalaureate degree, August i, 1810, and immediately 
"^^rward entered the law office of his brother-in-law, Hon. William A. Gris- 
^^^d, of Danville, where he remained until June, 181 2, when he entered up- 
^^ * course of law lectures at the school of Judges Reeves and Gould, at 



152 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

Litchfield, Conn., and was admitted to the bar of Chittenden County in Feb- 
ruary, 1814. Ardently devoted to the profession he had chosen, he pursued 
it diligently, securing a success quite equal to his expectation, and a reputa- 
tion satisfactory to his friends. In December, 1819, he was appointed, by 
Judges Doolittle and Brayton, of the supreme court, to the office of State's 
attorney, then vacant by the death of Sanford Gadcomb, Esq., and elected to 
thesameofficeby the legislatures of 1820, '21 and'22. In i823,hewas elected 
judge of the county court, and his professional life continued until a pulmonary 
complaint threatening him, he abandoned the practice of the law to engage 
in merchantile pursuits, where he was quite successful In 1830, he was 
elected to represent the town in the legislature, and again in 1831 and 1832. 
He died October 12, 1857. 

Zadock Thompson was the second son of Capt Barnabas Thompson, of 
Bridgewater, Vt., where he was bom. May 23, 1796. His father was a fanner 
of limited means, and as young Thompson showed an ability for study, the 
Rev. Walter Chapin, of Woodstock, took notice of his studious nature^ 
received him into his own family, and assisted him in procuring an education. 
In 18 1 9, he entered the University of Vermont, and was graduated with honor 
in 1823, at the age of twenty-seven years. The following year, September 4th, 
he was married to Phoebe Boyce. His career as an author commenced in 
18 19. In 1824, he published his Gazetteer of Vermont^ a duodecimo of 
312 pages. In 1825, he was chosen a tutor in the University of Vermont, and 
during the same year published the YautHs Assistant in Tluoretical and 
Practical Arithmetic, In 1828, he edited a magazine entitled The Iris and 
Burlington Literary Gazette^ and in 1832, The Green Mountain Repository^ 
both of which were published at Burlington. In 1838, he removed from 
Burlington to Hatley, C. £., and there continued his literary labors unti 
1837, when he returned to this town. In the meantime, having been pursu 
ing theological studies, he was admitted to the pastorate of the Protestan 
Episcopal Church, May 27, 1835. After his return to Burlington he engage 
in teaching in the Vermont Episcopal Institute, and in preparing his NcUicnc 
Civil, and Statistical History of Vermont, which was published in 1843. 
1845, and for the three succeeding years, he was assistant State geologist 
185 1, he was appointed to the professorship of chemistry and natural hist< 
in the University of Vermont. In 1853, he published an appendix to 
history of Vermont, containing the results of his later investigations, 
during the same year, was appointed State naturalist, continuing in that o 
until his death, which was occasioned by ossification of the heart, Jan 

19, 1856- 

George T. Edmonds, born in Richmond, Vt., February i, 1828, can 

Burlington to reside in 1851. He received a common school education 

enjoyed the instruction of a private tutor, but never graduated from co 

Turning his attention to the study of law, he was admitted to the bar in 

and for a long time devoted himself exclusively to the legal professior 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 153 

1^54-55, and in 1857, 1858, and 1859, he was elected to the legislature, 
serving three years as speaker. In 1861 and '62, he was elected to the State 
senate, officiating as president pro tern, of that body during three years. On 
the breaking out of the war he was chosen a member of the convention 
which met to form a coalition between the Republicans and War Democrats* 
and drew up the resolutions which were adopted in that convention as the 
basis of union for the countr}'. On the death of Solomon Foote he was ap- 
pointed in his place in the United States senate, taking his seat in April, 
1866, and the appointment was confirmed by the legislature. Since that time 
he has been constantly in that body. His honorable and successful course 
during these years is too well known to require special comment here. By 
reason of his great sagacity in discovering frauds and jobbery concealed in 
i)ills brought before congress, and which he has unhesitatingly denounced, he 
A2i& well earned the title of "The Watch Dog of the Senate-" 

Phineas Loomis, from Sheffield, Mass., first came to Burlington in 1787. 

UFIe shortly after returned to Massachusetts, and brought his family here, 

croKusisting of three sons and three daughters, in 1789. He first built a log 

Fiouse about where Henry Loomis's residence now stands, and in 1790, built 

:1a ^ old "Phineas Loomis house," on Pearl street. He carried on the tanning 

>t.s^iness in the old stone building just opposite Mr. H. Loomis's, on Pearl 

tsr^et, and continued the same until the early part of this century, when his 

Horace succeeded him, carrying on the business until 1832, when it was 

<n by his cousin, Edward Loomis, now of Burlington. Phineas died in 

lS s: I, and Horace in 1865. Warren Loomis became a lawyer of marked 

at^-ility, a graduate of the University, and died here in 1828. Luther Loomis, 

tK^ last of the sons of Phineas, was for many years a merchant in Burlington, 

Vii^ old store having stood about one hundred feet west of the Henry Loomis 

ho vise, and was torn down in 1868. He died in 1844, aged sixty-three years. 

l-iither had two sons, both of whom are now living, one in Chicago, and Mr. 

Henry Loomis, a well-known citizen of Burlington. 

'Benjamin Taft came to Burlington about the year 1800, immigrating 
thither from Providence, R. L, in the winter of that year, occupying six weeks 
on the journey. There were then but few houses in the town, an3 no bridge 
over the Winooski. Mr. Taft located upon the bank of this stream, building 
bis dwelling where Mrs. Joseph Harrington now resides. Here he engaged in 
the foundry business, and also manufactured plows, agricultural implements, 
^ed tools, etc, using the first trip-hammer ever introduced into the county. 
He reared a family of five children, and died early in the present century. 
"*s 'ndow subsequently became Mrs. Eldridge Washburn, and lived to the 
*°^^**^ced age of eighty-six years. 

Seazcr H. Deming, born at Litchfield, Conn., in 1785, came to Burling- 
^^ ibout the year 1800, and here married Miss Fanny Follett, in 1808. He 
^*"y engaged in mercantile pursuits, locating where his daughter, Mrs. 
tucker, now resides, on Pearl street, and where he continued in business 



154 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 



until his death, in 1828, aged forty-three years. He was an active, energetic 
business roan, and influential in all the improvements of the town. He was 
emphatically a self-made man, his mother having died at his birth, and his 
father when he was a mere child. From that time forward, without means 
or family influence, young Deming worked his way to affluence, winning the 
highest esteem of his townsmen and friends. Of his eight children, one 
daughter only, Mrs. Tucker, is now living. 

John B. Hollenbeck, one of Burlington's oldest citizens, and a veteran of 
the war of 181 2, was born at Richmond, Vt., February 11, 1792. Removing 
to Charlotte when fifteen years of age, he entered a store as clerk, and re- 
mained there in that capacity and in business for himself until 1824, when he 
came to Burlington, and has since resided here. Owing to an accident, in 
December, 1878, by which his hip was broken, he has since been unable to 
walk. Possessed of energy and integrity, Mr. Hollenbeck won a warm place 
in the hearts of his townsmen, whom he served as justice of the peace for a 
period of over forty years. He now resides on George street, enjoying good 
bodily health, except the lameness mentioned, at the advanced age of ninety 
years. 

Ebenezer Brown, or Major Brown, as he is more familiarly remembered, a 
genial, whole-souled gentleman, was bom at Old Stamford, Conn., September 
II, 1770, and came to Burlington in 1792, with his wife, Parmelia Ferris, 
whom he married in 1788. A carpenter and joiner by trade, he built most 
of the early houses in Burlington, and when the old church at the head of 
Church street was erected, subscribed $100.00 and worked it out Subse 
quently he bought a farm and erected a hotel, becoming a popular landlord 
continuing the business until his death, January 19, 1839. 

Frederick Smith, now seventy years of age, is one of the old residents ( 
the town, having come here from Williston, in 1827, to act as an accounta' 
in the ofiice of the glass company, and subsequently became an owner. I 
has always taken an active part in promoting the improvements of the ton 
having been a prominent business man, though now retired. In 1866, 
married Miss Mary A. Foot, of St. Albans, and has had a family of ei 
children, — four sons and four daughters, — of whom three daughters and 
son are now living, the latter, Charles, a merchant of Burlington. 

John Van Sicklen, Sr., came to Burlington when there was but one h 
where the city now is, owned by Gideon King. He reared a family of 
children, seven daughters and three sons. Charlotte, the ninth and onl 
ing child, was bom April 12, 1805, married Amasa Isham in 1825, anc 
resides in Shelbume. 

Ira Shattuck, from Winsor, Vt., came to Burlington in 1836. He 
engaged in hotel keeping, as proprietor of the American Hotel, and fc 
that business with fair success for six years, when he, with others, esta 
a line of stages from Montreal to Boston. The completion of the r; 
however, ended this business, leaving him and his partner, Mahlon ' 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 1 55 



with their entire outfit, including 200 horses, on their hands. He then assisted 
his son in the hardware business, without any direct interest in the concern 
until the death of the son, about seven years since. 

Captain William Anderson, one of the oldest steamboat captains on the 
lake, was born at Cazenovia, N. Y., March 13, 1805. In 183 1, he commenced 
his life work as captain of the McDonough. In 1836, he removed to Bur- 
lington, and has since resided there, only giving up the lake when obliged to, on 
account of rheumatism, in 1877. He is now, at the age of seventy-seven years, 
enjoying excellent health except for that affliction. He was married in 
'^35* ^^^ ^as reared a family of ten children, four of whom, three daughters 
and a son, are now living. 

Dr. B. S. Nichols, one of the principal owners of the Pioneer Shops, occu- 
pies the homestead of Timothy FoUett, built by Mr. FoUett in 1840, on the 
comer of College and Champlain streets. Mr. Nichols was a practicing phy- 
^dan for nine years subsequent to 1845, when he engaged in the manufac- 
ture of iron at Fair Haven and Middlebury, and is still interested in the 
-^orks at East Middlebury. In 1865, he came to Burlington and engaged, 
nth the Burlington Manufacturing Co., in the same business, and, in 1868, 
rommenced his present enterprise. 
Edwin Hard, another old citizen of Burlington, was bom at Salisbury, Vt., 
xxa 1796. In 1818, he married Miss Eleanor Butler, with whom he has lived 
fi»» happy married life of sixty-four years. 

^I'athan Smith, one of the early settlers of Burlington, was a veteran of the 
K-^volution. In 1785, he came up the lake in a canoe, and assisted in sur- 
"veying Moretown, Middlesex, and other towns, and in 1786, located in Bur- 
lington, upon the farm now owned by D. Fisk, corner road 2 1 and 22. He was 
% captain of militia, and kept one of the first hotels opened in the town. He 
^ad a family of six children, two sons and four daughters. One of his sons,, 
Kerpont E., now resides on road 20, at the age of eighty-one years. He has 
held many of the town trusts. John E., a grandson of Nathan, has been clerk 
*nd treasurer of South Burlington ever since it was divided from the city. 

Abijah Wamer, a distant relative to Col Seth Warner of Revolutionary 
fame, came to Burlington in 1808, from Fitzwilliam, N. H., locating on road 
*9» upon the farm now owned by A. S. Warner. There is now standing upon 
^e farm an apple tree planted by him the year he settled here, and is conse- 
quently seventy-three years of age. 

Moses Famsworth, from Dorset, Vt., came to Burlington in 1800, and 
located upon the farm now owned by George Wheeler. He had a family of 
five children, only one of whom now lives in the town. 

James A. Thacher, residing on road 33, is a grandson of Amasa Thacher, 
^ caxly settler in Williston. His great-grandmother, the mother of Amasa, 
'^s Polly VanSicklen, the second child of John VanSicklen, born at Castle- 
^^9 Vt, while the family were on their journey from Long Island to Bur- 
"'^on, in 1788. They located upon the farm now owned by Edward Van- 



156 TOWN AND CITY OP BURLINGTON. 

Sicklen, and which has never since passed out of the possession of the Van 
Sicklen family. 

Jason Comstock settled in Burlington at an early date^ and his son, Georg< 
Comstock, was bom in 1797, in a log house near the present site of J. A 
Thacher's residence. His son, A. B. Comstock, now resides on a portion o 
the old homestead, and has held many of the town offices. 

Sarah H. Hathaway, the only woman in Chittenden County who shared th* 
fortunes of war during the late Rebellion, was bom in 1840. In 1861, she wa 
married to A. B. Fay, then a volunteer in Co. G, ad R^., Vt Vols., and sooi 
after left with him for the seat of war, and for two years shared her hosband* 
hardships and dangers, doing a noble work in the hospitals. She was presen 
at the first and second battles of Bull Run, and was in the midst of the shellinj 
at White Oak Swamps, was at Fair Oaks, Malvern Hill, and other battles 
During three months of the two years she saw the face of no white woman. 

The Stuart family, of Burlington, are of Scotch descent, their ancestor 
having come to America at an early day in its history. Of those who cam 
to the United States, one settled in Maine, and another located in the lowi 
of Norwalk, Conn. The latter, Mr. Nathan Stuart, was the father of fou 
sons, one of whom was killed by lightning at the age of thirteen, while th) 
other three removed with their father to the town of Lanesboro, Mass., wher 
father and sons were proprietors of an extensive mercantile business, in con 
nection with a large farming interest. The youngest son, Thaddeus, mairie 
in Lanesboro, where his only child, Eleazar, was born, March 15, 1786. I 
1787, the entire family came to Hinesburgh, where Thaddeus opened the fi? 
store in town, and was also extensively engaged in the cattle trade. Abe 
the year 1 798, while in the city of New York to buy goods, Mr. Stewart 
tended a session of the Methodist conference, which was then being t 
there, and for the first time in his life heard the gospel of a free and a 
salvation preached. As it appeared to him in accordance with the £ 
dictrine of salvation, he immediately presented to the conference the cl 
of Vermont, and invited the preachers to visit the State. 

In compliance with his request, two preachers, Michael and Samuel i 
came, residing at his house for a month, and arranged for preaching in v: 
places, thus sowing the first seeds of Methodism in the Green Mountain 
Mr. Stuart was one of the six persons who formed the first Methodist 
in Vermont He died in Hinesburgh, January 30, 1809. 

After the decease of his father, Eleazer removed to Burlington, in j 
18 16. He cleared the timber from a space of land large enough upoo 
to set a house and bam, and commenced life in the woods, toiling to 
and improve what is now know as the Stuart farm. As his father ^ 
instrument of introducing Methodism into Hinesburgh, so Eleazei 
was the means of planting a Methodist church in Burlington. The 
Methodist class formed at the house now owned by Mr. John S. H 
1 81 6. Mr. Stuart was chosen its leader, and he and his wife form< 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 1 57 

its seven members. Eleazer died September 4, 1849, his wife surviving him 
until May 28, 1868. 

Rev. Thaddeus F. Stuart, son of Eleazer, was bom November 6, 18 18, 
and learned the mysteries of a farm-boy's life at an early age. His education 
was obtained by his own exertions and self-denial, receiving no assistance 
from his father. Studying theology, he was ordained in 1842, and entered 
the itinerancy in 1844, laboring as a traveling preacher for eleven years. 
Through great exertion in revival work, his health failed and he was obliged 
to abandon the itinerancy and retire to the old farm, where he now resides. 
Among the many fine residences and prospects of Burlington^ none sur- 
passes " Overlake," the splendid mansion and grounds of CoL LeGrand B. 
Cannon, situated on the southern part of College Hill. The house was erected 
in 1857-59, and is one of the finest, and surrounded by as beautiful grounds, 
as are to be found in the State. It is of the French chateau style of archi- 
tecture, rarely seen in this country, built of brick, trimmed with New York 
t>rown stone, three stories in height besides a basement. Several wings, and 
nnany upright angles break the line of prospective view, and a high slate roof 
'^irith dormer windows, and a tower not greatly elevated above the main roof, 
surmount the structure. But one's eye rests upon this rare specimen of 
^LTchitectural beauty but a moment, when it is drawn instinctively to the 
magnificent grounds which surround it. They are about sixty acres in extent, 
SLTkd afford unusual facilities in the nature* of the soil, rocks, and forest trees, 
foT landscape gardening and picturesque effects, all of which have been im- 
proved to the fullest extent, until one would almost imagine them the em- 
l>odiment of a poet's dream. The grand vie^of the*^lake and surrounding 
^^autiful scenery is also one of the best the citjjL "Affords. In addition to the 
residence, Mr. Cannon's grounds contain a fine green-house, stables for his 
large stud of horses, and cottages for his gardeners, coachmen, and others 
employed about the place. 

Churches. • 

Notwithstanding the rapid growth of the population from 1783 to 1800, the 
Prtvileges of public worship were but rarely enjoyed. The few who desired 
^ena obtained an opportunity only at long intervals, when the town was 
^sited by itinerant missionaries and other transient ministers. But in 1799, 
^he Rev. Daniel C. Sanders having taken up his residence here for the pur- 
P^He of getting the University into practical operation, the people soon after 
^ook measures by which he was voted $400.00 per annum for preaching at 
*^*ted periods. In November, 1799, he commenced his labors, preaching in 
^hc court-house. 

J^rsf Calvimstic Congregational Church, — On the 21st of February, 1805, 
^•^urtcen persons, members of churches chiefly in Connecticut, met at the 
■^^^^»«c of Moses Catlin, and after a repeated perusal of articles of faith and a 
*^*nn of church covenant, prepared by Rev. Mr. Sanders, agreed to enter into 



158 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

covenant with God and one another, as a church of Christ, and in testimony 
thereof signed the articles and covenant. On the 23d, immediately after ser- 
mon, the articles and covenant were read, and assent to them being con- 
tinued, they were publicly declared, by Pres't Saunders, to be a " regular 
church of the Lord Jesus Christ, established in Burlington." By way of dis- 
tinction from another church formed here five years afterwards, the name it 
now bears was given the society. The names of the original members are as 
follows : Ebenezer Lyman, Daniel Coit, Ozias Buel, Daniel C. Sanders. Abi- 
gail Catlin, Sarah Atwater, Anna Lyman, Nancy Sanders, Amelia Tuttle, 
Abigail Buel, Miriam Whetmore, Clarissa Lyman, and Lucinda Catlin. Mr. 
Sanders was elected their moderator and clerk, and served as such until their 
first pastor. Rev. Daniel Haskell, was ordained. Their meetings continued to 
be held in the court-house until 18 12, when their first church edifice was 
erected, of wood. This was consumed by fire, kindled by an incendiar}', on 
the morning of June 23, 1839, and replaced by the present building, dedicated 
April 14, 1842. It is built of brick, located on the comer of College and 
South Union streets, will accommodate 600 persons, and is valued, including 
grounds, etc., at $70,000.00. The society now has about 300 members with 
Rev. L. O. Brastow, D. D., pastor. 

The First Congregational Society in Burlington^ a Unitarian church, 
located on Pearl, at the head of Church street, was organized in 1810. To get 
at the facts of its organization, however, it is necessar}' to turn back a few 
years previous to 18 10. On June 5, 1805, several of the substantial free- 
holders joined in a petition to George Robinson, town clerk, to warn a meet- - 
ing of the inhabitants, for the purpose of forming themselves into a society — 
for social and public worship, agreeable to the form and effect of the statute, ^ 

entitled **An act for the support of the gospel," passed October 26, 1797 

This petition was signed by William C. Harrington, Lyman King, Osia 



Buell, Arza Crane, Elnathan Keyes, Moses Catlin, David Russell, James Saw— - 
yer, Samuel Hickok, John Pomeroy, and Horace Loomis. The people mef"-: 
accordingly, without distinction of opinions, and voted unanimously to fonoK: 
themselves into a society by the name of the *' First Society for Social an^ 
Public Worship in the Town of Burlington. " This association flourished foczz 
a time, but soon dissentions began to arise on doctrinal points, the contrc^ 
versy ending in Januar}-, 18 10, when articles of association, whereby a v< 
large majority of the male inhabitants of the town formed themselves into 
Unitarian society, by the name of the ** First Congregational Society' in tl 
Town of Burlington, " articles being adopted in public meeting. A call w 
given to Rev. Samuel Clark, who had been preaching a few Sundays in toir- 
by invitation, to be their minister, and by him accepted, at asalar}-of $550. -^ 
per year. He served the society for twelve years, with little or no interrur^«- 
tion, and died on Wednesday, May 2, 1S27, having five years previously 
signed his pastoral office in consequence of an attack of pulmonary- disea. 
The church was erected in 181 6, a neat, substantial brick structure, costi 



TOWN AND CITV OF BURLINGTON. 159 

induding bell, clock, and organ, about $23,000.00. It was dedicated Thurs- 
^y, January 9, 1817, and stands to-day little changed from what it was then. 

The society is at present large and in a flourishing condition, under the pastoral 

dia^e of Rev. L. G. Ware. 




(THIRD CONGBEGATIONALCHURCH OF BURLINGTON.) 

'^ Third Congregational Church of Burlington is located on the corner 
College and Union streets. As two Congregational churches had been 
J^S-oiied OQ thesame doctrinal basis, only one of which had adhered to the faith 
*i^ articles expressed, it was thought that the growing necessities of the Con- 
"'^ational body required the organization of another church. Accordingly, 
**r several meetings for consultation and prayer on the part of those who 
*^c engaged in the enterprise, the Third Congregational Society was or- 



l60 TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. 

ganized at the house of Mrs. K W. Buell, on July 21, 1860^ and public ser- 
vices commenced in the court-house on the 9th of the following September. 
On the 4th of November, i860, the Third Congregational Church was or- 
ganized, in the court-house, the Rev Joseph Torrey, D. D., of Burlington^ 
assisted by the Rev Simeon Parmelee, D. D., of UnderhiU, presiding at the 
organization. The original members comprised fifty-two persons, of whom 
fort}'-five brought letters of dismission from the First Calvinisdc Congrega- 
tional church, three from other churches, and four united on profession of 
their faith. G. W. Benedict, H. P. Hickok, and B. W. Smith were elected 
deacons. On December 26th, the Rev. Geo. B. Safford was installed as pastor, 
through a council, of which the Rev G. W. Blagden, D. D., of Boston, was 
moderator, and the Rev. G. E. Sanborn, of Georgia,* Vl, clerk, the services 
being conducted in the house of the First church. The construction of their 
elegant house of worship, of which we furnish an accompanying cut, was com- 
menced in the spring of 1863, the congregation in the meantime continuing 
to meet in the court-house, until the chapel in the basement of their new 
building was ready for use, where they first met on the 15th of January, 1865. 
On February 27, 1866, the completed house was dedicated to the worship of 
God, on which occasion a sermon was preached by the Rev. E. N. Kirk, D. 
D., of Boston. The whole cost of the edifice, which is built of stone, and 
has a capacity for seating 650 persons, was $50,000.00, while the entire 
church property is now valued at $55,000.00. The society has 160 members, 
a well-organized Sabbath school with 1 20 members and an average attend- 
ance of seventy, and is in a flourishing condition. Rev. George R Safford, 
D. D., is pastor. 

The First Methodist Episcopal Church, located on Winooski avenue, was 
organized in 1801, by Rev. Ebenezer Washburn, their first pastor, and Maj. 
Jonathan Breckenridge, in 1801, consisting of nine members. The first house 
of worship was constructed of wood, 60x40 feet, and completed in 1832. The 
present elegant stone edifice, affording seating room for 700 persons, was 
completed in 1870, having cost $45,000.00. The property is now valued 
at $66,000.00. The society has 413 members, under the pastoral charge 
of Rev. Merritt Hulburd, A. M. It also his a fine Sabbath school, contain- 
ing 42£ members. 

The Protestant Episcopal Society of Burlington^ located on St Paul street 
was first organized here by the name of St. Paul's church, in April, 183 1, 
though the services of the church had been celebrated in the town occasion- 
ally for several years pre\'iGus. The first corporators were Hon. Heman 
Allen, Timothy Follett, Andrew Thompson, Justus Burdick, Phineas At- 
water, Luman Foote, and Chauncey Goodrich. At its organization, fifty-i 
persons became members. On May ist, 1831, the Rev. George T. Chapman 
D. D., was chosen rector of the parish, and entered on his duties the secon 
Sunday in June following. During the same year work was commenced 
a house of worship, the elegant building of blue limestone the society ye 



TOWN AND CITY OF BURLINGTON. l6l 

occupies, and it was finished and dedicated by the late Bishop Hopkins, No- 
vember 25, 1832. The grounds and building, including bell, cost $8,000.00, 
and, in 1857, it was enlarged and repaired at a cost of $7,000.00 more. In 
1867, the size of the building was nearly doubled, about twenty thousand 
dollars. being expended upon it so that it can now comfortably accommodate 
eight or nine hundred persons. In 1881, it was much improved and beauti- 
fied by the removal of its side galleries, thus enhancing the symmetry of the 
inside, and increasing the light, and also by the erection, through the generos-4 
ity of Mr John P. Howard, one of its members, of a beautiful stone chapel, 
which cost $10,000.00 The building, which is valued, including grounds, at 
about $75,000.00, is one of the finest church edifices in the State. The 
society has at present 388 members, with Rev. William C. Dawson, rector. 

The First Baptist Churchy located on St. Paul, between Bank and Cherry 

streets, was organized by its first pastor. Rev. Mr. Norris, September 26, 1834, 

-wth eleven members. The first house of worship was erected in 1842, and 

£ave place to the present elegant structure in 1864, which will seat 734 persons, 

.^ind cost $63,000.00. Its present value, including grounds, is estimated at 

^65,000. 00. The society now has 352 members, with a Sabbath school of 

.00 pupils, and Rev. F. J. Parry, pastor. 

The Immaculate Conception Roman Catholic Churchy or St. Mary's Cathedral, 

it is generally known, was organized by the Rev. J. O'Callagan, in 1832. 

ather O'Callagan continued in charge of the parish until November, 1 853. At 

Hiis time Vermont, which was until then comprised in the limits of the diocese of 

on, was erected into a diocese of which Burlington was made the See, 

d the Right Rev. L. DeGoesbriand consecrated its first Bishop, a position 

e still occupies. The first house of worship was erected upon the lot now 

scd by them as a cemetery, in 1832, and was destroyed by fire in 1 838. After 

e burning of the church, until 1841, when the basement of the present edi- 

<e was completed, services were held in the court-house. The building was 

considerably enlarged and improved in 1866, making a structure capable of 

1,200 persons, and valued, including grounds, at $150,000.00. 

St Josephs Catholic Church is located on North Prospect street. In 1841, 

e French Catholics, under the direction of Rev. Mr. Anse, put up a church 

ecKfice near the site of the building burned in 1838, and after that the two 

oongregations had separate services. In 1850, the French resolved to build 

the present neat edifice known as St. Joseph's church, which was completed 

^Mider the direction of Rev. Joseph Quevillon. The society is now under the 

PMtoral chaxge of the Rev. Jerome Cloarec. 

In addition to these, one of the most extensive building enterprises now in 

Progress in the city is that of a new Catholic convent and chapel on North 

*venue. The building, when completed, will be 170x55 feet, three stories 

*^d abasement, all except the basement, which is of stone, to be built of brick> 

^th a plain slate roof, surmounted by a tower. 





l62 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 



H ARLOTTE, a lake town in the southwestern part of the county, lying 
'^ in lat. 44"" 18' and long. s° 49', is bounded north by Shelbume, east by 
f^ Hinesburgh, south by Ferrisburgh and a portion of Monkton, in Addi- 
son County, and west by Lake Champlain. The town was granted by New 
Hampshire to Benjamin Ferris and sixty-four associates, the charter bearing 
date June 25, 1762, conveying to them a tract of land about six miles square, 
containing 24,060 acres bounded as follows : — 

" Beginning at a marked tree standing in the northerly line of the township 
of Monkton, thence running west about two miles and one half by Monkton 
to the northwesterly corner thereof, which is also the northwesterly comer of 
Ferrisburgh, and thence about four miles by Ferrisburgh aforesaid to Lake 
Champlain ; then beginning again at the first mentioned marked tree, and 
running thence north six miles to a marked tree, thence west about six miles 
to Lake Champlain aforesaid, then as the said lake runs, southerly to the 
northeasterly corner bound of Ferrisburgh aforesaid." 

No changes have been made in the area thus bounded in the charter deed, 
a territory that presents as good agricultural facilities, and a surface with as 
rare points of natural scenery as are to be found in the county. Extending 
through the township from north to south is a range of low mountains or 
hills, dividing the town into two nearly equal parts, the highest elevations 
being Mount Philo in the southern. Pease Mountain in the central, and Mut- 
ton Hill in the northern part, from either of which may be obtained a view 
that is well worthy the labor of a journey to their summits. Looking cast- 
ward, a panorama is presented to the beholder, only exceeded in beauty and 
grandeur by that extending before the westward-looking eye. Eastward, the 
Green Mountains stand against the horizon, with Camel's Hump and Mans- 
field piercing the clouds, silent, grand, "rock-ribbed, and ancient as the sea," 
between which and the beholder lie many peaceful glens and rural glades, 
well-kept farms and modest homesteads. Westward, a more glorious scene is 
presented to the beholder, for just enough of the intervening country with 
its beautiful farms and neat dwellings, just enough of the blue waters of the 
unequaled Champlain, backed by the long stretch of the Adironacks, roagh, 
rugged, silent and sublime, to form a picture beautiful in the extreme, one 
that perhaps may be the better summed up in the two words, — " Vermont's 
best." This natural division of the town, however, has not only been in sur- 
face, but also politically, leading to much rivaby and jealous feeling on the 
part of the inhabitants of the two divisions, retarding somewhat the growth 
and best interests of the township ; still, this unenviable strife may now be 
counted as one of the un pleasantries of the past, or at least if any of the old 
feeling exists it is fast dying out 

The rocks entering into the geological formation, as is the case, indeed, 
with most other towns in the State, are disposed in distinct ledges or veins^^ 
extending in a general north and south direction. The first of these 
beginning on the west, is a narrow belt of Black River limestone^ forming 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 163 



i 



TDain rock-bed of Thompson's Point. Next, extending nearly the whole 
length of the town, is a bed of Trenton limestone^ lying beside a ledge of Utica 
slate, next to which is a vein of Hudson River slate, while the residue 
of the town, except a small bed of Eolian limestone or marble, in the 
northeastern corner, is composed of red sandrock. These veins, however, 
are varied by all the modifications incident to the several rock forma- 
tions, as are more fully described in the county chapter. Overlying these 
rocks is a rich fertile soil, owing to which, and the lack of mill privileges, the 
industry of the people has always been devoted to agriculture. Coupled with 
this rare fertility was a large amount of marketable timber — valuable oak in 
the western and pine in the eastern parts, accounting quite readily for the 
rapid growth of the population after settlement was once begun, offering, as it 
did, superior advantages to the pioneers who flocked thither faster than to 
any other town in the county. This superior quality of land and beauty of 
location is also attested by the numbers now residing upon the homestead of 
of their ancestors, proving the fallacy of Stephen A. Douglass's assertion that 
** Vermont is a good State — ^to emigrate from. " 

The principal streams are Lewis Brook, flowing across the so.utheastern 
comer of the town, and upon which is situated the only mill-site of the town- 
ship ; LaPlotte River, flowing across the northeastern comer ; Bear's Brook, 
flowing south into Addison County, and thence turning north again, across 
the southwestern corner of the town, where it is discharged into the lake; 
Beaver Brook, rising in the central part of the township, flowing north into 
LaPlotte River ; and Pringle Brook, also rising m the central part of the 
town, flowing west and northerly into Holmes Creek, and thence into the lake. 
AU of these streams have several tributaries, while numerous other small 
brooks are distributed over the country, furnishing plenteous irrigation to 
the soil 

Among the several curiosities and wonders of nature found in Charlotte is 

A remarkable cavity in a low mountain in the southeastem part of the town, on 

^c line of Addison County, known as Dean's Cave. In company with Mr. 

Joshua M. Dean, the proprietor of the land upon which the cavem is situated, 

^ gentlemanly and intelligent farmer, we paid a visit to the interesting locality, 

**^ account of which may prove of interest at this point After preparing a 

^^antity of pitch pine for torches, we started from Mr. Dean's residence one 

Peasant aftemoon, and after a walk of a quarter of a mile, reached the foot 

^^ the mountain wherein the cave is situated, and commenced its ascent, up 

^^ easy grade, a sort of natural pass, for a half mile or so, then turned abruptly 

^^ the left and up a steep bank, assisting our ascent by clinging to the numer- 

^^5 small trees and shrubs with which it is clothed, for a distance of about 

^c hundred feet, which brought us to the summit, a wild spot covered with 

* stunted growth of timber. Turning southward a distance of twenty rods, 

Attached a little higher elevation, whose appearance reminds one of the little 

9^s remark that she thought her father was growing tall, as his bald head 



164 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 



was projecting through his hair ; for here, a bare, solid rock rises high above 
its surroundings, a narrow ridge along which one must use caution in walking, 
as a false step would precipitate him to the rocks below, a distance of forty 
or fifty feet. Following along this ridge for twenty rods or so, we came to a 
sudden stop, for immediately before us was a perpendicular precipice with 
rough and jagged fragments of rocks lying at its base some eighty feet below, 
which our guide designated the "jumping off place." A few steps to the left 
is a terrace or flat, with a surface ten or twelve feet wide and sixty feet long. 
Here we halted, and Mr. Dean announced the spot as the " Camping Ground." 
We now made preparations for entering the cave, and, turning downward a 
short distance, enter an alley or fissure in the solid rock, about four feet in width, 
and descend rapidly as we pass northward about forty feet between its walls, 
then turn at right angles, west, and through a similar alley about the same dis- 
tance as the first. At this point stands a birch tree, twenty inches in diame- 
ter, whose base is full twenty feet below the surface of the rocks above, and 
whose growth is only nourished by the decayed leaves which are swept into 
the crevice by the winds. This " child of the rocks " so nearly fills the nar- 
row passage that a large man would experience some difficulty in passing it. 
Only a few feet from this point we turn again and arc before the entrance of 
a room, the opening of which is so small that it is necessary to turn about 
and enter backward, crab-like, feet first. Once through this aperture it becomes 
necessary to ** light up," and as the flickering glare of the torches dispel the 
almost impenetrable darkness, we find ourselves thirty feet below ground, in a 
room formed of solid rock, six feet wide, twenty feet long, and fifteen feet 
high. At the farther extremity and connecting with this is another room 
similar in construction, and of about the same size, turning off to the left at 
right angles. The ceiling or roof of both is a seamless rock with a surface as 
level and smooth as a flagging-stone. In the misty " long ago " some mighty 
force must have been exerted to have riven these masses in twain, crowding 
them asunder, leaving this amazing display of power ; for the cavern was formed 
in this manner, as is apparent from the corresponding deflections on either of 
the opposite walls. Late in the afternoon we marched home, thanking our 
guide, Mr. Dean, as we do now, for his courteous kindness. 

Thompson's Point is a cape or low promontory, projecting into Lake Cham- 
plain, between Thorp's Bay on the south and Barton's Bay on the north. It 
has an undulating surface, cut occasionally by jagged ledges of rock, leaving 
an aspect of wild picturesqueness, while the extreme western extremity termi- 
nates in a bold cliff" commanding a magnificent view of the lake with its 
and bays, a wide sweep of the country on the opposite shore, backed by th 
towering Adirondacks. Directly opposite, on the western side of the lake, is 
high promontory or bluff, known as Split Rock, which is a curiosity in i 
By some powerful agency the mass of solid rock has been split in twain 
pendicularly, and thrown or forced apart, leaving a cleft ten or twelve feet ii 
width, through which, at high water, small boats may pass into a bay to th' 



/ 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 16$ 



westward. On the main cleft stands Split Rock Light House. All of these 

points unite in forming a harmonious scene, — a picture of surpassing loveliness. 

Cedar Beech is a popular summer and fishing resort, on the lake, about two 

miles north of Thompson's Point, and one-half mile south from McNeil's 

Ferry. It is a point of land " V " shaped, containing from twelve to fifteen acres, 

the two water sides being of about equal length. The north side of the Point 

is the south side of a small bay, where the wharf is located, and along some 

portions of it is a gravelly beach, skirted with cedars. The bay forms a good 

harbor from the prevailing north and south winds. The shore on the south 

side is high and prominent, a bluff of rocks nearly perpendicular and about 

thirty feet high. The point is of dry, gravelly soil, covered with a fine grove, 

the whole of which is regular, smooth and accessible througout. This spot 

had been a transient camping ground for fishing parties for many years, but 

was purchased by a number of gentlemen residing in Burlington, in 1873, 

known as the "J^^^y Club. " The property is divided into thirty shares, and 

thus gives to each about four rods space along the water-front for building 

purposes. Fifteen cottages have already been built, with barns and other 

out-buildings, a club-house, boat-house, and two ice-houses. The cottages 

are neat and well painted. Each family has a row-boat also, the boats being 

new, and altogether forming one of the largest and most costly fleets of small 

boats on the lake. New cottages are being added every year, and in all 

probability it will not be many years before the whole thirty will be built. 

This point is said to be the nearest to a railroad station of any on the lake, 

in Vermont, except Burlington and Alburgh, and also communicates directly 

with Essex, N. Y., three miles across the lake, by ferry. Essex, N. Y., is a 

^ding for all passenger steamboats. A steam yacht runs between this 

P^ace and Burlington during the months of July and August, and the families, 

^ a general thing, reside here during these two months, the men who are en- 

^^ed in business going and returning at their convenience. These people are 

among the first people in Burlington, where they mostly reside, and are a law 

'^nto themselves. Hon. C. M. Spaulding is president, James A Shedd, vice- 

P'"csident, and Warren Gibbs, secretary and treasurer. The club is governed 

y 3. constitution and by-laws, and each proprietor pays annually five dollars 

'Owa^rds the general expenses, and to keep the groimds in repair. The best 

^* Order prevails, and Sundays are strictly observed, religious services being 

. ^^uently held and well attended. Of the numerous resorts on the lake, this 

*^ Said to be the only one where the campers own their grounds and completely 

^^*^trol them. At the western end of Thompson's Point, covering an area of six 

^*' ^ight acres, is a fine grove of primeval forest trees, at an elevation of about 

^^y feet above the level of the lake. In this sylvan retreat is located " Camp 

^^casant, " the park of the Thompson's Point Club, whose members occupy 

«^ese agreeable grounds as a watering place during the heated season, spend- 

^ the time in social intercourse, fishing, and other recreations. This as- 

*^tion was organized in 1870, with eight members, James Squier, C. C. 



l66 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 



Martin, D. W. Hazard, L. B. Fuller, H. C. Leavenworth, O. K Stone, W. IL 
Williams, and A. H. Barker, which number has since increased to sixty. 
There are eight neat cottages and a club-house on the grounds, and in the 
season there are also numerous tents, occupied by as many as three hundred 
persons. One of the by-laws of the club prohibits the use of intoxicating 
drink, and also forbids its presence on the grounds ; another requires a due ob- 
servance of the Sabbath, and forbids fishing on that day. Though the grounds 
are owned by the town, the club is recognized by it, and a superintendent ap- 
pointed at each town meeting, whose business it is to care for the park and 
enforce order if necessary. The present list of club officers is as follows : 
James Squier, president ; D. W. Hazard, secretary ; H. C. Root, treasurer ; 
James Squier, collector; John H. Thorp, superintendent; andO. K Stone and 
D. W. Hazard, directors. 

A convenient mode of transportation for the abundant crops is afforded by 
the Rutland branch of the Central Vermont Raihroad, which extends through 
the western part of the town from north to south, with a station about one- 
half mile west of Charlotte Four Corners, on road i8. The advent of this 
road, in 1847-49, considerably increased the commercial interests of the 
locality, even though it was objected to by some at that time. 

In 1880, Charlotte had a population of 1,342, was divided into fourteen 
school districts, and contained thirteen common schools, employing four male 
and fourteen female teachers at an aggregate salary of $1,879.42. There 
were 237 pupils attending common school, while the entire cost of the schools 
for the year, ending October 31st, was $2,128.59, Mr. W. H. H. Vamey 
acting as superintendent. 

Charlotte Four Corners (Charlotte p. o.). — As is to be expected in 
any strictly agricultural district, no large villages have been built This vil- 
lage, the largest, situated about one-half mile east of the railroad station, con- 
tains one church (Methodist), Lake View Seminary, two stores, a shoe shop, 
blacksmith shop, and about twenty dwellings. 

Charlotte Female Seminary was established at this village in 1836. Miss 
Mary Grout was the first teacher, remaining two or three years, and was 
deservedly popular. Owing to its unfavorable location, however, the school 
was not sustained. In 1 840, the property was transferred to the Methodist 
Episcopal Society, and though never very successful, a select school was main- 
tained until the building was finally destroyed by fire, November 21, 1880. 
During the following year the inhabitants, by voluntary subscriptions, erected 
a symmetrical and convenient edifice upon the old site, and reorganized the 
school under the title of Lake View Seminary, which was lately opened with 
every prospect of success, under the direction of Mr. John Dewey, A. B.^ 
as principal 

Charlotte Center, a hamlet located near the central part of the town^ 
contains one church (Congregational), the town-house, a hotel, and a fe^ 
tlwellings. 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 1 6/ 



Baptist Four Corners (East Charlotte p. o.), located in the eastern part 
of the town, contains two churches (Roman Catholic and Baptist), one store, 
a blacksmith shop, and about a dozen dwellings. The intelligent and think- 
ing people of this village have for many years maintained a lyceum, having 
a convenient hall in which they meet for discussion and public lectures. 
Lyceum Hall is also used for the sessions of a select school. 

Alanson Edgerton d^• Son^ cider-mill^ located on road 29, corner 35, is 
operated by horse-power, and turns out twenty barrels of cider per day, man- 
ufacturing about 700 barrels during a season. 

Wilder Fields s hay-bam and hay-press^ located at the railroad depot, on 
road 18, receives and presses about 700 tons of hay annually. 

West Charlotte Cheese Factory^ located on road 9, comer 35, is owned and 
operated by a stock company organized November 31, 1873, the present list 
of officers being as follows : John H. Thorp, president ; Henry C. Root, 
secretary; A. A. Byington, S. A. Williams, and Charles Keese, directors. 
The factory receives the milk from 300 to 400 cows, manufacturing about 
40,000 pounds of cheese per annum. 

Charlotte Cheese Factory^ located in the eastern part of the town, was 
organized by a stock company in the fall of 1867, the buildings being erected 
daring the following spring. During the last season there was 19,000 pounds 
of cheese manufactured from the milk of 175 cows. 

Scotfs saw and grist-mill^ located in the southeastern part of the town, on 
Lewis Creek, operates one run of stones, and saws about 200,000 feet of lum- 
ber per year, having the capacity for sawing 1,000 feet per hour. Mr. Scott 
has also a butter-tub factory in connection with his mill. 
iK D. Alexander's vineyard and fruit farm^ located on a pleasant slope 
* little west of the center of the town, has in bearing condition about 2,200 
choice vines, embracing most of the truly valuable varieties, and also a large 
Qua.iitity of fine raspberry and strawberry plants. His fruit grounds cover an 
^''^3. of eight acres, enclosed by a beautiful hedge of arborvitse. 

That most of the original proprietors were residents of Connecticut, and 
^vacrhess County, N. Y., is to be inferred from the fact that all of their meet- 
i, previous to the Revolution, were held on the " Oblong," in Duchess 
*vmty, and at New Milford, Conn. At the last meeting held previous to 
'war. May i8, 1765, a vote was passed to give one hundred acres of land 
*^^>rri each right for settling the land, but no one was to come on without first 
:uring an order from a committee of the proprietors chosen for the pur- 
No one availed himself of the offer, however, or at least no record was 
made of any such order being issued. Neither did any of the grantees 
settle in the town themselves, though some of their children made settle- 
■»its here. 

1*he first effort towards a settlement was made by Derrick Webb, who 
LC here in March, 1776, made a short stay, and returned again in March 
the following year, remaining until May. Subsequent to the Revolution, 



l68 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE, 



in 1784, Webb returned in company with Elijah Wolcott, and from that time 
the rapid growth of the town begins. 

The principal difficulties the inhabitants encountered during the first years 
of their settlement, were the lack of roads, markets, and mills. The rich soil 
rapidly yielded abundant fruit of their toil, but they were in the midst of a 
trackless wilderness, ^ith no means of transporting their harvests to market. 
For several years the nearest mill was at Whitehall, and subsequently at Ver- 
gennes. In coming to the town the pioneers wended their way through the 
forest on foot, or the more fortunate on horseback, while others came on 
from the southern extremity of Lake Champlain by boat James Hill and 
his ^ife came on horseback, finding their way by means of marked trees, 
bringing three children with them. Mr. Yale and family came by way of 
Whitehall, on the ice of the lake, in a sleigh drawn by a pair of steers and an 
old horse. 

Bears and wolves were numerous, the former often troublesome. Stately 
bucks with lofty, branching antlers, and timid, symmetrical does were often 
seen on the lake shore or crossing the hills, while the hunters occasionally en- 
countered the moose. One instance, illustrating Bruin's mischievous, vicious 
propensities, is related by W. L. Yale, of his grandmother, Mrs. Moses Yale, 
mentioned above. It seems that on one occasion when her husband was away 
from home over night, she heard the pi^ squeal. So taking the loaded gun 
from its accustomed convenient position, she went out into the darkness and 
fired in the direction of the inharmonious sound. Hearing no more calls 
from the porker, she re-entered the house and retired. In the morning, a 
a few rods from the pig-pen, a large bear lay dead. 

Traces of numerous beaver dams are also extant in several localities. 
We were informed by M\Ton H. Hosford that there are several on his farm 
in the western part of the town. In draining the land which was occupied 
by these ingenious architects, he has found timber, perfectly sound, from 
one to four inches in diameter and two to four feet long, cut and stripped 
of its bark by the strong teeth of these industrious and pro\'ident animals. 

Immigration was so rapid that three years after the first settlement, in 1787, 
it was thought the population was sufficiently large to warrant the organiza- 
tion of the town and election of proper town officers, which was accordingly 
done. In 1791, at the taking of the first census, the township had 635 in- 
habitants — the most populous town in the northern part of the State. At 
the first town meeting, held March 13, 1 787, the following officers were elected: 
John McNeil, clerk ; Reuben Rowley and Samuel Scovill, constables ; and 
Asa Barnes, John McNeil, John Hill. James Hill, and Isaac Coggs well, select- 
men. The first justice was Daniel Hosford, chosen in 1786; first represent- 
ative, John McNeil, chosen in 1788. 

James Hill, previously mentioned, came from Connecticut with his family, 
consisting of a wife and three children. His wife, a brave, energetic woman, 
was a daughter of Gov. Thomas Chittenden. Mr. Hill immediately com- 



I/O TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 



family of seven children, only one, William, now lives in the town, residing 
on the farm formerly owned by John McNeil 

John McNeil was a leading man among the early settlers. He came here 
from Litchfield, Conn., and located upon the shore of the lake^ where he 
established a ferry across to Essex, N. Y., which has ever since borne his 
name. He was the first town clerk, first representative, and until his death 
was prominently identified with the public interests of the town. He had a 
family of six children, of whom Charles, the eldest, retained the home farm, 
where he engaged in farming and conducting the ferry his father had estab- 
lished. The latter at that time was quite an extensive enterprise, as the im- 
mense travel from Western Vermont to Northern New York mostly crossed the 
lake at this point, until the building of the railroad, which established new lines 
of travel. Charles had a family of fifteen children, fourteen of whom arrived 
at maturity, and two, Henry and James B., are now residents of the town. 

David Hubbell, from Lanesboro, Mass., came to Charlotte in 1784, locating 
on the brook that runs through the farm now owned by his grandson, Luther 
R. Hubbell. He made his journey thither by way of Whitehall, thence down 
the lake on a timber raft. Two or three years after he came, his house was 
destroyed by fire, and was replaced by another, upon the site of S. EL Rus- 
sell's present residence. In this house he soon after opened a hotel, where 
he continued a prosperous business for many years. The house now occu- 
pied by his grandson was also built by him, in 1800. Mr. Hubbell was called 
by his townsmen to ser\'e them as justice of the peace, also to represent them 
in the legislature, which he did with honor and ability. He died at the ad- 
vanced age of ninety years. His descendants in this town are his son, Sol- 
omon W., aged eighty-four years, and his grandson, Luther R., and family. 

Daniel Hosford, born in Canaan, Conn., October 13, 1748, married Hannah 
Day, of Colchester, Conn., November 9, 1780, and removed to this town in 
the spring of 1784, where they located on a farm near McNeil's Ferry. He 
was several times dipossessed of his property on account of bad titles, so he 
finally located in the eastern part of the town, where he died at the advanced 
age of eighty-eight years. Mr. Hosford was a land surveyor by profession, 
and carried on the occupation in adjoining towns, at the same time continu- 
ing farming. The compass used by him is now in the possession of his grand- 
son, Myron H. Hosford, who treasures it as a valuable relic of antiquity. 
Daniel served in many of the town offices and also represented his townsmen 
in the legislature. Of his family of ten children, only three settled in Char- 
lotte. Flavia, the eldest daughter, born about three months before they came 
to Charlotte, married Gideon Prindle, and is now represented in the town by 
her son, Hon. Charles D. Prindle, the present legislator. Oran Hosford, the 
only son who located here, was bom January 30, 1791, and married Cynthia 
Hinsdale. With him Daniel resided in his old age. Oran is now represented 
by Myron H. Hosford. Sodema, the remaining daughter, married Benjamin 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. I /I 



Simons and located in the western part of the town, where she died early, 
leaving no children. 

Ephraim Wooster, from Litchfield, Conn., came to Charlotte in 1785, and 
located upon the farm now owned by Henry McNeil, where he resided until 
his death. He reared a family of three children, Lyman, Elinor, and Fanny. 
Lyman purchased the farm from the estate at his father's death, where he car- 
ried on farming mainly, though he kept a public house short periods at dif- 
ferent times. He served in the war of 181 2, and was at the battle of Pitts- 
burgh in the capacity of adjutant. His family consisted of three sons and 
two daughters, none of whom remained in this town. The only representa- 
tive of the name now in Charlotte, is Charles S. Wooster, a grandson of Ly- 
man, residing with his aunt, Mrs. Sherman. 

John Palmer, born in Tolland, Conn., June 22, 175 1, married Ruth Chap- 
man, and removed to this town in 1786, locating on the place now owned 
by Mrs. Ruth Hubbell. His old house, built nearly one hundred years 
ago, is still standing in a good state of preservation. He owned all the land 
comprised in the farms of Mrs. HubbeJl, A. C. and O. C. Palmer, on 
which he settled his sons. His family consisted of six children. Abigail, 
the eldest, born about 1780, married Edward Allen, both long since deceased. 
John, the eldest son, bom September 5, 1783, married Lovisa Hill and had a 
family of nine children, of whom two daughters are now living in Westfield, 
N. Y., another in Essex, Vt, and the remaining three in Charlotte, viz.: Ruth 
(Hubbell) on the homestead, A. C. Palmer, on a part of the original farm, 
and the youngest, Mrs. Reed, with her brother. 

Asa Narramore came to Charlotte from Connecticut in 1786. The first 
reason he worked on a farm in Hinesburgh, and in the fall bought 200 acres 
of land in this town on road 7. Here he erected a log house and returned to 
Connecticut for the winter, where he married, and in the spring returned to 
^s farm, where he remained until his death, at the age of ninety years. He 
-''eareci a family of nine children, two of whom are now living, John Naramore, 
^ed eigty-two years, residing on a portion of the original farm, and his sister, 
'**^'^- Emeline See, aged seventy-two years, residing in Williston. Asa was a 
^oJcii^r in the Revolution, and was taken prisoner by the Indians and marched 
^ ^^•.nada. On the journey he had only a daily allowance of a small piece of 
l^orse flesh, and a few bulbous roots, dug as they passed along. He after- 
received a pension. 

"^l>el Leavenworth, bom at Woodbury, Conn., January 30, 1765, came to 

^^I'lotte at an early day in its history, locating in the northeastern part of 

^^ town. Here he built a grist-mill on the LaPlotte River, on road 10, the 

s on^s for the same being obtained from flint rocks found in this town, and 

^^^Vcd out by his brother, Gideon, who came on from Connecticut for that 

^^ose. The mill and dam were finally swept away, however, by a freshet. The 

stones were purchased by Gen. Nathan Leavenworth, who put them in a mill 

^t by him on Lewis Brook, in the southern part of the town. After the loss of 



172 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 



his mill, Abel sold his farm and went to work at his trade of carpenter and 
joiner, at which he was a very skillful and energetic workman. He died in 
Middlebury, Vt., January, 25, 1813, where he was engaged in building a large 
mill, and whither he had removed his family from New Haven, Vt, where he 
owned a farm. His widow returned to New Haven, and thence to Char- 
lotte, where she died, June 12, 1853, full of years, respected and loved by all 
who knew her. Abel Leavenworth, Jr., born in Charlotte November 21, 1800, 
married Annie Hickok, of Cooperstown, N. Y., June 12, 1826, a woman of 
superior worth and culture. After the death of his father, in 1813, Abel, Jr., 
was the principal support of the family, although he was so young ; and in 
after life his house was ever the home for members of the family. For a few 
years in early life he was engaged in the manufacture of marble on his father's 
old mill-site. He then purchased of his father-in-law the old farm where he 
was born, and subsequently resold it to Mr. Hickok, and purchased a farm in 
Madrid, N. Y., where he resided twelve years, or until 1844, when, on ac- 
count of the health of his family, he returned to Charlotte, and finally re- 
purchased the old homestead, where he resided until his death. May 3, 1879. 
He had a family of nine children, six daughters and three sons. Only one of 
the latter, Abel E., survived their infancy. He became a prominent edu- 
cator in the State, and is at the present time principal and proprietor of the 
State Normal School, at Castleton, Vt. 

Dorman Leavenworth, a brother of Abel, one of the sufferers of Wyoming 
massacre, came to Charlotte, arriving August 28, 1808, and soon after built a 
grist and saw-mill, which he operated a few years, then purchased a farm and 
commenced farming, continuing the same until 1839. ^^ ^^^^ here, at the 
residence of his son, Burke, May 31, 1861, at an advanced age. He is now 
represented here by two grandchildren, Mrs. Joseph S. Shaw and Henry C. 
Leavenworth. 

Stephen Boughton, from Pond Ridge, Conn., came to Charlotte at an early 
day, where he followed the business of a builder. His family consisted of a 
son, John J., and a daughter, Ann, now Mrs. William Noble, of Illinois. 
Stephen continued his residence here until his death, at the age of eighty 
years. John J. married Mary A. Breckenridge, and followed the occupation 
of farming. His children were two daughters, Antoinette, now Mrs. Joseph 
Barton, and Jeannettc, who occupies the old homestead. 

Michael Read, born in 1769, came to Charlotte at an early date. He 
was the father of seven children, three of whom, Amos, Orrin and I^ura, 
settled here. Amos had two children, Charles and George. Charles now 
resides in North Adams, Mass., and George died in this town. Orrin had 
three children, sons, William M., deceased, Carleton W., residing in Addison,, 
where he is extensively engaged in stock raising, and Orrin P., residing 
Baptist Four Corners, the only representative of the family in Charlotte. 

Samuel Prindle came to Charlotte at an early date, and located in th 
northeastern part of the town. He raised a family of three sons, one ol 




TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 1 75 



whom died in early manhood, while the other two, Midas and Benjamin, 
settled in Charlotte. Mid4s, born in 1799, married Sarah V. Higby, May 20, 
1834, and located upon the farm now owned by his son, Henry W. He had 
a family of three children, viz.: Mrs. A. C. Palmer, Henry W., and Mrs. T. 
C. HilL Benjamin emigrated to Iowa about twenty years ago, taking all his 
family with him, where he died a few years after. 

Reuben Martin, from Massachusetts, came to Charlotte among the early 
settlers, locating on Mutton Hill. He reared a family of seven children, all 
of whom lived to middle age, some to very old age. His daughter, Sylvia, is 
said to have been the first female child bom in the town. 

James Squier came to Charlotte from Arlington, Vt., in 1788, and located 
upon the farm now owned and occupied by James S. Miller. He was an 
amiable, peaceful neighbor, an indulgent parent, and amassed a considerable 
property. He died at the advanced age of ninety-three years. The father of 
James came to Charlotte on a visit to his sons, Solomon and Abner, was 
taken sick and soon after died, and at his grave was placed the first head- 
stone erected in the town. James came on during his father's illness, and 
was induced to buy his brother Abner's farm and remain here. He reared a. 
family of four children, three daughters and a son. Betsey, the eldest, 
married James Barnes and removed to Ohio, where she now lives and has a 
numerous family. Laura married John McDonnell, and remained in town 
until her death. Lucina never married, and died in Charlotte. Abner mar- 
ried Laura Sheldon and settled on the homestead. He was a popular and 
'influential man among his townsmen, whom he represented two terms in 
the legislature, and also served in most of the town trusts. He had two 
children, a son and a daughter. The daughter died at the age of sixteen. The 
Son J James, now owns and occupies a farm on the west side of the road, op- 
posite the old home, where he enjoys the regards of a large circle of ac- 
quaintances. 

CTol. William Williams, from Lanesboro, Mass., came to Charlotte in 1788, 
an<fl settled as a farmer in the wilderness. By untiring energy and constant 
^laj-ci work he soon cleared his farm, and for the times was in easy circum- 
sta^nces. His first dwelling was a log cabin containing but one room, with a 
^Xitch fire-place which was supplied with logs for the fire that were so large 
*^^t he attached a log chain to one end of the log, hitched a horse to the 
^^^•.in, and hauled the log into the cabin, the horse passing in at one door and 
at another opposite. About 1806, he built the house, now modernized 
in good preservation, the dwelling of his grandson, James W. Williams. 
^is he opened as a public house, and it soon became an important station on 
*^^ stage route between Burlington and Troy. At this time there were eight 
^^^^cls in Charlotte, all very well supported by the traveling farmers, who were 
■Uling their produce to Albany and Troy, their nearest markets. Mr. Will- 
is was early promoted to the office of colonel of militia, and was stationed 
the frontier between Vermont and Canada, and also commanded a regi- 



174 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 

ment at the battle of Plattsburgh. He was a strong, vigorous man, totally i 
stranger to fear, somewhat rough in mannecs, ot the Ethan Allen type; bu 
withal noble and generous, ready to assist the needy and sympathize with th< 
afflicted. His life, however, was brought to an untimely end by a fall from j 
sleigh load of lumber, while descending a steep hill in the adjoining town o 
Hinesburgh. 

Preserved Wheeler came to Charlotte, from Lanesboro, Mass., in 1790 
and located upon the place now occupied by Deacon E. H. Wheeler, wher< 
he established a tanner}'. He continued this business about seven years 
then sold the property to his brother, Sheldon, who came to Charlotte witl 
him as an apprentice to the trade, and removed to New Haven, Addisoi 
County. Sheldon continued the tanning and shoemaking business quit< 
successfully for a number of years, or as late as 1843, when he discontinuec 
it and commenced farming. Sheldon married early and was the father o 
nine children, eight of whom arrived at maturity, and three of whom are noi 
living, — a daughter, aged eighty-two years, residing in Indiana, Dea. K H 
Wheeler, on the old homestead, aged seventy-eight years, and Rev. O. G 
Wheeler, pastor of the South Hero Congregational church for the last fort>- 
one years. 

Elijah Alexander was bom in Troy, N. H., March 34, i777, and at theag< 
of twenty-two married Lydia Staples, of Dan by, Vt., and settled in Char 
lotte, on the farm now owned by Mrs. Lydia Hicks, his youngest daughter 
The farm at first contained one hundred acres^ but by constant industr>' he 
improved this and made additions to the territory, until at his death he had 
increased it to over three hundred. He lived to the age of seventy-seven 
years, having declined all offices and honors offered him by his ^predativc 
townsmen. Of his family of seven children, only three are now living, Rachel, 

widow of Leavenworth, residing in Shelbume ; Ezra, the only son, sett]e<3 

on the farm now owned by Geo. Clark, but afterwards was an enterprising and 
successful merchant for many years, and his two sons, Harrison D. and Orson 
H., now reside here; Sarah married Johnson Foote, and died here in 1875. 
Her children now living are Mrs. D. W. Hazard, Henry A., Flora J., and 

George A, Foote. Lydia A., ^^idow of Hicks, occupies the old home- 

stead, and has one son. 

Walter Ferris, from Pawling, Duchess Co., N. Y., came to this town in 
1792, locating on the farm now known as the "Ferris Homestead." He 
engaged in farming, but for a period of about six years previous to his death 
was a minister in the Universalist churches in the vicinity, and organized 
several societies of that denomination. He died in 1806, beloved and hon- 
ored by a large circle of friends and acquaintances. 

William Niles, bom at Lynn, Conn., in 1756, came to Charlotte in 1792, 
and located upon the farm now kno^Ti as the Pitt E. Hewitt place, where he 
resided for many years. Being a man of ability, much of his time was called 
to fill public offices, in the fulfillment of which he was strictly true and honest 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 175 




T in life he removed to Monkton, where he owned a small farm, and kept 

l)lic house a portion of the time until his death, at the advanced age of 

ty-two years. His daughter, Betsey, married Reuben Powell and settled 

her husband upon the place their son, Edgar S., now occupies. 
S.deon Prindle came to Charlotte from New Milford, Conn., in 1792, and 
t cd at Wing's Bay. He had learned the tanner's trade in Connecticut, 
arm <^ ^oon after his arrival here built a tannery, said to have been the first 
er^<r."t:«d in the town. He soon after sold this property, however, and pur- 
cV^^fii^d the farm now owned by the heirs of his son, George Prindle, where he 
contiinued both farming and tanning until his death, in 1836. Gideon was 
t^v-icz:^ married and had a family of eleven children who arrived at maturity, 
tVfcr^^ sons and two daughters of whom are now living, one, Charles D., in 
CHa.»-lotte, who has four sons. George, deceased in 1843, is represented here 
by ^^vo sons, Cyrus G. and George E. Cyrus is now traveling in the Pacific 
States and Territories, for the purpose of gathering botanical specimens of 
t^^ t:rees and plants of that region. He has the appointment of botanist of 
the State of Vermont. 

Jolin Clark, from Windsor, Conn., came to Charlotte in 1793, and located 

1^ ^He northwestern part of the town, on road i, where his grandson, D. E. 

C^^rlc, now resides, and where he resided until his death, in 1827, aged seventy 

y^aj^. He served the town from time to time as one of its officers, and was 

* cordial neighbor and a sound adviser. His youngest son, Ammi, settled 

^poi\ the homestead and remained during his life. Judson, an older brother, 

removed to Underbill soon after his marriage, and, about 1848, emigrated to 

W'isconsin, where he died, September 13, 1872, aged seventy-seven years. 

His son, I^Estaing, is the only representative of the family in Charlotte. 

£lijah Powell, from Lanesboro, Mass., came to Charlotte in 1793, and 

**^<^a.ted upon the farm now owned by Orrin P. Read, and opposite where 

Mr. Read now lives. He became a successful farmer and cleared and im- 

P'^ved a farm of several hundred acres. He was a liberal supporter of the 

^^^ptist church, and one of the principal builders of the first house of worship 

o^ that denomination in this town. Of his nine children, several settled in 

^^*^*rlottc, but eventually left, all but Reuben, who settled on the place now 

^*^^ed by his son, Edgar S., where he remained until his death, in 1830. He 

^**^ a. family of eleven children, only four of whom are now living, one only, 

^^ax- S., in this town. 

John Thorp, a native of Ireland, came to Charlotte about 1795, and im- 

'"l^i^^cly engaged in merchantile pursuits, at which he was quite succesful, 

"tb^ing the only general store between Vergennesand Burlington. He was 

^ an extensive dealer in pine and oak lumber, which he shipped, by the 

^y Of the lake, to Quebec. But just as he had succeeded in building up 

"^ extensive and profitable business, he died, in 1799, aged only forty-three 

J*''*. His cousin, George Thorp, came to Charlotte soon after, for the 

?**n[KHc of settlbg John's estate, having been appointed his executor. After 



176 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 



the settlement he married the widow, and continued the business a few years, 
then abandoned it and turned his attention to farming, in which he was quite 
successful. He lived to the ripe age of eighty-six years, remaining on the 
farm his cousin first settled until his death. His children were George, Jr., 
and John G. George, Jr., married Miss Bull, of Ferrisburgh, and located on 
the farm now owned by his sons, Harley and Henrj'. John G. married in 
early life, remained with his father, and now occupies the old homestead. 
Henry, another son of George, resides on road 13, and has three sons. The 
eldest, Ervin H., is an assistant editor of the Rutland Herald ; the other two, 
Herbert C. and Emerson A., are farming with their father. 

Gideon Foot was bom at Washington, Conn., March 22, 1770, and came 
to Charlotte previous to 1824, locating upon the farm now owned by Mrs. 
Spear. For his first wife he married Susanna Parker, by whom he had four 
sons and one daughter. Subsequent to her death he married her sister. 
Polly, by whom he had two sons, Charles P. and Philo P. He died March 
4, 1838, aged sixty-eight years. Charles P., located on road 29, is the only 
suFN-iving member of Gideon's family now residing in Charlotte. He was 
born June 20, 1809, married Lucy A. Barton, and has had two sons and two 
daughters, named respectively Wilber, Caroline, William, and Susan Ida. 
The sons still reside in Charlotte. Susan Ida married Jay A. Clark, and Caro- 
line died some years since. 

William Pease, from Lanesboro, Mass., came to this town in 1796, locat- 
ing on road 20, where he carried on a smitherj'. At first his estate amounted 
to but four acres, which, by economy, he ultimately increased to 150 zxxts. 
Of his eight children, two died in infancy, and only one, Mrs. Minerva Sher- 
man, is now bring in Charlotte, on the old homestead. Elijah, a brother of 
William, came to Chariotte in 1797, and had a home with William fcMr a 
while, of whom he learned the blacksmith's trade. He finally settled on road 36, 
at the foot of Pease Mountain, where he followed farming. He left but one 
son, George, residing in Charlotte, all the others haring moved away in eariy 
life. George Pease, a brother of William and Elijah, came to Chariotte with 
William when he was about eleven years old. He remained with W^iUiam as 
his apprentice until of age. He married soon after, and located in the southern 
part of the town as a blacksmith. After several years' hard labor at his trade, 
his health failed, and for a time he kept a public house in Ferrisburgh, and 
owned a farm in connection with it. He finally sold his property in Ferris- 
burgh, however, and bought a farm in this town, the same now occupied by 
his grandson, Russell. He had a family of three children, two sons and a 
daughter, and died in 1858. 

Caleb Barton, from Lanesboro, Mass., came to Charlotte in 1796, and locat 

ed on the place now occupied by Mrs. William Barton. Jeremiah, his 
son, located in Charlotte, where he remained until his death. Joseph 
married Polly Saxton, of Ferrisburgh, April 14, 1805, and located on road 35, 
upon a part of the farm now owned by Ovette Stone. From there he removi 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 1 77 



to Four Corners, where he kept a public house for a long time. He died June 
7, 1865, aged seventy-seven years. His children were as follows: Harriet, 
Aiken S., George, Mary, and Joseph, Jr. 

Gad Root, also from Lanesboro, came here in 1798. He married Clemena 
Loomis the following year, and located at Baptist Corners, where he engaged 
in the tanning, currying and shoemaking business. About six years after, 
he removed to Madrid, N. Y., where he continued the tanning business sev- 
eral years, then sold out and returned to Charlotte, locating on the farm now 
occupied by Mrs. Loomis Root and her son Edgar. Mr. Root was a fine man, 
noted for his rharity and piety, and for a long time was deacon of the Con- 
gregational church. His useful life was brought to a close October 19, 1843, 
at the age of sixty-six years. His eldest son. Noble, bom in June, 1800, 
was a prominent man in Charlotte, and died here in 1872, leaving two sons, 
George L. and Henry C, who now occupy his estate. Dorwin, the second 
son, bom June 21, 1809, located where his widow and family now reside. 
Loomis, the youngest, born in 181 5, resided on the homestead until his death, 
in 1866. 

David Cook came to Charlotte from Connecticut, in 1807, and became a 
leading man of the town, holding, at different times, most of the town offices. 
He died in 1857, aged seventy-six years. His three children were Mary A., 
Charles B. and Harriet P. Charles B. resides on a fine homestead in the wes- 
tern pait of the town. He is a prominent man, and has held many of the 
town offices, and represented his townsmen in 1853 and '54. 

Lcvcrett Sherman came to Charlotte from Connecticut, in 1808. He leamed 

the carpenter's trade of his brother-in-law, Johnson Foote, and from him he 

^ purchased the farm now occupied by his son, Alfred W., upon which he 

<Jied, aged eighty-five years. In the war of 181 2, he was employed by the 

government to build barracks for the soldiers at Plaltsburgh. William E. 

German, brother of Leverett, came here in 1811, and located upon the farm 

low owned and occupied by his son. Deacon John H. Sherman, where he died 

Jone 15,1859. 

William Higby, from Ferrisburgh, came to Charlotte, in 18 19, and located 

'^P^*^ the farm now owned by O. C. Palmer, on road 53. He afterwards went 

to live with his son, Peter V., on road 61. W. Wallace Higby, son of Peter 

•» IS the only representative of the family now residing m the town. He 

holds the offices of town clerk and justice of the peace. 

J^^seph H. Jones, from Claverack, N. Y., came to Charlotte about 1822, 

"^ located at the foot of Mt. Philo. He was the father of fourteen children, 

w|>iteen of whom arrived at maturity. Four are now living, three in this town, 

^'^- Smith, occupying the old homestead; Miss Ann, living with Smith, and 

J^*cph. Of Smith's children, three now reside in Charlotte ; of Joseph's, only 

^^ Miss Mary E. 

'^omas Whalley, from Ferrisbm^h, came here in 1837, and located upon 

tne farija now occupied by his widow, and grandson, R. G. Whalley. His sur- 
III 



1/8 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 

viving children in this town are two sons, Jonathan and Samuel Thomas 
died at the advanced age of eighty-nine years. 

John Quinlan came to Charlotte in 1844. The first winter after he came 
here he chopped wood for twenty-five cents per cord, and pmx:hased two 
hundred and twenty-four acres of land, mostly on credit. This farm, in a 
course of honorable prosperity, he has added to from time to time, until he 
now owns eleven hundred acres. 

The Congregational Church of Charlotte^ located at Charlotte Centre, was 
organized January 3, 1792, at the house of Daniel Hosford, Jr., with four 
members, — John Hill, Moses Yale, Daniel Hosford, Jr., and Joseph Simonds. 
Rev. Daniel O. Gillett was installed as the first pastor during the same year. 
The first church building, a wood structure, was erected in 1 798, and gave 
place to the present brick building in 1848. It will accommodate 350 per- 
sons, and is valued, including grounds, at $6,000.00. The society now has 
163 members, with Rev. H. B. Putnam, pastor. 

The Charlotte Baptist Churchy located at Baptist Four Comers, was 
organized May 6, 1807, under the supervision of a council, called by the 
Baptist church of Monkton, at the request of certain members of the church 
residing in Charlotte, who were dismissed, by mutual consent, to form said 
church, which consisted of nineteen members. Rev. Nathan Dana was the 
first pastor. The first church building was erected of wood, in 1808, the 
second and present one in 1 840. Repairs and improvements were made in 
1856, to the amount of $700, and others have been made from time to time 
since, until it stands to-day a neat, pleasant little brick structure, with a 
capacity for accommodating 200 persons, valued, including grounds, at 
$4,000. The society has at present fifty members, with Rev. C. A. Votey, 
pastor. 

Lady of Mount Carmel Roman Catholic Churchy located at Baptist Four 
Corners, was organized by Bishop DeGoesbriand, in June, 1859, with 
about thirty families. The present church building, completed in 1859, is a 
wood structure with accommodations for 500 persons, and is valued, including 
grounds, etc, at $5,000. The society has about six hundred communicants, 
under the pastoral charge of Rev. Father Perlidon, pastor. 

The Charlotte Methodist Episcopal Church, located at Charlotte Four Cor- 
ners, was organized in 1801, by Rev. Ebenezer Washburn. The first church 
edifice was of wood, commenced in 1819, and completed in 1823. In 1837, 
it was burned down, together with the parsonage, which stood upon the same 
ground occupied by the district parsonage destroyed by fire seven years pre- 
vious. The present brick church was built in 1840. 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 179 




i 



[OLCHESTER, one of the northern lake towns of the county, is located 
just north of the city of Burlington, in lat. 44° 33' and long. 3° 59', 
bounded north by Milton, east by Essex, south by the city of Burlington 
and town of South Burlington, and west by Lake Champlain. It was one of 
the New Hampshire grants, receiving its charter June 7, 1763, by which it 
was entitled to the usual 23,040 acres ; but owing to the irregular indenture 
of its lake shore, and the amount covered by Mallett's Bay, it was found to 
have a land area of only about 20,000 acres. The grant was made to Ed- 
ward Burling and sixty -six associates, among whom were nine others by the 
name of Burling, from which fact it is supposed that this town was intended 
to have been named Burlingtown, or Burlington, but that through some misr- 
take the name was given to the town on the south. 

The surface of Colchester is moderately rolling, though possessing tracts of 
level intervale land, with some portions containing quite extensive bluffs. Its 
scenery is very picturesque and charming, though lacking the grand moun- 
tain prospects of some of the other towns of the county ; but the fine lake 
scene presented from the vicinity of Mallett's Bay, the deep rocky canons of 
the Winooski, and the broad, verdant meadows of the level intervale land, 
▼ill perhaps compensate for what is lacking of the sublime, and charm the 
senses of the lover of the beautiful in nature, while to the muse of history, an 
ample field is opened for speculation by the numerous relics of the misty 
past that have been found — relics of a day that is at present pre-historic 
(Seepage 6i.) 

The Winooski River forms the southern boundary of the town, a stream 

j>ossessing an exceedingly romantic and picturesque valley, and a history 

replete with tragedy and romance, the very etymology of its name being 

almost a "fossil poem." (See pages 37 and 95.) The Lamoille River flows 

through a portion of the northwestern part of the territory, another noble 

stream, described on page 38. The only other streams of importance are 

^^lett's Creek, and Pond, Indian, and Sunderland Brooks. Mallett's Creek 

"^cs in Milton and flows a southwesterly course through Colchester, empty- 

• 

^^g into Mallett's Bay. Indian Brook rises in the western part of Essex, 

^ows a westerly course through the central part of this town, also falling into 

^^Uerfs Bay, on the farm now owned by Noah Thompson. Its name is 

^^rived from the Indians having run their canoes up the stream, and thence 

^^'^^^ftsed into New Hampshire on their numerous marauding expeditions. 

Sunderland Brook, so named from Peleg Sunderland, who at an early day 

^^ lost in the valley of the Winooski, and cared for and preserved from 

•^^'Vation by the Indians, also rises in the western part of Essex, and flows a 

^^terly course across the southern part of Colchester, emptying into Winooski 

^ver. These several streams contain some good mill sites, and afford 

^^'^ple irrigation to the land. There are also two small ponds in the town- 

^P» one containing about three acres, located upon the level plain in the 



l80 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



southwestern part of the town. It is very deep in the center, and is fed by sub- 
terranean springs, which pass ofif by a running stream from the sorface. The 
other lies farther north, in the eastern part of the town, and contains about 
sixty acres. At its outlet the works of the beaver are still visible. 

The soil of Colchester is variegated. It has a portion of sandy loam, 
originally covered with white and pitch-pine forests, adapted to the raising of 
Indian corn, rye, buckwheat, and roots for stock and cullinary purposes. The 
main portion of its soil, however, is a gravelly and slaty loam, intermixed with, 
clay in some localities, and originally covered with hardwood timber, beech 
and maple, oak, walnut, basswood, elm, birch, and in some places intermingled 
with hemlock. These lands lie for the most part in low ridges, with a 
rolling surface, are very fertile, and well adapted to grazing, wheat, oats^ 
potatoes, etc. The town, as a general thing, is also well suited to the growth 
of the fruits of our climate, — such as the apple, pear, various kinds of grapes,, 
plums, cherries, and other small fruits, — especially upon the bay and lake 
shore. The whole border of the Winooski is lined with rich alluvial flats, 
some of great breadth, which produce large quantities of hay and grain. 

The principal rock entering into the geological formation of the town is 
red sandrock^ extending in a north and south direction through the central 
portion of the territory. West of this range are two small beds of UtUa and 
Hudson River slates, containing several quarries of variegated marbles. East 
of it, extending to the eastern line of the town, the formation is the Eolian 
limestone^ or marble, containing some excellent varieties. There are also 
some small beds of pliocene tertiary deposit^ and Georgia and clay slates^ 
But few minerals of value have been discovered. Brown hematite has been 
quarried to some extent in the northeastern section of the town, and taken 
across the lake to mix with the oar of that region ; but for some years the 
quarry has been abandoned. Magnetic iron ore, in the form of sand, is found. 
in large quanities on the beach north of Clay Point, and a bed of bog ore, 
in the southern part of the town, was worked to some extent in the early 
settlement of the town, but has long since gone out of use. 

The Central Vermont Railroad passes through the southeastern part of 
the town, with a station at Winooski village, and in the eastern part of the 
town, at Colchester. 

In 1880, Colchester had a population of 4,421, was divided into thirteen 
school districts, and contained twelve common schools, emplojdng three male 
and seventeen female teachers, at an aggregate salary of $2,239.15. Tlierc 
were 658 scholars attending common schools, while the entire cost of the 
schools for the year, ending October 31st, was $2,633.24. A. S. Barton was 
superintendent of schools. 

Winooski, a post village, and one of the most important in the county, 
is located in the southern part of the town, upon the Winooski River 
which affords an extensive water-power at this point. The village lies prin- — 
dpally upon two streets, Mallett's Bay avenue and Main street, the fo ruici J 



l82 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



came the first wife of Judge Foot, of Burlington, and a granddaughter was 
the wife of President Tony, of the University of Vermont, while some of his 
great-grandchildren now are residents of Burlington. Mr. Weaver purchased 
the Rice estate, the land extending to where the Winooski Block now stands, 
but not including the present residences of Jaroes Piatt, H. Barrett or Dr. 
Richardson. On the comer of Main and Allen streets, Mr. Weaver built a 
store, where he long sold groceries, provisions, etc He was a public-spirited 
man, full of business energy. Some time before his death he sold the store 
building, which was removed to make room for the Winooski Block. The 
village, however, has had some misfortunes in the form of fire and flood. In 
addition to the loss of private dwellings, the machine shops have been burned 
and rebuilt three times. The bridge and dams were also swept off by the 
great flood of July, 1830, and at the same time the old oil-mill, grist-mill, 
carding machine, saw-mill and dam, erected by Judge Buel, of Burlington, at 
a cost of about $30,000.00. These stood upon the opposite side of the river, 
about three-quarters of a mile above the falls, at the bottom of the deep 
gorge, opposite the point of land between the railroad bridges — they were 
raised by the flood from their foundations some thirty feet, and, after playing 
around for a few moments in the whirling and trembling eddy, were dashed 
down the narrow channel between the island and the high bluffs that form the 
shore. This flood, the most remarkable since the settlement of the county, 
rose some fifty feet in height over the intervales above the high bridge, and 
swept off several buildings. One bam was chained to the branches of a large 
elm tree, and thus saved from being dashed in pieces at the narrows below. 

Colchester Centre (Colchester p. o.), a post village, located about three- 
quarters of a mile west of Colchester depot, contains three churches (Baptist, 
Congregational and Methodist Episcopal), one store, three blacksmith shops, 
and about twenty-three dwellings. 

Mau.ett's Bay Postoffice, located on road 34, was established February 
I, 1882, with Alex. C. Morrison as its first postmaster. 

The Burlington WooUn Company. — The mills of this company, located on 
the bank of the river, just west of the bridge at Winooski village, were estab- 
lished under an act of incorporation approved November 10, 1835, ^^ com- 
pany being organized December 15th of that year, with Samuel Hickok, pres- 
ident, and Carlos Baxter, secretary and treasurer. Work was commenced in 
1836, >^nth thirty looms, employiny 150 hands. From this time until Decem- 
ber 5, 185 1, the mills were in operation most of the time, though the finan- 
cial results were disastrous to those engaged in the enterprise, for about this 
time it became necessarj- for the property to be dis|X)sed of at sheriff's sale. 
Harding Bros., the purchasers, were experienced manufacturers from Massa- 
chusetts, who continued the business until 1861, when it was purchased bi 
the present company, incorporated with a capital of $200,000.00. Hon. 
R. Mudge, of Boston, was chosen president, and still retains the position. 
Joshua Stetson, of Boston, was elected treasurer, and was succeeded b 



184 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



T. A, Doubleda^s furniture manufactory, — This extensive enterprise, 
located at Winooski village, was established in 1873, under the title of Double- 
day, Hall & Co. In 1877, this firm was dissolved, and business continued 
by the present proprietor. He uses 1,000,000 feet of lumber annually, 
mostly ash and basswood, in the manufacture of cottage furniture, his busi- 
ness amounting to about $75,000.00 per year. 

The Winooski Gold and Silver Plating Works^ located on Canal street, 
were established by their present owner, Mr. David Mitchell, in 1864. He 
employs twelve men, and has his principal office on College street, in Bur- 
lington. 

The Winooski Lumber and Water-power Company^ located at the village, 
was established in 1868. It at present employs about twenty men and 
manufactures 1,500,000 feet of lumber per year. 

Walker^ Hatch (5^• Co.^s sash and blind manufactory was established at 
Burlington, in 1874, by the present proprietors. In the fall of 1879, they 
removed to Winooski \'illage, where they have since conducted the business. 
They employ fifteen hands and do a business of about $14,000.00 per an- 
num. They are also agents for the Burlington Spoke Company, located here. 

The Winooski Brick Yard^ located on Mallett's Bay avenue, was estab- 
lished by Francis LeClair, in 1873. I^ gives employment to eight men, who 
manufacture 800,000 brick per annum. Mr. LeClair is also proprietor of the 
Burlington Brick Yard, located on Winooski avenue, which employs fifteen 
men and turns out 1,000,000 brick per year. 

Thompson's Mills, engaged in the manufacture of lumber, flour, cider and 
shingles, located on road 27, were erected in 1871, by R. B. Thompson. The 
site was originally occupied by a mill erected at an early date, by William and 
Hezekiah Hine, and destroyed by fire in 1870. They at present use a circu- 
lar saw, cutting 150,000 feet of lumber per year. The cider mill has a 
capacity for turning out thirty-two barrels of cider per day, while the grist- 
mill has one run of stones. 

The Colchester Butter and Cheese Factory, located on road 28, was built 
in 1870. It employs two men and uses the milk from 300 cows. 

The Wakefield Variegated Marble Company, located on road 34, are ex- 
tensively engaged in producing the beautiful variety of marble known as 
Mallett's Bay marble. It is used principally for furniture tops, and for dec- 
orating buildings. Mr. A. S. Baxter is manager of the company. 

The Town Poor Farm, located on road 29, contains 180 well cultivated 
acres. There are at present nine persons receiving its bounty. It is under 
the charge of Porter D. Mitchell. 

The Winooski Savings Bank, located on Allen street, was incorporated in 
1869. It is a purely savings institution, with the following list of officers: 
S. H. Weston, president ; H. W. Barrett, vice-president ; and Ormand Cole, 
treasurer. The bank has met with uniform success since the first of its 
organization. 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 1 85 



Dunbat^s Hotels located at the junction of roads 44 and 45, was built by 
Arad Menill, in 1830, and kept by him about twelve years, when he was 
succeeded by his son, Andrew J. In 1878, it was purchased by Mr. Dunbar, 
who has been its proprietor since. It is a neat, two and one-half story 
building, modern in all its appointments. Since Mr. Dunbar came into 
possession, he has established the Burlington Driving Park, containing one of 
the best tracks in the State. His extensive experience in hotel-keeping, 
together with his uniform gentlemanly manner, renders the hotel a desirable 
one. 

The MalUtfs Bay House, a summer resort located on road 33, has accom- 
modations for seventy-five persons. The locality affords extra facilities for 
boating, fishing, duck shooting, etc. It is at present under the management 
of William B. Craven, who has succeeded in making the house extremely 
popular. 

The first persons who took possession under the charter of Colchester were 

Ira Allen and his cousin, Remember Baker, in the fall of 1772. In the 

spring of 1773, Baker brought his family into town, consisting of his wife and 

three children, which was the first English family that ever settled in the 

toira of which we have any account. Allen was young, unmarried, and lived 

Wh them as a member of the family. As a means of protection against 

Indian depredations, and defence against the " Yorkers," the first thing they 

<Iid was to construct a block-house, or fort. This was built on the north 

^nlc of the river, on the highest ground, from six to eight rods east of the 

present falls bridge. The greater part of the ground on which it stood has 

since slid off into the river and been washed away. It was constructed of 

"^^^*i timber, two stories high, with thirty-two port-holes in the upper story, 

and ^as furnished with arms and ammunition, and named Fort Frederick. 

^^iHrjg the same year they cut a road from Castleton to Colchester, a dis- 

*^^oe of about seventy miles. (See page 133.) At this time there were no 

settlements in Burlington or any other part of the county, except some 

* orkers " who had located on Shelburae Point, and who were suffered to 

'"CTHain on the promise that they would " behave." 

^ clearing was made about the fort, in which Baker and his family resided. 

^o clearings were also made on the intervale below the falls, it is supposed, 

^ Joseph Fuller and Henry Colvin, and one at Mallett's Bay, on the farm 

*^tely known as the Newton farm, by a man by the name of Monte. In 

^75, Joshua Stanton commenced a clearing on the intervale above the falls, 

*^^ Abel Hulburt, Abel Benedict, and Capt. Thomas Darwin, all made pur- 

^^^ses of farms on the intervales below the falls. In the meantime, a mys- 

^'"ious person by the name of Mallett, a Frenchman, resided on Mallett's 

^^^, but who he was, and where he came from, and when and by what 

^thority he settled there, we have no account. Most certain it is, however, 

7^^ he was there previous to the Revolution, and during its progress, claim- 

^ allegiance to no nation, but keeping a hotel for British and Continental, 



1 86 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



spy and smuggler alike. He died at an advanced age, in 1790. The clear- 
ing about his house had the appearance of being very ancient, and must have 
been commenced much earlier than the date of the charter. (See page 61.) 

For seven years, from the spring of 1776, the town was abandoned by all 
the settlers, save by the venerable Capt. Mallett, as he was called After 
the close of the war, in 1783, Messrs. McClain, Law, and Boardman settled 
on Colchester Point, and Ira Allen and most of the former settlers returned 
and resumed their settlement at the falls. Allen, on his return, to promote 
the interests of the place and give value to his large landed estate, com- 
menced an active business, rebuilding the upper dam, erecting mills, a forge 
and a shop for manufacturing anchors, so that the place soon assumed the 
appearance of a considerable village. 

The first proprietors' meeting w^as held at Fort Frederick, June i, 1774* 
at which Ira Allen was moderator. The first county court ever held in the 
county was also held at Allen's house, in November, 1785, at which time Ad- 
dison and Colchester were half shires of the county of Addison, which then 
extended to the north line of the State. The town was organized in 1791, 
though the first town meeting on record was held March 18, 1793, when 
Joshua Stanton was chosen moderator ; Joshua Stanton, Jr., clerk ; Joshua 
Stanton, John Law, and Thomas Hill, selectmen ; Joshua Stanton, treasurer; 
and William Munson, constable. The first representative was Thomas But- 
terfield, who married the widow of Remember Baker, chosen in 1785, and he 
was also the first justice of the peace, appointed in 1787. Of this first list of 
officers, Stanton, Law and Munson became quite prominent in the county. 
Joshua Stanton was three years judge of Chittenden County Court, one of 
the original corporators of the University of Vermont, and nine years a mem- 
ber of the corpxoration. His son, Joshua, Jr., was for two years second judge of 
the County court, and also a liberal patron of the University. John Law 
came from New London, Conn., settling on the Point. Although a some- ^ 

what eccentric individual, he was possessed of fine talents and a liberal edu 

cation. In 1793, he was sent from this town as a delegate to the State con 

vention at Windsor, to consider the proposed amendments to the constitu — ^ 
tion, and was six years judge of the county court. WiUiam Munson was ^k 
successful, enterprising business man. He came to the town with no capitaF^— 
first tending saw-mill for Ira Allen, then bought a small farm, went into tl]«^ 
lumbering business, purchased and cleared up lands, and thus accumulated 
large property, and added much to the general improvement of the town. 

Ira Allen has been mentioned so often throughout the body of the wor 1 
and is an historical character so generally known, that an extended notice c 
his life, i n the few brief biographies our space allows, would be superfluo^LJS 
Suffice it to say, then, he bore a distinguished part in the early affairs of V" ^^• 
mont. He was the youngest of seven brothers, of whom Ethan Allen i^s^as 
the oldest, and was born at Cornwall, Conn., May i, 1751. In his youth he 
received a good English education, was an early practical surveyor, and« io 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 1 8/ 



later years, a clear and forcible writer in politics and history. He was scarcely 
twenty-one years of age when he became the proprietor of lands under the 
New Hampshire charters, and from the year 1772, when he first came to Col- 
chester, was active and earnest in his opposition to the New York patentees. 
On almost all occasions during the Revolutionary period, he acted, either 
alone or with others, as agent of the State in the transactions with the Conti- 
nental Congress and with the governments of New Hampshire and New York, 
and was also one of the founders of the University. In addition to his other 
various talents, he was an author of some merit, having written several works, 
among which was a history of Vermont. Notwithstanding all this, however, 
certain of his transactions brought him into disfavor with the government. After 
a few years residence in Colchester he removed to Irasburgh, Vt., and dur- 
ing the latter years of his life resided in Philadelphia, Pa., where he died, 
January 7, 1814. After his death his widow occupied the house at Winooski 
village, mentioned on a previous page. 

Remember Baker, Allen's cousin, whose active and earnest opposition to 
the New York claimants, in connection with Allen, Warner nd others, are 
well-known facts of general history, was bom at Woodbury, Conn., in 1737. 
He was a cousin to the Allen brothers, his father being a brother of their 
mother. He served as a soldier at Lakes George and Champlain, in the 
French war, and had thus acquired a knowledge of the lands on his route 
ttiere and in their vicinity. He settled at Arlington, in 1764, and built, in the 
^^stern part of that town, the first grist-mill on the New Hampshire Grants 
tm^Tthof Bennington. After an attempt of Justice Munro, on the part of 
tlm^ Yorkers, to take him to Albany jail under the outlawry act, when he was 
t«"^»ited with great harshness, he appears to have been generally desirous of 
i«ra.Oicting severer punishment on the Yorkers than most of his companions. 
p-I« was with Ethan Allen, holding the rank of captain, at the taking of Ticon- 
A^STOga, May 10, 1775, ^^^f ^^ August following, being sent by Gen. Mont- 
goraery to reconnoiter the enemy's position at St. Johns, he was shot by an 
Ivs^'an. At some distance this side of St. Johns, he landed and concealed 
Vmis boat, and was about proceeding on foot, when he saw that his boat was 
*^^y in possession of some of the Indians. He hailed them and demand- 
^ his boat, but as they paid no regard to the demand, he drew up his gun, 
*^^t it missed fire, and at the next instant he received a shot through the head 
"^na one of the Indians in the boat, and fell dead upon the spot. His com- 
P^ions then fled, and made their way back by land with the sad intelligence* 
**Js widow subsequently became the wife of Thomas Butterfield, the first rep- 
'^'^tative of Colchester. 

Nathaniel Collins, one of the early settlers of the town, was born in Con- 
**^cut, in 1763, and at the age of twenty years immigrated to Burlington 
^^^ his wife's father, Stephen Lawrence. The settlement of Winooski then 
^^isted of a couple of houses and a saw-mill. By his first wife, Elizabeth 
^^I'cnce, he had a family of twelve children, and by his second wife, Olive 



1 88 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



Stebbins, he had one child. In 1824, he located in Colchester, where he 
carried on the blacksmithing business near the present site of the Baptist 
church, at Colchester Center. Only two of his children are now living, 
George H., at Elizabethtown, N. J., and Charles, located in this town on road 
15, being now seventy-four years of age. Charles remembers well the war of 
18 1 2. When the British vessels opened fire on Burlington, he says he recol- 
lects seeing the soldiers pass his father's house and halt on the green in front. 

Ebenezer Johnson, from New Hampshire, came to this town at an early 
day, locating on road 2, where he bought one hundred acres of land at $3.00 
per acre, the same that is now in the possession of the Johnson family. He 
had but one child, Ambrose N., who had a family of eight children, four sons 
and four daughters. Two of the sons, Ebenezer O. and John N., were sol- 
diers in the late war, serving in the 13th Vt Vols. John and Moses Johnson 
came here about the same time, with Ebenezer. John located on road 3, 
where S. H. Everett now resides. Moses died a few years after, of pulmo- 
nary disease. 

Isaac Thompson, from Dover, N. H., was an early settler here. He was 
a soldier in the w^ar of 181 2. and was present at the battle of Plattsbnrjg^ 
He located upon the old Thompson homestead, now owned by W. W. W. 
Thompson, and built the first house thereon, of plank, during the cold sum- 
mer of 1 816, and with others suffered much in consequence of the scarcity 
of grain caused by that unfruitful season. He was twice married, and reared 
a family of fourteen children. 

Abijah Warner, a native of New^ Hampshire, located in South Burlington 
about the year 1800, where he continued to reside until his death. He had 
a family of five children, three sons and two daughters. Samuel C, the : 
eldest son, now resides in Colchester, at the age of seventy-two years. 

Artemas Cushman, from Massachusetts, located in this town at an eariyv 
day, residing here with his children many years, attaining the age of ninety- 
six or ninety-seven years. He held many of the town offices. Of his family 
of twelve children, none are now living. The family was remarkable for it. 
longevity. 

Ebenezer and Elijah Wolcott, from Pownal, Vt., as early as 1795, locate 
on road 12, upon the farm now occupied by some of his descendant 
Ebenezer afterwards removed to a place a little north of where Dennis Sha 
now resides, where he was engaged in burning lime for a number of yea 
He built the house now occupied by Mr. Shaw, and in which he died, 
his family of twelve children, eleven arrived at the age of maturity. Eli 
was twice married and also had a family of twelve children. 

Antoine Moss, from Canada, came to Colchester during the war of i 
His father was a soldier, and came to this countr)' with Gen. LaFay 
Alexander P. Moss, now residing on road 46, is a son of Antoine. 

Ebenezer Severance, from Connecticut, came to this town with his f 
among the early settlers. They located upon the farm now owned by G 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 1 89 



N. Rhodes, and built the house now occupied by him. During its con- 
struction, Ebenezer's father stepped upon a nail, which penetrated his foot, 
causing tetanus, resulting in his death. Ebenezer had a family of eight chil- 
dren, five sons and three daughters, two of whom, John and George, still 
reside in Colchester, aged respectively sixty-nine and sixty-four years. 

Joseph E. Rhodes came to Colchester about sixty years ago, from Con- 
necticut, and located upon the farm mentioned above, where his son, George 
N., now resides. He followed the occupation of farming, and reared a family 
of nine children. 

William Hine, one of the pioneers of the town, was the father of three 
sons, Simeon, Hezekiah, and Israel, all of whom located in Colchester. 
Simeon located on road 13, upon the farm now occupied by Mrs. Sophronia 
Collins. He had a family of six children who arrived at maturity, one of 
whom, William, married Eunice, daughter of Benjamin Boardman, and had a 
family of seven children. Hezekiah married Hannah Spencer, and had a 
family of five children. Israel married Juliet, a sister of Eunice Boardman, 
and reared a family of six children. 

Benjamin Boardman, from Connecticut, located near the falls in 1789, and 

subsequently removed to Colchester Point. His daughter Eunice became 

the second wife of William Hine, and still survives him, aged eighty-six years^ 

Aa.ving resided in the house she now occupies since her marriage, at the age 

o£ seventeen. 

George Bates, a blacksmith, settled in Colchester at an early date, married 
Hine, and died here in 1876, aged ninety-one years. His wife died at 
s age of seventy-five years. 

Paul Clapp came to this town in 1797, from Orange, Vt., and located near 
e present village of Colchester Center. He was a soldier during the war of 
I ^3> 12, followed the occupation of farming, and reared a family of eight chil- 
di^r'^ni, five of whom attained a mature age. 

Harry Densmore, of Chelsea, Vt., came to this town during the early part 
oC" the present century, and died here in 1876, aged seventy eight years. He 
isuried Miss Betsey Cook, who survives him, at the age of eighty years, and 
vau the father of nine children, seven of whom are now living. 

Seth Cary, from Connecticut, came to Colchester in 1 800. He served in 

tHewar of 1812, followed farming, was twice married, and had a family of 

ten children, of whom Lyman, residing on road 15, aged sixty-six years, is 

^ only surviving one. Lyman's brother, Jesse, located on road 14, upon 

^ place now owned by his son, Franklin. Jesse had three children who 

stained a mature age, Franklin, Josiah, and Azuba. 

Nathan Bryan, from Connecticut, came to Colchester at an early date. He 
^'^ a man of culture, and taught school many years. He had a family of 
*^»i children, three sons and four daughters. Of the sons, Joseph removed 
^ Canada, where he subsequently died. Nathan, Jr., after residing a few 
y^**^ in Essex, where his father had resided a short time previous to his set- 



».^--- 



IQO TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



tlement here, came to this town, where he died, aged ninety-two years. Jcny 
became a Baptist clergyman and died in Pennsylvania. 

Samuel Austin, a Quaker, came to Colchester from New Hampshire, in 
1790, and located on road 10, upon the place now occupied by Fred. H. 
Morse, where he built the first house on that farm. He married Rachel 
Hawkins, by whom he had a family of six children, Abigail, Paul, Solomon, 
Anna, Stephen and William. Abigail was married to Dennis Downing and 
resides in this town. Paul married Lydia, a sister of Dennis, and died here. 
Solomon married Sally Garland, of New Hampshire, and located in Colches- 
ter, where he died in 1843, ^g^^ seventy-five years. He was the father of six 
children, two of whom, Sarah, the widow of Milton D. Wick ware, aged 
eighty-one, and Nathaniel, aged seventy-eight years, still survive him. Anna 
was married to Paul Vamey and removed to Ohio. Stephen became the 
husband of Luc>' Hyde, and William married Ruth Richardson. 

David Bellows was an early settler in Colchester, coming here from Massa- 
chusetts. He married Betsey Covey, by whom he had one child, named 
Betsey. She was married to Roger Thompson, by whom she had a family of 
thirteen children. Eli Baker, another early settler, came here from Williams- 
town, Vt. He was a farmer, married twice, and had a family of ten children. 
The family of Ebenezer Baker are the only representatives of the Baker family 
in Colchester. 

Ebenezer Lyon, from Canterbury, Conn., came to Colchester in 1798, 
locating upon the place now owned by W^illiam D. Famsworth, where he 
died, aged seventy-four years. He was twice married, and reared a family of 
eleven children. John Lyon, now of Colchester, is the oldest child, aged 
eighty-three years, 

James Gale, from New Hampshire, came to this town about the year 
1804. He was the father of six children. Amos, his son, came here about 
the year 1808, and married Polly Johnson, by whom he had seven children, five 
sons and two daughters. The only one of the children now living is Benja- 
min F. Gale, residing on road 5. 

Benjamin Wright, son of William Wright, an early settler in Essex, cames 
to Colchester in 1882, taking up his residence with CoL Tyler. He wasfoov 
times married, and reared a large family of children. Many of his descends 
ants are now residents of the town. 

John Thayer, son of Caleb Thayer, who was an early settler in Burlingtoir 
came to this town during the first half of the present century. He marrie? 
Silence Ross, by whom he had a family of eight children, six of whom 
now living in Colchester. 

Thomas Porter, son of Ashbel Porter, bom September 17, 1773, came 
Colchester from Grand Isle, Vt., in 1806, and bought the Amos farm, th 
owned by Moses Catlin. Mr. Amos built the house now standing on f 
place. January 24, 1813, he married Abigail, daughter of Job Bates. 

Aaron Parmelee, from Connecticut, came to this town about the y 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. I9I 



x8i2, and located upon the farm now occupied by S. N. Marsh. He had a 
family of four children, two of whom still reside in the town. He died in 

1834. 

Hiram Rood came to Colchester from Jericho, Vt., and settled on the 

farm now owned by Clark Rood, on road 48. He was a farmer by occupa- 
tion, and had a family of five children, four of whom, Mrs. Mary Stevens, 
Clark A., Emeline, and Myra L., now reside here. 

James Crocket, from Portsmouth, N. H., came to Colchester about the 
year 1832, and located near Colchester Center, upon the place now known 
as the Munson farm. He had a family of seven children, four of whom, 
Charles W., Jane (Mrs. George M. Horton), Amelia (Mrs. M. McNall), and 
John W., now reside here. 

William D. Kidder, from Middlesex, Mass., came to this town about the 
year 1829, and kept one of the first livery stables here, and afterwards was en- 
gaged in the manufacture of brick and lumber. He died in 1856, aged fifty- 
six years, leaving three children. 

William McBride, a native of the North of Ireland, came to this town, 
from Grand Isle, about the year 1843. He was a farmer, and had a family 
©/"five children, as follows : Andrew C, George L., Mary Ann, William H., 
And Alverta, all of whom are now living in Colchester. 

Francis LeClair came to Colchester in 1828, locating at Winooski village, 

*^iiere he remained, following the occupation of farming, until his death, in 

1 86 a, aged sixty-four years. He had a family of six children, only three of 

^horxi are now living, viz.: Lucy (Mrs. Lewis LaDam), Louisa, and Francis. 

"ancis, the present representative of the town, first selectman, village trustee, 

^^^-, is an extensive brick manufacturer, and also one of the oldest merchants 

^'^ ^hc towTi. He has done more, probably, towards promoting the present 

Prosperity of the village than any other one person. Among the buildings 

^^ a public nature which have been erected by him, or which are largely in- 

^^^ted to him for pecuniary aid, may be mentioned the Winooski Block, 

"^ilt in 1867, and at that time said to be one of the finest business blocks in 

^*^« State, St Peter's Catholic church. Providence Orphan Asylum, and St. 

Joseph's church. He has also helped many poor families by building homes 

^^r them and allowing them to pay for the same in easy installments, having 

^^It 120 such in the village alone. 

^Viniam Wray (now spelled Ray) was among the early pioneers of Hines- 
^'gh, probably from Connecticut. He married Hannah, a daughter of 
^Pt. James Green, — who lost a limb at the battle of French Mills, was pro- 
^<>ted for bravery in that action, but died before the commission reached 
"*^, — and had a large family of children, only one of whom, George, now 
folding in Hinesburgh, is living. Orrin P. Ray, a lawyer of Winooski village, 
^ * son of George. He was a soldier during the late rebellion. His brother, 
^^^orgc, is now a member of congress from New Hampshire. 

George D. Nash, the master mechanic of the Burlington Woolen Mills and 



192 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



chief of the Winooski fire department, is a son of Buel T. Nash, and was 
born in Shelbume. He has been connected with the woolen mills for a 
period of thirty years. 

Robert Griswold, from Cambridge, Vt., came to Colchester in 1833, locat- 
ing at the village. He was twice married, and is the father of eight chil<!ren, 
one only of whom, Harry, is now living. He has been employed at the 
woolen mills since 1835. 

George W. Horton came to Colchester in 1832, and located at Winooski, 
on what is now known as Allen street. He was a physician and surgeon, 
which profession he followed until his death, in April. 1872, aged sixty- four 
years. He married Eliza A. Bach, of Ballston Springs, N. Y., who survives 
him, and had a family of four sons, only two of whom are now living, — George 
M., a farmer in this town, and Harvey V., the present town clerk, trustee of 
surplus fund, and town superintendent of schools. 

Joseph B. Small came to Winooski in the fall of 1848, and engaged in the 
mercantile business, contmuing the same twenty-five years, when failing health 
compelled him to retire He has held the various town and village trusts, 
and has also been one of the directors of the Winooski Savings Bank. His 
wife, a daughter of Truman A. Chittenden, of Williston, died in 1863. 

Tfu First Congregational Churchy located at Colchester Centre, was ot- 
ganized September 14. 1804, in a school-house which stood near the present vil- 
lage. The church was gathered and organized by Rev. Benjamin Wooster, 
who had been sent by the Connecticut Missionary Society to labor in these 
parts. It consisted of eight members, — Timothy Farrand, Friend Farrand, 
Nathan Wheeler, Polly Deroing, Elizabeth Wheeler, Desire Wolcott, Lydia 
Austin, and a Mrs. Downing. Nathan Wheeler was chosen deacon, and held 
the office until his death, in 1 806. Edward Griffin succeeded him, and was 
the only deacon in the church until his removal from the town, in 18 12. No 
church edifice or house of worship existed in the town until the summer 01 
1838. The church at first held its Sabbath worship in a school-house, or, ..^ 
when a larger place was needed, in a bam, until 1814, when the town, ii 
connection with the central district, built the ''stone school-house," to 
used not only for a school but for town purposes and public worship. In 
summer of 1838, the Congregational society united with the small 
society and erected a commodious brick edifice, which the two societies 
cupied in union until 1861, when this society purchased the interest from th 
Baptist society, repaired the church, etc, until it is now a neat, comfortabl 
structure, with seating capacity for about two hundred persons. The soci< 
at present numbers fifty members, with Rev. A. S. Barton, pastor. 

The First Baptist Church, located at Colchester Center, was organized 
its first pastor, Phineas Colver, with eight members, January 19, 182a 
first house of worship was built in union with the First Congregational 
in 1838, and retained by them until 1861, when it was purchased by t 
Congregational church. The Baptists then erected their present wood strv^ 







TOWN OF ESSEX. 1 93 



ture, costing $3,000.00, about its present value. It has a seating capacity of 
about 250. The society now has fifty-five members, with Rev. Alexander A. 
Davis, pastor. 

The First M, E. Churchy located at Winooski village, was organized by 
S. R. Rathburn, H. W. Simmons, J. L. Hempstead, J. P. Newhall, Sher- 
man Beach, and Rev. H. H. Smith, who constituted the society, with Rev. 
H. H. Smith, pastor. The first and present house of worship was 
erected in 1861, a wood building capable of seating 400 persons, and 
costing $3,500.00, and is now valued, including grounds, at $6,500.00. 
The society now has 1 1 1 members, and is in fully as prosperous a condition 
as at any time in its history, having an average attendance of about 150. It 
has also a good Sabbath school with 189 scholars, and an average attendance 
of 113. Rev. Edgar L. Walker, A. M., is the present pastor. 

St, Frafuis Xavier Roman Catholic Churchy located at the corner of St. 
Peter and Weaver streets, Winooski village, was organized April i, 1868, by 
Rev. Father Audet, their first and present pastor, with 600 members. Ser- 
Wces were at first held in the hall in the Winooski Block, until the present 
brick church was finished. It is a fine structure, built of brick, is capable of 
seating 900 persons, and cost $ 1 5,000. 00. It is now valued, including grounds, 
*t $40,000.00. The society now has 1,100 members, and sustains a Sabbath- 
school with a regular attendance of 300 children. The church also has under 
'^ control a convent, managed by the Sisters of Charity, where 300 children 
^^^ being educated. The convent building is 85x36 feet, built of brick, with 
^^o stories and a French roof. 

•^A Stephen's Roman Catholic Churchy located at Winooski village, was 
^^S^nized in 187 1, by its first and present pastor. Very Rev. Thomas Fynch, 
'^^H about 200 members, which number has since increased to 300. The 
. ^^t"ch building was erected during the same year, a structure capable of seat- 
^S 350 persons. It cost $6,000.00, about its present value. 

^>5^ Trinity Protestant Episcopal Church, located on East Union street, 

^^"^ organized in 1873, by Rev. Edward R. Atnill, its pastor, with four mem- 

^^*^. The present wood church was erected during the same year, at a cost 

$3,000.00. It is now valued at $3,500.00, and will comfortably seat 200 

^^^*^Ons. The society has forty members, with Rev. Mr. Bliss, rector. 



/ 

^HBSSEX, a township located in the central part of the county, in lat. 44° 

2^^ 3i'i suid long. 3° 58', is bounded north by Westford, east by Jericho, 

^P south by Williston and South Burlington, and west by Colchester. It 

^^ granted by George III., through Benning Went worth, the governor 

New Hampshire, the charter deed being made in favor of Edward Burling 

^^^ sixty-three associates, and containing the usual reservations and restric- 
11 



194 TOWN OF ESSEX. 



tions incident to the New Hampshire grants. The charter also announces 
the town to have an area of " 23,040 acres, or a tract six miles square ; " but as 
the land was divided into seventy-two shares of 330 acres each, its area is very 
evidently about 23,760 acres. The document was signed by " His Excel- 
lency" on the 7th day of June, 1763, and so from that day Essex dates its 
birth, though its history cannot really be said to have commenced until the 
inception of its first settlement, a number of years subsequent 

In surface, Essex presents a pleasing picture, a landscape of practical 
utility rather than mere beauty — no mountains rear their lofty crests sky- 
ward, and no dimpling lakelets deck the emerald vales. Still, there is 
diversity enough to attract the beauty-loving eye, and once attracted, the 
beholder cannot but remark the rare richness of the territory. The northern 
and eastern portions are broken and hilly, containing some elevations of con- 
siderable prominence, and all clothed with a rich verdure that affords suste- 
nance to many herds of cattle. The southern, central, and western parts are 
more level, sinking in some places to a swamp, where large quantities of cran- 
berries grow spxontaneously. On the borders of the Winooski and Brown's 
Rivers the soil is a rich alluvial deposit, while in the southern and southwestern 
it is sandy, and in the northern and northwestern more of a clayey formation, 
cropping out occasionally in valuable clay beds suitable for manufacture into 
brick. Rich deposits of muck are also found in certain localities. Taken in 
general, the soil is rich and productive, with scarcely an acre that cannot be 
cultivated, and the greater portion of the township is admirably adapted to 
grazing purposes, and hence the farmer's attention is principally devoted to 
this branch of husbandry, causing large quantities of butter and cheese to be 
exported each season, forming the principal article of commerce. Unusually 
good facilities are afforded, too, for transportation of commodities, in the 
several railroads which intersect here. The Winooski River forms the south- — 
em boundary of the town, affording two good mill privileges, while the east- 
ern and central portions are watered by Brown's River and its several tribu 

taries. Alder brook flows through the central part, and several other smallec^ 
streams are found in other localities. 

The rocks that enter into the geological structure of the town are of A^ 
Eolian limestone, clay slaU^ dSid, takose conglomerate formation, with tbcS 
various phases and transformations. The marble bed underlies the soutV 
western comer, next to which is the clay slate, a deposit about two mOes - 
width, extending the whole length of the town from north to south, the o 
maining portion of the territory being talcose conglomerate. 

In 1880, E^sex had a population of 2,111, was divided into twelve schc 
districts, and contained ten common schools, employing one male and fo 
teen female teachers, at an aggregate salar)' of $1,441. There were ^ 
pupils attending common school, while the entire cost of the schools for 
year, ending October 31st, was $1,959.15. 

Essex Junction, a post village located in the southwestern part of 



TOWN OF ESSEX. I95 



town, at the junction of the various railroads which traverse the county, con- 
tains two churches (Baptist, and union of the M. E. and Cong.), a paper- 
mill, butter tub factory, saw and grist-mill, marble shop, a nursery, eight 
stores, four blacksmith shops, one wheelwright shop, one paint shop, two 
livery stables, two hotels, a graded school, village hall, extensive brick manu- 
factory, etc. 

Essex Centre (Essex p. o.), a post village located in the central part of 
the town, contains four churches (M. E., Baptist, Cong., and Universalist), 
Essex Classical Institute, a district school, two stores, one hotel, a blacksmith 
shop, one wagon shop, a dressmaker shop and millinery store, and about 150 
inhabitants. 

J. K. Drury 6- Soris brick yard, located on road 41, is probably one of 
the most extensive brick manufactories in the State. The works were estab- 
lished in 1868, by J. B. Drury, and seem to have everything furnished at hand by 
nature. Indian brook passes through the center of the yard, and upon one 
side of it are beds of excellent clay, while on the other side the sand for its 
manufacture into brick is found in abundance. Four mills are used in grind- 
ing the clay, fifty men employed, and the annual product is 4,000,000 brick. 
Mr. Drury has constructed a branch track from the C. V. R. R., uniting near 
the Junction depot, so that his goods may be loaded upon the cars right at 
the yard. 

/ IV, Truax, located at Essex Junction, is engaged in the manufacture of 
Ais Green Mountain water-wheel, patented in i860. He does an extensive 
i>usiness, and employs a number of men. 

Hunter 6- Shilan(r s paper-mill, located at Essex Junction, is operated by 

''^'ater-power, and has, in addition, four engines for grinding stock. All of 

^^^it machinery is of the most modern style, enabling them to do first-class 

•■^^flc. They employ twenty hands, and manufacture one and one-half tons 

^^ paper per day. 

^^. B, fohnsoti s grist-mill, also located at Essex Junction, is operated by 

^^ter-power, has four runs of stones, and employs four men. It grinds annu- 

*^ly 2,500 bushels of wheat, 30,000 bushels of corn, 5,000 bushels of oats, 

**^^ 5f00o bushels of buckwheat, besides 30,000 bushels of custom grinding. 

T^Ae Marble Works at Essex Junction were established by Snyder & 

^^ownell, in 1864. Mr. M. L. Snyder bought out Mr. Brownell, in 1867, 

&ince which time he has operated the business alone. He subsequently 

^ded the manufacture of granite, and now does a general business in both 

*^^cs, employing five men. 

The Central House, a fine hotel located at Essex Junction, was opened by 
t «ie present proprietor, Edward O. Joslyn, May i, 1882, a gentleman of large 
\ ^^^perience as a hotel keeper. This location offers superior inducements to 
■ 'vuiUQer boarders, on account of the many pleasant drives, being only ten 
M Holes from Mount Mansfield, and the excellent opportunities for gunning, 
m ^^mtfisiiing, etc. 

1 



196 TOWN OF ESSEX. 

The Junction House ^ another hotel of equal merit, is located at the village, 
with Truman Hunt, proprietor. 

Of the sixty-four grantees of the township of Essex, none, it is believed, 
ever located within its limits. And notwithstanding the charter was granted 
as early as 1763, no settlements were made, and the tract remained studded 
with stately forest monarchs, with none to disturb their quietude, until 1783, 
when, in the spring of that year, Samuel Smith, William Smith, Jonathan 
Winchell, Dubartis Willard, and David Hall, came on from Massachusetts 
and commenced a settlement. Thus thq history of the town may properly 
be said to date from that spring, a quiet, even, uneventful history though it is. 
Steadily and quietly the town has increased in power and importance, and 
quietly, one by one, its waving grain fields and smiling meadows have come 
into existence, as the forest receded before the onslaught of the sturdy wood- 
man. Again we say, the history of Essex is an uneventful one. No Miltoo 
or Pope first opened their eyes on the pleasant hills and dales, and no Porter 
or Nelson have closed their eyes here to a sleep beneath its clay. Indeed, 
the Essex man cannot boast of even a Douglass or a Horace Greeley as a 
native of their town ; but they can claim two thousand honest, loyal hearts^ 
that call it home, and though not blazoned forth on the banner of fame, they^ 
point to numerous silent, well-kept graves, where rest the bodies of as man 
heroes, whose noble souls went up in the smoke of battle, a sacrifice to pre — 
serve their country's unity. Pioneers came in slowly after a settlement wa=i. 
once commenced, so that at the taking of the first census, in 1791, it 
354 inhabitants. In 1786, it was considered that the population was suflf 



ciently large to warrant its organization by the election of proper tow" - ix 
officers, so a meeting was called on the 2 2d of March of that year, at wh u 1 
Elkanah Billings was chosen clerk ; Abram Stevens, constable ; Dubar^z^"^ 
Willard, Justin Day, and Joel Woodworth, selectmen. The first justi< 
were Joel Woodworth and Timothy Bliss, chosen in 1787. The first repre- 
sentative was Dubartis Willard, in 1786. Frances Hall was the first persoi 
bom, August 23, 1783, and Eli Smith, who lived to a very advanced age, the 
first male born November 19, 1784. 

Upon the banks of the Winooski, just within the limits of the town, Samael 
Smith and his associates located, putting up the first log house, felling the first 
tree, and planting the first grain. At a later period, upon the borders of 
Brown's River, Joel Woodworth settled, and kept what is supposed to have 
been the first "tavern" in town. Farther down the stream, Timothy Bliss 
Abel Castle, James Pelton, Dea. Samuel Bradley, Dea. Ingraham, Jonathan 
Bixby, Nathan and Jabez Woodworth, James Keeler, and James Gates were 
among the first settlers in the eastern part of the town, occupjring the fertile 
intervales that border that stream. On the west side of the stream, on the 
road now leading to the center of the town, Stephen Butler and Caleb OWs 
settled. Dea. Daniel Morgan settled a little north of Dea. Watkins, on the 
opposite side of the road, Capt. Morgan Noble on the Case farm, CoL Stej^en 



TOWN OF ESSEX. 1 97 



Noble on the Heirick farm, and Ezra Woodworth and Mr. Bryant still farther 
north. CoL Noble kept a store in the same house at a very early day. In 
the northern and western portions of the town, Samuel Griffin, Averill Griffin, 
Ezra Slater, Jonathan Chipman, Brascom Perrigo, David, George, and 
Zuriel Tyler, Benton Buck, Ezra Baker, and Henry Slater, were among 
the first settlers. South from Page's Corners Capt. Simeon Tubbs, 
the Bassetts, David Kellogg, Asahel Nash, Dea. Samuel Buell, and 
Esquire Knickerbocker were the early settlers. At what was afterwards 
Inown as Butler's Corners, from the fact of men of that name doing 
biisiness there, Justin Day and Calvin Beard first settled At this place the 
sign-post and "stocks" were erected, in 1800, by town legislation. In those 
dsLfS the sign-post was quite an important public officer, for upon him was 
posted all the notices of warrants, sales, meetings, etc., making him quite a 
gossipy public character. The first settlement at Page's Corners, so-called 
from Samuel Page, whose industry and enterprise built it up and made it a 
place of considerable business, was made by James Blin, followed by John 
and Stephen Reed. John kept a tavern here at an early date, and after him 
Curtis Holgate. Here, too, the first store in town was kept, by Bazzel Stew- 
art, in 1 795, and here also the first postoffice was established. Ralph Rice 
was appointed postmaster, but on his refusing to accept the position Samuel 
Farrar was appointed in his stead. In a few years, however, the office was 
abandoned, and none kept in the town for a period of nearly twenty years. 
In 1825 or '26, the office was re-established at Butler's Corners, and Roswell 
Butler appointed postmaster. In 1838 or '39, the office was removed to the 
center of the town, and Irad C. Day appointed postmaster. Ralph Rice, 
who received the first appointment of postmaster, was one of the early mer- 
chants in the town, and largely engaged in the manufacture of potash, which 
he marketed in Montreal. This was a comparatively lucrative trade when 
settlers were clearing off their land and ashes were plenty. 

Almost the entire business of the town was for a long time transacted at 

tHis Comer. Town meetings were held here and at the meeting-house alter- 

nsi^tely from 1805 to 18 13, when they were permanently located at the Center. 

X'Wc first building erected at the Center stood on the southeast corner of the 

covnmon, and was built by Samuel Pelton. Mr. Pelton also erected a mill 

a Ccw rods west of the present mill. Alder Brook was then a small, shallow 

st.x'cam emptying into Brown's River. Mr. Pelton diverted it from its natural 

course, carrying the water in a plank fiume to his saw-mill. But in the great 

freshet of 1830, the little brook became a mighty current, cut for itself a new 

ct^annel, deep and broad, and forced its way along over all obstacles until it 

3oined the Winooski, miles away from its original mouth. The second house 

erected at the Center was the one occupied by Joel Woodworth as a tavern 

•* an early day, and stood on the northern side of the common. This house 

^^ a remarkable one for those days, being made of pine logs, nicely hewn, 

*^^8et up endwise. In April, 1796, the first school district was formed, and 



198 TOWN OP ESSEX. 



embraced all the northeastern part of the town, or that portion north of the 
original mouth of Alder Brook. The school-house stood near where James 
Gates then lived, and was the second school-house in the town. The first 
was located on Brown's River, near Jericho, and was taught in 17 S8, by an 
Englishman named James Finch. In 1794, a committee was appointed by 
the town to take measures to clear the ground sequestered for the purpose of 
burying the dead. The eastern portion of it was first cleared and was most 
used. The first bodies interred here were those of Isaac Noble and a daughter 
of Capt. Morgan Noble. Here rest the bodies of most of the early settlers, 
side by side with their children. The cemetery at the Junction was not com- 
menced until a later day. The ground for the same was donated by 

Lary, and afterwards quit-claimed to the town by Abram Stevens. The first 
person buried here was an elderly man by the name of Story. The first 
marriage recorded as taking place in town was that of Asa Town and Mabel 
Andrews. They were married by Nathan Castle, June 11, 1795. The first 
deaths, those of Remember and Ruth Tubbs, March 21, 1788. 

Samuel Bliss, from New Hampshire, located upon the farm now owned 
Keeler Warner. 

Samuel Griffin, from Killingworth, Conn., settled on the farm now own< 
by Cassius Stevens, in 1795. ^^ married Sylvia, daughter of Samuel 
ley, and reared a family of nine children, only three of whom are now living. 
in to^^Ti. Harrison, the only son, resides on road 39. 

Asa Davis, from New Durham, Mass., settled a part of the farm now 
by £. D. Whitcomb. David Booth settled the farm now owned by Bam< 
Weed. Dea. Samuel Buell settled upon the farm now owned by Harvey 
Buell, in 1787. The fourth generation now occupies the farm. Moses Bat. 
settled the farm now owned by C. £. Bates. Robert Reynolds made the 
settlement on the farm now owned by his grandson, T. F. Wilcox. Gidc 
Curtis settled the farm now owned by L. Woodworth, on road 14, J< 
Han ley located on the farm now owned by his son, Thomos B. Hani- 
on road 7. 

Joshua Bates came from Connecticut and made the first settlement on 
farm now owned by L. M. & C. W. Bates. 

Job Bates, a brother of Joshua, settled a little north of where Joshua 
located, and built the first house, of logs, on that place. He was a soldieK* io 
the war of 1812, married Sarah Martin, from Connecticut, and had a faoc^ "SI; 
of twelve children, eight sons and four daughters. 

Samuel Bradley, from Sunderland, Vt., located in the eastern part of "t-^' 
town in 1793. 

Abram Stevens, one of the earliest settlers of the town, was bom at 
lingworth, Conn., and at the age of sixteen years entered the American 
under Col. Seth Warner. After the war was over he returned to ConO' 
ticut, then came to Vermont, locating at Burlington, where, being a 
ter and joiner, he was engaged in building many of the old houses now 




TOWN OF ESSEX. 1 99 



ing, among which may be mentioned a portion of the American House, the 
Buell house on Pearl street, the old Sawyer Tavern now used by Strong & 
Co. as a hardware store, and many others. After a few years' residence 
there he sold out what property he had and removed to Essex, locating at 
what is now the Junction, upon the land at present owned by W. J. Beach 
and P. Teachout. His son, Byron, still lives at the Junction, aged sixty- 
three years. 

William Blood, from Connecticut, made the first settlement upon the farm 
now owned by Laura Lavene, and resided thereon until 1805, when he re- 
moved to the one now owned by his grandson, W. F. Blood, and upon 
which W. F.'s father, Luther, resided sixty-eight years. 

Nathan Blood, an early settler, came from New Hampshire and located 
upon the farm now owned by Henry Nichols. Amos, his son, lived in the 
town until his decease, in 187 1, and is now represented by his son, N. H. 
Blood, residing on road 8. 

Samuel Smith was the first settler on the farm now owned by E. F. Whit- 
comb, in 1788. His son, Eli, was the first male child bom in the town. He 
also erected, on this place, the first barn built in the township. Two men, 
it is said, went from Mallett's Bay, by boat, to St. Johns, Can., for rum to use 
at the raising. 

Moses Parsons settled in Royalton at an early day, was captured by 
Indians and taken prisoner to Canada, where he remained a captive two 
years. He was then released, and returning to Vermont, located in this 
town, being the first settler on the farm now owned by John Slater, and died 
here in 1814. His son, James, is still a resident on road 51, at the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-one years. 

Edward Brownell, from Canaan, Conn., located in Williston previous to 
the year 1800, where he remained until his death. Ellis S. Brownell, the 
originator of the famous "Brownell Beauty" potato, now lives in this town. 
Ebenezer Bowman, born in Lexington, Mass., July 17, 1767, emigrated to 
Clarendon, Rutland County, about 1790, and from there to Westford in 
X 804, where he died, September 20, 1832. William, his son, occupied the 
Homestead thirty-two years, then sold out and made his home with his chil- 
dren, and died while living with E. H. Bowman, at Essex Junction, in May, 

1S77. 

Thomas Whitcomb, with his son, Thomas Jr., from Swanzey, N. H., locat- 
ed in Richmond in 1804, where he remained until 1835, then removed to 
Essex and located where his son, E. F. Whitcomb, now lives, and died there 
HI 187 1, aged eighty-nine years. 

^tuuel Atherton, born at Walpole, Mass., came to Essex in early life, 

^nere he reared a family of nine children, none of whom are now living. One 

Of nis sons, Asa, had a family of sixteen children, five of whom are now living 

^ ^^^ town. 

J^>seph Weed, from Plainfield, N. H., emigrated to Richmond in 181 1, and 



200 TOWN OF ESSEX. 

after one year's residence there removed to Essex, locating upon the farm 
now owned by his son, E. B. Weed, with whom he still resides, aged seventy- 
seven years. Mr. Weed served in the war of 1 812. 

Dr. Benjamin F. Warner, from St Albans, came to Elssex in 1827, and 
located upon a part of the farm now owned by C. H. Nichols. He was a 
practicing physician here for many years, several of which he was also a local 
preacher. His practice extended from the Canada line to Addison County- 
He was a cousin to Col. Seth Warner, and also served in the war of 1812. 

William A. Vamey, bom in Westford, Vt, in 1810, came to Essex thirty- 
six years ago, and located upon the farm now owned by his son, Clark R. 
Varney. 

Charles G. Williams, from Royalton, came to Essex twenty-one years aga 
He is a descendant of Silas Williams, an old settler of Royalton, who located 
there just after it was sacked by Indians. 

Michael Beecher emigrated from Germany in 1846, and located in Bur- 
lington. His son, George, now lives in this town, on road 14. 

Ezra Slater, from Farmingham. Mass., came to Essex during the early set 

tlement of the to^^m. He purchased the farm, now owned by A. F. Chapin 

upon which he resided until his death. He was a member of the legislatu 
several years, a justice of the peace as far back as 1802, and served the to 
as selectman most of his life here. He united with the Congregatii 
church, at Essex Center, in 1838, and died in 1843, aged seventy-seven y< 
Ezra Slater, Jr., was bom here in 1798, and, in 1S21, commenced his residen 
on the farm now owned by A. C. Slater, where he continued to reside un~ 
his death, in 1881, aged eighty-four years. 

Joseph Sinclair, from Massachusetts, came to this town in 1788, and locat:: 
upon the farm now owned by Joshua Whitcomb. He married Polly Tho 
son, and was one of the earliest settlers in the town, as were also his broth 
Samuel, Jeremiah, and James. Samuel located where Erastus Whitco 
now resides, and Jeremiah settled near him. James was a deaf mute, nc^'- 
married, but spent most of his life here. 

John Halbert, from Hinsdale, Mass., came to Essex in 1805, and locateci :^ 
the eastern part of the town. He had a family of twelve children, five of wha 
are now living here. His son, Horace, is now eighty-five years of age. 
has resided upon the farm he now occupies since his marriage. It the^ -^^^ 
belonged to his father in-law, Dea. Samuel Bradley. 

David Greely, an uncle to Horace, lived in this town until his death, -~'— ^ -*- 






is buried at Essex Junction. 

David Smith, from Barre, Mass., came to this town with his sister, Sarah ^^ 
in 1822, and has resided here since, being now seventy-seven years of age. 

Eliphalet Hunt, from Coventry, Mass., came to Essex in 1844 or '45, am 
has since resided here. He married Rosetta L. Griffin, a daughter of Samuel^ 
Griffin, and has had a family of four children, all of whom are now living. 

Amasa Mansfield, from Massachusetts, was an early settler in Milton, an 



TOWN OF ESSEX. 20I 



about fifty-eight years ago removed to this town, locating where his son, Car- 
low, now resides. He served as a captain during the war of 1 812. 

The Congregational Churchy located at Essex Center, was organized Octo- 
ber 3, 1797, by Rev. Jedediah Bushnell, with the following members : Daniel 
Morgan, Timothy Bliss, Joshua Basset, Morgan Noble, David Kellogg, 
Samuel Buell, Stephen Butler, Zerviah Bliss, Eleanor Kellogg, and Rachel 
BuelL Rev. Asoph Morgan was the first settled minister. The first house 
of worship was built of wood about the year 1800, and gave place to the 
present brick structure in 1840. It has a seating capacity for about 250 per- 
sons, and cost $4,000.00. The society now has 100 members, with Rev. 
John Cowan, pastor. 

The First Baptist Churchy located at Essex Center, was organized in 1801, 

by the Baptist church of Westford, with six members. Rev. David Hulburd 

iras the first pastor. The church building, a wood structure, was erected in 

1822, repaired in 1839 ^^^ 1869. It will accommodate 250 persons, and is 

valued at $3,500.00. The society now has 114 members, under the pastoral 

oare of Rev. I. W. Coombs, and sustains a Sabbath school with an average 

Attendance of seventy-five. 

T?te First Universalist Churchy located at Essex Center, was organized by 
its first pastor, Rev. Joseph Sargent, in 1857. The church building was 
^^ected in 1859, of wood, will seat 300 persons, and cost $1,200.00. The 
^utor of the society is Rev. George S. Sargent. 

The First Congregational Church of Essex Junction was organized June 
^ ^ 1869, by a council consisting of thirty pastors and laymen from the Con- 
gregational churches of the following places : Burlington, Essex, Charlotte, 
OoJchester, Hinesburgh, Jericho, Milton, Rich ford. South Hero, Underbill, 
Westford, Williston, Winooski, St. Albans, and Georgia, and contained twenty- 
two members. The church edifice, a wood structure capable of seating 300 
persons, is used in union by this society and the M. E. church, each holding 
services on alternate Sabbaths. It was built in 1866, at a cost of $8,000.00, 
^^^ is now valued, including grounds, at about $7,000.00. The society now 
^^Jaabers seventy-seven members, with Rev. John Cowan, acting pastor. The 
*^^*^iety also has a Sabbath school in union with the M. E. church, having 
*^o scholars and an average attendance of about one hundred. 

^Ae Second Baptist Churchy located at Essex Center, was organized by 

^^v. J. A. Leavett, as amission church, in 1873, ^^^ reorganized asaninde- 

cnt society in 1879. The church building was erected in 1875, at a 

of $3,200.00, and is now valued, including grounds, at $4,000.00. At 

*^ first organization the society had twelve members. It now has thirty-six, 

^itK Rev. J. W. Coombs, pastor. 



202 TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 




[INESBURGH, located in the southern part of the county, in lat 44° 
19', and long. 3° 57', bounded north by Shelbume, St. George and 
Richmond, east by Huntington and Starksboro, south by Starksboro 
and Monkton, in Addison County, and west by Charlotte, was granted by New 
Hampshire, June 24, 1762, to David Ferris, Abel Hine and sixty-three 
others, mostly resident in New Milford, Conn., the said Hine acting for many- 
years as proprietors' clerk, hence the name " Hinesburgh." In outline the 
town is very regular, its boundary lines being each six miles in length, form- 
ing a perfect square, and enclosing a tract whose area is just thirty-six square 
miles, or 23,040 acres. This area, too, it has retained since the original 
survey, no changes ever having been made as in most of the adjoining towns. 
In surface, Hinesburgh presents as fair a contoiu* as it does in outline. 
Through the center of the town, nearly in a north and south direction, there 
extends a bed of clay slate underlying the soil, having a mean width of 
about half a mile. This ledge, or vein of rocks, seems to be the dividing 
line between what might be termed the low land of the west, and the 
high land of the east ; for west of this line the surface is low, having 
an altitude of from 300 to 500 feet above the lake level, while east of it 
the surface rapidly rises in large and broken ridges to a height of 1,200 
to 2,000 feet, though mostly covered with a strong, arable soil, making 
very good dairv' farms. The soil of this western portion is principally clay, 
very fertile, and capable of producing excellent crops of grain, while that of 
the eastern portion is a sandy or gravelly loam, equally rich. Along the 
principal streams are tracts of intervale, possessing an alluvial soil seldom 
surpassed in richness. Numerous streams and springs abound, affording 
ample irrigation for the soil, and containing many good mill sites. The 
principal water-courses, however, are Lewis Creek and LaPlotte River» 
Lewis Creek being the largest stream in town. Near the southeastern cor- 
ner of the township the mountainous ridge is cut from summit to base by a 
chasm from a quarter to a half mile in width, through which flows, from 
Huntington, a branch of Lewis Creek. The LaPlotte rises in the south- 
eastern part of the town, flows a northwesterly course, and is joined near the 
village by Pond Brook, from the northeastern part of the town, and thence 
flows on through Charlotte and Shelbume into Shelbume Bay. An interest- 
ing tradition relative to the origin of its name is current, which may be found 
noted in the Shelbume sketch. Two small ponds are found in the northern 
part of the town, one lying partly in \\'illiston. The rocks are principally 
Eolian limestone and talcose conglomerate^ though there is a large bed of red 
sandrock underlying the southwestern portion of the territory. With these 
exceptions, all the rocks of the western part of the town, up to the bed of 
clay slate pre\nously mentioned, are composed of limestone of the Elolian or 
marble formation, though no quarries suitable for working have been dis- 
covered. The whole eastern portion is composed of talcose conglomerate^ cut 
by a large bed of quartz rock, lying in the northeastern part of the township. 



TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 20} 



In 1880, Hinsburgh had a population of 1,330, and contained thirteen 
common schools, employing three male and sixteen female teachers, to whom 
was paid an aggregate salary of $1,840.25. There were 327 pupils attending 
common school, while the entire cost of the schools for the year, ending 
October 31, was $2,070.57, with Mr. C. G. Peck, superintendent. In addi- 
tion to these, the town also has an excellent school known as Hinesburgh 
Academy. This institution was established and incorporated by an act of 
the legislature, November 1 2, 1824. Under this act the trustees organized and 
opened a school which has continued without interruption to the present 
time, and has been one of the most permanent and successful institutions of 
the kind in the State. The building is a commodious, two-story structure^ 
situated on a rise of land in the center of the village, above and back from 
the west side of the street, and fronted by a luxuriant grove of maples and 
locusts. The building is in good repair and furnished throughout with modem 
furniture, has a fine minerological collection and reference library ; but the 
philosophical apparatus, which had become antiquated, was disposed of in 
1880, and has not yet been replaced. In 1870, the town adopted the town 
system of schools, and elected a board of directors who have entire control 
of the public schools. In 187 1, the academy was leased to this board, on 
the conditions that the school be maintained similar in grade and equal to that 
maintained by the trustees in years past, and that the building, furniture,. 
library, and apparatus be kept in as good condition as when delivered to them. 
Under the management of the school board, the character of the institution as 
a fitting and training school, with but slight modifications, has remained the 
same. The school has no endowment, and is supported partly by town ap- 
propriations and partly by tuitions. The property, by the act of incorpora- 
tion, is exempt from taxation. The present principal, Henry W. Page, under 
whose charge the school has been since 1880, was educated at the University 
of Vermont. Under his care the number of pupils has steadily increased 
from term to term, and a revival of interest has also been manifested in the 
classical department. The methods of instruction are fully up with the times, 
^hUe the moral tone of the school is excellent, and the work done, for thor- 
^iJghness, will compare favorably with that of any similar institution. 

The people of the town have always given much attention to the means of 

location and general instruction. Toward this object a literary society was 

^'^ed in 1810, and became of so much importance that it was incorporated by 

^ 3<^t of the legislature in 1822. A good library was collected, which circulated 

^'^long its members, and is now kept in the office of Dr. J. F. Miles. This 

^^^ty, through its library, lectures, essays, and debates, brought the leading 

wpi^^ of thought in science, literature, politics, history, and religion, not only 

oefore its members, but before the citizens of the town, and exerted a marked 

^^uaence upon the young men reared here. The functions of the society 

Equally became absorbed by the academy, and about i860, as a corporate 



204 TOWN OF MINESBURGH. 

body, it ceased to exist. The lighter books of the library perilled long «gO, 
but it still contains many valuable works which have a limited drculatioo. 

HiNESBURCH, a past village located in the central part of the town, con- 
tains four churches (Cong,, M. E., Baptist, and Christian), three stores, (Mie 
tailor shop, a grist-mill, cheese-factory, hotel, a high school and Uasonic hall, 
and about 400 inhabitants. 

Rhode Island Corners, a hamlet located in (he noTtheastero part of the 
town, near Hinesburgh Pond, received its name from the fact of its having 
been originally settled by people from Rhode Island. It ctmtaina a church 
and about half a dozen houses. 

MECHANicsviLLE. a hamlet situated in the northern part of the town, on 
Pond Brook, contains a woolen-mill, excelsior factory, grtst-mill, wagon-shop, 
saw-mill, cheese and butter tub factory, cider-mill, iron foundry, cirding-mill, 
and about twenty-eight dwellings. It was formerly called Patrick and Munay 
Corners. 

Hittesburghy — - . - - 

Woolen M»U.-.\n-\ 
drew Dow, Nelson 
M. Nay and Isaiah 
Dow, in partner- 
ship, purchased the 
Hinesburgh Wool- 
en Mill, located at 
Mechanicsville, in 
the spring of 1856, 
and commenced 
the manufacture of 
woolen goods, 
where it has been iHINESBURGH woolen mill.) 

continued n-ith varying degrees of success till the present time. It is now 
considered the best equipped mill of its size in the State. The bnildiog is 
heated and the dyeing done by steam generated in a thirty-hotse power boiler, 
situated in a brick addition outside of the main building. The machinery is 
of the best make and most modem improvement. I( has been Ivought to its 
present state of perfection hv Isaiah Dow, he having been the sole proprietor 
for the past ten years. The stream on which the mill is located is one of the 
best and safest in the county. There are now a number of first-class unoc- 
cupied privileges on ihe stream, which should call the attention of mechanics, 
providing the town would bring them to their notice and give the mechanics 
reasonable support and encouragement. Hinesburgh has all the natural 
advantages for a large manufacturing business, and it should be developed. 
Mr. Dow now employs twelve operatives and turns out annually about $30,- 
000.00 worth of goods. 

The L'nion Cheese Factory, located on roads 14 and 16, built in 1871, is 




TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 205 



>wned by a stock company, who manufacture cheese from the milk of 250 



TJu Valley Cheese Factory^ was established by a stock company in 

^66. It receives the milk from 300 cows, manufacturing 60,000 lbs. of 

^se annually. 

Lorenzo Murray s Excelsior Manufactory^ located on Pond Brook, was 

c^c^mmenced in 1873, ^y ^^^ present proprietor. He employs three men and 

I manufactures about one hundred tons of excelsior per year, using basswood 

d poplar. 

FatricHs butter tub and cheese box manufactory and saw and cider-mill^ 
located at Mechanicsville, was establishd by R. Patrick & Sons in 1868. The 
^irorks now employ six men, who manufacture 5,000 feet of lumber per day, 
3,000 butter tubs and 12,000 cheese boxes per annum, while the cider-mill 
ha^ 3. capacity for making sixty barrels of cider per day. 

J^^MtricHs iron foundry^ also located at Mechanicsville, was built in 1832, 
by K^ufus Patrick, and run by him until 1876, when it was taken by his son, 
D. IC Patrick, who still carries on the business, manufacturing agricultural 
ina pigments, employing four men. 

The only settlers who resided in the town previous to the Revolution were 
Isa^Lcr Lawrence, from Canaan, Conn., and Abner Chaffee. Mr. Lawrence 
was given lot 26, of the second division, voted him by the proprietors in con- 
sideration for services rendered them in making roads. Mr. Chaffee lived at 
the south end of the village. At the beginning of the war they both left, and 
^r- X^wrence returned again in 1783, and resided here until 1793, when he 
sold, out to Epaphras Hull, from Wallingford, and removed to Canada. His 
fanaily endured some of the severest hardships while here, being often in want 
^' ^Ood. Mrs. Lawrence has said that she lived ten months at one time 
''^thout seeing the face of any other woman, and that for one whole season 
^"^ Only food used by the family was dried pumpkins with the little mouldy 
Hour that the children scraped from the inside of a barrel that had been wet. 
^ * 784, Mr. Lawrence was joined by Jacob Meacham, from Rutland, Hez- 
^*iah Tuttle, trom Williamstown, Mass., and Amos Andrews. In 1785, 
^*H>rge McEuen, from New Milford, Conn., George Palmer, from Stoning- 
^^, Conn., Elisha Meech, Eliphai and George Steele, Thomas Place, Thom- 
?^ Butler, Joseph Wilson, Thomas McFarland and Elkanah Billings came 
'^^^ the town, and were followed in 1786, by Alfred Smalley, Job Spafford, 
^^3Jiah Palmer, Elisha Barber, Zadock Clark, Andrew Burritt, Jonathan 
!;;f ^'^cn, David Gates, Nathan Leavenworth, Nathan Leavenworth, Jr., James 
^^^s, Zalmon Wheeler, Cornelius Hurlburt and Enoch Haskins. These 
^^''c joined in 1787, by Elijah Peck, James Comings, Seth Bassett, Jonathan 
j^^^^hall, Knaptaly Bishop, Lemuel Bostwick, Joseph Farrand, David Hill, 
■^t^Xan Stuart, Thaddeus Stuart, Abraham Stuart, Eleazer Sprague, Lockwood 
^^.c3, Alpheus Mead, Simeon Hine, Robert McEuen, David Weller, Sam- 
^* iDorwin, Stephen Spaulding, Ezbon Noble, David Spencer, Ebenezer 



2C6 TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 



Stone, Moses Smalley and Jonas Shattuck, constituting an entire list of aU 
who came previous to the organization of the town. 

But one of the original proprietors, Andrew Burritt, ever settled in the 
town, though many of them were represented by their descendants. Mr. 
Burritt located in the southeastern part of the town, where he resided many 
years. He was blind a number of years previous to his death, which took 
place before that of his wife, at the age of ninety-six years, three months, and 
hers at ninety-five years and eight months. Not long before her death she 
remarked that she had lived so long she was almost ashamed of herself, and 
sometimes concluded the Lord had forgotten her, but thought she should 
fare well in the next world for being so good to " Dada," the name she gave 
her husband, while he was blind and helpless. They lived happily together 
for seventy years, and attained the greatest age of any settlers of the town. 

The first proprietors' meeting was held at New Milford, Conn., on the last 
Friday of July, 1762, and continued to be held at that place from time to 
time, for the transaction of business, up to May 16, 1776. From that time 
to May 6, 1783, no meeting was held, owing to the unsettled times attending 
the Revolution. Soon after its close, however, May 16, 1783, the first meet- 
ing in the town was warned, through the public paper, notif>'ing the proprie- 
tors " to meet at the house of Abner Chaffee in said Hinsburgh on the fifth 
Monday of June next." The meeting so warned was held, and Noble Hine 
<Jiosen moderator and Isaac Hitchcock clerk. The first town meeting, at 
which the town was duly organized by the election of proper town officers, 
was warned by Isaac Tichenor, of Bennington, and held on the third Tuesday 
of March, 1787, at the house of Eliphaz Steele. Josiah Steele was chosen 
moderator ; Elisha Barber, town clerk ; Elisha Barber, George McEuen, and 
Eliphaz Steele, selectmen ; and Jacob Meacham, constable. Erastus Bost- 
wick held the office of town clerk from 1798 to 1838, forty years, and was 
the last survivor of the ancient officers. The first justice was Elisha Barber, 
chosen in 1787, and the first representative was Lemuel Bostwick, elected in 
1789. The first child born in town was a son of Jacob Meacham, bom April 
I, 1785, and was named Hine. The first death was that of a child o! 
Elkanah Billings, who settled here in 1785. 

On Pond Brook, which contains excellent mill sites, was erected the ^1 
mill. It is a small stream, heading in Hinesburgh Pond, a handsome shi 
of water about a mile and a half in length by three-quarters of a mill 
width, containing Rock, Grass, and Spruce islands. The latter, lying r 
the eastern side, is the largest, and is quite a resort for picnic parties. 

The outlet of the pond is at the south end, where a dam seven feet bfcl^i, 
and three rods long is built, forming a good reservoir for the mills on t=:zbc 
stream below, which courses along in a general southwesterly direction. ft 

originally joined the LaPlotte to the southwest of the village, but now j(Hz. Ins 
Just west of it, as its course was changed by building a canal, through 
its waters are carried to the viUage, where they afford a water-power of 





TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 20/ 



teen feet head. From the pond to the bridge near Rufus Patrick's, the 
brook has a fall of about thirty feet, and from there, in flowing three quarters 
of a mile, it falls 250 feet, affording mill privileges which are unexcelled, as 
the reservoirs above render them reliable throughout the year. The lots con- 
taining the best of these mill-sites were marked 53 and 54 on the original 
survey, and were purchased of the proprietors by Beriah Murray, of Clare- 
mont, N. H. Mr. Murray was a famous hunter at that time, and probably 
became acquainted with the spot on some of his excursions in search of game. 
He never located here himself, however, but sold the property to Lemuel 
Bostwick, and became an early settler in Williston. In 1791, Mr. Bostwick, 
in company with Daniel Sherman, erected a saw- mill, just above the site now 
occupied by Daniel Patrick's mill, the first built in the town. It was a cheap 
affair, however, after the fashion of the period, and lasted but a short time. 
In 1793, Mr. Bostwick erected a grist-mill just above the shop now occupied 
by John Edwin. It was a two story structure, containing two runs of stones 
and a bolt, operated by an overshot wheel situated outside of the building 
the outer bearing resting on a stone, which, by the way, was well calculated 
to grind it off, as indeed it did in the course of a few years, and the mill 
stopped. Sometime between 1793 and 1800, Mr. Bostwick built a carding 
' mill on the site now occupied by the grist-mill. It was supplied with 
machinery which carded the wool and formed into rolls, and though a rude 
affair, was considered at that time a model of mechanical genius, and, 
indeed, it was a matter of no small importance to the inhabitants, 
as previous to this all their carding had to be done by hand, or taken 
to Vergennes, where there was a mill. About this time Joseph Wilcox built 
a saw-mill some thirty or forty rods below, where the rocks formed a sort of 
natural dam, affording a head of eight or ten feet. A few years after this, 
Al>out 1 80 1, Mr. Bostwick, in company with Messrs. Eldridge and Peck, built 
a saw-mill a little to the northwest of the site now occupied by L. Murray's 
c^oelsior miU. The water was taken from the dam which supplied the card- 
^S mill, carried thither by a ditch which passed along where the road now is, 
^*' a little higher up the bank. In 181 2, the bearings to the grist-mill wheel 
*S^n were ground off, and it "stopped, never to go again," as a grist-milL 

In 18 1 4, Thomas Wilcox rebuilt the John Wilcox mill, and during the 
'^Hewing year sold it to Colvin, Celah and Allen Murray, and Harmon 
gcr. Colvin Murray bought out Lemuel Bostwick, and Brigham Wright 
the carding-mill for him that year. In 1816, Murray built a grist-mill 
ere the factory now stands, the wall on a part of the south and west sides 
^Dg the same then built. Brigham Wright bought out Celah and Allen 
"^^irray and Anger. The carding-mill and the Bostwick, Eldridge & Peck 
^^^-mill, being in ruinous condition, were taken down and the carding 
^^^^nes stored in a bam. In 181 7, Capt. Bacon built a wood working 
^*^Op midway between the two bridges, on a little brook that runs into the 
•mill pond, and in 181 8, Boynton & Hurlburt put a "still" into this 



208 TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 



shop and manufactured liquor for several years thereafter. Brigham Wright 
built a dam and a mill for dressing cloth just below his saw-mill, but during 
the following year it was destroyed by fire, and he removed the business to 
the old Bostwick grist- mill And also during this year Boynton & Hurlbuit 
built the factory at the village which is now used as a grist-mill In 1820, 
Abijah Lake put a set of carding machines into the old grist-milL In 1821, 
B. Wright took down his saw-mill and removed it to the site of the mill 
which burned. Orrin Murray went into partnership with him for a period of 
three years, in the cloth dressing business. 

During the year 1822, Samuel Hurlburt built a saw-mill just south of the 
present grist-mill. In 1823, Orrin Murray and John S. Patrick formed a 
partnership, and finally came into possession of all of Colvin Murray's prop- 
erty on the stream, and continued the cloth dressing business after Murray's 
engagement with Wright closed. They also built a mill for carding where 
D. K. Patrick's shop now stands. J. S. Patrick was a machinist and wheel- 
wright, using the old grist-mill for a shop. Lake had to move his carding 
machine out, and in company with Wiley built a mill just above the bridge, 
which was suqsequently converted into the dweUing now occupied by C. F. 
Knox. During the year 1824, Murray & Patrick bought B. Wright's saw- 
mill, thus coming into possession of the pond. Colvin Murray had built a 
dam at the outlet so as to hold the water back for his grist-mill years before. 
In 1827, Murray & Patrick bought out Wiley & Lake, Wiley taking the 
present grist-mill privilege in part payment, and, in company with L. F. Clark, 
built a large blacksmith shopj which they sold during the following year to 
Elanson Lyon, who added a wagon shop. In 1829, Murray & Patrick built 
the shop occupied by J. Edwin, for their carding and cloth dressing business. 
In 1830, they commenced manufacturing cloth, with two power looms. la 
1 83 1, Lyman Huntington erected a tannery on a little brook near the 
present residence of Joseph Bissonnett, whose house was then used for a bark 
and finishing shop. 

In 1832, Lyon's shops were destroyed, by fire, and Rufus Patrick and 
Loren Murray built the foundry where it now stands, and also bought the 
old carding mill of Murray & Patrick for a shop. In 1833, the trestle-work 
that had served the old Bostwick mill as a foundation gave way. The machin- 
ery was taken out and the building used as a store-house, and a portion of 
it as a machine shop, and so used for a number of years, when it was torn 
down, thus displacing the last vestige of Bostwick's work on the stream. 
Rufus Patrick and Mr. Murray commenced the manufacture of plows, laying the 
foundation for D. K. Patrick's business. Lyon moved away during the 
spring of this year, and his place passed into the possession of Francis Wilson, 
who some time previous to this had established an "ashery" on the brook. 

In 1835, Clark Whitehorn purchased a site just below Rufus Patrick's 
shop, where he established a small carding and cloth-dressing mill In 1836, 
Loren and Colvin Murray bought the Lyon place of Wilson, and put up a 



TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 2O9 



factory where the blacksmith shop had stood. They had gotten part of the 
machinery in when the financial crash of 1837 compelled them to suspend 
operations. In 1840, Clark Whitehom built the factory now known as the 
F. F. Lyman factory, and put into it two sets of carding machines, using his 
old building as a dry-house. During 1842, Murray & Patrick purchased the 
factory building of Colvin and Loren Murray, and moved their machinery into 
it, and also built another set. They also moved their machine shop to the 
factory. In 1843, Enos Hoadley built a saw-mill just below the bridge, by 
Rufus Patrick's, but it did not prove successful, so was abandoned, and finally 
was moved across the street and converted into a dwelling. In Decem- 
ber, 1844, Murray & Patrick's factory burned down, the fire originating in 
the carding-room. During the following year they re- erected their factory 
upon its present site, and removed the grist-mill, converting it into a dwell- 
ing. Mr. Hull built a potato starch mill also during this year, between L. 
Murray's mill and the road, a part of the foundations of which still remain. 
In 1847, L. Murray sold his carding and cloth-dressing business to E. Hoad- 
ley, who added to it the manufacture of cheese boxes. 

In 1848, B. & H. Boynton failed and the factory at the village ceased op- 
erations, and was opened the following year by David Frazier. In 1850, 
Rufus Patrick built a shop, the one now occupied by D. K. Patrick. In 
185 1, Murray & Patrick closed up their factory business, and the property 
passed into the hands of J. & J. F. Peck, of Burlington. In 1853, Daniel 
and Rufus Patrick, Herman Murray, Walter Abbott, and Morton Grossman 
built the grist-mill now owned by Russel Gary. In 1854, Murray & Patrick 
built a saw-mill where the old Bostwick mill had stood. In 1855, Loren Mur- 
Tay commenced the manufacture of cheese boxes in the carding-milL In 
1856, Andrew and Isaiah Dow and Nelson Nay bought the factory of Peck 
and commenced business, as described on page 204. In 1857, Murray & 
Patrick dissolved partnership, Patrick retaining the mill property and most of 
the farm. In 1859, A. D. Rood and W. K. Patrick bought J. S. Patrick's 
niachine shop and continued the machinist and millwright business. In 
'^^3» C. C. & H. Post bought the starch-mill property, took down the old 
^^ and starch-mills, and built the shop now occupied by L. Murray, starting 
^^ business of manufacturing sap buckets and pails. In 1865, Mr. Murray 
purchased the property, and subsequently commenced the manufacture of 
®*ctl55ior, being still in the business. In 1868, Dow's factory was destroyed 
^y fire, and Rufus Patrick built the saw-mill now owned by Daniel Patrick. 
*** '^69, the Dow factory was rebuilt. In 1880, Daniel Patrick built a new 
^^ ^bove his mill, which gave way the first time it was filled, injuring one 
pf ttk^ workmen so badly that he died from the effects a few days later. He 
*"»oi«<iiately rebuilt the dam. 

^•^cih are the pnncipal changes on Pond Brook, put together in a dry and 
"^'^ ^^resting f<irm, yet valuable in an historical point of view. 
^^CDrge McEuen, mentioned among the early settlers on a previous page^ 



I: 



2IO TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 



and Mercy Wright, were married at Shaftsbury, Vt, Nov. 12, 1783. In the 
summer of 1784, Mr. Euen worked at Ferrisburgh, Addison County, building 
the first saw-mill in that town, and a little later in the season came on to his 
land in Hinesburgh and built a cabin. The following February he moved 
from Shaftsbury to Hinesburgh on an ox sled, finding few roads but plenty of 
marked trees. He had a yoke of oxen, two cows and one horse. When he 
and his wife arrived at the northern end of Monkton Pond, no track or road 
was broken farther, and the snow was four feet deep, so Mrs. McEuen was 
compelled to remain in Monkton until her husband's hired man came through 
to Hinesburgh and broke a track. When this had been accomplished, George 
rolled up a feather bed and put it, together with some bed clothes, on th e horse, 
and set his wife upon them with a basket of crockery in her lap. In this way 
they followed on to their new home in the forest, arriving here on the 26th of 
February, 1785. Mrs. McEuen saw no other female till the following April 
Their cabin contained one room, with split logs for a floor, and a chimney in 
wigwam style. Before Mr. McEuen left Shaftsbury he made a wash tub with 
a cover to it, and in this they salted their meat, it being a more convenient 
way to move it than in a barrel The lid, or cover, to this tub was used in- 
stead of a table for their first meals. After this, their hired man went to 
Monkton, where the oxen and sled had been left, and got the table, carr>'ing 
it four miles to their new home, on his head. One of the cows having be- 
come sick, she was permitted to share one corner of the cabin with them 
nightly for two weeks. 

During the following summer there was a tea party held in the town, at- 
tended by all the ladies in the township, namely : Mrs. McEuen, Lawrence, 
Chaffee^ Tuttle and Meacham, five in all Mr. McEuen's was the fifth fam- 
ily that settled in Hinesburgh. During the summer of 1785, Mr. McEuen 
built a log house in which they lived until July 19, 1797, when they removed 
to their new two-story brick house, (which has long since passed away, yet 
which some of the older inhabitants recollect,) on the old McEuen home- 
stead In the winter of 1787, Mrs. McEuen, as midwife, attended the birth 
of the first child born in Hinesburgh, which was named Hines Meacham. Mr. 
McEuen remained in Hinesburgh until his death, February 27, 181 3, leaving 
six sons and three daughters. The sons were as follows : James, Charles, 
Augustus, Carlton, George and Ransom. Four of the sons died in this town, 
while Carlton and George removed to St Lawrence County, N. Y., where 
they left large families. The daughters all married in Hinesburgh, two of ^ 

them dying soon after marriage. Mercy Marenda, the youngest, died in Jano-^ .^ 

ary, 1882, the widow of A. H. Post. In March, 1815, Mrs. McEuen be — ^ 
came the wife of Nehemiah Royce, he surviving the marriage but about twcc^ . 
years. She died December 26, 1847, aged 83 years. 

Nahum Peck, with one exception the oldest practicing lawyer in Vermont:^- j 
was born at Royalton, Mass., October 5, 1796, studied law and was admitt< 
to the bar at Montpelier, in September, 1823, and immediately settled 





^^"-^fc^^ 




TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 211 



Hinesburgh, where he has practiced continuously since. At his advanced 
age he reaps the reward of an upright life, in possessing the respect and 
honor of his fellow townsmen, who have repeatedly shown their regard by 
tendering him positions of trust. His son, Cicero Godard Peck, was bom 
February 17, 1828. He has held many of the town trusts, and is at present 
superintendent of public schools and chairman of the school board. 

Gov. Asahel Peck, LL. D., brother of Nahum, was born at Royalton, 
Mass., and removed with his parents while an infant to Montpelier, Vt. He 
was fitted for college at Hinesburgh Academy and at Washington County 
Grammar School, entered the University of Vermont, from which he received 
the degree of A. B., and from Middlebury College the title of LL. D. He 
also spent one year at a French college, near Montreal. He read law with 
his brother, Nahum Peck, at Hinesburgh, and after a few months' study with 
Baily & Marsh, at Burlington, (Marsh is now American minister to Italy,) 
where he was admitted to the bar. He practiced law several years in the 
State and United States courts, and aften being State senator was appointed 
judge of the circuit court, retaining the position four years, after which he 
was judge of the supreme court fourteen years, and Governor of Vermont 
from 1874 to 1876. He was a judge of much note, it having often been 
said of him by eminent lawyers and judges, that his legal learning would com- 
pare favorably with that of the late Judge Parsons, of the U. S. supreme 
court. In his later years he settled at Jericho, where he died, May 18, 1879, 
aged seventy«five years and eight months, and was buried in the cemetery at 
Hinesburgh. 

John Partch, born at Danbury, Conn., September 29, 1780, came to this 
town with his parents, in October, 1796. He was for some time the 
oldest person in Hinesburgh, dying at the age of ninety-two years, nine 
months and sixteen days. He was the third child in a family of nine 
sons and two daughters, all of whom he survived In early life he worked at 
the carpenter trade, but later followed farming. During the war of 181 2, he 
entered the army and was stationed for a time at Burlington. As a citizen 
he was unpretending, intelligent, and trustworthy, interested in all that con- 
cerned the honor and welfare of his town. He has six children, — two sons 
*nd four daughters, — one of whom, Dea. Noble L., is still living in Hines- 
burgh. 

Dea. Oliver Post, from West Hampton, Mass., came to Hinesburgh in 

May, 1 80 1. He was a tanner, currier, and shoemaker by trade, and was 

connected with the early history of the Congregational church here. He 

£d service in the Revolutionary war, being at one time stationed in a fort on 

the Susquehannah River, near Wilkesbarre, Pa., six months. Of his family 

of seven children who came to Hinesburgh with him, the youngest, A. H. 

Post, died here. May 3, 1881, aged nearly eighty-eight years. He built for 

himself or repaired one or more buildings each year for forty-four consecutive 

years, represented the town in 1856-57, including the extra session after the 



212 TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 



burning of the State House, got up the charter for the first cheese factoiy in 
town, and for the present cemetery, besides contributing largely to these 
enterprises. He was twice married, living only about two years with his 
first wife, when she died, leaving one child. He then married Mercy Marenda 
McEuen, with whom he lived a happy life of sixty-one years, she surviving^ 
him until January, 1882. He had a family of four sons and two daughters, 
two sons and one daughter of whom are now living — C. C. Post, of Burling- 
ton, H. A. Post, and Mrs. William Partch. 

Samuel Dorvvin, from Lanesborough, Mass., came to this town in 1785. 
His children were Samuel, Jr., who resided in Fairfax, and Urania, the wife of 
Calvin Murray. She died in 1793, aged twenty years. Thomas, brother to 
Samuel Dorwin, came from Lanesborough in 1805, bringing with him two 
sons, Canfield and Thomas M. Canfield married Electa Cook, of New 
Haven, Vt., and had two daughters, Charlotte L. and Caroline L., who be- 
came the wives respectively of *J. G. Weller and C. H. Weed, and who now 
occupy the old Dorwin homestead. 

David Weller, also from Lanesborough, was an early settler, bringing with 
him his family, consisting of wife and four sons, John, Jonathan, David, and 
Seth. David died in 1795. Seth married Wealthy Grun, December 30, 
1799, having bom to them ten children, two of whom. Job G. and Rhoda 
(Mrs. Mead), reside in Hinesburgh, and Greene D. in Burlington. John and 
Jonathan removed to New York early in life. 

Nathan Leavenworth, from Washington, Conn., came to Hinesburgh in 
1786, made a small clearing, built a log house, sowed some wheat, and returned 
to Connecticut. During the following spring he came back to this town, 
bringing with him his wife and one son, Nathan, Jr. In the course of a few 
years Nathan, Jr., married Annie Buckingham, of New Milford, Conn., and 
subsequently occupied the old homestead. 

Jacob Snyder, from New York, came to Hinesburgh about the year 1 787, 
bringing with him his family, consisting of wife and four children, remaining 
here until his death, at the advanced age of eighty years. One of his dai^h- 
ters, Catharine, became the wife of Giles Rood and is now living in town 
with her son, Jacob S., at the age of ninety-nine years. 

Job Place, from Providence, R. L, came to Hinesburgh in 1789, locating -« 
upon the farm now owned by his grandson, S. C. Place. His son, Harry J.^^ 
married Miss Mary Clement, and resided upon the old homestead all his life -^ 
He had a family of eight sons, of whom three, S. C, A. C, and W. W., 
are residents of the town. 

Charles Russell came to this town from Washington County, N. Y., 
1795, and located upon the farm now owned by Noble R Miles. He 
twice married. By his first wife, Percival Perry, he had two sons and 
daughter, and by his second wife, Huldah Videtto, he was blessed with thr 
daughters and one son. He died here in January, 1849. Perry, a son 
his first wife, married Hannah Irish, of Charlotte, and located upon the 





TOWN OP HINESBURGH. 213 

now owned by his widow. On the 3d of October, 1868, he was murdered 
l)y Henry Welcome, who subsequently suffered the penalty of his crime, being 
hanged at Windsor, Vt., after acknowledging his guilt. Perry's son, Elwood, 
now lives on the old homestead with his mother, who is eighty-six years of 
age. He has one son, Charles, living at home. 

Daniel Patrick came to Hinesburgh, from Fitzwilliam, N. H., in 1797. 

His trade was that of manufacturing spinning-wheels, which was an article 

then in great demand. During the season of 1797, he obtained a supply of 

^mber suitable for his purposes, and after placing it in a condition to season 

returned to New Hampshire to work up a quantity of lumber he had left 

there. During the following spring he returned to Hinesburgh and resumed 

his business, boarding with the family of Lemuel Bostwick, who then occupied 

the present sight of Daniel Patrick's residence. He continued in the family 

of Ait, Bostwick until February, 1 800, when he married Susannah McCleabe, 

<^^ Xynn, N. H., and located upon the farm now owned by Mr. O'Brien. 

ing a long life of economy and industry he succeeded in gaining a com- 

nee, and in securing the respect and confidence of his townsmen, whom 

^^ Served in many of the town trusts. During the war of 18 12, he served a 

^^^^^^ time in the army, acting as lieutenant of cavalry, and was present at the 

^'^'fclc of Plattsburgh. He died on his seventy-first birthday, November 6, 

"■^ ~ Of his five children, three only are now living, as follows : Daniel, Jr., 

seventy-nine, Elizabeth (Mrs. Orran Murray), aged seventy-seven, and 

His, aged seventy years. He had also twenty-one grandchildren, seventeen 

hom are now living, all honorable and worthy descendants of a noble 

^"•^dsire. 

•^S^mund and Orange Baldwin, brothers, came from New Milford, Conn., 

X^inesburgh, in February, 1797, and settled on the first division, of which 

i X father was one of the original proprietors. Their talents and characters 

secured for them the respect and confidence of their fellow citizens. 

^Luge held for some time the office of first constable and collector, which 

es he discharged with fidelity and to the satisfaction of the town. Fred- 

W., a son of Edmund, was engaged in the tanning business for some 

and then engaged in mercantile pursuits, where he was quite successful. 



*^^ was a selectman for many years and held other town offices. He was 

*^*^cc married, and had a family of eleven children, two of whom, Laura E. 

^^^x^ H. A. Beecher) and Sarah E., are living in this town. Frederick W. 

cj March 24th, 1876. Harley M., a brother to Frederick W., lived here 

t of his lifetime, dying January 9, 1874. He married Eliza Sherman of 

■^^rlotte, and had a family of eight children, six of whom are now living. 

John Beecher, a deacon of the Baptist church in Hinesburgh, came from 

^^^r Milford, Conn., in 1800, and located where Royal Bell now lives. He 

^^^ a family of eight children, John, Lydia, Lyman, Austin, Rebecca, Polly, 

"*^^Oy and Harvey. In 1816, he removed to Shoremam, Vt., where he died 

^^ ^kc age of seventy-four years. His widow returned to Hinesburgh, where 



214 TOWN OF HINESBURGH. 

she died, aged eighty-six years. The only representarives of the family in 
the town now are two grandsons, Dr. Elmer Beecher, aged seventy jesas, and 
Harmon Beecher. 

Colvin Murray, from Williston, Vt., came to Hinesburgh in 1816, and lo- 
cated upon the place formerly owned by Lemuel Bostwick, and now the 
property of Daniel Patrick. He had a family of nine children, four sons and 
five daughters. He died in 1822, aged fifty-three years, leaving a small for- 
tune. The only son who settled in Hinesburgh was Orran, who still resides 
here, aged eighty-one years. He has carried on respectively the business of 
machinist, wheelwright, manufacturer of woolen cloth and farming. 

Dennison Andrews, from Connecticut, located in Charlotte soon after the 
Revolution, where he married Eunice Cook and had a family of six children. 
In 181 7, he removed to New York, where he subsequently died. One of his 
sons, Ira, came back to Vermont, locating in Shelbume, where he married 
Aurelia Locke, and had a family of five children, four sons, and one daughter. 
The sons are now all living, two of them, Leonard, a merchant, and Curtis, 
in Hinesburgh. Curtis resides upon a portion of the old McEuen farm, hav- 
ing married Ellen McEuen. 

Royal Bell, born in 1801, came to this town, from Weybridge, Vt., in 
April, 1818. He resided with the family of Carlton McEuen until twenty- 
one years of age. June 29th 1831, he married Philura Ann Batchelder, with 
whom he has lived a happy married life since, they being now aged respect- 
ively eighty-one and seventy-five years. Of their family of seven children, 
one only, Martha J., the wife of Perry Reade, is living. 

TAf Hinesburgh Congregational Society, located at Hinesburgh village, was 
organized by Rev. Nathan Perkins, of West Hartford, Conn., May 20, 1789, 
with eleven members The first church building was erected of wood, in 
1800, and did service until 1837, when the present brick church was built 
at a cost of $6,000.00, about its present value. It will seat about 300 i>ersons. 
The society now has 102 members, sixty-eight of whom are resident, with Rev. 
Art era as C. Field, pastor. During the history of this church, twenty-one of 
the young men whose parents, or themselves, were connected with it, have 
become ministers of the gospel, while fourteen of its young ladies have become 
ministers' wives. 

The Baptist Church 0/ Hinesburgh. also located at the village, was organ- 
ized May, 30, 18 10, with eighteen members, and Rev. S. Churchill, pastor. 
The church building is a wood structure, capable of seating 500 persons, and 
is valued, including grounds, at about $4,500.00. The society now has 
ninety-eight members, with Rev. A. S. Gilbert, pastor. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church, located at the village, was organized by its 
first pastor. Rev. Noah Levens, in 1831, with ten members, which number has 
since increased to ninety-eight, with Rev. D. F. Brooks, pastor. The present 
brick church was erected in 1837, is valued at $3,300,00, and will seat 250 
persons. 



TOWN OF HUNTINGTON. 215 



T%e Christian Advent Churchy located near the center of the village, was 
oiganized by its present pastor, Rev. A. A. Hoyt, August 3, 1874, with ten 
members. Their church building, a wood structure capable of seating 200 
persons, was erected during the following year. 




[UNTINGTON, a mountainous, irregularly-outlined town, lies in the 
extreme southeastern corner of the county, inlat 44"" 20', and long. 4° 5', 
bounded north by Richmond and Bolton, east by Duxbury and Fayston, 
in Washington County, south by BuePs Gore, and Starksboro in Addison 
County, and west by Starksboro and Hinesburgh. It was chartered by Ben- 
ning Wentworth to Edward Burling and sixty-six others, principally from 
Connecticut, June 7, 1763, and was to contain an area six miles square or 
23,040 acres, under the name of New Huntington. This area, however, as 
well as the name, has since been very materially changed. Originally, the 
township included all the southern part of Richmond lying between the 
Winooski River and within one or two lots of Hinesburgh's east line, thence 
down the Winooski to the north line of the farm adjoining the river, formerly 
owned by Peter Crane and since by Oliver and Thomas Cutter, and last by 
Alfred Crane, about half a mile above the old meeting-house, following a line 
running west, and approachmg within a lot or two of Hinesburgh, not far 
from the farms owned by Royal Briggs and John Williams. The original 
western boundary was separated from the Hinesburgh line by a narrow strip 
of land running from the southeast corner of Williston, as it then was, called 
Williston Leg, which was afterwards annexed to the respective towns of 
Richmond and Huntington, according as they came in range. The direc- 
tion of the present north line between Huntington and Richmond commences 
iiear the southeast corner of Bolton, on the top of the mountain rising east 
^m the gorge that divides it from the North Mountain, back of Chester and 
"Barry Ross's farms in Huntington, thence running across the said gorge, fol- 
lowing the North Mountain down to Huntington River, passing near a maple 
'tree which stands by the side of the road leading to Richmond, and north of 
tie bridge near Daniel Scofield*s house, and so on west, or rather southwest, 
tfli it strikes and intersects with Hinesburgh and Richmond lines, on the 
ooirth side of David Sherman's farm, on road i. The act by which this 
change of territory was eflfected was passed by the legislature, October 27, 
'^ ^> 4? which also took the easterly part of Burlington, the southerly part of 
Jt«T.cho, the town of Williston, together with the portion of New Hunting- 
to»m mentioned, and a part of Avery's and Buel's Gores, forming the whole into 
^^K"^5e towns. In addition to the part taken to form the new town of Rich- 
^^>xid, another part was annexed to Bolton, while a portion of the Gore on 
A^ south was annexed to this town. Other than these, no changes have 



2l6 TOWN OF HUNTINGTON. 



occurred in its area. On October 27, 1795, ^^ name of New Huntington 
was changed to Huntington by the legislature. 

The surface of the town is cut by hills and mountains, containing but little 
level land, except along the verdant intervales of Huntington River. Camel's 
Hump, one of the principal peaks of the Green Mountain range, lies in the 
extreme northeastern comer of the town, its summit standing within the east- 
em boundary of the township, being the highest elevation. North Mountain 
is next in prominence, lying just within the northern line of the town, east of 
Huntington River. A range of small hills also skirt the western edge of the 
town. All, however, except CameVs Hump, are clothed with a heavy growth 
of timber, or where it has been cut away, by good grazing land. The soil, 
which is various, produces ample crops of grass and grain, and for a moun- 
tainous district is an unusually rich farming territory. Camel's Hump, which 
is almost a too well known summit of the Green Mountains to need especial 
mention here, rears its bald, rocky head 4,083 feet above tide water, affording 
a prospect from its summit which is excelled by no mountain in the State. 
Its isolated position, with respect to other peaks, and the strongly marked and 
peculiar outline of its summit, which suggested its name, make a conspicuous 
and easily recognized object from a large portion of the Champlain Valley. It 
is situated like a huge observatory, towering far above the siurounding country, 
and affording from a single point one of the most extended and varied views 
any where to be found. The same enchanting prospect of Champlain Lake 
and Valley is here afforded that is seen from Mount Mansfield, and to the east 
is outspread a rich and varied landscape that extends to the hazy summits of 
the White Mountains. No mountain peaks encroach upon the north and 
south to hide the prospect, but from the base towards either point along the 
Green Mountain range may be seen a beautiful succession of peaks, that 
gradually fade out as they rise beyond each other in the blue distance. The 
pleasant village of Waterbury is only ten miles distant from the summit, and 
Montpelier about twenty miles to the east, and Burlington lies within thirty 
miles upon the west, while beneath, nestled at its feet, is the picturesque town 
of Huntington, with ils well-kept farms and neat villages. Surrounded by 
these places, and the numerous other thriving villages that are planted within 
full view from its summit. Camel's Hump cannot fail to become a favorite re- 
sort for those who would wisely combine healthful exercise of the body with 
well-directed recreation of the mind. The township is watered by Hunting- 
ton River and its tributaries, a handsome stream flowing across the whole 
length of the town from south to north, affording several good mill privileges. 
Calm and placid though it usually is, it sometimes plays mad, vicious tricks, 
one of which, the memorable freshet of July 3, 1858, will long be remem- 
bered by the inhabitants. It had been dry and sultry for several days pre- 
ceding the 3d, and about 3 o'clock in the afternoon the storm which Nature 
had been brewing began to descend. Dark, heavy cloud-banks came up from 
the west and northwest, turning the day to almost the darkness of night, and 



TOWN OF HUNTINGTON. 21/ 



emitting their electric fluid in blinding, zig-zag streaks of flame. Soon the 
rain began to descend, gently at first, but gradually increasing to a perfect 
deluge, continuing to pour down with an intensity rarely exceeded by tropical 
showers, for two hours and a half without cessation ; and when at length it 
<lid abate it was soon renewed for a shorter period. The effect of this deluge 
soon raised the waters of the river and its tributaries far above their usual 
height, and at sunset they were bearing huge masses of drift-wood and whole 
trees upon their angry breasts, and at ten o'clock had attained a height never 
before reached by any previous freshets. Bridges^ fences, and all within the 
sweep of the current were borne away, besides in some places cutting out 
huge pieces of land with their standing crops. At the north village, be- 
sides sweeping away the covered bridge, ninety feet long, it tore away the 
dam, and undermined and tore away two buildings adjacent, one of them a 
machine shop, bricked outside and three stories high, 60x46 feet The grass, 
grain and com were beaten down, and in many places covered with sand and 
^gravel, so that when the swollen current subsided it left a scene of devasta- 
tion that was appalling. The loss of property was immense, amounting to 
many thousands of dollars. A singular incident of the flood was the canying 
^f a three story building, stored with carriages and lumber, one hundred 
^^s down the stream and landed it perfectly sound, without a scratch upon 
ciie carriages, or any damage done to the lumber. 

On the day of the flood a party of four men, Sidney Gillett, Charles Work, 

-Edwin Dike and Chester Rood, ascended Camel's Hump, intending to remain 

night for the sake of viewing the sunrise. The storm came upon them 

uddenly that they were obliged to encounter its fury with no shelter but 

tli^ clouds. The atmosphere was so dense and the rain descended in such 

nts that they could only breathe by placing their hands upon their 

uths and nostrils. But a more sublime and awe-inspiring scene was never 

^^^^edby mortal, probably, than this storm beheld from the summit of Cam- 

^"^ Hump. They claimed that until it became too dark too see at all, the 

^*^^i-ids below them resembled the waves of the ocean, rolling and seething, 

'^liough, as they in their fright imagined, the whole earth were covered with 

ighty deluge as in the days of Noah. After total darkness had settled over 

the vivid flashes of lightning continued to dart through the inky black- 

, followed by deafening peals of thunder that seemed to shake the moun- 

upon its base. From the effects of this night of terror Mr. Rood never 

, but died about two years after from results of the exposure. 
rs. Stillman Johnson informs us that she was living with her father and 
, on road 14, at the time of the flood, and that about eight o'clock in the 
^ng, after their house had been surrounded by the angry waters, they left 
r^^ building and waded to a tree near by, where they took refuge, remaining in 
f^^i*- retreat until twelve o'clock, when the flood had subsided sufficiently for 
^^*"^ to make their way to a neighbor's, on higher land, where they remained 



ng the rest of the night 



2l8 TOWN OF HUNTINGTON. 



In 1880, Huntington had a population of 81 1, was divided into seven school 
districts and contained seven common schools, employing two male and 
seven female teachers, at an aggregate salary of $721.81. There were 177 
pupils attending common school, while the entire cost of the schools for the 
year, ending October 31st, was $860.12, with Mr. I. L. Strong, Jr., superin. 
tendent. 

Huntington, a post village located in the northwestern part of the town, 
on Huntington River, contains one church (Union), three stores, one black- 
smith shop, a hotel, saw-mill, grist-mill, and about thirty dwellings. The 
nearest railway station is Richmond, with which the village is connected by a 
daily stage. 

Huntington Center, a post village located on the river about two and 
one-half miles southeast from Huntington village, near the centre of the town, 
contains one church (Union), a town hall, a hotel, one store, a blacksmith 
shop, and about twenty dwellings. The village is connected with Richmond 
depot, eight miles distant, by a daily stage, which carries the mail 

Norman J. Mio^s saw-mill^ located on Huntington River, was built by 
Harry M. Small, in 1875. Mr. Mix manufactures annually too,ooo feet of 
clapboards and 500,000 staves, in addition to a large amount of common 
lumber. 

The Forest Mills Lumber Go's mills are located at the foot <rf" Camel's 
Hump, on road 24. They give employment to ten men, manufactming 
staves, chair-stock, and dimension and common lumber. They saw annually 
about 800,000 feet of spruce and 400,000 feet of hard-wood lumber. Their 
mills are operated by a stock company with Sidney M. Gillett, manager. 

A, C. Dearborn* s saw and grist-mill^ located in the southern part of the 
town, on Huntington River, has the capacity of cutting 30,000 feet of lumber 
per week, and operates one run of stones. 

Jehiel Johns was the 6rst settler early in 1786, a bold, hardy, athletic 
man, just the timber for a pioneer. He emigrated thither from Manchester, 
Vt., together with his wife, following Otter Creek down to Lake Champlain, 
thence on the ice to Burlington, which at that time contained only three 
families living in log cabins, then up the Winooski to what is now called 
Richmond Flats, where, leaving his wife and movables in the care kA Joel 
Brownson, an early settler in that locality, and taking his axe, proceeded to 
his pitch in New Huntington, being the farm long known as the ''Johns 
Place," located on the river just south of the village. Here he commenced 
cutting the timber, the first felled in the township, and from the logs began 
to build a log cabin, rolling the timber for the lower part into place without 
help, and for the upper portion being assisted by Stillman and Samud 
Bradley, early settlers in Williston. Having completed this abode, he re- 
turned to Brownson's for his wife, and removing his household effects thither, 
few indeed, commenced his pioneer home. Mr. Johns subsequently built a 
log house on road 1 1, and some time after a frame house on the same site. 




TOWN OF HUNTINGTON. 219 



He was born in Duchess County, N. Y., February 19, 1756, and married 
Elizabeth Sexton, of Manchester, February 19^ 1786, and to them was bom 
six children, five sons and a daughter, one of whom, James Johns, is at pres- 
ent well known in Huntington as an antiquarian. Mr. Johns was early 
chosen to important town offices, being moderator of the first town meeting, 
first justice of the peace, first representative, besides filling various other 
offices. He died August 12, 1840, aged eighty-five years, his widow surviv- 
ing him until March 25, 185 1, aged eighty-four years. 

During the first year of his settlement, 1786, Mr. Johns was joined by 
Elisha Bradley, from Sunderland, Vt., who built the second log house in 
town. He removed, however, to Williston the next winter, leaving Mr. 
Johns the sole inhabitant until the following spring, when Charles Brewster 
and Ebenezer Ambler, with their families, came on from Tinmouth, Vt., and 
began a settlement in his vicinity. Next came Asa Gillett, all locating on 
the river. The first settlement in the western part of the town was com- 
menced by Jacob Schneider. The first on East Hill was made by John 
3Iartin, who was soon after joined by John Thomas and Rufus Williams in 
M7&S or '89. The first settlement in what is called Buel's Gore was made 
1^7 Abel Turner, John Fitch and Samuel Fargo. The first on Southeast 
JE-Jill^ south of Brush's Brook, was by Jacob Fairman and Lawrence Ravelin. 
TTke first in what is called " Sherman Hollow," in the northwestern part of 
town, was begun by Stephen Squires, about 1789 or 1790. In 1794, 
Oliver Russell, John Raymond, Jonathan Shepard, John Teft, Jabez 
50, David Caswell, Joseph Carpenter, Elias Farr, and Zebediah Joslin, 
^^omogh some of them proved mere temporary squatters, acting, as is the 
*^«-ture of some people, much after the manner of a hen, scratching a little 
»ne place, becoming dissatisfied, and leaving it for another to gather the 
■n. Settlement, however, was slow, so much so that it was full forty years 
"ore any portion of the town began to assume the appearance of a village 

place of business. In 1791, the population was 167. 

'X'he town was organized and first town meeting held at the house of Owen 

'^-^rster, March 29, 1790, with Jehiel Johns, moderator, at which Charles 

'^"Mrster was elected town clerk ; Amos Brownson, constable, and Ebenezer 

>Ier, Ozum Brewster and Perley Starr, selectmen. The first justice was 

-^ ^^icl Johns, chosen in 1790, and the following year was also chosen the first 

*"^P»"esentative. The first bom was Peleg, son of Elisha Bradley, November 

* ^786. The first marriage was that of Samuel Fargo to Lydia Johnson, at 

^^ house of Abel Turner, by William Barber, of Hinesburgh, in 1790. The 



adult person who died here was Mrs. Keziah Brewster, wife of Dea. 
Brewster, April 10, 1790, aged sixty-six years. The first frame build- 
erected were a dwelling-house and barn, built for Charles Brewster, Jr., 
*^ * 795. The next was a barn built for Ebenezer Ambler, in 1796. The 
mill was a grist and saw-mill built by Abel Turner, about the beginning 
tfcis century, located in the southern part of the town on Huntington 



220 TOWN OP HUNTINGTON. 

River. Another saw-mill was erected about the same time, by Samuel 
Buel, upon one of the tributary brooks empting into the river from the 
east Turner's mill was ruined by a freshet in 1804. Another grist-mill was 
built about this time for Orrin Polly, in the western part of the town, on a 
brook which enters the town here from Hinesburgh, and was discontinued in 
18 1 9, and the power at the site used for a saw-milL The first frame school 
house was erected in 1806, and stood on the top of the high ridge over which 
the road formerly passed between David Caswell's and Sherman Hollow, and 
oppK>site the ox«bow bend of the river below by which the road now runs. It 
accidentally burned in 1808, and we have no knowledge of any other being 
built till 1 816, located at the south of the village. The first school was estab- 
lished in 1794, in Ebenezer Ambler'sdwelling, within what is now District Na 
3, with Dr. William Ambler, teacher. The first carpenters and joiners were 
Josiah and Thomas Miller. Jonathan Dike was the first kitchen chair maker. 
First man to work at the blacksmith's trade, was James Weller. Rnfus Williams 
was the first tailor, and Benjamin Brownell the first resident shoemaker. The 
first carding machine was built and started by Roswell Stevens, in 182 1, at 
the north village, where cloth dressing was also done. The first general 
store was established at the house of Jacob Fargo, in 1801 or '02, as a branch 
store of Ezra Meech & Co., of Charlotte. Ross & Conger started trade in a 
new building erected partly for that purpose, in 1 807. The first postoffice 
opened in town was established near the commencement of this century, kept 
at the house of Jabez Fargo, of which Fargo was postmaster. As it did not 
quite pay its expenses, however, it was soon discontinued, and no other was 
established until 1828, when one was opened at the south village, of wfaidi 
Amos Dike was postmaster. In the fall of 1829, it was, on application to the 
general department, removed to the north village, and Alexander Ferguson 
appointed postmaster. An office was subsequently opened at the South vil 
lage. The first taverji in Huntington was opened by Jabez Fargo, whokep 
it for many years, and nearly to the time of his death, in 1827. The next ws 
opened at the north village by Guerden Taylor, in 1826, being the same,wi< 
some additions, now standing, called the Huntington House, with Edmo? 
T. Collins, proprietor. There is also a hotel kept at the Center, the Camr 
Hump House, with Gershom Conger, proprietor. This hotel is very pleasai 
situated, and the picturesque village, with its many pleasant drives, and 
jacent brooks stored with the finny tribe, together with its near vicinity tc 
famous mountain from which it takes its name, renders it a very pop 
summer resort. The first physician who made the town a place of resid 
was Dr. William Ambler, brother of Ebenezer Ambler, mentioned previ* 
he being also the first school teacher. 

Dea. Charles Brewster, from Tinmouth, Vt., came to this town in 
and purchased lot 60, upon which he settled his son. Charles, Jr. F 
purchased a farm in a part of the town since set off to Richmond 
which he placed another son, Ozen, being the same now owned by the 



TOWN OF HUNTINGTON. 221 



estate. Mr. Brewster then returned to Tinmouth where he remained until 
his death. Charles, Jr., built the first frame buildings in the town, in 1795, 
as previously mentioned, and which are now standing on the old Brewster 
farm. After the death of her husband Mrs. Brewster removed from Tin- 
mouth and took up her residence with Charles, where she died in 1790, aged 
sixty-six years, being the first adult person who died in Huntington. Charles, 
Jr., had a family of ten children, none of whom are now living. His son, 
Charles, 3d^ manied Laura Crane, had a family of seven children, three of 
whom are now living, the two sons, Byron and Henry, occupying the old 
homestead. The other, a daughter, Fanny, married George Lewis, and 
resides at the north village. The widow of Hiram, the eighth child of Charles, 
Jr., is the only surviving member of the original family of Brewsters, she being 
now seventy-six years of age, residing with her daughter, Ellen L. (Brewster) 
Small. Numerous descendants of the family, however, reside in this and 
adjoining towns. Hiram, above mentioned, served as an officer in the State 
militia, being appointed ensign by Gov. Van Ness, in November, 1824. In 
1826, for general diligence, etc., in his duties, he was promoted to a lieu- 
tenantcy, and again, in 1828, he was made captain. He also held many of 
the town offices, filling them acceptably and well. 

John Fitch, from Hartford, Conn., located in Buel's Gore in 1789. He 

was a grandfather of Mrs. Adeline (Fitch) Remington, now residing with her 

<iaaghter, Mrs. Samuel J. Randall, on road 20. She is now sixty-nine years 

^ age and has resided upon this farm thirty- two years. Her husband, Phile- 

Kiion Remington, died in February, 1880, aged sixty-six years. 

John Thomas, from Tinmouth, Mass., came to Huntington in 1788 or 
S789, and located on road 16, upon the farm now occupied by his grandson, 
^ohn Sprague. The old homestead has never left the possession of his de- 
sndants. 

Xra Sweet located in Buel's Gore, in 1826, where he cleared a large farm, 
owned by O. W. Sweet, on road 35, upon which he resided until his 
^^s^th, in 1878, aged seventy-eight years. He had a family of nine children, 
r of whom are now living. The Gore not being organized into a town, 
'• Sweet and a few of his neighbors united in building a school-house and 
»taining a school, until the adjoining towns were divided into districts, 
■^Ixcn the children residing on the Gore attended school there. 

George Small, from Tinmouth, Vt, came lo Huntington in 1793, and 
locn^ed upon the farm now owned by the Butler estate and occupied by S, 
^- Ellis, on road 20. Mr. Small had a family of hwe children, three boys 
two girls, one of whom, Daniel B., now resides on road 32. 
Nathaniel Pierce, from HoUis, N. H., came to this town in 1795, locating 
the east branch of Huntington River, in BueFs Gore, where he remained 
:ilhis death, in 1821. His son, Truman, now owns and occupies a farm 
load 33, at the age of eighty-five years. 
John Carpenter, from Wallingford, Vt., came to Huntington at an early 



222 TOWN OF HUNTINGTON. 

date, locating on road 29, upon the farm now owned by Daniel Tucker, of 
Williston, and occupied by C. A. Higley. The site of the old log house, long 
since torn do^m, is a few rods south of the present dwelling. He had a 
family of eleven children, three of whom are now living in the town, Calvin 
D.. on road 20, Anna N., and Clarissa (Mrs. Noble Ross), on road 10. John 
Carpenter, Jr., resided here until his death. His sons, D. J. and N. A,, are 
still residents, D. J. on road 26, and N. A. on the old farm on road 28. His 
mother also lives with him, being now seventy-eight years of age, and able to 
do the work of a girl of eighteen. 

Luman £. Loveland and Nathaniel Norton, from Otis, Mass., came into 
this town in 18 12, locating on road 30, upon the farm now owned by H. R. 
Norton, the youngest son of Nathaniel, and where Nathaniel lived until his 
death. Luman located upon the farm now owned by C. A. Higley, on road 
29, in 1818. After residing in various parts of the town, he finally located 
upon the farm now owned by D. J. Carpenter, and died there in 1842, having 
been twice married and rearing a family of twelve children. Two of his sons, 
A. H. and Theodore, are now residing here. Henry R. Norton, Nathaniel's 
youngest son, who represented the town in 1878, tells us his father taught 
school here some fourteen or fifteen years, and served in the war of 1812, 
for which he was pensioned. Mr. Norton was also a Justice of the Peace 
many years, and died at the advanced age of ninety years, possessing the 
respect of a large number of acquaintances. 

Abijah Ellis, from Fitzwilliam, N. H., brought his family to Huntington in 
March, 181 1, and located upon the farm now owned by Asa Gorton, on road 
25, and upon which he continued to reside until his death. Of his famQy of 
nine children, two only are now living, Abigail (Ellis) Buel, and Stillman. 
Mrs. Buel, the widow of a near relative of Judge Buel's, who was proprietor 
of the tract of land known as BueFs Gore, resides with her daughter, Mrs. 
Polly (Buel) Andrews, wife of G. B. Andrews. Stillman was bom in April, 
1807, came to this town with his father, and subsequently married Olive T. 
Rowles, of Shoreham, to whom was bom one child, Edson W., who now re- 
sides, together with his father, on road 20. Edson married Cordelia Aldridi, 
in 1855, and has followed farming most of his life, until 1877, when he com- 
menced trade as a general merchant. He has held the office of postmaster 
since the spring of 1877. 

Roswell Stevens, from Middlebury, came to this town in 1822, and located 
upon the site now occupied by the Huntington Hotel Three years subse- 
quently he built the first dam across Huntington River at the north village, en- 
gaging in the business until 1832, when his son succeeded him, and 
years after Emery Taylor purchased a half interest in the business, and it 
continued for many years under the firm name of Taylor & Stevens. 

Peter Danforth came here in 1818, locating on road 35, upon the farmn 
owned by John S. Purinton, and Samuel Wright in 1828, upon the farm no 
owned by Harry Wright, also on road 35. 




TOWN OF JERICHO. 22$ 



"Lymaxk White, from Wallingford, came to this town in 1843, remained one 
year, then removed to Duxbury, Washington County, and remained eight or 
nine years, then came back to Huntington and located on road 5, and subse- 
quently removed to road 11, where he now resides. 

Enoch Conger, from Danby, Vt, came to this town in 1847, and located on 
road 28, with his family, consisting of wife and son, Gershom. Enoch died 
in 1873, his wife in 1872. Gershom still resides here, proprietor of the Cam- 
el's Hump House. 

Tk^ Baptist Church, located at Huntington Center, was organized by its 
first pastor. Elder Daniel Bennett, May 17, 1828, with eight members. The 
church building, a wood structure capable of seating 300 persons, was built 
in 186 1, at a cost of $2,500.00, and is now valued, including grounds, at 
about $3,000.00. The society now has twenty members, with Rev. Ezra B. 
Fuller as their acting pastor. 

The Free Will Baptist Church has seventy-two members, with Rev. 
Ezra B. Fuller, pastor. 

The Methodist Episcopal Churchy located at Huntington village, is pre- 
sided over by Rev. A. O. Spoor, as pastor. 



TIRICHO, lying in the central part of the county, in lat. 44° 27', and 
long. 4° 4', bounded northerly by Underbill, east by Bolton, south by 
Richmond, southwest by Williston, and west by Essex, was granted by 
JP^ew Hampshire, as a township of 23,040 acres, to Edward Burling, Thomas 
^[^hittenden, and sixty-four others, in seventy-two shares, the charter being 
^Sated June 7, 1763. The area allowed by charter was curtailed, however, 
O^ober 27, 1794, by taking about 5,000 acres from the southern angle of 
-rfie town, to form, with parts of Williston and Bolton, the township of 
^Kjchmond. By this arrangement Jericho lost a large amount of very fertile 
l^Lnd, and several of its most enterprising citizens. 

The surface of the territory is quite uneven and hilly, though it has no 
^^^vation of any considerable height The hills, however, afford a very pleas- 
diversity to the landscape, and together with the green valleys that lie 
reen, and the numerous clear sparkling streams that find their sources 
mg them, imite in forming many very beautiful points of scenery. The 
is varied, from the most sterile and rocky surface-soil to the fine arable 
^Ui^vium of the beds along the several streams. The rocks that enter into its 
S^^^lcgical structure are an immense bed of talcose conglomerate in the west- 
and talcose schist in the eastern or remaining part. These conglomerates, 
'ever, contain a great variety of rocks in their composition, the most 
^*^^ndant in this locality being quartz, limestone, and slate. The talcose rock 
^Ongs to the lower Silurian period, is from 2,000 to 3,000 feet thick, con- 



224 TOWN OF JERICHO. 



tains no fossils, and in this locality no minerals. Numerous streams and 
springs are found throughout the township, affording an abundant supply d 
water. Winooski River washes the southwestern boundary. Brown's Rivei 
enters the town at the northeast, from Underhill, and runs into Essex. Little 
River, or Lee's Brook, so-called, takes its rise in the east, and, running near 
the center of the town, unites with Browi>'s River at the village, in the west 
part of the town. Mill Brook enters the township from Bolton, and runs into 
the Winooski about half way from Richmond to Essex. On all of these 
streams are fine alluvial flats and good mill privileges, the best of the latter 
being on Brown's River. These numerous mill-sites have a tendency to make 
Jericho more of a manufacturing town than most of its neighbors, while its 
various soil, good climate, etc, render it not less valuable than they, in an 
agricultural point of view, it being well adapted for raising most kinds of 
grain and grass. Its timber, too, is various, though mostly beech, birch and 
maple, interspersed with hemlock, cedar, pine and spruce, with some oak and 
ash. For its products, both of the soil and the manufactory, it finds a ready 
means of transportation in the Central Vermont R. R., which passes across 
the southwestern corner of the territory, and also in the Burlington & La- 
moille Railroad, which has stations at Jericho, Jericho Center, and Underhill 
Flats. 

In 1880, Jericho had a population of 1,687, was divided into twelve school 
districts and contained twelve common schools, employing six male and four- 
teen female teachers, at an aggregate salary of $1,598.80. There were 330 
pupils attending school, while the entire cost of the schools for the year, end- 
ing October 31st, was $2,197.79. 

Jericho, a post village and station on the R & L. R. R., in the wester 
part of the town, is very handsomely situated on Brown's River, wher 
within a half-mile, are seven mill-sites, with an aggregate fall of one hundr 
feet, six of them being now in use. This fact goes far toward making f 
village what it is, a smart business-like little town, steadily growing in s 
and now containing a drug store, hardware store, tin shop, one grocery 
provision and three dry goods and general stores, blacksmith, boot and s 
painters, and other mechanics' shops, three churches (Cong., Baptist anc 
E.), two lawyers, jeweler, printer, etc, a comet band, and about 400 inh 
ants. It has also a pump and water-tubing manufactory, the shops o 
Jericho Chair Company, a grist and flouring-mill, butter-tub and chees 
manufactory, and two saw-mills. A large, handsome school buildin 
lately been erected, in which three schools are in successful operation, 
but not least, it also contains a fine, well-kept hotel, with a good 
attached. 

Underhill Flats (Underhill p. o.), located partly in this to^ 
partly in Underbill, contains a hotel, steam saw-mill, grist-mill, three c 
(Episcopal, Methodist and Cong.), two stores, one in Jericho and 
Underbill, the Congregational church also being located in the Under 



TOWN OP JKRICHO. 225 



one drug store, one tin and hardware store, one wagon shop, two blacksmith 
shops, one of which is in Jericho, a cheese factory, and about one hundred 
inhabitants in the Jericho portion, and seventy-five in the part lying in 
UnderhilL 

Jericho Centre, a post village located, as its name implies, in the central 
part of the town, contains one store, two churches (Cong, and Universalist), 
a blacksmith shop, shoe and harness shop, and about twenty-five dwellings. 
Here also is situated Jericho Academy, formerly a very popular institution, 
erected in 1825, though it did not go into successful operation until March, 
1827, when Simeon Bicknell, A. M., took it in charge, and under whose man- 
agement the school attained a high reputation. He remained with the Acad- 
emy until 1832, when he left, and with him left the energetic spirit of the 
institution, which gradually lost its popularity until it finally ceased to exist, 
in 1845. From that time up to about five years ago no enterprise was 
attempted, when school was again opened in the old building. It met with 
00 particular success, however, and was given up again about a year ago, 
Jericho Grist and Flouring Mill^ located on Brown's River, was built about 
*ircnty-five years ago, by James H. Hutchinson, who operated there about 
P'ght years. They are now owned and operated by L. B. & F. Howe, 
"iio do an extensive business in custom work, in addition to the manufacture 
flour and meal from about 20,000 bushels of western corn, and 10,000 
b-Kxshels of wheat per annum. The mills are furnished with four runs of 
stones, and employ five men. 

.Horatio B, Barney s carding-tnill^ located at Jericho ^dllage, was established 
Truman Barney in the year 1819. Mr. Barney does a modest, yet thriving 
iness. 

\ \rSpaffard A, IVrighfs carriage manufactory and paint shop, also located at 
J^^richo village, was established by Mr. Wright in 1876, who does new work, 
"vrell as carrying on a general repairing business. 

^he Jericho Chair Company , whose works are located on Brown's River, 

the above mentioned village, was established by Henry M. Field and Simon 

^« Bullock, in 1877, for the manufacture of cane-seat chairs. They now 

^*^ajiufacture about $60,000.00 worth per annum, employing thirty-five men. 

-Mnson C Field, J^*s, wood-pump and water-tubing works, located on 

^*"Own'8 River, at Jericho village, were established by Simon Davis in 1840, 

'^^ continuing the business until 1859, when it was taken by H. M. Field, 

^^o continued it until 1875, when the present owner purchased the property. 

^^ addition to the above mentioned manufacture, he also saws and planes 

^'^^tibcr, cutting about 700,000 feet per year. The whole business amounts 

^ a net value of $10,000.00 to $12,000.00 per annum, giving employment 

^ twenty-five men. 

^ohnEarlJs saw and grist-mill , located on Brown's River, on road 2, was 
"^Itby Early & Gibbons, about the year 1874, Mr, Early now manu- 

u 



326 TOWN OF JERICHO. 



factures here about 200,000 feet of lumber, and does, in both branches of 
the business, a general custom trade. 

Whitcomb 6- Da^s cheese-box manufactory and planing-mill^ also located on 
Brown's River, near Mr. Earl/s mill, was established by Thomas Buxton and 
Charles Williamson, in 1874, and purchased by the present owners in 1876, 
who now employ four men, and manufacture 15,000 cheese-boxes annu- 

aUy. 

Underhill and Jericho cheese factory, located at Underbill Flats, in this 
town, was built by the present owners, Edward S. Whitcomb and Buel H. 
Day, 1873. The firm does an extensive business, manufacturing into cheese 
the milk from 600 to 1,000 cows, annually. 

The steam saw and grist-mill and hafidle manufcutory, located near the 
above mentioned factory, was built in 1877, aJ^dis now owned by a company 
of thirteen men, with Buel H. Day as secretary and principal manager. 
They manufacture plain lumber, do custom grinding, and also manufacture 
all kinds of turned handles. Of lumber alone they cut annually 2,000,000 
feet. 

Julius C, Hodges mill, located on Mill Brook, was built about thirty years 
ago, destroyed by fire in May of 1880, and rebuilt in 1881, for sawing and 
planing lumber, manufacturing cheese-boxes, grinding grain, and also for 
manufacturing cider. The building stands on the comer of roads 50 and 51. 

Mill Brook Cheese Factory, located on the brook of that name, was bailty 
and is now owned and operated, by a stock company organized in 1874. ^t 
uses the milk from 375 cows, manufacturing about 95,000 pounds of cheese 
per annum. 

Ezra Kinney s wheelwright and blcuksmith shop, located on road 15, wherr 
Mr. Kinney does a moderately profitable business, was originally built abot 
twenty-eight years ago, though destroyed by fire in 1875, and rebuilt in f88 

Edgar A, Barneys saw and planing-mill, on road 17, upon Lee Brook, w 
established in 1864. It manufactures annually, about 200,000 feet of lumb 
and also a considerable quantity of chair-stock« 

Ansel Nash's grist, saw and cider-mill, located on Mill Brook, was t 
about twelve years ago. Mr. Nash saws 50,000 feet of lumber, and m; 
factures two hundred barrels of cider per annum, while the grist-mill, 
grinding feed only, does custom work. 

Augustus S, Wood's rake manufactory and turning works, on Mill Bj 
were established about fifty years ago, and purchased by Mr. Wood, J a 
15, 1866. In November, 1879, the buildings were destroyed by fire, ar 
built in 1880. Mr. Wood manufactures the Weymouth clothes bars, 
rakes, and mop handles, also doing ornamental turning. The b' 
amounts to from $2,000.00 to 2,500.00 per year. 

William S. Noye^s fork and rake^handle and chair stock manu 
located at Underhill, Flats, employs fifteen men and turns out about 
Jhandles and $4,000 worth of chair stock annually. 



TOWN OF JERICHO. 



22 



to .- 



near ::::- 



fnr.^ 



1 &'- 












Nearly ten years after Governor Benning Wentworth placed his "sig 
manuel" to the document which brought into existence the town whose tit! 
heads this sketch, in 1774, three families from the western part of Massachi 
setts began their difficult journey " over into Jericho " through the tracklei 
wilderness, guided only by here and there a blazed tree, or by following th 
course of some stream that cut like a silver thread the dense primeval fores 
These, the families of Messrs. Messenger, Rood and Brown, after many pr 
vations, at last reached their destination, and immediately took steps towai 
erecting their humble homes, thus establishing the first white settlement i 
the township. Mr. Brown located on the flats near Underbill, upon the banl 
of the river that has since borne his name, his farm consisting of three hui 
dred acres of land, for which his wife had paid $300, and the same no 
owned, and occupied, in part at least, by their grandson, Rufus Brown. M 
Messenger settled on the Winooski River, and near Mr. Rood. They wei 
soon after followed by several other families. 

The pioneer's anticipations of a quiet, peaceful home were soon to be diss 

pated. The war against the mother country soon after broke out, renderir 

not only the titles to their lands insecure, but their lives also were in jeo] 

ardy. The settlers of Vermont, especially those of the northern portio! 

Mrere occasionally annoyed by Indians from the commencement to the te 

^nation of the war. Their encroachments were made by scouting partie 

pursuit was made for the acquisition of plunder and riotous entertaii 

»nts, while their unwelcome visits were obtruded among the distressed ii 

bitants. The northern hive of Indians residing upon the Canadian fronti< 

-ured in upon the wilderness territory, destroying the property and carryir 

ny of the luckless settlers into captivity. 

IiAt. Brown, with his family, consisting of a wife, a daughter, and two son 

not seriously molested during the fore part of the Revolution, and ha 

fljde such improvements on his land as to raise most of the necessaries < 

lif<e ; but in the autumn of 1780, the family was surprised and made prisone 

\>y a party of Indians, who, after securing their prisoners, killed the cattl 

«lieepand hogs belonging to them, set fire to the house, and started for Moi 

^'^ The prisoners suffered much on their journey, from fatigue and hunge 

^^^ principal food being raw bears meat. On arriving at St. Johns, th< 

^'^ turned over to the British officers, and the captors received their bount; 

Woo per head, for them. For three years they were retained as nomin; 

'"^ncrs, though they were in reality slaves, being obliged to serve their e: 

^^^9^ masters, receiving only the poorest of fare. At the time of their ca] 

^^Here was a young man by the name of Olds in the house with then 

^ ^laccceded in escaping, and made his way to a block-house in the soutl 

of the town, on Winooski River. 

e time previous to this, in 1776, Mr. Messenger had been advised ( 

*^^ l>is family and leave for a place of greater safety, by Gen. Ira AUei 

*^tt fViendly advice Mr. Messenger heeded, and soon after started for Bei 

^^^'^i^On, where, after many trials, he arrived safely with his family. 



ern 



228 TOWN OF JERICHO. 



Soon after the cessation of hostilities, in 1784, the Browns returned to their 
possessions in Jericho, where they were speedily joined by others, so that in 
1785, there were six enrolled freemen, which number was increased to twelve 
during the following year; and in 1791, the whole population numbered 381 
souls. The first town meeting, warned by John Fasset, judge of the supreme 
court, was held March 22, 1786, and James Farnsworth chosen moderator > 
Lewis Chapin, clerk; and Peter McArthur, constable. On the 13th of the 
following month, at an adjourned meeting, Dea. Azariah Rood, Capt. Joseph 
Hall, and Jedediah Lane, selectmen. November 29th of the same year, by 
a permit from the general assembly at its session at Rutland in the previous 
October, Jedediah Lane was also chosen representative. The first justice was 
James Farnsworth, chosen in 1787. Mr. John Lee, who died in 1789, was 
the first person buried within the limits of the town. The first physician was 
Matthew Cole, though he did not remain long in the town. Martin Post was 
the first lawyer. 

Joseph Brown, the first settler, was bom in Watertown, Conn., and came to 
this town from Great Barrington, Mass. In exchange for his property in the 
latter place, he received five hundred acres of land, situated where the village 
of Stowe now stands. During the three years of his captivity, taxes had been 
levied on this land as well as on the three hundred acres here, and accumu- 
lated to such an extent that he was unable to pay them, and consequently 
lost the property, retaining only a portion of that in Jericho, upon which he 
again located. But outhving his hardships, however, he was able at his death 
to leave his children a competence. His son Joseph, who was taken prisoner 
with him, came back with his father, and died here in April of 1838, leaving 
his property to his son Rufus, who now occupies the same. 

Roderick Messenger, of Claverack, N. Y., who came during the same year^- 
after taking his family to Bennington, was employed by the council of safety — 
in defense of the settlers of the grants, and was stationed at aiblock-house 01 
his farm in Jericho, which was occupied as a military out-post till, upon the 
approach of Burgoyne, the company stationed there retreated to meet the 
enemy at Hubbardton and Bennington. After the war Mr. Messenger re- 
occupied his farm, and was for a long time postmaster and news-carrier for 
the pioneers. 

Dea. Azariah Rood, of Lanesboro, Mass., the other of the three, one of the 
first six freemen, first selectman, first deacon, etc, died in 1795, leaving his 
son, Thomas Drakely, to fill his place. Thomas became one of the most 
respected citizens of the town, which he served in almost every responsible 
civil position. In his old age he removed, with his youngest son, to Wiscon- 
sin, where he died, in 1855, aged eighty-seven years. 

Hon. Noah Chittenden, oldest son of Gov. Thomas Chittenden, bom in 
1753, was one of the early settlers of the town, and an opulent land owner. 
He had entered public life previous to his coming to Jericho, and in 1785, 
was sheriflf of Addison County, while that county yet included Chittenden. 



230 TOWN OF JERICHO. 



ton, in 1845. His grandson, Jesse, son of Justin, who lived all his life here, 
now occupies the old homestead, which has been in the possession of the 
Gloyd family nearly one hundred years. 

Nehemiah Prouty, from Massachusetts, came to Jericho at an early day, 
and resided here until his death, in 1871, aged ninety- three years. His son, 
Nehemiah, bom here in 1832, built the house he now occupies, on road 17, 
and a few years later built a wagon shop, where he still carries on the busi- 
ness of wagon making. 

Gains Pease, bom in Enfield, Conn., October 21, 177 1, came to this town 
in early life, where, after a long and busy life, he died, in 1855, aged eighty- 
three years. His son, Alvah, born here, now resides on road 18. 

David T. Stone, from Connecticut, came to Jericho at an early day, locating 
near Lee Brook, where he continued to reside until quite aged, then removed 
to Underbill, and finally to Westford, where he died, September 2, 1845, aged 
seventy-six years. His son, Hiram T., was the first child bom in the Lee 
Brook neighborhood, and resided in that vicinity nearly all his life, dying April 
3, 1874, aged seventy-nine years and eleven months. Isaac C, son of Hiram, 
also bom in this vicinity, remained until 1878, when he removed to the place 
he now occupies, on road 29. 

Ezra Church, from Chelsea, Vt, came to Underbill while yet a boy, and 
remained there a few years, then removed to this town, and resided a long 
time on road 12. He was an active, energetic man, and served the town as 
constable for many years. He died August 20, 1881, aged eighty-four years. 
His son, Asa, born in Underbill, came to Jericho with his father when only ' 
one year old, and now resides on road 22. Hyman, another son, was boro 
near where he now resides, on road 27. 

James G. Walston, bom in this county, has always resided here, and now^ 
lives on road 42. His son, Willie C, bom in Richmond, resides in the^g 
northern part of this town, on road 42. 

Asher Hall, born in Richmond, came to Jericho at an early day, and diedE 
in Bolton. His son, Lyman C, was bom in this town, and is still a resident-^ 

Col. Luther Dixon, bom in Kent, in 1769, was one of the earliest settler^s 
in Underbill, and from there removed to Milton, where he died, in Decern— 
ber, 1 846. Luther was a colonel of militia, and commanded a regiment at th^^ 
battle of Plattsburgh. His son, Leonard S., is now a resident of Jericho. 

David and Jedediah Field, brothers, come to this town from GuilfordK 
Conn., about 1797, and were among the most honored of the early settler^^ 
David settled about half a mile east from Jericho Center, where he died, 
seventy-two. He had seven children, three sons and four daughters, two 
whom only are now living, Anson, Sr., at Jericho Corners, aged^seventy-< 
years, and Mrs. Mary Lyman, at the Center, aged eighty-one years. Harvc] 
son of Jedediah, came with his father at the age of seven years, and di( 
here, in 1878, aged eighty-eight years. His son, Austin, was bora near wh< 
he now lives, on road 47. Erastus Field, another son of Jedediah, now 




TOWN OF JERICHO. 23 1 



siding at Jericho village, was born here in 1798. He has held most of the 
town offices, among which that of constable and representative, and has 
held the office of Justice nearly or quite thirty years. 

Thomas Lowery, bom in Philadelphia, August 17, 1734, came to Jericho 
previous to the Revolutionary war, and pitched his claim of 300 acres where 
his great-grandson, Oliver J. Lowery, now resides. He then returned to 
Philadelphia, intending to settle on his land soon after ; but as the war frus- 
trated this plan, he did not make a settlement until 1789. His son, Oliver, 
born at Croton Falls, N. Y., June 6, 1783, came on with his father, and lived 
here until his death, in March, 1868, aged eighty-five, having lived on the 
ferm seventy-nine years. During his long life here, Oliver served the town as 
magistrate, selectman, representative, etc., and also held the office of captain, 
in the war of 181 2. Albert, son of Oliver, born in Jericho, January 8, i8io, 
died here, May 19, 1879. Oliver J., son of Albert, born April 4, 1847, now 
omis and occupies the old homestead, which has been in the possession of 
iiis father, grandfather, and great-grandfather before him. 

Polli C. Packard, born in Plainfield, Mass., January 26, 1768, came to 
Jcmicho in 1794, and returned to Massachusetts the following year, where, on 
bruary i6th, he married Ruth Nash and immediately returned to Jericho, 
ere he resided for a number of years, and finally died at Middlebury, while 
ozs. his return from a visit to Massachusetts. Cyrus, son of Polli, born here 
11^ 1 810, died in 1870. His widow, Melissa (Mead) Packard, bom in Under- 
lii.-l.'l. in 181 2, now resides here with her son Harrison. 

-Arthur Bostwick, with his son Nathaniel, from New Milford, Conn., came 
*^^^ Jericho in 1788, and both remained here until their death. Nathaniel had 
^*"^^ son, Arthur, who also died here, and his son^ Isaac C, is now occupying 
^ old homestead. 

-Abijah Whiton, bomin 1795, died in 1872, aged seventy-seven years. His 
rj, John P., still resides on road 10. 
Isaac Bumham, bomin Connecticut, came to Jericho from Genesee County, 
^^* T., at an early date, locating upon the farm now owned by Stephen Dow, 
^*>cre he died in 1846, aged ninety-three or ninety-four years. John Burn- 
*^^ni, son of Isaac, better known as Dea. Burnham, bom on the old home- 
^^^ad, died here March 17, 1875. He was a prominent man and deacon of 
**^ Baptist church. Nathan, son of John, bom here October 14, 18 16, is 
^^H a resident. . 

£)liphalet Hatch, from Connecticut, was also one of the early settlers of 
•* ^J^icho, coming with his son Roswell. Roswell died in 1829, aged forty-five 
irs. Moses B., son of Roswell, bom here, is still a resident, on road 48. 
James Marsh, one of the early settlers of the town, was bom in Bath, N. H., 
came to this town at an early date, with his family, which consisted of 
^*^«c and eight children. He was subsequently drowned while crossing the 
'^r ID Richmond, and was buried on the farm of Capt. Joseph Hall, then in 
-* ^^icho, now near Richmond Comers. James Jr., who is said to have cut 



h.. ^ 



232 TOWN OF JERICHO. 

the first tree on the site of the cemetery at Jericho Center, died here February 
17, 1865, in his ninetieth year. Lewis, son of John, Jr., bora here, still resides 
on road 57. 

Benjamin Day, from Whitingham, Vt., came to Jericho about 1800, locat- 
ing on road 12, where he died in 1846. Hiram B., son of Benjamin, now lives 
on road 12, comer of road 4. Byron W., son of Hiram, also resides on 
road 12. 

Harvey Booth, bom in Westford, Vt., came to Jericho in i8n, and is still 
a resident His son, Hanley, also resides here, on road 10. 

Caleb Nash, with his son, Caleb, Jr., from Weymouth, Mass., came to this 
Jown in 1800, and located upon land now owned by Lewis Wells, both 
remaining until their death, Caleb at the age of eighty-two, and Caleb, Jr., 
aged sixty-four years. Ansel and Daniel C, sons of Caleb, Jr., are still resi- 
dents of the town. 

Holland Sinclair, bora in Milton, Vt., came to Jericho at an early day, and 
died here April 30, 1862, aged sixty-six years. His son, Rollin C, born here, 
is still a resident, on road 14. 

Andrew Warner started for Jericho in January, 181 2, but stopping for a 
time in Bennington County, did not arrive here until July 4th, since which 
time he has been a resident. He carried on a farm of 150 acres for many 
years, but now has only a small place on road 39. 

Josiah K. Townsend, bora in Taunton, Mass., came to this town in 1819, 
and died here July 24, 1869. R. R., son of Josiah, bora in Underbill, is still 
a resident. 

Thomas Baraey, born in Salisbury, Conn., about 1745, came to Vermont 
previous to the Revolution, locating at Manchester, and subsequently remor- 
ing to Williston, where he married Mabel, the oldest child of Gov. Thomas 
Chittenden, bora in 1750. Later in life, in 1820, they removed to Jericho,, 
taking up their residence with their son Traman. Dea. Barney, as he vn 
known, served in the war of the Revolution, during which service he per- 
formed many heroic exploits, the accounts of which have long since settled 



into family traditions. He died September 13, 1835, ^ ^^^ ^^ 1838. Tni 
man Barney went to Williston with his father, and finally to Underbill, wher^* 
he purchased one hundred acres of land lying in the northern part of th — 
town, which he subsequently sold, and removed to Williston again. In 180 
he purchased of Gov. Martin Chittenden, the mill^nd two hundred acres 
land at Jericho Corners, where he died, January 6, 1857. Ladus S., son 
Truman, bom in Underbill, October 18, 1797, came to Jericho August 2 
1804, and still resides with his son Truman B., on road 5, corner 4. Tru 
B., son of Lucius S., was born on the farm he now occupies, and upon whi 
three generations of the family are living. 

Dr. George Howe, a native of Canaan, Conn., the second permanent 
sician in the town, came here from Burlington, Vt., where he studied m< 
cine with Dr. Pomeroy, about 1815, and died here in 1857. His sod. 






TOWN OF JERICHO. 233 



Edward P. Howe, graduated at the Albany Medical College, and commenced 
practice in this town at Underhill Flats, where he remained about ten years, 
then removed to Jericho village, where he has since remained. Mrs. Dr. 
Dennison J. Bliss (Rosamond Howe), is a daughter of Dr. George Howe. 

Dr. Dennison J. Bliss was born in Calais, Vt., and graduated in his profes- 
sion in 1846. Soon after, he commenced practice at Jericho village, where 
he has since resided, 
/saac Smith, a native of Tinmouth, Rutland County, came to Jericho 
-afcout sixty years ago, and is now living with his son, George N., on road i, 
^ed eighty-two years. 

-KEon. Truman Galusha, son of Gov. Jonas Galusha, and grandson of Gov. 

Tliomas Chittenden, was born at Shaftsbury, Vt., in 1786, and married Lydia 

-Lcxz^mis, of the same place, in 1809. In 18 19, he married Hannah, the only 

<ia.u^hter of Hon. Noah Chittenden, and removed to Jericho in 1824, where, 

.1 his death, in 1859, he was one of the wealthiest and most prominent 

asens in the town. Russell L. Galusha, son of Truman, was bom in Shafts- 

"'^ *"3^, and came to this town with his father, where he has since resided, being 

a resident of the village. Truman C. Galusha, now residing on road 25, 

e to the town in 1830 or 1831, and located on Brown's River, at Jericho 

lers. 

•yman Stimson, who carries on the carriage shop on road 25, near Lee 
:, came to this town from his native place, Essex, Vt, about fifty-six 
ago, and has been in his present locatjon a quarter of a century. 
r>aniel B. Bishop, with his father, located in Hinesburgh at an early day, 
^*^^re he remained on the farm upon which he first settled nearly seventy 
», or until he removed to Jericho, where he died about ten years after, 
eighty years. Rufus, born in Hinesburgh, remained there, excepting a 
^■^^^e years* residence in New Hampshire, until 1835, when he came to this 
^^'^VTi and resided until his death, in 1872, aged seventy-three years. His 
"^^n, David B., came to Jericho with him, and now resides on road 54, 

C^harles Hilton, now residing on road 28, came to Jericho, from Fairfax, 
"^^ut 1840. 

iDaniel Douglass, a former resident of this town, and an early settler in 

^^liston, now resides in the latter town, at the advanced age of ninety-three 

His son, Milo, born in Williston, now resides in this town on road 21. 

Secretary Rawson a physician from Warwick, Mass., removed from there 

Stowe, in 1805, when, after a few years' residence, he removed to Water- 

"^ry, and from there to Jericho, in 1820, and settled on road 6. Here he 

**oontinued his profession, though he occasionally visited patients. Mr. 

i^^rson died October 24, 1842, aged seventy years. His son. Homer, now 

'Sides on the old homestead, on road 6, where he was born. 

-Alexander Miller, a native of Scotland, emigrated to Montreal in 1840, 

a few years later came to this town, where he now owns a farm on road 27. 

^Villiam A. Haskins, from New Hampshire, came to Richmond in 1812. 



234 TOWN OF JERICHO. 



He served in the army, and was present at the battle of Plattsburgh. He 
subsequently removed to this town, and died here in 1847, aged sixty-two 
years. His sons, William A., Jr., Russell, and Silas J., are now residents of 
the town. 

Michael F. Martin, a native of St. Lawrence County, N. Y., came to 
Jericho in 1848, where he has since been engaged in the manufacture of 
wagons. 

William Tarbox, from Piermont, N. H., was an early settler in Richmond^ 
and subsequently located in Jericho, where he died. May 18, 1859, aged 
seventy-one years. Cyrus, son of William, bom in Richmond, April 15, 
1826, came to Jericho in March, 1851, where he still resides. RosweD, 
another son, lives at flssex Junction. A daughter, Lucy C, is the wife of 
Jesse Gloyd, of this town. 

Timothy Percival, a native of Strafford, Vt., located in Milton several 
years previous to the war of 181 2, in which he served, and from there removed 
to Jericho in 1852, where he died, in 1856, aged sixty-four years. His son, 
Henry B., now residing on road 25, came here in 1854. Harlow N. Percival, 
from Milton, now in the grocery business at Jericho village, came here in 1852. 

Joseph Lavigne, born in St. Hyacinth, Quebec, in 1807, removed from - 
there to Burlington, in 1821, where he remained until 1832, then removed to-^ 
Essex. After many years residence in different parts of the county he finally ^ 
located in Jericho, in 1854, upon the Russell L. Galusha farm, though he 
mained here but a few years. While on his return from a visit to this town, ii 
1880, he died quite suddenly, in Burlington. His wife died at Groverton. N« 
H., July 2, 1881. 

Thomas Sweeney, a native of Ireland, came to Jericho thirty-five yearsr- 
ago, and now resides on road 43. 

Hosea S. Wnght, born in Lamoille County, came to Jericho in 1857, anc^ 
located on Winooski River, upon the Messenger farm, which was first settle-— 
upon by Roderick Messenger, in 1774. Mr. Wright still owns and occupi^= 
the same. 

Henry Borrowdale, bom in England, emigrated to Quebec in the early pax^ 
of the present centur}-, where he remained until 1829, and then came to St. 
Albans for the purpose of learning the cabinet-maker's trade, and finally, m 
1859, located in Jericho. 

Martin V. Willard, a justice of the peace in this town, was bom in Wash- 
ington County, and came to Jericho in 1862, locating upon the premises be 
now occupies. 

Antoine Lafleche, bom in Canada, came from there to Milton, with his 
father, when one month old. There he remained until about twenty-eight 
years ago, when he removed to Jericho, locating upon the place he now oc- 
cupies, on road 15. Mr. Lafleche was bom in 1803, and claims he can re- 
member quite distinctly seeing the smoke and hearing the cannonading 
at the battle of Plattsburgh. 



TOWN OF JERICHO. 235 




Marshall Harvey, born in Shrewsbury, Vt., came to Jericho in 1865. 
Merritt Fellows, born in Maine, came to this county in 18 10, and lived in 
different portions of it, a part of the time in Jericho, until his death, in 1874. 
His son, Warren, born in Bolton, now resides in this town on road 25. 

Caleb Eastman, bom in Hollis, N. H., removed to Westford in 1808, where 

he died in 1831. Amos, son of Caleb, born in Westford, came to Jericho in 

1867, where he now resides at Underbill Flats. 

John Jackson, a native of England, emigrated to Canada in early life, and 

subsequently located in Underbill, where he died, in 1849. Robert, his son, 

2>om in Underbill, is now a resident of Jericho. 

Gideon Curtis, born in Woodbury, Conn., October, 14, 1769, came to 

ichmond in early life, remaining one year, then went to Essex and pur- 

:Aa8ed a farm, upon which he made a small clearing and erected a log house, 

len returned to Connecticut the following winter and married Rebecca 

lardy, with whom he soon after returned to his log house in the wilderness. 

;, however, died February 6, 18 16, leaving him a family of ten children. 

his second wife he married Hannah Stimson, August 5, 1816, by whom 

had six children. She died in Essex, November 26, 1872, aged eighty-four 

Stephen, son of Gideon and Hannah Stevens, born in Essex, April 20, 

I17, came to Jericho in December, 1866, locating where he now resides, on 

36. Stephen married Harriet M. Reynolds, August 28, 1839, ^^^ ^^^ 

sons living, W. R., who resides with Stephen, and E. W., living in fiurling- 

John C. White, bom in New Boston, N. H., came to Vermont early in life, 

■^wre he finally located, in Stowe, and married Dolly Russell. After a few 

^ars' residence there he removed to Essex, where he died in 1854, aged 

^venty-five years. His son, Thomas R., born in Essex, came to Jericho in 

)5, and purchased the farm he now owns and occupies, on road 2. He 

owns the old homestead, which is within sight of his residence. 

I Josiah Townsend, from Barnard, Vt, came into Jericho about 1815, and 

\ ^uhscquently settled in Underbill, where he remained until 1836, then re- 

m txumed to Jericho, and died here in 1869. He married Miss Nancy Jones, of 

m ^ridgewater, Vt., by whom he had one son and one daughter. His son, Rol- 

■ ^ R., bom October 26, 1825, now resides on road six. 

■ William Blood, from New Hampshire, settled in the town of Essex soon 
m iftcr the close of the Revolution, where he followed blacksmithing. His son, 

■ Luther Blood, now lives in this town, on road 5, aged eighty years. Luther's 
^ 100, William F., still resides here. 

David Castle, from Connecticut, settled in Essex soon after the Revolution. 
He had a family of six children, two of whom, Abel and Jonathan, removed 
to Jcridio about the year 1800. Abel married and settled upon the farm now 
^**^^ by J. Bass. He became a large land-owner, and died at the age of 
M'^^-scven years, leaving a family of nine children. 

Cynis Macomber, from Chesterfield, Mass., located in Essex at an early 




236 TOWN OF JERICHO. 



date, and subsequently located in Westford, upon the farm now owned by his 
grandson, Rolland Berry, where he died, in 1825. Wiram R. Macomber, one 
of his children, now resides in the town, on road 25. 

Patrick Russell removed to this town from Underbill, in 1837, and located 
upon the farm now owned by Walter E. RusselL He had a family of five 
children, two of whom are now living here. 

David Ransom, from Rupert, Vt, came to Jericho about the year 1820, 
and located upon the farm now owned by H. fiuxton. He had a family of 
eleven children, four of whom are now hving, three, D. M., Silas, and K- S., 
in this town. 

Nathan Hoskins, from Connecticut, came to Jericho previous to 1800, and 
located on road 19, upon the farm now owned by his grandson, Abel C. Hos- 
kins. He died in 1840, leaving a family of five children. One of them, 
Henry, remained upon the old homestead until his death, in 1873, and his son, 
the only representative of the family in this town, has occupied it since. 

Daniel Hale, from New Hampshire, located in the eastern part of th< 
town, in 1831, remained for a time, and finally returned to New Hampshire. -= 
His son, Stephen, now resides here, at the age of eighty-five years, retaining 
his vigor remarkably. 

Peter VanVliet, born in Fishkill, N. Y., was an early settler in the 
of Charlotte, where he located in 1795 or 1796. From there he removed 
Monkton, in 1851, and died there in 1856, aged seventy-eight years. 
had a family of fifteen children, of whom Christian, now residing in this toi 
on road 6, was the youngest, and is the only one living. 

Luther M. Stevens, from Massachusetts, came to Underbill in 1839, 
remained twenty-three years, when, after a short residence in Burlington, 
came to this tou-n where he has since resided. 

Calvin Morse, from New Hampshire, came to Underbill at an early 
where he was engaged in farming about fifty years. Seven years ago he set- 
tled in this town, and died here, in 1880. His widow still survives him, re- 
siding on Church street. 

Ephraim Stiles, from Barton, Vt., located in Jericho fifty-one or fifty-two 
years ago, and died here in June, 1842, at an advanced age. His soo^ 
George M., still resides in this town, on road 40. 

The First Congregational Church of Jericfw. — The religious faith of mos* 
of the early settlers of Jericho was after the Congregational school, a fac^ 
readily to be accounted for in their having been bom in the old Puritan Stat^ 
of Massachusetts, and nurtured, as their fathers were before them, almost withL*^ 
the orthodox shadow of old " Plymouth Rock." To this, their new wildc^^* 
ness home, they brought the old loved, formal religious code ; but for maii^ ^ 
years after their arrival they were too few in number and too poor in pun^^^ 

to erect any suitable house of worship, or to secure a r^ular pastor. Durin. ^ 

three years, meetings were held in private dwellings, bams, and often in 
open air, presided over by some member of the congregation, or by sa4 




TOWN OF JERICHO. 23/ 



itinerant clergyman as chance or fortune led this way, or by ministers from 

neighboring towns. In this way matters progressed until 1791, when the 

first regularly organized church was established, through the agency of Rev. 

Reuben Parmelee, of Hinesburgh. A small body it was though, consisting of 

only nine members, but earnest and aetermined in their purpose. The Rev. 

£benezer Kingsbury was the first regular pastor called to the charge^ and to 

liim was given the "minister's right" allowed by charter. In 1797, their 

first church building was erected, a large, square-roofed, wooden structure^ 

xiear the center of the town and middle of the " Green," a square of four 

^.cres, donated for that purpose by Luther Chapin, and around which the 

j^resent village of Jericho Center has since been built. This edifice did ser- 

-^rice until 1835, when the present brick building on the north side of the 

** Green" took its place. In 1878, the house was thoroughly repaired, at a 

of $4,000.00, and will now comfortably accommodate a congregation of 

00 persons, and is valued at $4,500.00. The society at present has eighty 

lembers, a good Sabbath school with an average attendeuce of ninety, and 

is under the able charge of Rev. Austin Hazen. 

21u Calvary Episcopal Church of Underhill Flats, — Several families of the 
early settlers were Episcopalians, as is attested by several entries in the early 
tOMrn records. From them the northern part of the town where they resided 
'^^as called " Church Street," and there, at an early date, a church was organ- 
^*ecl and maintained for a few years, under the care of Rev. Bethuel Chitten- 
den, of Shelburne, Rev. Reuben Garlick, M. D., and others; but, being few, 
^^eir organization was abandoned after a few years, until it was revived under 
tile ministration of Rev. Samuel Bostwick, in 1842, with a membership of 
twelve families. In 1856, they erected a house of worship, of wood, capable 
^^ seating 150 persons, and costing $2,000.00. The society now has twelve 
Members, under the pastoral charge of Rev. Gemont Graves, of Burlington. 
The church building, including grounds, etc., is valued at about its original 
<u>st 

Vnrversalist Church, — The Thompsons, the Gloyds, and the Dows, to- 
gether with several other of the early inhabitants of the town, were Universal- 
Jsts. They had preaching of their doctrine early, but no religious edifice 
Until 1846, when the church at Jericho Center was erected. The society was 
<3(rganized by its first pastor. Rev. Thomas Browning, February r8, 1843, with- 
^birty-onc members. Owing to removals and deaths, however, the society 
Property has become much run down, and they hold no meetings at present. 
The Methodist Church of Jericho,— This denomination owes its existence 
in this town, for many years, to Rev. Thomas Goodhue, of Ipswich, Mass., 
^ho removed to Underhill in 1805, and to this town in 181 5, where he died 
^ 1850, aged eighty-five years, having continued to preach occasionally until 
^ty years of age. In 1805, there were but three Methodists in the town- 
*ip, Elias Hale, his wife, and Eli as Nash. They invited Mr. Goodhue to 
P'c^ to them, and from that date the denomination increased in numbers 



238 TOWN OF MILTON. 



and influence to the present time. It has now 108 members, under the al 
charge of Rev. Joseph W. Gurnsey, with two houses of worship, one at t 
derhill Flats and one at Jericho Corners, though both are within the limits 
the town. They will each comfortably accommodate 200 persons, and i 
unitedly valued at $6,000.00. 

TA^ First Baptist Church. — The Baptist church in this town was sep 
rated from that of Essex, in 181 7, and organized on the 21st of April of tl 
year. Rev. Mr. Andem was installed as their first pastor, and was with the 
a long time. They had no regular place of worship until 1825, when t 
academy was built at Jericho Center, the lower stor}' of which was occupi 
as a place of meeting half the time. In 1826, the brick structure at Jeric 
village was built by the Baptists and the Second Congregational church, a 
occupied by them on alternate Sundays till 1858, when the Baptists built th* 
present wood structure, costing $4,000.00, capable of seating 360 persoi 
and now valued at $6,000.00. The church has at present sixty-seven mei 
bers, with Rev. DeForest Safford, pastor, and has also a Sabbath schc 
with an average attendance of thirty-two scholars. 

The Second Congregational Church of Jericho^ located at Jericho villag 
was originally organized in 1826, though it was reorganized, December 1 
1874, and the building re-dedicated in 1877. Of its early organization, et< 
little can be learned, owing to the loss of the early records. The buildii 
was erected by the Congregational and Baptist societies, in 1826, and use 
by both until 1858, when the Baptists erected a new building, and this socie 
retained the old one, which has since been repaired, however, at a cost < 
$3,500.00, and is now a comfortable structure with accommodations for \l 
persons, and valued at $5,000.00. The society is at present in a prospero 
condition, with sixty-seven members, under the pastoral charge of Rev. J. - 
Emerson. It has also a flourishing Sabbath school with 133 scholars. 




(ILTON, a lake town in the northwestern corner of the county, liesii 
^ ' lat. 44° 38', and long. 3° 55', bounded north by Georgia, inFranklii 
W County, east by Westford, south by Colchester, and west by Laki 
Champlain. It was granted by New Hampshire, to Albert Blake and sixty 
three others, the charter being signed by the governor, Benning Wentwortl 
June 8, 1763, granting 27,616 acres. This area remains to-day as granteda 
that time, no changes having been made in the boundary lines. 

The surface of the township is rather uneven, not enough so to render cu 
tivation of the soil impracticable, but sufficient to lend a charming diversity t 
the landscape ; which fact, coupled with the delightful climate, attracts nun 
bers of pleasure-seekers during the heated season. Many excellent campin 
grounds and summer resorts are sustained, of which more anon. The easter 



TOWN OF MILTON. 239 



portion of the territory is elevated some two or three hundred feet above the 
general level of the other portions, thus affording many excellent points of 
view over the charming lake and beautiful stretch of country that skirts it 
A sand bar, leading from the southwestern part of the town to South Hero, 
in Grand Isle County, renders the lake fordable between the two towns dur- 
ing a great portion of the year. In i849-'5o, there was a toll bridge built 
on this bar, connecting the two towns, at a cost of $25,000.00, which 
renders communications between them tolerably good at all seasons 
of the year. The principal elevations are Cobble Hill in the southern, 
and Rattle Snake Hill in the northern part, having an altitude of 800 
to 1,000 feet. The township is watered by the Lamoille River, which 
iiows in a serpentine course through the town from northeast to southwest, 
leaving many tributaries, and a number of small streams whose waters are 
discharged into Lake Cham plain, affording many mill privileges, and furnish- 
ii^g ample irrigation to the soil Two ponds of some note are also found, 
one, Ix>ng Pond, situated in the northwestern portion of the town, is about a 
«D ilc in length, by twenty to sixty rods in width, while the other, Round Pond, 
ut half the size of the former, is situated a little to the east of it. Another 
body of water is found in the northeastern part of the town. 
The soil of the territory is excellent, varying in different localities, from the 
clay to fine productive alluvium, producing crops of wheat, oats, rye, 
bxiolcwheat, Indian com, etc., whose percentage is excelled by perhaps no 
to^f n in the State. The timber is that found in most of the lake towns of the 
couxity, pine predominating ; indeed, about half of the township was once 
"^^overed with a heavy growth of this valuable timber, a great portion of which 
^as long since found its way to the lumber market, though there is consider- 
able yet standing. The rocks entering into the geological structure of the 
town are various. Along the lake shore, extending inland from one to two 
^iles, red sandrock predominates ; next to this, in a wedge shape, several 
iniles in width on the north and a half mile on the south, is found a large bed 
^ Georgia slate ; this slate-rock is in turn skirted on the east by a vein of 
^Han limestone^ having a mean width of perhaps two miles, while the residue 
of the territory is composed of talcose conglomerate. Quarries of very fair 
nuffble exist, though none have ever been worked to any extent. Iron ore 
Prevails to some extent, of a good quality, but not in quantities sufficient to 
Wnmt remunerative working. Taken as a whole, husbandry in its various 
phases constitutes the principal wealth and occupation of the inhabitants. 
Nature has been especially kind in her gifts to the territory in this respect^ 
P^ a fine soil, even temperature, etc., to promote the husbandman's in- 
^cicsts, while the products of his toil find a ready means of transportation to 
F^puknis marts, in the Vermont and Canada Railroad, which passes through 
^ eastern part of the town from north to south, with a depot near Milton 
FaDi 
^ 1880, Milton had a population of 2,006, was divided into eleven school 



240 TOWN OF MILTON. 

districts and contained eleven common schools, emplo3ring five male 
nineteen female teachers, to whom was paid an aggregate salary of $i,8 
lo. There were 436 pupils attending these schools, while their entire 
for the year, ending October 31st, was $2,241.04. Mr J. H. Woodward 
school superintendent. 

Milton Falls (Milton p. o.), a beautifully located post village, lies in 
western part of the town, on the Lamoille River, and is also a station on 
Vermont and Canada Railroad. It receives its name from the falls in 
river at this point, which are not only a rare specimen of the handiwori 
nature, but also constitute one of the finest mill-sites in the State. ' 
river falls 150 feet in a distance of fifty rods, while near the center of 
cataract the waters are di\'ided by a small island, which turns them, nis) 
down on either side with great \'iolence, dashing the spray high into the 
as they come in contact with some projecting rock, until it may indeed 

said: — 

"It seeths and it hisses, and bubbles and roars, 

As when tire with water is commixed and contending." 

The village itself is handsomely laid out, has a good dass of buildings, 
is especially noticeable for its general air of neatness and good order. 1 
the inhabitants are both intellectually and religiously inclined, is attested 
the three church spires that point towards Heaven (Meth.,Cong., and Cai 
and the fine graded school, employing four competent teachers. Business 
terprise, too, is represented by ten stores, two hotels, three blacksmith sh* 
a grist and saw-mill, wagon shop, etc The village contains about seven I 
dred inhabitants. 

West Milton, a post village, located on the Lamoille River, in the west 
part of the town, contains one store, a blacksmith shop, one church (Uni< 
a butter and cheese factory, etc, and about twenty dwellings. 

Checkerberrv Village, a hamlet located in the central part of the to 
contains a hotel, store, one church (Meth.), a school-house and about a do 
dwellings. The Checkerberry Hotel, now owned by John D. Gale, ^ 
built previous to 1 800, and has always been used for hotel purposes. 

Milton Borough is a smaU hamlet located in the northwestern part 
the towiL 

TA^ Lamoille Valley Butter and Cheese Factory^ located at West Milt< 
was built by a stock company in 1868, and is now owned by E. W, Peck, 
Burlington, who uses the milk from 350 cows. 

ClarHs saw and grist-mills^ located at Milton Falls, were erected 
Joseph Clark, in 1845, and are now owned and operated by his son, Jed 
Clark. The saw-mill, which originally had an ui>-and-down saw, is now s 
plied with circular and gang saws, affording capacity for cutting 3,000,000 f 
of lumber per year, though but about 600,000 feet are manufactured, < 
ploying 15 men. The grist-mill operates six runs of stones, and is run a: 
custom fiouring-milL 



TOWN OF MILTON. 24 1 



ClarHs Carriage Manufactory^ also located at this village, is engaged in 
manufacturing all kinds of carriages and sleighs. 

Brown* s Brick Yards, located, one at Mallett's Bay in the town of Col- 
chester, and one at Milton, were established by J. W. Brown, in 1857, and 
are now owned and operated by J. W. & H. W. Brown. They employ about 
^ty men during the summer season, manufacturing 4,000,000 brick. 

Marrs Cheese Factory, located in the southeastern part of the town, on 
'^d 57> w^ established by a stock company in 1868, who now manufacture 
cheese from the milk of about 250 cows. 

Milton Borough Cheese Factory, located in the northern part of the town, 
on road 4, was established by a stock company in 1870. The factory is at 
present used by Henry L. Wood for his dairy of forty-two cows. 

Camp RUh, a summer resort located in the western part of the town, on 

ilrake Champlain, was established by Charles Rich in 1874, and is now one 

of the finest resorts on the lake. Mr. Rich built a handsome boat-house 

in 1879, which is well supplied with boats. He has excellent accommoda- 

^ons for boarders and tenters. 

Camp Watson, also very pleasantly located on the lake shore, was estab- 
^hed in a small way in 1869, by Hiram Atkins, of Montpelier, editor of the 
-^'^^x, who leased the grounds of the present owners, Grace and Lucius 
^^3.tson, in 1879, for a period of five years. There is a camp and boat-house, 
*^^t no hotel, it being used as a tenting ground. 

Camp Everest, located on the lake shore near road 2 7 J, owned by Z. A. 

Everest and A. W. Austin, was established in 1878. The camp-house, built 

during that year, is a building 20x26 feet in size, having a bowling alley 78x14 

feet and a good boat-house attached. The camp is mostly the resort of 

^^soQpers and picnic parties, though the proprietors have accommodations for 

^ few boarders. 

The town poor farm, containing 205 acres, is very pleasantly situated 
on the banks of the Lamoille River, opposite Checkerberry village, and com- 
loands a fine view of the river and falls. It has been under the efficient 
inanagement of Mr. George W. Eighmy for the past three years, who for sev- 
oal years had charge of the union farm in Williston. He shows good judg- 
inent in the manner in which he conducts it, and in his treatment of the 
unfortunates who reside there. 

No effort was made towards the settlement of the town until after the 
close of the Revolution, when, February 15, 1782, William Irish, Leonard 
O^en, Amos Mansfield, Absalom Taylor, and Thomas Dewey commenced 
^^ pioneer life here. These were soon after joined by Gideon Hoxsie, 
Zcbediah Dewey, Enoch and Elisha Ashley, and others, whose numbers were 
Jncteased firom year to year, until at the taking of the first census, in 1791, 
tke town had a population of 282. 

Many of the early settlers turned their attention to cutting and preparing 
^ pine timber for the» Quebec market, whither it was floated through the 



242 TOWN OF MILTON. 



waters of Lake Champlain, and the rivers Sorel and St Lawrence. After the 
Champlain Canal was completed in the State of New York, much of this tim- 
ber found its way to New York. This traffic became so extensive that the 
forests soon melted away, and the inhabitants turned their attention to agri- 
cultural pursuits instead, causing the town to become one of the leading ones 
of the county in farming interests. 

In 1788, it was deemed that the population was sufficiently large to war- 
rant the organization of the town by election of proper town officers. Ac- 
cordingly, a meeting was held on the 25th of March, at which Enoch Ashley 
was chosen town clerk ; Jesse Phelps, constable ; Amos Mansfield, Elisha 
Ashley, and Gideon Hoxsie, selectmen. Aaron Matthews was chosen justice, 
and also to represent his townsmen in the legislature. The first birth re — 
corded is that of Hannah Hoxsie, December 13, 1789. 

Da\'id Austin was one of the first settlers in the eastern part of the town _ 
He came from Rhode Island, with his brother Joseph, in 1785, and locatecu 
on road 14, upon the place now occupied by Heman Allen. David had ,i= 
family of twelve children, and died in 18 13. Joseph had a family of fiv"^- 
children, and died in 1838. One of David's sons, Ethan, married 
Hill and located upon the farm now owned by his daughter, Mrs. G. 
Crown, on road 1 4. He had a family of ten children, six of whom are m 
living. 

Isaac Drury, from Pittsford, Vt, came to this town in 1782, and located 
road 45, upon the farm now owned by Emery Reynolds. Here he was a 1< 
time engaged in the lumber business, manufacture of potash, and also kept 
store. He died in 1825, having had a family of five girls and two bo}'Sy h^^ 
wife following him in 1865, at an advanced age. One of his sons, Isaac, was 
born here in 1800, married Beulah Mosley, had a family of eight children, six 
sons and two daughters, four of whom are now living. Daniel now lives ar 
Weathersfield, Vt., and is still quite an active man. His wife died in June; 
1856. Isaac N., son of Daniel, bom in this town in 1825, married Anna Os. 
good, and has two children, Edgar W., and Beulah C. 

Enoch and Elisha Ashley, brothers, came to Milton in 1784, locating in the 
eastern part of the town. Enoch, who served the town as first town clerk, 
remained here until 1820, then removed to western New York, where he 
subsequently died. Beaman, son of Enoch, was bom in Poultney, Vt, and 
came here with his father, married Lucy Preston, and had a family of ten 
children, five of whom are now li\nng. He died in 1854. His wife still sur- 
vives him at the age of ninety-three years. Elisha reared a family of twelve 
children, several of whom settled here, though his granddaughter, Mrs. JcA 
P. Clark, is the only representative of his family now residing in the town. 

Nathan Caswell's is said to have been the fourth family who settled in tb^ 
town. He came from Connecticut and located in the northeastern part ^ 
the township, on road 1 2, upon the farm now owned by Abram Rogg. Hi* 
son Solomon, who came with him, was bom in Connecticut, December 
1763, and died in this town, February 16, 1845. Solomon was thrice 



TOWN OF MILTON. 243 



ed, and reared a family of seven children, one of whom, Horace, was bom 
Lpril 30, 1 8 13, on the farm he now occupies. Horace has been twice mar- 
ed, and reared a family of five children, four sons and one daughter. 
Daniel Meeker, from New Jersey, located in Milton, upon the farm now 
wned by his son, Daniel S., in 1788, the farm having been given him by his 
ncle, Isaac Tichenor, the second governor of Vermont, and upon which 
Daniel resided until his death, in 1844. He was twice married, and had a 
imily of eighteen children, Daniel S. being the only one now residing in the 
)wn. 

Aaron and John Swan, from New Hampshire, came to Milton in 1790, and 
>cated in the northern part of the town on road 9. They resided here to- 
ether for several years, but John finally sold out and removed to Ohio. 
Laron married Azuba Bullard, had a family of nine children, and died 
icre in 1825. His wife died in 1868, aged ninety-one years. Riley, son of 
karon, now resides here, on road 40, a retired farmer, while his son, Charles 
^., carries on a large farm. 

John Bean, from Goffstown, N. H., was an early settler in Burlington, and 
jbsequently removed to Milton, locating on road 4, upon the farm now 
vnied by his grandson, Joseph, where he died about the year 1840. John, 
r., occupied the farm after his father's death. He married Lois Tomlin, and 
s»d a family of four children, one of whom, William, now resides here, on 
>ad 8. After her death he married for his second wife Phebe Soper, by 
Fiom he had a family of seven children, six of whom are now living. He 
^^cdin 1873, aged ninety-one years. 

John Sanderson, from Whilley, Mass., located in this town at an early day, 
l^nthe farm now occupied by his grandson, Charles P., on road 32. Levi, 
»nc of four brothers, came here with his father, John, married Sally Bean, and 
^ a family of nine children, four of whom are now living. He died in 1867, 
riswife in 1850. His son, Charles P., still occupies the old homestead, the 
^>isband of Sarah Bean, and has two sons, Charles L. and Willard L. 

Aaron Ward located in Milton, from Massachusetts, at an early day, where 
be engaged in the carding business. Aaron located on the place now 
occupied by his son, William. He was the father of seven children, four of 
whom are now living. He died in 181 5, and was buried at Milton, where 
^is brother William also rests. 

Lewis Lyon was an early settler in this town, having located on road 6, 
^pon the farm now occupied by his grandson, Lewis. Mr. Lyon was a 
thorough business man, was town clerk for many years, and took an active 
W in public affairs. His son, Henry F., was born here September 6, 
iSio, and resided here until his death, in 1859. He married Elizabeth 
^Gtchell, and had a family of three children, Lewis, Henry F., and Henrietta 
(Mrs. M. A Everest, of Addison, Vt). 

Hawley Witters, from Connecticut, settled in Georgia, Vt., about the year 
'790, where his son, Horace, was born, December 25, 1794. Horace subse- 



I 



244 TOWN OF MILTON. 



quently removed to this town, locating upon the farm now owned by his son^ 
Alson L. He married Clarissa Basford, had a family of four children, and 
died here, August 26, 1878, sur\i\nng his wife's death about six weeks. 

John Jackson, from Weybridge, Vt., came to Milton in 1794, and located 
in the western part of the town, on road 30. He was twice married, had a 
family of fourteen children, and died here in 1877, aged eighty-five yean. 
His son, Giles, came here nith his father, being then two years of age. He 
subsequently married Rebecca Mears, and had a family of four children, 
three of whom are now li\'ing, two, Harrison and Andrew, in this town. 

Jonathan Woods, from Goffstuwn, N. H., came to Milton previous to the 
year 1800, and located upon the farm now owned by Charles Rich, on roads. 
Ebenezer, son of Jonathan, came with his father, and subsequently mv- 
ried Sylvia Rice, and had a family of eleven children, seven of whom anived 
at maturity. Henry L. occupies the old homestead and has a family of six 
children. 

Asa Newell came to Milton pre\'ious to the year 1800, and located in the 
southern part of the town, upon the farm now owned by his grandson, L K. 
Smith. He had a family of nine children, several of whose descendants now 
reside here 

Mark Watson, from New Hampshire, came to Milton about the year iSo^'r 
and located on road 27, upon the place now known as Camp Watson, wheC^ 
he resided until his death. David, son of Mark, bom here in 1803, renuun^^ 
on the old place until his death, August 22, 1878. David's widow and ^ 

son now own the old homestead. 

Seth Rice, from Hardwick, Mass., settled in Georgia, Vt, previous to il 
and in 1798 or 1799, removed to this town, locating on road 27, upon d^' 
farm now owned by his son, Lester. He married Mary Hammond, had 
family of six children, and died June 2, 1859. Lester was bom July 7, 181 ^ 
married Caroline Childs, and has three sons, Gardner, Herbert and Ludns 

John Mears came to this town, from Fair Haven, Vt, previous to i8oo,a0^ 
located upon the farm now owned by his grandson Rodney. He had a tiaxSiT 
of nine children, five sons and four daughters. The only son now living s^ 
Elias, who resides in Milton, aged seventy five years. John died Februaiy 8r 
i860, at an advanced age. 

Isaac Blake was born at Strafford, Vt., Febmary 3, 1781, and settled u^ 
Milton about the year 1800, locating upon the farm now owned by J. FliiiDf 
on road 26. He married Phebe Ladd, had a family of seven children,—' 
four sons and three daughters, — and died May 25, 1870. His wife died i^ 
1826. 

John Blake, in 1830, settled upon the farm now owned by his grandson, G. 
W. Blake. His son Jonathan married Sallie Basford, had a family of d^ 
children, and died in 1856. G. W., Jonathan's son, has been twice mairied 
and is the father of seven children. He has been engaged extensively ''^ 
wool dealing. 



TOWN OF MILTON. 245 



Daniel Marrs, from Massachusetts, settled in the eastern part of the town, 
tipon road 55, about the year 1800. He remained here about ten years, 
then returned to Massachusetts, where he died. His sons, Philander and 
Sidney S., finally returned to Milton. Philander married Sallie Brigham for 
his first wife, and Sarah Butler for his second, and still resides here, aged 
seventy-eight years. His daughter, Mary E., is the wife of G. T. Mead. Sid- 
ney S. married Esther Tubbs, and had a family of five children, all of whom 
are now living. He died August 21, 1881. 

William Powell, a veteran of the Revolution, settled here just previous to 
1800. He had a family of eleven children, one of whom, James, was two 
years of age when he came to the town. James married Miss S. Smith, had a 
family often children, and died here in 1872. His son Eben was twice mar- 
ried and had three children, all of whom are now living in Milton. 

Lyman Burgess, one of the oldest residents of the town, was born at Graf- 
ton, Vt, March 6, 1798, and came to Milton in 1826. He was a stirring, 
energeric man, and at once engaged in the mercantile business, following that 
vocation until October, 1877, a period of fifty-one years. During a consider- 
able porrion of the time he operated largely in lumbering, buying and clear- 
ing many valuable tracts of pine timber, which was very abundant when he first 
came here. He owned a fine water-privilege and ran a saw-mill and paper- 
Joill many years. He was married, January 22, 1828, to Lucia Day, daughter 
of IVarren and Keziah Hill, of Milton, and at once began house-keeping in 
a dwelling he had previously built, and which he still occupies, together with 
tbree generations of his descendants, all born in this house. 

James Nay, from Petersboro, N. H., came to Milton in 1804, and settled 

itt the northern part of the town, near Snake Mountain. He had a family of 

nixie children, and died in 1830, aged about ninety years. Robert, son of 

]ajaies, came here with his father and located near him, and died in 1842, 

leaving a family of twelve children, six of whom are now living. Nelson S. 

M.., son of Robert, was born in 18 19, married Hannah Holmes, and had 

three children, two of whom are now living, one. Young G., in this town. 

Edmond Lamb, Jr., located in the southern part of this town in 1805, and 
resided here most of the time until his death, in 1862. He married Sarah 
Allen and had a family of nine children, two of whom are living. One of 
^icse, Alvin J., bom in 1814, resides on road 33, and has several children. 

Isaiah Martin came to Milton in 1809, and settled in the western part of 
Ae town upon what is now known as Camp Everest, the present property of 
todi, Jr. He had a family of eleven children, and died here April 21, 1858. 
|«aiah, Jr., married Paulina Smith and has three children, all of whom reside 
'a Milton. 

Lnthcr Fullam, bom at Fitzwilliam, N. H., February 13, 1789, came to 
^fihon in 181 1, locating on road 40, where he has since resided. He is 
•^1 at the age of ninety-three years, the oldest man in the town. He mar- 
^ Martha Carpenter and had three children, only one of whom, Sarah F., 
**4>w of John Faxon, is now living. 



246 TOWN OF MILTON. 



Joseph Clark, one of the most prominent and influential men who ever resid- 
ed in Milton, was born in Addison County, Vt., February 2, 1795. At the age 
of five or six years he removed with his parents to Madison County, N. Y., 
where he resided until about eighteen years of age, when, after a shon resi- 
dence in the northern part of the State, he returned to Vermont, and subse- 
quently, about the year 18 16, located in Milton, at the village, where he re- 
mained until his death, May 17, 1879. Here he became extensively engaged 
in lumbering and roerchantile pursuits, amassing a large fortune. When the 
Vermont & Canada Railroad received its charter, he, together with John 
Smith (father of Ex-Gov. Smith), and Lawrence Brainerd, became a prime 
mover in the enterprise, having at one time his entire fortune invested. He 
was a director of that road, and subsequently a director and trustee of the 
Central Vermont R. R. He also held many public trusts, all of which he 
conducted with honor and intelligence. Possessed of great firmness and ex- 
ecutive ability, he yet had a nature that won for him many friends throughout 
the State, and the respect and confidence of all. He was united in matri- 
mony with Lois Lyon, of Colchester, who bore him six children, four of whom 
reached a mature age. His son, Jed P., now occupies the old homestead, and 
is one of the roost prominent men of the town. As early as 1858, Jed P. 
became a director of the Vermont & Canada R. R., and in 1875, became sl 
director of the Central Vermont, a position he still retains. 

William Howard came to Milton, from Connecticut, in 18 14, and locat:^^ 
on road four, upon the farm now owned by his sons, Henry and Samuel K^e 
died May 28, 1876. 

Nathan Lincoln settled in the northern part of the town in 1814, wher^ He 
resided until his death. He had a family of seven children, one of whoxxi, 
Nathan, Jr., still resides here, aged seventy-one years. He has held mosfc of 
the town offices, was associate judge three years, and has been a notary pul> 
lie and justice of the peace for over forty years. 

Jedediah Wheeler, from Connecticut, settled in the southern part of tfae 
town, on road 60, in 18 18. He married Amanda Hickok, had five childrexs, 
two of whom are now living, and died October i6, 1863. His widow az»^ 
their daughter Julia (Mrs. Morten), occupy the old homestead. 

John H. Woodward, "the fighting chaplain of Vermont," was bom in Chi 
lotte in 1809. He is a Congregational minister, having preached in th: 
county since 1826, excepting six years. He entered the army in 1861, 
chaplain of the ist Vt. Cavalry, and was at the front with his men durin, 
each engagement of that regiment, winning for himself the soubriquet of th 
" Fighting Chaplain." He married Emily D. Morehouse, and had a famil^^ ^^ 
of six children, four of whom are still living. In addition to preaching th -^^ . 
gospel thirteen years, he has served the town as superintendent of schools an^ ^ 
State senator. 

Dr. Benjamin Fairchild was bom in Georgia, Vt., in 1804, lived there 
til he was twenty-two years of age, studied medicine at Burlington, in i82< 



e 



TOWN OF MILTON. 247 



attended a course of lectures at Castleton, and located in Milton as a physi- 
cian, February 11, 1830. He soon became one of the leading physicians 
of this section, and even now, at his advanced age, continues to practice 
some. 

Dr. F. B. Hatheway was born in Georgia, Vt., in 18 19, married Lucia Bart- 
Ictt and had one child, Franklin B., who studied medicine at Woodstock, and 
settled at Milton in 1849, where he has practiced since. His son, Frank B., 
graduated from the Burlington Medical College June i, 1879, and now 
practices with his father. 

Albert Gallatin Whittemore was born at White Creek, N. Y., January 16, 
1797, the son of John and Abigail Whittemore, the latter being a daughter 
of Gideon Olin, of Shaftsbury, Vt., and half-sister of Judge Abram Olin, late 
of Washington, D. C. His parents came to St. Albans, Vt, in 1799, and he 
there received his early education. While at school, in September, 181 4, he 
joined the volunteers on their way to the battle of Plattsburgh, crossing the 
lake in a row-boat. He first studied law with Hon. Stephen P. Brown, of 
Swanton, and next with Hon. Heman Allen, of Milton, completing his 
course with Judge Aldis, of St. Albans, and was admitted to practice Marcli 
16, 1 82 1, at the Franklin County court. He first opened an office at South 
Hero, but came to Milton in 1824, where he gained a large practice and was 
extremely successful. He married Abbie Clark, September 14, 1826, and re- 
dded on the home farm of her parents at Checkerberry village until his 
death. He often held official positions in town, and was State's attorney for 
the county; represented Milton in the legislature four terms, and, in 185 1, 
was county senator. The Sand Bar bridge was constructed by Mr. Whitte- 
more m connection with Samuel Boardman, Esq., in 1849 and 1850, which 
remains a permanent monument to their memory. About this time he became 
interested in railroad enterprises, and was an earnest advocate of the extension 
of the Rutland & Burlington R. R. to Swanton, and predicted, as has since come 
to pass, that a road upon the New York shore would be built within twenty-five 
years, if the charter was rejected. In 1852, he was associated with Messrs. 
T. D. Chittenden, John Bradley and N. L. Whittemore, in the construction of 
t large portion of the Central Ohio R. R., and on the loth of November of 
that year was accidently killed at Zanesville, O., by a blow from an iron bar 
^ a capstan unexpectedly set in motion by an approaching vessel. Mr. 
Wliittemore left a widow and four children : Mrs. Barnum, of Milton, Clark 
^- Whittemore, an attorney of New York, lately deceased, Don Juan Whit- 
temore, of Milwaukee, chief engineer of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul 
R- R., and Albert G. Whittemore, an attorney of Burlington. He was a 
borough student, a lawyer of strict integrity and rare ability, and an excel- 
*e^t advocate and public speaker. He was a roan of untiring energy, pos- 
^^^sing public spirit, independent judgment, and was foremost in educational 
""^ otters and all public improvements. His loss was deeply mourned by his 
^^msmen and a large circle of friends throughout the State. 



248 TOWN OF MILTON. 



Amos Ives, from Wallingford, Conn., came to this town about the year 
1800, locating in the western part upon the farm now owned by Isaiah Mar- 
tin. His family consisted of his wife and one daughter, Samantha. The 
daughter married Alfred Ladd, who died February 23, 1882, aged eighty- 
eight years. She now lives with her son, E. L. Ladd, in Georgia, at the age 
of eighty-one years. Her only other surviving child is Charles Ladd, a mer- 
chant at Milton village, where he has been engaged in trade for the past six- 
teen years. Amos, her father, died in 1867, aged eighty-nine years. 

755^ First Congregational Churchy located at Milton Falls, was organized 
September 21, 1804, by Rev. Lemuel Hayes and James Davis, with fifteen 
members. Until 1807, the church was supplied with only occasional preach- 
ing ; but on September 23d of that year, Rev. Joseph Cheeney was constitut- 
ed its pastor by a council composed of Revs. P. V. Bogue, James Parker, and 
Benjamin Wooster and their delegates. The first house of worship was erect- 
ed in 1806 or 1807, the expense being mostly sustained by Judge Noah Smith, 
who also gave to the society the land adjoining, for a cemetery. A second 
building was constructed in 1825, a few rods north of the first, and destrojred 
by fire in 1840. The present building was erected in 1841, upon the site of 
the former, at a cost of about $16,000.00. It comfortably seats four hundred 
persons, and is valued, including grounds, at about its original cost. The 
society now has ninety-five members, with Rev. J. H. Woodward, pastor. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Milton, — This society was organized at 
an early date, and supplied with itinerant preachers for a time, until Rev. E 
B. Huff was appointed their first regular pastor. The society now has i 
large membership, with Rev. Robert E. Chrystie, as pastor. It has thre^ 
houses of worship, one at Milton Borough, one at West Milton, and another 
at Milton Falls. The building at West Milton was erected in 1831, 
thoroughly repaired and moderized in 1859. The expense was borne 
union with the Congregational society, and they both now occupy it, each 
alternate Sundays. The edifice at the Borough was built in 1 860. It is 
wood structure capable of seating 300 persons, and is valued at $2,000.00. 
brick building was constructed at the Falls in 1841, and destroyed by fire i 
July, 1868, when it was superceded by the present wood structure, wbii 
will seat 300 persons, and is valued at $4,000.00. 

St. Ann^s Catholic Church, located at Milton Falls, was organized by 
Bishop DeGoesbriand, who acted as its first pastor, in 1859. Their church 
was built during the same year, a pleasant, commodious brick structure, 
capable of seating 300 persons. The society now has 300 communicants, 
with Rev. Charles Prevost, pastor. 

The Trinity Episcopal Church, located at Milton village, was organized by 
Rev. George T. Chapman, D. D., in the winter of 183 1, with about twenty 
communicants. It never has had an edifice of its own, but has worshiped in 
the town-hall, school-house, and hotel parlors. For nearly twenty years, 
owing to adverse circumstances, sernces were suspended, to be resumed 



TOWN OF RICHMOND. 249 



again, in 1867, by the Rev. John A. Hicks, D. D., of Burlington, since which 
time they have been sustained by different missionaries. The society now 
has about seventeen members, under the charge of Rev. Gemont Graves, of 
Burlington. 




(ICHMOND, located in the central part of the county, in lat. 44'' 24', 
and long. 4° 4', bounded north by Jericho, east by Bolton, south by 
Huntington and Hinesburgh, and west by Williston, is the only town in 
the county, except South Burlington, whose charter was not granted by New 
Hampshire. It has an area of about 20,000 acres, chartered by the legisla- 
tmre of Vermont, October 27, 1794, formed by taking a portion of the adjoin- 
ing towns of Jericho, Bolton, Huntington, and Williston, an addition from 
Bolton having also been made, October 25, 1804. 

The township is generally uneven and broken in surface, especially in the 
northern, northwestern, and western parts, though it contains many broad, 
verdant meadows, level as a house floor, which serve to enhance the beauty 
of the scenery, as well as the value of the territory. 

The soil, too, like the scenery, is various, though generally rich and pro- 
ductive. Along the Winooski it is a fine alluvial deposit, while in the hilly 
and other portions it is composed of clay, gravelly loam, and marl. The 
liilly land is fertile and well adapted to grazing, affording pasturage to many 
herds. The timber is principally beech, birch, hemlock, pine, spruce, maple 
and elm, immense forests of which were originally standing, and much is still 
left, though it is gradually decreasing in quantity before the onslought of the 
woodman. The rocks are principally of the sandrock and slate formation. 
Many boulders, relics of the drift ptriody are also resting on the surface. Iron 
ore has been discovered and worked to some extent, making a very good 
quality of iron, though it has not been wrought for years. Some fossils, also, 
have been found, the most notable of which is the tusk of an elephant, now 
resting in the museum of the University of Vermont, dug up by Col. RoUa 
Oleason, from the muck in a swamp on the top of Bryant's Hill. The 
Winooski forms the water course of the township, flowing in a northwesterly 
course through its center, into which flows numerous tributaries, some of 
*'bich afford good mill-sites. Two small ponds are also found, Jackson and 
^>Uett Jackson Pond lies in the northeastern part of the town, covering 
***- area of about twenty-five acres. Gillett Pond, lying in the southeast- 
^'^ part, is a handsome little sheet of water, about a mile in length by a 
^^^Jtcr of a mile in width. Taken all in all, Richmond, though a farming 
^^'^^n, will compare favorably with any of the towns in the county in point of 
^^^th and natural facilities. Its products find a ready means of transporta- 
^^U in the Vermont Central Railroad, which passes through the town, fol- 



250 TOWN OF RICHMOND. 



lowing the northern bank of the Winooski, with two stations, one at Rich- 
mond and the other at Jonesville. 

In 1880, Richmond had a population of 1,264, was divided into seven 
school districts and contained ten common schools, employing five male and 
nine female teachers, to whom was paid an aggregate salary of $1,319.00. 
There were 263 pupils attending common schools, while the entire cost of 
the schools for the year, ending October 31st, was $1,470.00, with Mr. C. B. 
Towers, superintendent. 

Richmond, a post village located in the central part of the town, on the 
Winooski River, and also a station on the Central Vermont Railroad, con- 
tains three churches (Union, Universalist, and Catholic), one hotel, ten 
stores, a wagon shop, paint shop, harness shop, etc 

Jonesville (p. o.), a hamlet located in the extreme eastern part of the 
town, contains one store, a blacksmith shop, spool-turning works, and about^T". 
a half dozen dwellings. 

5. 6- R, J, Robinsoris turnings g^ist^ and cider-mill^ located on road 23,^^ ^ 
was established in 1868, and is now doing a very good busines, using 
cords of wood per month in their turning-shop, and manufacturing twenty-fiv( 
bbls. of cider per day during the season, while the grist-mill does cust< 
grinding. 

Stephen Freshette's carriage manufactory^ located at the village, was estal 
lished in 1857. Mr. Freshette came into possession of the property in i^ 
He employs two men, and manufactures all kinds of carriages, wagons, 
sleighs. 

H, H. Frary's spool-turning shop, located at Jonesville, was establishedL 
1866. He now uses 400 cords of wood per annum in the manufacture of h 
goods. 

Mason's Cheese Factory, located on road 16, manufactures cheese from th^ -^ 
milk of 140 cows, making 42,000 lbs. per annum. The factory has gaiiK 
some little notoriety from the fact of several of the largest hotels in 
United States ordering goods directly from it. 

The first effort towards the settlement of the town was made by Amos 
Brown son and John Chamberlin, who came here with their families in 1775, 
and located upon what has since been called Richmond Flats, on the south 
side of the Winooski, in the part then included within the town of WiDistoo. 
Their stay was short, however, as they abandoned the town during the foUow- 
ing fall, and did not return until after the close of the Revolution. In 
1784, they again resumed settlement upon their farm, being accompanied by 
Asa and Joel Brownson, Samuel and Joshua Chamberlin, James Holly,— ^^"^ 
Joseph Wilson, and Jesse McFairlain. 

In 1 786, the first settlement in the southern part of the town, then indudccC^"'"^" 
within the limits of Huntington, was commenced by Ozem Brewster 
Daniel Robbins. In the tracts along the southern side of the 
between Jonesville and Richmond \illage, settlements were first commeni 






TOWN OF RICHMOND. 2$! 



by Amos Brownson, Jr., Matthew Cox, Jesse Green, William Douglas, Bsltt 

ley and Comfort Starr, Clement Hoyt, James and Peter Crane, James Hall, 

and Nathaniel and Asa Alger. The first in the western part of the town 

was made by Asa Brownson and Nathan and Henry Fay. On the northern 

side of the river, one of the first settlements was made by Joseph Hall. 

Thus, from time to time, families came in and made improvements on their 
possessions, until, in 1795, it was considered by the inhabitants that the popu- 
lation was large enough to sustain a proper town government. Accordingly, 
2B, meeting was warned and held in pursuance of said warning, in March of 
^hat year, at which the following officers were elected : town clerk, Joshua 
O^hainberlin ; constable, Constant C. Hallock ; selectmen, Felen Augar, Ben- 
^ a.niin Famsworth, and Peter Crane; justices, Joel Brownson, Asa Brown- 
^5>on, Jr., and Benjamin Farnsworth. Jonathan Chamberlin was the first rep- 
aresentative, chosen the year following the first town meeting, in 1796. 

The first deed recorded in the town records is a quit-claim of one third of 
me hundred acres of land, by Amos Brownson to Joshua Chamberlin, in con- 
sideration of twelve pounds, lawful money, and dated March 7, 1795. The 
.econd entry that appears is of 1 20 acres, deeded to Gov. Thomas Chitten- 
by Abram Smith, in consideration of thirty pounds, lawful money, dated 
^^.pril 28, 1795. 

The first ph3rsician permanently located in Richmond was Dr. Matthew 
CZTole, who died here in 1809. He was succeeded by Drs. Seth Cole, Sylvanus 
tl^hurch, Reuben Nims, William Foss, Carlos Allen, James M. Knox, G. P. 
^ITonD, and others. 

The first lawyer was Harry Brownson, succeeded by William P. Briggs^ 
"VVilliam S. Hawkins, Edward A Stansbury, Aaron B. Maynard, B. E. B. 
.ennedy, F. A. Colton, Joseph W. Allen, P. K Glud, and others. 
Those who have figured as business men in Richmond — as merchants, 
lanufacturers, and mechanics, may be mentioned Nathan Fay, who carried 
the business of carding wool and cloth-dressing, at Fay's Corners, said to 
Lvc been the first works of the kind in the county. Silas Rockwell carried 
tanning, currying and shoemaking at the same locality. William Rhodes 
a blacksmith and manufactured plows about the beginning of this 
rxtury. Isaac Gleason was the first merchant, and carried on business for 
L^my years near the ** old round church. " On the north side of the river, 
sar the depot at Richmond village, Winslow & Gay were early engaged in 
J, and D. P. Lapham & Co. were their successors. One Dumfries had 
fcattcr's shop here as long ago as 1817, which was destroyed by fire. The 
grist-mill was built by John Preston, about the beginning of the present 
^^^xitury, located on Huntington River. A carding machine and clothier's 
»Tks were built at the same locality by James H. Judson, in 18 15, which 
destroyed by fire in 18 19, afterwards rebuilt by Daniel Fisk. Joseph 
iipple built a saw-mill lower down the river, early in the century. After- 
another cloth manufactory was built by Marcus Robbins & Co. 



252 TOWN OF RICHMOND. 



Jonathan Clossin, from Connecticut, came to Richmond at an early day, 
and located upon the farm now occupied by W. S. Freeman, where he re- 
mained but a short time, owing to the unsettled condition of affairs attend- 
ing the Revolution. He remained away about two years, then returned, but 
found the land he had taken up occupied by another ; so he located on road 
5, upon the farm now occupied by J. Humphrey, his grandson by marriage. 
Mr. Humphrey came into the town from Brookfield, Vt, in 1800, and located 
off road 5, with a family of nine children. William Humphrey located upon 
the farm now owned by his son Jesse. He served three years in the Amer- 
ican army during the war of 181 2, enlisting as a private and subsequently 
being promoted to a corporalship. He lived to be over seventy-five years of 
age. 

Asa Brownson, with his family, came to Huntmgton in 1786. His daugh- 
ter, Polly, married Samuel Kenyon, and lived and died upon the farm na 
owned by B. S. Kenyon. 

Henry Fay, whose father, John Fay, was killed at the battle of Bennington^ 
was bom at Bennington in 1774, and died in Richmond in 181 8, leaving i 
family of ten children, of whom one, Jonathan, now resides on road 1 1, agec 
seventy-eight years. Henry and Nathan Fay, as previously mentioned, wi 
a number of years engaged in the clothier's business, at Fay's Comers. 

Jesse Green, from Gordon, N. H., came to Richmond about the y 
1800, and followed farming here during the remainder of his life. He had j 
family of seven children, only two of whom remained in Richmond. Jessc^ 
Jr., the fourth child, was a resident of the town seventy-four years. He also 
had a family of seven children, three of whom, Oliver, Iddo, and Olive (Mrs. 
Samuel Randall), now reside here. 

Dudley Higley located in the southern part of this town about the year 
1800. He reared a family of eleven children, only one of whom, Jerry, set- 
tled in the town. Jerr>' had a family of eight children, of whom Nathan, 
residing on road 33, was the fourth. 

Ebenezer Flagg, from Orwell, Vt., came to Richmond in 1800, locating in 
the southern part of the town, where he resided until his death, aged seventy- 
four years. Of his eleven children, one only, Artemas, remained here. He 
died in 1874, aged eighty-four years. He had a family of five children, three 
of whom remained in Richmond. Azariah, the second of these, bom in 
1830, is still a resident. 

Jesse Thompson, an early settler and heavy land-owner in Jericho, came 
there from Alstead, N H., in 1790. Corey, the sixth of his nine children, 
has resided for the past twenty-six years in this town, upon the farm he now 
occupies, on road 29. 

Isaac B. Andrews emigrated from Connecticut about the year 1785, 
located in the southern part of this town, where he remained until his d 
in 1849. He had a family of nineteen children, two of whom, Ezra B. an^ 
Elisha, now reside here, the latter bom in 1808, and the former in 1824. 





TOWN OF RICHMOND. 253 



Samuel Kenyon came to this town about the year 1820, and located where 
his son, Brazilla S., now resides. Mrs. F. Thompson and Brazilla are the 
only ones of his four children now residing here. 

Solomon Bates, from New Hampshire, came to this town previous to the 
year 1800, locating in the central part, upon the farm now owned by his 
^andson, Martin M. 

Asa Rhodes, from North Adams, Mass., came to this town in 1817, with 
jhis father, Asa, locating on road 11, upon the farm still in possession of the 
.Siiodes family. C. P. Rhodes, son of Asa, was born in 1827, and now 
presides on road 11. 

John Williams, from Swanzey, N. H., immigrated to this town in 18 14, locat- 
ing on road 32, upon the farm now occupied by his son, B. A. Williams. 
"^Villiam Williams now resides on road 6, in the northeastern part of the town. 
E. B. Green, bom in Cheshire, Mass., in November, 1805, came to Rich- 
xmond in 1829, and was engaged in mercantile pursuits in company with Wil- 
Xiam Rhodes, remaining in the business a number of years. Mr. Green still 
JLs a resident of the town, on road 17. He has buried four children, one of 
-^9irhom, Everett D., was drowned while serving his country in the late war, at 
Oeorgetown, D. C. 

E. D. Mason, from Cheshire, Mass., came to this town in 1830, and located 
in road 24, where he resided until his death, February i, 1882. He was one 
►f the prime movers in establishing the Vermont Dairymen's Association, and 
.eld the office of president of the same. He did much towards raising the 
standard of the town in dairy products, with what success may be inferred 
'om the fact that when he came here, the annual amount of cheese manu- 
^"j^ftctured did not exceed one ton, while it now reaches about three hundred 
'^^^ns. Mr. Mason also served the town in many of its public offices, with 
lr» onor and ability. 

Rev. Thomas Browning, the eldest of the thirteen children of Joseph and 
X^'ucy (Sherman) Browning, was born at Rutland, Mass., March 21, 1787, and 
died in Richmond, Vt., March 12, 1875, thus lacking but nine days of being 
eighty-eight years of age. When Thomas was but eight years of age, his 
father removed to Barre, Vt. His earliest religious faith was that of the 
Methodist church, but his inquisitive spirit and eager thirst for knowledge of 
divine things, were not satisfied until he embraced the doctrine of Universal 
^^ciemption. This faith, indeed, he held previous to his formal connection 
^^^h the Methodist church, and he joined it with the distinct understanding 
*«a.t he should continue to hold to his new doctrine, and was often urged to 
*^tain from advocating it from the pulpit. He began to preach in October, 
'^^3, in Barre, Vt, in his thirty-seventh year. He was ordained October 4, 
^^^7, moved to Waterbury, Vt., in May, 1832, and in May, 1834, came to 
"^^hmond. He held many civil offices during his long life here, and once 
'^^Px'csented the town in the legislature. He was married January 12, 181 2, 
.^ ^iss Persis Ross, who bore him ten children, one of whom. Miss Persis 
• Browning, now resides on road 17. 



J54 



TOWN OF SHELBURNE. 



The Union Church, located on the south side of the Winooski, at Rich- 
mond \illage, was built in 1813. by the united efforts of four societies. From 
its polygonal form, having sixteen sides, it has long been known as the "Old 
Round Church." It has not been occupied as a church for yeats, and is now 
used for town purposes. Its original cost was $3,000.00. 

Our Lady of the Rosmj Hitman Catholic Church, located at the village, 
was organized by Bishop DeGoi 
brianJ, in 185.). 



The 



Rev. J 
Queen was the first pastor. 
church building, a wood 
capable of seating 400 persons 
was erected in 1856, at a cost of 
$4,000.00, and is now valued at 
$7,000.00. The society has at 
present 900 members, with Rev. 
Francis Clav-ier, pastor. 

The Church of the Restoration, 
Univcrsalist, located at Rich- 
mond village, was organize<l by its 
pastor. Rev. S. C. Hayford. in 
1879, "'■^l' seventeen members. 
In 1880, their house of worship 
was erected, a neat wood struct- 
ure capable of seating 150 persons. 
and valued, including grounds, at 
$7,500,00. Its original cost was 
$7,000.00. The society now lias 
fourteen members. 




OF THE RESTORATION.) 



fHELBL'RNE, a small lake town in the southwestern part of the county, ^. 
lying in lat. 44 ' 33', and long. 3° 49', Iwunded north by SoutH Burling- 

^ ton and a portion of Williston. ea.'tt by St. George, south by Charlotte -— f 
and a portion of Hinesburjfh, and west by Lake Champlain, was chartered .£aJ 
by New Hampshire, August 18, 1763, to Jesse Hallock and sixty-four asso- — ^j. 

dates, receiving its name in honor of a noted nobleman of the English Par ^j. 

liament. the Earl of Slielburne. who favored the claim of New Hampshire ti=M.^rto 
the disputed territory of Vermont, and opposed the claim of New Yor^af -rL 
According to the charter, the territory was to have an area of 23,500 11 if ^^_ 
or a tract a little over six miles square; but owing to a blunder on the piF- ^—m 
of the surx-eyors, it was shorn of a large portion of its possessions. Tib t» ^q 
oarties were employed to survey the lake towns, one partj- c 



TOWN OF SHELBURNE. 255 



the south, working north, and the other commencing on the north, working 
south, and met at Burlington and Shelburne. The party on the north sur- 
veyed Burlington, and that on the south surveyed Shelburne, neither know- 
ing precisely where the other had fixed their boundaries. In consequence, 
they lapped over each other's survey, and Burlington having been chartered 
a month previous to Shelburne, held her claim by priority of charter. A 
portion of Pottier's Point formerly belonged to Burlington, but in 1794, con- 
siderable alteration was made in town lines by the Legislature, and the whole 
of the Point was declared to belong to Shelburne. Again, November 9, 
1848, a portion of this town was set off to St. George, so that instead of the 
original 23,500 acres granted in the charter deed, it has only the very moder- 
possession of 14,272 acres, a little over half of what it should have, 
bilious controversies, many disputes and much litigation in the town sprung 
t of the surveyors' lines, caused by there having been two surveys of the 
made, and some holding their title according to one survey, and others 
the other. The first was made in 1775, by Silas Hathaway, under in- 
sCTJructions from Ira Allen, who assumed the ownership of a large part of the 
tc^'^^n. This survey was made and the boundaries fixed by chain, with no 
p^xticular regard paid to the points of the compass, measuring so many rods 
ax^ ^ fixing a comer. In 1798, the township was surveyed by Ebenezer Cobb, 
^y order of the town, under direction of the selectmen. In this survey the 
boundaries were fixed by compass, and the consequence was a variation from 
^^^last, caused mostly by variations in the surface of the earth, as by mea- 
•^•^^^ng over an elevation with a chain would necessarily make a shorter line 
^^*n on a level. But these conflicting claims and controversies have long 
'^^Xce been adjusted, and the inhabitants, so far as land titles are concerned, 
*^*"^ dwelling in peace and harmony. 

In surface, Shelburne presents a scene of quiet rural beauty, picturesque in 
^■^^ extreme at some points, though it possesses no rugged mountains to lend 
**^^ir grandeur to its loveliness. The land, generally level, is, however, gently 
^^lling, enough to pleasantly break the surface into long, sweeping curves. 

The broken indenture of the lake shore forms two points of land, desig- 

'^^ted by the names of the first two settlers of the town — Pottier's Point, and 

*-Ogan*8 Point The former projects into the lake, forming between it and 

^Hc main land, Shelburne Bay, a narrow^ arm of the lake some four miles in 

*cngth, and only cut off from the main channel of the lake by this point, 

^Hich at its conjunction with the main land is quite wide, but after a short 

^stance is suddenly narrowed, until it becomes a narrow neck of land of uni- 

^"^^^ width, abruptly terminating in a bold promontory several feet in 

^^ght At several points in the interior a beautiful view of the Adiron- 

^^<^ on the west, and the Green Mountains on the east, may be obtained, 

^'^^ir bold summits, white with almost perpetual snow, forming a fitting frame 

^*" the lovely scene of pastoral beauty that lies between them. Not only in 

=^uty does Shelburne excel, however, but also in richness and fertility of 



256 TOWN OF SHELBURNE. 



soil, which varies from stiff clay to a fine sandy loam, producing in abund- 
ance the grains and grasses grown in this latitude, while in the western part 
of the town fruit-growing is largely carried on, and found to be a very profit- 
able business. La Plotte River and Cogman's Brook, with their tributaries, 
are the principal streams. The former enters the town from Charlotte, on 
the south, and flows north into Shelburne Bay, affording power for two mills 
at Shelburne Falls. The name of the stream, tradition has it, was originated 
in the following interesting manner : A band of Indians, on one occasion^ to 
the number of some 200 or 300, assembled at the mouth of the stream, on 
the farm now owned by A. J. Burritt, where they concealed their canoes in the 
willows lining the shore, and then passed east through the country, plundering 
and taking prisoners as they went. During their absence their canoes were 
discovered by the whites, riddled with holes, and replaced in the same positiom^ 
as when found. On the approach of the Indians, the whites, from their con— 
cealment close by, opened fire upon them, and the Indians, in their surprise, 
rushed for their canoes and pushed off into the water. Their frail vessels, of 
course, soon filled and sank, leaving the red fiends floundering in the river, 
where they were rapidly dispatched by the white men. From this time the 
stream has been called La Plotte, or The Plot, in commemoranon of this 
event. Several arrow heads have been dug up in this vicinity, also bullets 
supposed to have been shot during the Revolution. Shelburne Pond, located 
in the eastern part of the town, is a handsome sheet of water, covering a lit- 
tle over 600 acres, and contains some fine specimens of the finny tribe. It 
is much resorted to by pleasure seekers during the summer season. The Rut- 
land Branch of the Central Vermont passes through the western part of the 
town from north to south, with a station at Shelbume village. The geological 
or rock structure of the town is composed of beds or veins disposed in par- 
allel ranges extending in a north and south direction. Beginning on the west, 
along the lake shore, the rocks are of the Utica slate formation, next to which 
is a large bed of the Hudson River goup, followed by a bed of red sand rack^ 
the residue of the township being composed of Eolian limestone or marble 
Several quarries of the latter have been opened, affording a very good variety 
of marble, though none are worked at present 

In 1880, Shelbume had a population of 1,096, was divided into eight 
school districts and contained eight common schools, employing one male ^ 
and ten female teachers, to whom was paid an aggregate salary of $1,373. 
There were 242 pupils attending common school, while the entire cost of 
schools for the year, ending October 31st, was $1,614.64, under the diaxg^ ^^ 
of Mr. Leslie Gregg, as superintendent, 

Shelburne, a post village and station on the Vermont Central Railroad, P 
very pleasantly located near the center of the town, and contains one 
several shops of various kinds, one store, and about twenty-five or 
dwellings. 

Shelburne Falls, located on the LaPlotte River, about one mile socz^^af 



TOWN OP SHELBURNE. ^256 



from the railroad statioD, has a good, durable water-power, contains about 
thirty dwellings, one flour-mill, one saw-mill, one shingle-mill, and a black- 
smith shop. 

J, E. Whites cheese factory^ located on road 30, was established by a stock 
company in 1871, and purchased by Mr. White in 1877. He doesavery suc- 
cessful business, manufacturing cheese from the milk of from 300 to 400 cows. 
The Shelbume Flouring Mills^ located at Shelbume Falls, and owned by 
X>. L. Spear, do the custom work of Shelbume, and adjacent towns. Mr. Spear 
also an extensive dealer in flour and feed. 

Harrisofis cider-mill^ located on road 3, manufactures twenty-five barrels 
cider per day during the season. 

The Shellmme carriage shop^ located on road 18, is under the management 
George Miller, and does both sale and custom work of all kinds. 
J, B, Dubw^s blacksmith and carriage shops are located on road 27.' 
Shelburne saw-mill^ located at Shelbume Falls, owned by Bartlett & Co., 
>es custom sawing amounting to about 150,000 feet annually. It also does 
p>l. jming, and manufactures hemlock and pine shingles. 

Baldwin &* Whites refrigerator manufactory^ located on road 30, employes 
fifteen to twenty men. Many of these useful articles are manufactured 
.ch year. Their sales amount to about $15,000 annually. 
The Champlain Tratisportation Cds,^ ship-yard, lo<:ated upon the eastern 
of Pottier's Point, in Shelbume Bay, affords the finest protective harbor 
wintering crafts on the lake. At this yard were built the following well- 
own lake steamers: "Gen. Green," "Winooski," "Burlington," "Saranac," 
'* XJnited States," " Ethan Allen," " Boston," " Adirondack," " Vermont," and 
^"tlicr smaller vessels. The ship-yard is connected with Burlington by tele- 

Jive years after the charter of Shelbume was granted, in 1768, two Ger- 

^^aoi, John Pdttier and Thomas Logan, commenced a settlement here, the 

^^Bt attempted in the town. They came on from Quebec and located upon the 

points of land extending into the lake which have since respectively home 

^eir names, Pottier's and Logan's Points. They were associated in getting 

^^t oak timber for the Quebec market, and in 1775, ^^^y took a raft of 

^Uxiber to Quebec, sold it, and on their retum the commanding officer at 

Montreal sent a sergeant and two privates to protect them through the In- 

*K«B settlements. They had proceeded by boat as far as the south line of 

paiiada, where they encamj)ed for the night. Here a conspiracy was entered 

^'^toby the guard, by which two of them were to murder the Germans for their 

^"^oiiey, the third promising to keep the secret, bound by a solemn oath. 

**ht deed was committed and the money procured ; but the conscience of the 

'^^irt soldier would not be quieted, so after several year's silence he disclosed 

"»e committal of the act. The two were tried, condemned, and executed, 

^iUk the third was severely punished by whipping for not disclosing sooner. 

^^^ bodies of the murdered Germans were buried on a small island a short 



256^ TOWN OP SHELBURNE. 

distance from the mainland^ which has since been known as Bloody Island, 
while the point upon which the deed was committed has been designated as 
Bloody Point. 

In addition to these two men, Pottier and Logan, somewhere in the neigh- 
borhood of ten families settled in the town previous to the Revolution ; but 
who they were, or what ultimately became of them, except in the one 
instance of Moses Pierson and family, is not known. Most certain it is, 
however, that they all left the locality soon after hostilities against the 
mother country were commenced. Moses Pierson, above mentioned, pur- 
chased 1,000 acres of land lying in the southwestern part of the town, in 
1769. Here, upon what has since long been known as the Meech farm, he 
built a block-house, and at which occurred Shelburne battle, or the seige of 
Shelbume block-house, as follows: In 1777, Mr. Pierson had harvested a 
large crop of wheat ; but hearing of the approach of the British and Indians 
up the lake, he fled, together with his neighbors, to another part of the State. 
In March of the following spring he returned with his family, under the pro- 
tection of a company of fifteen armed men, commanded by Captain Sawyer, 
to thresh out his grain. During the progress of this work they were attacked 
in the latter part of the night by a party of Indians and Tories. A sharp 
skirmish ensued, lasting about two hours ; but Pierson and his party, being 
entrenched in their block -house, withstood the attack, and finally succeeded 
in driving the besiegers off, after killing a number of them. How many can 
not be known, as they threw the dead and fatally wounded through a hole in 
the ice and retreated. Several of the beseiged party were wounded, and two, 
Barnabas Bamum and Joshua Woodard, were killed. During the progress of 
the desperate encounter the house was twice set on fire, but extinguished by 
some of the party going out and throwing on water and returning safe ; but 
in a short time it was fired a third time, and no water left to extinguish the 
flames. Fortunately, Mrs. Pierson had made a barrel of beer the previous 
day, and this was taken to extinguish the flames a third time. A number o^ 
gold coins were found near the spot in 1877, which are supposed to hav^^ 
been buried with some body at that time. Ziba and Uzal, sons of 
young men at this time, aged respectively seventeen and fifteen years, 
actively engaged in this affair. An infant daughter, afterwards the wife 
Neheraiah Pray, was lying in bed at the time and fortunately escaped 
harmed, although several balls were found, after the action, in the bed c^^e 
which she lay, and several passed through the head-board of the bedstea.j«i. 
Uzal afterwards married Dorcas Frisbie, of Connecticut, and had a family ^>f 
nine children, two of whom are now living — Mr. Smith F. Pierson, and 
Lucina D. Smith, at Shelbume village. After the party had secured 
wheat they left the town, considering it unsafe to remain longer, and Bi 
Pierson and family located in On^ell. His two sons, Ziba and Uzal, w^^r* 
afterwards captured in Shoreham by a scouting party and taken to Cana^^da 
where they made their escape after a few months, and finally reached h< 



TOWN OF SHELBURNE. '256 



after much privation and suffering. After the close of the war, in 1783, Mr. 
Pierson returned to Shelburne with his family, re-occupying his former resi- 
dence, and died there July 28, 1805. Ziba located on a farm in the south- 
cm part of the town, accumulated a large property, held many of the towm 
offices, and died suddenly of apoplexy, November i, 1820, aged sixty years. 
Uzal came to his death by a fall from a wagon, June 11, 1836, aged seventy- 
two years. Mr. Pierson was joined during the year 1783, by William and 
Caleb Smith, Rufus Cole, Thomas Hall, Hubbell & Bush associated on 
Pottier's Point, Richard Spear and Gershom Lyon. In 1784 and 1785, 
Daniel Barber, Daniel Comstock, Aaron Rowley, Capt. Samuel Clark, Ben- 
jamin Harrington, Israel Burritt, Joshua Reed, Timothy Holabird, Sturgess 
Morehouse, Remington Bitgood, and Jirah Isham located and became resi- 
dents. In the three following years. Dr. Frederick Meack, Phineas Hall, 
Keeler Trowbridge, Samuel Mills, and probably others came, and soon after 
Bethuel Chittenden, Benjamin Sutton, Rosel Miner, Nathaniel Gage, Ebe- 
nezer Barstow, Robert Lyon, James Hawley, Frederick Saxton, Asahel Nash, 
Hezekiah Tracy, Asa Lyon, John Tabor, Robert Averill, Joseph Hamilton, 
and several others became residents, so that in 1791, the population of the 
town was 389. 

On March 29, 1787, the first town meeting was held, and the town organ- 
id by the election of the following officers : Caleb Smith, town clerk, and 
chosen to represent his townsmen in the legislature ; Aaron Rowley, 
^3lstable; and Moses Pierson, Timothy Holabird and Dudley Hamilton, 
s^^lectmen. 

Jrederick Maeck was the first physician, and the only one here for several 
y^^surs. The Doctor, who was an able physician and safe counselor, practiced 
^^^lefor nearly forty years, dying June 30, 1826, aged sixty-one years. His 
1, Frederick, born in 1800, died on the old homestead, in 1869, where his 
John V. S., still resides. John has two sons, Fred W. and Walter, 
•aking four generations that have occupied the old house. Isaac C. Isham, 
^^^« second physician, came here in 1810, and located near the center of the 
^^o-vm. He was a plain, unassuming man, but an able physician, following 
*^i3 profession to the close of his life, July i, 1829, aged fifty-eight years. 

The first saw-mill was built at the Falls, by Lazel Hatch, in 1784. But 
^he bott6m of the dam, which was imperfectly constructed, being of light 
*^il, was soon carried away by high water, after which the work was aban- 
doned. 

The first dwelling other than a common log house was a block-house built 
^"^ Pottier's Point by Hubbell & Bush, in 1784. The first framed house 
^'^^i built by Lazel Hatch, near the saw-mill erected by him, — a small build- 
^S about twelve by sixteen feet, in 1784. The second framed house was 
**^ilt by Benjamin Harrington, in 1789. 

The first settlement commenced at Shelburne Falls was by Ira Allen, in 
^^ ^5, then a resident in the town of Colchester at Winooski village. A 



256^ TOWN OF SHBLBURNE. 

rudely constructed log bridge was built across the river, a dam coDStructed, 
and a saw-mill erected on the north side of the stream, and a foige on the 
south. In 1786, a dam was constructed at the lower end of the falls, and a 
grist-mill put in operation the next season. Clothing woriLS were erected 
between the grist-mill and saw-mill, and put in operation in 1789, by David 
Fish, which was purchased by Samuel Fletcher, in 1805, and owned and 
occupied by him until his death, April 23, 1852, since which time it remained 
unoccupied, and in the spring of 1862, was swept away by a freshet, as was 
also the old stone building formerly used as a grist-milL 

A store was standing on Pottier's Point in 1781-82, but the exact date oC 
its construction, or its proprietor, is not known. Tradition claims one to 
have been built previous to this, on Smith's Point, near the present residence 
of William Partridge. 

During the war of 1812, Commodore McDonough's fleet was anchored in 
Smith's Bay, the winter previous to the battle of Plattsburgh, and he and his 
staff boarded at the house of Levi Comstock, Sr., now owned by N. R. 
Miller, on road 28. 

Capt Daniel Comstock located here in 1783, upon a farm in the western 
part of the town, on a point which has ever since borne his name. Mr. Corn- 
stock was an honest, upright man, and filled many offices of trust, and died, 
highly honored, January 11, 1816, aged seventy-four years. He had a family 
of six children, three sons and three daughters, Zachariah, Levi, Eh'sha, Clai- 
inda, Lucy and Abigail. Levi settled near the lake in 1784, was town clerk 
for many years, justice of the peace, and held various town offices until his 
death, May 10, 1847, aged eighty-one years. He had two children, Levi 
and Lucia. The latter died at the age of thirty-six years. The former, Levi, 
was bom in 1793, and now at the age of eighty-nine years, is the oldest 
inhabitant of the town. His daughter, Lucia, occupies the old homestead, and 
has a family of three children, Clinton L., George C, and Fanny M. Elisha 
Comstock, son of Daniel, occupied the old farm after his father's death, and 
from him it reverted to his son, Hezekiah. 

Richard Spear, from Braintree, Mass., came to Shelbume in July, 1783, 
and located upon the farm now owned by his grandchildren, O. S. and 
M. Spear, widow of E. A. Spear. Richard died here, March 19, 1788, 
fifty-t^'o years. He had a family of ten children. Asahel, the eighth child^H 
bom March 5, 1778, died April 30, 1849. He married Betsey Saxton, 
whom he had a family of three children, two sons and a daughter, of 
Orson S., the second child, was bora October 27, 1808, and married 
Pettinger, of Essex, N. Y., October 11, 1848. She died five months afti 
marriage. Edwin A. Spear, son of Asahel, and brother to Orson S., 
bom August 12, 1 81 7. He married Mary M. Barstow, a sister to Hon. J. 
Barstow, in September, 1849. ^^ ^^^^^ ^^ ^^^ old homestead jointly 
Orson S., until his death, January i, 1873, leaving six children. 
W. Spear, the youngest child of Richard, was bom July 17, 1781, 




TOWN OF SHELBURNE. **2S6 



Toanied Louisa Saxton, January 24, 1808, who died April 19, 1809^ leaving 
a daughter, Julia. Elhanan then married Anna Callender, June 4, 1811, 
by whom he had eight sons and three daughters. Orville A., the youngest, 
was bom June 15, 1832, and now resides on the place settled by his grand- 
father in 1783. Orville married Myra Havens, November i, 1875, and has 
one daughter, Anna C. Elhanan died February i, 1869, aged eighty-eight 
years, leaving five sons and one daughter to mourn his loss. 

Aaron Rowley located here in 1784. His son, Aaron R., was born here, 
October 28, 1786, and was a resident until his death, October 4, 1866. He 
had a family of six children, four sons and two daughters, two of whom, 
Mary and Erwin S., are now living in the town. Erwin S. has two sons, 
Fred E. and Henry N., residing on road 26. 

Israel Burritt, a captain in the Revolution, settled in Shelbume in 1784. 
By his first marriage he had a family of five sons and five daughters. Garrad, 
the seventh child, born October 19, 1789, was at the battle of Plattsburgh. 
By his second marriage, to Eliza R. Peckham, Israel had two children, Lucia 
who died in 1835, at the age of four years, and Andrew J., who now resides 
on road 19. He married Clarissa A. Lake, in 1859, and their family con- 
sists of two children, Charles G. and Frances E. 

Asa R. Slocum, bom at Hubbardton, Mass., in 1767, located on the north 
line of Shelbume, at an early day, where he followed farming until his death, 
ia. 1830, aged sixty-three years. He had a large family of children, one of 
Mrliom, George N., is now living on road 34 in South Burlington. 

James Hawley came to Colchester with Ira Allen, as his millwright, and 

rx-<cted the first mills in Winooski village, and subsequently built the first 

ills in Swanton, Vt., and in Shelbume. He finally settled in this town and 

ed here in 1813. He was the father of thirteen children, three of whom 

<d in infancy, while the others attained an extreme old age. 

Col. Frederick Saxton was one of the earliest settlers in Burlington, having 

at the head of Pearl street in 1783, where he continued to reside until 

* ^92, when he sold his farm to Col. Pearl and removed to this town. He 

^^>^ated here upon a point of land a short distance from Comstock's Point, 

liich is now owned by Horace and Edward Saxton, his great-grandsons* 

«re he resided until his death, by accidental drowning, April 28, 1796. He 

a family of three sons and four daughters, all of whom spent most of their 

in this vicinity. Horace, the second son, represented the town in the 

^^^5^slatore during the years 1835-36. 

Ebenezer Barstow, born in Canterbury, Conn., in 1756, was a sergeant in 

Canfield's regiment of Connecticut Volunteers during the Revolution, 

received a sergeant's pension from the government. Soon after the close 

the war he came to Shelbume and settled upon the farm now owned by his 

, Gen. J. L. Barstow. He had a family of thurteen children, eleven 

whom arrived at maturity. He died March 30, 1834, aged seventy-eight 

y^an His wife died in 1824. Heman, the second child, born in 1790, 



256" TOWN OP SHELBURNE. 

married Laura Lyon in 1S14, and had a family of ten children, four sons and 
six daughters. John L., the youngest son, was bom in 1832, married Laura 
Maeck in 1856, and entered the Union army in 1861, was soon after made 
Major of the 8th Regt, Vt Vols., was appointed general by the State legis- 
lature in 1864, and in 1880. was elected Lieut. -Governor of Vermont, and is 
now (July, 1882) candidate for Governor of the State. His family consists 
of two sons, Fred M., and Charles L. 

Asahel Nash, son of Phineas Nash, of Wyoming, Pa., was bom December 
29, 1750. He was at Wyoming during the massacre, July 3, 1778, and soon 
after left there, migrating northward, first to Berkshire County, Mass., then to 
Essex, Vt., and finally to Shelbume. John, his seventh child, was bom here 
June 13, 1796, married Amy Payne, December 14, 181 7, and both are now 
living here, the oldest couple (though not the oldest persons) in town. John 
had seven children, of whom Elbert H., bom March 7, 183 1, is the youngest. 
He married Jane M. Hilton, December 3, 1856, and has one daughter, Mary 
J., bom December 6, 1858, who married H. S. \\Tiite, November 13, 1878^ 
now residing on road i. 

Asahel Nash, Jr., was bom September 6, 1794, and married Betsey Fuller, 
May 16, 18 1 6, their union being blessed with eleven children. Edgar and 
Louisa C. were the eighth and ninth children, and now live in the house 
erected by their father, and on the land once o>\'ned by their grandfather. 

Hezekiah Tracy, bom in 1745, came and settled in Shelbume in 1790, 
upon the farm now owned by his grandson, Guy, and built the house now 
occupied by him. He had a family of eleven children, six sons and five 
daughters, one of whom, Erastus, bom in 1783, and died in 1856, had three 
sons, of whom Guy, bom in 18 10, was the oldest. Guy has two sons and 
four daughters living. 

Benjamin Sutton came to Shelbume about 1792, and located upon road 91. 
He had a family of fourteen children, twelve sons and two daughters. B}Ton, 
the eleventh child, lived and died on the old homestead, and his eldest son. 
James B., now resides there. James B. was born September 10, 1832, mar- 
ried Abby Slocum June 16, 1858, and has a family of three sons and two 
daughters. 

Francis Blair, from Williamstown, came to Shelbume in 1796, and located 
upon the farm now owned by Levi S. Blair. He was the father of ten chil. 
dren, seven of whom are now li\'ing. Levi S., the fourth son, was bom Sep- 
tember 7, 1807, and has always resided on the old homestead. He married 
Ann M. Conner, November 25, 1835, their union being blessed with two 
children, George E. and Dorcas C. Dorcas married Abel D. Whitney and 
has one child, Anna M. George is married and has a family of two childreor ^ 
Nellie L. and Anna M. 

Rosel Miner came to Shelbume in 1794, and settled upon the farm no 
owned by his grandson, Martin L. Miner. He had a family of six sons 
five daughters, of whom the eldest, Samuel, bom in 1783, had a family 



^ 



TOWN OP SOUTH BURLINGTON. ^256 



four children, the result of a union with Azuba Boynton, who died in 1834, 
when he afterwards married Patience Boynton. One of these children was 
Martin L., mentioned above. He was bom in 1813, married Clarinda Cross- 
man in 1838, and has a family of two children, Charles £. and Aurelia A. 

Nathan White, born at Middleborough, Plymouth County, Mass., February 
15, 1763, died at Burlington, Vt., January 26, 1826. He was a descendant 
of Peregrine White, the first child bom of English parents in America, and 
was five years in the army with Washington ; i|ras at West Point when it was 
surrendered by General Arnold, and was present at the execution of Major 
Andre. He came to Burlington in 1791, and during that and the following 
year manufactured brick near where Henry P. Hickok now lives. In the 
winter of 1793, he moved his family to Burlington, using an ox team, and 
was eighteen days performing a journey of 253 miles. In 1797, he bought a 
farm in this town, on Pottier's Point, and moved his family herein the fall of 
1799, where he spent the remainder of his days as a farmer. He had three 
sons, Robert, Andrew and Lavater. Robert, the eldest, bom September 5, 
1787, died December 20, 1872, leaving three daughters, Elizabeth P., Mary 
H. and Laura C. Elizabeth married Elijah Root, in 1831, and had one 
daughter, Maria L., who married Charles L. Hart, in 1S56. Maria L. has 
but one son, Fred R., who now resides with his grandfather, Elijah Root 
Mr. Root is now seventy-four years of age, and for fifty-four years has been 
in the employ of the Champlain Transportation Company. He was local 
inspector of steam vessels from 1838 to 1881. 

Charles Russell, an early settler in Hinesburgh, upon the place now owned 
and occupied by his grandson, Russell A. Corey, came to Shelbume about 
1855, locating on road 9, where he now resides. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church, located at Shelburne village, was organ- 
ized by the Rev. Henry Ryan, in 1800, the society beginning with four mem- 
bers, and Mr. Ryan pastor. In 1833, the first church edifice, a brick build- 
ing, was erected. This was used until 1873, when the present stone edifice 
took its place. It will seat 300 persons and is valued at $26,000. The 
society now has 1 40 members, with Rev. J. W. Bennett, pastor. 




[OUTH BURLINGTON, a town located in the western part of the county* 
was formed from the portion severed from the old town of Burlington 
when the city was incorporated, in 1865. For the reason of its recent or- 
ganization, its history is inseperably connected with the old town and present 
city of Burlington, both of which will be found incorporated in our sketch of 
Burlington, to which we refer the reader. 



2S& TOWN OF ST. GEORGE. 




jT. GEORGE, the smallest town of the county, centrally located, is 
in lat. 44° 24', and long. 3° 48', bounded north and northeast by Willis- 
ton, south by Hinesburgh, and west by Shelburne. Accordin - to its 
charter, issued by the governor of New Hampshire, August 18,1763, the town- 
ship should have had an area of 23,040 acres, butted and bounded as fol- 
lows : " Beginning at the southeastern comer of Shelburne, a township this 
day granted, being a stake and stone on the northerly side line of Hines- 
burgh^ and from thence running east six miles to a stake and stone ; thence 
turning off and running north six miles to a stake and stone ; thence turning 
off and running west six miles to the northeasterly comer of Shelburne afore- 
said, thence running south six miles by Shelbume aforesaid, to the southerly 
corner thereof, the bound began at." This area, however, very unfortunately 
for its grantees, it failed to receive. Owing to an imperfect knowledge of the 
geography of the territor}', more land was granted than existed, and as the 
surrounding towns had established their boundaries, St. George could only 
accept what was left, making an area, since the addition of a small slice from 
Shelburne, November 9, 1848, of 2,200 acres. This meager amount was di- 
vided among its proprietors, Jesse Hallock and sixty-three others, gi\'ingthem 
only thirty acres, instead of the 360 they had expected. 

The name of the township was given in allusion to George III, evincing a 
considerable degree of veneration in the prefix "St.," more so, perhaps, dian 
would have been allotted could the proprietors have foreseen the curtailment 
their possessions were to receive, and the tyranical course to be pursued by 
" His Majesty." 

In surface, St. George is very uneven, presenting some quite lofty eleva- 
tions, retaining, however, a number of verdant valleys and hill-slopes. It has 
no streams of importance, and contains no mill-sites. Its soil is principally 
loam, clay, and gravel, producing fair crops of the grains and fruits indigen- 
ous to such soil and locality. The geological stmcture is composed of rocks 
of Eolian limestone^ cia}% slate, and taicose conglomerate formation, the former 
underlying about three-quarters of the town, the two latter l)dng in the eastern 

portion. 

In 1880, St. George had a population of ninety-three persons. The whole 

town constituted one school district, and contained one school, located on 

road 4. Three teachers had been employed at an aggregate salary of 

$160.00. There were twenty-six pupils attending school, the entire expense 

of the school for the year, ending October 31st, being $179.00, with Ira O. 

Lockwood, superintendent. 

The town contains no village, no manufactories, and no church buildings 
The postoffice, St George, is located near the central part of the town, 
road 4, with Norman Isham, postmaster. 

The first settlement was commenced by Joshua Isham, in 1784, who locati 
in the western part of the town. Here he cleared a farm, and after manj 



TOWN OP ST. GEORGE. '256 



years of hardship, succeeded in gaining a moderate competence. He was 
drowned in Hinesbuigh Pond, in December, 1837. Early in the following 
year Elnathan Higbee and Zirah Isham, with their families, settled here. 
And, not long after, Jehiel Isham, Reuben and Nathan Lockwood, John 
Mobbs, James Sutton, Wheeler Higbee, and others joined the settlement, so 
that, in 1791, the town had fifty-seven inhabitants. 

The town was organized and first town meeting held March 9, 18 13, when 
Jared Higbee was elected town clerk ; Sherman Beach, constable ; and Reu- 
ben Lockwood, Lewis Higbee, and Levi Higbee, selectmen. The first jus- 
tice was Reuben Lockwood, appointed in 1808. The first representative, 
X*ewis Higbee, chosen in 18 13. The first bom was a daughter of Joshua 
Isham^ a short time previous to the birth of the first male; Lewis Higbee, 
•September 23, 1787. The first death is supposed to have been that of 
Heman Higbee, an infant son of Wheeler Higbee, September 17, 1791 ; first 
adult, Rebecca Gilman, June 22, 1797. The first marriage was that of 
Jacob Hinsdill to Hannah Cook. The first school-house was built soon after 
the first settlement was commenced, a rude log structure, and Amos Collen- 
der, of Shelbume, taught the first school 

Jehiel Isham came to St. George about the year 1790, and located near 

the center of the town, where he soon became an extensive farmer. He was 

actively engaged in the war of Independence, enlisting when fourteen years 

or age. He married Sarah Mobbs, by whom he had a family of thirteen 

^^'dren — nine sons and four daughters — four of whom, Silas, Amasa, Sophia 

*orf £unice (Owen), are now living. He died here at the residence of one 

^^ his sons, in 1 851, at the great age of ninety-two years. His wife died in 

184.0^ aged ninety years. Silas is now the oldest i)erson residing in the town. 

^5^^ married Dora Sinclair in 181 8, and has four children living. His wife 

<iieci in 1874. He kept the first and only hotel the town ever had. The 

^^n^x^ family has always been one of the most influential and numerous 

^^ the town. 

Janes Sutton, from Connecticut, with his brother, Benjamin, immigrated to 

^*^elbume at an early day, where, after a short residence, James removed to 

^t- Oeorge, residing here many years. He finally died at Montpelier, whither 

^ had gone on business, and was buried in this town. His son, James, bom 

*^^re April 6, 1803, now resides on road 5. He has served his townsmen as 

^^Prescntative, justice of the peace, selectman, and in other trusts. 

I^ussell Tilley came to this town, from Williston, in 1 839, and subsequently 
^^^^ted upon the farm now occupied by him on road 2. He married Abigail 
^^ham in 1839, and has five sons, Silas H., Sidney N., Hiram H., Herrick 
^-9 and Raymond A. The latter married Mary H. Slocum, of South Bur- 
^^^on, and has one child, Ray £. 

Reuben Lockwood was a prominent resident of the town for nearly sixty 
^^*»B, removing to Irasburgh, Vt., in 1856. He represented St. George in 
^^ legislature at the age of twenty-eight years, and was subsequently re- 



256*® TOWN OF UNDERHILL. 



elected nine different times. He also held the office of lister twenty-five 
years, and that of selectman twenty-nine years ; was elected town clerk in 
1^33* continuing in that office twenty-two years^ and, in 1842, received the 
appointment of postmaster, which he resigned in 1846. 




'NDERHILL, a mountainous town in the northeastern comer of the 
county, lies in lat. 44^ 33', and long. 4° ^\ bounded north by Cambridge, 
and east by Stowe, in Lamoille County, south by Bolton, and west by 
Jericho and Westford. It was granted by the governor of New Hampshire, 
to Joseph Sackett, Jr. and sixty-four associates, in seventy-one shares, the 
charter deed bearing date June 8, 1765, for which was paid $23a40, or one 
cent per acre. This area, however, was increased, November 15, 1839, 
by the annexation of about 1 2,000 acres from the town of Mansfield, the 
residue of which township was finally annexed to Stowe, November 1 1, 1848. 
Underbill derived its cognomen from two brothers of that name, large land- 
owners under the original charter, and at whose house, in Dorset, Vt, the 
first proprietors* meeting was held. 

The territory thus bounded and described is, and j)erhaps ever will be, 
the most purely rural, posessing as picturesque, and at some points more 
sublime scenery, than is to be found in any other town of the county. Ljring 
between the unyielding granite masses of the White Mountain range on the 
one side, sixty miles distant, and the Adirondack wilderness on the other, 
with all the well known varied scenery lying between, it has a natural observa- 
tory in Mount Mansfield, the highest point of land in Vermont, towering 
high above this scene, affording a view that is unsurpassed probably by any 
In New England. Mount Mansfield, so-called from its coutour resemblenoe 
to the face of humanity, penetrates the clouds to an altitude of 4,389 feet — a 
few feet in excess of the highest of the Catskills. Popularly, its summit is 
likened to the upturned face of a giant, showing the Nose, the Chin, and the 
Lips, which, witli a little aid of imagination, it is not difficult to trace. The 
Nose, so-called, has a projection of four hundred feet, and the Chin all the 
decision of character indicated by a forward thrust of eight hundred feet 
The distance from Nose to Chin is a mile and a half. The nostril is discovered. 
in a perpendicular wall of rock. 

The mountain is, moreover, not without the usual number of faces and re 
semblances to familiar objects, among the most notable of which is that 
described as the " Old Woman of the Mountain." She leans back in her easy 
chair, and her work has fallen into her lap, while she gazes out, in dream 
meditation, across the misty valley, in which attitude she was perha^K fxou 
by a spell of the rock Genii, ages behind the vail of the misty past At a poi 
about one-third the distance between the Nose and the Chin may be se 



TOWN OF UNDERHILL. "256 



^^ drift scratc/us^' upon the rocks, and the identical rock that formed them. 
Two bowlders of about thirty and forty feet in circumference lie near by, re- 
posing against a firm barrier that doubtless wrenched them from their icy 
bed as they were recording the history of the iceberg epoch upon these tablets 
of stone, which record was to reveal to man the fact that even Mansfield's 
lofty summit was once beneath the ocean, and iceburgs sailed majestically 
over it. Now, one may stand upon this summit and gaze upon the remnant 
of that ocean — the historic Champlain, decked with island gems, hemmed in 
by bold headlands of beetling, craggy rocks and gentle slopes of emerald 
meadow-land, nestled at the feet of the cloud-capped Adirondacks. Peering 
below, seemingly just at the base of the mountain, the eye rests upon the 
verdant hills and dales of Underbill, upon its murmuring rivulets and modest 
rivers, that lapse down through green-browed hills, crumbling limestone- 
cliffs and sunny intervales, now turned quickly by a mossy ledge, and now 
skirting a bit of native forest, until they lose themselves in the more pretentious 
L.amoille, soon to mingle with the blue waters of the charming lake. Quiet 
industry, pastoral contentment, out-door luxury, and in-door comfort are the 
characteristics that continually suggest themselves to the beholder, as he 
views the scene, or loiters among the valley-farms or pleasant villages. No 
sooty factories rear their tall chimneys to belch forth their grime and filth, 
obstructing the view and poisoning the pure mountain air, while instead of 
the monotonous hum of machinery, is heard the lowing of the kine. the bleat 
of the lamb, and perhaps ever and anon a snatch of the milkmaid's happy 
song — all betokening pastoral thrift, happiness, and contentment. 

Brown's River, with its numerous tributaries, flowing westerly into Jericho, 
forms the principal water-course, though Mill River flows through a portion 
of the northern part of the town. The rocks forming the geological structure 
of the township are of the talcose schist and gneiss formation, the former ex- 
ending from the west, comprising about two thirds of the township, the lat- 
ter constituting the residue, or eastern portion. In the various rock formations 
*^at enter into these structures are found traces of gold and iron ore, 
thotigh not in quantities to indicate the existence of any considerable deposit 
•of either. The soil overlying these rocks is rich and varied, capable of pro- 
ducing a large per centage of the various fruits and grains grown in our north- 
^"^ latitudes, and also sustains large forests of hard wood, intersj)ersed with 
'P'^ce and hemlock, the spruce predominating. 

In i88o, Underbill had a population of 1,439, "^^^ divided into fourteen 
*^^ool districts and contained fourteen common schools, employing five male 
**^d fourteen female teachers, to whom was paid an aggregate salary of $I,- 
^*^-3o. There were 340 pupils attending common school, while the entire 
^^^^t of the schools for the year, ending October 31st, was $1,568.09, under 
^^ charge of Mr. J. J. Monahan, as superintendent. 

^Nderhill Flats (Underbill p. o.), located in the western part of the 
I9 on the Burlington & Lamoille Railroad, is cut in two diagonally by the 



2S6^^ TOWN OF UNDERBILL. 



town line, part of the village lying in this town, and part in Jericho. The 
portion in Underhill contains two stores, one church, a boot and shoe shop, 
blacksmith shop, and wheelwright shop, and about thirty dwellings. 

Underhill Center, a post village located in the southern part of the town, 
two and one-half miles southeast from Underhill Flats, contains two stores, 
one steam saw-mill, two churches, two blacksmith shops, one hotel, one cider 
and grist-mill, and about thirty-five dwellings. 

North Underhill (p. o.), a hamlet in the northern part of the town, con- 
sists of about a dozen dwellings. 

BicktielPs saw-mill^ located in the eastern part of the town, on Brown's 
River, is leased by D. L.Terrill, who manufactures common lumber, clapboards, 
shingles, etc., cutting 500,000 feet per annum, employing sixteen men and six 
teams. 

Z. O, Horton cv Son's steam mill, located at Underhill Centre, is operated 
by a forty horse-power steam engine, affording capacity for cutting 1,000,000 
feet of lumber per annum, and gives employment to ten men. 

Parker cn Fame's saw-miii, located in a part of the town known as Pleasant 
Valley, is operated by both steam and water-power, the engine being one of 
forty horse-power, affording capacity for cutting 2,000,000 feet of lumber per. 
annum, and giving employment to twenty men and ten teams. 

The first meeting of the proprietors of the township of Underhill was 
warned by John Shumway, a justice of the peace, and met in pursuance of 
said warning, September 12, 1785, at the residence of Abraham Underbill, 
in Dorset, Bennington County, with Timothy Bliss as proprietors* clerk. Up 
to this time there had been no settlement made in the town, and nothing 
permanent was done in this direction until the following year, 1786, when 
Elijah Benedict and Abner Eaton came on and commenced improvements. 
Mr. Benedict located at Underhill Flats, where he subsequently kept a 
tavern for a number of years. Mr. Eaton located on the old post road, about 
half way between Underhill Flats and Cambridgeboro, where, five miles 
from any neighbor, be built a log house and commenced clearing the forest,^ 
a portion of his land being covered by beaver meadows, upon which 
quantities of wild grass, sufficient to support his stock, a yoke of oxen an( 
one cow. As this settlement was commenced subsequent to the trouble<E= 
times attending the Revolution, nothing out of the ordinary course of eventsz: 
occurred. Other pioneers came in from time to time, and Underhill gradoall^;. 
grew into what it still remains, a quiet rural town. Five years after the 
vent of Benedict and Eaton, in 1791, there were sixty-five inhabitants, 
at the taking of the next census, in 1800, it had a population of 212. 
first town meeting of the inhabitants was warned by Jonathan Castle, a jasd< 
of the peace, of Jericho, February 23, 1795, to meet at the dwelling of 
Olds, on the 9th day of the following March, at ten o'clock in the momii 
At this meeting, William Barney was chosen clerk ; Caleb Sheldon, const 
Abner Eaton, Archibald Dixon and Cyrus Stevens, selectmen; Lut 




TOWN OF UNDERHILL. "256 



Dixon, Dexter Ward and William Barney, listers ; Archibald Dixon, grand. 
jiir3rroan; Bernard Ward, tythingman ; and Ebenezer Brown and Dexter 
Ward, surveyors of highways. At a meeting held at the dwelling of George 
Olds, on the first Tuesday of September, 1794, William Barney was chosen 
to represent the town in the general assembly during the following year, being 
their first representative. The first birth recorded in the town records is that 
of Polly, a daughter of Abner Eaton, bom December 24, 1791. The first 
death was that of Ira, son of Benjamen Button, who died April 25, 1788. 
The first school-house was built of logs, at North Underbill, soon after the 
first settlement, probably in 1787. The first church was built in 1804, upon 
the old highway, and near it was the old parade ground, at the south end of 
which, near the church porch, stood the whipping-post, long since decayed, 
as well as the barbarous law that sanctioned it. The first store was opened 
near here also, kept by a Mr. Campbell. No vestige of the ruins of the old 
church is to be seen, and naught remains to mark the spot, save the old 
church burying-ground. 

Elijah Benedict, bom at New Milford, Conn., in 1741, came to Vermont 

previous to the Revolution, locating at Pawlet ; but upon the breaking out of 

the war his sympathies were on the King's side, and he consequently had his 

property confiscated, and he himself was obliged, with a portion of his family, 

to flee to Canada, where he remained until after peace was declared, and int 

1786, came to Underbill, located at Underbill Flats, upon the place now 

owned by the widow of Hiram G. Benedict. Here Mr. Benedict kept a tav-^ 

em for many years, and became noted as a genial host. He was a kind- 

Imearted, benevolent person, quite religiously inclined. Meetings were held 

WLt his house for a long time, and here Lorenzo Dow preached the first two 

of his pastorate. Elijah died in 181 1, having had a family of five 

liildren. His wife died in 18 14, at Peru, Vt., where she was visiting friends. 

oses, the oldest son of Elijah, bom April 4, 1764, married Lois Pratt, in 

^83, by whom he had a family of six children, as follows ; Samuel P., bora 

^*gu8t 5, 1784; Elijah, born February 14, 1791 ; Elnathan, bom in 1793, 

d married Clarissa Thatcher, of Ogdensburg, N. Y., where he died, March 

^ ^ 1868, leaving one son ; Julius R., bom in 1796, and died April 5, 1843 > 

Xl^'OQisa, bom January 17, 1805 ; and Hiram G., born March 9, 1808, married 

X>€lana Hurlburt, July 4, 1839. He was a physician of extensive practice 

; and died April 13, 1861, leaving five children as follows: Addison C.,. 

September, 17, 1840, and enlisted October 17, 1863, in the ist Vt. 

vafay for one year, re-enlisted, and was mustered out June 25, 1865 ;. 

^^*ria C, bom Febraary 25, 1842, married George LaSalle; Marion S., 

^*^*rn August 10, 1844, married William Burroughs ; Wait M., bom June 3^ 

^^46, married Isabella Stevens, enlisted March 13, 1865, in Co. G., 2nd Regt. 

"^ Vols., and was mustered out of service July 15, 1865 ; and George H., 

^^^^'^ September 20, 1849, °ow resides on Main street, at Underbill Flats, 

^^^^■cupying, with his mother, the old homestead. Elijah Benedict, second son 




256^^ TOWN OF UNDERHILL. 



of Moses, married Katie Williams, of Jericho, and died September 15, 1842, 
his wife following him December 15, 1846, leaving five children, Henry S., 
George, Cassins B., Harriet and Louisa. H. S. Benedict, bom February 
15, 1 814, married Martha Bancroft, March 13, 1844, and had three children, 
Ellen M., bom January 5, 1847, Mary J., born October 4, 1849, and Hiram 
H., born August 9, 1853. Hiram owns a farm and is a prosperous fanner 
on road 27. He has two daughters who have been employed as school 
teachers here for several years. George Benedict, bom April 23, 1815, car- 
ried Melissa Hall, of Richmond, October 16, 1838. He graduated in medi- 
cine from the University of Vermont, and soon after located at Richmond, 
where he had a very successful practice, and died October 17, 1869, leaving 
two children, Eliza M. and George T. Eliza M. graduated from Mt Hoi- 
yoke Seminar}', and is now teaching in St. Albans. George T., bom Octo- 
ber 31, 1842, married Emily J. Watson, of St. Albans, November 21, 1864. 
He was for a number of years superintendent of the N. L. N. R. R., and 
located at New London, Conn. He afterwards occupied the position of 
general manager of the Cleveland, Toledo & Sandusky R. R., and died at 
St Albans, in August, 1874, leaving a wife and one child. 

Jedediah Lane, grandfather of Asa L. Lane, of this town, with his family, 
was the fourth that located in the town of Jericho. He came from KiL 
lingworth, Conn., in 1786, and located at Jericho Comers, where he had pur- 
chased a large tract of land, upon which he erected a log house. He was the 
first representative from that town, and also the first selectman. Some time 
after his settlement here it was found that an error had been made in the 
sur\'ey of the township, and the new survey placed his house just over the 
line, in the town of Essex. Wishing to retain his town offices, he had his 
house moved back into Jericho again. Mr. Lane died in 181 8, aged seventy- 
seven years, having had a family of ten children, whose aggregate ages 
amounted to 804 years. Stephen Lane, son of Jedediah, was the first male 
child bom in Jericho, August 6, 1788. Cyrus, father of Asa L., was bom at 
Killingworth, Conn., January 8, 1782, and died in Jericho. Asa L. moved 
into this town in 1845, locating upon road 20, and afterwards removed to 
road 30. He has been honored with most of the town trusts, and among 
them justice of the peace for a period of twenty-five years. 

Jonas Humphrey, from Genesee County, N. Y., located upon the farm now 
owned by Nehemiah Story, at an early date. He married Caroline Dixon, 
daughter of Capt. Dixon, one of the first settlers of the town. His son, Clark, 
still resides here, aged seventy-seven years. 

Adam Hurlburt, from Roxbur}', Conn., settled upon the farm now owned 
by Charles Prior and C. L. Graves, in 1789. He subsequently made the 
first settlement on the farm now owned by his grandson, Waite Hurlburt, and 
which has ever since remained in the possession of the family. 

Eli Woodraff, a veteran of the war of 181 2, was one of the first settlers of 
Westford, and subsequently removed to this town, locating upon the fjstfm 



TOWN OF UNDERBILL. "256 



now owned by his son, Joseph R. Woodruff. This farm was originally settled 
by Abner Eaton. The deed conveying it to him, the first recorded in the 
town records, is dated June 13, 1791. Joseph's father-in-law, Seth Huntley, 
was the first male child born in the town of Bakersfield, Vt. He died in this 
town, August 20, 1862, aged sixty-six years. 

Caleb Sheldon bom at East Hartford, Conn., in 1756, came to Underbill 
in 1 788, and located upon the farm now owned by his daughter, Mary S. 
Sheldon. He was twice married, first to Chloe Barney, who survived her 
marriage but four years, and second, to Mary Campbell. Of his four children, 
three are now living, as follows : Nancy Rogers, aged ninety-four years ; 
Emily P. Hall, aged seventy-five years ; and Mary S., aged seventy-seven 
years. A large meteoric stone, weighing several tons, now lies about twenty 
rods from the house, where it fell in 1792. 

Abial Rogers, born in Connecticut, in 1780, married Polly, a daughter of 
Dr. Mack, of Whiting, and came to this town in 1 808, locating upon the farm 
now owned by Ziba W. Church, where he followed his trade of saddler many 
years. 

Chauncey Graves, from Salisbury, Vt, made the first settlement on the 
farm now owned by his grandson, Tyler M. Graves. Ira, son of Chauncey, 
was five years old when his father came here, and remained upon the farm 
until his death^ May 8, 1877, aged eighty-two years. 

Isaac J. Bourn came to Underbill, from Jericho, in 18 16, and purchased 
the farm now owned by Alvah Martin. 

Capt. N. M. Hanaford, bom at Enfield, N. H., in 1791, moved to this 
town at an early date, his family then consisting of his wife and three chil- 
dren, Edward, Allen W., and Riley, locating upon the farm lying between 
roads 32 and 33, now owned by Luke Proctor. After several changes of 
dwelling places, he finally located upon the place now owned by Dr. G. W. 
Roberts, where he died in 1862, aged seventy-one years. He served in the 
war of 18 1 2, as a fifer, and afterwards as drum-major. He also held several 
town ofilices of trust. His family, at his death, consisted of his wife and 
eight children, four boys and four girls. Edward, the eldest son, married 
Fidelia Baker, and has always lived in this town, following the trade of car- 
penter and joiner. He has held many of the town offices. 

Martin Mead came to this town in 1807, locating upon the farm now 
owned by his son, Seth W. He reared a family of ten children, two of whom 
are now living here, Seth W., on the old homestead, and Simeon M., on road 
28. 

Elmore Hapgood, son of Asa Hapgood, of Barre, Mass., was bom Octo- 
ber 24, 1787, and with his father moved to Fairfax, Vt., at the age of twenty- 
six years, where he married Rheuama Smith, of Jericho, in 1813, as fruit of 
which union there was bom to them twelve children, viz.: Martin E., Chloe, 
John, Emily, Hannah, Adeline, Franklin and Edwin, while four died in 
infanqr. Martin E., the eldest, bom in Jericho, October 3, 1816, moved to 



2S&^ TOWN OF UNDERHILL. 



this town in May, 1837, and married Mary Hanaford, February 15, 1843, 
and located at Underbill Center, on Maple street, wbere be bas since resided. 
He bas beld several town offices, and represented tbe town in tbe legislature 
in 1876. 

Asa Cburch, from Vershire, Vt, came to tbis town in 1808, locating upon 
tbe farm now owned by G. Tborp, on road 28. After subsequent cbanges 
in residence, be finally located on road 44, upon tbe farm now owned by 
Cyrus Prior, wbere be died at tbe age of eigbty-four years. Of bis family of 
twelve cbildren, only one is now living in town, Z. W. Cbiu-cb, on road 31. 

Josbua Martin, born in Goffstown, N. H., came to tbis town in 1819, 
locating on road 42, upon tbe farm now owned and occupied by Mrs. Rebecca 
B. Martin. Of bis family of five cbildren, Laura, James, Sybil, Joshua 
and Alvab, only one, Martin, now remains in town. 

Jobn Atcbinson, sire of tbe families of tbat name in tbis town, was bom at 
Nortb Adams, Mass., in 1794, and removed to Jericbo wbile yet a young 
man, wbere be married Lydia Packard, and to tbem was bom a family of ten 
cbildren, eigbt boys and two girls, five of wbom now reside in tbis town. 

Josepb Kirby, born in Yorksbire, Eng., November 5, 1801, emigrated to 
tbis country in 1829, coming directly to Vermont, and located in Sbelbume,. 
wbere be remained tbree years^ tben married Miss Mary Jackson and re- 
moved to tbis town, locating upon tbe farm wbere be now resides, on road 29. 
Tbeir union was blessed witb seven girls and four boys, of wbom four of the 
girls, and two boys, William, on road 34, and Robert, witb bis father, now re- 
side here. 

TA^ Underhill Center Free Will Baptist Church, located at Underbill 
Center, was organized by Elders S. D. Keneston and J. E. Davis, October 8, 
1836, witb twenty members. Elder Davis acting as tbeir pastor. Tbeir chiuch. 
building, a wood structure witb seating capacity for 250 persons, was built in 
union witb the Methodist church in 1850. Its original cost was $1,600.00, 
and is now valued, including ground, at $2,000.00. Tbe society now bas 
eighty-three members, with Rev. J. B. Collins, pastor. 

St, Tfwmas Roman Catholic Church, located at Underbill Center, was or- 
ganized by Bishop DeGoesbriand, in 1852, with fifty families. Their church 
building will seat 500 persons, is built of wood, and valued at $6,450.00. Rev. 
Thomas Lynch was the first, and Rev. Maglorie Pigeon in the present pastor^ 
Tbe society has 1,000 members. 

The Congregational Church, located at Underhill Flats, was organized by 
the Congregationalists of the town in 1800, with twenty members, which 
number has since increased to 100. Tbe first church building was erected 
about the same year, and was succeeded by tbe present edifice in 1850. It 
is built of wood, cost $2,000.00, and is now valued, including grounds, at 
$3,000.00. Rev J. D. Emerson is the present pastor. 



TOWN OF WFSTFORD. ^^256 




[ESTFORD, one of the northern tier of towns of the county, lying in 
lat. 44° 36', and long. 4" i', bounded north by Fairfax, in P^anklin 
County, East by Underhill, south by Essex, and west by Milton, was 
granted by New Hampshire to Henry Franklin and sixty-four others, June 
8, 1763, entitling the grantees to 23,040 acres, subject to the restrictions and 
reservations incident to all the Wentworth charters, or New Hampshire 
grants. Little attention, however, was paid to the mandates and warnings 
of George HI., as set forth in the charter, and no evil consequences seem 
ever to have resulted from the neglect. Little heed was given to the clause 
relative to the pine timber to be spared for the " masting of the Royal Navy," 
and none of the grantees commenced settlement until long after the restricted 
five years had elapsed ; indeed, it is doubtful if any of the original grantees 
ever located here. No changes have been made in the boundary line of the 
township. 

In surface, Westford is uneven and mountanous, being a portion of the 
base of the western slope of the Green Mountains, and hence cannot but 
I>ossess a pleasing and picturesque landscape, though it is not sufficiently 
broken to conflict with agriculture ; quite the contrary, there is little waste 
land to be found in the whole township. Many points of view, grand in the 
extreme, are afforded, lying as they do midway between the lofty Mount 
Mansfield on the east, and the unequaled Champlain, with its azure surface 
and emerald isles, on the west, while north and south stretches the beautiful 
Champlain valley, forming as a whole a panorama of rare beauty and excel- 
lence. The well-kept farms are covered with abundant crops of grain, in 
their season, as the soil is well adapted to the production of all the grains and 
grasses indigenous to the county. Through the central portion of the terri- 
tory clay preponderates, while in the eastern and western sections a rich 
gravelly loam prevails, and the extreme northern portion has a light, sandy 
soil. All is well watered by numerous springs, streams and brooks. Brown's 
River, with its tributaries, forming the principal water-course, having a gen- 
eral northern course through the central part of the town. Beaver Brook, 
with several small tributaries, flows north through the northwestern portion 
o( the township. A small sheet of water, Westford Pond, covering an area 
of about ten acres, is also found in the southwestern part of the territory. 
Originally the whole township was covered with a heavy forest, containing a 
^reat variety of timber, hemlock, beech and maple being the most common, 
tiiough spruce, pine, birch, elm and ash were abundant. Pine especially was 
quite plentiful, as the whole sandy plains of the northern portion of the town 
covered with an immense pine forest. The rocks are principally of the 
'€>sf conglomerate formation, with a bed of ialcose schist extending across 
'^hole extreme western portion of the township. No minerals of any ap- 
Precriable value have yet been discovered, except upon the farm of Lucius 
^' Xrish, on road 11, where there is a considerable deposit of copper, which 
^^OtDises to be of some value when properly worked. 



256^^ TOWN OF WESTFORD. 

In 1880, Westford had a population of 1,133, was divided into eleven 
school districts and contained eleven common schools, employing one male 
and eleven female teachers, at an aggregate salary of $1,139.00. There 
were 265 pupils attending common school, while the entire cost of the schools 
for the year, ending October 31st, was $1,337.61, with Mr. J. H. Macomber, 
superintendent. 

Westford Center (Westford p. o.), located in the central part of the 
town, on Brown's River, is the only village in the township. The river here 
affords several good mill privileges, and it was this, together with the central 
location, that first induced its settlement. The nucleus about which the \t1- 
lage has since formed, was started by Elisha Baker, in 1795, who ^^ that time 
erected a saw-mill here. Shortly after, Joshua Stanton built a forge and grist- 
mill near by, causing settlers to rapidly locate in the vicinity, and even lent 
an impetus to the business and enterprise of the whole town. Hitherto the 
inhabitants had been forced to go a long distance to mill, and framed houses 
could not be even thought of. The forge gave employment to a compara- 
tively large number of workmen, and manufactured a very fair quality of iron, 
from ore brought from Colchester and New York. The Colchester mines 
were located near the mouth of the Winooski River, sixteen miles from the 
forge, and the ore was hauled thence by teams over the worst imaginable 
roads, causing an immense amount of labor for a little profit. Still the iron 
business seemed to prosper, so much so at least, that another forge was erected 
after a short time, at a point about one hundred ro<ls lower down the river. 
But about the year 1809, the business was necessarially abandoned, owing to 
the failure of the ore beds in Colchester, and the inability to manufacture the 
required quality of iron from New York ore alone. Soon after the failure of 
the iron interests, a suit at law was brought against the owner of the prop- 
erty, the widow of Luke Camp, for the removal of the dam, by John Keeler 
and Joseph Weed, of Essex, on the grounds that it damaged their land. The 
suit was decided in favor of the plaintiffs, resulting in the removal of the dam. 
Another dam, however, was subsequently built by Mrs. Camp, lower down the 
river, ana a grist-mill erected, nearly back of where the Baptist church now 
stands. But the position proved unfavorable, and the property was sold to 
Col. Danforth Wales and Henry Miles, who subsequently built the present 
grist-mill. Steadily the village increased in population until it now has 150 
inhabitants, three churches (Baptist, Methodist, and Congregational), a good 
school building, two stores, three blacksmith shops, one wheelwright shop, one 
saw, planing and shingle-mill, a grist-mill, butter-tub and cheese-box factor}*, 
and a cider-mill. The dwellings are mostly neat, tidy structures, while the 
whole settlement has an air about it that denotes it as the abiding place of an 
intellectual, moral people. 

The Union Cheese Factory Co. was organized as a stock company, with 
thirteen stockholders, in 1865. The directors are Charles Kimble, and 
Heman and George Rice. The factory, located on road 24 cor. 23, is opcr- 



TOWN OF WESTFORD. ^^256 



ated by E. H. Ruggles, who manufactures about 140,000 pounds of cheese 
per annum. 

Charles A, Wakefield* s cheese-box factory^ and saw and cider-mill^ located in 
the western part of the town, was established by A Worley, about the year 
1868. Mr. Wakefield now manufactures about 120,000 feet of lumber, 3,000 
cheese-boxes, and 350 barrels of cider per annum. 

The Westford Center grist-mill^ and cheese-box and butter-tub manufac- 
tory^ located at the village, is owned by Tascot Rousseau, of New Bedford, 
Mass., and leased by H. W. Carrington, who does custom grinding and man- 
ufactures 15,000 cheese-boxes and butter-tubs per year. 

E. P, Carpenter's tannery, located on Road 24, was established in 1836, 
and does a business of about $4,000.00 per year. 

Nathan C Dimicks cabinet and wheelwright shop, located at Westford 
Center, came into his possession, as successor to N. D. Stanley, in 1879. ^^ 
does all kinds of cabinet and wheelwright work. 

S. H. &* H. N. Macomber's saw, shingle and planing-mill, located on 
Brown's River has the capacity for cutting 10,000 feet of lumber, and 8,000 
shingles per day. 

The first effort toward the settlement of the township was made by Heze- 
kiah Parmelee, in 1787. He was followed soon after by a few others from 
Massachusetts, who located in the southern part of the town^ And these 
were shortly joined by two other parties, coming about simultaneously, one 
from New Hampshire, and the other from Rhode Island. The New Hamp- 
shire colony located in the northeastern part of the town, while the Rhode 
Island party settled in the northwestern section. From this time the settle- 
ment of the town may be considered as permanently established, though im- 
migration was exceedingly slow until about 1795, when settlers began to come 
in quite rapidly, as is attested by the census reports for 1791 and 1800 ; at 
the former the town had only sixty-three inhabitants, while at the latter the 
reports show an increase of 585, making the population at that time 648, 
while ten years later, in 18 10, the returns give the township a population of 
1,107, or nearly double that of 1800. 

The town was organized and first town meeting held at the dwelling 
of John Seeley, March 25, 1793, at which Francis Northway was chosen 
moderator, to govern said meeting, and Martin Powell elected town clerk; 
John Seeley, Levi Famsworth, and Shubael Woodruff, selectmen ; John See- 
ley, treasurer ; Ebenezer Burdick, constable ; Peter Neels, second constable ; 
John Seeley, Levi Famsworth, and Francis Northway, listers; Peter Neels, 
collector of taxes ; Francis Northway, leather sealer ; David Knowles, grand 
J wor ; and Stephen Johnson and Elias Crandall, pound-keepers. The first 
Justice was Jeremiah Stone, who was also the first representative, chosen to 
^>otli offices in 1793. He was also the first merchant of the town. The first 
physician was Dr. Rice, who removed to Canada after a short residence here, 
- first postmaster was William P. Richardson. The first death recorded is 



256* TOWN OF WESTFORD. 



that of Susannah Balch, April 27, 1795, though we believe the first adult was 
Silas Beach, killed by the falling of a tree, July 4, 1796. The first marriage 
was that of Amos Balch and Betsey Jervis, December 10, 1792. The first 
birth on record is that of Althea Nells, March 20, 1795. 

The War of the Revolution was passed when the first settlers located here, 
so that Westford has no traditions to relate of .be midnight attack of the 
Indian, or the invasion of their homes by the British or Tory. Many of the 
settlers, however, had fought well in the ranks of the American army, and 
many of their graves are now honored and cared for by their descendants, as 
the following list of Revolutionary soldiers buried in the town will attesL 
James Taylor, who ser\ed as a captain, George Chase, John I^wrence, Ben- 
jamin Wilmont, Simeon Hooker, who attained an age of over one hundred 
years. George Northway, John Macomber, Josiah Woodruff, Solomon Ho- 
bart, George Thrasher, Jesse Atwood, Gideon Dixon, Samuel French, and 
Samuel Moore, who also ser\'ed in the French and Indian war. Again, when 
the war of 181 2 came upon them, the inhabitants of Westford sent forty-one 
of their number to protect their common cause, whose names were as fol- 
lows : James Taylor, who served as a captain, Henry Woodruff, Nathan Cas- 
well, Samuel R. Robinson, Romanty Woodruff, Manley Homles, Ziba Wood, 
Jacob Macomber, Welcome Chattington, Moses Ruggles, Aldrich W^orley, 
Haskell Fre^jch, Sanford Pratt, Heman Pratt, Martin Bates, Appollas Part- 
ridge, as sergeant, William Bowman, Amos Taylor, Eli W^oodruff, Edwin, 
Sibley, Parmer Richardson, as orderly- sergeant, Owen Northway, Russell 
Woodruff, Charles Hapgood, Elmore Hapgood, Jared Frisbie, Ira Frisbie, 
Silas Morse, Levi Nutting, Daniel Richardson, Thomas Richardson, Asa 
Richardson, Freeman Hoyt, Julius Hoyt, Josiah Hilton, Freeman Chase, as 
ensign, Aaron Parker, Jonas Hobart, as captain, Lemuel French, as fifer, 
Timothy Burdick, and Foster Taylor. Samuel R. Robinson died only a short 
time since, in 1880. The widows of Jacob Macomber and Martin Bates, 
only, are now drawing pensions. During the last war, the town furnished 105 
soldiers, many of whom re-enlisted. 

Jeremiah Stone was one of the first settlers in the western part of the town^ 
and became the first merchant and first representative. He was a very 
prominent citizen, a large land owner, and died quite wealthy, in 1826. His 
son, Allen, came to Westford with him, reared a family of twenty-one 
children, and died here in 1858, aged seventy-four years. Alney, son of 
Allen, born here in 1820, is now a resident of the town, which he has ser>'ed 
as associate judge, representative, etc., and as a magistrate conrinuously since 
1849. 

Frederick Cook came to this to^Ti about 1787, and located in the eastern 
part, upon the farm now occupied by Harmon Macomber, where he built a 
log house, cleared away the forest, reared a family of ten children, and died, 
in 1829. His son, Frederick, Jr., came with his father, at seven years of 
age, and died here in 1877. His widow is still a resident of the town, aged 
eighty years. 



TOWN OF WESTFORD. ^256 



David Macomber came into the town at an early day, locating in the south- 
cm part, upon the farm now owned by Mr. Tyler, where he built a log cabin 
and lived in it for a time with only one side of the roof covered. He was 
the father often children, and died May 14, 1863, aged seventy-nine years. 
Jacob Macomber came to Westford at an early day and located where his 
son, Francis, now resides. He was a justice of the peace many years, con- 
stable twelve years in succession, a soldier in the war of 181 2, and died in 
1867, aged eighty-one years. His widow still survives him, aged eighty 



Daniel Macomber, from Chesterfield, Mass., came here in 18 10, and 
located upon Osgood Hill. Four of his brothers and one sister came soon 
Sifter, nearly all locating in the central part of the town. Many descendants 
of the Macomber family now are residents of the town. 

James McClure, from New Hampshire, came here at an early date, and 
located about a mile north of where his son, Daniel W., now resides. He 
liad a family of twelve children, two of whom are now living, one in Indiana, 
2Uid Daniel W., above mentioned, aged eighty-six years. 

Timothy Morgan came to this town at an early date, locating near West- 
ford Renter. He was the father of a large family of children, and died here, 
aged eighty years. One of his children, Timothy L., is still residing in the 
town. 

Darius Varney, from Massachusetts, was one of the early settlers in the 
'western part of the town, and one of the original nine members of the Con- 
pegational Church. His son, Darius, came here with him, and died in 1878, 
aged eighty-two years. 

Martin Powell, from Manchester, Vt., was among the early settlers of the 
town, and died here in 1800. 

Reuben Burdick, from Rhode Island, came to Westford at an early day, 
and located near the present residence of George A. Cobb. He was one of 
the first members of the Baptist church, and died here, in 1842, aged sixty- 
seven years. 

Job Bates, from Connecticut, came to this town in 1796, locating in the 
southern part, upon the farm now owned by George Stevens. He reared a 
family of twelve children, eight boys and four girls, all of whom arrived at 
maturity, and six of whom are now living. His grandson, Luther M., has 
been a merchant in Westford for the past fourteen years, eleven of which he 
served the town as clerk. 

Thomas Rogers, from Barre, Mass., came to Westford in February, in 1 797, 
locating upon the farm now owned by his son, Artemas P. He had a family 
of seven children, four of whom are now living, two in this town. His life 
was brought to an unfortunate close in 1830, by the premature discharge of a 

blast 

Alvin Henry, bom in Barre, Mass., came to Westford while yet a child, 
and has now resided upon the same farm over eighty years. He was present 



256*^ TOWN OF WESTFORD. 



at the ordination of the first minister in the town, Sinaeon Parmelee. in 1808. 

Manasset Osgood, bom in Barre, Mass., in 1774, came to Westford in 
1798, locating upon what has since been called Osgood HilL He reared a 
family of thirteen children, six of whom are now li\'ing. He died in 1855, 
aged eighty-one years. 

Benjamin F. Beach, bom in this town January 26, 1800, now resides with 
his son, George, on road 26. Mr. Beach has been an enterprising man and held 
many of the town offices. He remembers quite distinctly when Fulton made 
his first steamboat voyage, and can also remember the battle of Plattsbuigh, 
the cannonading of which jarred the house wherein he resided. 

Mandley Holmes, from Brookfield, Mass., came to Westford in 1803, and 
located on road 18. upon the farm now owned by Myron Holmes. He mar- 
ried Sarah Howe, and had a family of eight children, of whom Warren, Man- 
ley, Myron and Adam are living here. 

Moses Ruggles, one of the early settlers here, located in the western part 
of the town, where he died in 1839. His grandson, Elihu H., now resides 
here, on road 24. 

Horatio Allen came to Westford about the year 18 18, and located upon 
the farm now owned by his son, George W. He held most of the town 
offices, was twice married, and died November 6, 1880, leaving several chil- 
dren. 

Thomas Atwood, from New Hampshire, located in the eastern part of the 
town in 1803. He had a family of six children, two of whom, Jesse and Mrs. 
Martha Northway, are still living here. 

Ira Stevens, from Essex, N. Y., located here in 1856. He has served the 
town as selectman, treasurer, representative, etc. Of his five children, three 
reside here. 

Simeon Hooker, a revolution ar}' veteran, lived to attain the great age of 
10 1 years. At the age of eighty he settled in the southern part of the town. 

Amos Partridge, Jr., located in Westford in 1804. He married Sophia 
Bliss, of Essex, and had a family of six children, four of whom are now living. 

Len Robinson, from Barre, Mass., came here in 1 801, locating on Osgood 
Hill. He reared a family of seven children, only one of whom, Stephen P., 
is now living. He resides on road 28. 

William Weaver came to Westford, from Rutland County, in 1802, and 
located where his grandson, William, now resides. His father, the great- 
grandfather of the present William, served ^^nth the Hessians during the Revolu- 
tion ; but he soon concluded he was fighting on the wrong side, and deserted, 
joining the Colonial army, where he served seven years with the Massachusette 
troops. 

David Castle came to this town in 1803, locating upon the farm now owned 
by his grandson, Solon E. He reared a family of eleven children, all of whom 
lived to be over seventy years of age. 

Dea. Jonas Hobart, from New Hampshire, came to Westford in 1804, and 



TOWN OF WILLISTON. 28256 



settled in the eastern part of the town, locating upon the farm now owned by 
Lrucius Irish. He took an active part in town affairs, serving as justice of 
the peace, representative, etc. Of his family of nine children, seven are now 

living. He died in 1880, aged ninety-five years. 

Josephus Whipple came into the town in 1807, locating about half a mile 

north of the center. He was postmaster eleven years, and also served the 

town as justice of the peace and in other offices. One of his sons, Edwin B., 

is still a resident of the town. 

Artemas Allen came to Westford in 181 8, and located upon the farm now 

owned by his son, William E. He took an active part in town affairs, held 
most of the town offices, among which that of representative during the years 
3839 and '40, '49 and '50. He died in 1863, aged sixty-eight years. His 

son, William E., now occupies the old homestead. 

The first settled minister in Westford was Simeon Parmelee, who preached 

liere over forty years. He was ordained in a barn which is now standing on 

Xhe farm of Mrs. Orlando Henry, on road 24. The first couple he united in 
xnarriage was Mandley Holmes and Sarah Howe. 

The Baptist Church of Westford^ located at the village, was organized by a 

<:ouncil convened for the purpose, in 1798, with nine members. Rev. Mr. 
3rown was the first pastor. The present brick church was erected in 1829, a 
l>uilding capable of seating 250 persons, and is valued at $2,500.00. The 
society now has twenty-six members, with no regular pastor. 

The First Congregational Church, located at Westford Center, was organ- 
ized by the Rev. Jedediah Bushnell, August 7, 1801, the ceremony being held 
in a bam upon the present site of Albert Partridge's residence, where thirteen 
persons became members. Rev. Simeon Parmelee was the first installed pas- 
tor. In 1809, the first church building was erected, and did service until 
1840, when the present house, capable of seating 450 persons, was erected, 
costing $3,000.00. It is now valued, including grounds, at $5,000.00. The 
society at present has 103 members, with Rev. George P. Byington, pastor. 
The Methodist Episcopal Church, also located at the village, was organized 
T)y Truman Seymour, in 1821, with twelve members, and Rev. Cyrus Prindle, 
pastor. The present church edifice was built in i860, is a wood structure capa- 
ble of seating 200 persons, and valued at about $1,500.00. The society now 
has thirty- five members, with Rev. S. W. Royce, pastor. 




II^LISTON lies in the central part of the county, in lat. 44° 2 






and long, y" 58', bounded north by the Winooski River, which separates 
it from Essex and Jericho, east by Richmond, south by St. George and 
Shelburne, and west by Muddy Brook, which separates it from Burlington. 
The town was granted by New Hampshire, June 7, 1763, to Samuel Willis 
and sixty-four others, and in honor of said Willis, received its name of Wil- 



256** TOWN OF WILLISTON. 



liston. According to the charter lieed, the proprietors were lo have 23,040 
acres, divided among them in seventy-one shares, and bounded as follows : 
North by the Winooski River, east by Bolton, south by Huntington and 
Hinesburgh, and west by Burlington, whose eastern line was then about one 
mile west of the village of Williston. These bounds were changed, however, 
October 27, 1794, by annexing from Burlington the land lying west of Muddy 
Brook, while the easterly portion of Williston was taken towards forming the 
township of Richmond. 

The surface, though i>ossessing no lofty mountains to form grand and impos- 
ing scener)*, is most admirably adapted to agriculture ; it contains some hills, 
yet is mostly a fine level country, undulating in some parts, with just enough 
of hollow and dale to lend a pleasing diversity. Its soil is unsurpassed in pro- 
ductiveness, var}'ing from the softest mold to the stiffest clay, and producing 
prolific crops of all the fruits and grains indiginous to this latitude. The 
streams that drain and irrigate the soil flow principally north into the Winooski, 
or Westerly into Muddy Brook, the largest being Allen's Brook, which 
rises in the easterly part of the town and flows a northwesterly course into 
Winooski River, and Sucker Brook, flowing a westerly course from the central 
part of the territory into Muddy Brook. The most common of the forest 
trees are maple, beech, birch, pine and hemlock. Much of this timber has 
been utilized, especially the pine growing on the sandy tracts in the north- 
western part, but not to such an extent as it would have been had the streams 
afforded more mill privileges, as in this latter respect the natural facilities of 
the territory- are deficient, there being but two good mill sites in the township. 

Underlying the western portion of the town is an extensive bed of marble, 
croping out in ledges in some places, afifording several very good varieties. 
East of this, having a mean width of about three-quarters of a mile, lies a bed 
of clay slate^ extending through the whole length of the town from north to 
south, while the rock formation of the residue of the territor}* is composed of 
ialcose conglomerate. All of these ledges or veins, however, are cut and inter- 
mixed by other substances incident to these formations throughout the State. 
No valuable minerals have been found hoarded in these storehouses of nature. 
yet nature has not been unkind to the fair township, as the lofty pines, maples, 
and hemlocks will testify, towering above the broad expanse of upland mead- 
ows and verdant inter\'ales along the banks of the Winooski. No better 
farming lands exist, while the products find a convenient mode of transj>or- 
tation to populous marts in the Vermont Central Railroad, which passes 
across the northwestern comer of the town, with a station at North Williston. 

In 1880, Williston had a population of 1,342, was divided into ten school 
districts and had ten common school, emplonng one male and fourteen 
female teachers, at an aggregate salary of $1,193.20. There were 308 pupils 
attending common school, while the entire cost of the schools for the year, 
ending October 31, was $1,428.37. 

North Williston, a post village and station on the Vermont Central Rail- 



TOWN OP WILLISTON. "256 

road, located in the northwestern part, contains a store, school-house, cheese 
factory, blacksmith shop, machine shop, etc., and about twenty dwellings. 

WiLLiSTON, a post village located in the central part of the town, on Allen's 
Srook, contains three churches (Meth., Cong., and Universalis!), two stores, 
<3ne carriage shop, two blacksmith shops, one shoe shop and about thirty or 
forty dwellings. 




(SMITH WRIGHT'S CIjLD STORAGE BUILDINGS.) 

Smith Wrights refrigerator and cold storage buildings, located at Williston, 
""^^illage, have facilities for storing several hundred tons of poultry, meats, etc 
^^r. Wright has been very successful in preserving the commodities thus stored, 
"^^o that he ofter has goods shipped to him from distant States for storage. 

Whiteomb cf Fay's steajH milt, located at North Williston, was originally es- 
~»ablished by Hiram J. Fay, in 1862 or 1863. In 1866. he took Roswell B. 

IFay and Rood into partnership with him, and the new company en- 

~3arged the saw-mill and erected a gristmill, and in 187 1, the whole was de- 
stroyed by fire. A stork company was formed soon after, under the title of 
-the North Williston Mill Co., and the mills re-erecied under their orders. 
The saw-miil now manufactures 850,000 feet of lumber per annum. 

The North Williston Machine Shop was established by R. B. Fay, E. F. 
~Whitcomb and Addison M. Ford, in 1871. The institution is now principally 
employed in the manufacture of chair stoclc. 

Miss Lotiea Alexander's cider-mill, located on road 33, was built about 
fifty years ago, and is now in good running order. 

£.R. CoU s blacksmith shof.\Qca.\.<:A iX North Williston, was built about 
thiity years ago for general blacksmithing purposes, Mr. Cole has done a 
very successful business here since he took charge ofthe establishment, about 
fiv^ years ago. 

-^orlh Williston cheese factory, located near the railroad depot, was built 
in X 868. The factory now receives the milk from 400 cows. 

■^^-fti/is H. TitUoffs cheese factory, located on road 27, manufactures into 
(^^«sethc milk from 700 cows, 275 of which are his own property. 



256^ TOWN OF WILLISTON. 

R B. Brown ^ Son's butter-tub manufactory^ located at North Williston, 
was established by Wilkins & Loggins in 1S72, who conducted the business 
about two years, when it was taken by the present firm, who employ ten men 
manufacturing $12,000.00 worth of butter tubs per annum. 

The town farm, consisting of about two hundered acres of land, situated in 
the northwestern corner of the township, is owned by the towns of Williston, 
Essex, Jericho, Shelburne, and Hinesburgh. 

About eleven years after the issue of the charter of Williston, in 1774, set- 
tlement was commenced here by Thomas Chittenden, the first governor of 
Vermont, who came on with a large family of children, and was followed by 
Jonathan Spaftbrd, Elihu Allen, John Chamberlain and Abijah Pratt, in 1775 
and '76. But soon the horrors of war broke up the settlement, and obliged 
the settlers to seek places of greater safety, fleeing before the advance 
of the enemy from Canada, as, indeed, was the case with settlements in 
other towns in the northern part of the county. In Williston, before all could 
make good their escape, they were attacked by the enemy. John Chamber- 
lain was attacked in his house, by Indians, and a hired man and a child killed 
by them. 

Soon after the close of the war settlement was again commenced, the set- 
tlers coming, most of them, from Connecticut and Western Massachusetts, 
among whom were the Murrays, the Talcotts, the Spaffords, Millers, Brownells, 
Frenches, Ishams and others, all men of enterprise and respectability, and 
most of them possessd of large families. On the 28th of March, 1786, the 
first town meeting was called, at which the town was duly organized by the 
election of the following officers : Robert Donnelly, town clerk, and Joel 
Brown, constable. In 1787, the first board of selectmen was chosen, Jona- 
than Spafford. David Talcott and Asa Brownson. The first justice was Amos 
Brownson, chosen in 1786, and during this year the first representative, Jona- 
than Spartord, was elected. The first bom was Cyrus Bradley, August 4, 
1786. 

Thomas Chittenden, or Gov. Chittenden as he is more familiarly known, 
was, as previously mentioned, the first to commence settlement in this town, 
and was also one of the first and heaviest landholders in this locality. Gov. 
Chittenden was born in Guilford, Conn., January 6, 1730, of parents in very 
moderate circumstances, his father being a small farmer. Young Chittenden 
was trained to a life of economy and toil, his only educational advantages 
being those afforded by the common schools of his native town. Until the 
age of eighteen, he pursued the ordinar}' round of a farmer's life, when he 
became enchanted with the idea of becoming a sailor. Accordingly, he found 
a merchant vessel about to sail from New London to the West Indies, on 
which he enlisted as a common sailor. But his bright visions of a daring sea- 
rover's exploits were doomed to disappointment, for before the vessel upon 
which he had embarked reached its destination, it was seized by a French 
man-of-war, its cargo confiscated and the ship destroyed. Not wishing to be 






TOWN OF WILLISTON. 







-"■* *■ 






burdened with the crew of the ill-fated vessel, the Frenchmen put them ai 

upon an uninhabited island, whence, after much suffering, they were fi 

rescued, and Chittenden reached his home, wiser in the ways of the w 

and thoroughly disenchanted of the idea of becoming a sailor. Soon 

his return, in October, 1749, he was married to Miss Elizabeth Megs, a 

hearted, robust young lady, of congenial habits and education, one emin 

fitted for the station she was destined to attain as the wife of the Govern 

democratic Vermont. They soon after removed to Salisbury, a new toi 

northeastern Connecticut, where they resided twenty-four years, Mr.Chitte 

soon becoming one of the leading inhabitants of the town, representing 

the assembly of the colony for several years, and holding the office or co 

of the militia. Becoming a landowner in Williston, he was tempted by the p 

ing and productive locality to give up his home in Salisbury, and begin the 1 

3. pioneer, coming to this town in 1774. When driven off by the incursio 

Clie enemy, in 1776, he took up his residence in Arlington, where he rem^ 

u.ntil the close of the war, then returned to Williston. 

Here, aside from the high political stations he attained, he enjoyed 
^^Uowship and love of his friends and neighbors, and became partici 
oted for sociability and hospitality, his house being at all times open tc 
^er welcome guest. Of his residence. Col John A. Graham, in a bo< 
is travels in Vermont, published at London in 1797, says: "About 
lies from Burlington Bay, in Williston, which is on the south side of 
iVer, is the beautiful and elegant residence of Governor Chittenden. 
1-jildings are of brick, finely elevated on a well-chosen spot of ground, ^ 
ooimands a boundless prospect, over a vast country of intervale lane 
ousands of acres, of which the Governor is owner in fee." The builc 
e standing to-day about as they were then. 

Jt is indeed just that Chittenden should receive the title of " The Fath( 

B State," for the formation of the territory of Vermont into a sepj 

a.tc, the successful progress of its government, and its final establishi 

inst the powerful opposition of other governments, were owing in a ^ 

ree to his almost unerring foresight, unhesitating firmness and sound j 

Oit. He was chosen one of the coucil of safety by the convention that foi 

^^^ State constitution in July, 1777, and became at once the president o 

y; was chosen the first governor of the State, in March, 1778, and 1 

date until 1797, he was annually re-elected to that office, with the si 

^xceptioDof the year 1789, when, there being no choice, Moses Robii 

^*s elected by the legislature. The next year Gov. Chittenden was re-chi 

^y A large majority. During the whole period of his administration, he 

^^ed a powerful and healthful influence over the affairs of the State, and 

the {Measure of witnessing the triumphant success of his earnest efforts, in 

P'^pcrity and happiness of a grateful people, whose political affairs he 

** ytZTS been greatly instrumental in guiding. He resigned the office ir 

y**r lygy^ on account of failing health, and died on the 25th of Angus 



256* TOWN OF WILLISTON. 



that year, leaving an unsullied reputation, pure and spotless as the snowy 
sheet upon which we write. His descendants are numerous, several of whom 
have occupied high political positions in the State and county. In the quiet 
cemetery at Williston village is the grave where rests all that was mortal of 
this good man, marked by a marble monument, upon which is traced the fol- 
lowing inscription : — 

IN 

MEMORY 

OF 

His Excellency, Thomas Chittenden, Esq., 

WHO GOVERNED THE STATE OF VERMONT 

FROM 

March, 1778, to the time of his death, 
(SAVE ONE year) AUGUST, 1797 : 
He was born January 6, 1730. 

his was a life OF USEFULNESS : 

LET THOSE WHO READ 

STRIVE TO IMITATE 

HIS VIRTUES. 

In the same cemetery is another monument marking the last resting place 
of his son, Martin, who was also a governor of the State, bearing the follow- 
ing inscription : — 

THE 

Hon. Martin Chittenden 

DIED 

September 5, 1840, aged 71 years. 

Martin was born in Salisbury, Conn., and came to Vermont with his father. 
He was a member of congress from Vermont, from 1803 to 1813, and gov— 
ernor of the State in 18 13 and 1814. He graduated from Dartmouth Col- 
lege in 1789. 

Hon. Lemuel Bottom, another pioneer whose memory the people of Wil- 
liston still cherish with pride, was one of the most substantial and enterprising 
of the early settlers. He began his residence here in 1786, and early gained 
the entire respect and confidence of his townsmen and neighbors, by whou^ 
he was returned to many town and county offices, remaining an earnest, con- 
scientious worker for the public weal until death cut short his labors, in 1815- 

Col. Isaac McNeil was also prominently identified with the best interests 
the first inhabitants of Williston, coming to this to>*Ti from Litchfield, Conn - 
the first la^-yer who dwelt within its limits. Possessed of an education aim 
rare ability, he could not remain long unnoticed by the public, and cona* 
quently was soon elected to offices of town and county trust, continuing 
be thus honored until his death, in 1807. 

Jonathan Spafford, who came here soon after Gov. Chittenden's first sctl 
ment, was a man eminently endowed by Nature to endure the hardships i 
dent to pioneet life, as well as to assist in laying broad and deep the fow^i^ 
tions of a prosperous settlement. Strong in frame, with an equally well 



TOWN OF WILLISTON. ^256 

&nced and hardy mind, he carved a niche in the history of Williston, and a 
place in the hearts of its inhabitants, during his long life among them, that 
still remains, though his body has long since united with the dust in the prov- 
ince of Upper Canada, where he died at an advanced age. 

Solomon and Elisha Miller were also prominent among the early settlers, 
coming to this town at an early date, locating upon land which now com- 
prises the center of the village of Williston. Solomon was born at West 
Springfield, in 1761, and at the breaking out of the Revolution entered the 
American army, where he served with honor, participating in the battle of 
^nnington, and the taking of Burgoyne. Soon after the war he removed to 
V'ermont, locating in Wallingford, where, in connection with Nathaniel 
Chipman, he was engaged in the iron business, remaining until .1786, when 
"^ totik up his residence here, and was soon chosen town clerk, which office 
"^ retained from 1794 to 1815, a period of twenty-one years. He was also 
^^^^5c of the supreme and county courts for twenty years, and judge of pro- 
'^^^^ about the same length of time, serving also as a member of the State 
^Q^Ticil for several years. He died in 1847, aged eighty-seven years. Elisha 
^*s^^ died about the same time, and his son, William, is still a resident of the 

Elisha Wright, from Connecticut, came to Williston some time previous to 
'7^7, locating upon the farm now occupied by his grandson, Orson H., re- 
'^^ining until his death, in 1830. In 1797, soon after his settlement here, 
^*^ Son John was born, who died here in 1874, Smith, son of John, is the 
ent postmaster at Williston village, and has served his townsmen as 
ciate judge two years, from 1868 to 1870, and has also represented the 
^-^^i^nofSt. George four years, 1852-53 and i86o-'6i. He is largely en- 
in farming and dairying, having a herd of fifty cattle, and also exten- 
ly connected with the poultry trade, having handled $60,000.00 worth of 
'^Itiy during the past year. 

^^criah Murray, from Claremont, N. H., located in Williston at an early 

together with with his son, Calvin, who subsequently died in the town 

I-Iinesburgh. Calvin's son, David A., is still a resident of this town. 

J ohn Charles, a German, came to this continent when eight years of age, 

^^^ting in Montreal. When still quite young, and early in the history of 

illiston, he took up his residence here, where he died, after raising a family 

twelve children. H. L. Charles, the eldest of the children, has carried the 

I between Williston village and North Williston twenty seven consecutive 




Jonathan Talcott, one of the early settlers of the town, came here 
'Tn Connecticut among the first inhabitants, locating upon the farm lately 
^upied by his son, Roswell. Four years after the birth of the latter, Dea. 
*-lcott died, and young Roswell was sent away among friends, where he re- 
fined until he became of age, then returned and took up hfc residence on 
^ old homestead, remaining until September, 1881, a peridH of fifty-nine 
Sirs, when he removed to the place he now occupies on road 1 2. 



256^ TOWN OF WILLISTON. 



John Bushnell was also one of the early settlers of Williston, coming here 
from Connecticut. The exact date of his settlement we are unable to state, 
though it must have been previous to 1795, as his eldest son was bom here, 
and is now eighty-seven years of age. Mr. Bushnell, after a long and useful 
life, died here, in 1821. His son, Hiram, born here in 1798, is still a resi- 
dent of the town. 

Obadiah Walston, from Connecticut, came early in the settlement of the 
to^Ti, remaining until his death, at the advanced age of eighty-seven years. 
His grandson, Obadiah, born in Richmond, came here when fifteen years of 
age, locating on road 38, and is still a resident Charles Walston, residing on 
road 40, is also a grandson. 

Jonathan Alexander, bom in the town of Sutton, Conn., came to Williston 
at the age of nineteen years, with his fortune, consisting of twenty-five cents, 
in his pocket. He remained here until his death, aged over eighty-three 
years, leaving 156 acres of land to his daughter, Lotica, which, by economy 
and prudence, he had accumulated from an original investment of twenty-five 
cents. 

Elisha Bradley, from New Haven, Conn., immigrated to Huntington about 
ninety years ago, and subsequently removed to this town, where he died, in 
November, 1848. His son, Sylvester, born here, died Febmar>' 5, 1873. 
They both resided upon the farm now occupied by Oras Bradley. 

Jehiel Isham, from Connecticut, came to Jjiis locality at an early date, 
locating in St. George, where he died in 1847. His son, Ezra, bom in St. 
George, died in this town. Ezra's sons, Addison, John D., and Jackson, still 
are residents here. 

Stephen N. Warren came to Williston at an early day, and subsequently 
died in Fairfax. His son, Charles E., now residing on road 43, was bom 
here. 

Daniel Shaw, from Taunton, Mass., came to this town in 1790, and died 
here in 1804. His son, Daniel, Jr., came with him, and survived his father 
six years, dying in 1810. Daniel was a carpenter and joiner by trade, and 
built some of the first houses in Williston village. His daughter, Mrs. Lock- 
wood, is a resident of the town. 

Jacob HinsdiU, born in Connecticut, came to St. George previous to the 
year 1800, and died in this town at the age of seventy-six years. His son, 
Giles S., now residing on road 2, was born in St. George in 1805. 

Thomas Metcalf immigrated to this country from England during the first 
half of the present centur}', and coming to Vermont located in Underbill, 
where he remained until 1854, when he took up his residence in this town. 

George A. Chapman, born in Cavendish, Windsor Co , Vt, came to Wil- 
liston in 1840, though he remained but a short time, two or three years, then 
removed to Jericho where he resided for a number of years, then returned to 
this town and located where he now resides, on road 8. 

Gardner G. Brown, bom in the town of Broome, Can., came to Willistcm 



TOWN OF WILLISTON. ^^256 



about forty-five years ago. He was for a time engaged in mercantile pur- 
suits on Muddy Brook, but is now a farmer. 

Moses Bates, born in Thompson, Conn., in 1777, came to Colchester while 
yet a young man, and died there March 16, 1849. His son, George, born in 
Colchester, came to VVilliston, in 1853, locating upon the place he now occu- 
pies, on road 2. His dwelling was built by his grandfather, Zachariah Hart, 
who occupied it nearly sixty years, and died here at the great age of nearly 
one hundred years. 

Andrew Pine, from Tinmouth, came to Williston in 1 818, remaining about 
ten years, then removed to the western part of New York, where he soon 
after died. His son, Joseph, born in Tinmouth, now resides on road 22. 

John Patten, born in Ireland, came to Williston in 1830, remaining until 
his death, in February, 1875. 

Charles Curtis, residing on road 36, was a soldier during the late war, hav- 
ing enlisted in the 13th Mich. Infantry, at Paw Paw, Mich., in 1861, from 
which he was discharged in 1862, for gunshot wounds. He suqsequently re- 
enlisted, in the i6th N. Y. Cavalry, at Oswego, N. Y., and was finally dis- 
charged in 1864. 

Timothy Bliss, from Massachusetts, located in Essex at an early day, where 
his son, William, was born, who was killed in 1816, by a fall from a mill 
Alanson, son of William, is now a resident of this town. 

Rev. Alden S. Cooper, who now resides in Williston, is one of the oldest 
Methodist ministers in this locality, though he is now superannuated. Mr. 
Cooper was bom in Westfield, Mass., August 12, 1807, and commenced 
preaching at North Madison, Conn. He has been instrumental in bringing 
many souls to the true life, for which he has already begun to receive his 
endless reward^ in a ripe, happy old age. 

Nathan and Henry Fay, brothers, came to Richmond from Bennington, in 
'7^3, where they remained until their death. R. B. P'ay, born in Richmond, 
J^^y 5, 1808, came to Williston in September, 1839, where he still resides. 
•Leet A. Bishop, son of Rufus Bishop, an old resident of Hinesburgh, now 

pies the old Martin Chittenden place, on road 26. 
Eliab Forbes, bom in Bridgewater, Conn., located in Burlington at an early 
where he died, February 22, 1810. His son, Ira L., born in Burlington, 
""^^.yr 12, 1802, is now a resident of this town. 

^^harles A Seymour, bom in New Haven, Vt., July 26, 1796, came to Wil- 
**stoii twenty -two years ago, where he now resides on road 23, at the advanced 
of eighty-six years. 
I^avid Caswell, from Tinmouth, removed to Huntington at an early day, 
*^g one of the first settlers of that town. His son, Seymour A., born in 
-^ town, came to Williston about eighteen years ago, locating on road 1 2, 
^Ye he still resides. 

James N. Dow emigrated to this country from Ireland, in 1846, locating in 
tbcc, thence to Montreal, and from there came to Vermont, where, after 



256*^ TOWN OF WILLISTON. 



several years' residence in towns in this vicinity, he finally located in Williston. 
on road 38, where he still resides. 

Wright Clark, from Royalton, Vt., came to Williston about 1830, and located 
upon what is called <he Metcalf place, where he remained until 1835, then 
removed to the Gov. Chittenden farm. He was twice married, had a family 
of thirteen children, and died here April 20, 1866. His son, Hiram A., mar- 
ried a daughter of Roswell B. Fay, in 1861, and has a family of five children. 
He is the present town representative, and occupies his father's old farm. 

John Brown, from Massachusetts, came to Williston in 1800, and located 
upon the farm now owned by William Whitney, and subsequently upon the 
farm owned by his son, William. He died here in 1855, at the great age of 
ninety-seven years. Of his large family of children, only one is now liWng, 
William, upon the old homestead, aged eighty-six years. 

Edward Brownell came to Williston about the year 1800. and located upon 
the farm now occupied by his grandson, Edward. He had a family of eight 
children, and died at the age of seventy-eight years. Beriah, the father of the 
present EUiward, married Lucinda Sahford and remained on the old home- 
stead. Of his si-x children, three are now living — Edward, Elias, and Martha. 
Samuel D. Whitney came to Williston about the year 1828, and located on 
road 48, where he resided until his death in 1852. One of his sons, George 
W., now occupies ihc old homstead, and is extensively engaged in farming. 
Horatio D. Crane, now residing on road 12, is the son of Orrin Crane, 
who settled in Jericho from Orange County, Vt., about 1830. His sister, Lucy, 
is the wife of John Johnson, residing on road 23. His brother, Charles M., 
and sister, Lydia E., reside in Los Angelos, Cal. 

Peltiah Bliss, from New Hampshire, settled in Essex previous to 1800, re- 
maining until 1830, when he removed to this town, and died here in 1876. 
Six of his children survive him, four in this town, as follows : Clement P., 
on road 4 ; Clarissa (Mrs. A. Stevens) ; George J., on road 22 ; and John, 
on road 12. 

John Patten located in the southern part of the town, about forty-five years 
ago, and died here in 1875. Of his children, John P., George W., James, and 
Louisa (Mrs. J. M. Chapman), now reside here. George W. Patten's mother, 
daughter of Ozeb Brewster, one of the earliest settlers in Richmond, now 
resides with him, aged 84 years. 

Thomas Northrop settled in Georgia, Franklin County, in 181 7, and subse- 
quently, at a later day, came to this town, locating where he now resides, at 
Williston village. Mr. Northrop was married in 1822, has had a family of four 
children, two of whom are now living, and has led a happy married Hfe of 
nearly sixty-one years, being now eighty-six years of age, and his wife eighty- 
two years old. 

Charles Keefc, from Montreal, located in Richmond diuring the year 1838, 
and after a few years' residence there removed to Jericho, and finally came to 
this town, locating on road 24, upon the farm now owned by his widow, and 



TOWN OF WILLISTON. ^256 



son Andrew. He died March 9, 1873, aged sixty-three years. His sons, 
Jaroes and Charles, reside upon the farm. 

Eldad Taylor, from Sunderland, Vt., came to Williston in March, 1786, and 
died here in 1796, aged sixty-three years, leaving a family of eleven children. 
They married and intermarried with the people of Williston until the Taylor 
family became the most numerous in the township. Death, removals, and 
intermarriage, however, has left not one of that name in the town, though 
there are descendants by intermarriage, among whom are members of the Fay 
family, one of the oldest and most venerated in the State. The first of the 
Fay family in this country was John, who emigrated from England to Massa- 
chusetts at an early date. Several of his sons subsequently removed to Ben- 
nington, and thence spread through the State. His grandson, Jonas, is well 
known through his decided stand with the Green Mountain Boys, and his is, 
perhaps, the most prominent name in history of any of the family, though 
several are noted, one of whom, John, lost his life at the battle of Benning- 
ton, in the contest for American Independence. The representatives of the 
family in Williston are Alfred C, Daniel B., Julia R., and Roswell B., with 
their families. 

R. D. Munson, residing on road 24, has made himself quite noted by the 
invention and construction of a very novel and singular piece of mechanism, 
a clock and universal time indicator, called the musical, callendar and union 
clock. It is a very ingenious and even wonderful piece of mechanism. 

The Congregational Churchy located at Williston village, was organized Jan- 
uary 23, 1800, with sixteen members, and Rev. Aaron C. Collins was installed 
as its first pastor, January 29, of the same year. In 18 13, the church was 
re-organized, as the only means of eliminating certain heresies which had 
crept in, and Rev. James Johnson became its pastor. The present church 
edifice was erected in 1832, and rebuilt in i860. Rev. Franklin W. Olmsted 
is the present pastor of the society. 

Thi Methodist Episcopal Churchy also located at the village, was organ- 
ized in 1800. Rev. Stephen Randall was the first pastor. The present 
house of worship was erected in 1843, and rebuilt in 1868. It will accom- 
modate 500 persons, and is valued at $2,000. The society now has ninety 
members, with Rev. Robert W. Smith pastor. 

The Universalist Society^ located at the village, was organized in February, 
1844, with fifty-one members. Rev. Eli Ballou was the first pastor. Their 
church building was commenced in 1859, and dedicated in i860, a neat, 
brick structure. Miss Myra Kinsbury is the present acting pastor of the 
society. 



i«-^ 



256^ 



CENSUS TABLE. 





si 




OO^^N^^O"^ t>.%0 ^^0 ^ fO 0^ «0 « 


NO 


• 






m 

O 

00 


r>.N t>.^N M fO«00 0^0 ONvO O^ fO «0 ^ 


•■ 


• 




NO fO *0 ^ — *O00 NOOWQ^O ^MfO 


00 






•S^*k^«^ «^#s«^«^ ^9^^* 


1 


•^i 




00 


MM^M*i4 »^C<IMI^ M»«M 


« 


1 




•^ ! 


M 


"* 


5 "^ 




roi 






►- O^ r>. O •-* N «* 


•t>.NONO«^«^*Ot^»-« 1 









QO 


i s. 


« MOO «Om cir>.vO >ONO *- On On *- lO eo ^ 


00 






• 1 


t^ fO ^ On O »O00 t^O «0«t>.w>0 W ^ 


•^ 




o 

^ 


1 "2^ 


»«*k«k#^V\ ^v^^^ ^^^ 


< 


K ■ 




00 


^MfOMM lidCIMM MMM 


VO 






»4 


^ 


re 








» 












»o • 


«OOn^nONNO^«OO00 • 


« t>» ^ On 


^ 








• 

o 

NO 


"^ • 


*^00 ^O OvOOO Or^ • 


« fO e<^ t^ 


t>.. 




^ 


NO . 


r>.«o0CNt^00NOON^«- 


•1 NO N ^ 


^ 






^1* 




V\^*k^^ ^ffSV^Vk, 


»« «^ v^ 


^ 




^ 
*<•* 


00 




f^ pm fry ^ mm mMMM 


^ ^ M 


00 







^ 


^m 








CI 




«s 












00 




<5 
00 


1 










00 






N 


io^u->N'«}'iot>.^cor>. • 


t^ ONOO ON 


'^ ^ 




• 

o 


O • 


00 fO t^ >o f^oo to »o »o »o • 


« On »0\0 


to ^ 






vO • 


mvO lOOOOOOOO-V^N 


•* to ^vO 





.J; 








r«i«\^»»>«>^ »>.«>^«\»«.- 


w^ ^ 9- 


» 




00 




r>.iMMwi- pm t* ^ ^ 


»i« M M 


ON c 




M 




-*- 




r» 




i 


Vi 




O - 


— O On ^ W ^ ^nO ^ On • 


^ — w ^ 


NO 


1 


•^ 


S 


• 


r>. . 


r>.M cowoo ^00 ^o »ooo . 


N ^ 10 to 





^> 


••• 


Tf . 


N so t^OC NO On NO ^ O O • 


.i^ rf ro »0 


NO 


• a> 


■ 






^»*k»^#S »k^^^. 


^ #>. ^ 


« 


10 ^" 


M 


00 




y^ t^ mm p^ mm mMMM 


»M M ^ 


CI 


r^ »w 


H 


M 








• 


« 




CI 




y\ 




M • 


NO N On ^ On ON ^ 


On «0 • 


10 M 00 


n 


3 


• 

o 


u-> « 


NOOONONONtOOON « 


rO to On 





s t5 




"^l- - 


' N t>» T^NO vO OnvO « m w 


M M NO 


CI 


^ 5 ** 




• — *. 




.Vi«#\«^*k^ »^*\*»«^, 


, ^ ^ »• 


« 


P) 




00 




tTj mm pm mm mm ^ ^ pm mm 


mm pm mm 


ka 


03 


s 


mm 








CI 


1 *- a 
1 <u ^ 


J 






VO • 


' ^ NO O ON N M CNNO ^nO • 


eo tONO 


to "i: c 


41 


8 


• 

o 

CI 


O • 


• »-NNO00e<^fO'-'^MfO « 


« ro N ^ 


^ **- 


^ 


<s 


to « 


M ioOnO e'it^N r>.0 On • 


M \0 C« 


^ -5 


Ef 




00 


On ■ 


■ 6 


mm H« M M M k^ 

f 


mm m* 


1- en ^ 
- g- 






On r>. r>.00 ^ »ooo to t>. • 


00 t>. to 


5^ ^ S- 


(Q 


<«aa 


• 

o 


'^ ' 


« ONt>»iO»OfO>-'00 ^ fOOO 


«« O" 00 


« 


N 


-vOnOnO OnN «0« ioOnOn • 




'^ ^ .^ 


u 


5»i 


00 

1-4 




mm mm mm mm mm 


M ►- 


n 


5t 












-O .= 


f^ 


;5 












-m m^ 


■ 




On 


. lo « r>. On CO u-,00 NO 00 fO ' 


to M 00 NO 




(Q 


• 

o 
o 

00 


tea 


>mmfO-rttir^Ot*0O'-'t* 


vO « "^ rO 


»^ 


•00^•«Ol^ON^t>•t>•r>.t>• < 


M NO 00 


rO .-^ **- 


^ 


8 




mm 




d; tj 

1^ JO 

mm -^ 


H 


^ 




00 


' N~ io t> 








.^ G 







• ^ ^ r>. ^ M 


Ov 


. t>. to ro « 


to ^ .= 


•*«» 

**>^ 


• 


00 


> try rn try in lOO 00 00 


00 


• ti->NO nO t^ 






ON 

M 




• fONO M ro ^ •-• ro N 


«o 


'^ 




••J* 














_ " to 


T 








































' -J S 




<»<i 








































*- -O 










































'-» C 




^ 












































i 








































V mm 










































.'T ♦- 












































f "5 




00 








































i-i 




e\ • 


c/5 






































i JZ « 

4-» > 




of tin 
Town 


O 


























' c 
c 


i 










on in 
of se 




opulcUion 
in each 


H 


c 
o 


0, 

1- 

c 
C 


! c 

) 4-1 


u 


(/I 


X 


> 1- 

s 




*-> 

C 
•5 


1 

< 



JC 

« 


c 
c 


. C 
' 

1 


OJ 

c 
.a 


to ' 

Is 

,£5 «J 




\m 


> d 
. 


mm* 

a 

•4-1 

c 


t Populati 
• An error 




^ 




'o 

pq 


1 

PC 


1 T 

Ipq 


'o 


4J 


a: 


u 

\m 




'(2 


C/3 


c 
c/: 


1 C 

> 4J 
IC/] 




03 


r:2 


e- 





BUSINESS DIRECTORY 



G HITTENDEN COUNTY. 






is amnged as follows : — 
Name of individual or firm. 
Postoffice address in parenthesis. 

^Tbe figures following the letter r indicate the number of the road on which the party resides, and will 

hf reference to the map in the fore part of this work Where no road number is given the party is 
to reside in the village. 
Boaness or occupation. 
'^— A star (*) placed before a name indicates an advertiser in this work. 

Fqpircs placed after the occupation of a farmer indicate the number of acres owned or leased. 
Names in CAPITALS are those who have kindly given their patronage to the work, and without 
its publication would have been impossible. 
.Fbr aMtiiional natnes^ eorreeiUnts and changes^ aeifErrato. 

MBKViATiONS. — Ab., above ; ave., avenue ; bds., boards ; bet., between ; cor., comer : £., east ; b., 
; 1., loC ; manuf., manufocturer : N., north ; n., near ; opp., opposite ; prop., proprietor; reg., reg- 
as applied to live stock ; S., south ; s., side ; W., west. 

wotd«/rMlis implied. 



BOLTON. 



Patrick, (West Bolton) r 2, farmer loo. 
ley Samuel, (Jonesville) r 10, laborer. 

liinsoD Julius Henry, (West Bolton) r 4, dairy 7 cows, and farmer, leases 
of WiUiam Gordon 150. 
n Richard, (West Bolton) r 6, blacksmith. 
is Oliver, (Jonesville) r 16, physician. 
^:NNETT MARCIUS a., (West Bolton) r 4, farmer 50. 
ItRY CHARLES M., (Jonesville) r 6, farmer 130. 
Robert C, (Jonesville) r 6, farmer 200. 
Orrin, (Jonesville) r 16, laborer. *• 
^HOP HENRY H., (Bolton) r 11, prop, of Bishop Hotel, farmer, leases 

of Samuel Bishop 400. 
^HOP HOTEL, (Bolton) r 1 1, H. H. Bishop, prop. 
^ lop Samuel, (Bolton^ r 11, retired merchant, owns farm of 400. 
onpon William A., (West Bolton) r 6, dairy 10 cows, sugar orchard, and 
&rmer 300. 

19 





{ 



258 TOWN OF BOLTON. 



Brown Joseph, (West Bolton) r 6, laborer. 

Burke Peter E., (Bolton) r 13, section hand, C. V. R. R. 

Burnes Ambrosia Mrs., (West Bolton) r 4, h and lot, leases of Wm. Gordon. 

Burns Heman, (West Bolton) r 3, blacksmith. 

Casey Matthew, (West Bolton) r i, farmer 100. 

Chase Aurora L. Mrs., widow of Cassius, r 4, h and lot. 

Chase Cassius N., (West Bolton) r i, shoemaker. 

Chase George S., (West Bolton) r i, teamster. 

Church Truman T., (West Bolton) r 4, farmer 75. 

Clough Lyman J., (Jonesville) r 6, farmer 100. 

Colby James A., (Bolton) r 7, farmer 100. 

COLTON EDWIN N., (West Bolton) r 2, lumber and shingles, fanner 50, 

and 800 wood land. 
Corven John, (Jonesville) r 6, farmer 200. 
Cox Andrew L., (Jonesville) r 18, farmer, leases of Ira Sayles, of Jonesville, 

200. 
Davis Eugene, (W. Bolton) r 2, farm laborer. 
Davis Perley J., (North Duxbury, Wash. Co.) r 13, farmer 100. 
DEAVITT SAMUEL, (Jonesville) r 16, farmer 200. 
Delhanty Patrick, (North Duxbury, Wash. Co.) r 13, fanner 40. 
Dower Edmond W., (Jonesville) r 19, sugar orchard 300 trees, fanner 140. 
Drinkwine John, (Jonesville) r 15, works for C. V. R. R. 
Eaton Henry, (Bolton) off r 15, farmer, leases of Capt. Gleason 1,200. 
Famsworth Lyman D., (West Bolton) r 2, dairy 8 cows, farmer 90, and 100 

mountain land. 
Fay Caroline Mrs., (West Bolton) r 3, widow of Orange L., farmer 125. 
Field Sarah Mrs., (West Bolton) widow of E. W., r 2, farm 80. 
Flury Fred, (Bolton) r 17, laborer. 
GILE LOREN J., (West Bolton) r 4, manuf. lumber and shingles, owns 

wood lot no. 
GILE NATHAN, (West Bolton) r 3, lumber, packing boxes and furniture. 
GILE RILY W., (W. Bolton) r 2, manuf. of lumber, cheese boxes and but- 
ter tubs, farmer 30, and mountain lot 50. 
Gill George W., (Bolton) r 7, farmer 4. 
Gill Henry N., (Bolton) r 11, laborer. 
GiUitt L. Henderson, (Jonesville) r 15, dairy 13 cows, farmer 100, and t 

mountain land. 
Gillitt Polly Mrs., (Jonesville) r 15, widow of Heman, fanner 17. 
Goodwin Joseph, (Bolton) r 7, laborer. 
Gordon William, (West Bolton) r 4, farmer 45. 
Gregory Edward H., (Jonesville) r 10, farmer 200. 
Gregory John, (Jonesville) r 6, farmer 75. 
Guyette Angeline Mrs., (West Bolton) r i, farmer 50. 
HALL EDWIN, (West Bolton) r 4, mail carrier from West Bolton to Jon 

ville, mason, and farmer i. 
HALL FRED W., (West Bolton) r 3, postmaster, superintendent of schoc= 

3rd selectman, dealer in dry goods, groceries, boots and shoes, hard 

medicines, etc 
HALL SMITH A., (West Bolton) r 2, cooper. 
HAPGOOD GEORGE F., (Jonesville) r 9^, son of John. 
HAPGOOD JOHN, (Jonesville) r 9^, overseer of the poor, diary 14 

and farmer 225. • ^ 

Harrigon David, (Bolton) r 1 1, section hand C. V. R. R. 



TOWN OF BOLTON. 259 



Harrington John, (Bolton) r 12, peddler. 

Harris Rufus, (West Bolton) r 2, farmer 85. 

Hasford Orwell J., (West Bolton) r 4, farmer. 

Hayden Martin V. B., (Bolton) r 12, dairy 11 cows, farmer 175. 

Hill Orin W., (Bolton) r 7, carriage maker with Chas. Perkins. 

Hurlbert William L., (West Bolton) r 6, retired preacher. 

JENNINGS ORIN Z., (Jonesville) r 19, farmer 40. 

Jones Byron, (West Bolton) r 3, laborer. 

Jones Stephen S., (West Bolton) r 6, farmer 30. 

Kelley Lawrence, (West Bolton) r 5, farmer 200, leases of E. F. Whitcomb, 

of Essex, Vt. 
Lackyard Mitchel, (West Bolton) r 2, dealer in country produce. 
Lancor Frank, (West Bolton) r 9, farmer. 100. 
LARNED CHARLIE G., (Bolton) r 7, (Spaulding & Lamed.) 
Lewis Joseph, (Bolton) r 14, laborer. 
Lewis Joseph 2d, (Bolton) r 14, farmer. 

Locke Parran C, (West Bolton) r 9, farmer, leases of J. H. Smith. 
Maltby Loton H., (West Bolton) r 4, farmer 50, 100 acres wood land in 

Jericho. 
May Harmon J., (Bolton) r 13, laborer. 
May Horace, (West Bolton) r 2, farmer 100. 
May John v., (Bolton) r 13, laborer. 
McCabe James, (Bolton) 2 7, section hand C. V. R. R., farmer, leases of 

D. Tracy 100. 
McMannis William, (Bolton) r 15, laborer. 

McGinnis Thomas, (Bolton) r 1 1, dairy 35 cows, farmer 300, and 350 wood-lot 
Morcy Francis W., (Bolton) r 7, laborer. 
Morgan Oscar J., (West Bolton) r 6, teamster, and farmer 10. 
Morse Charles G., (Bolton) r 7, lumberman. 
Morse Edgar, (North Duxbury, Wash. Co.) r 12, dairy 10 cows, and farmer, 

275 mountain land, and leases of Pinneo estate 220. 
Morse George B., (Bolton) r 12^ lumberman. 
Morse George P., (Bolton) r 11, lumberman. 
MORSE RUSSELL J.,(North Duxbury, Wash. Co.)r 13, lister, school director, 

dairy 10 cows, and farmer 130. 
Pease Chester, (West Bolton) r i, stone mason. 
Pease George A., (West Bolton) r 2, sawyer. 
Pease Smith N., (West Bolton) r 6, dairy 12 cows, and farmer 121. 
PERKINS CHARLES, (Bolton) r 7, blacksmith and carriage maker. 
PERRY ALHANAN, (West Bolton) r 3, dairy 10 cows, and farmer for Mrs. 

C. Fay. 
Perry Lucy, (North Duxbury, Wash. Co.) r 12, resident with Sally Pinneo. 
pMlips John, (Bolton) r i r, 2d selectman, justice of peace, dairy 35 cows, 

fanner 200. 
ptiillips Thomas, (West Bolton) r 6, farmer 75. 

pinneo Sally Miss, (North Duxbury, Wash. Co.) r 12, lives on the old home- 
stead. 
Plant Paul, (Bolton) r 11, laborer. 

P-RESTON NOAH, (Jonesville) r 16, dairy 16 cows, and farmer 232. 
William, (Jonesville) r r6, son of Noah. 
»on Michael, (North Duxbury, Wash. Co.) r 13, railroad section hand. 




THE BLUE STORE, 85 OHUBOH ST., BURLINGTON, VT. 
SMITH & PEASE. FASHIONABLE CLOTHIERS. 



CHITTENDEN COWNTY DIRECTORY. 

ANDRE^^ BOUTIN, 



WHOLESALE DEALER IS 



LADIES' FOpiSHlNG^, 

READY-MADE, 

S*kndyGrOod,S,!E*ar^, 
and Jj^otioi)^, 
Res. m, il moA 

fDllllliTDIinEDHFliY,! 

Carriage spokeS 

AHD /XEHELVES, 

SLED8EHAin)LES,&C., 

WHOLESALE AKD RETAIL. 




eiass fare, Vail Faper, 

SIITE8 WlIE, CDTIERT, 
"VTOODBUI 
and 
TZXTT77AEUB. 

D Waleu. D. F. Hinu, C. B. UAODMia. 

WSLKER, HHTCH & CO.. 



BUBLIKOTON, VESMONT. 

ffiLKEB, OATCH S CO.. AGESTS. BtKU-VOToK. 



^-&nd f«r Prim Ltet. 

MUlrat tyinofi^i. I'r. 



AlM, UuiAamn of 

CHURCH, STOKE, 

OFFICE FIXTCHES^ 

Verieei'ed Doof^, 

CABINET WORK,-. 

DOOHS, SASI, BLIKIIS. BIACIErS. U. 



TOWN OF BOLTON. 261 



Raynolds Samuel R., (Jonesville) r 18, laborer. 

Raymond Joseph, (Jonesville) r 18, farmer. 

Ross Frank, (West Bolton) r 9, carpenter and joiner. 

Ryan John, (Bolton) r 11, section boss C. V. R. R., owns h and lot and wood 

lot 20 acres. 
RYAN WILLIAM, (Bolton) r 13, farmer 123. 
SABENS BROS., (Jonesville) r 6, (Ransom J., Elisha B., Elijah H., Allen 

M.,) dairy 15 cows, and farmer 340, mountain lot 150. 
SABENS JOHN C, (West Bolton) r 4 cor 3, general merchant. 
SABENS RANSOM J., (Jonesville) r 6, (Sabens Bros.) 
SABINS CHARLES F., (Bolton) r 15, brakeman on C. V. R. R., highway 

surveyor, farmer 41. 
Simmons Fred H., (Bolton) r 7, sawyer in C. P. & G. W. Stevens' mill. 
Smith Joseph H., (West Bolton) r 5, dairy 8 cows, and farmer 100. 
SMITH HENRY M., (Jonesville) r 16, dairy 11 cows, and farmer 200, 

leases of John A. Deavill, of St. Albans, Vt. 
SPAULDING LEONARD G., (Bolton) r 7, (Spaulding & Lamed.) 
SPAULDING & LARNED, (Bolton) r 7, (Leonard G. Spaulding and 

Charlie G. Larned,) prop's, steam saw-milL 
Stackpole Charles H., (St. Albans, Franklin Co.) r 13, brakeman C. V. R. R. 
Stackpole Henry R., (North Duxbury, Wash. Co.) r 13, farmer 150. 
Stevens Charles C, (Bolton) r 13, dairy 45 cows, and farmer, leases of L. D. 

Whitcomb 600. 
STEVENS C. P. & G. W., (Bolton) r 7, (Charles P., of Troy, Vt, and Geo. 

W.,) saw-mill, hard wood and spruce lumber and clapboards, 1,600 acres 

of wood land. 
STEVENS GEORGE W., (Bolton) r 7, (C. P. &. G. W.,) farmer 19. 
STOCKWELL ELEAZER, (Jonesville) r 18, dairy 10 cows, and farmer 235. 
Stockwell Norman, (Jonesville) r 18, farmer, son of Eleazer. 
STOCKWELL SYLVESTER, (Jonesville) r 18, dairy 14 cows, and farmer 

250. 
Streetcr Jasper, (West Bolton) r3, manuf. of shingles. 
STREETER LOREN, (West Bolton) r i, laborer. 
Streetcr Nathan, (West Bolton) r 3, laborer. 
Strceter Wallace, (West Bolton) r 4, butcher, and farmer 30. 
Swasey Dudley, (North Duxbury, Wash. Co.) r 13, retired farmer. 
Tobin James, (Bolton) r 7, farmer 50. 
Tomlinson George W., (West Bolton) r i, laborer. 
T*omlinson Harley E., (West Bolton) r 9, farmer 60. 
T^omlinson Hollis P., (West Bolton) r 3, carpenter and joiner, millwright. 
Tomlinson JERROD G., (West Bolton) r i, manuf. butter tubs, cheese 

boxes, measures, bail boxes, etc. 
I^omlinson Samuel Chase, (West Bolton) r 2, carpenter and joiner, and 

farmer 25. 
"X^OWERS perry L., (West Bolton) r 2, local agent for spring tooth 

harrow, dairy 15 cows, and farmer 165. 
JRACY DANIEL W.. (Bolton) r 7, manuf. common lumber, shingles, and 

six>ol stock, and farmer 140, and 250 mountain land. 
xacy Israel, (Bolton) r 7, laborer, 
'xombley Joseph, (Jonesville) rig, laborer. 
^ebster Henry B., (West Bolton) r i, laborer. 

querading Parties will find a large line of Masks, 

, &c., at H. E. Sails', Burlington, Vt. 




262 BURLINGTON CITY —TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 



Webster Pliny F., (West Bolton) r :, laborer. 

Whalan Cornelius, (Jonesville) r ii, dairy 27 cows, and farmer 290. 

Whalan James, (West Bolton) r 4, fanner 75. 

Whalan Thomas B., (Jonesville) r 11, laborer. 

WHALEN JAMES F., (Bolton) r 11, agent Central Vermont Railroad, U. 

S. & Canada express, telegraph operator, postmaster, town derk and 

treasurer. 
Wheeler Ephraim W., (West Bolton) r 2, laborer. 
WHITE WALTER H., (North Duxbury, Wash. Co.)r 12, farmer 60, momi- 

tain land 50. 
White William, (West Bolton) r i, laborer. 
White William, (West Bolton) r 5, laborer. 
Winn John, (Jonesville) r 19, laborer. 
Woodward Ruel, (^Bolton) r 11, laborer. 
Woodward William, (Bolton) r 13, laborer. 
Woodworth Byron P., (West Bolton) r 2, cooper. 
Wood worth Charles H., (West Bolton) r i, cooper. 
WOODWORTH G., (West Bolton) works in Jericho cheese factory. 
Woodworth Irving, (West Bolton) r 2, laborer. 
Woodworth Joel, (West Bolton) r 2, laborer. 



BURLINGTON CITY. 

( This list will be found preceding the Classified Business Directory.') 



CHARLOTTE. 

{For AbbretiatioTUf^ dr., tee page 257.) 

Abre Ambrose, (Charlotte) r 14, farm laborer. 

Alexander Ezra, (Charlotte) interested with his son Harrison in fruit culi 

ALEXANDER HARRISON D., (Charlotte) r 29, vineyard, fruit gro 

and farmer 24. 
•ALEXANDER ORSON H., (Charlotte) r 20, originator and dealer in choi 

cereals and potatoes. [Adv. on page 300.] 
Ash Ambrose, (East Charlotte) r 55, farmer 11^. 
Ash Basil, (East Charlotte) r 54, farmer ij. 
Ash Daniel, (Charlotte) r 37, farm laborer. 
Ash Henry, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 57, carpenter and joiner, and fi 

26. 
BACON LEWIS, (Shelburne) r 7, ship carpenter and house joiner. 
Bacon Moses, (Shelburne) r 7, carpenter and joiner. 
BALL JAMES M.. (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 57, dairy 10 cows, 

farmer 106. 
BARBER ABEL N., (Charlotte) r 34, dairy 18 cows, and former, coca; 

and works farm of Lewis Barber 300. 
Barber Lewis, (Charlotte) r 34, farmer 300. 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 263 



Barton Ann Mrs., (Charlotte) off r 35, widow of William, farm 30. 
Barton James, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 55 i, farmer 40. 
Barton J. Gilbert, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 61, farmer 57. 
BARTON JOSEPH, (Charlotte) r 32, Sute Treasurer Grand Lodge of 

Good Templars, overseer of town poor, dairy 30 cows, farmer 250. 
Barton William P., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 61, farmer. 
Barton Philo P., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) h and 3 J acres in Ferrisburgh, 

boards with Mrs. Ann and Miss Laura Barton. 
Barton Laura Miss, (Charlotte) off r 35, farm 77. 
Beers Anna Mrs., (East Charlotte) Baptist Comers, widow of Benjamin, 

h and 6 acres. 
Beers Cyrus, (East Charlotte) cor r 10 and 1 1, selectman, breeder of Durham 

grade cattle, and farmer 350. 
BEERS E. BEECH, (East Charlotte) cor r 10 and 11, farmer, with his 

father, Cyrus. 
BEERS RANSOM C, (East Charlotte) r 24, dairy 10 cows, and farmer 220. 
Benson Mira A. Mrs., (Shelbume) r 1 2, widow of Henry, lives with her father, 

Heman A. Scofield. 
Besnette Abram, (Charlotte) r 14, farm laborer. 
Billings Charles, (East Charlotte) r 25, farm laborer. 
Bissette Joseph, (Charlotte) r 13, painter and paper hanger. 
Bissette Theophilus, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.,) r 50, farmer, owns 25 

acres in Ferrisburgh, and works on shares 50 for Albert Marble. 
Borrie Joseph, (Charlotte) r 19, farmer 5. 
Borrie Joseph, Jr., (Charlotte) r 19, farm laborer. 
Boughton Jennette B. Miss, (Charlotte) r 19, farm 17. 
BRADLEY NORMAN W., (East Charlotte) r 24, justice of the peace, 

dairy 10 cows, farmer 125, and wood lot 5. 
BRADLEY W. IRVING, (Charlotte) r 32, dairy 30 cows, works on shares 

farm of Joseph Barton 240. 
Brady frank F., (Charlotte) Four Comers, dealer in butter, poultry 

and live stock. 
fiULLIS ALVIN, (East Charlotte) r 41, farm laborer. 
-&ushy Peter, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 56, farmer 25. 
fiYINGTON ALFRED A., (Charlotte) r 13, justice of the peace, dairy 35 

cows, and farmer 390. 
^yington Charles M., (Charlotte) r 13, farmer, son of Alfred A. 
d^arpenter Harriet Mrs., (Charlotte) r 46, widow of Heman, aged 82. 
d^arpenter Henry J., (Charlotte) r 46, agent for Buffalo Fertilizer Co., dairy 

33 cows, and farmer 380. 
^aiT>cnter Joseph, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 56, stone mason, and 

farmer 5. 
d:HAPMAN THOMAS D., (Charlotte) r 19, assistant county judge, dairy 

15 cows, and farmer 150. 
C::LARK BRAYTON J., (East Charlotte) r 40, dairy 20 cows, and farmer 

85, and leases of Mrs. Elvira and Miss Hattie Clark 200. 
CI:lARK DeESTAING, (Charlotte) r i, breeder of Jersey cattle, dairy 20 

cows, and farmer 176. 
^^lark Elvira Mrs., (East Charlotte) r 40, farm 102. 
^[Hark George A., (East Charlotte) r 26, farmer 120. 
~ Hattie Miss, (East Charlotte) r 40, farm 88. 



^3LOTHINa FOR MENS', YOUTHS' AND BOYS' WEAR. 
Low Prices at the Blue Store, Burlington, Vt 



Uieaveiana iseison a., \^r.2LSi i^nanoitc; * ^, 

H. Sherman 300. 
COMSTOCK HENRY W., (Charlotte) r 34, 40 sheep, dairy 19 eo..., 

farmer, leases of Luther R. Hubbell 350. 
Converse £. Hudson, (East Charlotte) r 26, son of Mrs. Lydia A. Hicks, 

farmer. 
COOK CHARLES B., (Charlotte) r 18, breeder of Atwood Merino sheep, 

reg., dairy 12 cows, and farmer 170. 
Cross William (Charlotte) r 20, farmer, h and lot. 
CUISON ADOLPHUS J., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 48, dairy 8 cows, 

and farmer, leases the estate of George Thorp 160, owns h and lot and 

16 acres in Ferrisburgh. 
Curavoo Joseph, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 37, farm laborer. 
Daily John, (Charlotte) r34, farm laborer. 
Daley James, (East Charlotte) Baptist Comers, clerk of the Catholic parish 

of Charlotte, and farmer. 
Dart David M., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 52, farmer 105. 
DEAN JOSHUA M., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 56, justice of the peace, 

dairy 30 cows, and farmer 260. 
Dean J. Richard, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 56, surveyor, and farmer. 
Deyette Fred A., (Charlotte) r 13, farm laborer. 
Deyette Edward, (Charlotte) r 13, son of Joseph, farm laborer. 
Deyette Joseph, (Charlotte) r 13, farmer, works on shares for Dea. E. H. 

Wheeler 200. 
DODGE WILLIAM H., (Charlotte) station agent V. C. R. R., express 

agent, and W. U. telegraph operator, bds. with Hiram H. Jones. 
Dorr Henry, (Charlotte) cor r 20 and 29, prop, hotel, and dealer in farm pro- 
duce. 
Douglass Abram, (East Charlotte) r 54, farmer 4. 
DUFFY DENNIS, (Charlotte) r 29, hay presser. 
Duffy John, (Charlotte) r 29, mason. 

EAGAN EDWARD, (Charlotte) r 31, overseer of section on V. C. R. R. 
EAGAN JOHN, (Charlotte) r 32, section laborer on V. C. R. R. 
EAGAN THOMAS, (Charlotte) r 47, farmer, superintendent of Charlotte 

poor farm and poor house, owns farm 5 on r 30. 
Eastman Frank L., (East Charlotte) cor. r 10 and 35, fanner, works oi 

shares for Alfred W. Sherman 350. 
Eaton Arthur J., (Charlotte) McNeil's Ferry, agent for Watertown springy 

wagon, farmer, occupies Mrs. Mary E. Eaton's farm of 90. 
EATON MARY E. MRS., (Charlotte) McNeil's Ferry, widow of Luther,. 

R. farmer 90. 
EDGERTON ALANSON, (Charlotte) r 29, (A. Edgerton & Son) contractor 

and builder. 
Edgerton George E., (Charlotte) r 29, mason. 
EDGERTON HARLY D., (Charlotte) r 29, (A. Edgerton & Son) fruit 

grower and farmer. 
EDGERTON MARGARET J. Mrs., (Charlotte) r 20, widow of Edgar, 

farm 4. 

* ' ^ ^hhie Miss, (Charlotte) r 20, teacher of public schools. 

"^^^arlotte) r 29, (Alanson and Harley D.) fruit 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 265 



EDWARDS AVERY W., (Shelbume) r 6, dealer in live stock and poultry, 

and fanner, leases of Frank Van Vliet no. 
Eno Byron R., (Charlotte) r 28, breeder of grade Jersey cattle, dairy 

25 cows, farmer, works on shares for Mrs. Olive R. VVooster 210, and 

owns farm in New Haven 130. 
Eno Charlton, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 57, son of Rufus, farmer. 
Eno Martin W., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) cor r 57 and 58, son of Rufus, 

fanner. 
ENO RUFUS, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 57, dairy 2b cows, and farmer 

180. 
Fanner Gilbert, (East Charlotte) r 25, farm laborer. 
Farrell James, (Shelbume,) r 4, farmer 10. 
FIELD CASSIUS W., (Charlotte) r 47, breeder of Alderney cattle, dairy 

20 cows, and farmer 200. 
Field Edmund H., (East Charlotte) r 38, dairy 10 cows, and farmer 170. 
Fields Frank, (Charlotte) r 19, farm laborer. 
Flemming Michael, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 36, farmer 10. 
Fonda Joseph, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 61, farmer 20, and works 52 

acres for Mrs. Matilda Fonda. 
Fonda Matilda Mrs., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 61, farm 52. 
Fonda Roxana Mrs., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 62, farm 15. 
Foot Harriet S., (East Charlotte) Baptist Corners, farm 12. 
Foot Jerusha A Miss, (East Charlotte) Baptist Comers, farm 12. 
Footc Charles P., (Charlotte) r 29, farmer 390. 
Foote Darwin O., (East Charlotte) r 27, son of George, farmer. 
•FOOTE GEORGE A., (East Charlotte) r 27, 3d selectman, agent for 

Warrior mower, Randall hanow, Bramer reaper and cultivator, and 

American plows, also owns an interest in general merchandise store at 

Baptist Comers, dairy 15 cows, and farmer 260. [Adv. on page 296.] 
Footc Henry A., (East Charlotte) bds with Mrs. Lydia A. Hicks. 
Foote Wilbur, (Charlotte) r 29, 100 sheep^ dairy 24gows, and farmer, works on 

shares 390 for his father, Charles P. 
Foote William, (Charlotte) r 29, dairy 12 cows, and farmer 104. 
Garen Moses, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 62, farm laborer. 
Gary Euzeb, (East Charlotte) r 51, farm laborer. 

Gernnen Israel, (East Charlotte) r 54, operative in woolen mill at Ferrisburgh. 
Germen Jacob, (Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 54, farmer, works on shares for Carlos 

Martin, of Ferrisburgh. 
^emiain Louis, (East Charlotte) r 11, farm laborer. 
Villette Ammi F., (Charlotte) Four Corners, mail carrier. 
illette David C, (Charlotte) r 29, justice of the peace, and farmer. 
ordon Joseph, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 53, farm laborer. 
ove Moses F., (East Charlotte) r 25, dairy 10 cows, and farmer 170. 
dswold Naomi Miss, (Shelburne) r 5, boards with John A Peterson. 
A.RRINGTON BENJAMIN, (Shelburne) cor r 2 and 14, farmer, leases of 

J. Newell 55. 
irt John, (East Charlotte) r 39, dairy 8 cows, and farmer 50. 
\ZARD DENNIS W., (Chariotte) Four Corners, justice of the peace, 

grand juror, and farmer 5, and owns with G. A. & F. J. Foote, on r 25, 

170 acres, 
zard Sarah N., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.)r58, widow of Oscar, farm 140. 

IE ''BOSS OLD FIVER" IS THE BEST f-DIME OIGAR 
OFFERED I Try them, at Sails', Burlington. 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY DIRECTORY. 



\ 



ijLMO ruamoiiiMiJi 

Sats, Caps, TniTilra, Bags, dko. 

BUFFALO AND WOLF ROBES A SPECIALTY. 

Ezchanse Block, Oor. Ohurch and Main Streete, 
BURLIlsrGTOM, - VEIRMOISTT. 

^^DAVID MITCHELL,J4_ 



-4 GOLD, SILVER, NICKEL, BRASS, AND OREOIDEK 



Mannfacturer of Harness and Carriage Trimmings of all kind*. . 

Citizens of Clilttenden. County ! 

I am prepared to Plate Table Koivas, Forks, SpoooB, Ic« Pitchem, Caatois, Com — 
mnnioD Hervicea, Chains, Watches, Jewelry, &c., and make them look andweara^ 
good as Bew. I reapectftilly invite those tmacqaainted with the pioceea at Fire Mi^ 
Elect ro-Flating to visit my Factory, oa Canal Street, Winooi 

OFFICE AT m. I. HAGER'S, COLLEGE STREET, 



BDRLIIGTOI, YT 




OHTJROH STREET, BURLINGTON. 



Special attention given to preserrlng 
the Natural Teeth. 



{gU, JilfR, ^lUigi, {itlgliil ml |allR.i 




TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 26/ 



Hewitt Lucy W. Mrs., (East Charlotte) r 40, widow of Pitt £., fann 240. 
HICKS LYDIA A. Mrs., (East Charlotte) r 26, dairy 20 cows, farm 173. 
Higby W. Wallace, (Charlotte) r 35, justice of the peace, town clerk, dairy 

25 cows, and farmer 184. 
Hill Bros., (Charlotte) r 20, manufacturers of sleighs and carriages, farm 20. 
Hill Frank R., (Charlotte) r 20, (HiU Bros.) 
HiU James N., (Charlotte) r 20, (HiU Bros.) 

HILL THOMAS C, (Charlotte) junction of r 14 and 15, dairy 12 cows, 
20 head of young cattle, 150 sheep, and farmer 400. 

Holmes Charles T., (Charlotte) r 15, (Wm. H. & C. T.,) farmer. 

HOLMES JOHN, (Charlotte) r 15, fruit grower, orchard of 100 acres, 5,000 
trees, farm 205. 

Holmes William H., (Charlotte) r 15, farmer (WiUiam H. & Charles T.) 

Holmes William H. & Charles T., (Charlotte) r 15, farmers 165. 

Holt Nelson F., (Charlotte) Four Comers, retired farmer, 12 acres. 

Hosford Dean^ (East Charlotte) r 38^ dairy 20 cows, and farmer 225. 

Hosford Ezra, (East Charlotte) r 10, dairy 9 cows, and farmer 100. 

•HOSFORD FRED H., (East Charlotte) r 41, practical botanist. [Adv. 
on page 296.] 

HOSFORD MYRON H., (East Charlotte) r 41, dairy 26 cows, and farmer 

275- 
Hosford William E., (East Charlotte) r 8, carpenter, and farmer 50. 

HUBBELL FAYETTE M., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 52, dairy 10 

cows, and farmer 83. 

HUBBELL LUTHER R., (Charlotte) Four Comers, 50 sheep, dairy 20 

cows, and farmer 300. 

Hubbell Ruth Mrs., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 44, farm 25. 

HUBBELL SOLOMON W., (Charlotte) Four Corners, retired farmer 156, 

aged 84. 

Humphrey Frances C. Mrs., (Charlotte) r 20, farm 3. 

Hutchins Carlton, (Charlotte) Four Corners, farmer i. 

Hutchins Maria Mrs., (Charlotte) Four Corners, boarding house. 

abbert George, (Charlotte) r 20, farm laborer. 

abbert Louis, (Charlotte) r 29, farm laborer. 

ACKMAN GEORGE D., (Shelbume) r 7, dairy 20 cows, and farmer, leases 

of Henry Roberts, of Burlington, 300. 

Jackman Samuel, (Shelbume) r 7, farmer. 

Jacobs Francis, (East Charlotte) r 10, farmer 3. 

James George W., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 61, dairy 10 cows, and 

farmer 103. 

Tohnson Sarah E. Mrs., (Charlotte) r 19, widow of George W., dressmaker. 

Tones Hiram H., (Charlotte) Four Corners, carpenter, h and lot. 

'ONES JOSEPH, (Charlotte) r 19, farmer 135. 

TONES SMITH, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) cor r 51 and 52, farmer in. 

udson Sarah M. Mrs., (Charlotte) r 13, widow of Andrew H., of Shelbume, 

dressmaker, h and i acre. 

bCeese Charles H., (Charlotte) r 19, dairyman and farmer, leases of L. D. 

Stone 445. 

KJEHOE JAMES P., (Charlotte) cor r 13 and 20, stone mason, farm 50 

on r 12. 

Kingsland Frederick, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 49, farm laborer, h and 

2 acres. 

X^acoy Alex., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 62, farm laborer. 



268 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 



Lacoy Edward, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 62, farm laborer. 
Lacoy Louis, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 62, farm laborer. 
Lacoy Louisa Mrs., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 62, h and 2 acresw 

La Flein , (Shelburne) farm laborer. 

LAKE DANIEL C, (Shelburne) r 5, ex-representative, dairy 30 cows, and 

farmer 260. 
Langdon William W., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 61, first selectman, 

dairy 17 cows, and farmer 140. 
Lapier Joseph, (Charlotte) r 29, farm laborer. 

Laprese Cloffie, (East Charlotte) r 10, carpenter and joiner, and farmer 5. 
Laprese William, (East Charlotte) r 10, farmer 15. 
Laramie George, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 62, farm laborer. 
Lavalette Joseph, (Shelburne) r 4, farmer. 
Lawrence John, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 53, farm laborer. 
Leavenworth Henry C, (East Charlotte) r 55, town lister, dairy 25 cows, and 

farmer 400. 
Leavenworth Mary E. Mrs., (East Charlotte) r 10, widow of Abel, farm 100. 
Lewis Carlisle, (Charlotte) r 28, breeder Ayrshire grade cattle, dairy 18 

cows, and farmer 170. 
Lewis Frank A., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 43, dairy 30 cows, and farmer, 

works on shares for O. C. Palmer 342. 
LEWIS JOHN A,, (East Charlotte) Baptist Corners, dairy 16 cows, and 

farmer, leases of Mrs. Alonzo Barker, of Shelburne, 230. 
Lisor Phillip, (East Charlotte) r 54, dairy 12 cows, and farmer 143. 
LISSOR WILLIAM, (East Charlotte) r 54, farmer 10. 
Lorraine William, (Charlotte) r 18, farm laborer, and dealer in fresh meats. 
Lyon Edward B., (Charlotte) r 20, general agent for pianos and organs. 
Marble Albert, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 50, farmer 50, aged S^. 
Martin Lucius B., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.)r 50, dairy 24 cows, and farmer ^^ cr 

340- 
MATTISON ALONZO, (Charlotte) r 29, painter and farm laborer. 

McDonnall Dennis, (East Charlotte) r 54, farmer 10. 

McGowan Alexander, (Charlotte) r 15, cooper and farm laborer. 

McGuire Patrick, (Shelburne) oft r 12, farmer 16. 

McNEIL CHARLES H., (Charlotte) McNeil's ferry, prop, of MonticeU*- .Mo 

House, and farmer 118. 
McNEIL FREDERICK K., (Charlotte) r 30, farmer, leases of his fathe^r -=Kr , 

James B. McNeil, 300. 
McNEIL HENRY, (Charlotte) r 19, dairy 10 cows, flock of 130 sheep, 

farmer 238. 
McNEIL JAMES B., (Charlotte) r 30, farmer 300. 
MEECH CHARLES E., (Charlotte) r 2. 
MEECH EDGAR, (Charlotte) r 2, dairy 15 cows, flock of 100 sheep, i 

head young cattle, and farmer 750. 
Miller James S., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 50, dairy 6 cows, £armer 10^ 

and wood lot in Monkton 18. 
Mills Francis, (East Charlotte) r 42, farm laborer. 
Minor John, (Charlotte) r 17, farmer 5. 
Munnet Julius, (Charlotte) r 35, farm laborer, 3^ acres. 
Munnet Mary Mrs., (Charlotte) r 35, dressmaker. 
Naramore John, (Shelburne) r 7, farmer 40. 
Neary John, (Charlotte) r 29, son of Michael, farmer. 
Neary Michael, (Charlotte) r 29, farmer 16. 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 269 

ELSON LEWIS, (Shelbume) r 6, ex-representative, dairy 30 cows, and 
fanner 300. 

•well Augustus, (Charlotte) cor r 2 and 14, aged 82, farmer 55. 

E WELL EDWIN R., (East Charlotte) r 24, dairy 12 cows, and farmer 
120, and leases of Miss Orphenia P. 60. 

ewell Orphenia P. Miss, (East Charlotte) r 24, farm 60. 

swton Miles W., (Charlotte) r 30, dairy 24 cows, farmer 50, and leases of 
his father, Roswell, 145. 

Bwton Roswell, (Charlotte) r 30, farmer 145. 

3tt Richard Rev., (Charlotte) r 13, supplying occasional vacant pulpits with- 
out pastoral charge, and leases of H. C. Leavenworth farm 20. 

jier Frank, (Charlotte) r 18, farm laborer, bds with C. B. Cook. 

wren Peter, (East Charlotte) r 39, farm laborer. 

ige Samuel S., (Charlotte) r 29, merchant. 

dmer Abel C, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r43, dairy 25 cows, and farmer 

336. 
timer Burley, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 57, blacksmith and wheelwnght. 
ilmer Henry A., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 56, grain thresher and farmer. 
\LMER HENRY B., (East Charlotte) r 10, dairy 20 cows, and farmer, 

leases of Charles E. Sherman, of New Jersey, 204, 
ilmer Horace, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 57, farmer. 
\LMER MAHALA Mrs., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 50, widow of D. 

C, farm 211. 
ilmer Otto C, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 43, breeder of Durham cattle, 

dairy 30 cows, and farmer 342. 
timer Sophie M. Miss, (Charlotte) r 19, milliner. 
ILMER SQUIER C, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 50, dairy 25 cows, 

farmer, leases the estate of D. C. Palmer, 211. 
rkcr Walter W., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 56, prop, of Leavenworth 

grist-mill. 
ara Antoine, (Charlotte) r 13, farm laborer. 
ise Chauncey S., (Charlotte) r 4, dairy 16 cows, and farmer 140. 
ASE EDWAPD S., (Charlotte) r 29, carpenter and builder, and farmer 62. 
ise Frederick G., (Charlotte) r 29, farm laborer. 
ASE GEORGE, (Charlotte) r 36, farmer 250. 

,ASE RUSSEL S., (Charlotte) r 3, 50 sheep, dairy 10 cows, and farmer 175. 
,CK MABEL Miss, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 56, farm 70. 
terson John A., (Shelburne) r 5, dairy 30 cows, and farmer, works on shares 

for Daniel C Lake 260. 
on Philip, (East Charlotte) r 28, blacksmith shop on r 38 at Baptist 

Comers, 
oof Joseph, (Shelburne) r 6, farmer 50. 
ool Mary Mrs., (Charlotte) corr 12 and 21, farm 22. 
COLE ARCHIBALD S., (Shelburne) r 12, three years in the late war, 

fruit grower 300 trees, and farmer 50. 
OPE NANCY C. MRS., (Charlotte) Four Corners, postmistress. 
ORTER GEORGE W., (Charlotte) cor r 47 and 48, dairy 13 cows, and 

farmer 135. 
►ulin Michael, (Charlotte) r 29, blacksmith. 

> WELL EDGAR S., (East Charlotte) r 39, dairy 25 cows, and farmer 260. 
i-tit John, (Charlotte) r 19, wheelwright. 

die Charles D., (East Charlotte) r 38, representative, dairy 20 cows, and 

farmer 170. 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY DIRECTORY. 




tAmm wmw wmww&mBB-^ 



fat iHlitii Sftivi Plkllting. 




TREES, SM/LL FRUITS, ffi 

Also, in thoT a n —oii, Choiee Tnk 
from tbe ume, expraMcd and fni^tad 
on abort aotice, iue«lj packed, at whob. 
Mile and retail. 






SEND POSTAL FOB FBICE LIST, iC. 



aisplili Villi; 3upn. 



LAKE VIEW VINETABD8, 

S,000 VINEa 

Gharlotte, Vermont. 
E D. ALEXANDEB. Huagn. 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 2/1 

PRINDLE GEORGE E., (East Charlotte) r 40, fruit grower, dairy 27 
cows, and farmer, owns with Miss Catherine P. Hewitt 330 acres, and 
manager of the estate of George Prindle. 
Prindle G., W. (East Charlotte) r 38, son of Charles E., farmer. 
Prindle Henry W., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 50, dairy 16 cows, and farmer 

210. 
Pringle Cyrus G., (East Charlotte) r 41, field botanist. 
Pringle Louisa H., (East Charlotte) r 41, widow of George, farmer too. 
QUINLAN JOHN, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 60, town agent, dairy 

50 cows, and farmer 1,100. 
Quinlan William, (East Charlotte) r 28, mail earner, and farmer 45. 
REIAD ORRIN P., (East Charlotte) r 38, dairy 20 cows, and farmer 220. 
Reed Malinda H. Mrs., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 43, widow of William, 

owns 175 acres on r 42. 
Reynolds Charles F., (East Charlotte) r 10, painter and paper hanger. 
Rejrnolds Clark W., (East Charlotte) r 10 , bds with his son, Charles F. 
Reynolds John L., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) cor r 51 and 52, farmer, 

works on shares for Smith Jones 1 1 1. 
Reynolds Marcus B., (Shelbume) r 5, farmer 30. 
RICH KATHARINE E., (West Charlotte) r 36, farm 70. 
Root Calvin S., (Charlotte ) r 28, carpenter and joiner, and farmer on the 

estate of Dorwin Root 120, and wood lot 15 acres. 
ROOT EDGAR S., (Charlotte) r 28, dairy 10 cows, farmer 3 2, and occupies 

for Mrs. Lucy A. 58. 
ROOT GEORGE L., (Charlotte) r 34, fruit grower, dairy 10 cows, and 

fanner 107. 
Root Harriet E. Miss, (Charlotte) r 28, lives on the estate of Dorwin Root 

120 acres. 
HOOT HENRY C, (Charlotte) r 34, 50 sheep, 9 horses and colts, dairy 

10 cows, and farm 124. 
l^oot Henry W., (Charlotte) r 28, farmer on the estate of Dorwin Root 120, 

and wood lot of 15 acres. 
^oot Lucy A. Mrs., (Charlotte) r 28, widow of Loomis, farmer 54. 
JE^oot Mary A. Mrs., (Charlotte) r 28, widow of Dorwin, occupies the home- 
stead with her sons and daughter. 
JK.oot William N., (Charlotte) r 34, son of Henry C, farmer, with his father. 
J^TJSSELL SIDNEY E., (Charlotte) Four Corners, general merchant 
Scofield Heman A., (Shelburne) r 12, 100 sheep, dairy 5 cows, and farmer 184. 
Scott William J., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 54, apiarist 5 swarms, cooper, 

owns h and lot. 
SCOTT WINFIELD C, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 57, proprietor of 

Scott's Mills. 
Sears John, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 56, laborer and farmer 3. 
SHAW JOSEPH S., (East Charlotte) Baptist Corners, postmaster, dairy 20 

cows, and farmer 165. 
Sheldon Austin, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 50, farmer, owns h and lot. 
Shepard Amos, (Charlotte) r 29, shoemaker. 
SHERMAN ALFRED W., (East Charlotte) corner r 10 and 25, justice 

of the peace, 50 sheep, dairy 25 cows, and farmer 350. 
SHERMAN JOHN H., (East Charlotte) r 9, dairy 50 cows, and farmer 600. 
Sherman Minerva P. Mrs., (Charlotte) r 20, widow of John, farm 136. 
SMITH BENJAMIN F., (Charlotte) r 14, dairy 30 cows, and farmer 215. 
Smith Royal, (East Charlotte) r 38, dairy 19 cows, and farmer, works on 
shares 200 acres for Dean Hosford. 



272 TOWN OF CHARLOTTE. 

SPEAR CAROLINE W. Mrs., (Charlotte) r u, widow of Oscar K, farm 80. 

Sprague Henry, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 50, farm laborer. 

SQUIER JAMES, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad Co.) r 50, dealer in live stock 

and farm produce, and farmer 106. 
Stapleton John, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 54, farmer 13. 
Stapleton John, Jr., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 54, farmer. 
Stapleton John 2d, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 57, fanner. 
Steady Oscar C, (East Charlotte) r 41, farm laborer. 
Stebbins Fanny Mrs., (Charlotte) r 3, widow of Calvin, farm 70. 
Stebbins Peter, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 52, farmer 120. 
St George Michael, (East Charlotte) r 54, farm laborer. 
St. Peter Albert, (Charlotte) r 29, farm laborer. 
St Peter David, (Charlotte) r 34, runs threshing machine, farm laborer, owns 

house and if acres. 
St Peter John, (Charlotte) r 31, dairy 6 cows, and farmer 50, and owns Birch 

Island of 10 acres. 
St Peter Matthew, (Charlotte) r 18, dairy 8 cows, and farmer 72. 
Stone Isaac, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 54, farmer 25. 
STONE LUTHER D., (Charlotte) r 19, dairy 33 cows, and farmer 445. 
STONE OVETTE E., (Charlotte) r 50, dealer in horses, cattle, sheep 2ndE=^ Mnd 

other live stock, dairy 40 cows, and farm in Ferrisburgh 240, and hom^ .M=ame 

farm 204. 
Swain Joseph W., agent, (East Charlotte) Baptist Comers, general merchant :^^M'-sit. 
Taggart Benjamin H., (East Charlotte) r 24, carpenter, and farmer 60. 
TAG G ART JOHN, (East Charlotte) r 38, carpenter, dairy 10 cows, an^.«nK-nd 

farmer 75. 
Taggart Johnnie R., (East Charlotte) r ;^Sy cheese maker and carpenter, own^rjw ^^prns 

h and i acre. 
Taggart Sarah M. Miss, (East Charlotte) r 38, school teacher. 
Tatroe Angeline Mrs., (East Charlotte) r 54, widow, farm 11. 
Thomas John, (Shelburne) r 5, farm laborer. 
Thorp Harley, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 48, farmer on the estate c^ of 

George Thorp. 
♦THORP HENRY, (Charlotte) r 13, breeder of fine blood Atwood Merin.^-^o 

sheep, reg., present flock over 100, dairy 10 cows, and farmer 60. [Adir^ ^Bv. 

on page 270.] 
Thorp Henry H., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 48, farmer on the estate c^^^ 

George Thorp. 
Thorp Herbert C, (Charlotte) r 13, son of Henry, breeder of Ethan Alle=:^ 

horses, and farmer 80. 
THORP JOHN G., (Charlotte) cor r 34 and 45 retired farmer 300, aged 7: 
THORP JOHN H., (Charlotte) cor r 34 and 45, son of John G., dairy 2 

cows, and farmer 300. 
Toner Dennis, (Charlotte) r 29, farm laborer. 

Tonner Daniel, (Charlotte) r 18, section laborer on C. V. R. R., and farm 
Tucker Joel, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 58, farmer, works on shares i< 

acres for James M. Ball. 
Tupper Maria H. Miss, (Charlotte) McNeil's ferry, resides with Mrs. 

Eaton. 
TUTTLE HOLLIS S., (North Ferrisburgh) r 61, dairy 11 cows, and farmer^ 

55, and leases of H. P. Breckenridge 50. 
Vanier Frank, (Charlotte) r 14, farm laborer. 
VAN VLIET CURTIS L., (East Charlotte) Baptist Comers, dairy z 

cows, and farmer, works on shares for Joseph S. Shaw 165. 



TOWN OF CHARLOTTK. 273 



VARNEY GEORGE W., (North Fcrrisburgh, Ad. Co.)r 56, dairy 13 cows, 

and farmer 65, leases of Miss Mabel Peck 70. 
VARNEY WILLIAM H. H., M. D., (East Charlotte) superintendent of 

schools, alio, physician and surgeon. 
Votey Charles A. Rev., (East Charlotte) Baptist Comers, pastor of the Bap- 
tist church, of Charlotte. 
Ward Ebenezer, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad Co.) r 50, dairy 18 cows, and 

farmer 150. 
Welcome John, (Charlotte) r 17, farmer 56 J. 
Wells Herbert, (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 53, farmer, works on shares 

the estate of Norman Wells loi. 
Wells Lydia A. Mrs., (North Ferrisburgh, Ad. Co.) r 53, widow of Norman, 

farm loi. 
Whalley George H., (Charlotte) r 2, breeder of Hambletonian horses, and 

farmer 100. 
Whalley Harvey H., (Charlotte) r 2, farmer, owns with George H. 100. 
Whalley John L., (Charlotte) r 16, son of Jonathan, farmer. 
WHALLEY JONATHAN, (Charlotte) r 16, 40 sheep, dairy 8 cows, and 

farmer 90. 
WHALLEY RICHARD G., (Charlotte) corns and 16, 3rd lister, apiary 

12 swarms, and farmer 90. 
WHALLEY SAMUEL, (Charlotte) r 16, fruit grower 1,000 trees, 150 

sheep, 40 head of cattle, farm 200, and leases 100. 
WHEELER ELANSON H., Dea., (Charlotte) r 20, town treasurer, and 

fanner 200. 
WICKER IRA B., (Charlotte) r 20, constable and collector, and farmer 30. 
Wilder John C. Rev., (Charlotte) r 12, retired preacher, and farmer 20. 
Willard Horace B., (Charlotte) Four Comers, clerk, bds with S. E. RusselL 
WILLIAMS JAMES B., r Charlotte) r 35, farmer, son of James W., works 

on shares the homestead of 200 acres. 
Williams James W., (Charlotte) r 35, dairy 1 1 cows, and farmer 200. 
WILLIAMS MYRON N., (Charlotte) r 23, first lister, 50 sheep, dairy 14 

cows, and farmer 93. 
WILLIAMS S. MARTIN, (Charlotte) r 35, hunter and trapper. 
Williams Solomon A., (Charlotte) r 35, dairy 20 cows, and farmer 215. 
WILLIAMS THEODORE C, (Charlotte) r 29, farmer, leases of Milo Wil- 
liams, of Burlington, 104. 
Willoughby Guy, (East Charlotte) r 55, apiary 10 swarms, dairy 15 cows, and 

farmer 175. 
^Ving Minerva E. Miss, (Charlotte) off r 17, farm 65, volunteer observer in 

the signal service of the U. S. 
MTise Joseph, (East Charlotte) r 10, farmer and wood turner. 
>VOOSTER CHARLES S., (Charlotte) r 20, farmer, manages the estate of 

John Sherman. 
^Vooster Olive R. Mrs., (Charlotte) r 28, widow of Hinman R., farm 210, 

and farm in Hinesburgh 50. 
AVright William O., (East Charlotte) r 41, farm laborer. 
YALE WILLIAM L, (Charlotte) r 17, dairy 12 cows, and farmer 140. 
Yale William S., (Charlotte) r 1 7, dairy 7 cows, farmer 60, and occupies 

estate of F. Burke 78. 

MM 



CHITTKNriEN COUNTV DIRBCTORT. 




Manufacturer of Superior Grade 

COTTAGE FURNITURE 






4D- 






TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 27$ 



COLCHESTER. 



TOWN OUTSIDE OF WINOOSKI VILLAGE. 

{T^CT Abbreviations, etc. , see page 257. ) 

key Francis, (Burlington) r 53, farmer 19^. 

lien Albert, (Colchester) r 6, farmer, 

Jen Alphonso, (Colchester) r 6, farmer. 

len Arthur, (Colchester) r 6, farmer, occupies A. B. Allen's estate of 60 

acres, 
jstin El win, (Winooski) r 43, laborer. 

jstin Nathaniel, (Colchester) r 9, farmer 1 1 4, worked by Adrian E. Nay. 
istin William, (Colchester) r 22, laborer. 
VKER EBENEZER W., (Colchester) r 28, farmer 100. 
tker Warren H., (Colchester) ri5 cor 2^, farmer 57. 
xlow Elijah, (Winooski) r 48, runs stage from Winooski to Burlington, 
xlow Joseph, (Winooski) r 48, farm laborer. 
jTow Michael, (Colchester) r 22, laborer. 
rstow Thomas A., (Burlington) 54, farmer 117^. 
rton Alanson S. Rev., (Colchester) r 13, Congregational clergyman. 
ITES CHARLES E., (Colchester) r 12, dairy 24 cows, and farmer 180. 
tes Harriet L., (Colchester) r 24, widow of Hezekiah H. 
tes William K, (Colchester) r 24, lumberman, and farmer 73, and wood 

lot 64 acres in Essex. 
an Adolphus, (Colchester) r 1 1, R. R, track hand. 
an Amos, (Winooski) r 32, laborer. 

an John, (Burlington) r 37, laborer at marble works, and farmer 129. 
an Oliver, (Colchester) r 11 farmer, with Marion 65. 
aupre Alexander, (Burlington) r 53, carpenter, and farmer, occupies 100. 
Hows Joseph, (Milton) r 12^ farmer. 
nware Peter, (Colchester) r 26, basket maker, 
ssett Edward, (Burlington) r 35, fisherman, 
isette Stephen, (Burlington) r 53, farmer, 
►sette William, (Winooski) r 53, laborer. 

ike Harriet, (Colchester) widow of Alfred, aged 73, born in Milton, 
ikely Frank, (Winooski) r 30, with Harriet, farmer 80. 
ikcly Harriet, (Winooski) r 30, widow of Ithamer, with Frank, farmer 80. 
ikely Justus H., (Colchester) r 12, carpenter and builder, and farmer 33. 
ss Silas, (Colchester) r 26, general blacksmithing. 
Ddo Joseph, (Burlington) near r 53, brick burner, and farmer 10. 
>mbard David, (Winooski) off r 46, farmer, works on shares for Francis La 

Clair about 160. 
radshaw John, (Winooski) r 48, laborer, 
rand Graton, (Winooski) r 44, farmer 300. 

RIGHAM DAN P., (Burlington) r52 cor 53, house painter, and farmer 14. 
rown Henry, (Milton) r 20, with John, manager of Mallett's Bay brick yard, 

and farmer. 
'Own Justin, (Colchester) r 26, railroad track hand, and farmer 25. 



276 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



Brownell Mary H., (Colchester) r 29, widow of Thomas, aged 81. 

Bryan Amanda, (Colchester) r 23, daughter of Nathan, Jr. 

Br>'an Martin, (Colchester) r 23, farmer 100. 

Br>-don John, (West Milton) r 2, farmer 15. 

Burns Catharine & Rose, (West Milton) r 2, farm 25. 

Burns Thomas, (West Milton) r 14, farmer 200. 

Bushey Justin. (Winooski) r 43, farmer 25. 

Cain John, (West Milton) r 2, farmer ij, and pasture land 30 acres. 

Calvert Zilpha, (Colchester) r 27, widow of William, aged 78. 

Cameron John, (Winooski) r 49, farm laborer. 

Champier Edward, (West Slilton) r 18 cor 20, laborer. 

Chase John, (Colchester) r 23, M. E. clergyman, i acre. 

CARPENTER JOSEPH A., (Winooski) r 48, cooper, and farmer 63. 

CARY AZUBA, (Colchester) dressmaker, and farm 60. 

Cary Eliza, (Winooski) r 42, with Silas. 

CARY FRANKLIN, (Colchester) r 14, dair>' 17 cows, and farmer 200. 

Cary Ira, (Colchester) r 15, farmer, with Lyman. 

Cary Jonathan W., (Colchester) r 15, farmer 65. 

Cary Lyman, (Colchester) r 15, farmer 65. 

Cary Seth A., (Colchester) r 14, wheelwright, and farmer, leases 40. 

Cary Seymour, (Colchester) r 22, laborer. 

CARY SILAS B., (Winooski) r 42, farmer 50. 

Caswell Orson, (Colchester) r 28, laborer. 

Caswell William H., (Colchester) r 23, farmer 5, and interest in D. ^• 

Chase's estate. 
Claghorn Lucy, (West Milton) r 20. 
Clapp Heman A., (Colchester) carpenter and joiner. 
Clark David, (Burlington) r 53, farmer 5. 

Cloe Lewis, (Colchester) r 11, R. R. track hand and watchman, 5 acres. 
Coats William, (Burlington) r ^^, fisherman, and farmer 75. 
Coeg James, (Burlington) r 36, farmer 97. 
Coeg Jeremiah, (Burlington) r 53, farmer 100. 
Coeg John, (Burlington) r 36, farmer 70. 
Cole Henry, (Winooski) r 50, farm laborer. 
Cole John, (Mallett's Bay) r 35, laborer, 2^ acres. 
Collins Charles, (Colchester) r 15, justice of peace, and fanner 120, U 

by Frank S. 
COLLINS FRANK S., (Colchester) r 15, breeder of pure blood Jersey 

tie, fine horses, and farmer 1 20. 
Collins Kate L., (Colchester) r 15, teacher. 

Collins Sophrona, (Colchester) r 13, widow of Ira, farm 30, aged 72. 
Cook Francis H., (Colchester) r 27, farmer 50. 
Coon Eber D., (Colchester) r 23, mason. 

Coon Mrs., (Colchester) r 23, widow. 

Costello Patrick, (Winooski) r 45, laborer, J acre. 

Cotey William J., (Winooski) r 45, farm laborer. ^ 

CRAVEN WILLIAM B.,(Mallett's Bay) r 33, prop, of MaUett's Bay Hou^ '^ 

bowling alley, bathing house, and boats for rowing or sailing. 
Crockett Charles W., (West Milton) r 20, farmer 140, and occupies 85 owiv 

by his wife and Hattie Hill. 
Crockett John W., (West Milton) r 17, farmer 88. 
Crockett Losetta, (West Milton) r 20, widow of James. 
Croker Polly, (Colchester) r 12, widow of John, aged 75, bom on the pl^»^ 

where she now resides, farm 32. 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 2^^ 

CRONAN PATRICK, (Mallett's Bay) r 33, farmer, leases of Dr. W. 

Carpenter, of Burlington, 150. 
Cross Antoine, (Mallett's Bay) r 52, laborer, h and lot. 
Cross Francis, (Mallett's Bay) r 52, carpenter. 
Cross Moses, (Burlington) r 53, blacksmith at marble quarry. 
Cross Nelson, (Mallett's Bay) r 52, farmer, with Poliete. 
Cross Peter, (old Pete) (Winooski) r 53, farmer 4. 
Cross Peter B., (Burlington) r 37, shoemaker and laborer, 18 acres. 
Cross Peter, Jr., (Mallett's Bay) r 52, laborer at marble mill. 
Cross Poliete, (Mallett's Bay) r 52, farmer 23. 
DAGGETT GEORGE, (VVinooski) r 45, machinist, prop, of machine shop, 

general mechanical work in wood or iron, and owner of real estate, 

born at Montpelier, 1835. 
Day John, (Colchester) road master for the B. & L. R. R. 
DeFord Joseph, (Winooski) r 45, works at Weston's lime kiln. 
DeForge John, (Winooski) r 43, laborer. 
Densmore Betsey Mrs., (Colchester) r 28, farmer 116. 
DENSMORE HARRY M., (Colchester) r 28, farmer. 
Daveneau Dennis, (BurHngton) r 37, laborer. 
Dcveneau Mary, (BurHngton) r 37, widow of Charles. 
Dougherty Thomas, (Colchester) r 23, blacksmith. 
Douglass Abi, (Winooski) r 48, widow of Sylvanus. 
Douglass Loretta, (Winooski) r 49, resident. 
Douglass Morris E., (Winooski) r 49, farmer 100. 
Downer Henry G., (Winooski) r 31, farmer. 
Downer Jane, (Winooski) r 31, widow of Nathan E., farmer 80. 
DUNBAR FRANK J., (Winooski) r 44 cor 45, prop. Dunbar's Hotel, 

Burlington and Winooski driving park, and farmer 60. 
DUNBAR'S HOTEL, (Winooski) r 44 cor 45, Frank J. Dunbar, prop. 
Dupaw George, (VVinooski) r 48, fruit grower, 3 acres. 
Dupaw Henry, (Winooski) r 48, fruit grower, 3 acres. 
Dupaw Joseph, (Winooski) r 38, farm laborer, overseer for Willie Vilas, of 

Burlington. 
Dupaw Stephen, (Winooski) r 48, laborer. 
Dushan Eli, (Winooski) r 48, farm laborer. 
Dyke George W., (Colchester) r 14, cooper. 
Dyke Lorenzo, (Winooski) r 45, retired farmer. 
Exlson Simeon, (Winooski) r 42, carpenter, and farmer. 
ELDREDGE JOHN L., (Winooski) r 31, farmer, leases of Jedediah Har- 
rington 50. 
EVANS BENJAMIN, (Winooski) r 46, farmer, leases of C. A. Sumner, 

of BurHngton, 100. 
EVERETT SAMUEL H., (West Milton) r 3, farmer 24. 
Farnham Josiah, (Colchester) r 22, clock cleaner and boat builder. 
FARNSWORTH JOEL W., (Colchester) r 1 1, jeweler, and dealer in all grades 

of American watches. 
Famsworth Mary, (Colchester) r 11, (Mrs. Wilson D.) weaving. 
Famsworth Wilson D., (Colchester) r 11, farmer 17. 
Fay Benjamin W., (Colchester) r 24, farmer, leases of Heman Crookcr, of 

Burlington, 80. 
Field Carter, (Mallett's Bay) r 54, boatman, Capt. of sloop "AverilL" 

THE LARGEST STOCK OP OLOTHINQ OFFERED IN VER- 
MONT, at The BLUE STORE, 85 Ohurch St., BurUngton. 



2/8 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



Field Moses, (Mallett's Bay) r 54, farmer 50. 

Fisher Enos V. N., (Colchester) r 11, farmer 150. 

Fisher Joseph K., (Colchester) farmer 4^, also farm in New Hampshire. 

Fishett Joseph, (Colchester) r 43, laborer, and farmer 14. 

Fitzgerald James, (Winooski) r 38, laborer. 

Fowler Martin A., (Colchester) r 43, dealer in cattle, and fanner 50. 

Franklin Charles, (Winooski) r 45, carpenter and teamster. 

Frink Cornelius, (Colchester) r 22, leases 200 of Noah Thompson. 

Furnace James, (Colchester) r 13, wheelwright and mechanic 

Gaflfany James, (Winooski) r 43, works at Mallett's Bay marble works. 

Gale Benjamin F., (West Milton) r 5, farmer 114. 

Gale Stephen, (West Milton) r 20, farmer 65. 

Galvin Ellen H., (Colchester) r 8, teacher. 

Galvin John, (Colchester) r 8, farmer 50. 

Galvin John, Jr., (Colchester) r 8, spculator, and farmer, carries on 55 

owned by John. 
Gates James, (Winooski) r 50, farm laborer. 
Gates John, (Colchester) r 11, farm laborer. 
Gates John, (Burlington) r 53, invalid. 
Gates LaFayette, (Winooski) r 50, laborer. 

GILMORE JOHN, (Burlington) r 53, shoemaker, and fanner 60. 
Gilmore William, (Colchester) r 23, farmer 2J. 
Godette Antoine, (Winooski) r 48, barber. 

Gonyeau David, (West Milton) r 20, laborer at H. W. Brown's brick 
Gonyeau John, (West Milton) off r 2, farmer 70. 
Gonyeau Willie, (West Milton) offr 2, farmer, leases of John 70. 
Gray Henry W., (Winooski) r 46, dairy 16 cove's, and farmer 175. 
Green Henry, (Winooski) r 45, lime burner for S. H. Weston, h and i a< 
Greenwood Henry, (Burlington) r 36, laborer. 
Grenio John, (Colchester) r 26, speculator, and farmer 75. 
Grenio Lewis, (Colchester) laborer. 
Grenio Peter, (Colchester) r 26, laborer. 

Guyette Alleck, (Burlington) offr 53, fisherman, and farmer 25. 
Guyette Joseph, (Winooski) r 49, farm laborer. 
Guyette William, (Winooski) off r 49, deaf and dumb, farmer 13. 
Hadley Lyman, (Burlington) r 37, carpenter, and farmer 16. 
Hager George, (Colchester) r 26, laborer. 
Hamman Mary, (Burlington) r 37, widow of John. 
Hand Lovina, (Colchester) r 23, widow of John. 
Hardy John, (Burlington) r 55, farmer 5. 

Harris Emerson J., (Colchester) r 7, dairy 18 cows, and farmer 180. 
Harris Joel, (Colchester) r 14, farmer 120. 

Henry Catharine, (Colchester) r 24, widow of James, owns 5 acres. 
Hill Hattie C, (West Milton) r 20, owns with Mrs. Chas. W. Crocke 

of 85, occupied by Chas. W. Crockett. 
Hill Moses H., (West Milton) r 2, cor 13, farmer, with James Lester. 
Hine Adin, (Colchester) r 1 1, farmer, with Israel B. 
Hine Benjamin B., (Colchester) r 13, farmer 130. 
Hine Frank S., (Mallett's Bay) r 35, farmer, occupies 75. 
HINE HARRY B., (Colchester) r 24, R. R. station and express ag 
HINE ISRAEL B., (Colchester) r 1 1, farmer 90. 
Hine John T., (Colchester) r 13, farmer 90. 
Hine Wallace, (Colchester) r 21, farm laborer. 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 2/9 



Hine William B., (Colchester) r 25, fanner 20. 

Hogan David, (Colchester) r 25, R. R. track hand, and fanner 25. 

HOLCOMB BYRON T., (Mallett's Bay) r 33, farmer 90, and occupies 10 
owned by N. S. Hill, of Burlington. 

Hoose David, (Winooski) r 37, laborer. 

Horton George M., (West Milton) r i, farmer 66f. 

•HOWARD ALFRED W., (Colchester) postmaster, and dealer in general 
merchandise. [Adv. on page 296.] 

Hulburd Alva, (Colchester) railroad track hand. 

Hulburd Alva O., (Colchester) r 24, railroad track hand. 

Hulburd Elizabeth, (Colchester) r 26, widow of Ebenezer. 

Hulburt John, (Colchester) r 27, laborer, i acre. 

Huntress Dan Y., (Colchester) r 13, blacksmith, mail carrier from Colchester 
to Colchester depot, h and 2 acres. 

Hyde Harlow G., (Winooski) gardening, r 45. 

Irish Alonzo, (Colchester) r 14, farmer about 65. 

Irish Henry B. F., (Colchester) r 9, carpenter, and farmer 7. 

Jennings Michael, (Colchester) r 6, farm laborer. 

Johnson Abagail, (Burlington) r 54, widow of John, former widow of Thomas 

Porter, lived in town nearly 70 years, aged 88. 
Johnson Charlotte, (West Milton) r 2, widow of Ambrose. 
JOHNSON EBENEZER O, (West Milton) r 2, justice of peace, and 

farmer 80, and 35 in Milton. 
Johnson Mary, (BurUngton) r 54, granddaughter of Abagail. 
Johnson Sally, (Burlington) r 54, widow of Horace H. 
Joslin Elvira M., (West Milton) r 13, farmer 87. 
Kelly Michael F., (Winooski) r 45, farmer 160. 
Kennedy John, (Milton) r 2, farmer 25. 
King Leander, (Winooski) r 43, carpenter 7. 
Kinney Benjamin, (Colchester) r 5, farmer, occupies 12. 
LaFountain Joseph, (West Milton) r 20, farmer 70. 
Lane Lucius L., (Winooski) r 45, farmer 22, born in Jericho, aged 63, son of 

Stevens. 
La Vee Damns, (Winooski) r 45, (LaVee & McNiff, of Burlington,) butcher 

and dealer in cattle, hides and pelts. 
Lawrence Dominick, (Winooski) r 44, dealer in horses. 
Lester James, (West Milton) r 2 cor 13, farmer 84. 
Levigne Charles, (Winooski) r 39, farmer 100. 
Liberty Amos, (Mallett's Bay) r 37, laborer. 
Liberty Andrew, (Winooski) r 50, laborer. 
Liberty Andrew, (Burlington) r 53, laborer, and farmer 6. 
Liberty Thomas, (Burlington) r 36, farmer 11. 
Logue Anna, (West Milton) r 13. 
Logue Cynthia, (West Milton) r 13, widow of James. 
Logue Daniel, (West Milton) r 13, farmer, with James 60. 
Logue James, (West Milton) r 13, farmer, with Daniel 60. 
Lord Elizabeth, (Colchester) widow of Samuel. 
Lord Ira A., (Colchester) r 11, butcher. 

LORD ROBERT W., (Colchester) r 42, carpenter, and farmer 5. 
Xovely Francis, (Colchester) r 28, farmer 13. 

Luda Joseph, (Colchester) r 11, laborer. 

Tire -Works, Flags. Horns, Oannon, Colored Fires, Oap 
Pistols, Revolvers, &c., at H. E. Sails', Burlington, Vt. 



28o 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY DIRECTORY. 



F. F. SAKDEXT A CO 



Boots, Shoes I RuiLers, 



les Colleg-e Street, 



^^FINE GOODS A SPECIALTY. X-v 



B. V. CABFENTEB & CO., . JOBN CORUEA & SONS, 



IIann£Ktiiren of 



CENTRAL 





DRUGfSTORE 



Corner Clinrcli aDil Collene Sts., 



Al BRUSHES, 

Wholesale and Ketail. 



BURLINOTON, 



VERMONT. 



B. W. CARPENTER. 



F. L. TAFT. 



All OrlenwlllReceiTe Fnnit ittnon. 



BURLINOTON, 



VERMONT. 



AN EXTERSAL REMEDY FOR MAS^ AND BEAST. 

Prepared from Wonnwoodf Arnica, Hemlock aod other Taluable Oils and Eztvacta. 




An Internal Remedy for all Disorders of the Stomach and Bowds. 
For Coughs, Colds, and all Diseases of the Throat, LanfB» and Kidneys. 

Prepared by G. WILL MOREHODSE. St. Oeorge, Vt 

Sold. l>y Dealors in S£ediolJi.e« 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 28l 

ron John, (Colchester) r 15, retired farmer, aged 83. 

i^ON JOHN H., (Colchester) r 15, dairy 20 cows, and farmer 160. 

aars Cynthia, (Colchester) widow of William, aged 78, born in town. 

AARS HARLAN R, (Colchester) clerk at A. W. Howard's store. 

acrae Hattie L., (Winooski) r 50, teacher. 

acrae L. Jennie, (Winooski) r 50, teacher at Burlington graded school. 

acrae Lena, (Winooski) r 50, teacher. 

ACRAE WILLIAM B., (Winooski) r 50, justice of peace, selectman, 

milkman 50 cows, and farmer 270, came to Boston from Scotland 

in 1846. 
ahan Edward, (Colchester) r 25, farmer 50. 
alaney Heman L., (Burlington) r 45, light-house keeper at Colchester 

Reef, 
allett's Bay Brick Yard, (Milton) r 20, Henry and John Brown, managers. 
ALLETT'S BAY HOUSE, (Mallett's Bay) r 33, W. B. Craven, proprietor, 
anley Ransom W., (Colchester) carpenter and joiner, and farmer 12. 
arsh Eugene L., (Colchester) r 18, dairy 15 cows, and farmer, leases of 

Samuel N. 170. 
ARSH SAMUEL N., (Colchester) r 18, brick maker, and farmer 170, 

leased by Eugene L. 
irtin Adolphus, (West Milton) r 14, laborer. 
irtin Joseph, (West Milton) r 14, laborer. 
irtin Michael, (West Milton) r 14, farmer 114. 
lyo Eliza, (Colchester) r 21, widow of Henry, farm 20. 
tyo William, (Colchester) r 1 5, laborer, hunter and trapper. 
lyo William, (Colchester) r 26, laborer, and farmer 11. 

:Archie , (Colchester) r 23, farmer, leases 6. 

:Avoy Daniel, (Colchester) r 21, farmer 50. 

:Avoy Henry, (Winooski) r 30, farmer 200. 

:Avoy Thomas, (Colchester) r 21, farmer, with Daniel 

:BRIDE ANDREW C, (Colchester) r 22, director of the Colchester 

butter and cheese factory, dairy 15 cows, and farmer 180. 
BRIDE GEORGE L., (Colchester) r 11, farmer 93. 
Bride William H., (Winooski) r 41 cor 42, farmer 50. 
Call Terrance, (Colchester) r 26, farmer 10. 
Carty William, (Burlington) r 35, farmer, leases of Henry Hickok, of 

Burlington, 50. 
:Cuen Alexander, (Colchester) r 25, R. R. track hand. 
^Cugo John, (Winooski) r 45, R. R. section boss. 
::Donald Alexander, (Winooski) r 43, been blind 18 years. 
::Ewen Robert, (Colchester) r 12, R. R. section boss, and farmer about 40. 
:::INTYRE WILLIAM, (Winooski) r 33, farmer 8, and works on shares 

for Dr. W. Carpenter, of Burlington, 175. 
cintyre William H., (Winooski) r 33, farmer, with William. 
cNALL CHARLES EUGENE, (West Milton) r i, farmer 33^. 
cNall Elroy S., (West Milton) r i, farmer, works on shares 100 owned by 

Sherman M. 
xNall Melvin, (West Milton) r 20, farmer 61. 

LcNALL SHERMAN M., (West Milton) dairy 14 cows, and farmer 205. 
IcNally Alex., (Winooski) r 6, farm laborer, 
lead Lillie R, (Colchester) r 13, music teacher, 
^ead Susan M., (Colchester) r 15, widow of Jared B., h and 13 acres, 
derrill Andrew J., (Winooski) r 45, town lister, and fanner 90. 



282 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



Merrill Willie, (Winooski) r 45, laborer. 

Miller Daniel, (Colchester) r 23, cooper, a acres. 

Miller Walter, (Colchester) r 23, farmer. 

Mitchell Frank F., (Colchester) r 4, farmer 75. 

Mitchell Jed E., (Colchester) r 4, farmer, with Frank F. 

Mitchell Porter D., (Winooski) r 29, farmer, carries on town farm 180. 

Moiles Alexander, (West Milton) r 20, farm laborer. 

Moiles Thomas, (West Milton) r 2, farmer 15, and works on shares 140. 

Monty Benjamin P\, (West Milton) r i, farmer 75. 

Monty Claudius, (West Milton) r i, carpenter, and farmer 5. 

Monty Elsie Mrs., (West Milton) r 20, widow of John, farmer 100. 

Monty Wilbur, (West Milton) r 20, laborer. 

Morgan Stephen S., (Burlington) r 52, farmer 95. 

MORRISON ALEXANDER C, (Malletf s Bay) r 35, postmaster, ind 

farmer, leases 50. 
Morrison Charles, (Colchester) r 27, farm laborer. 
Morrison Frank, (Colchester) r 27, farmer 40. 
Morrison John, (Colchester) r 27, farmer t8o. 
Morrison Thomas, (Mallett's Bay) r 35, laborer. 
Morrow Samuel, (Colchester) r 28, dairy 20 cows, and farmer 250. 
Morse Fred H., (Colchester) r 10, book agent, and farmer 20. 
MOSS ALEXANDER P., (Winooski) r 45, formerly carpenter, h and tot, 

born in Colchester in 1816. 
MOSS GEORGE ALEXANDER, (VVinooski) r 45, is 8 years old, pUys 115 

tunes on accordeon or harmonicon, accurately, is a musical wonder, 

grandson of Alexander P. 
Munger Elvira, (Colchester) r 11, with Mary. 
Munger Garry, (Colchester) r 23, butcher. 
Munger Mary, (Colchester) r 11, widow of Truman, i acre. 
Munson Ruth, (Colchester) r 5, widow of Daniel 
MUNSON WALLACE E., (Colchester) r 14, job printer (smaU work), and 

farmer 18, born in town in 1820. 
Munson William B., r 13, old resident, is 81 years of age, son of Willi«ni 

born in town. 
Murphy Gary, (Colchester) r 26, farmer 16. 

Murphy Patrick, (West Milton) r 19, laborer at Brown's brick yard. 
Murray Eliza, (Wmooski) r 39, widow of Antoine. 
Nay Adrian E., (Colchester) r 9, farmer, works on shares 114 owned by ^*' 

thaniel Austin. 
Oclair Stephen, (Winooski) r 48, laborer, h and lot. 
O'Neil William, (West Milton) r 13, farmer, leases 18 acres school land 
Osgood Isaac C., (Colchester) r 28, farmer, works on shares for E^*^ 

Morton. 
Paddock Hiram, (Colchester) r 15, dairy 18 cows, and fanner 200. 
Parizo Frank, (VVinooski) r 43, laborer. 

Parker John C, (Colchester) r 12, farmer, leases of Polly Croker 32. 
Parker Lyman D., (West Milton) r 17, invalid. 
Parker William B., (Colchester) h and 2 acres. 

PARMELEE POLYCARPUS LOREN, (Colchester) r 6, farmer 165. 
PARSONS FRANK L., (Colchester) r 26, dealer in country produce, 

farmer 54. 
Passhes Joseph, (Burlington) r 53, farmer, occupies 17 J. 
Patterson Henry, (Colchester) r 1 1, farm laborer, owns 2 acres in W( 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 283 



Patterson Levi, (Colchester) r 15, farm laborer. 

Pecor Antoine, (Colchester) r 42, farmer 5. 

PINNEY FRED H., (Winooski) r 29, farmer, with Orlo E. 

Pinney Orlo E., (Winooski) r 29, farmer 110. 

Piatt James S., (Winooski) r 6, farmer 580, and dealer in real estate. 

Piatt Stanley M., (Winooski) r 6, farmer, works on shares for James S. 580. 

Plunkett Nancy, (Colchester) r 15, widow of Thomas. 

Porter Bernerd H., (Burlington) r 55, farmer, with Homer. 

Porter Homer, (Burlington) r 55, farmer 600. 

Porter Mary, (Mallett's Bay) r 33, widow of Thomas N., farm of 80 acres oc- 
cupied by George Spalding. 

PRATT GEORGE, (Winooski) r 48, milk peddler for George W. Sibley, 
owns 2 houses in Winooski village, lived in town since 1847. 

Pratt Henry, (Winooski) r 48, farm laborer. 

Pratt Peter, (Colchester) r 26, chair caning, peddling, etc., farm 10. 

Randall Bradish B., (Burlington) r 37, laborer, h and lot. 

Rashaw Sophrona, (Winooski) r 50, widow of John. 

Reagan Bartholomew, (Malletfs Bay) r 34, farmer. 

Reagan Daniel S., (Mallett's Bay) r 34, farmer. 

Reagan David, (Mallett's Bay) r 34, farmer, with Bart. 

Reagan Michael, (Mallett's Bay) r 34, farmer. 

Reynolds John, (Winooski) r 45, retired farmer 40, aged 75. 

RHODES GEORGE N., (Colchester) r 27, dairy 30 cows, and farmer 248. 

Rich Josephine S., (Colchester) r 14, widow of Sherman £., farmer, Sherman 
Rich estate, 32. 

Riley Heniy,(Mallett's Bay) r 35, laborer at marble mill 

Rivers John, (Colchester) r 26, farmer 14. 

•ROBERTSON ALBERT R, (Winooski) r 45, manuf. of tripe, neatsfoot 
oil, prop, of hennery 300 hens, dealer in tallow, and farmer 40. [Adv. 
on page 296.] 

Robinson Ira, (Colchester) r 15 cor 23, farmer 65. 

Robinson John H., (Winooski) r 45, carpenter at Burlington woolen mill 

Rolfe John M., (Winooski) junc. r 28, 29 and 41, 2d selectman, director of 
Colchester cheese factory, and farmer 300. 

ROOD CLARK A., (Winooski) r 48, dairy 27 cows, farmer 260. 

ROOD EMELINE & MYRA, (Winooski) r 48, daughters of Hiram, farm 40. 

Ryan Richard, (Winooski) r 28, farm laborer at J. M. Rolfe's. 

Satford Charles, (Colchester) r 15, carpenter and farm laborer. 

Safford Frank J., (Colchester) r 1 1, laborer. 

Saflford Joseph, (Colchester) r 11, farmer 36. 

Sager Horatio N., (Colchester) r 27, shoemaker, i^ acres. 

^^Ue Joseph, (Winooski) r 22, is 10 1 years old. 

I^Wlle Ransom, (Winooski) r 22, farmer 50. 

I^J^bner John F., (Winooski) r 33, farm laborer. 

I^^erance Bertrand E., (Colchester) r 27, farmer, with George. 

Iterance Charles W., (Colchester) r 27, farmer, with George. 

^EVerANCE GEORGE, (Colchester) r 27, farmer 170. 

^VeRANCE JOHN, (Colchester) r 27, farmer 150. 

^^erance William H., (Colchester) r 11, farmer 65. 

^5^iiiour Lewis, (Burlington) r 35, farm laborer, 4 acres. 

|g AW DENNIS, (Colchester) r 13 cor 24, farmer 100. 

r*J-^W HERBERT D., (Colchester) r 13 cor 24, farmer, with Dennis. 

^*IAW MYRON H., (Colchester) r 13 cor 24, farmer, with Dennis. 



284 TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



SHERMAN HARRY M., (Winooski) r 22, market gardening, fanner 3a 

Shirley George, (Winooski) r 32, laborer. 

Shirley William, (Winooski) r 51, farmer 8. 

Shirley William, (Winooski) r 50, carpenter, and fanner lo. 

SIBLEY GEORGE W., (Winooski) r 48, milkman 38 cows, and fanner 30a 

Sibley Nancy, (Winooski) r 48, widow of John. 

Simpson Hezekiah D., (Burlington) r 37, laborer. 

Smith Charles, (Winooski) r 48, pensioner. 

SxMITH EDWARD A., (Winooski) r 45, fann laborer. 

Smith Frank P., (Colchester) r 27, farmer, with John Severance. 

Smith Joseph, (Winooski) r 22, farmer 50. 

SMITH WILLIAM T., (Colchester) r 5, farmer, leases of William Moat- 

gomery 38. 
Sonell Thomas, (Mallett's Bay) r 35, laborer. 
Spear Luther T., (Burlington) r 52, farmer, with Orsemas. 
Spear Orsemas, (Burlington) r 52, farmer 70. 
Spalding George, (Mallett's Bay) r 33, farmer, occupies 80 owned by Maij 

Porter. 
St. John Mary, (Colchester) r 42, widow of John. 
Stacey Ann C, (Winooski) r 50, widow of Gideon M. 
Stanley Henry, (Colchester) r 14, farmer, works on shares for Alonzo Irish. 
Stannard Thaliah P., (West Milton) r 18, widow of George J. 
Sumner James, (Burlington) r 36, laborer. 
Tatro Albert, (Burlington) r 35, farm laborer. 
Taylor Harvey P., (Colchester) r n cor 12, farmer 50. 
THAYER JAMES W., (Burlington) r 35, dairy 13 cows, and farmer aoa 
Thayer John, (Burlington) r 50, carpenter, and farmer 150. 
Thayer Reuben W., (Burlington) r 37, farmer 75. 
Thayer Willard, (Mallett's Bay) r 33, carpenter. 
Thomas Horace L., (Winooski) r 45, teamster. 

Thompson David B., (West Milton) r 18, dairy 13 cows, and farmer 185. 
Thompson Herbert E., (Colchester) r 27, saw, grist, cider, and shingle-milL 
Thompson Irving L., (Colchester) r 10, farmer, with Samuel. 
Thompson Jesse B., (Colchester) r 10, farmer 86. 
Thompson Lewis O., (Winooski) r 46, farm laborer for F. C. Kennedy. 
Thompson Minnie B., (Colchester) r 23, dau. of Corbus G., lives with Rob't P. 
Thompson Murray, (Colchester) r 14, farmer 100. 
THOMPSON NOAH, (Colchester) r 22, farmer 200. 
Thompson Robert P., (Colchester) r 23, farmer 180. 
Thompson Samuel, (Colchester) r 9, farmer 200. 
Thompson Stephen A., (Colchester) r 21, farmer, leases 70. 
THOMPSON WALLACE W. W., (Colchester) r 11, justice of peace, dairy 

25 cows, blacksmith, cattle shoeing a specialty, and farmer 300. 
Trick Richard, (Colchester) retired W. M. clergyman, and cooper. 
Tubbs Anna, (Colchester) r 26, widow of Alva, aged 68. 
Vilas Harrison M., (Winooski) r 40, dairy 10 cows, and farmer 160. 
Wakefield Variegated Marble Company, (Malletf s Bay) r 34, A. 8. Baxter, 

agent. 
Walker Loren, moulder. 

Warner Samuel C, (Burlington) r 52, farmer 95. 
Welch Patrick (Winooski) r 43, farmer 30. 
WHEELER ADOLPHUS M., (Colchester) r 14, town lister, dairy i 

cows, and farmer 60, and cames on 70 owned by Chauncey. 



WINOOSKI VILLAGE— TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 285 

Wheeler Chauncey, (Colchester) r 14, old resident, aged 90, born in Massa- 
chusetts. 
White Byron O., (Winooski) r 30, farmer, with Olin D. 
White Edward E., (Colchester) r 11, laborer. 
White Hannah (Colchester) widow of Calvin, carpet weaver. 
White Horace S., (Colchester) r 23, wheelwright. 
White Olin D., (Winooski) r 30, dairy 16 cows, and farmer 216. 
WHITNEY FRED H., (Winooski) r 48, wet finisher for Burlington Woolen 

Co., teacher of vocal music, and farmer 23. 
Wick ware Sarah, (Colchester) r 11, widow of Milton D., old resident, aged 

82, bom in town. 
Wilson Nathaniel, (Colchester) r 29, director Colchester cheese factory, dairy 

20 cows, and farmer 225. 
WOLCOTT BLOYS H., (Colchester) r 12, farmer, with David W. 
WOLCOTT DAVID W., (Colchester) r 12, farmer 66. 
Wolcott Ebenezer, (Colchester) r 13, farmer 180. 
Wolcott Edgar J., (Colchester) r 12, farmer 50. 

WOLCOTT FREDERICK N., (Colchester) r 12, farmer, with Laura. 
Wolcott Julius, (Colchester) r 15, farmer 160. 
WOLCOTT LAURA Mrs., (Colchester) r 12, widow of Merrill, dairy 15 

cows, and farmer T50. 
Wolcott Leslie L., (Colchester) r 13, farmer, with Ebenezer. 

WOLCOTT LOUISA A., (Colchester) r 12, daughter of Merrill. 

WOLCOTT STANTON M., (Colchester) r 12, farmer, with Laura. 

Worthen Fred W., (Colchester) r 11, farmer. 

WRIGHT GEORGE N., (Winooski) r 27, farmer 100. 

Wright Nelson, (Winooski) r 27, old resident, is now 80 years old, born in 
Essex 

WEIGHT NORMAN S., (Winooski) r 22, farmer 80. 
WKIGHT WILLIAM W., (Winooski) r 22, farmer 100. 



WmOOSKl VILLAGE. 



TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 



(J*vr Village Government see General Contents,^ 

{For AbbrematfoTMy rfv., *^/ page 257.) 

^^^<i Francis, deliverer for Francis LeClair, h Weaver. 
^^^ir Joseph, machinist, h Allen. 
^I^^ir Lombair, mason, h Weaver. 

^^^^X^nder James, boss dresser at Burlington woolen mill, h Canal. 
v'f 8^r Lewis, works at Doubleday's furniture shop. 
^ry^^d Christie, works in spooling room at Burlington woolen mill. 
^ J-LARD FRANK E., dealer in groceries and provisions, Main, h Center. 
^-•l-ARD FRANK E., Jr., manuf and dealer in confectionery, Main, h 
Center. 



CHITTENDEN COUNTY DIRECTORV, 




JUUWAZISS, STSVXITS <& OO, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

Pkiiii^ifliiiifs.[iiTiiliirSii«)Iilk)Iilpiriiiff!Sliafliiif 

wool woiiKinc vtACttinEur, water wwels, 

ill Ml of Iron ail Brass Caslii^s, Hill anl IicUdc fgrt in Genml 

•WriNOOSKI, VERlitONT. 



ESSEX JUNCTION MOt^UMENT/lL WOI[KS. 

M. L. SNYDER, aseht. 



.Ifonii'T-tHrcr 'it <iU hind* iif 



\[\V UllJliUlU IIIUIIUIIIIJUIU, » I 

TABLETS, HEADSTONES, &C. 

A SpeciHlt; Dia^e ii Barre Granite HoueDts anl Cmliiiii. 

Ali«> limhr (»t 

Scotch and Maine Bed Grranite Monuments, Headstones, &c. . o ^ 

Am good miterial nnd work for le^i mooay thsD U aay otber iinlililiri I in Hii ^ ■ fn 

Connt;. 9'SATISFACTIOK GVABAKTEED IN ALL CASES. 



WINOOSKl VILLAGE — TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 287 



ALLARD JOSEPH W., overseer of card room in No. 2 of Burlington Woolen 
Co.'s mills, h Railroad. 

ALLEN ALVA, furniture painter and omamenter, h Colchester ave., Bur- 
lington. 

Allen Bridget Mrs., widow of Lyman, h Allen. 

ALLEN ELISHA, (Piatt & Allen) supt, of Burlington woolen mill, h Main. 

Allen George, tinsmith at Allen & Bigwood's, h Allen. 

Allen George E., tinsmith at Allen & Big wood's, h Allen. 

ALLEN IRA, (Allen & Bigwood) overseer of poor, h Main cor Union. 

Allen William E., breeder of Jersey cattle and fancy poultry, and farmer 100. 

ALLEN & BIGWOOD, (Ira A. and Samuel B.,) hardward, stoves, tinware, 

, . *'^- paints, oils, jobbing, Main cor Canal. 

Ammel Joseph, laborer, h Hickok. 

Ammel William, laborer, h River. 

Ance Julia, (Mrs. Charles Meyers) h Hickok. 

Anst John, laborer at marble mill, Burlington, h Hickok. 

Ardoin Edward, laborer, h St. Peter. 

Armell Olive Mrs., widow of Frank, h Main. 

AUDET JOHN F. Rev., pastor of French Catholic church, located on 
Weaver, cor St. Peter. 

Austin Nora, (Mrs. Frank) h Mallett^s Bay ave. 

Bacon Edward, laborer at flouring mill, h Mallett's Bay ave. 

Bacon Frank, carpenter, h St. Peter. 

fiacon Paul, laborer, h Mallett's Bay ave. 

Bagley Beulah Mrs., widow of Solon B., h Allen. 

Ballard Henry T., dealer in poultry and eggs. 

Barabee Edward, works at marble mill in Burlington, h North. 

Barabee John, carpenter, h Weaver. 

Barabee Lewis, carpenter, h Spring. 

Barabee Rosa, widow of Edward, h North. 

Baraby Joseph, carpenter and joiner, and furniture repairing, h Main. 

Baraby Mary Mrs., widow of John, h Main. 

Baraby William, carpenter at woolen mill, h Spring. 

Barber Jack, laborer, h Mallett's Bay ave. 

Barber Joseph, laborer at lumber yard in Burlington, h West Lane. 

Barber Lewis, works at lumber yard in Burlington, h Spring, 

BARRETT HORACE W., supt. of Burlington and Winooski cotton mills, 

h Allen. 
Barron John, works in woolen mill, h Allen. 
Barrow Maria, works in cotton mill in Burlington. 
Barslow John, cabinet maker at Doubleday's, h Spring. 
Bavais Peter, laborer at Burlington woolen mill, h n River. 
Beannoe Joseph, laborer at marble works in Burlington, h Hickok. 
IBeauchemin Joseph, laborer, h St. Peter. 

JBelliman Mrs., widow of Peter, h Mallett's Bay ave. 

Benoit Moses, laborer, h Hickok. 
3emard Frank, laborer, h St. Peter. 

Bigwood Frank, tinsmith at Allen & Bigwood's, bds Spring. 

RIGWOOD SAMUEL, (Allen & Bigwood) h Spring. 

Bigwood William E., student at the University of Vermont, h Spring. 

Bishop Louis, employee J. W. Goodell & Co., h Center. 

Bissette Jeremiah, works in dye house at Burlington woolen mill, h West 

BISSONETT MARBLE, carpenter and joiner, h Allen. 



288 WINOOSKI VILLAGE — TOWN OF COLCHESTER. 

Bissonett Marble Mrs., dressmaker, Allen. 

BISSONETT JOHN, tailor, Main, bds Le Clair. 

Black Charles, harness manuf., Center cor Barlow, h Center. 

Blais Exevier, laborer, h n River. 

Blais John, weaver at Burlington woolen mill, h Hickok. 

Blanchard Joseph, laborer in lumber yard, h Main. 

BLEAU FRED, employee Shepard & ^forse Lumber Co. 

Bleau John, laborer, h Mallett's Bay ave. 

Blish Albert G., laborer. 

Blish Horace, cartman, h Union. 

Bliss Caira, widow of Lee H., formerly teacher. 

Blodah Nelson, laborer, LeClair. 

Blood Alonzo, laborer, rooms on Allen. 

Blossom Mary, widow of Eliab H., boarding. 

Boardman Calvin, general painting, h Union. 

Boardman Calvin A., furniture painter, h Weaver cor Union. 

Boardman Elvin H., furniture finisher. 

Boardman George H., house painting and paper hanging, h Allen. 

Boardman George H., Jr., j)ainter and paper hanger, with George H. 

Boissy Octave, cabinet maker in Burlington, h oft St. Peter. 

Bombard Alexander, laborer, Mallett's Bay ave. 

Boyea Simeon, laborer at woolen mills, h Allen cor Main. 

Bracq John, laborer at woolen mill, h Hickok. 

Breyer Frederick, laborer at woolen mill, h Mallett's Bay ave. 

BROOKS ENOS, assistant overseer in card room No. i, at woolen milLb 

Main. 
Brooks Joseph, millwright, h Allen. 
Brooks Stephen, laborer, h Union cor Weaver. 
BROTHERS WILLL\M H., supt. of spinning at Burlington woolen mills. 

has been connected with mills 20 years, village trustee, h Allen. 
Brunell Exena, laborer at B. W. mill, h Weaver. 
Buckley Morris, works in dye house at woolen mill, h LaFountain. 
BURDICK LAFAYETTE F., alio, physician and suiigeon, attending phf* 

sician Fletcher hospital, h Main. 
Burke John, laborer at woolen mill. 

Burlington Spoke Company, (Burlington) Walker & Hatch, agents, Canal st 
•BURLLVGTON WOOLEN CO., Joseph Sawyer, of Boston, prcs. ; Tho»- 

F. Patterson, of Boston, treas.; Frederick C. Kennedy, of Burlingtoo- 

agent and secretary. Canal St., Winooski, Vt. [Adv. on page 306.] 
Bums Patrick, laborer for Burlington Woolen Co., h Follett 
Bushey John, works at woolen mill. 

Bushman Remi, com. traveler for Allen & Goodwin, of Boston, h Allen. 
Bushka Antoine, wheelwright at Duncan's, h Main. 
Busquet Antoine, wheelwright, h Main. 
Butler Thomas, laborer, h Maple. 

Calvert Emerette B., widow of William P., dress making, h Union. 
Cardinal Alfred, clerk for Carpentier Bros., h LaFountain. 
Caron Remi, laborer, h Main. 
CARPENTIER BROS., (Frank, George and Henry,) dealers in gem 

merchandise, and wholesale and retail dealers in fancy goods, notions'^ 

cigars, jewelry, etc. 
CARPENTIER FRANK, (Carpentier Bros.,) bds Stevens House. 
CARPENTIER GEORGE, (Carpentier Bros.,) bds Stevens House. 



WINOOSKI VILLAGE — TOWN OF COLCHESTER. \ 289 



CARPENTIER HENRY B., (Carpentier Bros.,) h Main. 

Carter John, laborer, h Main. 

Cary John, overseer in merino mill, bds boarding house. 

Cashen Catharine, widow of Dennis, h West. 

Cayo Samuel, millwright, works for Edwards & Stevens. 

Celley Joel W., nurseryman and producer of fruits and vegetables, boarding 

house, h Main cor Spring. 
Chase M. A., miller at Burlington Flouring Co's. mills, bds Allen. 
Chaurette Moses, chopper, leases h Allen st. 

Chausse Antoine, shoemaker for Piatt & Allen, h Main cor LaFountain. 
Chicoine Armidase, wood worker, bds with Charles. 
Chicoine Andrew, pattern maker at Edwards & Stevens' foundry, h St. Peter 

cor North. 
Chicoine Charles, carpenter, h Railroad 
Chicoine Hormisdos, millwright, h Railroad. 
Chonion Henry, employee Burlington Woolen Mills. 
Chouscey Antoine, shoemaker for J. Piatt, h Main. 
Church Mary, widow of James, 4 acres, h Allen. 
Clark George, overseer at woolen mill, h Allen. 
Clark George W., finisher at Burlington woolen mill, h Allen. 
Clifford Robert, works in dry-room at Burlington woolen mill, h River. 
COLCHESTER MERINO MILLS, Joseph Sawyer, of Boston, pres. ; Thos.